Illuminating the debate

Posted on February 04, 2013 by

23 to “Illuminating the debate”

1. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

In case anyone missed it, the context of today’s cartoon is this:

link to newsnetscotland.com

2. Ray says:

Loving the cartoons so far. I’d do some for this independence issue aswell, but the only things I can still draw are Sonic the Hedgehog, Bugs Bunny and Road Runner. I dunno why I can’t advance past them…

3. Aplinal says:

@Ray

well you could “Scottify them 😉

Beacan Bunny
    Sorcha hedgehog
    Roan Runner

Alba gu bràth

4. Boorach says:

The truth is funnier than fiction!

Keep them coming Chris they’re all bang on. 

5. velofello says:

Investment opportunity. Start making cuddly mascots of this wee lion, he’s a stoater.

6. Cameron B says:

Love the image. Chris, was your inspiration for this one Andy Capp? He was pretty cheesed off with the politics of the day.

7. Macart says:

😀

Now that’s commentary. 

8. Laura says:

I think Hamish and his wee tartan tamie would do really well as a mascot.

Keep up the good work Chris, great stuff.  

9. uilleam_beag says:

Quality cartoon, as brilliantly cutting as the previous ones.

10. ianbrotherhood says:

Need to pick brains here –
    Does anyone know of a source showing data about the Commonwealth countries which have claimed and won their independence since, say 1945? If we can show how these nations have fared in economic terms, it would be a useful tool. 

11. Fiona says:

Love the cartoon
    One of the many things not reported would undoubtedly have been the First Minister inaugural Jimmy Reid Memorial lecture link to snp.org – a very interesting read. Just as interesting was the Reid Foundation take on the content of the speech and lengthy question and answer session which followed link to reidfoundation.org . Along with the fact that Unison decided not to jump on the latest Labour bandwagon regarding payments to public sector staff taking voluntary redundancy it seems that the “left” and the unions are moving at least to the undecided camp.

12. Jeannie says:

Love it.

13. Ron says:

Need to give the ‘wee lion’ a name – how about ‘Cally’?

14. ianbrotherhood says:

Here’s a picture of ‘Roary Superscot’:

link to myspace.com

15. Macart says:

@ianbrotherhood

I know its wiki, but its a good place to start for further links.

link to en.wikipedia.org

16. Cameron B says:

@ ianbrotherhood

I am not sure how useful a comparative analysis of post-colonial success will prove to be. Working in conjunction, the World Bank and the IMF have pretty much fkd up most of the southern hemisphere. John Perkins goes in to this in much more detail, in his book Confessions of an Economic Hit Man.
    link to economichitman.com

17. ianbrotherhood says:

@Macart – cheers. As Cameron B points out, might be a waste of time, but no harm having a look-see…I’m just curious as to why none of those who’ve left ever tried to get back in.

18. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“Need to give the ‘wee lion’ a name – how about ‘Cally’?”

He’s called Hamish, as in the “hame-ish” joke, hence the “hamish” tag on all his appearances.

19. Angus McLellan says:

@Cameron B, Ian Brotherhood: The problem with comparing most CW countries now and in 1945 is that in 1945 they were so poor, underdeveloped and undergoverned that the data for 1945, and for many years afterwards, is so unreliable as to be meaningless. There’s a CIA paper about this issue which is worth a glance: link to cia.gov And it may be that things have not changed all that much today in some cases: link to sfu.ca Realistically, you’re going to end up with a list of former parts of the British Empire that goes “Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand”. All of those were effectively independent long before 1945.

20. Robert Kerr says:

@ ianbrotherhood

Lots of information from CIA.

link to cia.gov

Enjoy details about UK. 

21. Jen says:

Chris, I love the lion, he is lovely, so cute and Scottish!  

22. DanTDog says:

Gaun yersel, Chris…mair po’oer tae yer paw…!!

23. K Mackay says:

Beautiful Chris, when can we get Hamish on Tshirts?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,884 Posts, 1,236,855 Comments

• Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “Hypocritical blethers, Northy. Don’t come on here prejudiced, biased and potty mouthed 6 days of the week and then give…Mar 1, 10:17
    • GM on Two Men Unalike: “Subbed.Mar 1, 10:08
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “It’s the F16s wot done it, Geri.Mar 1, 10:06
    • Hatey McHateface on The Tactics Of Suicide: ““there is no point engaging with whatever psychotic rant you’ve decided to treat us all to” Ah, c’moan noo, Aidan.…Mar 1, 10:00
    • Northcode on Two Men Unalike: “Guid mornyng aw ye wha wander this place. May ye aw hae a guid Sabbath Sunday day the day. And…Mar 1, 09:53
    • Geri on Two Men Unalike: “You really are unhinged to come out with something as pathetic & slanderous as that statement. Seek help, ya pathetic…Mar 1, 09:52
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “Ach, Andy. This time next year there will likely be a puckle of IRGC fanatics living in Houses of Multiple…Mar 1, 09:24
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “I hear they’re working on fusing the bunker busters with AI. They intelligently blow all routes into the bunkers but…Mar 1, 09:14
    • Hatey McHateface on The Tactics Of Suicide: “4. I demand to be taken seriously. I self identify as a thousand year old, space travelling, fictitious language posting,…Mar 1, 09:02
    • Andy Ellis on Two Men Unalike: “Indeed: I’m sure there are lots of nervous Jockistinians and their ideological allies elsewhere who are intensely nervous right about…Mar 1, 09:02
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “I’ve got a gross of black armbands I’m willing to donate to the usual suspects as an act of Christian…Mar 1, 08:55
    • Andy Ellis on The Tactics Of Suicide: “@Geri It’s hardly exceptional to point out that you personally are just not that bright, as well as being an…Mar 1, 08:40
    • Aidan on The Tactics Of Suicide: “@Geri – there is no point engaging with whatever psychotic rant you’ve decided to treat us all to. I and…Mar 1, 07:11
    • Aidan on Two Men Unalike: “Just a shame these principled, capable characters aren’t capable of campaigning for themselves, so need us all to go out…Mar 1, 07:02
    • sarah on Two Men Unalike: “As the Rev has been saying for many years, we need to get rid of the existing politicians. We need…Feb 28, 23:58
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Two Men Unalike: “JENNIFER BILEK | Who is Behind the TRANS AGENDA? (2023) Jennifer Bilek is an investigative journalist, a feminist and a…Feb 28, 23:42
    • Geri on The Tactics Of Suicide: “Oi Fandan That’ll be eight of yours too then trying desperately to look relevant with zero point but word salad…we…Feb 28, 20:56
    • Geri on The Tactics Of Suicide: “*scans Franchise fannies mutterings for any deep & meaningful insight, rebuttal or even a quality counter argument* FAIL! FAIL! FAIL!…Feb 28, 20:46
    • lorncal on Two Men Unalike: “Three strands at work here: 1. the big corporates (all male) which have invested billions in the ‘trans’ industry -…Feb 28, 20:30
    • Mark Beggan on Two Men Unalike: “Pedophile Apologists. Friends of Groomers. Corrupt to the core. Makes the SNP look like a community project with missing raffle…Feb 28, 20:22
    • Aidan on The Tactics Of Suicide: “That’s 8 posts from you Alf, all of which say basically the same thing. You might get beyond rhetoric to…Feb 28, 20:16
    • Cynicus on Two Men Unalike: “Don’t expect Parliament to do anything about this in a hurry. It too is virtually captured. Almost 12 % of…Feb 28, 20:05
    • Mark Beggan on Two Men Unalike: “They have cut off the head of the snake. The Iranian supreme leader is no longer.Feb 28, 19:55
    • Alf Baird on The Tactics Of Suicide: “For the “hard of thinking” colonialists BTL – an ye aw ken wha ye are, an so dae we -…Feb 28, 19:45
    • Sven on Two Men Unalike: “Lends a whole new meaning to the term, “Labour of love”, Mark B.Feb 28, 19:03
    • Mark Beggan on Two Men Unalike: “God help those who help themselves. Korea next? Why not. Zap the bastards.Feb 28, 18:36
    • Young Lochinvar on Two Men Unalike: “Strike Hebes, should have read camel jockeys.Feb 28, 18:32
    • Mark Beggan on Two Men Unalike: “Pride in the workplace. Does that include Rent Boys.Feb 28, 18:32
    • Young Lochinvar on Two Men Unalike: “Hi tech long range warfare unleashed yet again. God help the Americans if the Hebes and Mullahs get their hands…Feb 28, 18:28
    • Northcode on The Tactics Of Suicide: “Correct, Geri. I don’t think most folk will need as many as three guesses… one will probably be enough.Feb 28, 18:18