One-way traffic

Posted on November 15, 2011 by

We've just caught up with an interesting piece over at Bella Caledonia from a few days ago, in which Robin McAlpine, editor of the non-aligned Scottish Left Review, heralds that publication's "independence issue" with an overview of the Scottish political left wing's position on the subject. We'll let you read it for yourself, but the takeaway soundbite is this one:

"roughly no-one seems to have been persuaded out of a pre-existing pro-independence position but more and more people are moving in the other direction"

The true nature of the modern Labour Party seems to have taken a while to fully dawn on the left, in the UK but particularly in Scotland, and it's intriguing to see a slow but perceptible shift begin to take place, especially with regard to trade unions. The fight between Unionists and the independence movement for the heart and soul of socialism seems to be very much on.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,847 Posts, 1,231,827 Comments

• Alf Baird on The Long Walk To Freedom: ““the truth is not just being delayed. It is being denied.” Should we really expect anything different in a colony?Dec 7, 21:55
    • James on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Baiy and switch? Vote Yoon, because, you know, reasons. Nice try.Dec 7, 21:12
    • James on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Nice try, fuckwit.Dec 7, 21:08
    • Confused on The Long Walk To Freedom: “just asking. I thought I had “seen this before” somewhere and was wondering if it was new. All keep up…Dec 7, 20:31
    • GM on The Long Walk To Freedom: “John Smythe, the people assisting him and Benjamin Harrop are all on the same path but aye, what do you…Dec 7, 20:19
    • Confused on The Long Walk To Freedom: “How does this relate to https://johnsmytheinvestigations.wordpress.com/2025/10/03/foi-202500456798-selective-redactions-on-james-hamilton-correspondence/ and are you the same GM?Dec 7, 19:00
    • Dan on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Stated this a few years back, but probably need an updated version of this old article, and it would likely…Dec 7, 18:56
    • factchecker on The Long Walk To Freedom: “David, to use your image, we’re getting our faces hit with a broken bottle right now. They’ll keep getting hit…Dec 7, 18:42
    • factchecker on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Dan, I agree with you about Labour’s record in the past. I’m just suggesting the only scenario I can see…Dec 7, 18:30
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: “There you go, factchecker, Dan says no. I’m afraid things still have to get a lot worse in Scotland before…Dec 7, 18:18
    • David Holden on The Long Walk To Freedom: “An epic article in both length and breadth. A few reads will be required but after one pass I was…Dec 7, 18:17
    • Dan on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Lolz, you maybe laid that voting initiative on jist a wee bitty too heavy. Aye, coz previously Labour in Scotland…Dec 7, 17:39
    • factchecker on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Not a fact, this time – a personal thought. NUSNP has shown itself unworthy to govern the Scottish people consistently…Dec 7, 17:08
    • Effijy on The Long Walk To Freedom: “I can’t digest such beating about the bushes, trees, and gorse. My conclusion, the SNP is rife with corruption and…Dec 7, 16:16
    • James Cheyne on The cost of failure: “Also forgot to mention the destruction of infrastructure like roads, trains, water supplies, localised businesses, NHS, and other public services.…Dec 7, 16:13
    • James Cheyne on The cost of failure: “Charles ( not the 3C one) Forgot to respond regards your comment Who will be the members of the new…Dec 7, 16:04
    • James Cheyne on The cost of failure: “Charles ( not the RC one). If there was a Scottish parliament in reality, there would be no Parliamentary union…Dec 7, 15:51
    • Morag on The Long Walk To Freedom: “We can only be grateful for people like yourself who are prepared to do this, and dogged and persistent enough…Dec 7, 15:01
    • James Cheyne on The cost of failure: “Confirmation can be found in records that it was “The Great Seal of England ” that was used on the…Dec 7, 14:04
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Still the dagger drips…Dec 7, 14:04
    • GM on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Thanks Benjamin. I’ll look forward to your next post.Dec 7, 13:46
    • GM on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Good work. I look forward to further information being released, eventually.Dec 7, 13:36
    • duncanio on The Long Walk To Freedom: “The process is indeed the punishment. Much kudos goes to Benjamin Harrop for his tenacity and diligence in trying to…Dec 7, 13:12
    • Ronnie on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Sir, your persistence is to be commended.Dec 7, 13:07
    • James Cheyne on The cost of failure: “The union of crowns only came into official bieng due to the articles of the treaty of union, Prior to…Dec 7, 12:41
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: “Naw, James. It’s a little known fact that many people want to pay lots more tax. That’s why they move…Dec 7, 10:23
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: “So long, Cynicus. Shame you never managed to deal with the substance of my assertion, that the son of some…Dec 7, 10:11
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: “I’ve reached the conclusion The Jews, or one of them, are to blame for you too, Confused. That explains your…Dec 7, 09:56
    • Cynicus on The cost of failure: “Hatey McHateface says: 6 December, 2025 at 7:26 pm “Nobody is going to claim a McTavish born in Islamabad to…Dec 7, 00:28
    • Confused on The cost of failure: “Farage tries to get back in with the jews, issues a statement : – my own grandfather (sniff) … DIED…Dec 6, 23:14