For off-topic chat. Duh.

Subscribe
Notify of

40.9K Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Brian Doonthetoon

OOH, Paula Rose!

I thought you were a ‘stroker’, rather than a ‘poker’.

You started wearing apparatus?

Oo-er missus! I think I will retreat from this game…

Brian Doonthetoon

Prog Rock?

Nah, this is prog rock!

Paula Rose

Lets have some prog rock…

enjoy

Betty Boop

Ok, guys and gals, the comments certainly picked up with all the interest in oxi, oxi, oxi! Kudos to Greece, taking the dog by the tail and telling them it ain’t good enough!

Liked the prog rock links. A wee bit o’ anarchy can be a tonic!

@ Bdtt I shared an FB post about the Treaty of Union last night and come on here today to find you are on to it already. Is your Dundee residence really the home of the National Archives? 🙂

@ Paula R. 12:56am

Thanks for you particular “prog rock” preference 🙂 You know how to stroke souls like mine.

Attended such a service in North Uist when we live in the Hebrides; no organ music thank goodness, just pure voices and a rather Hellfire type of meenister! Bare wood church floor and probably a good thing it was a summer night because I doubt there was any heating. One of the few memorable church services I have attended.

The scenes in that video made me nostalgic and fairly “homesick”… despite the fact I’m not a born islander. Must visit the islands again soon. Thank you (again!) :-))

Michael McCabe

Two guys Jamming in Greece. Think they might make it big some day. link to youtube.com

Thepnr

Liar Liar!

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Betty Boop.

I picked up the ‘parliament.uk’ link from Facebook last night.

When I read the page, it reminded me of the ‘tarffadvertiser’ page, hence my posting of that link.

Very interesting read….

I’m sure the guy who writes that blog is a Winger.

Betty Boop

@ Thepnr

Hi Alex, definitely worth trying to keep up with Brian’s links even if you need matchsticks to keep the ol’ eyes open. Ta Brian, our very on version of Wikipedia; would that be Tecklepedia, iye?

Loved the Liar Liar link although they missed out yon ither pairty.

Brian Doonthetoon

I prefer this ‘Liar’…

Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

You got the big guns out with Freddie! Unsurpassable.

Brian Doonthetoon

A ‘heads up’…

‘Off-topic’ regulars really have to check out the pi$h that Rock has come away with tonight, typing about this web site:-

“Unfortunately a group of sycophants and pedants, and quite possibly unionist agents, have been attempting to take it over.”

That’s me, Paula Rose – and RONNIE ANDERSON!

link to wingsoverscotland.com

I feel we need more input on that page…

Betty Boop

One of my favourites, this one has a few liars featured too, but, right now I like it particularly because it chimes with the “Nae Fear Greeks”, except the very end bit 🙁

Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr 9:13pm I would be kidding you on if I said I did not like that. Cheers good link.

Brian Doonthetoon

Jiss catchin’ up on other pages.

Re my ‘Rock’ mention of a wee while ago…

You want to check out the posts since this time last night on this page:-

Methinks someone’s trying to frack this web site.

Michael McCabe

Peace of Iona link to youtube.com

Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

Felt compelled to follow your last link to the main pages. There are times when the comments section of this site become more than a bit intemperate and displays all the charm of p***ing contest.

I’m sorry to say I felt further compelled to make comment, but, probably more would be gained by just a few deep breaths.

Chic McGregor

Way back in 2007 on the TAMB (Tartan Army Board) before the recession and before the ‘Bank Crisis’, a chap posted a question regarding the purchase of RBS shares.

He had noticed that they had been dropping in value for some weeks and wondered if they had bottomed out yet and was it time to buy?

Several respondents were quite quite in favour of that plan, so I felt compelled to stick my oar in with advice not to and the following post explaining why that would be a bad idea. That this was not a normal economic cycle, that it would last for years and how it was a consequence of the rise of neoliberal, monetarist/globalist policies long consigned to the economic madhouse but unleashed on the World in the 80s.

Of course, bearing in mind this was ostensibly a football fan forum, I attempted to couch the message in non jargonised form.

I also posted a version of it on the UK Politics Forum which was immediately attacked by economic ‘experts’ who flatly stated that there would be no recession, no financial crisis.

Reposting it there a year or so later, was, I confess, pure schadenfreude.

It is a long post and may exceed the size limits here so may need to be split.

Chic McGregor

This is not a ‘normal’ boom and bust cycle.
This is not going away any time soon.

This a consequence of unfettered capitalism and the lunatic ‘policy’ of globalisation bought into by Reagan and Thatcher (both sufferers of degenerate brain disease) and carried on by Bush, Blair and Brown. But these ‘leaders’ were just mere puppets. The multinational corporation mentality is the real villain of the piece.

Those ‘captains of industry’, most of whom are unable to chart a course beyond next month’s balance sheet, sought only two things:

1) To run after the lowest available wage bill using workers with no rights in China.

2) To create a Global market place whereby they could maximise profit.

In order to pursue these policies, Western leaders of gullibility or criminality or just plain bonkers were connived into place and the required trade deals and other changes made.

Whether they were incapable of understanding the consequences of blindly pursuing those policies on the stability of the World economy, on the stability of World peace or on the environment or whether they simply did not care doesn’t really matter, the chickens are coming home to roost.

Huge sectors of manufacturing have headed East to the slave prisons and low wage resource of China. Lovely balance sheet. Only problem is the loss of manufacturing jobs in the West.
But never mind eh? We can all service each others jacksies and those nice Easterners will pay us handsomely for our ‘services’ too, right?

What a load of bollox. Does anyone really believe that once China had most of the manufacturing industry that they were going to hand money back to the West for ‘services’ they could easily provide for themselves in order that we can buy goods from them?

And look at the effect this has had on the environment. China is very nearly 100% coal burning for its electricity production. So goods once made in Europe where a high percentage is nuclear, hydro, wind etc. are now being made using coal. Not only that, but because of the cheaper prices for goods due to the artificially low labour costs, we are using far more, changing and discarding far more often. Meanwhile our idiotic and/or dishonest Western leaders crow about GGE reductions in their country which are largely due to reduced manufacturing when the relocation of that manufacturing is actually resulting in a massive increase in Global pollution.

And the new, as yet in its infancy, affluence all that manufacturing is creating in China has already, even at their still low GDP pc, put pressure on food and oil prices World wide too.

Now I am certainly not against China being capitalised and their standard of living raised to Western levels but China is quite a different kettle of fish from the other Pac Rim capitalisations of the past. Quite aside from human rights issues, the difference in scale is huge and way beyond anything the World economy can ‘ride out’ as per it did for Japan, Korea, Taiwan etc. this needs to be done in a controlled manner which does not create destructive instabilities.

For a start, to create the basics of a level playing field, workers there should have normal workers’ rights. The environment should be protected by insisting on clean coal burning technology.

From the capitalists’ point of view the extra costs involved in those measures would make China less attractive and that would have slowed things naturally and in a constructive way.
However, the Chinese government was certainly never going to put these measures in place voluntarily.

Foreign investors would have had to insist on them but that would have required what amounts to a UN backed investment policy which would never have flown.

Anyway, capital has probably already accrued in China beyond the critical mass required to self-fund its own expansion, which, although perhaps at a lower rate, is still way fast enough to continue to destabilise the World economy and environment.

And China has learned from the orchestrated East Asian Banking crisis of the 90s and made sure the yuan is seeded away in dollar, pound and euro areas, there is no option of selectively destabilising and slowing things in the that way again, a ploy which was used to throttle back on Japan’s expansion when it threatened American economic hegemony in the 90s.

The introduction of capitalism to the Pac Rim countries was not without its problems for World economic stability in the past but those bumps, although large, were rideable until their wage rates approached Western levels which restored balance, halted the drain on manufacturing and even reversed it in some areas.

However, the same thing cannot be done with China it is simply far too big. Development there has to be controlled. The World economy would simply not survive a 20 year timescale expansion of China from zero to Western levels as seen in other Pac Rim countries. China is like ten Japans rolled into one. Also Japan was largely nuclear so there was not the environmental consequences historically either.

Demand on food and fuel will continue to increase, the West will stay in recession and unemployment will continue to grow until,… someone points out “Wait a minute just a couple of decades back Europe and America grew all it needed to eat and produced all the goods it needed as well. Why can’t we go back to that?” And so trade tarrifs and a degree of isolationism will inevitably need to return which will enable the West to get back to similar standards of living they enjoyed previously (provided we stay cosy with Russia for oil and gas). But the interim will be grim, and sadly NOT just for the Gadarine swine parasites of the City or Wall Street.

And we are talking at least 5 years before that can be fully implemented. So that is how long I expect things to keep going down.

Oh there will be normal boom and bust cycles driven by domestic policies in countries superimposed over the downward trend, sometimes even hinting that things are on the way back up, but always the underlying trend will be down until a Western manufacturing base is restored.

One lesson that should be learned is that a roughly equitable geographical spread of manufacturing base is a requirement for World stability and needs to be maintained by sensible trade agreements.

Although this may entail local subsidy to counter exchange rate differences, to ensure efficiencies are still market driven, there should be no local monopolies allowed and fixed and equal support for all local competitors.

Strategic controls need to be overlayed over the investment process. (e.g. min. hold time limits etc.)

The other lesson that should be learned once and for all is the difference between wealth creation and wealth acquisition.

How often do we hear in Scotland how much wealth is ‘generated’ by London and the SE? In point of fact they are very very poor at generating wealth on a pro rata basis.

Wealth is simply the things we use in life. Food, fuel, clothes, cars, shoes, TVs, fridges, microwaves, computers etc.etc.etc. The generation of wealth entails, mining, drilling, growing, manufacturing, fishing, hunting etc. etc. etc.

The invention of money made exchange of wealth easier, however it also brought an inherent problem. Through various mechanisms e.g. speculation, ‘service’ charges, exchange rates etc. it is possible to accrue money without actually generating wealth.

The general effect of this on ethical values can be bad enough, but when those who indulge in some of even the more primarily wealth accruing practices equate them to wealth generation the delusion has become pathogenic.

Wealth acquisition is not wealth generation, doesn’t matter how clever or devious the particular little scam someone may have thought up to accrue wealth is, it just isn’t.

And whereas a parasitic micro-economy may be tolerated in a host nation (with the complicity of the Government, say), when such self-delusion leads to notions that the entire Western economy can be likewise based, with the East generating nearly all the wealth, the plot has been well and truly lost. When parasites grow to a similar size as their host, there is a problem.

It will take 5 years before things turn around but the lessons, if learned, will be beneficial in the longer term.

Chic McGregor

You can call me Cassandra if you like.

In hindsight my 5 years was a bit optimistic, but it did rely on Western leaders responding sanely. However, for the most part the penny seems to have dropped. Even the Tories are supportive of moving from financial services to manufacturing if only in a very quiet way lest the Thatcher god myth suffers.

My thinking that the bankers would suffer was naive.

But I did say even then that the European people would not accept resetting to Victorian standards of living.

Here is post from 4 years ago, not in Tambese, where some of that is reiterated but with more emphasis on the predicted European unrest, since the measures which Western leaders could have taken to avoid that have not been.

Chic McGregor

Taking a laissez-faire approach in a market a la Adam Smith’s ‘invisible hand of God’ does generally lead to a more rapid rate of real progress (i.e. real increase in pro rata wealth creation) than other systems, provided there are safeguards against monopolies and cartels of course.

However, that presupposes that ‘a market’ is a self-evident thing. Is ‘a market’ only about supply and demand, or is it required to work with inbuilt social criteria as well?

In the socially developed World we have things like the right to strike, collective bargaining, welfare infrastructure, health care, health and safety, building regulations, environmental regulations and a lots more. Those things are what most would consider the trappings of a society which would call itself socially civilised. Most people, certainly in the West, would consider that these things, which do indeed cost a lot of money, are required target outputs for ‘a market’ to achieve.
A basic social development level is part of the Western market.

These things are not natural developments of the market however. They have had to be won by countless struggles over 200 years or thereabouts.

It was understood that Western economies exist and compete in a market which accepted these overheads and where the provision in each country was broadly the same.

However, with the acceptance into the market of China etc. where a lot of those things we would consider basic social expectations and provisions are not provided or paid for, then we have a situation where it can be quite viably claimed that we no longer have ‘a market’ where everyone is playing by the same rules, but we have instead two markets competing with completely different rules.

In that scenario, Smith et al, falls down.

I’m all in favour of bringing China into a ‘Global’ market, but it should have been done in a way which maximised the social progress for the Chinese people and which preserved sufficient genuine wealth creation capability in the West to maintain the socially civilised standards that it had attained there.

To do this, trade with China should have been subjected to a tariff system where tariffs were reduced as pro rata percentage GDP spend on social infrastructure and citizens rights and freedoms targets were met.

Instead not only did we allow China full access to the WTO (Clegg lead the EU team which accepted China) but the GAT tarrif levels were ludicrously, massively in favour of Chinese exports.

It is as if, Global strategist capitalists want to use China to ‘reset’ workers rights in the West to circa 1850.

If that is the case, then they are in for a rude shock, because the people of Europe know that, even in isolation, they could easily go back to a situation where they grow and manufacture all they need to maintain the living standards they are used to AND to maintain social provisions as well. So if that is the plan it will not wash and there will be a new wave of revolutions.

Thepnr

@Chic McGregor

Gobsmacked!

Here’s me too thinking all along that you were a physicist only to find out that your grasp of economics is better than those that have won the Noble Prize for economics.

Noble prize for economics a misnomer I know.

Chic I can’t say I understood all your arguments but I certainly agreed with them.

Having worked all my life in Industry and watching its destruction I could plainly see with my own eyes how damaging it was to society and in Scotland in particular.

One thing I do know is that the Scots may be wee, they may be poor but they are certainly not stupid!

Thepnr

Or mibbees yer jist a Scots fermer that reads a lot?

Ian Brotherhood

Good stuff here, in the wee oasis… 🙂

Ian Dury & The Stranglers, ‘Peaches’ (live) –

Paula Rose

In an Independent Scotland there will be none of that looking at “peaches” whilst strolling on beaches – instead you will all join Thepnr in joyfully reading all about economics!

Brian Doonthetoon

Good essay, Chic McGregor!

And for Ian B…

Was this song put together as an analogy of Westminster?

Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Interesting cross-class/cultural stuff going on there what with it being in the Royal Albert All.

Someone said the string section was all gorgeous lassies wearing camouflage gear. Bummer! I couldn’t see any of ’em. 🙂

Paula Rose

Behave yourselves, men.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

I’ve always had a penchant for prog rock and when I first heard “Down In The Sewer”, I was dumfoonirt, coz The Stranglers came in on the punk tide. “DITS” is classic prog rock, IMHO.
Mind you, The Stranglers had been pro musicians for a fair old time before The Stranglers evolved.

There was a Dundee band called “The Visitors”, whose keyboard style was very similar to The Stranglers, and they were on the go at the same time.

If I can find time, I’ll upload the B Side of The Visitors only single to my webspace, so you can have a listen.

Won’t be tonight though…

Brian Doonthetoon

Paula Rose – I’ve already told you umpteen times, I am not having your babies!

What would the meenister say?

Betty Boop

@ Chic McGregor

Some of us realised much of what you describe would happen way back when Thatcher was doing her worst to our manufacturing industry. Most of us, however, could not have produced such an eloquent and descriptive analysis.

When it comes to our Western leaders, it would be bad enough to consider them inept, but, really, I think they just didn’t/don’t care about the consequences of their actions upon people.

Ian Brotherhood

Doesn’t matter if you don’t like so-called ‘punk’ music, or ‘anarchists’ – this dude is wise:

Penny Rimbaud, in interview (2007):

Chic McGregor

@Thepnr

I have taken a holistic interest in economics since I was an undergraduate. Still have my copy of Mill’s ‘Principles of Political Economy’ on my bookshelf from student days. A tough read by the way, as indeed are most of the tracts on economic theory. In that respect, it is a subject equal to that of Law and Medicine in creating a linguistic fence.

However, my approach to economics is from a scientific perspective.

It is known as the Queen of Sciences, but IMO it is just about at the same stage of development as science was circa 1600 with astrology, alchemy and pseudo-science along with their shamans, shysters and charlatans still being given more or less equal credence with the emergent astronomers, chemists and physicists of the nascent rational age.

It should be a genuine science and treated as such. The problem is, up till now, it has not attracted the serious interest of the scientific community. First because, well frankly, it is not interesting enough and secondly because of the extreme opposition they would have to endure, given the vested interests involved.

If a team of genuinely scientifically minded people were to address the problem, I think it would fairly quickly be put on a far sounder, more rational basis, than it is at present.

The first thing they would address, is the fundamentals, as they did in science. Without those, no rational progress is possible.

To take one as an example.

What is an economy for?

Being somewhat subjective, that is not an easy question to answer.

For some people, it is entirely about competitiveness. It’s a game to be won. Winner takes all. This is a manifestation of that kind of thinking which has at base, the justification that there is still some meaningful level of ‘survival of the fittest’ evolutionary process going on for humanity. I would suggest two major flies in that particular ointment. First, human population has long since passed the numerical point where any such evolution could actually (statistically) take place and secondly the human characteristics which are most useful in succeeding in that scenario, dishonesty, lacking in empathy and ruthlessness, by most reasonable interpretations would be considered recidivist rather than progressive in human evolutionary terms anyway.

Then there are those who might take the polar opposite view, that no one should be economically disadvantaged by their lack of ability, since they did not choose to be born in that position. Therefore the economy should provide for everyone equally, regardless. The main fly in the ointment of that approach is that ‘regardless’ can pertain to lack of effort as well as lack of ability. Humanity has evolved a capacity for laziness. A capacity which we should realise has perfectly reasonable evolutionary credentials based on the often precarious balance between energy expelled versus energy intake (i.e. food). Therefore, there is more than a danger that such a system would lead to mollycoddling, encouragement of indolence and lack of incentives to the detriment of most of the recipient population in terms of their own personal development as well as to the sum production of wealth available for distribution.

However I hope and believe, that were a World wide poll ever taken to test for a fundamental consensus (as it would be if scientists were charged with the task) that the vast majority of humanity would plump for something like this:

As a fundamental principle, an economy is there to enable as many people as possible to get as close as possible to fulfilling their personal potential. That requires an economy to make sufficient welfare, health, housing, infrastructural and educational provisions as required but also, sufficient reward for those who are extraordinarily innovative, creative or imbued with a strong work ethic, thereby acting as an effective incentive while keeping that reward differential within reasonable limits (e.g. by income gap capping). There should also be restrictions on the size a corporate body can get to before it is required to fracture into competing entities to guard against monopolies.

If something like that third option was demonstrated to be a World consensus, then it could be enshrined in a UN Declaration of National Economic Principles.

Against which nations could be assessed for either admiration or admonishment (via tariff settings).

However, I do realise that such enlightenment is some way off, but hopefully not the full 4 centuries worth.

Paula Rose

Quiet please dears – i’m reading a new book called “Pavement” – just coalesce in the kitchen, give me ten minutes.

Ken500

Andrew Tyrie – Chair Treasury Select Committee is a ignorant, arrogant, pompous and totally out of touch.

Stewart Hosie brilliant.

Osbourne furious

David

?Supercalifragilivingwagesalidocious
When you hear the Tory version
It’s really quite atrocious
?

Living wage
Existence wage
Subsistence wage
Minimum wage

Our language is being corroded by the bankers`pals and ‘I’m alright Jacks’ in Westminster.

Our welfare state is being reduced to begrudged benefits.

Our economy is being ruined by silver-spoon imbeciles.

We really, really gotta get out of this place.

Brian Doonthetoon
Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Your no wrong my friend.

Gillian_Ruglonian

Ronnie, proofs sent to your hotmail account – awaiting your verdict!

X_Sticks

Will be offline for a few days while I go and commune with nature at Strathallan Castle. Unlikely to have decent comms and I can’t be ar5ed with phone.

Here’s a little thing from my first festival to keep you busy while I’m away. It should be LOUD 😉

Cactus

Some Thursday morn entertainment for y’all..

The Streak ~ Ray Stevens

ronnie anderson

@ Gillian Ruglonian Thanks Gillian I forwared them on to the Rev for his approval, so its wait & see.

David

@Brian Doonthetoon
Yes, that’s the theme song inspired by this budget.

And speaking of Burdons and animals:
The unionists see Scotland as a burden the UK has to bear. The reality is we are their ‘beast of burden’, doing all the work of keeping the UK solvent with our export earnings, while being whipped like a mule.

Rolling Stones “Beast of Burden”

Paula Rose

Sorry to put a downer on the party – but Cur Mick Jagger is not exactly Indy supporting material – can we ensure that the tunes we post meet the high standards we expect of ourselves (eek can’t remember how to do the emoticon thingie).

Brian Doonthetoon

Nice one, David.

I posted this in the relevant thread (you-dont-get-to-do-this) just now but, with the fast turnover on the main pages, it will probably be missed. “Don’t Blame Me…” T-shirts was the subject, at the time.

————————————————

Re: T-shirts, mentioned many hours ago.

Check out this link:-

http://yes45shop.com/p/8957058/dont-blame-me-i-voted-yes—t-shirt.html

David

Och Paula, if Jagger’s anti-indy it only means he’s reading too many MSM papers in whatever country he happens to be in.
We should crowdfund a subscription to The National for him…

How about posting David “Stay with us, Scotland” Bowie – I’ve always loved his “Laughing Gnome”.

Michael McCabe

No Arguing with Paula Rose Because. link to youtube.com

Thistle

Hi folks
we recently live streamed a “safety walk” by concerned local citizens in Maryhill about the stopping of a free bus service to kids as part of an austerity drive by Glasgow City Council who promised the local community that they would always provide this service before closing their local schools. The council are now going back on this and stopping the free bus service.

The route itself I would not want my kids to walk as it is so dangerous. Other impacts includes sucking about £200,000 out of the local community as well as putting another barrier in front of kids from a deprived area from getting an education.

Instead of a 7min bus ride the walk will take upto 55mins in our wonderful Scottish weather along one of the busiest roads in Glasgow.

Please sign the petition:
link to change.org

Chic McGregor

Wrong answer for 13 Ac today took ages to suss.

I had chapel.

Brian Doonthetoon

Signed, Kevin.

BTW, this is hilarious. Guy trained a wild gull to dance for food.

Ian Brotherhood

Massive Attack, ‘Daydreaming’ –

Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Poor wee seagull.

Plenty of them in Helensburgh, maybe you could train one. Wings meet up for fun and chat on 25th July at the Clyde Bar.

Hope you can make it.

Ian Brotherhood

Heard the end of this on Smooth yesterday, and was certain it was Gladys Knight.

Candi Staton, ‘Nights On Broadway’ –

Tackety Beets

Chic , thats pretty much sums it all up.

Thanks for taking the time to write these posts.

Large business has taken control , hence every Gvt makes bizarre decisions we struggle to understand.

I have been Self Employed ( small scale) more or less all my adult life.
I reflect , its all about big business bullying little business.
They hide behind “small print” and know we are too busy to have time to challenge them.

Ian B , I bought the Candi Staton 7″er in the 70’s Sweet Soul Music . Classic !

Ian Brotherhood

This is for wir ain dearest Paula Rose – don’t let Rocky Rock Rock get to ye pal.

Ray Charles, ‘You Don’t Know Me’ (live) –

Gillian_Ruglonian

Hi guys, what’s happening?!

@thistle – I like this use of the live stream to raise awareness of a specific issue, there’s a few things in my area that could use that sort of attention.
I wasn’t able to come to the CH training nights but I am still interested in picking your brain!! Are you going to be in Helensburgh on the 25th?

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

Pete and I will be at Helensburgh; we’re bringing two lady lurkers from Ninewells – Sand Holmes, who missed Glasgow because of her lad’s motorbike accident, and Pam, who’s a character.

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Thanks for that, been struggling to find good tunes and was looking for inspiration, settled on this.

K1

PRose…here’s a little meditation for you 😉

link to tastefullyoffensive.com

Thepnr

@Gillian_Ruglonian

I seem to remember that Thistle said he would make it along, I hope he does.

Brian Doonthetoon

Great Brian see you and Pete there and look forward to meeting your pals 🙂

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Good shout there mister.

Reminds me of queuing for lunch, 1st-yr at Holyrood Sec, Glasgow – knew, by how many guys were ahead, whether or not I’d get pie/beans/chips. (Very few of the first 32 ever opted for fish.)

Good pies…

Goodbye…

Michael McCabe

Paul Simon Singing Stevie Wonder. link to youtube.com

Cactus

@regulars ~

Here’s a song you may have heard on the radio, but may not have seen the music video for:

Moonlight Shadow ~ Mike Oldfield with Maggie Reilly

Gillian_Ruglonian

Hiya Cactus, if I remember correctly that song was written about John Lennons assassination?

Brian Doonthetoon

It was good to see Tartan Tory being one of the first to post a comment on one of the pages yesterday.

————————————————

Been meaning to post this link for ages. It’s dedicated to Lumilumi – A Finnish band with Scottish scenes.

Ian Brotherhood

Robbie Sheppard just played this – instantly catchy.

Skipinnish, ‘The Island’ –

Ian Brotherhood

…and methinks it owes at least a nod and a wink to this:

The Pogues, ‘Streams of Whiskey’ 🙂 –

Ninja Penguin

Yew Choob’s back! link to youtube.com

Ian Brotherhood

Looks like we’ll be hitting 440,000 comments later tonight…keep the peepers peeled to see who gets it.

And where’s Paula Rose anyway?

Ian Brotherhood

Synchronicity’s a ‘real’ thing by the way!

Yesterday, was sorting out the CDs my late uncle left behind (approximately 250, all Classical stuff) because I was rejigging the room and had to make a new space for them. They’re mostly series he must’ve bought along with magazines – fifty of this or that ‘collection’, and a good few boxed sets of the big well-kent names. I know not a solitary jot about classical music, but enjoy playing these and remembering him. I don’t even know that he listened to them all, or what his favourites where, but he did have a wee plastic bust of Beethoven, and the boxed sets are, for the most part, conducted by Karajan.

So, anyway, yesterday, sorting them best as I could, I was thinking about the very few pieces of classical music I do know, and the ‘theme’ tune of the movie Gallipoli popped into my heid. I was wondering who composed it, and made a mental note to check it later online. I forgot to do so.

Just twenty minutes ago, I was surfing Youtube for any decent tunes, remembered Karajan, searched for him, but all the first results are major pieces, an hour or more long. Except one.

And you don’t have to guess what it was.

So here it is. The theme from Gallipoli, or, as it should be properly called, ‘Albinoni’s Adagio in G Minor’ – you’ll know it as soon as you’ve heard the first few seconds.

(Hey, Uncle Bill – aye, okay, very good! Stop laughing, ya bass ye!!)

Michael McCabe

Trance music with a Guitar ? link to youtube.com Digging the lamp shade.

smithie

Ian @11:04, aw bless, the older we get the more we have to deal with this senario. Not a fan o clssical music, but liked the subtext of yer post. Aw the best uncle Bill.

Ian Brotherhood

@smithie –

Cheers aplenty – much appreciated.

Ian Brotherhood

It was me! It was me!

Ian Brotherhood

It was me! It was me!

My comment above was the 440,000th on WOS.

Woooo-hoo!

That’s me made-up now.

Sorted.

I thank you all.

Please be seated.

:0 😉 🙂

smithie

LoL made up fer ya Ian,there goes my 5%, bugger.

Brian Doonthetoon

Ninja Penguin / Yew Choob – EXCELLENT!

Now, how about “Ballroom Blitz”? Words by ‘David’ on 30th June, up above.

8=)

Paula Rose

@ Ian Brotherhood – have you calmed down yet,dear?

Thepnr

The EU and Merkel in particular still playing real hardball with Greece. Make no mistake “they” want no agreement with Syriza and their only aim is to bring down a democratically elected government, even if it causes chaos.

Mark my words.

kendomacaroonbar

Guys,

We have a new political journalist Terry Houston who has written an article on London Labours downfall and continuing downward spiral. If you can find the time can you go visit the website http://www.scot.scot and leave a comment if possible ? The Lost Tribe or Kier Hardie

On a different note I met with Dixie & Cactus this afternoon at the Clyde Bar for the next Wings Ding Doo. Looking forward to seeing many of you on the 25th.

Yours aye

Kendo

Thepnr

Hi Kendo

Regarding the 25th, I’d recommend just setting aside a portion of the lounge for those making the journey. their is no way of known how many will turn up.

Obviously the more the merrier but wouldn’t want the owner to lose out in any way by us claiming the whole lounge on what could be a otherwise busy Summer Saturday night for him. Cheers.

kendomacaroonbar

@Thepnr

Bleeding predictive text – it’s the bane of my life. Thanks for the heads up.

Re the Clyde, the back stage area has been kept free until about 11.30pm when the DJ starts his biz and the general public will have access. The local Yes, SNP and CommonWeal guys will hope to join you, and Dixie will be providing live music – so all’s good.

There is a curfew at 12 meaning if you leave the bar you can’t get back in – but drinking until 2.00 a.m. should be a good night !

Thepnr

Hey Ken you missed out the i from iscot.

link to iscot.scot

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

🙂 😉 🙂

It was me! It was me!

🙂 😉 🙂

Yeeeeeee-ha! Wooooo-hooo! 🙂 🙂 😉

YES!! Get right fucking in there!!! 🙂 😉 😉

Thepnr

Cheers Ken

Sounds good, looking forward to meeting others that I haven’t met before as well as some old friends from past meet ups.

Tam Jardine, TJemmy, Quine fae Angus. Jock Scot Hello!

Michael McCabe

Lots of Smiley faces. Here is a song to go with them. link to youtube.com Congratulations Ian.

Brian Doonthetoon

Just a quickie, furnoo…

Finally got the ‘Proud Pedant’ badge design finished.

comment image
————————————————

Kendomacaroonbar – if you’re still hingin’ aboot here…
I’ll email you in the next 24 hours.

Brian Doonthetoon

Another quickie…

If anyone wants a personalised badge for the ‘Wings Over Helensburgh’ get-together, stick a post in Quarantine, saying what name you want on the badge.

Mealer

Paula Rosa 4.05pm
Didn’t see you at the Harley D gig yesterday.

Mealer

I’m meaning to have a couple of nights at Celtic Connections in January.I’ve been advised this is the place to get guidance as to the best digs and gigs for craic.Any suggestions?

kendomacaroonbar

@BDTT

Brian,

I’ll be furtively lurking for a wee while. You can get me on e mail if needed ?

Paula Rose

Mealer honey – we missed each other, you should have let me know – I could have let you know which cocktail bar I was going to xx

Fred

@ Mealer, anent the Celtic Connections, how about Babbity Bowsters or The Old Print Works.

Mealer

Paula Rose 9.28,
Sorry I missed you.My wife dispatched me to The Glebe at ten to three.She probably thought it a safer environment for me….away from the attentions of any “cycle sluts” who happened to happen upon Scotlands greatest city that day.Among the several spectators at said “fitty” was a man weel kent by you and I.Why the hell he was at the Glebe instead of the gig in the stables car park,I don’t know.But it’s a bit sad,I have to say.Anyway,we’ve got the L.We’ve got the G.We’ve got the B.We’ve got the T and now we’ve got the I.Its a long,long,road to YOUR destination,but I’ll be there for a party if,heaven forfend,you ever get there!

Ian Brotherhood

Don’t think we’ve ever had this one. What a fantastic tune it was, and right at the height of the Thatcher years.

Culture Club, ‘Karma Chameleon’ –

Ian Brotherhood

It’s one thing to be able to play a guitar like this, but to do it whilst having a drag is something else. Class!

Reminds me of seeing two locals cycling up to the train station one afternoon – one was riding the bike, standing up, his pal was on the seat, holding the rider’s waist. Impressively, they were both smoking fags, no hands required.

Django Reinhardt, ‘Honeysuckle Rose’ –

Mealer

Fred 9.28
Thanks for that.

Cadogan Enright

I have been going back over the last few days looking for a quote someone posted from the German finance geezer Wolfgang Schaeuble saying (basically) that if they wrote of debt for Greece, they would have to do the same for Ireland

anyone help me find it?

Ian Brotherhood

@Cadogan Enright –

Happy to try and help, but the Google results don’t throw up anything obvious. So much out there right now…

Have you any specific phrases which might help whittle it all down a bit?

Macart

Time for an extended holiday.

You folks be good now. 🙂

Thepnr

@Macart

Have a good one!

Thepnr

What i actually popped in to say before seeing Macarts post was that this Greek “agreement” is a disaster whether agreed or not.

Maybe the headstrong will stay at home until the result of their parliaments vote is known. Then again maybe not, not a good time to be in Athens 🙁

Cadogan Enright

@Ian Brotherhood 12.02
It was posted on Wings – possibly by or near a post be De Valera – with a link to Wolfgang Schaeuble talking in English

Ian Brotherhood

@Cadogan Enright –

Aha! Misunderstood you – so it’s in here somewhere…

Got a rough time frame? Was it in the past week?

Paula Rose

@ Ian Brotherhood – sometime around the 440 000 comment I believe.

majestic12

So they think Mhairi Black speaks like a Glasgow docker? What would they make of this? Hilarious. Fair cheered me up.

link to facebook.com

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I want it carved into my headstone (or at least, to be printed on the big sticky label they put on the plastic jar) – ‘Supplied The 440,000th Comment On WOS – Verily, He Was Never The Same Again’.

Ian Brotherhood

Another oddity here –

When trying to explain and/or understand the BBC, it’s important to make some effort to understand where it came from, and the main characters involved.

Not that it’s ever that ‘obvious’, but the elders amongst us may be able to make wee connections here and there using archive stuff like this:

‘Thanking Yew From Mr and Mrs C. Fletcher’

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Hahaha “The Establishment” old school though before they all became lizard people 🙂

Thepnr

OK I know many have been waiting on the start of some more decent music. Hope this fits the bill.

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Remember him on ‘That’s Life’?

I could never stand the prick. He had that wee bit screened-off on the stage, decorated with pot-plants, and he was wearing a smoking jacket or a tuxedo. Throwback to Edwardian ‘The Good Old Days’ shite, and he was so un-funny that the audience didn’t even know when to laugh. A creepy cross between Roy Orbison and Noel Coward, with none of their talent.

And as for Esther?…

Bleeeuurgh – the further we get away from irrational trust in these people, the clearer their behaviour becomes, and the BBC, as a ‘brand’, plummets exponentially. When the BBC is finished? That’s the ‘Empire’ officially done.

Please, all known Gods, let us see that day, and let’s see it soon.

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Sorry my friend, I can’t even remember somebody I met yesterday. Not that I’m dowally yet, just cant be arsed. I do remember for some reason the blonde one.

Anyhoos, a follow up to my last great record lol.

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Good shout there mister. Never saw that video before.

Here’s a disco tune from around the same time:

Pointer Sisters, ‘Automatic’ –

David

Vote SNP, get Basil Brush. 🙂

The Sweet- “Fox on the Run”

“Basil Brush and the Airbed”

Jamie Foxx- “Real in Rio”

Fox Dives Headfirst Into Snow Nature prog

Jimi Hendrix- “Foxy Lady”

Vote pro-fox, get right up the Tories’ noses!

Quinie frae Angus

Hello dear Wingers

Sorry to have to say that one again I won’t be able to make it along to the Helensburgh Wings Night.

This is because I will be down in Merry Old England that weekend for a classic rock fest known as “The Ramblin’ Man Fair”.

Hope my Wingy friends will forgive me when I say that the line-up was just too tempting to turn down:

The Temperance Movement, FM, Ian Anderson, Rival Sons, Saxon, Blue Oyster Cult, Greg Allman and The Scorpions!!! I’m sure you can imagine the excitement of a quiverin’ Quinie at the prospect of such a panoply of rock gods a’struttin’ and a-strummin’ against a Kentish sunset.

However, love and solidarity to all the Wingers and here’s hoping that I’ll be able to join you all again for the next one.

Are any fellow Wingers going to this Ramblin’ Man Fair? If so it would be a hoot to meet up for a drink! (I will of course be wearing my Yes and Wings badges, including my precious “Wings over Invergowrie” one, and the classic “I’ve been stroked by Paula Rose”, so I should be easily identifiable).

David

@ Brian Doonthetoon, I’ll second that, YewChoob’s latest song is excellent! We are lucky to have him and also Tommy Reckless, providing the satirical soundtrack to the Indy movement.

I’d be surprised/proud/happy/delighted if either of them were to use my humble little song. It would mean that “all my hard work ain’t been in vain for nothing.” 😉

Also thumbs up to Michael McCabe for Mick Jagger’s “She’s the boss”. Now that was for Paula Rose last weekend, but I think we can repeat it today for Paisley’s Mhairi Black, to celebrate her kick-ass maiden speech!

Or maybe it should be the Pussycat Dolls with “Don’t cha wish your MP was hot like me”, cos Mhairi was hot.

In fact forget hot, she was on fire! Burning down the house.

Very proud to have her representing Paisley and Scotland.

David

Ian Brotherhood, you want Cyril Fletcher, you can have Cyril Fletcher, as spoofed by the ‘Not the Nine O’Clock News’ team:

Spot on, and viciously funny.

David

(Inspired by Mhairi Black’s maiden speech, and by the Pussycat Dolls)

“Don’t Cha Wish Your MP Was Hot Like Me” by the Pussycat AwrightDolls

I know you vote for me (I know you vote for me)
I know you do (I know you do)
That’s why whenever I come around Kezia’s all over you
And I know you want Indy (I know you want it)
It’s easy to see (it’s easy to see)
And in the back of your mind
I know you should be in Westminster with me

(Chorus)
Don’t cha wish your MP was hot like me
Don’t cha wish your MP had a first-class degree
Don’t cha, don’t cha
Don’t cha wish your MP was honest like me
Don’t cha wish your MP was a Buddie like me
Don’t cha, don’t cha

Fight the Tories (fight the Tories)
Leave our budget alone (leave it alone)
Cause if it ain’t Indy
It just ain’t enough to mend a broken home
Let’s keep up the pressure (let’s stick it to them)
Unionists can’t play fair (you have to play fair)
See, ah dinnae care
But I know UK ain’t gonna wanna share

(Chorus)
Don’t cha wish your MP had a first-class degree
Don’t cha, don’t cha
Don’t cha wish your MP was anti-austerity like me
Don’t cha wish your MP worked in a chippy
Don’t cha, don’t cha

I know I’m on your side
I know we’ll have a good time
I’m your voice
I’m fun
And I’m fine
I ain’t lying
Look at me, you ain’t blind (2x)

See, I know Kezia wants you (I know she wants you)
I understand (I understand)
I’d prob’ly be just as crazy aboot ye
If you were mah ain man
Maybe next parliament (maybe next parly)
Possibly (possibly)
Until then, Oh voter yir constituency’s safe wi’ me

(Chorus)
Don’t cha wish your MP was frae Penilee
Don’t cha, don’t cha
Don’t cha wish your MP had chips fur her tea
Don’t cha wish your MP was a Jags fan like me
Don’t cha, don’t cha

The original:

Ain’t politics great nowadays!

Thepnr

Haha David, very good. That doesn’t mean to say that now is the time to get yourself carried away 🙂

Jock Scot

Hi folks,

Have been having a wee bit of a sabbatical but Ninja Penguin sent me the Lyrics for All The Free Scots (Thanks Brian for commenting) and well, it was another song up for the murderin’..hope it didn’t put too many folk off as Ninja’s lyrics just keep getting better.

David, I would suggest you try recording your lyrics yourself, you don’t have to be a good singer, as many can testify tae my efforts but you wrote them so you have the idea in your head and are in the best position to express the lyrics as they ought to be done.Yew Choob’s mission statement is to encourage people to put their creative ideas out there no matter how they come out at first..they will get better.

Sorry I haven’t contributed for a while but the ‘gestapo’ have been doing my nut in lately but now is the time to say Fuck ’em. Time to write a will and record Long Live UK..watch this space.

Cheers folks

Cadogan Enright

@Ian Brotherhood says:
13 July, 2015 at 9:05 pm Got a rough time frame? Was it in the past week?

Yes

Cactus

The Clyde Bar (Helensburgh)
25/07/15

Yeah, we met up on Sunday with kendomacaroonbar & company at The Clyde Bar. The venue is old school awesome, you’re gonna love it Wingers.. they’ve even got a single bed (I tried it out) for customers! Here, check out the website and cheers for having us: 🙂

link to theclydebar.com

‘A’ and by the way, who’s got the clipboard with the up-to-date list of guests.. is it time to take registration again before first class?

Hey Quinie frae Angus, that’s a smashin’ line-up, enjoy le rock and see ye at the next.

Hey Gillian, aye, I didnay ken that song was written about JL.. it all makes sense now after playback, cheers 🙂

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cactus.

I’m keeping a list in ‘Quarantine’, of those who want personalised badges for the Helensburgh get-together.

As it was suggested some weeks ago, that personalised badges may put off lurkers, we’re only doing badges for those who actually request them.

Therefore the badge list is not a list of everyone who’s intimated that they’re gonna be there. You’d have to trawl back through ‘off-topic’ to collate that list…

pete the camera

“Homecoming Scotland a success” sticks in Jackie burds craw on reporting Scotland tonight

Tackety Beets

P T Camera ,
Ref JB

Aye an they (RS/JB ) had to get the “scaled Back Bannockburn Event ” No mention o the other crap that was put on the same day in Stirling no less , aye for spite nae doot.

David @ 9.50 Excellent , email it to Lewis Hamilton for the crack!

Tackety Beets

P T Camera ,
Ref JB

Aye an they (RS/JB ) had to get the “scaled Back Bannockburn Event ” No mention o the other crap that was put on the same day in Stirling no less , aye for spite nae doot.

David @ 9.50 Excellent , email it to Lewis Hamilton for the crack!

Cactus

Hey Brian Doonthetoon, cheers for the directions, heading for the containment suite..

So aye, see ye there lurkers, bar’s open till 2am.

..teleporting to Q the now..

indigo

Hi folks, I’ve been having a wee play about with an idea and wondered what you thought and whether anyone would like to contribute a story to it? link to ourindyref.com

I thought it would be nice to create a repository for indyref experiences from ordinary people – so basically us reflecting on our own history, rather than the likes of Torrance & Cochrane.

Betty Boop

@ majestic12, 13/07/15, 11:07pm

Thanks for that link; I’m fair helpless noo! 🙂

CameronB Brodie

So, NASA have already made discoveries that challenge current scientific wisdom. What other amazing discoveries do you reckon there will be? Perhaps a positive case for the Union?

Nah, this isn’t science fiction.

Putopia (1951)

CameronB Brodie

So, NASA have already made discoveries that challenge current scientific wisdom. What other amazing discoveries do you reckon there will be? Perhaps a positive case for the Union?

Nah, this isn’t science fiction.

Plutopia (1951)

Taranaich

They’re baaaaaaack.

link to wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com

As ever, if I’ve misread/misunderstood/miscalculated anything here, I’ll happily amend.

Brian Doonthetoon

If Carlsberg did Paula Rose’s favourite songs…

I believe this was on the sound system, during that famous Invergowrie pool party.

Brian Doonthetoon

Or, should that be ‘infamous’?

cearc

Nah, they haven’t got enough power to left to get to another universe!

X_Sticks

Still recovering from T in the Park. I’m definitely getting too old for it, but just can’t stop. Here’s why: Gerry Cinnamon on the BBC Introducing stage on Sunday morning. Gig of the weekend.

Enjoy.

Betty Boop

@ X_Sticks

Well done, you! Where do you get the stamina? 🙂
That was encouraging, hopeful even, hearing all those young folk enthusiastically belting out “Hope over Fear” at T!!!

Hope for the future yet. Still trying to figure out if the organisers knew what they were letting themselves in for.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi X_Sticks.

That video’s a cracker! Why? Because that’s a mainstream crowd at a mainstream festival.

I know the song because I’ve been at all the George Square rallies since ‘Hope Over Fear’ in October last year but the question is, how does a mainstream audience know it?

I can only surmise that the links to to the various clips on YouTube are being shared to those who aren’t particularly politically active and it’s striking a chord.

Gerry Cinnamon has a gig in Dundee on Sunday, 11th October; 7.30pm in Buskers.

link to ents24.com

cearc

Glad to hear you survived wallowing in mud with thousands of other people// Oh, sorry that was ‘communing with nature’ was it not?

As they say, your as young as you feel (afterwards!)

Paula Rose

Just mastered the grinder – couple more links to go and that unicorn will be unchained!

David

@ Tackety Beets, ta, but I don’t want to distract poor old (young, successful, rich) Lewis Hamilton from his day job.

@ Jock Scot, thanks for the suggestions, but I think the world is a better place without my ‘vocal stylings’. I’ll stick to typing. 🙂

Brian Doonthetoon

Chipmonkey’s been in touch – no detrimental effects from the Alyth flooding.

Hi Paula Rose.

Typing about unicorns…

You may like our latest badge, available at Helensburgh next weekend.

comment image

Stoker

(((((HELP)))))
Can anyone give me the name of the background music to this vid?
Try and ignore the videos content, it’s the music i like and it’s
doing my head in, i can’t remember where i’ve heard it before.
I may be wrong but i think it’s a Scottish tune.

cearc

Glad to hear Chip ‘n’ Quin are OK.

Mealer

X sticks
Thanks for posting that video.Great reaction from the crowd.We know there was big support for Yes among young folk,but a lot in that crowd didn’t bother voting.I hope that song prays on their minds and haunts them a bit.Make them more likely to get off their butts and vote next time round.And there were bound to be atleast some No voters in the crowd.I wonder what was running through their minds.Great stuff.

Mealer

Stoker 8.32,
That tune is called “The Gael” and was written by our good friend Dougie McLean.
It was made famous in the movie “Last of The Mohicans”.

Stoker

Cheers, Mealer, you’re a star!

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cactus.

Do you want the pro-indy/Scottish videos for Helensburgh next weekend?

If so, I’ll arrange things with John. If not, it’ll give me a night to socialise.

8=)

Mealer

Nae probs,Stoker.I was actually playing it earlier this evening,so there’s a coincidence.Though I probably wasn’t playing it quite the way it was written.More practise required!

Thepnr

@X_Sticks
Great to see, hope for the future right enough.

@Mealer
Well done big man on coming up with the answer for Stoker

This is the reason why I love this site…

Brian Doonthetoon

Well, you know, Thepnr, on this site, anything goes…

Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Your a nutter! By the way was that a duet by Boris Johnson and that German bloke lol.

Cactus

Aweright Brian Doonthetoon ~

Might be a good idea to have both live music and pro-indy/Scottish videos at The Clyde Bar, Helensburgh.. options are always good.

‘It’s aye better tae have and nae need, than tae need and nae have’ 🙂

D and me’ll arrive earlier in the day to set up stage.

Thepnr

Loved this song from 1979 you may have loved it too 🙂

Quentin Quale

Ronnie A – thanks for asking. We are OK but Alyth Square and streets in that area are in a helluva state. Will take a huge clear-up operation. Good folk of Alyth out in force. John Swinney & Pete Wishart have both turned up to help/show support.

smithie

Fir ‘a’ Dundonians wherever they may be.

Chipmonkey

@bddt love the unicorn badge 🙂
Busy so won’t be at Helensburgh.
Next time.

smithie

Or as the Dundee street poet would say.

Ian Brotherhood

Can’t post this on main thread as it’s just too ‘out there’ and may put folk off, but Alex Salmond is going to be tearing strips off the Tories on Monday over the whole ‘Isisgate’ scandal, and that will, in turn, involve raising the unpleasantness of Blair/Iraq etc etc.

Just checked the Iraq Body Count website – 408 civilians killed/executed in the past week (not including the estimated 80 killed by a car bomb tonight). And that’s just the confirmed fatalities.

When the Tories (and any Blairites) get up to defend what’s happening, and/or what’s happened, it may help to mentally blank out whatever they’re saying – this could be a suitable alternative soundtrack for anyone watching British ‘democracy’ in action:

Joy Division, ‘Atrocity Exhibition’ –

cearc

BDtt,

Love the badge, sad I won’t be there.

cearc

Ian,

Oor Alex had a big prescence on PM this afternoon talking about this in some detail.

I don’t think Labour are too worried (don’t want to upset the tory voters, don’tcha know.

K1

@Gerry Parker or someone associated wi iScot, I want to get the monthly hard copy subscription, but don’t do paypal. Any assistance gratefully received 🙂

Kendomacaroonbar

@K1. Hi there. E mail me ken@iscot.scot and we’ll work something out for you

Cactus

Hi K1, if you’re in the neighbourhood, we’re all heading for event Helensburgh next Saturday.

Most of the usual suspects will be there and more.

Come on down 🙂

K1

Thanks Ken, just emailed you…and Cactus…I’ll be along to the west end one? Can’t recall when that is happening, but I’ll be there 🙂

Brian Doonthetoon

Well, K1. Helensburgh is to the north-west of Glasgow so I guess it could be described as “the west end one”. That’s next Saturday, the 25th, in the Clyde Bar.

That’s the only Wings get-together I know of. Unless you mean the Kelvingrove Park to Glasgow Green trek on 1st August? I believe there will be Wingers at Glasgow Green but this Winger, onnyhoo, will not be getting his hiking boots on for the hour-and-a-quarter trek!

Ian Brotherhood

Dr Feelgood, ‘Milk & Alcohol’ –

Paula Rose

@>–>– (test)

Thepnr

Here’s an unusual one, Billy Idol Mony Mony

Ian Brotherhood

If you’re running short of stuff to have nightmares about, check this:

STV News, John Mackay, The Krankies & John Barrowman, plugging panto at ‘the ess-ee see-see’.

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Aye, and this is ‘unusual’ too – Billy Idol being interviewed by ‘Loose Women’.

The sexual tension is almost unbearable, as evidenced by Judy’s nervous giggling…

Ian Brotherhood

This is extraordinary:

Hunter S. Thomson confronted by one of the Hell’s Angels he lived with, during a chat show (1967) –

Cactus

Check out these talented classical ladies:

Stoker

@ Cactus (12.21am).
Thanks for that, there are no suitable superlatives available.

Brian Doonthetoon

Now that was good Cactus!

Brian Doonthetoon

Further on 1st August.

Looks like the ‘All Under One Banner’ event is just a march to Glasgow Green, finishing at 1pm.

However, it looks like a demo has been organised against BBC bias, at Pacific Quay from 2pm to 4pm.

link to facebook.com

cearc

Thanks, Cactus.

That was hilarious.

Brian Doonthetoon

Ust found another video of Gerry Cinnamon doing ‘Hope Over Fear’ at TITP.

This one doesn’t cut off the start and is clearer.

Brian Doonthetoon

‘Ust’ = ‘Just’!

X_Sticks

Cheers BDtt.

I see pretty much the whole gig is on that page (on the right).

Off to go watch it again. 😀

ian foulds

Campaign for an English Parliament

Is there any ‘mileage’ in our bid for Independence in supporting this Campaign?

Thepnr

@ian foulds

Campaign for an English Parliament

Yes, why not until the goal of full Independence could be achieved?

Basically four separate Parliaments within one United Kingdom must result in a kind of federalism with in effect FFA for each Parliament.

I really can’t see me supporting this in anything other than tacit agreement. Too busy with our own battles.

Brian Doonthetoon

I posted this on one of the main pages a day or three ago, and sensibledave took umbrage.

England needs proper devolution, ie ‘regional’, meaning that there would be 8 regional parliaments, plus Scotland, Wales and NI, each with FFA, paying a sub to Westminster for Defence and Foreign Affairs.

Then, abolish the HoL and use the space for the ‘upper chamber’, ie 9 members from each ‘region’, giving an upper house of 99 members, so no need for a casting vote.

Of course, adoption of this idea could kill off the desire for Scottish independence.

So, maybe I’m talking out of my @®se…

Brian Doonthetoon

My last post for tonight – roast beef is waiting for my enjoyment.

I suppose this could be regarded as the signature tune of Fluffy, Carbuncle and the Morningside chappie.

Funnily enough, the B side of that single could be their song as well.

“And we’re bet-ter together…”

Brian Doonthetoon

Jeez, it’s quiet in here…

Onnyhoo, a quote from the link below, that shows that ‘the 56’ are making their presence known in ‘that London’.

One Tory’s response to the SNP 56 may have been prescient. “There seem to be more of you Scots,” he told the new nationalist MP, who pointed out that there were exactly the same number of Scottish MPs as in the previous parliament. “All the same,” he replied, “there seem to be more of you.”

link to archive.is

Brian Doonthetoon

I’m gonna let you see another couple of badge designs we’ve come up with in the last week or so. (Available at Helensburgh.)

But, there’s a story behind the first.
I’ve just finished reading Dan Brown’s “Inferno”, in which there is much mention of Dante’s “The Divine Comedy” and, in particular, “Inferno”.

Thanks to Tommy Sheridan, the rallies in George Square and, of course, Gerry Cinnamon, the phrase “Hope Over Fear”, I believe, has become chiselled into the psyche of a large percentage of the Scottish nation. Gerry Cinnamon’s performance at TITP would tend to confirm that.

So, while reading Dan Brown’s book, when I came across the reference to Dante’s (probably) most famous quote from “Inferno”, “Hope Over Fear” immediately flagged itself up in my mind.

That quote is, “Abandon all hope, ye who enter here”. You see where I’m coming from, iye?

So, I did a Google image search and found what I was looking for. A bit of tweaking in Photoshop and I had the background. A wee bit adjustment of Dante’s words to fit in with “Hope Over Fear” – and a sticker on the road sign to reinforce the message, and the design was complete.

You can see it here:-

comment image

The second design is self-explanatory.

comment image

cearc

Both excellent, BDtt.

Brian Doonthetoon

Thanx, cearc.

Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT (8.32) –

‘Jeez, it’s quiet in here…’

Aye, it is my friend. As it is on the main threads.

Perhaps it’s because we’re now seeing the rawness of what the British ‘State’ involves.

What the Labour Party did tonight in the HOC; the ‘new’ scandals about child abuse (none of them are ‘new’ at all); the disgusting behaviour of that slug Cameron, ramping-up yet another Crusade…

It’s no wonder people get tired of it all – so tired, and scunnered, that they can’t even bring themselves to summon a comment.

🙁

Cactus

Aye, cracking badges Mr Doonthetoon. I wonder if Gerry might join us on Saturday night..

Howdy cearc & Ian Brotherhood 🙂

David

Tonight’s theme song for Diane Abbott and the 47 other Labour MPs who defied their party whip & voted against the Tory welfare cuts:

Argent – “Hold Your Head Up” from 1972

David

And for the SNP song:

Bachman-Turner Overdrive – “Takin’ Care Of Business” (1974)

David

And for the Tories:

AC/DC – “Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap” (1976)

Cactus

Aweright David, good choice of tunes, rockin’ it up, chairs dude!

Cactus

Try this one night-shifters, drummer for hire:

Sharp Dressed Man cover (originally by the ZZ’s.)

David

Nice one Cactus, that drummer must be of the “If it’s worth doing, it’s worth doing to excess” school!

Ian Brotherhood

I’ve got a prize for anyone who can submit a dodgier 80’s music video before midnight.

Kelly Marie, ‘Feels Like I’m In Love’ –

PS Was she Scottish?

kenomacaroonbar

Kelly Marie is from Glasgow/Paisley (?) I met her in Red Bus Studios around 1977 whilst trawling demo tapes. Nice lassie.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian.

From Wikipedia…
“Kelly Marie (born Jacqueline McKinnon, 16 October 1957, Paisley, Renfrewshire) is a Scottish disco singer. Her only notable hit was “Feels Like I’m in Love”, a #1 hit in the UK in 1980.”

Here’s one for you from 1988:-

(I assume you’re old enough to watch it!)

Paula Rose

I will not be tempted…

Ian Brotherhood

I might just end up keeping that prize for meself…

Goombay Dance Band, ‘Seven Tears’ –

Paula Rose

Any of you nice peeps going to mention our Saturday night soiree on the main threads?

Ian Brotherhood

Cheers KendoMac/BDTT, and hoots to ye Cactus – didn’t see your greeting earlier.

And as for Paula Rose? Well, if the lady’s not for tempting, so be it, but we can dream…

Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Ah, yes ‘Sabrina’.

I remember the day they shot that video, near Greenock it was. They were very lucky with the weather.

Unfortunately, the video is too good to have a chance of winning the prize. 🙁

Morag

Did our mutual friend block you too, Paula? Awfully touchy, isn’t he?

Paula Rose

No he hasn’t – but I was being correct in that his tetchiness is due to his illness, I’ve noticed it before. He is often very funny and I enjoy his tweets – Bit amused that he took umbrage at “dears” as Iv’e used that term of endearment in previous tweets to him.

Do we have the wondrous pleasure of being in your company in Helensburgh on Saturday?

Thepnr

McTernan calls Labour members stupid for supporting Corbyn who is polling in the lead over Burnham hahahahaha.

Thepnr

@Cactus

Got your email forwarded, looking good for Saturday at the Clyde Bar in Helensburgh. All welcome.

Party time!

Morag

Helensburgh? Saturday? Probably not, it’s a bit far.

Paula Rose

Morag honey – borrow Nicola’s heliwotsit.

Morag

He got snappy when I responded to a tweet of his about hypoglycaemia with a joke – I’m on a diet. He expected me to know he was diabetic, but I didn’t. I only followed him on a whim, I’m not psychic and I don’t hang on his every tweet.

I apologised quite handsomely, but he didn’t acknowledge the apology at all. I tried to take his side in an argument with some stupid woo who was trying to claim a fad diet could cure diabetes or arthritis or something, and he turned on me, calling me stupid and ignorant for remarking that an ultra-low calorie diet can cause some mild cases of type 2 diabetes to go into remission. Which is a simple fact. (Actually effective in about 80% of cases in cats, though I didn’t bother to tell him that bit. Works on a smaller percentage of human cases.)

Apparently he doesn’t acknowledge that some cases of type 2 diabetes are milder than others, or that these cases respond to a drastic diet. So I’m stupid and he blocks me. I’m just the one with the biochemistry degree.

I probably won’t even notice. Tetchy is putting it a bit mildly though.

Morag

I ought to go to Millport, really.

Thepnr

@Paula Rose

LOL

Ah Morag shame you can’t make it.

Morag

Tell me what time, just in case.

Thepnr

@Morag

There is no time but 19:00 seems about right, I hear the music starts around 19:30 🙂

I think hotels and B&B’s are in short supply, I’m sure though something could be organised. That is if your not too fussy 🙂

Michael McCabe

I got my Mojave Working. link to youtube.com Cheers Afro-Celt Sound System.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Michael McCabe.

Your new gravatar is similar to one of our new badges.

See my post here:-

Cactus

Aweright thepnr, aye Saturday night is gonna be a belter. Maybe everywhere being booked-up is a good sign.. the sooner people arrive the better the boogey!

Calling all musical people.. singers, poets, guitarists, mandoliners, violinists, pipers, pianists, tambouriners, percussionists, bodhranists, foot-tappers, spooners etc.. drop a message here if you fancy doing a turn. You’re in for a treat, you don’t wanna miss this one.

Also, I wonder if Independence Live are gonna make an appearance.. what-say Kevin & Derek?

I’m heading out of office for a few days on another adventure, see y’all Saturday party people!

Thepnr

@Cactus

You missed out the berry pickers and tattie howkers. Good Dundee fowk!

An auld ain bit a guid ain. Hear the words.

Paula Rose

NATASHA – where are you sweetest – will need pretty girlies apart from moi in Helen’s burgh!

Ian Brotherhood

Long-ish watch at 35 mins, but if you’re a Patrick McGoohan/The Prisoner fan, this is very good – interview, from 1977:

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Bookmarked for tomorrow, loved the Prisoner but bedtime looms and sweet dreams.

Michael McCabe

Romeo’s Tune link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Ever fallen in love with someone you shouldn’t have fallen in love with. No not that one. link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

some early Jimmy Cliff. link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Jolene No not that one. link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Till it happens to you. link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

I was really looking forward to Helensburgh on Saturday. Just found out today some friends have booked somewhere on the same night for my Birthday so Alas I Cant make it (Bummer) Any how next time. Hope you all have a great Weekend.

Taranaich

For my 100th post on Wilderness of Peace, I think Private Eye has finally lost me for good.

For a while, I’d been content to praise them for the genuine good they do. But when you toe the Unionist line so completely that *Kevin Hague* is cited as a credible source about economics & business (last issue presented the Lib Dem’s side of the General Election campaign in Ian Blackford’s constituency with absolutely no scrutiny & took the “SNP cybernat” story completely at face value) you’ve just lost me. Add in a petty jibe about Jeremy Corbyn being electoral suicide, and I’ve lost any respect I had left for them.

Hell mend ye.

Michael McCabe

K1 put this up on the main topics which he got from the Revs Twitter feed. Quite good if you ask me. link to youtube.com

Thepnr

Hey Michael

Sorry to hear you can’t make it to Helensburgh on Saturday. I hope you have a great birthday wie yer pals.

Thepnr

This Saturday wings over Scotland are coming to the Clyde Bar
LIVE MUSIC AND ENTERTAINMENT 6-11.30
Not to be missed

link to facebook.com

Brian Doonthetoon

And this Facebook page:-

link to facebook.com

Stoker

Joe Walsh & Billy Gibbons – Life In The Fast Lane

CameronB Brodie

Me also cavemen. 🙂

The Groupies – Primitive

Brian Doonthetoon

A track I played at many a party over the years. A band from Hawick…

Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

That was braw, put I smile on my face. I was that age once 🙂

Just getting myself warmed up for the morn with some hot stuff!

Thepnr

And if you get to the Clyde bar early then you might be in time for…

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

Maybe this should be the song of 25th July…

Thepnr

This is one for Paula.

Brian Doonthetoon

Because this came up after a previous Youtube video, I listened to it again, for the first time in a couple of decades.

A classic of ‘Scotch humor, y’all’…

Thepnr
Paula Rose

Just finished washing up – sticks head out, oh Thepnr dear – very funny xx, where’s my lovely Natasha?

Stoker

Shakira – Gypsy

Stoker

Shakira – Gypsy: link to youtube.com

Stoker

Here’s one for all the party goers tomorrow night, have a guid yin.

The McCalmans – Still Gonna Die

Thepnr

@Stoker

Better have some fun then eh Stoker. wouldn’t mind if Shakira came along to the party. No such luck 🙁 It’s Paula Rose for me then, that’s a lively one 🙂

Stoker

Dougie MacLean – The Gael

Stoker

@ Thepnr – LOL, great minds and all that, i can’t see past Shakira.

Hope you all have a great night.
Here’s another lively one.

Erasure – Drama

Thepnr

No comment.

Stoker

Eddie Rabbitt – Every Which Way But Loose (Live 1981)

Paula Rose

Pedicure sorted, hair sorted, snake trained, badges polished, ready to party!

Gillian_Ruglonian

Hi Paula, top billing again I see 🙂

Stoker

Well, time for me to go and chuck another log on the fire.
Sweet dreams troops!

Thepnr

Work all night eh!

CameronB Brodie

There’s definitely something about this site.

King Bee – Must Bee the Music

CameronB Brodie

Check the size of the mobile phones. 🙂

KLF – 3 a.m. eternal

Relax, only time is eternal. Not even the BBC can do anything about that. 😉

CameronB Brodie

Still rockin’?

Boogie Down Productions – My Philosophy

CameronB Brodie

No flagging now.

KRS-One – Step Into A World (Rapture’s Delight)

Stoker

Gillian_Ruglonian wrote:
“Hi Paula, top billing again I see”

I would have had top billing but it would appear one of my contributions has been ejected into the ether. Besides, i got the one i wanted, the 13000th and i don’t mind losing star billing to Queenie. This showbiz lark can be a bit of a drag at times.

Here’s one for today’s birthday folks and to fire up tonights party folks. Get out those air guitars and get strumming along.

The Beatles – Birthday song

Stoker

I’m not a fan of cRAP music but this one, first posted on WOS two days ago by K1, needs a thorough airing and spread far and wide.

WARNING for the more gentle souls among us, contains strong language.

Stoker

Have a great weekend folks.
Life’s very short and there’s no dummy runs at it.

Branded – Living Life In The Fast Lane

CameronB Brodie

Stoker
I missed “keep your coins…” first time round and couldn’t be bothered looking for it. Hence all the crap shit. Cheers. 😉

Paula Rose

Here’s one of my faves – It ain’t what you do…

chipmonkey

I hope all you lucky people off to party tonight have a lovely night. Typical. As well as a good natter and a drink or three there’s to be live music,sing song,open mike… and I can’t join you. West Coasters – be carefull with the hairy string, watch out for the spikey heels and don’t let my bestie Paula anywhere near a swimming pool. You have been warned!

Gillian_Ruglonian

Okay folks, who’s all in helensburgh?

We’re here, the sun’s out and its time to get the party started 😉

kendomacaroonbar

@Gillian

I’ve been in – dropped off a table and projection screen and no body there – gone back home again ! Brilliant weather though !

CameronB Brodie

For Claudia.

Lauryn Hill – Ex-Factor

Jock Scot,Paula Rose and ThePNR

5 miles from Helensburgh,sitting drinking whiskey whilst Paula feeds her snake and the PNR cooks mince and tatties..what more could a choob ask for.. oh a Wings doo later on..That’ll do nicely.

Brian Doonthetoon

We’re having nosebags in the Henry Bell, round the corner from The Clyde Bar.

See yooz soon!

cearc

Have fun all of you. Sorry I can’t be there.

Jim Thomson

Betty Boop and I are along the road in the Commodore waiting for some nosh. Thought that trying to last until the wee sma’ hours on nothing but alcohol was a bad idea.

Betty Boop

@ Bdtt & Gillian
Just waiting to trough at the Commodore along the street at the Travelodge. Lovely outside in the sun. !

Jim Thomson

@cearc we’ll have a wee snifter for you 🙂 Paula will be gutted, she still has your swimming thong

Lanarkist

Have a great night, would love to have been there.

Best wishes to all!

Croompenstein

Our beloved Scotland when the sun is shining…

Ian Brotherhood

Was hoping, right up until yesterday, to make it along, but ’twas not to be.

Gutted.

Hope youse all have a rerr terr, and please sink one for me.

Slainte (sniff…)

Jim Thomson

@ian brotherhood

Sent you a tweet asking that very question. You need more followers young man (sorry, rum talking)

Bob Sinclair

Hope you guys are having a party & Cactus hasn’t bust his G string yet. Would love to have been there but the holidays beckoned. Enjoy yersels & ayes on the prize.

Croompenstein

Labour leadership contest…

Ian Brotherhood

@Jim T –

Here’s to ye’s!

I do hope it’s a decent rum you’re into, and not some red-eye such as the likes of meself would instinctively favour.

In any event, bottoms-up! 🙂

CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
I could just carry on from last night, though I wouldn’t want to compete with deluge of updates from Hellensborough. 🙂

How’s about one, seeing as the Rev has Miranda up for scrutiny, allegedly?

The Adventures of Stevie V – Dirty Cash (Money Talks)

btw, Hong Kong Phooey hasn’t managed to turn up any new dirt on HSBC yet, but I hear Spot is on the case now.

cearc

Cameron,

I think they’ll be getting a bit past managing updates by now.

CameronB Brodie

cearc
That’s no excuse. 😉

Brian Doonthetoon

Update: home, and about to consume a Lidl chicken jalfrezi with samosas and onion bhajis.

I believe a good night was had by us all.

I will be in no hurry to surface later today…

Kendomacaroobar

A huge thank you to all that attended the WoS Helensburgh shindig last night and this morning. It was great to meet up again with so many well kent faces who travelled far and wide to get here.

For those who are feeling slightly ‘damaged’ this morning….I share your pain 🙂

Yew Choob

Can we have oor Jock back please. What’s the world coming to when we let him go to one of your soirees and we don’t seem to have had him returned.Oor Technical director John let go of the leash and for this he will be ‘choobed’. BUT apparently you had this evening of joviality when Ronnie Anderson was ‘oot the country’. Anyhoos, John did say that you all had a blast and he would like to convey his gratitude for ‘looking after him’. Wingers doing what Wingers do ..mingling and having fun. Cheers.

ronnie anderson

Santa Ponsa ponsing aboot.

Sos Lads N Lassies,for missing the party. I trust everyone had a good time & made many new friends as Wingers do. Thanks for phone call Jock much appeiciated.

Thepnr

@Yew Choob

I have it on good authority that Jock Scot is being well looked after for now. He will make his own way back so don’t fret!

Betty Boop

@ Ronnie Anderson

While you were “ponsing” aboot, I felt obliged to mark your absence doon the watter by having your drinks for you. Awfy guid, ta!

Missed all of you who didn’t make it. A wee bit of gossip; Paula had a wee bit of competition in the heels department, but, carried off the dance moves with aplomb (or was she carried off? = can’t quite remember…)

Paula Rose

Oh gosh – I’ve just woke up barefoot on the shore of Loch Lomond – what happened?

Ian Brotherhood

This was played on RS earlier today. Good stuff, and quite liable to elicit a tear, especially if you’ve a hangover and are already missing the good friends you were with…

Aly Bain, Phil Cunningham, ‘Sophie’s Lullaby’ –

cearc

PR,

Oh no! You haven’t lost your sparkly, ultra-high heels?

Paula Rose

cearc honey dearest – no probs, rolled over and found them.

Cactus

Good times on Saturday night with y’all and great to meet some new faces.

Cheers to Helensburgh, The Clyde Bar staff, the weather and all you party people there 🙂

Next event..
March for Independence from KG park this Saturday 1st August 2015.. there’s going to be thousands of people there, so get in amongst it and let’s re-run the fun!

CameronB Brodie

Here’s an impressive kitten for @EmergancyKittens.

Are we a sufficiently competent society to be secure in our ability to manage bioengineering technologies, in our pseudo-capitalist, monopoly interest/corporatist state paradigm?

Ruby (F1 Savannah) Jumping 8 feet

CameronB Brodie

Some vital research material for the Rev. 🙂

Dave Allen on the supernatural.

Dave Allen on teaching your kid about time

Dave Allen on Religion

CameronB Brodie

Just cause it’s me and after getting a name check in the NME, here’s some more surfing and stuff. (that wasn’t poetry Rev., it’s they way I tell them)

Asian Dub Foundation – Hope

CameronB Brodie

P.S. Just found that mixes well with ADF’s “Committed to Life” as the lead, IMO anyway. 🙂

ronnie anderson

@ Betty Boop Good tae see you,s all had fun in Helensburgh & doing what Wingers do Looking after one & other & making new friends,Betty I know you would do justice on the drinks front & Jims ah big lad to carry you home.I,ve had one all nighter naemair I say naemair lol.

ronnie anderson

Anybody got a Link to Helensburgh nite out , I,ll look in later tonight.

CameronB Brodie

Ronnie, I don’t think there was a live-stream. Hope you’re having a good time, ya layaboot. 😉

While I can still get away with it, I hope. 🙂

Asian Dub Foundation – A History Of Now

CameronB Brodie

And here’s one I thought sci-fi fans might appreciate.

Asian Dub Foundation – Mindlock (THX 1138 Rescore)

CameronB Brodie

Sorry, but I just think ADF are a remarkably flexible and accomplished ansamble, though admittedly perhaps not on the scale of Andre Rieu. Different objectives though, I think. Different backers and audience, almost certainly.

Asian Dub Foundation – A New London Eye

ronnie anderson

@ Cameron B wha,s ah layaboot.I,ll let you know Mr I,ve never stopped Promoting since I got hear,I,ve convinced a few Notherners to our cause,the cheek of you thinking Im slacking lol.

ronnie anderson

@ Cameron B I can promise you that Ronnie is no sitting on arse, I’m Vinny from Wexford and I will be voting SNP nnext election.
Vinny

CameronB Brodie

Cheers Vinny. Hope you’re having a good one yourself.

Apologies for doubting you Ronnie. 😉

Can I just apologies to everyone, all at the same time, here and now? Get it over an done with all in a one-er? Thing is, I voted Yes.

It wasn’t my fault. Honest, I ran out of gas. I had a flat tire. I didn’t have enough money for cab fair. My tux didn’t come back from the cleaner. An old friend came in from out of town. Someone stole my car. There was an earthquake. A terrible flood. Locusts. I wasn’t my fault I swear to God. – apologies JB.

Elvis Presley & Anita Wood – Who’s Sorry Now (mostly Anita)

Brian Doonthetoon

For Ronnie, et al.

I’ve uploaded some pics from Saturday at Helensburgh and, also, a compilation vid of Jock Scot.

You can find the crimes here:-

link to sites.google.com

Yew Choob

Thanks Brian and Pete, John didn’t say that you’d allowed Jock on a stage..that was brave.

@Ian Botherhood, apart from losing Jock, oor John did manage that elusive shot of Paula as posted below..for the more pornographic ‘Unicorn on a thigh’ picture..you will have to offer a load of cash ..I mean a LOAD.

link to facebook.com

Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Very good, sure I spotted an extra from The Exorcist moonlighting lol.

Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Good stuff!

I thought Paula Rose was there?

Don’t tell me she managed to evade all the cameras yet again?!

CameronB Brodie

Fast on the heels of the lunacy that was Eduard Khil (Trololo Man) and the zaniness of Messer Chups, here’s Vitas.

Mind now, these guys are tough. They defeated the Nazis.

Vitas – The 7th Element (beat that Besson)

How much can you take? 🙂

Paula Rose

Ian honey – as a special treat I allowed Jock Scot to take some pics of moi! No doubt he’ll work out how to put them up here once he has managed to stop his hands shaking.

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

No, he won’t – he’ll keep them to himself. The bastard!

Yew Choob

@Ian Brotherhood…the price just went UP.

Thepnr

@Yew Choob

Haha, much ye want gon tell us tell us 🙂

Ian Brotherhood

@Yew Choob –

Our comments overlapped…

🙁

Erm, eh, well, can we come to some kind of arrangement?

Thepnr

Some things are never for sale and dignity is probably the number one.

Paula Rose

Behave dears or I shall withdraw permissions for any other pics.

Thepnr

@Paula Rose and Jock Scot

This is for you 🙂

Brian Doonthetoon

I’m still processing a pic of Paula Rose from Invergowrie that was spoilt by failure of flash. It’s not one of my high priorities because I am satisfied, having seen her in the crotchless balaclava, on her way to the pool that night.

AS pic is a poor second.

But I’ll persevere in making it available to the wider interweb…

Kendomacaroonbar

I can finally reveal that Paula Rose refused a lucrative contract Point Blank to appear as our monthly centre fold spread (‘au natural’) as the staple location was too close for comfort.

The offer still stands M’aam

Brian Doonthetoon

“AS pic is a poor second” = “A pic is a poor second”.

“Lack of proofreading”, came the reply.

Yew Choob

@ThePNR

You will have to ask if you can get a discount from Paula as she isn’t under licence to Yew Choob…YET.

Blackmail is such a lurid vice wouldn’t you agree but can let you have a sneak peak at the negative for £200 -(minus) Travel, taxis,mince and tatties and looking after John..make it a fiver

@Ian Brotherhood

Took my post 23 minutes to register so understandable and do forgive our sense of fun..must be that bad influence which is so good here x

@Paula

If you are hiding Jock in your closet…..can you send him back cos Ninja Penguin has covertly furnished us with some new lyrics and we could do with, what passes as, a vocalist around here. We have heard from MFI 5 that he may have been spotted in Rutherglen of all places..must be that kick-ass Yes Rutherglen mob who owned the dance floor in Helensburgh by the way, according to John.

Thepnr

@Yew Choob Truth be told!

Thepnr

Filmed in bonny Scotland, the stormy, atmospheric backdrop of the latest offering is provided courtesy of the tiny island of Easdale, in the Inner Hebrides. Directed by long-standing Florence collaborator Vincent Haycock, it’s a poignant piece of cinematic brilliance.

Ditching her usual sequins and cape, we see the magnificent Florence comfort a young version of herself, face a group of violent men, struggle with love, loss, family – and sing to a fisherman. Guaranteed to give you goosebumps.

Florence and the Machine

ronnie anderson

@ BrianDTT nice pics B thanks at least I get to see some of Helensburgh.

@ Jock S Cactus you,s did ah grand job.

@ Gillian Ruglian thanks to you & your partner for the banners,they,ll look great at the Wings Stall.

@ CameronB lol did that suprize you eh Vinny fae Waterford lol,I have another one George Storer fae Lothian region he will be looking in by Tues of next week & a Couple fae Banknock, Cameron no need to appologise I know you were only kiddin lol.

CameronB Brodie

ronnie anderson

lololololololololo 😉

hevvabeccywoss

Who owned the dance floor? The Yes Rutherglen mob felt so welcome that you pulled a usually very shy Heather (hevvabeccywoss) out of her shell hahaha. It was fantastic night. Dixie set up the night, singing from Cactus, videos from Brian and Yewchoob had us dancing early doors. I canny wait for the next bash. Yes Rutherglen are organising a night soon. We’ll let you know the details in due course and hopefully you will give us the opportunity to return the favour and welcome you to our event.

Paula Rose

@ hevvabeccywoss lovely to have you all along and so pleased that you recognise our ownership (smiley, winky thingie) xx

Thepnr

@hevvabeccywoss

Hello Heather, nice to see you here in Off Topic. As for the dancing! Thanks for taking care of an old timer 🙂

hevvabeccywoss

@Yew Choob I like the sound of that unicorn on thigh tattoo. Sounds epic lol

@Paula Rose you’ve got the moves. I couldn’t keep up with you but it was fun trying ????

@Thepnr I don’t remember any old timers just a distinguished gentleman who did me the honour of a dance.

Right with all those compliments you all owe me a drink. Who’s up for it hahaha x

Paula Rose

Um I don’t actually remember allowing any of the Yew Choob team access to my unicorn – another wings myth! Cocktails next time hevvabeccywoss no probs xx

hevvabeccywoss

Erm I don’t know why question marks appeared on my last post. I entered a smiley face.

Cocktails it is @Paula Rose 🙂

Jock Scot

Hi Folks, sorry if HQ have been giving you a hard time..I’ve been in touch by fashioning a way to access the internet and stoap their moaning..I’ve been kept on a leash for too long and the break has been wonderful, thanks to my new handler/wearer for looking after me. Heather you were great on Saturday and a total pleasure to meet you. Wings are lucky to have you on board, methinks. Had an absolute ball at Helensburgh and wasn’t Dixie excellent..I missed some of the turns unfortunately as some Russian chap started wearing me and I got a bit confused. Anyone going to the March in Glasgow on Saturday..I think Gillian is, so will we be there as Wingers or individual subversives?

X_Sticks

Damn, won’t make the march in Glasgow this weekend either.

Just hope I’ll make it to the proposed Rutherglen do.

About time Embra got it’s act together for another do too!

Jock Scot

@Paula

My dear, I shall contact HQ and check this out but you did wake up not wearing your shoes if I recall.

@Heather

As the poster’s keep saying..’careful now’. And if you are up for a drink..would you be available to meet up after the March on Saturday for a ‘drink and a strategy sesh’ to discuss some of the ideas we came up with at Helensburgh.

@Ronnie

Don’t burn

Yew Choob

@Jock Scot

Ya dirty stop-out and did you say Russian?..who else was wearing you on Saturday?

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jock.

I’m guessing some Wingers are going on the march – two and a half miles, an hour and a quarter – but I think there will be more Wingers at the BBC demo in the afternoon.

link to facebook.com

Gillian_Ruglonian

Hiya guys, I hope Helen’s got her burgh back in order after the weekend!

Another memorable night for the wings family, thanks to everyone involved and love to you all 🙂

If folk are up for it, we may as well take advantage of all being in the same place this weekend and have a wee meet-up after the march. What say you’s?

Oh, and the Yes Rutherglen shindig is proposed for Friday 18th September, details to follow xx

hevvabeccywoss

@Jock Scot A drink after the March you say? Mmm I believe that could be arranged. Purely for strategizing of course and nothing to do with the banter hahaha.

See you on Saturday troops 🙂

CameronB Brodie

Grouse Beater & donald (if you read WOS)
I was caught in two minds.

The Ventures – Wipeout (live)

surprise 🙂

James Caithness

Robert Peffers hasn’t posted for awhile, does anyone know if he is okay?

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jock et al.

Yooz not going to the BBC Demo on Saturday afternoon?

Ronnie’ll mark you absent in the register…

link to facebook.com

Jock Scot

Brian

Wasn’t too sure what was happening this weekend but think we could do both and then have a brain-storming session.

Cactus

Aye, post-march refreshments this Saturday afternoon, count me in.

Dixie and I were back ROCKing The Clutha mic last night (hosted by the amazing Mr Dandelion). A braw night of singing and dancing had by all!

The bar is now situated in the courtyard/garden area and the famous tree still remains.. in fact, there are a few new branches which have sprouted 🙂

So there’s a thought.. once we arrive at Glasgow Green, who’s up for post-march refreshments in The Clutha? (5 mins away)

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cactus.

Ronnie’s looking for a good number of Wingers at the BBC Demo, 2pm to 4pm.

Cactus

Hey Brian Doonthetoon ~

Maybes then we could participate in an old-fashioned Glasgow tradition and have a mini ‘pub crawl’ on route to the quay..

Starters at The Clutha and work our way down the Clyde towards.. a half here, a half there? We’ll be dancing by the time we arrive!

Question:
Who knows what Helensburghs The Clyde bar and Glasgows The Clutha bar share in common?

hevvabeccywoss

Cactus,

I think the Clutha is a great idea. After Dixie telling us how the owner paid for the refit out of his own pocket it will be good to show support and get money in the tills.

Clearly that is my only motivation and nothing to do with drinking whisky lol

I’m sure Gillian_Ruglonian and I will be going to the BBC demo but heading for drinks after that 😀

Jim Thomson

And for all us grammar Nazis out there (in here?)

I give you … Weird Al Yankovic

Jim Thomson

and (assuming my last post went through ok (it had the N word in it, no, not the ni* word, the one with the z in it))

Here’s a wee video of arguably the greatest metal guitarist around today – Zakk Wylde

As our American cousins might drawl … “Awesome”

Jim Thomson

And, just before I get back to reading about “Physical Layer Characteristics of Universal Access Transmitters for ADS-B”, here’s a short clip of Zakk’s fingering technique (steady, Paula)

paulTgeist

@ Cactus:-
Excellent suggestion for a gathering at The Clutha post demo.
Excellent way for us to show our support for people who have
been through some unimaginably terrible times recently.

Gillian_Ruglonian

So, looks like there’s a plan coming together…marching, sticking two fingers up at PQ, then showing our support at a great Glasgow institution.
Who could refuse 🙂

Paula Rose

Oh decisions – Glasgae town, should I stay (in Brechin) or should I go? Perhaps I’ll do another crowd funder to hire Nicola’s chopper.

Thepnr

Oh the angst. Searching desperately for inspiration!

I found it, hallelujah, on one that I’ve already posted here lol.

Paula Rose

“Rock the Clutha” – music by The Clash, anyone got the lyrics?

Gillian_Ruglonian

CameronB Brodie

Jim Thomson
You come across as some who might be able to answer this question. 🙂

Bullshit or not?

Ongoing academic explanation of the SEG.

Paula Rose

@ Gillian_Ruglonian faerie with wings?

Jim Thomson

Cameron – thanks for that bud. 9 minutes of my life that have just evaporated!

I have to say though, some hair! I want hair like that.

I have no idea what the Searl “machine” is but from the very brief snippets of video, it looks like induced currents in a grooved surfaces of aluminium rollers (no idea if the metal is Al or not). The grooves will allow multiple surface eddy currents to exist across the face of the roller.

The rotors could be ferrous or non-ferrous. If non-ferrous but conductive, then there will still be induced surface currents setting up opposing collapsing mag fields to that causing the currents and will result in repulsion. The geometry looks like it would cause the rotation of the rollers as well as the repulsion of the roller group.

But hey, I only have an ONC in electrical engineering (from hundreds of years ago). We were taught about series v shunt wound motors and that’s what I’m referencing in my cloudy heid-store. As well as some tiny remnants of stuff I used to know about super-cooled conduction.

So, anyway, I do hope someone gave him a safety briefing about working at heights. Looks like an awfy long way down just behind him! Maybe the guy to his left was the safetyman 🙂

Paula Rose

Ooo multiple surface eddies and repulsion of rollers coupled with shunt wound motors – heaven again on Off-topic, swoon.

Jim Thomson

… and another thing, he really does go on a bit. Not exactly concise. He’s obviously had a bad experience when someone criticised his “tainted” data back in his early academic history.

Paula Rose

Yippee we’re O/T on O/T where’s our fave O/Ter , where’s AuldA?

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

Comments on that video for which you gave the link.

Like Jim, I was wondering about the hair. Did Sheldon Cooper let Penny experiment with it?

On the rest…
I’m quite happy believing that when the flux linking a circuit changes, an electro-magnetic force is induced, and that the magnitude of the induced EMF is directly proportional to the rate of change of flux linkage.
Furthermore, the induced EMF acts in such a manner as to oppose the cause to which it is due.

Faraday and Lenz have a lot to answer for!

Paula Rose

Oh the magnetic forces of attraction with those other bits!

CameronB Brodie

Jim Thomson
I wasn’t really expecting such an informative reply. Thanks, though I could , of course, ask the same question of your theory. 🙂

Ignorance is bliss, so don’t read Wings Over Scotland. It’s bad for your bliss folks.

Also, Jim, I didn’t put a gun to your head. 😉

Cheers 😀

Finlay

Gutted I missed the party on Saturday, hope you guys all had a grand old time!

I’ll definitely pop round for the next one, if you’ll have me. 😉

Paula Rose

Finlay dear – do you dance?

smithie

Paula Rose @9.26pm, happy days dear, slip aff thae 6 inch heels and get cumfy wi yer 3 inch baffies x

CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
Weird hairdos and flux capacitors. Mmmm. Not wanting to knock the subject matter, as I understand virtually zilch about physics (as evidenced by my lack of a Higher qualification in the subject), I think the vid shows it is relatively easy to gain mileage when expounding on specialist knowledge. I thought the guy sounded like he knew what he was talking about, though somewhat implausible. Book – cover – judge? 😉

Saying that, the first thing I thought of was Will Podmore selling his tripe. 🙂

How else has a misleadingly branded British Labour party survived for so long in Scotland, selling English imperialism? Corrupted working-class leaders and bamboozle merchants spinning shite to the flock and all supported by a corrupt BBC and right-wing press. That’s how.

Sorry for preaching to the converted. 😉

Jim Thomson

Thing is, I’m a sucker when it comes to “trying” to help :-p

I’m also always trying to find out what makes stuff tick … and then it stops … just when I get that last screw out …

And when it’s all back together again, there are a few spare bits that never seemed to have been necessary in the first place.

Which reminds me of a lad I had the great fortune to work alongside just at the end of my apprenticeship. He had a multiplicity of previous work experiences, one of which was working in a TV repair shop. His fault-finding techniques were legendary.

He had a theory that when someone designed a new TV, they handed the circuit to one of the technicians to build it. The finance people then got involved and got the tech to start removing components until it stopped working. The last one was replaced and that was the final design! There is probably some truth in there, and the techs would have made a few changes to stop the thing bursting into flames no doubt!

Ahh, those were the days, when you could hold a component in your hand and actually read what the value was without having to use a microscope.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

“How else has a misleadingly branded British Labour party survived for so long in Scotland, selling English imperialism?”

Have you read this, from Tuesday, 28 April 2015? The sentence about “beholden” would answer your question, methinks.

link to tarffadvertiser.blogspot.co.uk

CameronB Brodie

Jim Thomson
I could do with one of those to read my phone. :0

Still not sorted out a pair of specks yet. ;(

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jim.

Remember the days, when the TV went on the blink, the guy came up to the house, switched it on, then announced “It’ll be the picture valve”?

My uncle had absolutely no training in TV repairing. But he repaired TV’s, with around a 90% success rate. He took the back off, looked for a valve or valve that wasn’t lit, and replaced.

I’ve just realised – I’ve forgotten the mnemonic for the resistor colour codes…

Brian Doonthetoon

“valve or valve” = “valve or valves”.

Paula Rose
CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
Thank Brians. I read that when first posted here but think the facts are of such significance they needs to be put in front of every Scot to consider.

Westminster binds Scotland to the Union, through subterfuge, subversion and superior numbers. Once you understand that, the choices become a whole lot simpler, IMO.

link to tarffadvertiser.blogspot.co.uk

CameronB Brodie

Thanks Paula. Another ‘new’ one to add to the collection. 🙂

Thepnr

Haha Paula, I saw them too. Those were the days lol.

Cactus

Excellent. In that case it’s the settled will of the Wings-crew, who have said YES to The Clutha bar this Saturday late afternoon (the best bar in toon.)

From Glasgow Green we first go ‘doon the watter’ to the Quay, then back ‘up the watter’ to The C, for afters. (maybe we could charter The Waverley?) 😉

Hey Oneironaut, T Jenny, Scaredy Cat, Alba4eva.. hope yeez are winning well.. gie’s a wave!

CameronB Brodie

I don’t know about “Acid Jelly”, so here’s some Lemon Jelly instead.

Lemon Jelly – Nice weather for Ducks

ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose CameronB one of the reasons I like WOS its like the Highdron Kaleidoscope People of many hue,s & many colours.How diz Wings work again & again.lol

Jim Thomson

Brian – you are just trying to get me to type something that never was quite PC.

The mnemonic was based on B B R O Y G B V G W

but I’m not falling for that old trick 😉

ronnie anderson

I had a chat with Jock Scott via F/B about Sat I hope that Many Wingers turn up to support You,s. You,s might be missing Me but You,s wont be short on Information & Talent in Promotion of WOS & INDY SITES.

BrianDTT/PeteTC I,ll be needing a good few badges to send out to People I met here Unicorn/Johnbull jiggin.

Chic McGregor

Just found this accoustic cover of James Taylor’s great song Fire and Rain.

Vindicates all us folkies moaning about over studio production back in the day.

Beautiful cello work by the young lad as well.

youtu.be/8WqwhEy1cK8

Sorry Rev. (forgot to strip the url there.)

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jim T.

I did a Google search and that mnemonic you refer to is NOT the one I was thinking of!

In fact, none of those I came across rang any bells.

Jim Thomson

Brian Dtt – the one I had stuck in my head started with “Big Boys” and ended “Go Without”

Just updated laptop to Win 10 – only took 90 mins :-/

Had an issue with the trackpad scrolling but that’s now (nearly) sorted. Damn thing now operates in the opposite sense.

Betty B is not quite ready for her one to be blitzed :-p

Taranaich

This is the toughest article I’ve ever written, because it’s the only time I’ve felt moved enough to break ranks and disagree with a great number of my friends and other independence supporters:

For what it’s worth, I think events are moving fast enough that a second referendum will seem academic, a mere formality, compared to what the Tory government are continuing to do.

Betty Boop

@ CameronB Brodie

Jim Thomson
I wasn’t really expecting such an informative reply. …

…Ignorance is bliss, so don’t read Wings Over Scotland. It’s bad for your bliss folks.

Now see what I have to put up with? You would ask… Nigh on 40 years and ma heid is fu’! Mind you, I don’t remember much of it.

My tuppence worth. That bloke was talking mince. Anyone who looks like he is wearing a cat on his head cannot be taken seriously! Mind you, it looked like he was somewhere west coast, USA and my son came across a bloke with a rabbit on his head down on the Big Sur, so maybe that passes for chic there.

What do I know though because…

@ hevvabeccywoss, 28/7/15, 11:27pm
@ thepnr

I thought you had extinguished some old fella on the dance floor in Helensburgh! Then I put my specs on…

Anyways, pleased to meet you Heather and glad you were gentle with thepnr!

CameronB Brodie

Betty Boop
I must admit I found it difficult not to judge by appearance, even though my haircut was not dissimilar when I was young and daft(er). I found it easier to doubt though, when reference was made to the prominent chemical physicist, as I thought this was a mechanical physics problem.

What do I know thought? Bliss. 😉

Anyone care to spoil my bliss? 🙂

Ian Brotherhood

@Taranaich –

Powerful stuff, and FWIW, I fully agree with your take on it all.

Please allow me to flag-up a couple of typos:

The Gordon Wilson quote near the start: ‘That is the making of political leader.’ Surely ‘a’ missing there?

And much further on…‘We couldn’t assume we would have won the first won.’ Second ‘won’ should be ‘one, right?

Sorry to be pedantic-heid, but we all have blind spots.

Really enjoyed it – the passion pulses out if it all, and that’s what we need right now when so many are feeling jaded.

More power to ye mister, as always. 😉

Paula Rose

I generally find that Thepnr needs a firm hand. Btw way way O/T if I can turn out in all my finery on Saturday – who is first to volunteer to sleep on the floor and allow moi an uninterrupted kip?

hevvabeccywoss

@betty hoop the pleasure was all mine. I can’t remember being on a night out with so many new friends but feeling so welcome and like I’d known you for years. It’s a strong group off people who can pull that off. It’s hilarious you thought I’d extinguished their. No chance, I value my dancing partners too much lol

@Paula Rose ‘if I can turn out in all my finery’ I didn’t think you could turn out in anything less than finery. A lady of such extremely good taste as yourself surely would never slum it in anything less than fabulous darling 😀

Paula Rose

That one – link to youtube.com

Brian Doonthetoon

WOO-HOO!

I got 1st comment on a new story!

I am humbled…

BTW: for those coming to the BBC demo on Saturday afternoon, look for the new Wings banners hanging from a rather long pole.

Climb down to the bottom and you should find Pete and I and whover else has turned up.

Paula Rose

Scottish culture – swoon xx

Brian Doonthetoon

“whover” = “whoever”.

Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

You must read faster than me, Brian!

Paula Rose

It’s the way you make me feel – my darlings

Taranaich

Thanks, Ian!

I noticed the “won” one myself shortly after re-reading, but I copy-pasted the Gordon Wilson quote, so blame it on the Telegraph!

Paula Rose

I want to cuddle Taranaich again – sexiest winger apart from his mum – kisses darlings.

Betty Boop

@ Taranaich

Some article, Al. I know I have been swinging about on the “should we, shouldn’t we” argument, but, you make some powerful points.

The most persuasive, and it is one that has occurred to me, is that we are may well be doing the unionist job for them by appearing to assume we couldn’t do it right now. There is real danger in losing focus.

I think, though, that the main concern is that too many who voted no still don’t see the writing on the wall. The Scottish cringe has its roots in being brainwashed for 300+ years that we’re not good enough and someone/anyone else always knows better.

Anyway, good piece and should give pause for thought.

Betty Boop

@ Paula Rose

Aww, you always get me with Dusty!

Then you hit with the Rezillos, mad punk rock, but, enjoyed that.

Jim Thomson

And so it begins …

Upgrade to Windows10 on the main PC has started. Only around 75 mins to wait to see if it will still let me post on Wings (that’s really all that matters!)

Jock Scot

@Taranaich

Excellent,sir. One of the other things we ‘lost’ after Sep 18th was a date. The movement had a focal point and all the hedging bets baloney is causing some to get really frustrated. The movement grew and flourished when our positive views thro’ art and get togethers in church halls etc brought back community involvement and allowed us to believe we could do it. Agreed that the 45%(possibly more but won’t go into that here) haven’t gone away but could probably do with something like Yes Scotland to build around.The Yes registry may be an answer and if so, would it be an idea if Wingers could come together in a group, like RIC, WFI and Common Weal and have a representation on the proposed Yes Scotland substitute. There is such a level of intelligence amongst Wingers that we could do with being a part of this or similar. I know Yes Scotland may have had issues with Wings by association but that has gone. The gloves are now well and truly off and I for one am fed up with trying to be nice about this.

Looking forward to meeting up with everyone this Saturday. I may not be able to access the internet tonight but will be at Kelvingrove for 11am. See you there or at PQ.

Gillian_Ruglonian

Well said Jock!

See you all in the town tomorrow x

Taranaich

@Paul Rose: I want to cuddle Taranaich again – sexiest winger apart from his mum – kisses darlings.

*Blushes bashfully*

@Betty Boop: Some article, Al. I know I have been swinging about on the “should we, shouldn’t we” argument, but, you make some powerful points.

The most persuasive, and it is one that has occurred to me, is that we are may well be doing the unionist job for them by appearing to assume we couldn’t do it right now. There is real danger in losing focus.

I think, though, that the main concern is that too many who voted no still don’t see the writing on the wall. The Scottish cringe has its roots in being brainwashed for 300+ years that we’re not good enough and someone/anyone else always knows better.

Anyway, good piece and should give pause for thought.

Cheers Betty. Much as I disagree with many of Gordon Wilson’s conclusions, I do think he’s onto something in regards to the national identity thing: a lot of people want what the SNP have been studiously avoiding, which is a reason to be Scottish instead of British. The last census showed a vast, vast majority of Scots call themselves “Scottish and British” or “Scottish not British.”

@Jock Scot: The gloves are now well and truly off and I for one am fed up with trying to be nice about this.

I firmly believe that if we are much more resolute in defending our stances on things like the pound & the EU, then people who voted No will respect it. If we don’t, then they may think Westminster had a point, and that we don’t have enough faith in our policies. Of course we can’t expect the media to report us favourably, but why play their game? The Wee Blue Book, I think, was absolutely instrumental in showing that our positivity had rock-solid foundations.

Case in point: the shyness about nationalism. Obviously people are going to draw associations with other nationalisms – but if we don’t give our definition of nationalism (not necessarily “civic nationalism,” either), then our enemies will define it for us. They define nationalism as “an extreme form of patriotism marked by a feeling of superiority over other countries.” They get away with it.

My definition of nationalism is the same as Ernest Gellner: “a political principle that holds that the political and the national unit should be congruent.” Nothing about Scotland being better, nothing about the English being evil, nothing about supremacy or superiority – just the idea that a nation should be congruent with its politics.

X_Sticks

@Jock Scot

” the 45%(possibly more but won’t go into that here) haven’t gone away but could probably do with something like Yes Scotland to build around”

National YES Registry

Advancing Scottish Independence by creating a campaigning collective from within the grass-roots.

“The idea is simple. Get all the existing pro-Indy grass-root activist groups, no matter how geographically disparate, linked together in a practical and mutually supportive campaigning network.”

Their crowdfunding appeal is at 49% with 40 hours to go.

I’ve made a contribution but that’s not an endorsement – you’ll have to make up your own minds..

link to indiegogo.com

I won’t make it to the protest/march/swally tomorrow as I have to attend a birthday party. Can’t get out of it cause it’s mine 🙁 😉 .

If Kevins livestreaming any I’ll be trying to look in when I can. Have a good one folks.

Betty Boop

@Gillian_Ruglonian

Nice gravatar, Gillian. Fairies at the bottom of the garden? You been hallucinating since Helensburgh? 😉

Stoker

Test
:))

Stoker

🙂 )

Michael McCabe

A wee bit of Taj Mahal link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Taj Mahal Fishing Blues link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

My MP’s Maiden Speech Tommy Sheppard link to youtube.com A Class Act.

cearc

X_Sticks,

Happy birthday and many more of them.

hevvabeccywoss

Well it might be a bit cloudy but the sun is out. Fingers crossed it stays that way for today’s March and demo. Looking forward to seeing everyone.

ronnie anderson

I,ve been shouting for a Forum of committed Indy Supporters since the 19th Sept,we were let down badly by the Corperate Yes Campain. Grassroots are for action , batter a Idea aboot for a short time & a plan takes shape WOS / Scot2.Scot have well astablished site so there should be plenty of co-operation as with other Indy sites.

Lets get this show out there.

Contrabution done, share the link People.Here & abroad to the Scots XPats.

Betty Boop

@ X_Sticks

Many happy returns. Hope you have a great party today! 🙂

Chic McGregor

Another great article Taranaich

Betty Boop

@ ronnie Anderson, 10:10am

I,ve been shouting for a Forum of committed Indy Supporters since the 19th Sept…

Ronnie, can you shout louder from Santa Ponsin’ so they can hear you in that wee bit o’ Ayrshire between Stevenston and Ayr! No matter how loudly I shouted the same message locally, esp that we should still be out talking on the street, it didn’t penetrate the cloth ears.

Hope you are behavin’ 😉 – dinnae you be emigrating to Spain now, not unless you are joining the Wings Catalonia branch!

Jim Thomson

test … Windaes X

Jim Thomson

Ah weel, didnae wurk. Still same auld hauf oor wait ah reckon.

Lollysmum

@Jim Thomson
Have you seen the stuff on Twitter in the last couple of days about Windows 10? Apparently everything you do online is shared-clicks, purchases-everything. More info here:

link to polygon.com

Jim Thomson

@Lollysmum

don’t believe everything that’s spouted on Twitter. Windows 10 is actually a really significant improvement over previous versions. Where they (Microsoft) have screwed up is the way they’ve left the default settings so that a lot of the privacy settings are effectively “open”. I never accept “express” installations, they are the spawn of the devil and allow suppliers to hide settings that are advantageous to them but not necessarily to the end user.

I’ve been around, and built, computers for over 35 years so I tend to get a wee bit over analytical when a new release of on operating system is dumped on the unsuspecting public (that’s an unfair comment though – Microsoft have been pretty fastidious with their pre-release testing).

This version has installed without problems on one laptop but I had to force a manual install on the desktop one I use for work and that has a few niggles that I’m gradually working through. It, the PC, does have a few non-standard features though and that seems to be the root of the problems.

I’ll deal with those tomorrow 🙁

Don’t worry about me, I generally win in the end (sometimes takes a while and I learn a lot in the process) 🙂

Ian Brotherhood

Daryl Hall & Cee Lo Green, ‘I Can’t Go For That’ –

Ian Brotherhood

Ray Lamontagne, ‘Crazy’ –

Paula Rose

(too many hippies)

Paula Rose

Party time dolls –

Brian Doonthetoon

As a DJ, I haven’t played this in anger for quite a number of years.

But…

The swimming pool escapade after Wings Over Invergowrie, and the lost shoes on the bonnie, bonnie banks of Loch Lomond, somehow, makes me associate this song with Paula Rose – no offence!

Paula Rose

Anyone –

Brian Doonthetoon

Good choice, Paula Rose.

But…

Still doesn’t excuse you from the gossip implied by my previous post tonight.

Are you gonna come clean?

Paula Rose

I’m dancing barefoot – but to transgress

CameronB Brodie

Jim Thomson
Here’s another one I’d like your opinion on, if you’d be so kind.

Bullshit or not? 😉

Turbo Encabulator

Thepnr

What Spitting Image thought of the Labour Party 25 years ago.

Red Tories? “So you still think you can control them Neil?”

Thepnr

Nightmares come true, Spitting Image on the nail again from the same year.

Jim Thomson

Cameron, you have way too much time on your hands, son.

I have to admit the use of the white lab coat is simply genius.

The guy also has trouble counting, he mention seven something-or-others but there are clearly only SIX shown in the diagram. It patently will never work with that seventh thingy missing.

Coypu are alive and well and living in the Fens.

Jim Thomson

If you know anyone with a Masters in a technical subject who can speak two Euro languages this might be a job for them

link to email.ietinfo.org

I’ve seen this advertised a few times over the past couple of years so, they’re either losing staff because it’s a crap job, or, they’re really trying to be very helpful in securing Euro-patents.

CameronB Brodie

Jim Thomson
Way too much time. 🙂

hevvabeccywoss

This has probably been well covered already but I just wanted to say how good it was to join the March on Saturday. The atmosphere was amazing and the sun was shining on us which was great. Shame we got rained off for the BBC bias demo but you can’t have it all. It was great to see so many people in the Clutha. The pub looks great. And personally I especially loved receiving my Wings over Helensburgh badge with my name on it. I’m extremely chuffed with that so thank you.

So I wanted to run a random thought past you to see what you think. Sunday night in the Solid Rock cafe it goes from quiet to pretty darn busy really quickly. Turns out the regulars were just back from a BBQ in Loch Lomond. They clearly had a good time. So, I know we might not be having the best summer ever but, since we are such a sociable group, anyone think it might be a good idea for a wings BBQ event? If you think a BBQ is pushing our luck with the weather anyone got any other ideas?

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi hevvabeccywoss.

Good to meet you on Saturday and install your badge upon your person!

Absolutely nothing to do with barbecues but…

Off-topic and off-site blethers have taken place since Pacific Quay on Saturday.

The outcome was that, if Edinburgh doesn’t come up with a Wings night by the end of September (avoiding ‘Hope Over Fear’ in George Square on the 19th), we’re looking into organising ‘Wings Over Invergowrie 3’, towards the end of October.

To give you a flavour of the last one in February, see here:-

hevvabeccywoss

Hi Brian Doothetoon, it was grand to meet you too my good man. I see i’ve missed some of the chat. It looks a lot drier indoors than it would do char grilling a sausage on a beach so I’m thinking Invergowrie is a better option lol. Thanks for the clip.

See ya soon

Paula Rose

I want a Barbie!

Taranaich

Cheers, Chic!

I did another:

Am I being oversensitive? Because every time I encounter the term “radical” on the news/media (even though I don’t have a TV I do have a life outside my house – just shows you how intrusive the media is) it seems that the term “radicalisation” or “radicalise” is used in reference to new recruits for violent despotic regimes. So when the Herald says the referendum “radicalised thousands of Scots,” is it really oversensitive to worry about how the media have cultivated a very specific, othering culture around that term?

No, of course not. If that was true, surely we’d see the papers & BBC refer to the human beings dying at Calais in dehumanising terms like “migrants” and dutifully broadcast the Prime Minister describing them as a “swarm…”

Jim Thomson

Just a wee test of the new Microsoft browser “Edge” to see if that makes viewing posts any faster.

I’m about to blitz the PC and do a fresh install of Win 10 anyway, to see if that also improves the dire loading and shutdown times.

See you on the other side (it might take a while 🙁 )

Jim Thomson

So much for that idea … Nada.

Backing up a few more files and then – clean sweep and a few hours of frustration while I try to remember a kazillion passwords and logon IDs. Deep Joy.

hevvabeccywoss

@Paula Rose says: ‘I want a Barbie!’

Looks like it’s just you and me then. You any good on the hot coals?

Here’s the plan:
I’ll bring the whisky, you bring the music and your dancing shoes and if we remember food it’s a bonus but not essential hahaha

Paula Rose

hevvabeccywoss honey – it’s a plan, lets do it!

Gillian_Ruglonian

Any glaswegians going to the left project’s meeting at renfield St stephens church on bath st tonight at 7pm?
No, well I’ll report back if anything good comes up!

Brian Doonthetoon

Methinks attendance on Friday night to see the Graham Brown Band, would be an ideal starter for the the George Square rally next day.

Brian Doonthetoon

Although I don’t actually think The The will be on at George Square…

Brian Doonthetoon

This looks like it’s worth our support.

“British Army Veteran, Bill (71 years old), a staunch Scottish independence supporter and campaigner, has lived in a van for 15 years (7 years in current van) and many will know him online as “Boorach”, which we think superbly denotes his beard (as pictured).
The van is a well-known and loved indy celebrity vehicle in the Highlands. And, Bill is alright as well! 🙂 The van has a bed, a microwave, and a wee cooking facility run on a generator.”

and

“However, the rusty battle bus has done over 250,000 miles and is in need of serious repair and this comes at a time when Bill has, unfortunately, been diagnosed with lung cancer. This will involve treatment direct to the affected lung and then bouts of radiation treatment.

Bill currently survives on his Army Pension and recently lost his passenger seat companion “Chip” the terrier. However, he still has his YES Comrades and it is the indy faithful we are pitching to now. We want to raise funds to deliver a brand new battle bus to Bill – one that will be comfortable, reliable and well insulated – this van will be Bill’s new home during his cancer treatment, rehabilitation and beyond.”

link to crowdfunder.co.uk

Paula Rose

It is, it is, it is, go on, go on, go on…

Jock Scot

@Paula

When you said you wanted a ‘barbie’, I was shocked, ye Ken

@Brian

Agreed, it’s a good cause and you could do worse than being entertained by the Graham Brown band..thoroughly enjoyed dancing with Paula when they played Dundee..oh, the stroking that happened that day!

Paula Rose

Ah Jock Scot – all a-tremble and thoughts of “I am not worthy”. Have seen the famous stage where Yew Tube first performed, I knelt and praised the Ninja Penguin.

Jock Scot

@Paula

you say the sweetest things x

cearc

BDtt,

A cause worthy of a badge?

He’s a long time Winger.

hevvabeccywoss

@Jock Scot I see you made it home in one piece this week. No ransom required. Did your captors treat you well? It was a grand moment seeing you returned to your rightful place x

Lollysmum

cearc
I reckon so. Defintely a worthy recipient 🙂

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cearc.

I emailed for info re donating via PayPal.

This is the reply:-
———————————

“Hi Brian,

Thanks for your message. You can use
kevin.kane@talktalk.net
to send a donation through Paypal – thank you so much for the support. We will then update our facebook page to detail the current running total including your donation and any others (www.facebook.com/billsbattlebus)

Will amend the Crowdfunder shortly to include the Paypal address – only discovering now people need to register and having other issues with the site. Hope it’s not putting too many folk off!

Thank you again for your donation – we really appreciate it.

Best wishes

Claire (Bill’s Battle Bus Team)”

cearc

The email address was already further down in the updates but now they have put it at the top.

Dunno why crowdfunder want all your details to donate, seems a bit ott. Just as easy to do a direct paypal payment and saves the bother of finding a card to pay by card.

Boorach seems to be having a pretty bad time, what with losing his wee dug and being so poorly. Let’s hope they get enough to sort him out well.

Gillian_Ruglonian

Very positive meeting tonight, with a great turnout – a diverse age group with wide ranging opinions on the way forward for the indi movement and Scottish political society in general.
(The interior of the Griffin hasn’t changed much, since I was last in!)

Gillian_Ruglonian

Oh, a wee plug for this event – for anyone who’s at a loose end on Friday 🙂

facebook.com/events/518048555015377/

Cactus

Evening, that’s me made it back from Saturdays adventures.. what a crowd and great to meet the ever-increasing friendly faces.

Yeah, I’d be up furra BBQ or next event of similar sort. Let’s keep the momentum going.. maybe even aim for (at least) one get-ra-gither a month.

So yeah, Edinburgh and/or Invergowrie next.. I’ll be there 🙂

Ian Brotherhood

Van Morrison, ‘Full Force Gale’ and ‘Bright Side Of The Road’ (Live)

Gillian_Ruglonian

Anyone about?

Just been watching the SNPs results come in on Twitter, nice work indeed 😉

Michael McCabe

I did not know there was Council Elections going on. Thanks to Gillian Ruglonian I do now. Great result for the SNP and Scotland in general. I feel well cheered up now. Here is a wee bit of the ABYSSINIANS. link to youtube.com

Gillian_Ruglonian

Cool Michael, glad you’re cheery!

Labour are finished in Glasgow! When the job’s complete and we’ve prised the power from their grubby little mits, then we’ll truely deserve to run our own country!

(Just my humble wee opinion 😉 )

Michael McCabe

@ Gillian Ruglonian I hope labour are finished over here in Edinburgh too. The sooner the Better.

Michael McCabe

@ Gillian Ruglonian Looking at the wee picture next to your name I thought I would leave you with a song before I head of to sleep. it is a good song a good band and some of the lyrics are by the poet Yeates.

Brian Doonthetoon

Four of us went to Jolly’s in The Ferry last night for nosebags.
It was rather busy but we were able to grab the last available ‘table for 4’.

These were the table numbers…

comment image

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ronnie.

You’ll know. Why is it, that whenever I do a new post at Scot2Scot North East Scotland, I always get this message?

“Your post has been submitted and is pending approval by an admin.”

Michael McCabe

I do not have a TV Licence but Sex and Drugs and Rock n Roll is on BBC 2 at Midnight. I will be Watching. link to youtube.com

Stoker

Cactus wrote:
“Evening, that’s me made it back from Saturdays adventures.. what a crowd and great to meet the ever-increasing friendly faces.”

Hi Cactus,
Nice meeting you all at the weekend.
FFS, i thought i was bad, i never got back to the Borders until Sunday night.

Take care pal and stay out of the main threads, too much bickering.

Stoker

Here’s one of my all-time favourites:
George Baker Selection – Little Green Bag

Stoker

Another favourite of mine:
Hook On A Feeling

Stoker

And another:
I Fought The Law – The Clash

Stoker

“Hook” ???

Hooked !!!

😮

Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker (10.49) –

‘…too much bickering’

Aye. There is. And we all know who’s causing the vast bulk of it.

We know to expect trolls, and they’re usually identifiable within a short time. But some are very good at what they do and avoid being hoofed for anything obvious.

The best – by definition – will never even be suspected, let alone revealed.

Remember The Day Of The Jackal? We all remember what ‘The Jackal’ was up to, and how he met his end, but what happened after that? Did they ever find out who the dude was?

The ones who do show face (intentionally or not) have to be tackled, not tolerated.

In any event, hoots mon! 🙂

Stoker

Exactly, Ian.

Here’s my tribute to Slabber

Stoker

Now i’m getting a wee bit homesick – I want to be back on the west coast 🙁

Stoker

Mon Ian, give us a choon

Ian Brotherhood

Anyway, fuck the trolls.

Here’s Larry Graham and his buddies doing their version of Maroon Five’s ‘Moves Like Jagger’.

Stoker

Am away tae bed – take care folks – Here’s my babe:
Close All The Honkytonks by Caitlin – MMMMmmmmmmmm
X

Ian Brotherhood

This is a wee curio, but will be of particular interest to bass-players and/or anyone who’s into Sly & The Family Stone etc. Good stuff.

Stoker

Ian,
I hate that tune but the one you played at 12.19am (never heard that version before) likey very much.
Eff it, just going to stay up for a bit.

Stoker

Ian,
Larry Graham (12.27am) reminds me, especially his actions, of another well known black dude. I can see him but can’t, for the life of me, remember his name. I’m cursing you right now. He’s an artist i love as well and can’t get it. I’m typing a load of sheet in the hope it will come to me. Wavy jet black hair and top class on the guitar and i think he done a duet with Chuck Berry???

(((((HELP)))))

Stoker

OH, wee red face thingy, it is Chuck Berry, OOOooops, GLOW!

Taranaich

It’s actually kind of amazing how New Labour constantly portray themselves as the underdog when even in 2007, where they were the government in Westminster AND Holyrood, they were “fighting back” against the SNP:

It’s like playing with a small child who insists on starting a game over again because they kept missing the ball. “Wait, I wasn’t ready!” “Wait, I got something in my eye!” Wait, I have a stitch!” “Wait, I slipped on something!”

Stoker

A wee change to the Quo since these posts are taking forever to appear:
Down The Dustpipe – Status Quo

Stoker

Aye, thanks Taranaich, when i’m feeling homesick and doing my best via music to forget the west coast you pop up and remind me of Greenock and The Hole In The Wall. Used to go in there regular on a weekend and the group that played in there always played this for me…..and they were excellent at it:

Thanks for nothing mate!

Stoker

Another oldie i loved as a kid:

Stoker

BTW, Ian, Rock’s not a troll, argumentative yes but not a troll.
The Jesus And Mary Chain – April Skies

Stoker

Ocean Colour Scene – Better Day

Goodnight, folks, all the very best to each and every one of you.

Stoker

OH, I’m as happy as a pig in shite!

This tune on video was unavailable for a while, don’t know why, but i’ve just been informed of its existence again.

Just watch these two super-groups work together and i defy anyone to show me a video of any two groups doing it better.

I’m away to bed a very happy chappy and will leave you with this:
🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

Cactus

Cheers for your 1049’er Stoker.

Am enjoying and learning from the main threads as always, never let one go by. It’s tasty bite-sized articles one at a time (political education here is like dining tapas-style.)

When catching up, I tend to go to the end of threads first (back to just before midnightish) and work forwards from there. That’s when the comments BTL (Below The Line) get juicy and real!

Also handy reading and finding out live, if some local or worldly event has happened, or even occurred 🙂

Have a braw Saturday everybuddy, go’an do something good today for Scotland and yerself.. ye’s both deserve it.

Stoker

@ Cactus.
Sorry about that, should have been more clearer in my 1049er.
I was referring more to the main comment thread at the time and how it had descended into pointless petty bickering. I was merely attempting (badly) to offer a heads-up on it.

Yes, you sure can learn a lot from the threads but i find it extremely taxing when they descend to that level, especially when it’s between folk who ultimately believe in the same goal and who are supposed to be on the same team.

There’s nothing wrong with having our differences, in fact it’s healthy but we don’t need to keep fueling those fires and we certainly shouldn’t be derailing topics. If certain folks want to scrap they should take it outside, ie; Off topic and i’ll volunteer to hold the coats.

Nevertheless, i have never missed an article or Cairns Toon since joining WOS and i never will, they’re far too valuable.

Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

re ‘Rock’, I hope you’re right. I truly do. It would help if the man (?) would show us his brighter, lighter side, and stop issuing lists of imagined enemies.

In any event, thanks for the tunes you’re putting up here, and the general good, healing vibes you’re generating. 🙂

Jock Scot

One for Stu

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jock.

Check out this video – sobering…

Jock Scot

Very true Brian..can’t help wondering what Lennon would have thought of Bush jnr and Trump..what an album that would be.

Stoker

@ Ian (9.55pm).
Thanks, i enjoy music, life would certainly be a lot duller without it and when it comes to music i sometimes wonder if my brain is just one large bag of neurological Liquorice Allsorts.
A variety of flavours with a wee preference for the pink & blues.

I’ve also just seen this on the main thread and don’t know whether to metaphorically blaw thur heeds aff for putting that tune in ma heed or ????? I think i’ll just say MAGNIFICO!
Their best yet!

I’ll know it off-by-heart by this time tomorrow 🙂

CameronB Brodie

Yew Choob certainly makes a forcefull point, Stoker.

Giving you a heads-up this time, I’m not sure if many folk will enjoy this particular Allsort. Tbh, I’m not sure how to describe it as it looks as if someone has been sitting on the bag. 🙂

This one going out to Paula. Hope you’re not stroking yourself to the point of nervous exhaustion. 😉

Shockabilly – Your Good Girl’s Gonna Go Bad

CameronB Brodie

In other news, David Cameron has been urged to reign in the leader of the Scottish Separatists, as the threat posed to Great British traditions by the most dangerous woman in Britain, spreads panic and confusion amongst ordinary English voters.

link to thepoke.co.uk

Jock Scot

@Stoker
Sorry and HaHa all at the same time..your comment made me smile so much it was sore 🙂

@Cameron
Don’t think Ninja Penguin was going for the ‘enjoyment’ factor and agree it will be interesting to see/read any reaction..if I’m not invited back to a night-oot, I’ll understand. Loved the squashed sweeties image.

On a more serious note..if anyone can get in contact with TJenny, can they let her know that I was wanting to communicate quite urgently

Cheers

CameronB Brodie

Cheers Jock and apologies to Ninja Penguin for the incorrect credit.

In other news, that Partick mascot has made my year and that Ipswich under 14s goal was a cracker, though I think the winger was a couple of yards off-side when the final pass was made. Still astonishing though. 😉

Ian Brotherhood

Paula Rose!!

Where ur ye??

450k comment slot is up for grabs, right now…

Ian Brotherhood

This is my feeble, tired lob-in for the 450,000th comment.

Half-hearted as it is, a full-hearted nicht-nicht tae ane an’ aw the fellow travellers.

X

hevvabeccywoss

Good morning everyone

I’m posting this for no other reason than it was on my Facebook timeline and it made me smile. Thought it might make someone else smile too. Have a good Monday people 😀

m.youtube.com/?gl=GB&hl=en-GB#/watch?v=CQTq88Ie5sU

X_Sticks

@Jock Scot

Hi Jock – been away at Belladrum over the weekend, but I’ve passed on your request for TJenny to get in touch. She hadn’t seen the post.

@Tartan Pigsy

Enjoyed that wee catch up at Bella. Look forward to you coming to one of the Wings social nights out!

TJenny

Jock Scott – Hi, I’m intrigued (wee quizzicalfacedthingy).

Ian Brotherhood did have my email address, and X-Sticks has my phone number.

I await contact with bated breath. 😉

CameronB Brodie

TJenny
Hi there, long time no see. I’m not sure if Tam is that fussed about another Edinburgh bash but what about you? I’m happy to organise another, if you think folk will come. Let me know in OT. 😉

CameonB Brodie

Doh, there was me thinking I was on main thread. 🙂

1 24 25 26 27 28 81

Stats: 6,668 Posts, 1,202,042 Comments

• Jay on The People You Most Suspected: “Presumably, your comment is intended to discredit Fearghas Mc F. but your attempt is nugatory. Such imprecision as may have…Nov 13, 21:25
    • Jay on The People You Most Suspected: “Lorna, I agree with all your comments. The key concept is ‘power’, so far as I can see. The expropriating…Nov 13, 21:10
    • twathater on The People You Most Suspected: “PROFESSOR Alfred Baird please do not ask wee Chas to edumacate himself, he’s liable to get above himself and try…Nov 13, 20:58
    • znovak on The People You Most Suspected: “Yup indeed. I cannot fathom how people who ostensibly support Scottish independence can be in favour of U losing its…Nov 13, 20:56
    • James Gardner on The People You Most Suspected: “1 in 4 children in poverty and 1 in 4 pensioners dying in poverty, proof positive that the politicians are…Nov 13, 20:47
    • James Gardner on The People You Most Suspected: “Seen one dressed as Jimmy saVILE…….WTF ?Nov 13, 20:42
    • Republicofscotland on The People You Most Suspected: “Thanks Alf for the link a very interesting read.Nov 13, 20:42
    • Robert Matthews on The People You Most Suspected: “Professor Plum more like.Nov 13, 20:20
    • Stevie on The People You Most Suspected: “Fking criminal : the SNP is the shte clogging the waste disposal pipes of Scottish politics.Nov 13, 19:52
    • Jay on The People You Most Suspected: “From what I read, it seems that U is increasingly losing ground to its greedy and powerful imperialist neighbour. People…Nov 13, 19:50
    • Alf Baird on The People You Most Suspected: “Yes academics often use referencing to confirm their sources. Perhaps you have never read an academic paper or studied for…Nov 13, 19:44
    • Hatey McHateface on The People You Most Suspected: “There’s you making that claim again, twathater. I’d keep it under wraps, even if it does work like a charm…Nov 13, 19:12
    • Chas on The People You Most Suspected: “I really should not respond to cranks like you but I will keep it relatively short and not so sweet.…Nov 13, 18:16
    • Jay on The People You Most Suspected: “Have you seen anything from RM which could possibly promote Scottish independence? Please let us know.Nov 13, 18:15
    • Hatey McHateface on The People You Most Suspected: “You have to understand there’s a strand of opinion that believes that as long as U has sovereignty and freedom,…Nov 13, 18:03
    • Hatey McHateface on The People You Most Suspected: “A talking plook! BTL channeling Family Guy yet again. As I recall it was Chris who was afflicted – he’s…Nov 13, 17:54
    • twathater on The People You Most Suspected: “TBQH SteepBrae I am 73 yoa and I cannot think of any GOOD politicians from any of the parties, ALL…Nov 13, 17:47
    • Chas on The People You Most Suspected: “Have you any thoughts of your own Alfie boy? All you ever do is quote other numpties. At least we…Nov 13, 17:41
    • twathater on The People You Most Suspected: “I wouldn’t worry Fearghas I think Crapper Campbell has amply exposed his eagerness and willingness to sacrifice his Scottishness to…Nov 13, 17:37
    • twathater on The People You Most Suspected: “Oh No! just when you think that Chas is joining the ranks of real indy supporters with common sense he…Nov 13, 17:14
    • Chris on The People You Most Suspected: “That’s my secondary school in the paper. We never had any of that when I was there!Nov 13, 17:10
    • Alf Baird on The People You Most Suspected: “The SNP elite appear totally oblivious to the fact that colonialism involves ‘hateful racism’ (Cesaire), and that self-determination independence means…Nov 13, 16:48
    • diabloandco on The People You Most Suspected: “I haven’t forgotten that slur. I have become Sturgeon phobic.Nov 13, 16:13
    • Republicofscotland on The People You Most Suspected: “Marko Polo (@markthehibby): “Lest we forget Sturgeon describing the majority of Scots as “Transphobic… deeply misogynist, often homophobic, possibly some…Nov 13, 16:10
    • znovak on The People You Most Suspected: “I have no doubt that in late 1930s Bob would defend legitimate interests of Germany in neighbouring countries, admire political…Nov 13, 15:44
    • Mark Beggan on The People You Most Suspected: “It is being said that Sturgeon is taking control again! Oh Goody! Wherever Chucky goes disaster is sure to follow.Nov 13, 15:20
    • Campbell Clansman on The People You Most Suspected: “Fearghas, glad to see you confirm that you despise accuracy…. and facts.Nov 13, 13:33
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The People You Most Suspected: “Your pedantry is sinister (and indeed rather sickening) in its evasion of substantive issues of such consequence. The key facts…Nov 13, 13:15
    • Campbell Clansman on The People You Most Suspected: “In short, you confirm that Fearghas was, as I pointed out, laughably wrong. Thanks!Nov 13, 13:05
    • KOF on The People You Most Suspected: “Transgenderism is Satanism. “Woe unto them that call evil good, and good evil; that put darkness for light, and light…Nov 13, 12:58

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()