Nope, still nothing

Posted on November 15, 2011 by

Scottish Left Review's "independence issue", in keeping with the publication's core philosophy, gives equal opportunity to both sides of the debate this month. Both a nationalist and a Unionist were asked to provide a "positive case" for their respective positions, from a left-wing perspective, and two substantial figures took up the challenge. For independence we heard from Stephen Maxwell (the Treasurer of the Scottish Independence Convention and the director of the SNP’s campaign for a yes vote in the 1979 referendum), whereas the Union's champion was current Lothians MSP Neil Findlay. The contrast is interesting.

Maxwell's piece, it must be said, is in fact largely negative. It focuses on the damage done to Scotland by various Tory governments, and that yet to come from the current one, while also making the legitimate but far-from-positive point that UK Labour now offers little more than a diluted version of Tory policies (for example on welfare reform). It does, however, also make a decent case for an independent Scotland being better able to afford social-democratic policies (thanks in part to increased oil income and significantly reduced defence expenditure), as well as having the demonstrated political will to carry them out. Maxwell reaches a cautious but optimistic conclusion about a greater sense of national self-confidence and the ability to challenge the prevailing neo-conservative view of UK politics.

Findlay's "positive case for the Union", however, (also run on LabourHame) presents only a dismaying blend of scaremongering, negativity and hopeless defeatism – indeed, it explicitly asserts that the SNP's optimism is a "mistaken analysis". It warns of the dangers of nationalism (spectacularly missing the point of civic as opposed to ethnic nationalism), then accuses the SNP of being pro-business and complains about the SNP's intention to remain in the EU, as if either of these were policies on which the Unionist parties offered an alternative standpoint.

Findlay then looks wistfully back at the working-class (small-L) labour movements of the 50s, 60s and 70s, characterising them as something that could somehow only have happened within the context of the UK without offering any explanation as to why. This is a viewpoint that neglects, for example, to consider the way even partial independence has enabled the Scottish NHS to resist many of the worst market-based "reforms" in the sector that have befallen England and Wales, or the education sector to retain free tuition while English and Welsh students are cast into debt.

He then ponders whether devo-max within the UK could offer social-democratic solutions for Scotland, before being forced to admit that there is no party in Scotland offering it, rendering the question something of a moot point. He concludes that "the role of the Labour and Trade Union movement has to be in evaluating and recommending just what arrangement is most appropriate for ordinary people", which ranks high on the scale of "the bleeding obvious" but perhaps more importantly has nothing whatsoever to do with the question he was asked, namely to provide a positive case for achieving such things under the Union as opposed to independence. "We need to think about it" isn't much of an answer.

It is strikingly and empirically self-evident that in the world as it currently exists, Scotland is better placed to pursue social-democratic policies on its own than within the UK. This is not a supposition or an opinion but a bare black-and-white fact: the UK, after all, just elected a neo-conservative government, while Scotland overwhelmingly returned a social-democratic one, and those respective governments will rule for the best part of the next half-decade (and probably longer). Findlay's piece contains not a single sentence of practical positivity, just vague socialist nostalgia combined with a fantasy about a UK political environment that doesn't currently exist and shows no signs of doing so. Is it really so hard to think of a single positive advantage of the Union? For now, the wait goes on.

2 to “Nope, still nothing”

1. Peter Carter says:

Just thought I'd point out that Stewart Maxwell is an MSP and you are almost certainly thinking of Stephen Maxwell.

2. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

Whoops. Got confused by too many S. Maxwells from the SNP featuring in the news in one day. Fixed, ta.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,777 Posts, 1,219,991 Comments

• Hatey McHateface on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Another day and here we are, all having loadsa fun. There are other things going on in the world though.…Jun 15, 12:48
    • Andy Ellis on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Less than 18 thousand people from an electorate of 4.2 million…? That’s not exactly a ringing endorsement in anyone’s book…Jun 15, 12:48
    • James Cheyne on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “TURABDIN. A war is the ideal finishing touch for Britain, elite and globalists , as it will reduce the amount…Jun 15, 12:42
    • Hatey McHateface on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Dry your eyes, BP, and be a brave wee sojer for yer mammie. Have you considered changing your pseudonym? Implants…Jun 15, 12:30
    • Hatey McHateface on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Pearls of wisdom from the poster the late and unlamented Northcode referred to as the “noble” James. Although given his…Jun 15, 12:26
    • Hatey McHateface on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: ““stood by and watched people being herded in to the cattle trucks on the way to the gulags, or more…Jun 15, 12:23
    • Hatey McHateface on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: ““make authoritative assertions as if they were matters already formally decided” Hmmm. In the field of authoritative assertions, the recent…Jun 15, 12:14
    • James on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Prick.Jun 15, 12:10
    • Breastplate on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Yes John, all the might of the West will come crashing down on the Iranians for having the audacity to…Jun 15, 12:10
    • James on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: ““…I notice at any mention of SALVO or Liberate Scotland the FRANCHISE fanny and his fellow YOONS,Aiden,private clansman aka corporal…Jun 15, 12:07
    • Andy Ellis on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “@Hatey 7.16pm The Bolsheviks were forever scapegoating hapless unfortunates as saboteurs and wreckers. The Byers Road bolsheviki and Cappuccino commies…Jun 15, 11:53
    • Xaracen on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “@Aidan; I think you are misrepresenting the current situation. C-24 is only one part of the overall process, although a…Jun 15, 11:44
    • GM on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “What the fuck has it got to do with you anyway? Of the 5 main party’s There are 4 English…Jun 15, 11:31
    • Hatey McHateface on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Liberate Scotland have really missed a trick. If only they had called themselves Enrich Scotland, they’d be fighting us off…Jun 15, 11:25
    • Hatey McHateface on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Alas, “proud” has rather unfortunate connotations these days, TURABDIN. Tell you what though. When I read about a medieval regime…Jun 15, 11:19
    • TURABDIN on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “YAY, BEST NOT MAKE PLANS, BRITAIN ON WAR FOOTING, scream and scream English media, trussed up in uniform drag,reeking of…Jun 15, 10:57
    • James Cheyne on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Whilst people in England are fixatedly presuming to watch in front of them Scottish independence as the enemy and threat…Jun 15, 10:36
    • Hatey McHateface on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “@Andy For “first President of the Republic of Scotland” read “first President of the Islamic Republic of Scotland”. If we’re…Jun 15, 10:34
    • Hatey McHateface on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “The alternative to party politics is something that can be fairly described as being analogous to herding cats. I’m not…Jun 15, 10:27
    • agent x on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “@Sarah Thankyou for your answers to my questions.Jun 15, 10:10
    • Chas on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Is anybody really that interested? Apart from the fantasists, cranks and nutters………………of course.Jun 15, 09:15
    • James Cheyne on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “If Scotland thinks and has a mindset of a colony of people in their Country it will continue for as…Jun 15, 08:36
    • Aidan on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “You use the phrase “any mention” as if it’s some occasional occurrence, but it isn’t is it. Any post, regardless…Jun 15, 07:48
    • sarah on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Anyone who wants to know what the Liberation/Salvo approach at the UN can achieve has only to look at the…Jun 14, 22:55
    • GM on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “No.2 was another piece in the puzzle Sarah, no doubt about it. The trolls stand to attention every time it…Jun 14, 22:54
    • sarah on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Liberate Scotland is being established with the Electoral Commission now, I believe, so could not have stood a candidate for…Jun 14, 22:44
    • Henwife on The Grand Tour: “There could be upsets in the Highlands too. The anger against mega pylons, huge substations and massive wind turbines is…Jun 14, 21:22
    • Dan on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “@Andy So jist yer usual resorting to lame ad hominen pish and skirting around adding any input on the shit…Jun 14, 20:40
    • Dunx on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: ““ any vote in Scotland on constitutional matters will be supervised by the UN‘ I think you just made that…Jun 14, 20:33
    • agent x on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “@Sarah Who was Liberate Scotland’s candidate at the Hamilton, Larkhall and Stonehouse by-election please?Jun 14, 19:26