2. Stoker

:)) Maw Broon :))

Fricken waste of perfectly good oxygen.

3. Jonh O

The thing aboot broons knitting skills is it will unravel.

4. Swami Backverandah

Is that the definition of a stitch-up? 🙂

5. handclapping

I like it even if Dudley D did most of the work 😉 Would it not have been good to have a wee Cameron kitten doing the unravelling?

Your a grand cartoonist Chris always making me think

6. Betty Boop

Whit have ye done tae Maw. That’s a disgrace! Sure she wouldn’t want to be associated.

7. Alex Clark

Knitting his own straitjacket? Wouldn’t like to see Gordy cause harm to himself or his party, probably a good idea then.

8. Dan Huil

Another cast-off.

9. ronald alexander mcdonald

Poor Maw Broon. As far as I’m concerned she was never a cynical lying bastard!

10. Kenny

Some O/T Sunday humour. An independent Scotland would make a double saving on dumping Trident and closing Faslane. Because we would have a vacant, very usable submarine base, which we could surely let out to…. Mr Putin. No payment worries with the Russians, I am sure they would be willing to pay top dollar.

[And it might be a good thing to have a few friendly Russian subs at hand, we could enter into a sharing agreement with them for patroling Scottish waters: for the English seem to have confused ideas about our maritime border in the North Sea…]

11. donald anderson

Soor Gordy, Their Gordy, Naebiddy’s Gordy.

12. Croompenstein

Chris that is crrrreeeppyyy….reminds me of psycho’s maw

13. bugsbunny

Alistair Carmicheal as Daphne Broon, Jim Murphy as Hen Broon, Kathy Jamieson as Maggie Broon, Ian Davidson as Joe Broon, Alistair Darling as Paw Broon, George Galloway as Granpaw Broon, George Foulkes as Horace Broon, (He says sarcastically). The Alexander siblings as the twins and the 55% who voted NO as the Bairn.

Stephen.

14. Valerie

Love it!

15. AuldA

A title in French?
    Stu’ you’re my hero!

16. Maid_in_Scotland

Overheard in the Westminster bar (Labour MP corner): “We telt him tae PULL THE WOOL OVER THEIR EYES, no’ knit a pullover, now he’ll hae tae rip the hail thing doon and start again fur it’s fu’ o’ holes. Silly ********”.

17. caz-m

Excellent Chris, the VOW is starting to unravel.

Also, had to laugh at a post on Newsnet Scotland earlier.

“mcscruff” asked if anyone had noticed how a “No Voter” had become a pejorative term, which I had a wee chuckle at, because it’s true. It is set firmly in Scots lingo now, a NO Voter, one who betrays their Country, it was those NO Voters, etc…
    brilliant.

Pejorative: expressing contempt OR disapproval of.

18. No no no...Yes

Maw Broon’s first name was Maggie. How appropriate!

19. cynicalHighlander

He’s certainly dropped one.

20. pussy nancy

Could somebody please plug that chair in……

21. Capella

Are the tumbrils clattering up Glebe Street?

22. Alex Clark

@caz-m

Yeah, I missed the unravelling of the Vow Doh!

I think though that it is a great deal more than the Vow that is unravelling. Looking forward to the GE.

23. caz-m

Tory Party chairman Grant Shapps tells us on Sky News today that we should not listen to a word Manuel Barroso says.

He was replying to negative comments that Barroso made about the Tories EU referendum.

But when Barroso said that Scotland would find it impossible to gain entry into the EU, Shapps wasn’t long in quoting him.

How times have changed.

24. bookie from hell

BC/AC

Old Testament/New Testament

before ref/after ref

25. Luigi

That’s a right old tangled web that Ma Broon is knitting. If she’s not careful, she could end up in knots.

26. bookie from hell

James Cagney

“I’m on top the world maw”

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=bytoID_SNnE

27. Macsenex

Yesterday Waitrose in Helensburgh was offering complimentary newspapers provided they were English produced.

I have complained and await a response.

28. galamcennalath

Very good. And exactly what was Broon actually good at ….?

29. seanair

Bugsbunny
    Couldn’t see Darling wearing a bunnet. He went to Loretto you know.

30. handclapping

Talk about unravelling! Frackers can now pump anything they want under your house and leave it there.

Anybody up for getting paid to dispose of the UK’s radio-active waste and taking out a fracking licence in Surrey?

31. handclapping

Actually Queen Street Gardens in Edinburgh might be a good place to start. Or Clacton, this could be fun! 😀

32. Michael McCabe

If Big Clunking Fist Actually got out and met real people he would meet 1.6 million Cross Yessers.

33. Bugger (the Panda)

Is he knitting a woolen swimming costume?

34. john king

Capella says
    Are the tumbrils clattering up Glebe Street?

tumbrils and torchs,
    does what he says sound at all familiar?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J7D8TImJiVU

35. Jim Thomson

@Michael McCabe 8:35pm

with the obvious exception of Eddie Izzard …

36. Jon D

Another great cartoon.

Surely Chris could arrange that trailing thread on the floor to read “fudge” or “suckers” or… for extra effect.

37. Graeme Doig

Caz m 8.15pm

Great spot. I was wondering about any reaction to his comments today.

Don’t you just get a bit depressed when the shite were served on a daily bases gets proved to have been exactly that, shite.

38. SquareHaggis

Glebe Street’s darkest day…

ULP!

39. Mealer

I’m on the right side of the divide.Broon is on the other with the dribblies.One foot in the grave.

40. john king

Well well
    Le tricotuer
    Guernsey Jumper was/is produced in Rocquaine Bay , which is where lived for a period in the summer of 1973
    ah, it was a good year to be sure, 🙂
    I had hair for a start,
    and didn’t grunt when I got out of a chair! 🙁

41. ronnie anderson

Wan plain wan purl wan NIT.

Chris am wie Betty Boob whit did Maw Broon dae tae you , or is the Post yer trying tae get at.Onny how great cartoon.

42. Jim Thomson

@John King

Aaaahh, that explains it… it’s ME grunting and not the chair creaking. I did wonder 😛

43. Betty Boop

@ Ronnie Anderson, 9.01pm

Heh, wha’s this Betty BOOB ye’ve thrawn me o’er fur?

44. Graeme Doig

‘we were’ and ‘basis’

Phone posting … boo

45. cynicalHighlander

Double cross stitch.

46. Kenny

“Tory Party chairman Grant Shapps tells us on Sky News today that we should not listen to a word Manuel Barroso says.”

Indeed, during the campaign, he was quoted in the unionist papers virtually every day. They repeated his lies that Scotland would find itself outside the EU. Yes, the EU is certainly going to reject such a dynamic country in which the laws are ALREADY in line with EU legislation…. !

Strangely, the unionist press covered this up:

THE cream of Scandinavia’s literati has written an open letter to the people of Scotland endorsing independence and attacking the “campaign of fear” run by the main Westminster parties in defence of the Union.

The letter was written by Thorvald Steen, president of the Norwegian Authors’ Union between 1991 and 1997 and an honorary board member of writers’ association PEN International.

Among the signatories to the letter were some of Scandinavia’s most successful novelists and playwrights, including Jostein Gaarder, author of the multi-million selling novel Sophie’s World, dramatist Jon Fosse, winner of the Ibsen Prize and widely tipped as a future Nobel laureate, and Anne B Ragde, whose 2009 novel Berlin Poplars has been translated into 15 different languages.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/politics/referendum-news/scandinavian-writers-pen-love-letter-to-independent-scotland.23760617

47. AuldA

@John King;

“trico-tuer” sounds like a serial knitter.

Do they still speak a Norman dialect in Guernsey?
    You had hair then. Now your h has turned into a b?

Good night!

48. john king

Betty Boop says
    “Heh, wha’s this Betty BOOB ye’ve thrawn me o’er fur?”

Have you not met her Betty?
    she’s a big wummun,
    well Ronnie is a big man. 🙂

49. ronnie anderson

@ Betty Boop sorry misspell, knackered efter that walk roon Glesga today.

50. Dr Jim

@Kenny
    Yep, i noticed that too, good old Manuel Barosso, during the campaign his word was law, now according to the Tories, he’s talking nonsense.
    You just wonder how the NO voters fell for this stuff, even though the good old BBC backed them up along with our trusty newspapers
    Any NO people out there, at least feeling slightly silly yet
    Check out your local Wingers, we’re here all the time
    “BOOM BOOM”

51. Capella

@ john king
    Great video. Let’s all go to the beach!

52. manandboy

Gordon Brown was knit together in his Mother’s womb –
    shame, she must have dropped a few stitches.

53. manandboy

Gordon proved a useful tool in the Tory box of tricks.
    I think he was a Scots screw driver.

54. john king

AuldA says
    “Do they still speak a Norman dialect in Guernsey?”

My recollection of the Guernsey patios was that it is old Norman and modern French is quite different yes.
    My understanding is its the equivalent of old English but I’m no linguist.

55. Capella

Here lies Gordon Broon. That’s a pun.

56. ronnie anderson

@ John King who ur you cawin big at lest ma chair disna groan when ah sit ma erse on ma seat, ok ok it might be because there,s 8″ of foam on it.John reduce yer weight tak yer hat aff lol.

57. john king

Capella says
    “Let’s all go to the beach!”

Have you seen what sea water does to a pair if knitted trunks? 🙂

58. john king

Ronnie 🙂

59. heedtracker

Finally, he should consider whether his enormous talents could be mobilised to help Holyrood implement the new powers that are to be agreed by standing for the Scottish parliament. This may appear to be an unusual move but we are now in uncharted waters, and bold action, at which Gordon is adept, is what is needed.
    George Foulkes
    Lab, House of Lords

Foulkes in Graun letters. Crash getting rehabbed here in England more and more which is a bit creepy. Pity he saved the union with The Vow and quite a lot of spectacular lies to boot.

60. Mark Coburn

‘Le farceur’ could also apply.

61. Betty Boop

@ John King, 10:01pm

Capella says
    “Let’s all go to the beach!”

Have you seen what sea water does to a pair if knitted trunks? :)n

Oh my, the memory that brings to mind!!! Doesn’t bear thinking about, trunks down to the knees! Not attractive -I am old enough to remember…

62. Capella

@ john king
    I’m just quoting woody in yer video
    “In which Y’r Intr’p’d R’p’t’r suggests that “tolerance” is the wrong meme to explain the ineffectiveness of popular plans and programs to throw off the yoke of privilege, and harkens back to an earlier age for a solution.”
    Let’s all go to the beach (hippies).

63. heedtracker

Graun’s Libby Carrelll automatic denigration of at least 20,000 new SNP members, but he/she did win, this time. It’s going to be interesting watching all the teamGB a liggers trying to get Sturgeon out of office for next 2 years.

“With an unprecedented surge in membership after the country voted no to independence in last month’s referendum, the SNP is now the third largest party in the UK, with a tally of nearly 60,000 new members that is still rising.”

64. crazycat

@ heedtracker

I saw that letter too; the headline and the bit you have quoted led me to click on it to see who could be so deluded as to describe Brown like that.

When I discovered the answer, I realized I should have guessed. (George Foulkes used to be my MP.)

65. john king

A fire at Didcot B power station, this is near to Ukaere Harwell better known as a atomic research establishment
    https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/uk-atomic-energy-authority,

Im willing to bet that wont be mentioned on the news!

66. bjsalba

O/t Cameron is getting his knuckles wrapped on capping EU migration. They could of course fix the problem if they managed to create more new jobs outside London.

Now if there had been an Independent Scotland which could retain its young people …..

67. Jamie Arriere

Ah, Maw Broon and her woolly designs. I hear she goes through twelve bananas a day.

Please don’t draw that!

68. Betty Boop

@ Capella, 10:09pm

@ john king
    I’m just quoting woody in yer video

Old Woody nailed it in that video. We are stitched up, no matter who holds power over us. All of us bought and sold (out) over and over again.

Depressing – think I’ll go sit on John King’s patio looking for a Norman on the beach.

69. mogabee

Well done Chris, this is one of your best…and that’s saying something.

Was going to ask if you had been on holiday in Guernsey but see John King has beaten me to it.

70. Capella

“It is likely enough that in the rough outhouses of some tillers of the heavy lands adjacent to Paris, there were sheltered from the weather that very day, rude carts, bespattered with rustic mire, snuffed about by pigs, and roosted in by poultry, which the Farmer, Death, had already set apart to be his tumbrils of the Revolution.”
    A Tale of Two Cities. Charles Dickens

71. Cadogan Enright

Enjoy the thought – am wondering what would be the best constituency to go work in come March or April?

@ schrodingers cat says:
    19 October, 2014 at 8:36 pm
    not sure why people think browns seat is so safe

2010 GE
    Labour 29,559 G.Brown PM
    SNP 6,550
    Tories 4258
    Libdem 4269
    62% turnout

2011 HE
    Lab, 24300
    SNP 23400
    Tory 3685
    Libdem 1422
    46% turnout

72. handclapping

@mogabee
    More likely he’s been reading a Tale of Two Cities, Edinburgh and London

73. dougiekdy

I hear Broon’s no standing in Kirkcaldy at the 2015 GE – shitebag!

74. ronnie anderson

@ John sos nae smileys ah canny afford them lol

75. Marcia

The actual figures for the 2011 Holyrood election in Kirkcaldy was

SNP 12579
    LAB 12397
    CON 2007
    LD 820

76. handclapping

@dougiekdy
    He’s heard about his ermine then?

77. Marcia

was = were – sigh 🙁

78. Capella

Thanks Marcia. It’s good news week!

79. heedtracker

@ crazycat, Crash saved teamGB and now has some very odd groupies as in arch Thatcherite Tory boy Lord Micheal Dobbs, who is currently going round to to studios explaining to the English that Crash was not in fact the worst prime minister ever but as saviour of the UKOK power and glory, Crash showed what a poitical Giant Crash really is.

Dobbs wrote tv hit House of Cards and also leaves out facts like how Crash went around Scotland telling the most appalling lies to chosen audiences only and filmed by rancid old BBC in Scotlland. Dobbs was also up in Aberdeen camping for the Union where he was also grovelled and fluffed by the equally rancid Press and Journal.

It’s a Tory world and the red Tories want a lot more than a taste of the action.

80. Capella

And if you’re too young to remember it here’s the youtube version
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q4KzGKnuUuc

81. Capella

@cynicalHighlander
    SNAP!

82. ronnie anderson

well its a goodnite from me folks sees you,s tommorow

83. Wp

Thought I’d look up my local councillor.
    Amazing the things you didn’t know.
    Councillor John McLuckie
    Ward -Upper Braes
    Party -Labour
    Elected -2012
    Related undertakings – nothing to declare
    Expenses – received assistance for election purposes from Labour Party. Amount TBC
    Non financial interests – member of Slamannan Orange Lodge

84. handclapping

@Marcia
    I think the cat is adding helen Eadie’s result in Cowdenbeath HR constituency to Dave Torrances Kirkcaldy HR.

It is not a very useful act as there are quite big differences. Cowdenbeath HR looses Rosyth, Inverkeithing and Brown’s own North Queensferry to Dunfermline WM and Kirkcaldy loses Buckhaven, Methil, the Wemyss and Chapel to Glenrothes WM

I’d forgotten the figures but I remember the Kirkcaldy 2011, I was there. Labour wanted a recount but settled for a bundle check and when our majority went up … 😀 we made the SNP the majority party in the Parly. Happy days

85. Clootie

Another brilliant cartoon…the unravelling vow symbolism – genius.

86. Cadogan Enright

@ Marcia
    From Wikipedia I see Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath is a county constituency representing the areas around the towns of Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath, in Fife, Scotland, in the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom. It was created for the 2005 general election from most of the old Kirkcaldy constituency and parts of Dunfermline East constituency.

I dont know the area BUT
    COWDENBEATH
    Labour 11,926 46.5 +3.4
    SNP 10,679 41.6 +13.1
    Con 1,792 7.0 ?7.2
    Liberal 997 3.9 ?10.3
    KIRKCALDY
    SNP 12,579 45.2 +11.9
    Labour 12,397 44.6 -0.5
    Con 2,007 7.2 -1.3
    Liberal 820 2.9 -10.1
    DUMFRIMLINE
    SNP 11,010 37.6 +13.5
    Labour 10,420 35.6 +2.7
    Liberal 5,776 19.7 -13.5
    Con 2,093 7.1 -1.2

Looks pretty positive territory – assuming people don’t revert to old behavior for the WM election
    Gordon Brown 29,559 64.5 +6.4
    Chapman SNP 6,550 14.3 -0.2
    Lin Dem 4,269 9.3 -3.7

87. Capella

My guess is that Gordon Brown won’t stand. He won’t be able to tolerate the ignominy of defeat. It will be a shoo in for his opponent.

88. Alex Clark

Plenty unravelling revealing itself right now before our very eyes. That is something we must avoid at all costs, in fact the opposite is required and that is that we must join together.

Your affiliation to a party is unimportant only your support of Independence matters. There are 7 months left to put the Unionist supporters under the screw. Do not waste a minute.

Next May is our first opportunity to make our mark, let’s do that.

89. Cadogan Enright

Fun and games from the SNP Facebook site 🙂 http://www.snp.org/media-centre/news/2014/oct/labour-crisis-second-former-fm-speaks-out

90. Dave McEwan Hill

But what if some Labour candidates declare for independence

91. handclapping

@Capella
    It would take an earthquake to shift Brown from K+C, he’s a majority of over 50%. It would be one of the 3 seats Slab would win even if their vote was the 19% that YoiGov had the other day

And there are 3 SNP branches that cover the WM constituency that would need to be co-ordinated and each of them will be losing a part or parts to Dunfermline and / or Glenrothes. I don’t know how the other branches are doing but even though K’dy is over 1000 now, we’ll be losing a chunk of them to Glenrothes and like all the other branches most of them are newcomers and not kenning the ways of the SNP. Big effort to get them up to speed over the winter and expect them to smash old Gordy down.

On the other hand there’s a big personal vote for Gordy which would vanish if he stepped down in which case there would be a more than sporting chance but then when has Brown done anything for Labour. He probably wouldnt care if Slab only won 2 seats!

92. Doug McG

Bring it on!http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/rugbyunion/international/england/11171972/England-rugby-team-fear-patriotic-video-will-upset-Scots.html

Ps I hope they don’t revive Monty Python’s funniest joke in the world , we’d be for it then!

93. Cadogan Enright

@ handclapping

I would be difficult to see the point of a hugely increased membership if SNP were not going to carry out a rapid reorganisation and create new constituency groups by Xmas to give them a decent run at May.

However, I believe it would be far more effective for the YES parties to agree a ‘carve-up’ of the 53 Unionist seats, and use the cross-party and no-party YES campaign teams to carry WM constituencies for a single candidate against 3/4 unionist candidates. I worry that the YES campaign teams with wither if not used in this manner.

94. Cadogan Enright

Lets get the cross-party and no-party YES campaign going again LETS TARGET ALL 59 Westminster Seats https://www.facebook.com/target59

95. Moira Currie

A la lanterne!!

96. schrodingers cat

Marcia says:
    The actual figures for the 2011 Holyrood election in Kirkcaldy was

SNP 12579
    LAB 12397
    CON 2007
    LD 820

nae kiddin’ marcia, the biggest problem we have in this area is the propaganda shite put out by the bbc. your ignorance is not helping

before you post bbc propaganda pish on wings, get your facts straight

uk constituency = kirkcaldy + cowdenbeath
    holyrood constituencies = kirkcaldy and cowdenbeath
    with some minor differences

Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath UK Constituency =
    Combined Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath HE Constituencies
    (+ Inverkeithing, Rosyth) (Methil Buckhaven and Wemyss
    )- Auchterderren and Cardenden

http://www.bcomm-scotland.independent.gov.uk/maps/spc/2011/
    http://www.bcomm-scotland.independent.gov.uk/maps/westminster/2005/

fill yer boots

Ward 5 Rosyth 2012 council elections
    SNP 1076
    Lab 1049
    Tory 223
    Lib 275
    35% turnout

Ward 23 Methil, Buckhaven and Wemyss 2012 council elections
    SNP 830
    Lab 2162
    Lab 732
    Independent 1307
    Independent 153
    Lib 21
    36% turnout

Not possible to separate Inverkeithing Auchterderren and Cardenden results from Council results but similar populations

Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath 2005 GE
    Labour 24,278 G.Brown Chancellor
    SNP 6,062
    Tories 4,308
    Libdem 5,450
    58% turnout

Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath Combined 2007 HE notional
    Lab 24240
    SNP 17040
    Torys 6190
    Libdem 7450
    Turnout 45%

Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath 2010 GE
    Lab G Brown 29,559
    SNP 6,550
    Tories 4,258
    Libdems 4,269
    Turnout 45%
    SNP fail to get their voters to turn out
    Lab get their voters to turn out with an extra 5000 as brown is PM

Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath Combined 2011 HE
    Lab, 24300
    SNP 23400
    Tory 3685
    Libdem 1422
    46% turnout

Kirkcaldy 2011 HE
    SNP D. Torrance 12579 45.2 +11.9
    Labour M. livingstone 12397 44.6 -0.5
    Tory (No Change) 2,007
    Libdem (meltdown) 890
    Turnout 45%
    SNP get their voters to turn out 3K of Libdems defect to SNP

Cowdenbeath 2011 HE
    Lab, Helen Eadie 11,926 46.5 +3.4
    SNP I. Chisholm 10,679 41.6 +13.1
    Tory (No Change) 1,792
    Libdem (meltdown) 997
    Turnout 46%
    SNP get their voters to turn out, 3K of Libdems defect to SNP

Cowdenbeath 2014 HE by election
    Lab A Rowley 11,192 55.78 +9.2
    SNP N. McGarry 5,704 28.43 -13.17
    Tory (No Change) 1,893
    Libdem (meltdown) 425
    Turnout 38%
    SNP fail to get their voters to turn out and/or no support from defected Libdems

97. Valerie

Worth a read, from FT correspondents:-

blogs.ft.com/westminster/2013/03/what-are-gordon-browns-future-intentions/

98. manandboy

By definition, Holyrood deals only with Scottish affairs.

Therefore, is there really any point in having Unionist MSP’s voting on Scottish issues?

If English votes for English Laws (EVEL) is valid at Westminster
    then surely Scottish Votes for Scottish Laws (SVSL) is equally valid at Holyrood.
    A Unionist MSP( effectively an English vote in Holyrood) cannot mean the same as a Scottish MSP

99. schrodingers cat

by the results in 2011

brown is defending a 300 majority

bbc will spend hours highlighting that he has an unassailable majority based on the 2010 results, in an effort to convince the snp support that it isnt worth turning up to vote in kirkcaldy and cowdenbeath.

while the people on this thread are trying to help the bbc and convince wingers that the bbc are right,……..we will be down on the streets trying to convince people that the bbc are lying

and that the wingers are helping the bbc….

feel free to get off yer arses and come help us folks……

100. manandboy

Henry McLeish & Jack McConnell told us today what the Labour Party USED to stand for but were not able to tell us what the Labour Party stood for TODAY.

Whatever answers Labour might come up with, one thing is certain – Labour has NOTHING to do with telling people the truth.

LABOUR ALWAYS LIES – IT’S WHAT THEY EXCEL AT.

101. Valerie

//archive.today/r3C0A

102. TJenny

manandboy – Ooooh, I do like that logic. 😉

103. TJenny

manandboy – my comment was in reply to your post at 12.20am.

104. Morag

It’s quite common for Westminster constituencies to cut across normal county and Holyrood boundaries. That’s what constituency associations are for. We have to turn our backs on the rest of the Borders and get up close and personal with bits of Lanarkshire and Dumfriesshire.

The structures are all in place and hopefully the new members will want to be active and contribute to the campaign. We all need to give it our best shot but then again judicious targeting is important.

105. Chic McGregor

My granny used to have an expression “It’s a brown do.” which meant, roughly, “A sad affair.”.

106. Tackety Beets

@ Man & Boy 12.20 am

Yip , good point .
    I always felt Labour lead by Joke McConnel etc were merely a nodding pupet in Holyrood for their masters @ WM . I cannot think of any time when they challenged or even commentated against WM .
    Sadly a policy to implement your logic may seam impossible at this time .

Rest assured we will keep that thought in mind .

GE 2015 59 takes priority for next wee while .

107. john king

Capella says
    “My guess is that Gordon Brown won’t stand. He won’t be able to tolerate the ignominy of defeat. It will be a shoo in for his opponent.”

I beleive I heard (cant remember when or from whom) that Brown was to stand down at the next election.

Handclapping @ 11.33

I suspect Broon has swallowed too much of his own propaganda and believes himself too big a beast to sit on the back benches to disappear back into oblivion, he’ll almost certainly resign his seat and move on to more lucrative pastures and higher profile somewhere, He’ll probably offer to go and save the IMF!

108. chalks

I heard brown was standing, he has maybe got his ermine rags setup now though.

109. dougiekdy

@handclapping
    @john king
    Wish he was standing, would love to see his miserable pus on election night a la Portillo 1997 when he got humped:-)

110. john king

mogabee says
    “Was going to ask if you had been on holiday in Guernsey but see John King has beaten me to it.”

I actually lived there for 8 months,
    I want to go back but part of me says no,
    it’ll not measure up to the memories I think,
    I loved it there. 🙂

111. manandboy

I would wager a couple of quid on Gordon Brown NOT getting a seat in the Lords. I mean, why would their noble Lords put themselves through years of broonspeakcrap.

112. chalks

@Manandboy

Not a chance! They gave Helen Liddell a blood jacket, Brown is getting one, maybe at the same time as his good chum Tony.

113. AuldA

@John King:
    thanks!

114. caz-m

The media wing of Scottish Labour will be having a phone-in at 8.50am.

BBC Scotland GMS will be taking calls this morning about the crisis facing their political leader, Johanne Lamont.

115. farrochie

Regarding Gordon Brown in the Lords, I think that a few months back Private Eye mentioned a convention that Blair, as the previous PM, would have to be offered & accept a peerage before Brown. Blair is in effect blocking Brown.

Sorry I don’t have that PEye now. Can anyone confirm?.

116. Sinky

Regards Margaret Curran (from her large villa in Newlands) and others pleas for Labour to move to the left in Scotland to outflank the SNP, this site and Yes supporting letter writers / bloggers should keep reminding voters of Labour’s right wing Tory style policies in England which gives a lie the the “pooling and sharing” ideals as a drift to the left wont win votes in Middle England where it really matters to the British Labour Party.

117. Now's the Hour

O/T Seems like Auntie’s a wee bit annoyed at the Chinese: https://uk.tv.yahoo.com/bbc-anger-after-china-blocks-its-website-–-daily-tv-round-up-113243099.html

I love the bit “The BBC provides impartial, trusted news to millions of people around the world, and attempts to censor our news services show just how important it is to get our accurate information to them.” My arse.

Maybe our friends in Beijing could give us a hint about how to jam the Biased Bullsh*t Corporation in our own fair land!?

118. Luigi

Apparently, the Scottish Labour are considering a new name. I will be sending in my suggestion:

The Anti-SNP Red Tory Party

119. Craig P

I would have thought that Broon (and Darling) were up for peerages from a grateful establishment, for saving the union if nothing else. Never mind being PM or Chancellor.

120. Flower of Scotland

O/t

Labour getting a hammering on Morning Call.

121. Bugger (the Panda)

Phishing Warning

I just received an e-mail to my blogging e-mail address, asking me by name to help someone, a fellow yesser, whom I do not know who is stranded at Antwerp having lost his passport and wallet.

I have come across this scam before when someone, whom I know, was supposedly stranded in Wales under similar circumstances. I called him and he was at home.

Do not respond.

122. galamcennalath

Sinky says:
    “Margaret Curran (from her large villa in Newlands) and others pleas for Labour to move to the left in Scotland to outflank the SNP”

My first reaction was to think that couldn’t possiblly happen because their London Labour overlords would veto any moves away from the right of centre party line.

Then reality struck. SLab will continue their tried and proven strategy …. They will lie to Scottish voters! They will claim to be on the left, they will say they have left policies … And if the mugs vote for them, they will just ignore what they’ve said and promised. That seems to be their approach to everything to do with Scotland now.

SLab will promise Scotland the Moon and deliver some mouldy cheese.

123. bunter

Dipped into call Kayeeee for first time in many months due to the subject matter, and the amount of hate and loathing for SLab from the callers was palpable.

124. bjsalba

This is an old piece but still relevant:

More importantly this item:
    http://www.taxjustice.net/2014/10/16/quote-day-city-london/

And who were the regulators answerable to? Who was Chancellor? No prizes for guessing!

And what has the current Chancellor done to keep these folks in line. No prizes for guessing!

Red Tories or Blue Tories they are all the same.

125. galamcennalath

Bugger (the Panda) says:
    “Phishing Warning”

I seem to get targeted by a lot of that sort of stuff. I find it quite entertaining – the combination of inventiveness on the part of the perpetrator and implied gullibility on the part of the target.

But, just thinking about it in the context of typical Wings discussions. You might ask, what sort of fool falls for these scams … Then you think … People still vote for SLab and people still believed in highly dubious and improbable promises. Gullibility is apparently common!

126. Macnakamura

farrochie says:
    20 October, 2014 at 8:57 am
    Regarding Gordon Brown in the Lords, I think that a few months back Private Eye mentioned a convention that Blair, as the previous PM, would have to be offered & accept a peerage before Brown. Blair is in effect blocking Brown.

Sorry I don’t have that PEye now. Can anyone confirm?.
    :::::::::::
    Aye.

127. Free Scotland

I’ve always thought Gogsy Broon was a knit-wit.

128. donald anderson

Knit wit, with no wit. In other words a louse.

129. caz-m

What have the Labour Party EVER done for Scotland?

There has been NO major housing or roads projects in Scotland since the 1950s/60s/70s.

Then Thatcher came onto the scene and the Labour Party have been drifting to the Right ever since.

Even the mighty Donald Dewar was nothing more than a mouthpiece for London Labour. I think it was McConnell who actually sent some of our budget back to Westminster just to show how responsible and obedient he was to his London masters. (And pay for his Knighthood)

No wonder the SNP, Greens and SSP are going to be the majority of MSPs in the 2016 Scottish Elections.

Labour, Conservatives and Lib/Dems will pay a heavy price in 2015 GE, for their “Betrayal” of the Scottish people.

130. Free Scotland

@Luigi at 9:41

Instead of “Red Tory Party,” how about “The Red-faced Party?”

131. Doug McG

re SLAB , they will just have to make a series of vows to us, sorted. Just heard Jenny Marra on Radio Scotland , wow, the mouth of the Tay.

132. Barontorc

Well surprise, surprise, labour is in real trouble, it’s in terminal decline, has lost the plot and its voter base, is handcuffed to a failed political system, never to be able to get out of it, is leader-less and worse, it has hopeless leaders – so what happens, good old auntie BBC jockland gets engaged and it’s ‘let’s talk about Derek’ time.

In a really balanced public broadcaster world it would probably be the case that the phenomenal growth of the SNP, by over 200% and with a membership that makes it now the third largest political party in the whole UK and is acclaimed for replacing a moribund Labour in ideas, attitude and social care, it should be more than noteworthy, but… not here, oh no! Here, we have hand-wringing and much angst amongst BBC-ists desperately looking for a suitable platform to encourage the resurrection of ‘their party’.

But not to worry, they can do what they like, and as they like, the money to do it keeps flooding in from each of us, the shackled Scots who are forced by a crazy law to fund it while the BBC puppy dog Trust couldn’t give a proverbial sh** about what’s going on.

No wonder the Chinese didn’t want to debase their nationals’ savvy with more crap from such a propaganda machine.

It would be really cool to see the Scottish Government put a prohibition notice on the BBC broadcasting licence, where offence is caused and action thereby taken.

133. Stoker

Now’s the Hour says:
    20 October, 2014 at 9:29 am
    Seems like Auntie’s a wee bit annoyed at the Chinese: https://uk.tv.yahoo.com/bbc-anger-after-china-blocks-its-website-–-daily-tv-round-up-113243099.html
    I love the bit “The BBC provides impartial, trusted news to millions of people around the world, and attempts to censor our news services show just how important it is to get our accurate information to them.” My arse.
    Maybe our friends in Beijing could give us a hint about how to jam the Biased Bullsh*t Corporation in our own fair land!?

That is music to my ears – well done China.
    The BBC likes to promote itself as a “trustworthy” organisation.
    But we all know differently, don’t we, here’s another example:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KVPjixSgqdk&spfreload=1

134. Bugger (the Panda)

@
    galamcennalath

As I said the first time was “from” someone I really knew and the e-mail address was ostensibly correct. There was even a little bit of chat which would suggest that whoever sent it had hacked his e-mails and read mine to him; quite sophisticated.

The second time was a friend who received the same sort of scam, with details about the lady’s family.

This time it was so obviously a fake.

I got a cracker from someone using a Pitcairn Island domain address, (7 sq miles in the Pacific Ocean and population under 100) who offered me an oil well! That was funny.

But remember there are people who are not internet savvy and an e-mail with what looks like real information might convince them to click on a link and……

135. caz-m

Jenny Marra said this morning that Scottish Labour need to listen more to what the people are saying. Then started on another rant about the SNP. Same old boring tactics. The presenter had to remind her that this was not about the SNP.

She and her Party are in complete self denial. They just don’t want to hear the sound of the walls that are crashing round about them.

136. desimond

@caz-m

it mus be really hard to hear someone ask “What do you stand for?” when all you know is what you stand against.

We could start a sweepstake not on which policy from the SNP that labour have decried since existance will labour duly adopt and cite as their own idea. My money is on the latest Land and Buildings Transaction Tax (LBTT).

I can hear Megs Curran saying “Well, I talked to constituents in Easterhouse about the stock market and how they can save money on buying a damp ridden room and kitchen for less than 250k and decided we had to do something, I cant have them moving to newlands for heavens sake!”

137. Helena Brown

Emmm! I am Maw Broon, used to be one of my posting names. So I take great umbrage at MR Gordon (No relation) Brown using my title.
    A really good cartoon, hope the auld b*gger likes it. He is so up his own backside I doubt he would see the funny side, but come on Gordon we suspect you read everything that refers to you so you will not be reading anything good about yourself much these days.

138. Valerie

That’s why they dived into this mess, they are obsessed with hating the SNP since at least 2007. They can’t formulate policies or listen because they are filled with bile.

Their bile is leading them to consort with similar such as BNP and OO. They have cognitive dissonance.

139. jackie g

The BBC are at it again:

Once the referendum dust settles…
    On 19 September, hundreds of thousands of Scots woke up disappointed after the country voted to reject independence.

In the days before Scotland voted, political activity rocketed. In streets in the major cities, “Yes” and “No” campaigners gathered to rally their supporters and get their message across.
    How did it feel to be on the losing side? And where do they go from here?

not kidding this is a topic for discussion on bbc scotland morning phone in today.

I can hear them now..you lost get over it,also saw a letter in the metro this morning which said, glad social media has gone back to normal ie discussing music, fashion etc and not political propaganda.

140. Valerie

It’s not just the been jagging us with sharp sticks. I had a set to with a No voter on a fracking page, because SHE took umbrage at my avatars. She said, you you have to accept and move on to bigger things!!!! I let her have both barrels.

141. Macnakamura

Labour Party has been listening but not to the Scottish voters.
    It chose to listen to middle England and it will do so again especially now that UKIP is leeching votes from it.

Curran and company either did not listen or chose not to heed their natural constituency before and during Referendum ……….. it is too late to start now !

142. bookie from hell

barrosso has said completely opposite of what he said when in power–Scotland

daily politics

143. Tackety Beets

@ Valerie
    Sadly ” Both Barrels ” is no enough in many cases .
    Loosin the Ref is one thing but this Frackin is another , I would have thought EVERY one should be looking to stop it .
    I never saw the posts . I assume we now have more blinkered people in our midst .

Are we (45% YES) the only motivated people ? If so heaven help us .

144. bookie from hell

guy daily politics

saying he would hate negative campaigning ads coming over to Britain,general election

obviously never watched Scottish referendum

145. johnsmithmaybe

‘le tricheur’ serais plus apte !

146. Valerie

@Tackety Beets it was on a Facebook page which is anti fracking, so we should all be facing the same way, but this crabby old cow chose to make a thread political and have a go at me fir my avatars – a unicorn, and a Salford, so it’s clear I’m a Yessr. But I accept that no folk will want to fight fracking, so I’m not looking for politics on the page.

My point is some folk have to keep harping on, even when they got their result. I told her to get her finger out her ass, and get her No pals to tackle Westminster, where this shit is coming from, as we wouldn’t be discussing it if we were independent.

I was raging, as I had made no political statements. The No folk are keeping the ref result going by ramming it down our throat on any pretext

147. Valerie

Bloody text! Saltire!!!

148. donald anderson

Labour Old Firm United.

Graeme Morrice, Labour MP for Livingston, was guest speaker at the Bathgate Boyne Celebrations of East of Scotland Orangemen. He issued a clarion call to preserve the Union.

http://www.britishtogether.co.uk/news2.php?action=viewArticle&articleId=43

149. Fred

Anent “Sterrheid Mags” domicile in Newlands, this is the wummin who lied to the people of Shettleston claiming that she was the only candidate born in the constituency. Somebody checked up and discovered that she wasn’t even born this side of the Clyde. The wummin’s a barefaced liar who abandoned Holyrood for the Westminster gravy train to pay for the villa and now the buffers are in sight.

150. donald anderson

Yohann Lamont and four other Labour MSP numpties had the temerity to turn up at the anti austerity rally on Saturday and left amid boos and loud barracking. They can’t even show their face on the streets.

151. Stoker

Inspired by the song Blue Moon.

BLUE BROON

We saw you standing alone,
    without a dream of your own.
    We knew just what you were there for,
    the people you don’t really care for.

We heard you saying your vow sir,
    but where has that gone now sir.
    And all in pursuit of a chair sir,
    you treated the people unfair sir.

Inside your mansion in Fife,
    sits a child alongside your wife.
    Free from the trouble and strife,
    created by you in this here life.

People come and people go,
    some vote Yes and some vote No.
    You Blue Broon are the lowest of the low,
    its time for you to pack up and go.

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, I’ll JUST GRAB MY COAT.

152. Tackety Beets

Cheers Valerie , I’ll have a wee gander on FB

Salford / Saltire , made me giggle . Pred text is great but nae a lot o ees wi oor lingo !

153. manandboy

Well, you learn something new every day.

We recently stopped the DD for the TV Licence.
    So far so good.
    Then we got a letter in from TV Licensing
    and from that we discovered that even with a monthly DD,
    the Licence still had 6 months to run.
    Clearly paid 6 months in advance – still can’t figure it out.

Anyway, faced with a choice of getting a 6 month refund
    or keeping the Licence (and supporting the BBC)
    the wife opted to keep the Licence “and anyway I like True Entertainment channel” she said. She’s a fan of The Waltons and Little House on the Prairie.

The next 24 hrs was spent thinking will I or won’t I get a divorce! Well I’ve come through that now, but it provided me with several insights, one of which is about the hold that TV clearly has on some people’s lives. A fact fully recognised by the No Campaign during Indy. Traditional canvassing doesn’t appear to cut it any more, but there’s a serious division of opinion on that one.
    I don’t think John McTernan is worried in the slightest.

154. K1

Stoker

:::::applause::::: 🙂

155. SquareHaggis

@donald anderson,

Completely missed that OO site.

Interesting statement here:

http://www.britishtogether.co.uk/news2.php?action=viewArticle&articleId=36

I believe BT had distanced themselves from this group?

156. donald anderson

SquareHaggis says: I believe BT had distanced themselves from this group?

Aye right. He’s not the only Catholic Labour MP in cahoots with the LOL against Scotland. Michael MaMaho9n has said much the same thing about the LOL. Nor is he the only neither.

157. Dave McEwan Hill

manandboy at 2.20

I feel with you. All I have managed to achieve in this matter is that my wife now pays the TV licence

158. Dave McEwan Hill

Just as a matter of interest I heard that five members of a family who have lived in England for decades applied for and got postal voting forms for the family address in Dunoon. Can’t prove this. Has anybody else heard anything similar?

159. bugsbunny

They were several English Families who had only arrived a few months ago who we’re turning up at my local polling station to vote, all with NO badges. I thought you had to be resident a lot longer than that to be able to vote locally? I moved from one part of my little town 18 months and I still had to go the local Primary School to vote as opposed to the community centre which was nearer. And a neighbour who arrived from Patna could not vote in Dalmellington over a year after moving. They were still registered in Patna. So how the f@@k does someone from London and Newcastle respectively have a vote on Scottish Independence when they were only resident since May?

Stephen.

160. bugsbunny

There not they.

Stephen

161. Morag

Just as a matter of interest I heard that five members of a family who have lived in England for decades applied for and got postal voting forms for the family address in Dunoon. Can’t prove this. Has anybody else heard anything similar?

Yes. This undoubtedly happened.

The point is, though, that this wasn’t something systematically organised by the British State, it was something people did on their own initiative. It’s virtually certain that a proportion of people who did it were Yes voters. This isn’t how the referendum was, or could have been, rigged.

Another point is that while five is easily possible, and fifty not impossible (in a council ward, say), 400,000 is impossible without someone noticing. Both sides have access to the electoral register and are in a position to spot huge numbers of fictitious voters appearing.

And finally, the analysis of the actual postal vote numbers shows that postal vote tampering did not happen, on a scale that would have altered the result of the referendum.

162. Morag

Bugsbunny, the deadline to register to vote in the referendum after moving house to an address in Scotland was something like 6th September.

When you move house, it’s up to you to notify the electoral registration office and get your vote move to the new address if you want it done pronto. I moved very shortly before the 2007 Holyrood election (in fact my flitting arrived only two days before the vote although I’d been sort of camping out intermittently in the mostly-empty house for a week or two before that). I was moving away from Jack McConnell’s constituency, where he was a sure thing, into a constituency where the SNP were genuine challengers (in fact they took the seat in 2011). For that reason I made haste to move my vote so that I could vote in the constituency where I might make a difference.

Not only that, I asked my mother if she wanted me to deal with her vote at the same time, even though the logistics of the move meant that she wasn’t moving in permanently until the beginning of June. When she heard about the SNP’s relative chances in the two constituencies, she asked me to change her details before the vote too. So I picked up her postal vote envelope from behind the door in the more-or-less-empty Borders house and took it back to Lanarkshire for her to fill in.

I also received polling cards for the three former occupants of the house, although they had moved out at the end of March – two to Edinburgh and one to England. They hadn’t bothered to expedite their change of registration.

Of course it will catch up with you in the end, but in fact you can pretty much move your vote before you move yourself, so long as you have possession of the house.

163. Morag

I should perhaps make it clear that my mother and I did actually own the house when I moved our votes. We got the keys on 30th March, and it was simply the logistics of the move that dictated my flitting (from storage in England) didn’t arrive till 1st May and hers (from Lanarkshire, where I’d been staying with her for the previous seven months) didn’t get there till 5th June. The election was on 3rd May.

164. dougiekdy

Broon’s replacement at the next GE, allegedly…

https://twitter.com/fifelabour/status/503544521041641472

165. Grouse Beater

Donald: Yohann Lamont and four other Labour MSP numpties had the temerity to turn up at the anti austerity rally on Saturday and left amid boos and loud barracking.

My emphasis – didn’t see a single mention of that humiliation anywhere in the MSM.

Getting booed off the street is a significant development.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.