Kettle, meet pot

Posted on February 11, 2012 by

It’s almost like they don’t even know they’re doing it, the poor loves.

“The First Minister was selective in his definition of a ‘gauleiter’ in the Holyrood chamber on Thursday.”

That’s Ruth Davidson, quoted disapproving of the FM’s shady behaviour in a Scottish Conservatives press release today. And it’s a strong point – there’s nothing worse than using definitions selectively to support your own case, right? But wait, what’s this?

“Alex Salmond described it as the kind of decision made by a tin-pot dictatorship populated by ‘gauleiters’ – which, according to the Chambers dictionary is a Nazi official.”

That’s the very same press release, just a few lines earlier. And unless we’re very much mistaken, what it’s doing is… you guessed it, readers. It’s selectively quoting from the dictionary definition of a “gauleiter”. Oops! Our wife’s going to kill us, etc.

But in fact, it’s rather worse than just selective – as the Collins definition quite clearly notes, “Gauleiter” in a Nazi context must have a capital “G”, because all German nouns are capitalised. If you write the word all in lower-case (as the Tory press release attributes to the FM) you’re explicitly citing the non-Nazi definition, which means that according to the Tories themselves, Salmond’s usage is correct and theirs is wrong.

And the Chambers definition they refer to makes things worse still – it explicitly refers to the Nazi definition as “historical”, meaning the current usage of the word is indeed to describe a petty bureaucrat. It also states that the former definition is only applicable to the period “under the Nazi regime”, which as far as we’re aware ended in 1945. (Germany has no Gauleiters nowadays.) In other words, unless you’re directly referring to specific events that took place in Germany under Adolf Hitler, the ONLY legitimate current definition of the word “gauleiter” is the one the First Minister used.

We’re sure the Scottish Conservatives would be embarrassed at this shocking display of both rank hypocrisy and basic grammatical ignorance, except that looking at what they’re doing to the unemployed, the disabled, and the sick at the moment, we’re forced to conclude that the Tories have no shame at all.

Subscribe
Notify of

8 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Scottish republic

It's pathetic that's the best they've got is this against our natonal movement.  But that is all they've got because they are sitting on 300 years of corrupt empire building which has been reduced to zilch.
We on the other hand wish to accomplish something for our country and countryfolk

Bugger (the Panda)

Ruth Davidson appears to be an idiot.

That is a selective quotation from me.

Shodan

Ruth also "forgets" about all the comparisons to dictators that have been made to Alex, as she fails to complain or bring this up at any time. When SNP members are outright insulted or threatened they are told it should be shrugged off by her and her kind. She also fails to notice that the very same term has been used in parliament many times, by her own party no less. If it is okay for MPs, Lords and the media to use it and she doesn't complain about it then she's only making herself look pathetic and hypocritical, but then this is Ruth Davidson and she is rather dim and a very bad politician.

Would we expect any better from someone who used valuable FMQ time to call someone fat instead of doing anything worth while or to justify her pay? This is how far the unionists have sunk. Truly pathetic bunch.

Diane

Every day is a school day right enough.
By the way, how does one pronounce it?

Shodan

Big news for Scotland today. Apparently Whitney Housten has died. A tragic blow for the independence movement, I'm sure you will agree:

link to newsnetscotland.com

The SNP and Scotland will never recover from this. Thank goodness for quality journalism at NNS raising the bar and letting us know about all these Scottish events.

Shodan

@ Diane

GOW-LIGHTER, from what I can tell.

[…] Kettle, meet pot – Wings Over Scotland’s take on Salmonds use of the word […]

Stats: 6,697 Posts, 1,210,437 Comments

• Mia on Saying sooths: “In case anybody is interested in reading Mr Martin’s article, it can be found by following the link below: https://www.bsg.ox.ac.uk/sites/default/files/2021-04/Scotland_Referendum_final.pdfJan 28, 22:39
    • Mia on Saying sooths: “Well, I got a positive vote. That means at least one person invested their precious time in reading it. That…Jan 28, 22:38
    • Xaracen on Saying sooths: “Why would an upside to the Scottish half of the Union be a downside to the UK government, Aidan? And…Jan 28, 22:32
    • Mia on Saying sooths: ““Nicola Sturgeon: vote for SNP is not vote for second independence referendum” And here is my question: What right did…Jan 28, 22:29
    • Hatey McHateface on Saying sooths: ““The Picts were maistly written oot o oor history for some reason” It’s hardly a mystery, Alf. The Declaration of…Jan 28, 22:25
    • Mia on Saying sooths: ““are likely to appeal to 20/25% of the Scottish electorate” Labour has the majority of Scotland’s MPs after getting support…Jan 28, 22:23
    • Hatey McHateface on Saying sooths: ““Politics is what has been used to force Scotland out of the EU despite the people of Scotland categorically voting…Jan 28, 22:16
    • Mia on Saying sooths: ““it’s not lawful and won’t be recognised” “lawful” according to whose laws? Those of the entity that has been for…Jan 28, 22:13
    • Xaracen on Saying sooths: “Wales and N. Ireland do have their say as they are both territories of the Kingdom of England as you…Jan 28, 22:12
    • Hatey McHateface on Saying sooths: ““Politics as a route of independence is dead” Oh well then, we’re doomed. Unless … Can we post stuff online…Jan 28, 21:58
    • ross on Saying sooths: “Stewart M16donald got cosy. Scottish independence should be a threat to the UK, no ifs no buts. Got cosy.Jan 28, 21:55
    • James Macnicoll on Saying sooths: “They have done absolutely nothing for independence since Salmond left,in fact Sturgeon and now Swinney are actively discouraging people from…Jan 28, 21:50
    • moixx on Saying sooths: “There might be a lot of people who’d vote for your ‘interim alternative’. At the very least, it’d be interesting…Jan 28, 21:46
    • gregor on Saying sooths: “M.I.A.: BORN FREE: “…I don’t wanna to be that fake Cause you can do it And imitators yeah stick it!..…Jan 28, 21:30
    • Alf Baird on Saying sooths: “Yes, the historical and archaeological record tells us a great deal aboot the Picts as descendants of the Neolithic people…Jan 28, 21:29
    • Insider on Saying sooths: “FFS ! Stop spamming Mia ! No-one is going to waste their time reading this verbal diarrhoea !Jan 28, 21:20
    • gregor on Saying sooths: “Mia is thriving with her independence and doesn’t require any parliamentary carrots to convince her that she doesn’t hold any…Jan 28, 21:15
    • Stevie on Saying sooths: “The SNP’s Scotland Fornever Campaign – I now hate the SNP ; I used to loathe them but now it’s…Jan 28, 21:07
    • agent X on Saying sooths: ““We ALREADY won that independence at the ballot box on the 8th May 2015” Sturgeon General election 2015 Nicola Sturgeon:…Jan 28, 21:03
    • factfinder on Saying sooths: “I’m sure you’re right. I imagine they felt the same way about the invasions from Ireland by the Scots.Jan 28, 21:03
    • jock mctavish on Saying sooths: “It’s simple, you attend their parliament, you swear the oath and you condone their parliamentary sovereignty and f##k the Scottish…Jan 28, 20:59
    • factfinder on Saying sooths: “Thanks, but if you’ve signed it, it presumably was after 1928? I asked for something earlier.Jan 28, 20:57
    • Alf Baird on Saying sooths: “Aye, its quite a phenomenon, a people celebrating their invader/oppressor. Happens elsewhere in Scotland too. Tho it seems the Picts…Jan 28, 20:54
    • jock mctavish on Saying sooths: “hear! hear!Jan 28, 20:48
    • jock mctavish on Saying sooths: “SNP’s death by a thousand cuts, all self inflicted. They truly are unelectable now. Assimilated by the union collective, incapable…Jan 28, 20:45
    • Andy Ellis on Saying sooths: “The rest of the UK wouldn’t of course: it would only grant devo-max or some other sheme for more devolution…Jan 28, 20:39
    • stonefree on Saying sooths: “SNP have been flirting with Labourand vice versa since Jan 2022 Don’t know which was the main pursuerJan 28, 20:39
    • Mia on Saying sooths: ““You have missed out option #3 Mia, stand for office yourself” And you have completely missed the whole point of…Jan 28, 20:35
    • gregor on Saying sooths: “Everything ? “Every single thing or every particular of an aggregate or total; all.” “Something extremely important: This news means…Jan 28, 20:34
    • Muscleguy on The Silent Revolution: “This is because Swinney is a paranoid android so of course he has moved to ensure his paranoid fantasies of…Jan 28, 20:32

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()