Here is the news(wire)

Posted on June 07, 2012 by

Particularly alert readers will already have noticed an exciting new addition to the top of our links column in the last few hours – the Wings Over Scotland NewsWire.

Lacking a fully-staffed newsroom and having to go out and get the shopping from time to time, we can’t always cover every single interesting story that appears in the media straight away, and on occasion we don’t even have the time to knock together a quick round-up post. It’s appalling slacking on our part, obviously, but until someone invents a rent-free house we need to do some actual paid work now and again too.

So instead, inspired by Peter A. Bell’s excellent Referendum 2014 news-aggregating site, we’ve come up with the distinctly similar NewsWire, which is a supremely easy-to-use linkzine that’ll fill you in on interesting stories until we’ve got the chance to dig below the surface and analyse them properly. So a respectful tip o’the hat to Mr Bell (whose own page also remains worth checking regularly, because we and he will probably find different things interesting), and that’s about the size of that.

Subscribe
Notify of

13 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Ross

+1 Like.

clochoderic

Great link – will be sharing this widely.

charlie

link to blogs.telegraph.co.uk
I’ll rip this apart tomorrow unless someone can save me the bother

Kenny Campbell

My advice is not to read the comments as my blood pressure could only take 2 pages of if. Utterly disgraceful what some of these folk are saying.

Appleby

Comments like that are good to keep you awake if you’re having trouble getting through the day at the office or need a boost in the morning that tea can’t give.

Kenny Campbell

Given all the hoohaa about vicious Cybernat’s, reading the comments on there shows a rather ugly and nasty side to British Conservatism.

William Brown

Off topic, but perhaps you could add “Scottish Daily Mail” front pages to the “Zany comic relief” list—see today’s about changing Stamp Duty and compare it to the Herald’s!

William Brown

It’s the only page that I see when I hand it over to my wife after it drops through the letterbox! 

Herald :  “Swinney plans tax cut to kickstart housing market”

SDM :   “SNP send tax on homes soaring”,   and “Middle -class families hit by shock stamp duty rise”. 

douglas clark

Is there a competition between commentators on the Daily Telegraph and the Scotsman to see who can be the most insulting? Frankly there is no debate, simply a lobbing of verbal hand grenades at each other.

TYRAN

Good stuff. I’ll be checking it out regularly. Here’s one for your wire…

link to labourhame.com

– “Britain is the country we live in, not the island it exists on… he’s trying to rewrite our history” (Labour)

– “Great Britain or Britain is an island” (Wikipedia)

– “Britain; the island containing England, Wales, and Scotland” (dictionary) 

TYRAN

I read this page first obviously. Didn’t see your other ones yet! 😀

Appleby

@douglas clark

I was wondering about that very same thing too. It seems they’re trying to outdo each other in the race to the bottom. Can’t be long before each article from them is nothing but a page or two of outright insults and swearing. Perhaps just a picture of them mooning the object of their ever-so-objective-and-professional hate, the SNP.

Stats: 6,679 Posts, 1,205,220 Comments

• Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: ““Spends all his time on here spewing hatred for Muslim citizens of the UK” Take a look in the mirror,…Dec 15, 21:33
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “They’d be useless anyway. They were so subservient to America they no longer have a say or the technical capability…Dec 15, 21:29
    • Southernbystander on Keeping the fire burning: “I mean the real issue here would be forcing people to buy themDec 15, 21:27
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: “Strong, the logic is, in this one. Wasted, the logic is, on the congenital dunderheid. You make an excellent point,…Dec 15, 21:27
    • Young Lochinvar on Trump’s Card: “Indeed! Anyway, festive thought for the season; (For) Gods (sake) rest ye Hebe mental men And stop filling all with…Dec 15, 21:26
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: “Zat you Rooby? Ah’m getting deja vu all over again. That’s a wee joke BTW. Ask a grownup to explain…Dec 15, 21:16
    • robertkknight on Trump’s Card: “https://winstonchurchill.hillsdale.edu/glasgow-tanks-george-square/ History is written by the victors, but it appears the six tanks sent never actually left the shed. However,…Dec 15, 20:33
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “Don’t be silly. He could obliterate anything NATO cobbled together within days. Even the head honcho said so just last…Dec 15, 19:57
    • sarah on Trump’s Card: “O/T When Christina Hendry announced the other day that she was going to stand as Alba candidate for a CONSTITUENCY…Dec 15, 19:49
    • znovak on Trump’s Card: ““There hasn’t been a single NATO country even fucking invaded yet!” Erm, don´t you think that this actually proves Hatey’s…Dec 15, 19:23
    • Marie on Trump’s Card: “A long rambling non answer that fails to address US misadventure in the ME and the consequences for innocent people…Dec 15, 19:10
    • Captain Caveman on Trump’s Card: “So then, you’re really not able to even give a SINGLE example… Wow. Another fragile little snowflake who is unable…Dec 15, 19:04
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “There’s plenty of Brits live in those places you absolute ignoramus. YouTube is full of them – video diaries of…Dec 15, 19:00
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: “Hmmm. So the undecorated non-Navy personnel on the plane had it coming. And the boy who concealed the explosive device…Dec 15, 18:58
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “You project to much. Kenco is more my tipple. Whippy cream , some hazelnut syrup & glitter sprinkles seeing as…Dec 15, 18:54
    • Marie on Trump’s Card: “He’s hilarious Mr Hate isn’t he? Spends all his time on here spewing hatred for Muslim citizens of the UK…Dec 15, 18:52
    • Republicofscotland on Trump’s Card: “When the Orange One (Trump) – was last POTUS he was very enthusiastic and pro-active in trying to depose Venezuela’s…Dec 15, 18:50
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: ““self sooth with a wank” Aha! My jibe about the half bottle of Grouse and the pint glass must have…Dec 15, 18:40
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “Wouldn’t matter if he put forward One Direction with bells on. No one will be voting for them..Dec 15, 18:40
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “They’re off to slaughter Christians, Kurds & everyone else that doesn’t follow their extreme ideology. Still, the Wests colonial contingent…Dec 15, 18:36
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “That one doesn’t know anything.Dec 15, 18:28
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: “Dry your tears, Sven, your pension will be fine. Save your greetin and gurnin for those who want an independent…Dec 15, 18:25
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “You have a mental illness. You’ll need all the healthcare you can get. There hasn’t been a single NATO country…Dec 15, 18:11
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: “So they’re off to destabilise Syyriaa? Phew, sounds like Syria will be OK. Got to hand it to you, Ros,…Dec 15, 18:10
    • Marie on Trump’s Card: “Iranian flight 655. That time it wasn’t a nut job – it was our old pals – the Americans. The…Dec 15, 18:06
    • Marie on Trump’s Card: “You really don’t know the history do you?Dec 15, 18:03
    • agent X on Trump’s Card: “Flynn “As per my statement the other week, I’ll be looking closely at the selection rules that the party puts…Dec 15, 17:57
    • Sven on Trump’s Card: “Aye, it’s got a good, populist ring to it, “Peace Through NATO”. Right up there with, “We Come in Peace,…Dec 15, 17:48
    • Rev. Stuart Campbell on Keeping the fire burning: ““If I am still banned and this post is rejected then you can sod off. I didn’t do anything wrong…Dec 15, 17:37
    • twathater on Trump’s Card: “I’ve got to agree with you and Dan , obviously it would be brilliant to clear Alex’s name , but…Dec 15, 17:33

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()