Johann Lamont’s faulty hearing aid

Posted on April 11, 2012 by

We were going to write about something else today, but we have a touch of the flu and we're not quite up to a hefty post. As we bravely ploughed through some research, though, we stumbled across another example of something we've noted before on this blog – Labour's curious (some might say outright untruthful) habit of presenting the SNP's position on things as the precise opposite of what they actually are. The latest accidental misunderstanding came from Johann Lamont's speech to the Scottish Labour conference last month. Here's what Johann claims the SNP say:

"The SNP want to sell a skewed vision of where Scotland is at. They want you to believe that Scotland is somehow oppressed."

Here, on the other hand, is what the SNP actually say, from two months earlier:

"Scotland is not oppressed and we have no need to be liberated."

How odd. In the interests of fair and honest political discourse, should we all perhaps club together and offer to buy the leader of Scotland's opposition some new batteries? We'll throw in 50p to get things started. Pledge the amount of your support in the comments below and let's see if we can make the world a better place.

RUNNING TOTAL: £0.50

8 to “Johann Lamont’s faulty hearing aid”

1. Andrew Haddow says:

Ach, she's doing such a fine job as it is, so £0.00.

2. Ross says:

Nil from me – she'll not even have to pay for the prescription.

3. Gary Hunter says:

Read this first at Paris CDG airport. 10 euros/hour. Can I get my money back? Apart from that, a great site. Keep up the good work.

4. Jim Campbell says:

I would love to infect all labour politicians with some type of
    Pinnochio virus.  It would be fun to watch FMQs and see who's nose
    grew the most.

5. BillDunblane says:

I'll through in ma twa bob's worth.   Or mibey no'…

6. Peninsual says:

Oh dear.

I give her 18  moths

7. TYRAN says:

I'd give her 14 moths and 2 beetles

8. Shodan says:

I'm tempted to stump up the fifty pence but she's too good for the independence movement as she is, so she can settle for a hairy boiled sweetie I found in some jeans out the washing machine. Give her something to keep her busy when she's not appearing on TV or not reading about what the SNP actually say or do.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,968 Posts, 1,249,055 Comments

• Aidan on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “@CC the Carrera 4 was a 996, and the Turbo was a 997, they were always fun but I enjoyed…Aug 20, 21:21
    • Andy Wiltshire on Before Action: “That, hopefully, will be something they can’t just dismiss with a one-fingered salute.Aug 20, 21:10
    • James Carr on Before Action: “I’d just like to express my admiration for your tenacity in sticking it to the Police Scotland sleekit, cowardly, probably…Aug 20, 21:10
    • Andrea on Before Action: “I am ready to donate.Aug 20, 21:10
    • Dickie on Before Action: ““…you may wish to seek legal advice.” ???Aug 20, 21:04
    • Mark Beggan on Before Action: “What is a likely outcome of this? I understand these things move in legal steps. Will they just double down…Aug 20, 21:02
    • lollysmum on Before Action: “Excellent Stuart count me in for the fundraiser. Its about time we had another one of your famous fundraisers seeing…Aug 20, 20:59
    • Captain Caveman on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “Awesome Aidan, kindred spirit. What gen were the Turbo and Carrera 4? Great cars both, the turbo has unhinged performance…Aug 20, 20:59
    • Knuckle_Heid on Before Action: “Excellent work Rev and I’m sure we are all waiting with bated breath for what the Police come back with.…Aug 20, 20:58
    • Al Ba on Before Action: “Hope to see full accountability achieved, and honest justice delivered. How much is left (or has been spent) from the…Aug 20, 20:56
    • Hatey McHateface on Before Action: “Superb! Let battle commence.Aug 20, 20:50
    • 100%Yes on Before Action: “At what point is one of these going to fold and say he/she isn’t worth saving? Thank you for continuing…Aug 20, 20:50
    • Carol Neill on Before Action: “Jack Russell wi a bone , hats offAug 20, 20:49
    • Hatey McHateface on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “To be fair, the practitioners of the “born in the wrong body” trannytrope have re-discovered the human soul for the…Aug 20, 20:46
    • Calum on Before Action: “Good luck Stuart, these bastards are it.Aug 20, 20:42
    • Jimboagain on Before Action: “16 is the clincherAug 20, 20:41
    • Hatey McHateface on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “Too easy, Wally. Try this one. Self-identifying adult, graduate of compulsory, free primary and secondary schooling, reputed to be the…Aug 20, 20:39
    • Hatey McHateface on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “Doesn’t sound very definitive. Can you confirm if the grifting request for yet another crowd founder has gone out yet?Aug 20, 20:28
    • Hatey McHateface on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: ““Oracle” “unwary” That’s enough from yer maw, Wee Wally W*nkie. Kick her oot yer bedroom, get back in an sneck…Aug 20, 20:23
    • Marie on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “Oh Mark!! Nathan is part of the Master Race – unlike you. You are such a “stupid” goy Mark.Aug 20, 20:21
    • Hatey McHateface on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “You’re gonna be pissed aff, CC. Post Indy, every Scot will have one. Courtesy of that £150 billion per year.Aug 20, 20:14
    • Aidan on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “Still a great piece of kit, I’ve never had either the GT2 or the GT3 but I’ve had a Turbo…Aug 20, 20:12
    • Captain Caveman on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “Heh! Thanks Aidan 🙂 Sadly it’s only a 992.1 GT3 touring with ceramics and buckets, not a full bore “Widowmaker”…Aug 20, 19:44
    • Mark Beggan on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “” The entirety of wokeness is fundamentally a parody of Catholicism. A secular religion building itself out of the modern…Aug 20, 19:40
    • Mark Beggan on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: ““Pool” being the operative word here. A toxic pool of very low IQ people.Aug 20, 19:23
    • Aidan on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “I reckon you want to be out in that GT2 CC before the weather comes in. I’ll update the prime…Aug 20, 19:21
    • Mark Beggan on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “A university builds a reputation of excellence over hundreds of years and it gets dragged into the gutter by a…Aug 20, 19:02
    • agentx on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: ““What Happened in Court Today During the hearing at Edinburgh’s Court of Session, lawyers representing the UK Government argued that…Aug 20, 18:40
    • Captain Caveman on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: ““Gman” God, you people are pathetic. BOO!!!!!!Aug 20, 18:33
    • James on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “Oh, methinks the Gman stooge doth protest too much….. and so quickly!Aug 20, 18:21