0 to “Honest John”

1. Karen

Well, he used to sell life insurance …

2. Shug

Given his silence on the Salmond conspiracy and endless redactions during the enquiry he is a poor quality politician and certainly nit honest john

3. Garavelli Princip

Nailed it: A spiv and a charlatan.

And so, so boring.

Such men do not lead nations to independence.

Guess that’s why he was appointed.

4. duncanio

John The Flasher
    Honest Slasher

5. Jon Drummond

I utterly despair that this useless fud has his hands on the steering wheel again.
    He is exactly what Scotland doesn’t need.
    He is about as inspiring as a bucket of sick on a roller coaster.
    His tenure in government has been weak, duplicitous and disingenuous.
    He is a liability and a consummate liar.
    The joy, however is that he will, at least, speed up the Scottish Nonce Party’s demise.
    Do your stuff, John…

6. Morgatron

Bit of the Afur Daley’s there Chris. He’s a geezer a ducker and diver. Would you buy a car from this man?

7. Rogueslr

Swinney’s day will come, luckily Halloween isn’t far off.

8. Graf Midgehunter

The bald Eagle has landed on a pile of SNP s**t.

9. Robert Hughes

‘allo John got a new …..loada shite to serve to the dumb-fucks ?

@ Gravelli P – ” Such men do not lead nations to independence.

Guess that’s why he was appointed. ” . Exactly why he was appointed .

Just as Sturgeon’s tenure was a 9 year ” holding operation ” , ie holding the Independence Movement / movement towards Independence on a leash while more obstacles were put in place & Yousaf’s was a ” how can we fuck-up Scotland ( even more ) operation ” ; the Undertaker is there to make the funeral arrangements of the SNP as the main vehicle to Independence it – formerly – was .

The High Priests/Priestesses of * Trans Cult * will administer the Last Rites .

Anyone still think all this is ” accidental ” ?

10. Robert Hughes

meant to say ….excellent work as ever , C.C

” taking a line for a walk ” with impressive economy & brilliant evocation of ” character ” 🙂

11. robertkknight

Hahahaha!!!

Love it!

Cheers Mr Cairns

12. Geri

Honest John needs to hold an election.
    Del boy has no authority to pass a budget.

Scotland slipping back into its slumber with ease of just letting shit happen. Zzzzz…

13. Mark Beggan

I could be so good for you, love you when you want me to.. or is it this time next year we’ll be millionaires.

another winner from Chris Cairns.

14. Alf Baird

Aye, he can sell anything, but above all he is selling our nation. The meagre colonial budget is the price.

Juist like maist o Scotlan’s heid bummers nouadays an ower the lest chree hunner year, thay aye mak Scots fowk ensclaved.

Colonialism is always “a co-operative venture” (Fanon) with native elites which depends on these “confidential agents pensioned off at high reward” (Cesaire).

Fortunately we are moving towards the third and final phase of decolonization:

https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2024/05/25/the-three-phases-of-decolonization-lessons-for-scotland/

15. sarah

Spot on, again, Chris.

How about getting a slot with a newspaper? Just to reach a different audience and spread the message further. So many people still think JS is a “nice man” and wouldn’t hurt a fly – whereas, sadly, he goes along with, or causes, so much damage. It is sinister and harmful. Scotland needs out of the Union and this man, with all his compliant colleagues, will do nothing.

16. Mark Beggan

Who needs revenge when there’s John Swinney. Knock yerself oot John boy.

17. TURABDIN

INDEPENDENCE….
    but not yet.
    The Swinney gradualist legacy.

«Has not the experience of two centuries shown that gradualism in theory is perpetuity in practice?»
    «Is there an instance, in the history of the world, where slaves have been educated for freedom by their task-masters?»

William Lloyd Garrison
    American anti slavery reformer.

18. Geri

Aye, gradualists are the death to everything.

Wait tae we get 60% +
    Wait tae we see Brexshit deal.
    Wait tae we officially exit.
    Wait tae we see what Bojos like.
    Wait tae we see Indy lead the polls consecutively over 10 yrs.
    Wait until after COVID.
    Wait until after the recovery of COVID.

Wait tae there’s sunshine on fcking Leith again.

Wait, wait, wait…Did we even have a plan? Awwww nawww – back to the beginning we go…

They’re just delay merchants wasting everyone’s time. Shit scared to make a move & always praying another drama turns up to save their skin & delay further..

19. twathater

Another great toon Chris but I despise having to look at the continuous ongoing assortment of tr@itors GRINDING our country to dust

Robert Hughes & Geri you both nail it ?

20. twathater

Another great toon Chris but I despise having to look at the continuous ongoing assortment of tr@itors GRINDING our country to dust

Robert Hughes & Geri you both nail it ?

21. Antoine Roquentin

The catalogue of failures now firmly associated with the SNP in the public-mind, may all be down to straightforward ineptitude, incompetence etc., but I also detect a high degree of external agency at play. Either way, the SNP can be expected to rot on the vine.

22. And Spouse

Sorry Stu, off topic.
    Can any of you historians out there tell me when the United KingdomS became United Kingdom? Might have been discussed before, my apologies if it has. We are the United Kingdoms or are we not.

23. Republicofscotland

One thing we know for sure that Teflon John has sold, and that’s Scotland – he sold it/us out, along with Sturgeon the Judas.

24. Sven

And Spouse @ 15.48

I’m no historian, however my understanding is that what had been known as “The Kingdom of Great Britain” became renamed “The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland” on 1st January 1801 after the Act of Union.
    Whilst the Kingdoms may, in fact, have been a plurality, I’m not aware if this fact was ever officially acknowledged.

25. Republicofscotland

With Teflon John (Swinney’s) party announcing deep and prolonged budget cuts – it looks like the Scottish taxpayer, could be forced to fund a monument to the now gone foreign English Queen – Elizabeth II.

Isn’t there enough infrastructure – buildings in Scotland named after this foreign monarch – with one man Andrew Robertson, taking it upon himself to rename the Southern General hospital in Glasgow – to, the Queen Elizabeth University Hospital – even though, there was a large petition against using her name.

Commenting on the national memorial plans, Swinney said:

“My thoughts, and those of the Scottish people, are with the King and the royal family as they mark the second anniversary of the death of her Majesty Queen Elizabeth.”

26. TURABDIN

A DEMONSTRATION today in «George square» Glasgow.
    One might well struggle to find any meaningful Scottish connexion.
    Union jacks, palestinian flags……yawn!
    Was Swinney there, rooting for whatever, perchance?

27. Mark Beggan

Flag waving competition underway at Geo III rectangle.

28. Cherrybank

A veteran politician maintains a country does not exist Watch a documentary on PBS channel 84 at 7.25pm and make up your own mind.

29. Shug

Honest John getting mentioned again in legal circles

Getting rid of not provan, reducing jury size, majority decision.

They might as well just remove the right of a defense.

That should get the rape prosecution up.

Nothing the snp has done makes and sense when viewed from the position of wanting indy. Funny that!!

30. Red

So Alex Salmond supported, nurtured and promoted:

John Swinney
    Nicola Sturgeon
    Humza Yousaf
    Jamie Hepburn

And others.

And in return, they?

A parcel o’ clowns.

31. Shug

So scotland has the wind farms but no turbine manufacturing, it has oil but is losing its refinery it is also losing its heat pump, it had the largest steel market in europe in the 70’s but lost its steel making capability manufacturing capability

The Scots really are the most stupid people

32. Geri

“The Scots really are the most stupid people”

Scots didn’t have a say.

33. The Flying Iron of Doom

Red says:
    7 September, 2024 at 10:52 pm

So Alex Salmond supported, nurtured and promoted:

John Swinney
    Nicola Sturgeon
    Humza Yousaf
    Jamie Hepburn

And others.

And in return, they?

A parcel o’ clowns.

Ah, the insane clown posse. Truly life imitates art 😀

34. stonefree

Republicofscotland at 5:10 pm

“My thoughts, and those of the Scottish people,”
    Those are the very words of every Unionist piss poor upstart,
    Low class gaslighting
    Why do I think he’s filling his hip ?

35. Roderick Macdonald

He’s the embodiment of thought he was smart but wasn’t really that bright. Thought he could manage but things just went awry. Thought he was an operator, but convinced nobody.

A track record with no times recorded.

A history with no memorable events.

A branch manager talking to himself on a park bench.

I would feel sorry for him, and his little plastic badge of leadership, if he was only destroying his own life.

But 4 to 5 million Scots are being betrayed by him every day he is in power, and he failing to put them first.

36. Robert Louis

The SNP, London’s little enablers. “What do you want us to do, sir Keir? Cut schools funding? Ok”. How about winter fuel payments, want us to cut that too? OK.

Since the red Tories came to power in England, they have systematically shafted their Scottish colony – just like the blue tories. Helped by the SNP.

Where is the fight? where is the resistance? Where is calling out England’s daylight THEFT of Scottish renewable energy? Scotland gets the windfarms and redundant oil rig waste, and England steals the oil and renewables. Nothing. Just a pathetic whimper.

A political strategist in England might well have advised SIR Keir, the English first Minister to expect a helluva fight over the blatant theft of Scottish renewable energy, but nothing happened. The SNP Scottish government did and do nothing.

Anybody who can remember before Alex Salmond returned to the SNP, will recall that John Swinney, the then SNP leader literally drove the SNP into electoral oblivion, by doing NOTHING. I am sure he is a jolly nice chap outside of politics, but honestly, he is no leader.

And so the centuries old plunder of Scotland’s wealth and resources by England carries on apace, hand in hand with England’s willful destruction of our culture, economy and society.

It is high time England;s government and SIR Keir its first minister were told to get the f*** out of Scotland, and Scottish affairs. They are NOT wanted, and NEVER have been.

37. Hatey McHateface

@Republicofscooby says: 7 September, 2024 at 5:10 pm

“My thoughts, and those of the Scottish people, are with the King and the royal family as they mark the second anniversary of the death of her Majesty Queen Elizabeth.”

I’m not here to defend Swinney – just to point out he has a huge advantage over you.

He knows that “Scotland” needs a capital ‘S’. Always. No exceptions, ever.

And on a point of lesser importance, Swinney also knows that if you want support for anything, Independence say, you wouldn’t start by alienating and offending a substantial number of those Scots who still support the monarchy.

38. Hatey McHateface

@TURABDIN says: 7 September, 2024 at 12:47 pm

where slaves have been educated

You must have been abroad for some time now, TURABDIN.

There may actually be some “slaves” in Scotland, but they work in jobs such as nail bars, brothels, car washes and domestic service.

There’s none of them actually Scots.

For any of us actual Scots who think we’re slaves, there’s numbers we can call. That will get the polis breaking down our doors to free us, or far more likely, a psychiatric report and a course of tranquilisers.

39. sarah

Is the Sunday Mail frontpage story of Fergus Ewing saying what the Sunday Mail and every single “journalist”, politician and establishment figure has known for years, going to make a difference?

Is this the end of the beginning or perhaps the beginning of the end for all those involved in the plot against Alex Salmond [and hence against the existence of a self-governing, Scotland?

Replies from optimists only, please.

40. sarah

Apologies for intrusive comma before Scotland and absence of bracket after.

41. Shug

Geri
    They did they voted labour as Scotland burned.
    They were lied to and lied again by Sturgeon
    They are now back to believing Labour

42. Ruby Sunday

sarah
    8 September, 2024 at 8:19 am

Replies from optimists only, please.

That’s a big ask Sarah.

I think we are very short of optimists in Scotland.

43. Geri

Sarah

Imo they can close it’s doors.

We’re not self governed. It’s an English staging post. Wrapped up tight in the Scotland Act & stuffed full of fckwits whose only job is to be a constant wasp at a picnic.

Powers were removed after Brexshit, the powers we have are of very little importance & the English are even bypassing it now to fund councils direct.

& We gave a chunk of sea away for that pile of shite.

It isn’t the same parliament it was originally intended to be.

The parliament voted for indyref & it didn’t matter.
    The Scots didn’t vote for Queer theory but we got it anyway.

It’s a joke & that’s intentional. It’s also a road block to Indy. Yoons really should live with yoon policies & all the grifters that’s in it can fck off & find another job.

44. Ruby Sunday

https://tinyurl.com/mvsduv26
    ‘Plot to jail Alex Salmond’ involved civil servants and government advisors, ex-SNP minister claims

Conservative MP David Davis has used parliamentary privilege at ­Westminster – which gives legal ­immunity – to criticise the Scottish Government’s handling of allegations against Salmond. Ewing vowed to do the same thing as soon as Holyrood gets parliamentary privilege powers promised to Scotland by Labour.

Got a feeling Stu may write an article about the above and I may be premature in commenting on the above article reference earlier by Sarah.

My reaction to most of it was ‘no shit Sherlock’ however there were a couple of things that caught my attention.

Holyrood getting parliamentary privileges. More info required.

Maureen Watt, an SNP member of the Salmond Inquiry, was appointed party president last week

Is he suggesting Maureen Watt is guilty of ‘misconduct of a serious nature’?

There seems to be a 2nd article called
    The Greatest political scandal of my life.

https://tinyurl.com/yc6ra4s5

I was wondering if these silhouettes were just random or if they were pieces of a jig-saw?

45. Astonished

sarah – Now that the ‘sunday mail’ has published this story, the pressure on those NOT involved in the plot, or the subsequent cover-up becomes enormous.

They will have to act or they will be seen as part of the cover-up. Any delay, obfuscation or inaction will mean that they are open to being regarded as part of the cover-up. Hence, I expect charges to be laid this week.

If I was involved in letting Liz Lloyd avoid facing a court, I’d be very worried indeed.

46. Ruby Sunday

Astonished

I think it’s too late for all of them even Fergus Ewing.

They’ve had six years to prove they weren’t part of the cover-up.

47. Geri

I don’t think anything will come of it because it was conceived elsewhere. To act in such a brazen & illegal fashion can only mean they have protection from the British establishment & the security services. It’s their modus operandi & has their mitts all over it. Who even was Lloyd? A plant sent in that came from nowhere in 2015. Another spoiler with no background.

48. Alf Baird

Hatey McHateface @ 8:19 am

“For any of us actual Scots who think we’re slaves, there’s numbers we can call. That will get the polis breaking down our doors to free us”

You really don’t know much about colonialism.

Enslavement of a colonized people is through the appropriation of their territory and resources and the obliteration of their culture by a colonizing power. This leaves the colonized and their nation mostly under-developed, with many/most living in or close to poverty in what is actually a very wealthy country – i.e. Scotland.

The economic price of colonialism for Scots based on a GDP-per-capita comparison with neighbouring independent states has been estimated at £150 billion+ per annum, i.e. some three times Holyrood’s budget.

There is in addition to an economic price a psychological price to pay as ‘colonialism is based on psychology’ (Cesaire), e.g. colonial mindset, cultural cringe, internalized racism, sense of inferiority etc.

There is little chance of the police liberating a colonized people and rather more the opposite, much as we see; colonialism is defined as ‘force’ in which police and prosecutors have a central role (Fanon), hence Osborne’s reference to the ‘arms of the British state’ in Scotland.

https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2024/03/19/the-real-economic-price-of-the-uk-union-for-scots/comment-page-1/

49. Geri

Shug

Re Labour. I think tactical voting was at play too. I wouldn’t vote Labour ever again but according to some commentators on here they did to get rid of the useless SNP.

If memory serves me correctly I think even Stu promoted voting Labour. Splitter! Lol…

50. Geri

‘e.g. colonial mindset, cultural cringe, internalized racism, sense of inferiority etc.’

Three guesses who suffers all of those conditions. Lol

51. Hatey McHateface

Reading the account of Ewing’s statements in the Daily Record, it’s clear that Ewing has long had all the information he needs to “publish and be damned”.

As it says though, he won’t speak up until he can publish and get away Scot free. In other words, when HR is given the same immunity under parliamentary privilege that WM has.

Of course, any SNP MP could have used his/her WM parliamentary privilege too to speak truth, still could in fact. But so far, none of them will.

Ewing’s intervention, though certainly welcome, is hardly the stuff of enduring legend. The essence of bravery is to act when danger is imminent, not to wait cravenly until the circumstances have changed and all danger is gone. And certainly not when the issue is as important as this one for Scotland – an issue that aught to transcend all petty party political tribalism.

Besides, the gift of HR parliamentary privilege is Labour’s to bestow. Sober Labour heads, anticipating forming the next HR government soon, may well decide nothing needs to change after all.

52. Hatey McHateface

Alf Baird

Much of what you write has some relevance.

Not all though.

And as for “slavery”, that’s nonsense. And deeply insulting to anybody around the world, and there are plenty, who are true slaves even today.

Deeply insulting and trivialising too to the descendants of true slaves, some of whom may be reading here.

53. Shug

McHateface

The thing is it has to come out.

The unionists know more than the rest of us about how it came about and who did what and in any future. referendum it will be used.

Indeed it is such a good card for them it gives them real power over those involved. The uk can control the SNP position on everything hence many of the decisions the SNP have made can only be understood from the position they are trying to stop independence

54. Ruby Sunday

Hi Stu

I hope you are having a good Sunday. I read about your woes with letter sizing and thought you might be interested in this.

https://tinyurl.com/59rkhxzk

Back in the day when I was selling on Ebay I needed to know all about letter sizing in advance of setting cost of posting in listing.

The post office were selling these plastic templates also issuing a paper template.

I just glued the paper template to a piece of cardboard and carefully cut out the slots. It worked fine.

All you really need is a template with slots to measure the thickness of the large letter and normal letter and you can buy these for £3-4 quid. The only extra thing you get with the £20 one is that it measures 353mm x 250mm the size of a large letter. I think it’s easy enough to measure that without a template.

If you are in any doubt about the accuracy of the £3-4 template you could just measure the slots.

Weight can be measured on kitchen scales. Although I do have a very upmarket postal scale which is useful for larger packages.

If you have a standard letter box in your front door you can also use that to check. A friend of mine gets complaints from her postie because her letter box is too small.

It’s easy enough to measure the width & length of a letter its the thickness that’s tricky hence need for these slots.

Hope that helps and thanks for your patience in censoring my every post. I hope they are not too boring.

The pre-moderation malarky is no great hardship for me but I’m wondering if you might be depriving your other readers of my ‘helpful’ comments. 🙂

55. Breeks

sarah
    8 September, 2024 at 8:19 am

Is the Sunday Mail frontpage story of Fergus Ewing saying what the Sunday Mail and every single “journalist”, politician and establishment figure has known for years, going to make a difference?

I haven’t seen it / read it, but I am deeply, deeply cynical and skeptical about any “scandal” unveiled by the Unionist media, especially where any such revelations might go some way towards exonerating Alex Salmond.

Sadly the Fergus Ewing / chocolate fireguard factor doesn’t inspire much confidence either.

56. dandydons1903

Soft John Swinney is England’s man in Scotland along with many others sadly. England will always get what England want’s from Scotland with weak insipid folk like him selling Scotland down the river.

57. James

LOLZ… Site prick John Main defending Swinney and the monarchy now. What a tosser.

58. Ruby Sunday

More on postage

https://tinyurl.com/ne5n43nz

This is the postal scale that I have

The most important feature of this scale is you can remove the front panel and stretches it out away from overhang of large parcel.

If you put a large parcel on the scale without stretching out the screen it’s impossible to see the weight, same if you use bathroom scales.

I noticed the one recommended by Amazon doesn’t have that feature so would only be useful for very small parcels.

I haven’t checked out this scales accuracy when measuring small amounts. You can choose to measure in gramms, kilos, pounds or ounces it might be fine but I just use a set of kitchen digital scales for small amounts.

If you are looking for a scale to weight large parcels this feature is important.

If I have persuaded you to write an article about the postal services it would be interesting to find out what happens when people don’t have the standard size letter box. Is the letter returned to sender?

I stopped selling on Ebay because they charge you a % of your postal costs which is just crazy. You charge a buyer £4 postage for a small parcel, you pay £4 for postage at the post office or to whichever courier you use and Ebay then charge you 40p for this.

Then there is the issue of delivery and whether there is the choice of collecting the parcel from a local click & collect shop or not.

Evri are beating the post office in that regard because the post office/royal mail only offer click & collect from local post-offices which for many are few and far between and also only open from 9-5 Mon-Fri approx.

Amazon pretty good for that too they have lockers and also offer collection from local stores.
    (Stores which are mostly open until 10 pm.) Very handy service. Also on many goods postage is free if you choose to use ‘click & collect which is always my preferred option.

Who wants to sit at home all day waiting for a parcel?

I reckon there could be quite a long article about postal services all under the heading of independence.

Temu based in China are now using Evri for delivery and that is very good. Pretty quick deliver, cheap prices and choice to have parcel delivered to local click & collect shop. Temu even promises a refund if parcel not delivered on promised date (usually about 7 days) they are currently offering free postage.

Evri are fine if you are having your parcel delivered to a local shop not so good if you choose to have the item delivered to your home address. You might sit in all day waiting for the delivery only to be informed at the end of the day that they will deliver the next day. If you choose to have it delivered to the supermarket or the petrol station or wherever your ‘click & collect’ shop is you can just wait until you get the email and then go and collect the parcel at your convenience. Temu keep careful track of Evri because they have promised customers £4 refund if the parcel doesn’t arrive before the promised date.

Of course people in rural areas will have a different experience from someone living in a town.

It would be an interesting article IMHO.

Who would have thought there would be so much to say about postal services in a Scotland that didn’t vote YES?

59. Mark Beggan

Harvie is the monkey
    Slater is the pox
    Put them both together
    In an eco friendly box.
    Tie it up with jute
    Send it out to sea
    The east wind will blow it
    Faraway from me.

60. Breeks

Scottish Prism is very good today…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O3E_zVME3mg

It usually is good, but today’s is a cut above in my opinion… very positive and thought provoking in a good way.

61. Young Lochinvar

Meantime breathy Bain will be steadying her wobbly desk with the police’s Branchform submission hoping that like independence it too will just be kicked into the long grass of time..

62. Shug

It is very telling that the BBC is still not reporting the civil service conspiracy against Salmond.

With the BBC watching what they dont report is very important.

63. David Hannah

Well said Fergus Ewing.

Sturgeon orchestrated the plot, of false allegations.

The alphabetties are in her closest circle.

Lady Dorian knows this – Scotland’s Jury Hating Judge. She reprimand woman H 4 times for trying to lead the jury stating she’d be in contempt.

Joe Farrell and Dorothy Bain are protecting Nicola.

She deserves time. In Corton Vale – doing the washing and ironing with all of the other female criminals!

Set the truth free!

64. Confused

Fergus Ewing is such a tease. I almost bought a newspaper today.

It’s frustrating, simultaneously preaching to the choir – wingers : you don’t say?!

while convincing no one undecided and providing no rebuttal to the Nikki cultists.

I thought he was going to “blow the bloody doors off”, someone has to; the “smell” in the public mind over Salmond is what is holding back Alba.

Truth is defence in law against a charge of libel, and if this did go to (civil) court, with a jury (important) then a lot of dirty linen gets aired.

65. Anton Decadent

With regard to the media whilst reading todays Guardian/Observer I saw an article on people smuggling into the UK. It used two polling companies to state that fifty percent of UK residents want these people just brought over safely. You may remember me posting a couple of weeks ago that a polling company it quoted stated that no one in the UK cared about immigration or trans so I went and looked up the company and found that one of its senior members used to be in charge of taking Stonewall into schools. I did the same today and looked up the two polling companies mentioned and found the usual mix of Jews, Muslims and people of African descent with connections to the Labour Party, Tony Blair, The Fabian Society, Nick Clegg, Facebook/META, Amazon and the Guardian/Observer itself. I was shocked, shocked I tell you.

Earlier this week the Herald had an article on Roma, look at how the riot in Leeds is described in it compared to how the later ones in other parts of England are being portrayed in the media.

https://archive.ph/8JlOD

66. Dan

@ Shug

The willful lack of interest and scrutiny the BBC displays on an array of matters shows that they are for all intents and purposes just a lame ass mouthpiece for the Establishment and maintaining the status quo. It’s effectively even stated in their constitution if anybody actually cared to read it…
    For all the bluster about them being an exemplary impartial global force for good in conveying information to the masses, they don’t half fail big time in that remit.
    I ditched my TV and license to watch their output the best part of two decades ago and I’m way more informed than if I had continued to rely on the brain numbing shite they transmit to keep me up the curve.

67. Republicofscotland

Could this particular can of worms – be about open up from the inside – lets hope so.

“In an explosive intervention, Fergus Ewing MSP claimed high-ranking ­officials conspired against the former First Minister in what he called ­Scotland’s “greatest political scandal”.”

https://archive.is/mLfuC#selection-1061.0-1061.182

68. twathater

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/13492042/snp-minister-branded-arrogant-rant-party-conference/?utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebarweb

I know it is the sun(spit) can someone Ruby/Dan archive the link please

Here we have an auld trougher since 1999 getting a generous salary sitting on her arse, speaking at the recent assembly of nonce fuckwits that she is OUTRAGED that the POOR MEMBERS of the Scottish electorate are not GRATEFUL enough at the mitigation that the FAILED indy snp introduced to counteract the policies of reviled unionist parties in wm

Roseanna just like weak pishfart and her other colleagues are obviously NOT aware that they are NOT elected to MITIGATE the reviled policies of the unionists they ARE elected to get us independence and AWAY from the reviled policies

MAYBE if Roseanna and her fellow fuckwit troughers had got us independence she may have found that the POOR MEMBERS of the electorate were vociferously happy and GRATEFUL

BUT instead of apologising to the POOR MEMBERS of the electorate and everyone else for the nonce parties FAILURE, Roseanna just like her fellow FAILURES insists that it is the voters FAULT we are not independent,so Roseanna at the nonce party fuckwits united GALA decides VOCIFEROUSLY and spittle flecked to PUNISH the POOR MEMBERS of the electorate by withdrawing ALL mitigating measures against the reviled unionist policies, BECAUSE these POOR PEOPLE aren’t GRATEFUL ENOUGH

WAFSOUB

69. Sven

Republicofscotland @ 17.57.

I doubt that either Mr Ewing, or any other interested party, is likely to speak or write “on the record” whilst it is feared that the MSM and Scots legal authorities may be thought to act with partiality in this matter, RoS.
    Such is the state to which our once independent prosecutorial and judicial services are perceived to have been brought.

70. twathater

@ Breeks 3.54pm I also watched the prism earlier breeks and as usual I was very impressed with Eva Comrie’s and Phil Boswells contribution , there was a chap called Alex Neil on as well and his ideas were excellent, I honestly think with his fantastic ideas he should put himself forward for election, TBQH if we had more people like that Alex Neil chap over the last 10 to 15 years I believe his ideas would have got traction and we may even be independent by now

BUT unfortunately we had a shower of political COWARDS who ALLOWED and sided with a narcissistic deviant pervert to sabotage the independence movement and THREATEN the safety of our womenfolk and children
    IF ONLY we had some brave champion like Alex Neil in our stable to challenge the deviant and hold her to account we may be independent

71. Republicofscotland

Sven @6.10pm.

Yes – I have to agree with you, about our COPFS – however Ewing, opening up about the underhandedness surrounding the failed prosecution of Alex Salmond – must surely be seen as some sort of step in the right direction – and, a somewhat belated vindication, to those like the Rev and Craig Murray – who wrote prior – about Alex Salmond’s unjust predicament – the latter – unjustly going to prison for it.

72. John

OT
    Well done to Glasgow yesterday at George Square. Bigotry out numbered 20 to 1.
    The Beeb report late afternoon tried as hard as possible with the two hoose jock UKers to big up any kerfuffle. Which private schools do they still find these degenerate folk ?

73. Breeks

twathater
    8 September, 2024 at 6:26 pm

… TBQH if we had more people like that Alex Neil chap over the last 10 to 15 years I believe his ideas would have got traction and we may even be independent by now

Aye, agreed.

But then again, I can’t believe Alex Neil has been keeping these ideas to himself these past ten years, and what we see isn’t the tragedy of a talent frustrated, but more proof that Independence has been deliberately derailed and sabotaged by the despicable few…

74. Hatey McHateface

Sven

You are probably right, nobody will speak or write “on the record”.

Despite the fact that what they would speak or write would be the truth.

The dreadfully sad conclusion to be drawn from this is that prominent, respected Scots are feart.

Even if they want to speak truth, and they want to see justice done, they are feart of the consequences. Truth is no shield to them. Justice is not worth the risk.

Such people can’t lead Scotland to Indy. They can’t lead anybody to anything. They need to be got rid.

75. Shug

Seems funny to me that swinney is defending nicola by saying he was against another ref.

Whats their game plan with this.

They must know the unionists will use the salmond conspiracy against them and then jail them. They are going nowhere.

76. twathater

@ Anton Decadent 5.15pm ALL the political parties and politicians go on and on about integration and multiculturism, how we are supposed to be extremely grateful that these people have chosen oor wee country to come and live in, that we should be so proud that these NEW SCOTS as they insist we call them love Scotland so much

However according to the link you supplied to the herald it appears that the organising spokesperson for the Roma festival in Glasgow Mr Janos Lang is reported to have said ” One main aim for the organisers is to work on relations between Roma communities and the mainstream of Glasgow, but Mr Lang insists it is more about ‘collaboration’ rather than ‘integration’.”

Mr Lang is rightfully proud to celebrate his Roma cultural and artistic heritage as are Sikhs, Hindus, Muslims and all other religious cultures and beliefs BUT where is this INTEGRATION that the politicians speak about when all these various groups INSIST on retaining and pushing THEIR own individual cultures above Scots culture

Is it any wonder that Reform is gaining such traction and support from working class voters in england and Scotland who feel that the indigenous natives are being ignored ,cast aside and penalised

77. robertkknight

Shug…

“Seems funny to me that swinney is defending nicola by saying he was against another ref.”

Seems funny that Swinney is saying this now. What’s the relevance? Cui bono?

Why admit publicly you were against taking a shot at the the biggest open goal for Scotland achieving Indy that we’re ever likely to see, short of England lurching to the right and descending into civil unrest?

Who is he trying to pander to? Yoons?

“Look at me! I saved the Union by preventing IndyRef2 when a combined Yes/Remain might have won, or at least secured a Single Market deal like Northern Ireland. (Which perversely might have placated NI Yoons by placing a trade border between Scotland/England, and not in the Irish Sea). Do I not please you ***insert name here*** ?”

WTF is going on with the Sham Nationalist Party?

78. Mark Beggan

Word of the week

Skintdependence!

79. Vivian O’Blivion

Robert K Knight

A EU / UK trade border along the Solway / Tweed line was always a perfectly practical and equitable solution. Northern Ireland has four designated Customs, Points Of Entry, notionally “created” to handle UK to NI goods transfer; Belfast port, Larne ferry terminal, Warrenpoint container terminal and one of the Belfast airports (clearly at least some of these locations already had Customs staff present). That’s 2.1 POE per million people. A combined Scotland / Northern Ireland entity would merit 15 Points Of Entry.
    Minus the four Scottish international airports, Grangemouth docks, and one rail, goods terminal this leaves 6 POE along the Tweed / Solway (Customs at Larne would be redundant). Who many HGV suitable crossings are there along the Tweed / Solway?

Robin McAlpine heard from two senior Civil Servants that before the first post Brexit vote meeting between Theresa May and Nicola Sturgeon, May had a document prepared with a series of compromise positions. At the outset of the meeting, tartan Imelda stamped her wee Jimmy Choo’s and squeemed “No Brexit”. The proposals went unopened.

80. Xaracen

Word of the week: fauxthority!

81. MaryB

Vivian O Blivian @ 9.18am
    There are five main roads crossing the Solway/Tweed border. The M6 (west side); A1 (east side) and three in the middle which can all take HGV, but their quiet roads.

82. Vivian O’Blivion

Lorna Slater cites Zero Wast Scotland as an essential, environmental initiative that must be protected in any dramatically reduced budget. Leaving aside the fact that Zero Waste Scotland predates the Bute House Agreement, and any SNP administration for that matter, how efficacious is that body in delivering environment improvements?

An amusing / infuriating tale (depending on your perspective). Some years ago, I applied for the position of Industrial Consultant at Zero Waste Scotland. I am after all a scientist and engineer with decades of experience of management in manufacturing industry (oh, and Zero Wast Scotland’s head office is walking distance from O’Blivion Towers).

In preparation for the interview, I read up on their website. One of the resource saving initiatives they recommended was; “Why not share a stapler in your office?”. I shit you not, saving the planet one stapler at a time.

Regardless, I prepared a presentation of the services I could render in acting as a technical consultant to industrial concerns. Variable Speed Drives, Rotor encoders, Waste heat pumps, multi ring-main compressed air systems, substitution of compressed air with blown air, etc., etc.. It was like showing magic tricks to a dog. Total incomprehension. Not a single member of the interview panel had even the remotest knowledge of science or engineering.

Zero Waste Scotland is a job creation scheme for middle class humanities graduates. To be fair, that statement covers the Scottish Government in its entirety.

83. Confused

@VIV

big mistakes there, massive red flags all round

you should have come in hard early doors, telling them your PRONOUNS

then you should have warbled on for a hour about … your commitment to ANTI RACISM … or whatever the “current thing” is

at the end you close with a “save the planet … and all that shite”

all that science/maths/engineering, that’s what they call “positivist discourse” and essentially brands you as a white supremacist and oppressor of wimmin and minorities

84. Ian Brotherhood

@Vivian O’Blivion (10.36) –

Thanks for that. Very interesting.

Reminds me of the grand stushie surrounding Alasdair Gray’s 2012 ‘Settlers and Colonists’ essay.

For some reason it’s very difficult to locate the original essay although Scott Hames at Stirling Uni has done a lot of meticulous research of archive material, both msm and online.

That ‘debate’ has never been thrashed out. It all became pretty nasty, a lot of name-calling, finger-pointing, and underlying it all was the stark ignorance of politicos wading into areas they simply don’t understand.

‘Zero Waste Scotland is a job creation scheme for middle class humanities graduates. To be fair, that statement covers the Scottish Government in its entirety.’

Aye, it does. And it also covers ‘the Arts’, a playground for well-connected middle-classers who willingly subscribe to the Anglification of Scottish culture on the tacit understanding that they and theirs will get whatever gigs are going.

https://dspace.stir.ac.uk/bitstream/1893/18345/1/SettlersColonists_STORRE.pdf

85. Geri

“Zero Waste Scotland is a job creation scheme for middle class humanities graduates. To be fair, that statement covers the Scottish Government in its entirety.”

That covers the whole of the UK & Europe & is by design.

A long list of idiot prime ministers etc who are experienced in absolutely nothing but following orders even to the detriment of their own country & their citizens.

There was an interesting discussion about this on The Duran some months back in regards to the EU elections. They’re all like something out of Stepford. They’re not elected there to speak for their country but rather to fall into line in serving America & American interests & 99% not consulted on despite public opposition.

I wrote a post last night about the USAs new nuclear doctrine & Biden amending the Uks compliance on 29th July to now being permanent instead of reviewed every 10 yrs but it flew into moderation.

We’ve far too many outside agencies & lapdogs willing to do as they’re told.

86. Sven

Vivian O’Blivion @ 10.36.

Just imagine, had you secured the position you may have finished up working with Ms Slater … dodged a bullet there, m8.

87. Willie

Too right Vivian O’Blivion about zero waste being a load of old bull shit of useless jobs for the boys.

Look at the ubiquitous councils who trumpeted all manner of keech about recycling.

WRAP how many remember that bullshit as the council’s did feck all to reduce waste going to landfill.

A fortune was spent on extolling how the council’s were saving the planet when they were doing nothing of the kind.

And if you want an example look no further than the Bonnie Banks of Loch Lomond where at the local council facilitated a super tip that took something like five million tonnes or more of every conceivable waste over the last decade or so.

They have finally just stopped the dumping this year after the area has had its streams and water courses and air polluted by the egress of toxins. And all right beside the Loch, a National Park and a major world renowned tourist destination.

More money to be made destroying the environment, avoiding landfill tax, and generally not giving a toss is the way. Who cares, even the Bonnie Banks is but a toilet.

And so it goes on. And plastic if you want to consider another subject. Who is refining that in. A sister product of big oil we can go to the Moon, Mars and the stars but cannot find alternative wrapping.

Even the ubiquitous poly bags for shopping. They are now a big earner for the stores who now charge relatively big bucks. The days of the flimsy free white bags may have gone but the use of plastic bags has not.. and my local Morrison, which used to sell paper carriers at 45 pence has now ditched them.

And on another tack our zero waste government has just increased train fares massively. Since a full train uses about as much energy per passenger mile as a bicycle, takes cars off the road that burn hundreds of times more fuel per passenger mile, what is that about. Net zero my erchie.

Yep, it’s all bullshit this nett zero. No one wants to live in a cave but there is so much more we could do, and pretending that we are doing something when we are not is where we are and have been for a long time.

Garde l’eaue!

88. Alf Baird

sam @ 6:39 am

“scotlands-independence-referendum-10-years-on”

A widna bather. Its extremely unlikely that colonial institutions will provide a platform for anti-colonial research findings:

https://wp.towson.edu/iajournal/the-socio-political-determinants-of-scottish-independence/

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,640 Posts, 1,196,904 Comments

• RSS Wings Over Scotland