Wait, what now? From BBC News:

carwynjones

Subscribe
Notify of

26 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Mathew

Wait… so the idea is they’ll give tax powers to Wales to show it will work in Scotland, rather than JUST GIVING IT TO SCOTLAND? You must credit the guy for trying to get Wales something out of it, at least.

Arbroath1320

I wonder if Carwyn Jones knows he is being used as the latest patsy in the BT attack on Scottish Independence. Was he asked to become the patsy or did they just use him without telling him?

Marcia

Scotland already has tax raising powers. Maybe someone should tell him about the Referendum in 1997. What he raises in Wales will be deducted by Westminster.

Wales will be charged by Revenue & Customs for the computer software to do it.

ianbrotherhood

This dude must’ve had an interesting life – he’s only 47.

Tim

You added three zeroes to the Zimbabwe dollars amount.  Was that the joke you tweeted about?  (Reference to hyper-inflation.)  Do I win a prize?  😉

Vronsky

When I first saw reports of this I read them in a quite different way: here’s Mr Jones saying ‘If you’re going to do that for the Scots, you’d better smarten up your ideas for Wales too.’  A spot of opportunist bargaining, and what’s wrong with that.  The SNP website takes a similar view.  Yes, he’s Labour, he’s probably scripted, and don’t trust him as far him as you could throw your fridge, etc..  Still, not sure which net that ball went into.

link to snp.org

Jiggsbro

I wonder if Carwyn Jones knows he is being used as the latest patsy in the BT attack on Scottish Independence.

He’s not being used. He’s a fairly typical Labour career politician doing exactly what career Labour politicians are supposed to do: what he’s told.

HandandShrimp

Give the man credit for trying it on.

Might also try “George double our budget and devolve social security to us..that will probably stop the rascally Scots”

G. Campbell

“Mr Jones is a strong opponent of Scottish independence and believes that Wales can play a significant role in making the case for Scotland to stay within the UK by banning diving cheat Gareth Bale from international football.”

Angus McLellan

I don’t want to be the one to tell Peter Robinson he’s been had. So, too, have the Belly Telly. Poor Carwyn, plainly not the sharpest pencil in the box.

Mac

So Welsh Labour want devo-max for Wales so that Scotland gets devo-nothing in return for voting NO.

A cunning plan or what?

Tim

“Your prize is the title of Most Alert Reader Of The Day. Enjoy it.”

Wow, thanks!  I shall treasure that until midnight, and never forget this part of today.  I can’t believe it, you’ve made me so happy!

Also, the BBC’s Betsan Powys’s blog on this is worth a read should you need any more confirmation of how two-faced the Labour party is across the whole of the “One Nation”.  Basically, full implementation really meant partial implementation.  Jones back-tracked on devolving income tax.  Remind anyone of anyone?

link to bbc.co.uk

fordie

Tres amusing.
Saw this ‘story’ at link to newsnow.co.uk as ‘Wales can show Scotland an alternative to independence’; Chancellor told. Wales Online 00:07 Tue, 30 Apr 2013 
Whilst I’m empathetic to Plaid I don’t think Scotland needs to take any lessons from the Welsh Assembly – or should I say a Labour politician in the Assembly.

scottish_skier

OT (surely it’s ok by now Rev?) and sorry if it’s already been posted…
Ian Bell in the Herald on the rise of UKIP
link to heraldscotland.com
Ukip’s emergence from the fringe is no laughing matter
As for the Welsh. Support for devolution there can only rise too (and it is rising). While the Scots were desperate for their parliament, the Welsh have more come to like theirs. Britain is slowly disintegrating. The tail end of the empirical rise and fall. 

Macart

Oh dear. I don’t think he’s thought that one through. 😀

I know you’re all having a good laugh at our first minister but when you’ve finished giggling at the sheer madness of his comment spare a thought for us poor sods who have to live under his puppet government.

Anyway, as you were, 504 days to the big party.

Bill C

Sorry to go o/t Rev, but I think you and Skier might be interested in the latest polling for the local elections in England. Link below. Makes for some very interesting reading.
link to ukpollingreport.co.uk

theycan'tbeserious

How to make friends and influence people!….I’ve only heard about this “jam tomorrow” does anybody actually know how big the jar is?….is their enough to go round?

Indion

Unlike the Army that is passing with joint and allied coalitions of the ready, willing and able geared to real flexible response with anyone, anywhere, anytime, it would be a mistake to assume the UK government is no longer a single entity either.  Much will stand or fall on the culmination of the spending review across the distinctly seperate UK gov departments this June, as the outcome will shape the battlefields to be fought over up to the next UK general election by 2015 at the latest.

Every person and every public, private and voluntary organisation in the UK – including parliaments, assemblies and councils should have known for about 5 years that the UK would dump eye watering dollops of its national deficit and debt downstream. It is about to begin, big time.

In England, Pickles is hastening to put together a concordant with councils, however recalcitrant (sound familiar?).  Like the Welsh First Minister – prodded by Plaid – they too know that devolution will dump responsibility without what in all likelihood they might regard as sufficient resources – especially after tomorrow’s local elections down south.

The First Ministers of Northern Ireland are looking askance at a smaller pot to ‘manage’ differences there.  All in the UK having paid for peace, they now have no choice but to deliver it with less gravy to go round. All of a sudden, overtures are breaking out and in, much to the delight of the long-suffering moderate most there (at least as far as I can make out from Slugger).

In UK terms, it’s all concentrating minds across the hollowed-out provincial tiers of governance. Top-down devolution being power retained is about to clash with greater demands than hitherto for not only responsibility, but the requisite authority and resources to exercise and account for it: ie full-blown decentralization to attain and maintain optimal autonomy.  Having been limbering-up ’til now, Unlock Democracy’s ‘Sustainable Communties Bill’ is about to come into its own.

Scotlandshire* is leading the way. The SNP has been and continues to be the greatest catalyst for real democratic change across the archaic, imperious UK that it has ever seen.

Cheers! Correction: Bottoms-up! 

(* Note to self: check with Andy Wightman for where the equivalent Bill in Scotland is at.) 

Luigi

Whose business is it anyway? Well, it all depends on perspective, obviously. From a UK perspective, it is, very much their business. From a Scottish perspective, it is blatant interference. Ho Hum, each to his own.

Indion

And from the perspective of taxpayers, it’s everybody’s business in RIPoff Britain.

Barontorc

Five million Scots, two million NI, three million Welsh and 50 million English does not make for a balanced UK – or am I getting it wrong somewhere? The 80/20 rule is alive and well and will always work for England’s benefit.

Just a pity that the swings and roundabouts principle also works its stuff and boy is it gonna seem to hit hardest on the 50 million with the fun just starting for risable UKIP and failing Labour who’ll get well and truly stuffed. Scotland is not an issue for either of them.

Meanwhile – back at the croft!

john king

this is the comment I just made on BBC Wales which appeared immediately  but on looking for an opportunity to edit a misspelling it dissapeared,

Full implementation, full explanation06:33am on 02 May 2013what a refreshing change to come onto BBC wales and find your allowed to comment, in Scotland were not allowed sharp objects such as a comments page on BBC (no seriously) , I think its in case we cut ourselves on our sharp acerbic wit, but might I just ask Carwyn Jones to butt out of Scotland’s business please and in words of the bard MIND YOUR OWN BUISNESS”

now please someone tell me it was just pulled for moderation or are the Welsh THAT stringent on spelling?

hope you don’t mind me paraphrasing your header rev?

john king

phew my post passed the speling test, (got a d though) its back on, those welch are tough teechers  

Turnbull Drier

john king says:

those welch are tough teechers 

drummm tish 😛

Stats: 6,674 Posts, 1,203,533 Comments

• Ian Brotherhood on What Went On: “A stushie has erupted over whether or not fart suppressant being added to cattle feed is harmful to humans. I…Nov 28, 22:28
    • crazycat on What Went On: “I think there are two strands of lunacy here. As you say, men cannot be pregnant. But people who swallow…Nov 28, 22:08
    • znovak on What Went On: ““Doublethink means the power of holding two contradictory beliefs in one’s mind simultaneously, and accepting both of them.” It is…Nov 28, 21:53
    • Craig P on What Went On: “The Scottish Government needs to take UEFA to court. Scotland clearly won the last Euros.Nov 28, 21:50
    • Anthem on What Went On: “Exactly! There seems to be no law against their fraud, deceit and lies. How do we prosecute these people?Nov 28, 21:40
    • Robert Matthews on What Went On: “Colonial Bingo – 0 ?Nov 28, 21:39
    • Robert Matthews on What Went On: “Colonial Bingo- knock at the door 4.Nov 28, 21:37
    • Andy Anderson on What Went On: “Is he not to old to become pregnant!!Nov 28, 21:31
    • ben madigan on What Went On: “could I do that? Identify as a surgeon, I mean? I am confident I could scrub up and wear the…Nov 28, 21:18
    • Lorna Campbell on What Went On: “The KC involved in fighting the SG’s corner is a woman – the biological kind. She was just doing her…Nov 28, 21:09
    • Hatey McHateface on What Went On: “Looks like the 2024 award for the most institutionally gormless governing body in world politics is in the bag. The…Nov 28, 20:55
    • Hatey McHateface on What Went On: “What’s the status of our bet, then? £50 too rich for you? This time of year, there’s plenty of temp…Nov 28, 20:45
    • Hatey McHateface on What Went On: “Aw, are you missing him already? S’not even 24 hours. 🙂 Story I heard, he’s ordered a certificate of professorship…Nov 28, 20:40
    • Robert Louis on What Went On: “Can no politicians see, as clear as day, the madness of this gender stuff? I mean seriously, we have leaders…Nov 28, 20:38
    • SteepBrae on What Went On: “O/T (from ALBA): Saturday 30th November 2024, 12.30pm, His Dream Will Never Die, We call on all Scottish Patriots to…Nov 28, 20:36
    • Chas on What Went On: “Great stuff. Another link to mince written by an erse. Have you not got anything original or new? Is plagiarism…Nov 28, 20:33
    • Alf Baird on What Went On: “Swinney himself would need to become pregnant to prove his case; tho A widna haud ma breith.Nov 28, 20:29
    • Nae Need! on What Went On: ““The UK Conservatives largely voted against the GRA 2004, but did little to repeal it when they returned to power.”…Nov 28, 20:28
    • Alf Baird on What Went On: “Private school fees have to be paid somehow.Nov 28, 20:25
    • Alf Baird on What Went On: “All that ethnic self-hatred is doing you no good, you know. Colonialism isnae really that difficult tae feegure oot: https://salvo.scot/scotlands-colonial-status/Nov 28, 20:23
    • Campbell Clansman on What Went On: “Conservative MSPs voted 26-2 AGAINST the Gender Recognition Reform (Scotland) Bill. All the other parties voted overwhelmingly FOR the bill.…Nov 28, 19:56
    • gregor on What Went On: “Karma @Illuminarty1111: “Lol , what a fanny”: https://tinyurl.com/mvhhxh95Nov 28, 19:52
    • Nae Need! on What Went On: “It astonishes me that people are STILL falling for the ‘jam tomorrow’ carrot dangling of these liars.Nov 28, 19:50
    • gregor on What Went On: “@PeteWishart has blocked you: “Also got signed copies for sale in Perth Waterstones.”: https://archive.ph/mYtrxNov 28, 19:48
    • Peter McAvoy on What Went On: “John Swinney scrap this policy.Nov 28, 19:47
    • Nae Need! on What Went On: “Haven’t they just. The fuckers. Rips ma knitting big style.Nov 28, 19:45
    • Chas on What Went On: “It did not take too long! Answer one question Alfie boy, who forms a government after we have been supposedly…Nov 28, 19:44
    • Nae Need! on What Went On: “Exactly. The SC becomes pointless.Nov 28, 19:43
    • Nae Need! on What Went On: “Couldn’t agree more.Nov 28, 19:39
    • gregor on What Went On: “@PeteWishart has blocked you: “If you are looking for that perfect Christmas gift for the independence curious or those interested…Nov 28, 19:35

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()