Odd comrade out

Posted on April 22, 2013 by

There’s something different about one of these pictures of all the big-name speakers at the Scottish Labour conference, but we can’t quite seem to put our finger on it.

jimmurphyconf2

Can you help, readers?

douglasalexanderconf

darlingcurrency2

slabconf13a

kenmcintoshconf4

johannlamontconf6

edmilibandconf4

Actually, maybe two things.

114 to “Odd comrade out”

1. Gordon Bain

Lamont’s a Tory?

2. Helen Yates

God its like a horror show

3. LeeMacD

Are they using their toilet faces as they know they’re speaking shite?

4. Cath

Well, they all look deeply miserable. Only one of them is a woman. And…oh yeah, there is something else a little “odd one out” about her image. Can’t quite put my finger one it either. Something about it is hinting “Tory to me” though.

5. ianbrotherhood

Ranked in order of increasing gormlessness?

6. annie

Red would have clashed with Johann’s neck.

7. Seasick Dave

Only Jim Murphy is a velociraptor?

8. bunter

Ones missing the BBC logo, Hmm Why is that?

9. dmw42

The strings on the Douglas Alexander puppet have been cut?

10. ianbrotherhood

Jim Murphy – “I was at the park with my pals and I caught a baggy minnow, it was this size so it was.” 

11. benarmine

Jim’s was the designated driver, he only wanted a half.

12. benarmine

Jim was the designated driver, he only wanted a half.

13. Stephen Boswell

theyre all cast members from the Muppets?

14. Seasick Dave

Ed Milliband is feeling the cold very badly?

15. Seasick Dave

Got it.

Only Johann is eating nettles.

16. Jiggsbro

Easy. They’re all doing Frankie Howerd impressions except Ed, who’s doing Tommy Cooper.

17. Jeannie

There’s only two of them wearing Better Together badges?

18. Vambomarbeleye

All look like they have had a good drubbing with the ugly stick.

19. Dcanmore

Spot the Socialist … naw neither did I!

20. Jeannie

Johann Lamont and Ken Mackintosh have got coordinated, interchangeable eyebrows that give you the impression they’re both from Venus?

21. Dcanmore

… and in this bush tucker trial, chewin’ wasps.

22. mato21

All except Ed have had extractions by the new tooth fairy team Oh that should read the new truth fairy team  Maybe not

23. ianbrotherhood

Alistair Darling’s the only one singing ‘Danny Boy’?

24. Juteman

Only one of them has never played the lead roll in the Rocky Horror Show?

25. scottish_skier

Ha ha. Nice one Rev. You know how I like symbolism stuff/what it says.
    This says ‘desperate’.

26. Les Wilson

Jim Murphy,
    He must be wowing them with his REV JOLLY interpretation, sure I saw him doing it  in a comedy club in Edinburgh. He was a double, looked like him, mannerisms were him, spoke like him ( same voice, which he seems to get naturally!) is the REV JOLLY , really a real person??? In disguise as Jim Murphy??

27. ianbrotherhood

Is that really Ken McIntosh, or is it this dude with a new haircut?:

http://images2.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20070802000213/memoryalpha/en/images/2/27/Spock,_2267.jpg

28. Jeannie

Are they the Seven Deadly Spins?

29. YesYesYes

Is Jim Murphy the only one pinching Jackie Baillie’s ample erse but, in the interests of decorum (and aesthetics), Jackie Baillie’s ample erse has been airbrushed out of the photograph.

Other than that, Lamont is the only one speaking against a blue background and the only one not wearing a tie (she’s also the only one doing a Bruce Forsyth impression).

30. rabb

Lamont is the only female and has a Tory blue background & Alexander doesn’t have a jacket on?
    That’s three.

I have to say that Ed does look like he’s been born a victim of an extremely tight gene pool. That pose does him no favours at all.

31. Doug Daniel

Johann’s the only one wearing enough eyeliner for a My Chemical Romance gig?

32. Macart

Its a toughie, because they all look as though they’re lickin’ piss aff a thistle.

I’ll go with the blue one. The colour does so match the politics, the rest are just better at camouflage.

33. Inbhir Anainn

The Magnificent Seven wannabes.

34. Iain

Unfortunately I’m currently recovering from a mild stroke after seeing ‘big-name speakers’ followed by a pic of Richard Baker.

35. Albalha

Interesting interview just been on Newsdrive with Danny Blanchflower on the Scottish notes scaremongering. To paraphrase fiscally irrelevant, political posturing, bonfire of the symbols.

36. dmw42

Jim Murphy gets the prize for being the least glaikit but gets extra points for being gormless.

37. dmw42

I’ll agree with Macart. Johannie’s is the only one where the Truth Team agreed the backdrop.

38. YesYesYes

Bloody hell Rev! You might have warned us not to zoom in on that Ed Miliband photograph.

39. Yesitis

It`s the new Avengers line up:

Needing to exhale Man.
    Not Wendy Alexander Man.
    Doom-Brow.
    Party Balloon Man.
    Grim Reaper.
    The Lump.
    The Anonymous Man.

40. YesYesYes

I’ve got it! Ed Miliband is the only one auditioning for the part of Benny in Crossroads and this is his line:

“Oi’ll tell ye Miss Doiane, oi couldn’t give two fucks for the voters in ‘Ackney”.

41. Dcanmore

They’ve all recently suffered are stroke. 

42. dmw42

Wee Douglas has drawn the straw to go fishing with Fredo Corleone.

43. Baheid

Is it Ed ?
    He’s the only one doing an impression of Stallone.

‘DON’T PUSH ME’. 🙂

44. YesYesYes

@Dcanmore,

“They’ve all recently suffered a stroke”.

LOL.

But aren’t they taking this emulation of Maggie Thatcher a little too far? 

45. CameronB

I’ve heard of the ‘Monsters of Rock’, but the ‘Monsters of F.U.D.’? Anyway, who cares? See…….its working. 🙁

46. BrianMc

This is the clear winner for me.

Seasick Dave says:
    22 April, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Only Jim Murphy is a velociraptor?

47. BLMac

All of them are mouthing a script they don’t personally believe?

48. Tattie-boggle

The Nest is missing they are all Scheming Bastards

49. Elizabeth

The eyes say they are all reading their speeches from a BBC autocue, except for Baker. Naebody gave him one (or since there’s nae BBC Logo on his pic even bothered tae record him) 

50. Dcanmore

@Yes Yes Yes
    But aren’t they taking this emulation of Maggie Thatcher a little too far?

Oh I thought Maggie suffered from strikes? 😉

51. EdinScot

Wow its like a scene from the village of the damned.  Yikes!
    Can only agree with the blue tory background thingie.  Either that or they’re all telling more porkies.

52. muttley79

@Edinscot

Wow its like a scene from the village of the damned.  Yikes!

I was thinking more of The Hills have Eyes.

53. the bunnyman

oor ken mac is the only one not sneering and contorting his lying lips 🙂

54. EdinScot

I was thinking more of The Hills have Eyes

Rofl mutley79.  Whatever it is they all look cursed.  Maybe an exorcism would help then…

55. muttley79

@bunnyman

oor ken mac is the only one not sneering and contorting his lying lips

He has the “what the fuck am I doing here” expression on his face.

56. Jeannie

Is Ed trying to impress the crowd with an Elvis impersonation?  Somehow, “Ed has left the building” just doesn’t have the same ring to it, does it?

57. handclapping

Its pretty obvious but why did they have Ruth Davidson speaking at a Labour conference?

Oh, silly me… *bashful smile*

58. muttley79

@Rev Stu

Was it WoS that has the tweet from Kezia Dugdale saying that SLAB’s conference was the best she had attended, and how energised she was?  Absolutely extraordinary thing to say.  The Trougher Team should be on to her…

59. Ananurhing

Was this the apres conference Purty Mouth competition? (Cue dualling banjos.)

I wonder who’s been airbrushed out of Smurphy’s picture?

60. Jiggsbro

Somehow, “Ed has left the building” just doesn’t have the same ring to it

It would get me quite excited, if I was in the building.

61. Philip

Off topic, but I thought some of you may be interested in this:

http://euobserver.com/defence/119894

62. DougtheDug

Murphy
    Male
    Red background
    White shirt
    Dark blue tie
    Jacket
    No badge
    Scottish Constituency
    Labour MP
    Not a party leader

Alexander
    Male
    Red background
    White shirt
    Light blue tie
    No jacket
    No badge
    Scottish Constituency
    Labour MP
    Not a party leader

Darling
    Male
    Red background
    White shirt
    Light blue spotted tie
    Jacket
    Better Together badge
    Scottish Constituency
    Labour MP
    Not a party leader

Baker
    Male
    Red background
    White shirt
    Dark red stripy tie
    Jacket
    Labour badge
    Scottish Region
    Labour MSP
    Not a party leader

Macintosh
    Male
    Red background
    White shirt
    Dark blue spotted tie
    Jacket
    No badge
    Scottish Constituency
    Labour MSP
    Not a party leader

Lamont
    Female
    Blue background
    Flowery Dress
    No tie
    Jacket
    No badge
    Scottish Constituency
    Labour and Co-operative MSP
    Not a party leader

Miliband
    Male
    Red background
    White shirt
    Red tie
    Jacket
    No badge
    English Constituency
    Labour MP
    Party leader

Come on then what’s the answer?

63. handclapping

Is that Lamont? Well I’d have thought that was the kickboxer.
    Thanks DtD.

64. Handandshrimp

I have no idea who the one under Darling is…so is he the odd one out?

65. Dramfineday

It’s to do with the tryany of the tie. The only person wearing the correct colour of tie (and consequently entitled to wave it when singing the RED FLAG) is Ed.  All the others are wearing incorrect colour coded ties (with consequential no wave properties) except Ms Lamont who has made the air turn blue around herself.
    I’ll now pass go and claim £200. Well I would, if Mr Daring could make his mind up what I might be spending post 2014.  

66. GP Walrus

Ed’s the only one who can speak authoritatively on Scottish Labour policy.

67. Linda's Back

Is former Marxist public school boy Alistair Darling the odd one out?
    He is certainly treated with due deference by our State Broadcaster which always allows him to have the last word and refuses to ask him about “dirty money” donations.

68. Marcia

One of them isn’t wearing knickers and I don’t want to find out who it is as I am away to have my tea.

69. DMW42

Throw a table tennis ball into the mouth of Murphy, Darling, Baker and Milliband and you get a goldfish. Throw a hoop over Alexander and Macintosh and you get a goldfish. So, Johannie’s the odd one as she’s the goldfish.

70. Craig M

Jim Murphy is doing an impression of Gordon Mathieson in the back of a car?

71. fitheach

@Ananurhing

(Cue dualling banjos.)

Do they use those for upgrading the A9?

I wonder who’s been airbrushed out of Smurphy’s picture?

It’s policies that have been airbrushed out of the Labour Party Conference

72. fitheach

@Ananurhing
    (Cue dualling banjos.)

Do they use those for upgrading the A9?

I wonder who’s been airbrushed out of Smurphy’s picture?

It’s policies that have been airbrushed out of the Labour Party Conference.

73. Tattie-boggle

O/T Just seen on Twitter
    Robin McGee ?@RPMcGee 9m
    Lets compare desperate Darling’s contradictory headline statements: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-18572750 … and http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-20273181 … #indyref @UK_Together

74. HenBroon

They are all liars, and an embarrassment to Scotland.

75. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Tattie-boggle: Yeah, the phenomenon’s been noticed.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-very-hokey-cokey/

76. creag an tuirc

None of them has a set of balls.
    OR
    Why are they no females in the pictures?

77. Linda's Back

Darling flip flops on currency more often than he flips his many houses.

78. Midgehunter

Lamentable is showing her true colours with a tory background.

Only Murphy in pic one is actually looking straight into the camera which gives the viewers the impression (?) that he’s telling the truth.
    The others are all shiftily averting their eyes away to the side /away from the viewer which is a sure sign that they’re lying and they know it.
    At least that’s what I was taught about 30 years ago …. but then again as always I’ve talked a load of the proverbial BS ..!!??
    Let’s see what the scourge of the union’s solution is (before we go to bed ..!)

79. velofello

And the winner is surely Dramfineday?
     “except Ms Lamont who has made the air turn blue around herself”.

80. Bugger (the Panda)

Only one thought she was was dressing for a “Grab a Granny” night and only the Baker Boy thought he was in with a chance of a pull?

81. Tinyzeitgeist

@ Murphy
    “UKOK”

82. Tinyzeitgeist

Why does Milliband always look as though he has suffered a stroke?

83. Cyborg-nat

All the same! Open mouths and closed minds.

84. scottish_skier

Is it me, or with the current pound thing coming on the back of the ‘no more devolution’ being settled, that’s it; BT are not even going to bother trying to present a positive case for the union?
    I kind of get the feeling that’s the gloves off. There’s now not even going to be any attempt to say the union is good/offers Scotland a nice, more autonomous future, just independence will be terrible.
    I’m also wondering if that IPSOS MORI poll that was reported (by some who were polled) is a factor. No sign of anything and it does seem a bit soon for their regular POM. So maybe it was commissioned by Labour or BT. If it followed the last one (and all the rest), it would be showing a falling no, rising yes and SNP VI on the way up…
    We shall see.

85. Daisy

One has a fanny, the others ARE fannies?

86. Bugger (the Panda)

Daisy says:

22 April, 2013 at 8:54 pm

One has a fanny, the others ARE fannies?

Ouch Daisy
    Ma 2 daughters would really gie me a real dooin if they found out I was associating myself wae a bunch of sexist Neanderthals
    I hope you are a wumman, and we cannot be pursued to into Hades for such sexist non PC stereotyping?

Please tell me so, please, please.

87. Boorach

Must be milly… He’s the only one with the correct number of mikes.

two faces = two mikes, others are mono!

88. Daisy

Dear sodomise the panda
    Tsk tsk, satire dear chap, satire…tongue firmly in cheek.

89. Chic McGregor

They are all impersonating their favourite celebrity.

Jim Murphy – ‘You lookin’ at me?’ – De Niro in ‘Taxi Driver’.

Alistair Darling – “Waaahh!” – James Stewart in ‘Mr Misdeeds Doesn’t Go To Holyrood.’

Richard Baker – “Ooh Ahh Ooh” –  Meg Ryan in ‘Sleepless in Seattle’.

Ken McIntosh –  “Lahf is jest a bowl uv chocklits.” – Tom Hanks in ‘Forrest Gump’.

Johanne Lamont  – “I can always tell when the mother in law’s coming to stay; the mice throw themselves on the traps.” – Les Dawson.

Ed Miliband – “Mother of mercy – is this the end of Rico?” – Edward G. Robinson in ‘Little Caesar’.

Except for Douglas Alexander who is just thinking – “We are well and truly fucked.”.

90. creag an tuirc

OT: Here’s one of the guys in one of the photos thoughts on the NHS http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-22243685 It’s not a kick in the arse away from operations being performed in the patients own kitchen.

91. Chic McGregor

Erm, should have been ‘When Harry Met Sally.’ for Baker.

92. Bugger (the Panda)

Daisy

Sod you too, wee smiley panda face thingy.

93. Jiggsbro

It’s not a kick in the arse away from operations being performed in the patients own kitchen.

I see he’s worried that “our NHS faces the risk of being overwhelmed by a crisis in funding because of care needs by the end of this decade”. You know what would help alleviate that crisis? If the people who apparently have the worst health in the UK…leave the UK. Happy to help, Ed. No charge.

94. Adam Davidson

Big name speakers! So it must be Johann. The closest she gets to being a big name is adding an extra ‘n’ to her first name. (Or it could be that she is the only one with a face like a bulldog licking pish off a stinging nettle…)

95. rabb

Darling is the only one with a bitter together badge?

Lamont the only one who has the proper tory backdrop?

Ed is so full of shit that his face is collapsing under it’s unimaginable gravity?

The conference centre is the only one the UK that has had so much hot air pumped into it that it will not require heating for the next 100 years?

The BBC were so embarassed by Richard Baker’s pish that they refused to show their logo when he was on screen?

They all have functioning eyelids with the exception of Alistair Darling who has spent the last decade sleepwalking us into financial ruin?

Milliband has two rather small knobs that protrude from his suit jacket?

96. Luigi

They are all telling porkies except for…………och no, it cannot be that!

97. Bugger (the Panda)

Was Murphy there?

98. gregallan80

They are using tie colour and in the case of the tie-less Johann, background colour as a subliminal message.

Only two of them are wearing red.

99. heraldnomore

Shit Stu, stop it.  I have to wake up to this!

Is this the future for Scotland if we vote No?  Put it up on posters everywhere, please.  That’ll frighten the bejasus out of them naysayers surely.  It will won’t it?

Is Murphy one of those clowns at the fairground, head swivelling, waiting on a ping pong ball?  I’m not even going to think on the rest of them.  What a bunch.

100. Bugger (the Panda)

OK last shout

They have all had sexual relationships with Monica Lewinski except Wee Jimmie, who actually is Monika Lewinski

101. Luigi

One of them is actually voting yes in  2014? (Well, EM probably would, if he could)!

102. Luigi

One of them will be secretly voting yes in 2014. The rest remain undecided.

103. Tattie-boggle

Open for comments
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/

104. Horacesaysyes

Is Jim Murphy saying ‘Oi, who’s nicked my wee sausage roll?’

105. Perfidious Albion

Hidden in plain sight.

Lamont is the only one shown against a blue background. Subliminal message to the wider audience, aimed at those inclined to vote Conservative: Scottish true blue and conservative in approach; at one with the establishment; your Tory vote is safe with me.

Evidence of duplicty of message north and south of the border, an approach much favoured by Liberal Democrats over the years.

106. Malcolm

Defacating in a bucket!  – it’s what I see, I can’t help it it’s just what I see!

107. lumilumi

Alistair Darling’s the only one with the Essex fake tan?

108. lumilumi

Philip says:

22 April, 2013 at 6:35 pm

Off topic, but I thought some of you may be interested in this:

http://euobserver.com/defence/119894

Thanks for the link, Philip. Interesting piece, especially for a Finn (EU, non-NATO, and just look who our neighbour across the long land border is!)

During WW2 Finland officially lost two wars (the Winter War and the Continuation War) and well… didn’t exactly lose the Lapland War although the Germans burned all of Lapland (German tourists to Lapland are still jokely called “Lapland burners” in Finland.) But we kept our independence, so, on balance, I’d say we won.

That was a country with a population of around 3.5M and an area of around 360,000 km2 (Scotland = 78,000 km2, and you think you’re sparsely populated! 😀 )

Today Finland’s population is around 5.4M and the area around 340,000 km2 (parts of Finland were ceded to the USSR after WW2). Some political parties, mostly our “Conservatives” (who’re well left of the British Labour Party) flirt with the idea of NATO membership but most ordinary people are wary of military alliances. We weathered WW2 mostly on our own, the Finnish sisu saw us through, so we don’t need alliances, especially because they wouldn’t be geared towards our interests but towards the interests of the “big boys” (US, and their poodles in the UK) and we’d have to send our young men to Iraq and Afganistan…

Finnish military personnel (and hardware) go on overseas peacekeeping missions. That is, UN and EU sanctioned missions, not illegal wars, and actively participate in NATO’s “Partnership for Peace” programme. . My cousin’s husband (a captain in the army) has actually done two tours in Afganistan, his unit providing behind the lines support to the NATO forces in the front line, akin to UN peacekeeping. (I’m not entirely easy about this… but if it’s under the UN banner..?)

The fact is that should some rougue state, or even our neighbour, in a fit of insanity, decide to attack Helsinki or Finland in general, the rest of the EU would not just stand back. The same for Sweden, as the Swedish Defence Minister explained in the story linked.

As to NATO, if Scotland votes YES, they’ll be begging Scotland to remain a member, or at least a partner for peace, because Scotland controls much of the shipping lanes and strategic positions in the north Atlantic. Trident’s no issue to NATO, it can be shipped somewhere else (England!), just as long as Scottish waters and lanes (with proper coast guard/met office/radar/radio support) will still be available to NATO.

Scotland is also a resource-rich, highly-educated modern democracy. Exactly the kind of country that the EU would want to have as a member. The EU will not kick Scotland out, they’ll negotiate to have Scotland in. I don’t know what the EU will do about stubborn English imperialism, isolationism, insularity, xenophobia, delusions of grandeur etc. but the EU will probably find an independent Scotland a more reasonable negotiating partner.

Sorry about the long post/rant. [embarrassed smiley here]

109. Morag

lumilumi, do you read satw.com very often?

110. Bugger (the Panda)

Morag , what do you get up to, in your spare time.

The site satw.com leads to a Chinese site with a rather tasty young Chinese lady smiling in a very inviting manner.

I did not investigate further out of public decency I cannot say what I did not see.

But, was that you?

111. Morag

Mmm, did that from memory.  I meant to link to a site called “Scandinavia and the world”, which features amusing cartoons about the relations of the Scandinavian countries with each other and the rest of the world, sometimes with a political bent.

Oops.  http://satwcomic.com/

Sorry about that.  [red-faced smilie]

Anyway, Finland is a dour wee guy who never says anything.

112. Juteman

Ooh! Nice site! Almost as good as Redtube! 🙂

113. Bugger (the Panda)

MORAG

I have knocked about Scandinavia for about 20 years now and in fact lived in Copenhagen, off and on, for about 5 of them.
    The Danes, Swedes and Norwegians do not consider the Finns as “real” Scandinavians although they accept them as fellow Northerners. In fact Finland has two official languages, Finnish and Swedish. SAS Airways does not incorporate Finnair, for example.
    I found Finland a weird sort of klingon land where the language was completely incomprehensible to me as a Latin / Germanic speaking European. It has a link to Hungarian, and to one or several of the smaller Baltic States. Everything looks European, the people the buildings and the cars but the written language seems to consist of nothing but words of 24 or more letters with at least half vowels.

Nice people though with a great history of resisting overbearing neighbours.

114. Morag

You’ll like this one, trust me…..

http://satwcomic.com/new-nordic

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.