Like a hurricane

Posted on July 10, 2013 by

For those of you who stubbornly STILL don’t follow us on Twitter, this is our favourite still from the trailer for Grand Theft Auto V, the latest instalment in the blockbuster series from splendid Edinburgh-based videogame developers Rockstar North.

bawsaq

(This is AF #54, if you’re keeping track. We know we weren’t.)

20 to “Like a hurricane”

1. Robert Bryce says:

Hurricane Bawbag by any chance?

My neighbour’s son is involved in GTA. I think I need to have a word!

2. MajorBloodnok says:

I heard they put Johann Lamont in it, in an updated “Hot Coffee” scene.  Well, they would have, if they could find her.

3. Geoff Huijer says:

Yeah….I saw that! Hilarious.

It is the GTAV equivalent of the NASDAQ.
    Can’t imagine many folks will ‘get it’ though
    which kinda makes it funnier.

4. Robert Bryce says:

Shergar, Lord Lucan & Johann Lamont. Discuss………………

5. IainGraysSubwayLament says:

There’ll be far more sly digs and in-jokes than that in it I’d wager.

Rockstar North better get ready for a massive influx of cash as GTAV looks to be yet another gaming juggernaut. Possibly the last truly massive one of this generation.

Meanwhile, more scaremongering lunacy from westmisnter.

MoD fears for Trident base if Scotland says yes to independence
    Whitehall looking at plan to designate home of nuclear fleet as sovereign United Kingdom territory
    link to guardian.co.uk

6. Peter says:

Interesting. For those who like playing games.
    Not as interesting as the outright threat to invade part of Scotland post independence.
     http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk-news/2013/jul/10/mod-trident-scotland-independence

7. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“There’ll be far more sly digs and in-jokes than that in it I’d wager.”

I knew some of the Rockstar guys professionally back in the days when they were still DMA Design in Dundee, and I like to believe this shop in GTA4 was for me:

link to wingsoverscotland.com

(My website used to be called World of Stuart.)

8. Gaavster says:

You’ll maybe know my cousin Stu… GS, worked on the original GTA, graphics specialist….

9. Robert Bryce says:

I was at a track day in East Fortune last year when they were sampling engine noises of a few of the cars for GTA5.

It was a fantastic day. I got to tear up & down the old runway in some nice motors indeed. Ferrari F430, Porsche GT3, Race prepped Lotus Elise & Nissan GTR among others.

10. IainGraysSubwayLament says:

Nice little namecheck from them there Rev.

Strange to think from a little overhead game they now have such huge global influence. It delights me that they are likely to be as uncompromising as ever while the wield that influence. There’s definitely a subversive scottish streak that lies behind all the Americana and pop culture references in the GTA series.

11. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“You’ll maybe know my cousin Stu… GS, worked on the original GTA, graphics specialist….”

Is he on page 66 here?

link to amr.abime.net

12. DanTDog says:

@Rev Stuart… “For those of you who stubbornly STILL don’t follow us on Twitter”
    Naethin’ stubborn aboot it, Rev…some o’ us havenae enough hours in the day as it is wi’oot jinin’ up tae every new-fanglt tech/blether sites…taks me a’ ma time readin’ an’ tryin’ tae digest yer Wings pearls… Keep it up, btw, I’ve convertit yin or twa folk tae oor wey o’ thinkin’ by introducin’ them tae WoS… ? Noo we’re whistlin’ the same tune…??

13. Gaavster says:

Possibly Stu, but that was many moons ago and too many follicles on show to be certain…. his name is Gordon and let’s just say he’s a dead ringer for a famous American Film Director now… mail me and I’ll tell you his surname 😉

14. Dcanmore says:

God I love the GTA series, my dark days of video gaming burnout (1998-2003) was swept aside with GTA III. Rockstar North (ex-DMA) are my heroes next to Team 17 and Sensible Software. I started gaming on 10p coin-ops in 1979, got a Vic-20 in 1983; CBM64 in 85; Amiga 500 in 1990; PS1 in 1995 and a PS2 in 2003. I know Rev Stu can easily trounce my gaming history (and everyone else) 🙂 

Always loved the random humorous Scottish and Irish references on the streets of GTA. By the way Rev, have you ever played the Snow Ball game by Chunk (Glasgow), just a wee funny you can play online.

link to chunkgroup.com

15. Etrigan says:

Ok, that’s it. I’m getting my old Amiga out. 4 player Hired Guns…what a game 🙂

16. Doug Daniel says:

Dcanmore – I take it you know which famous Scottish developer-turned-comedian is doing the voices in that game by Chunk? 😛

17. Dcanmore says:

It’s Brian Limond I think.

18. Doug Daniel says:

It certainly is. I believe him and another guy started Chunk together.

19. kininvie says:

Ach, none of these shoot-em-ups have any relevance. You need Crusader Kings. Once you got through the mind-boggling conventions and laws of Medieval feudalism, you realise it’s the perfect trainer for politics in Indy Scotland….

20. Dcanmore says:

@Doug … Ah, I didn’t know he started the company, cool!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,740 Posts, 1,215,995 Comments

• Antoine Roquentin on The Moral Vacuum: “You’re some man for one man, Stuart Campbell!Apr 18, 00:08
    • Glesga Jim on The Moral Vacuum: “I’ve got to look at that Gomersall when they come into my local BK store in the Gorbals, it put’s…Apr 18, 00:07
    • Morgatron on The Moral Vacuum: “Big thanks to you and Graham Linehan , i wonder if so called quiet friend’s will apologise to him? Thanks…Apr 17, 23:29
    • Dave G on March Of The Ferrets: “i appreciated that reasoned discussion is not going to happen but as agent X says, the court in the UK…Apr 17, 23:19
    • Effijy on The Moral Vacuum: “If you put lipstick on a pig you still have a pig. A wolf wearing sheep’s clothing is still a…Apr 17, 23:11
    • Marie on The Moral Vacuum: “From one moral vacuum to another – anyone seen or heard from Sturgeon?Apr 17, 23:09
    • Billie on The Moral Vacuum: “Oh dear, another fruitcake spouting absolute rubbish. Shown up for the absolute tube that he is, he/she or its days…Apr 17, 23:09
    • Tracey on The Moral Vacuum: ““95% of men aren’t rapists” – I believe the percentage is smaller than that. The rest of the article is…Apr 17, 23:09
    • Geri on March Of The Ferrets: “Yes, dumb down telly & social media played a massive part. The World Health Organisation removed it from its list…Apr 17, 23:03
    • Bob Johnston on The Day Everything Changed: “Announcement from the Ministry of Truth. Oceania is at war with Eastasia. Oceania has always been at war with Eastasia.…Apr 17, 22:32
    • Geri on March Of The Ferrets: “There should be a new law – every time they lie to the public they should lose two months salary.…Apr 17, 22:27
    • Geri on March Of The Ferrets: “Testing…Apr 17, 22:20
    • Mark Beggan on March Of The Ferrets: “All over Scotland tonight the sound of documents being shredded, emails being deleted, Statements being hurriedly written, Drag Queen shows…Apr 17, 21:43
    • Young Lochinvar on March Of The Ferrets: “Well said Mia It’s all a sick fad, relatable entirely to William Bruce Jenner in 2015 and media spread like…Apr 17, 21:21
    • Former President Xiden on March Of The Ferrets: “What is the National cuck, Swinney saying about it?Apr 17, 21:09
    • Mia on March Of The Ferrets: “No. Sorry. In my eyes that thing is and will always England’s Supreme Court. I do not recognise the legitimate…Apr 17, 20:44
    • Carol Neill on March Of The Ferrets: “I certainly hope not , I hope she takes them all the wayApr 17, 20:19
    • JimboLLbI on The highlights show: “Will they attempt to redefine “biological”?Apr 17, 19:58
    • agent x on March Of The Ferrets: ““The English Supreme Court” No – it is the UK Supreme Court – an independent Scotland would not have the…Apr 17, 19:44
    • Hatey McHateface on March Of The Ferrets: “Kirsty Blackman will finally know the answer to the question that has troubled her for so long. I hope she…Apr 17, 19:24
    • Mark Beggan on March Of The Ferrets: “Almost forgot in the excitement. Thanks Rev Thanks for a champion job.Apr 17, 19:15
    • Mia on March Of The Ferrets: “The English Supreme Court ruled that a woman is a woman and “trans-women” are not women. Nothing to disagree with.…Apr 17, 19:13
    • Marie on March Of The Ferrets: “I despise politicians. THEY are corrupted. THEY are the problem.Apr 17, 19:06
    • agent x on March Of The Ferrets: ““Court bins case on Wings Over Scotland ‘hate posts’ about Brianna Ghey” https://www.thenational.scot/news/25099506.court-bins-case-wings-scotland-hate-posts-brianna-ghey/Apr 17, 19:05
    • Hatey McHateface on March Of The Ferrets: “So it’s true then. The tale about Pinocchio and lying.Apr 17, 19:03
    • Willie on March Of The Ferrets: “Whoopsie Doo, would you Adam and Eve it. What an absolute contrast of position these two pieces by this Labour…Apr 17, 18:48
    • MaryB on March Of The Ferrets: “Presumably this ruling means that all the Scottish education teaching and learning materials which discuss sex and gender will now…Apr 17, 18:41
    • vic rodrick on The Day Everything Changed: “One wonders if Stonewall’s ‘contracts’ compelling local and national government bodies to help achieve their aims will survive this change.Apr 17, 18:36
    • Stevie on The Day Everything Changed: “The Feminist junta (the feminista) fought since the end of WWI hat no difference exists between men and women ;…Apr 17, 18:30
    • Sven on March Of The Ferrets: “We know a song about that; “Send in the clowns … Don’t bother they’re here.”Apr 17, 18:27