Grandpa John’s Nightmare
It’s almost – almost – worth voting SNP in May because of this:
Because it would be at least momentarily absolutely hilarious watching Swinney try to explain why his “100% guaranteed” second indyref didn’t happen if the SNP actually did get a majority on 30% of the vote (which is narrowly feasible on current polling).
(There would, obviously, be nothing remotely “undemocratic” about the UK government refusing his demand in such circumstances, as it would be speaking for 70% of Scots. You have an iron-clad moral argument if you win more than half the vote, but Swinney himself has decreed that votes for other indy parties don’t count, only the SNP.)
But it still wouldn’t be worth it, because after the chuckles we’d have to endure another five years of the most morally bankrupt Scottish Government of all time.
Even by the standards of the Scottish Parliament of the last decade, yesterday was a shameful day in the chamber. Not only was Angela Constance – with the greatest of irony, the cabinet secretary for justice – saved from the sack by the SNP and Greens, but for good measure one of the few MSPs who ISN’T a disgrace to the Parliament was suspended for two days for calling out the behaviour of perhaps the worst to ever befoul the Holyrood building.
Ash Regan had drawn attention to some truly despicable comments from vile Scottish Greens lunatic Maggie Chapman in the wake of the Supreme Court judgment in For Women Scotland – comments so bad they’d provoked an incredibly rare public rebuke from the Faculty Of Advocates.
But while Chapman – with the backing of the SNP, of course – was allowed to vote to save herself from any disciplinary sanction, Regan was hauled before the Committee Of Public Safety – whoops, sorry, the Standards, Procedures and Public Appointments Committee – and punished for daring to tell the Scottish public she serves what she was doing and why.
On the very same day, Tory MSP Roz McCall sent a letter almost identical to Regan’s on the same subject, which she also tweeted, but McCall has – for unexplained reasons – been spared any disciplinary process. Astonishingly and wretchedly, McCall was one of the 84 MSPs who voted to impose the sanction on Regan.
(Angela Constance, who’d been present in the chamber only minutes earlier to face her non-punishment for a double breach of the Ministerial Code, scuttled out of it and back down her hole, neither voting nor abstaining on Regan’s sanction.)
We’ve long since run out of words to describe how embarrassed we are at the state of the Scottish Parliament, once a source of national pride. The naked contempt for even the slightest pretence at justice and fairness signify an institution rotten from top to bottom, with no hope of salvation anywhere on the horizon.
(Regan, a politician of principle, will almost certainly be voted out in May, whereas Constance will return to the gravy trough and Chapman will probably slither back in too, despite having been rejected by even Green members, because the person who deposed her at the top of the regional list has been suspended amid the party’s bitter tit-for-tat backbiting in the mudfight for lucrative MSP seats.)
If all we have to look forward to in May is another five years of the same ignominious weaselry, it’s time to either force Holyrood to be a grown-up real Parliament, or raze it to the ground. Would that we had an SNP with that much courage, or any at all.

“Would that we had an SNP with that much courage, or any at all”
Not agreeing with that. Not at all.
It’s the voters of Scotland who need the courage to vote the SNP and Greens out – lock, stock and barrel – regardless of their tribal loyalties, and make it bloody clear why they are doing it.
Only if that happens MIGHT we get MSPs who are too feart to rip the utter pish out of the mugs who are forced to pay for their performative pantomime.
Two things will happen after the election in May 1 the SNP will not get a majority and 2 the SNP won’t ask for a section 30 order, as they didn’t even meat their own plan on Independence.
Here’s comes the next Westminster election and once again how does the SNP propose to put yet again and Independence plan for that election or is the plan for Independence only based on a Holyrood election?
The SNP has dug a huge whole and the leadership is only making the party and the people standing for it, more unelectable.
Can Independence be so complicated the SNP thinks so.
Have you seen this mince yet Stu.
Posted on F/B Over 60s For Scottish Independence within the last couple of hours.
Oh Dear Oh Dear’
Referring to you as Stewie, gives the game away
I’m tired.
For years now, I’ve been trying to meet the goal that Nicola Sturgeon set for SNP members at the 2015 conference, when she challenged all of us to personally speak to our families, friends and neighbours about the benefits of independence.
I’ve tried really hard to meet that goal, but with only limited success, (I’m not a good listener) and, in the case of my brother, with failure, because he is STILL a Labour supporter.
But that’s my problem, not anyone else’s. What also makes me weary, is arguing with fellow yessers.
I don’t feel angry or bemused by the UK establishment, who have been ruthlessly efficient at doing to Scotland, what they have done to other colonies for hundreds of years – divide and conquer. That’s their job as Brits.
My anger and bemusement is with the professional anti-SNP bloggers, and, in particular, with Stewie Campbell, owner of the blog “Wings Over Scotland”, which is more virulent than any of the others.
I used to read “Wings” almost daily, and enjoyed and agreed with most of his blogs, while cringing at some of his more virulent language and personal attacks.
In August 2014, Wings published an incredible 94 blogs, all of which were aimed at unionists, and, in particular, unionist journalists like Stephen Daisley.
Fast forward a couple of years.
I had been banned from commenting on Wings, having disagreed with Stewie on a number of posts. I scrolled back through Wings posts, but stopped after 100 blogs, at which point, I had counted 4 anti-unionist blogs and 96 anti-SNP blogs.
What had happened? Had the unionist journalists been defeated? Were they no longer a threat to independence? Apparently, (according to Stewie), the SNP had morphed into the main barrier to independence, and was populated by careerists and devolutionists.
It’s important to understand that this accusation wasn’t new. Back in 2000, the “Guardian” published an article, which alleged that SNP “activists” were furious with Alex Salmond and the other SNP MSP’s, whom they accused of being devolututionists, too comfortable in their lucrative positions as MSP’s. They complained that Alex Salmond had only mentioned independence twice in speeches, in the first six months of the new parliament.
Sounds familiar?
The difference between 2000 and 2016 was the explosion of the Internet, and the ability of bloggers like Stewie to spread their poison and bile to a wide audience.
What caused Stewie and his fellow professional anti-SNP bloggers to turn on the SNP? Some folk ascribe this to these folk having been “got at” by the UK establishment. I have no idea if that is true or not. Personally, I think that Stewie and his pals discovered that anti-SNP blogging was more lucrative than anti-unionist blogging. I cannot prove this, because Wings stopped publishing financial accounts in 2016.
Whatever their reasons, Stewie and his pals are now cult leaders, with fanatically dedicated followers who will believe the mist outrageous lies, exaggerations and twisting of facts. If Sturgeon, or Yousaf, or Swinney says or does anything that can be interpreted in a malign or a benign manner, Stewie and his pals UNFAILINGLY go for the malign interpretation.
Will Stewie and his pals have had a negative effect on the SNP vote this May? I sincerely hope not, but I fear that they might have achieved their goal – a goal they share with the UK establishment – inadvertently or deliberately.
I’m tired.
Aawwww, sadly that group seems to be private.
Humans have five primary senses: sight, hearing, touch, taste, and smell. I have no idea why the wider movement doesn’t see the SNP for who they have become. Stu keeps pointing out if you disagree with what he’s posted, feel free to look into what he’s posted and if he’s made a mistake then tell him.
As far as I’m aware no one has ever come back, I wonder why.
H McH
About a week ago I started the “getting blood out of a stone” process of asking a genuine question of (your new bestie) A Ellis which took a tiresome time to eventually elicit a grudging answer to.
I’ll ask the same of you, or whatever AI programme you rely on:
If, understandably enough, the SNP should be ignored, then what parties in your opinion should we vote for to achieve or progress the aim of independence and, can you explain why such parties receive no attention from the site host?
Please don’t cop out with your old canard of people should get out and stand for election themselves- ballot lists with enormous candidate lists aren’t practical.
Haven’t you got it yet – there is literary nobody to vote for that will move the independence movement forward. ISP. Indy4indy. Salvo and all the rest of them won’t get enough votes. The dafties will keep voting for the SNP. The incoming white settlers and no surrender unionists will vote reform. Short of an uprising, it’s over. We are pissing in the wind
What the heck, I’ll bite.
In each constituency, the Indy aspiring voters need to vote for whichever party (doesn’t matter which one) looks to be currently polling in second place behind the SNP or Greens.
That will turn the second place into a first and consign the SNP or Green MSP to history’s bulging dustbin.
The ONLY exception can be in a constituency where a real Indy party, not SNP or Green, is already in first place. Vote for that one.
And NO, that won’t return a pro-Indy HR majority.
But YES, it will clear the way for a new pro-Indy party to form (or an existing real pro-Indy party to grow), having in the back of its collective mind that henceforth pro-Indy Scots aren’t going to settle for decades of time-servers taking the piss at Scotland’s expense.
And YES, it will be 5 years before most of us get a chance to vote for that mew party.
But seriously, nobody believes if Scots don’t do this that the next 5 years are going to amount to anything anyway.
That’s exactly right Hatey – the route to independence is much more difficult with a moribund SNP sucking in the energy of the independence movement and producing nothing to show for it. Until and unless it is radically changed or replaced the cause of independence is on ice, so voting against the SNP is by far the best strategy even if it’s a tough pill to swallow. Of course the unionist parties will proclaim that the Indy cause is dead as a result, but bluntly it’s dead now as things are. At least this will give the movement the opportunity for a fresh start.
BB, HMcH and A;
Well thank you for your responses.
Several vary slightly, but the bottom line appears that we are supposed to vote for anybody but the SNP.
Sturgeon’s sins included not engaging with succession management, like that which she benefited from.
The result: yes, the parties gubbed.
The Greens are just the political freaks they have made no attempt to hide for years.
But why vote for 2nd on the ballot when these by default are Unionist of varying colours and the reticence to name WHO exactly IS the new (presumably “mew” was a typo) independence party and why the secret squirrel about saying who this could, should, can or will be?
No?
Bizarre, especially on an independence website.
The “SNP must die” with no discussion about succession is simply the Unionist playlist that wants rid of independence and couldn’t give 2 hoots that no successor party is even, and most certainly should never be discussed.
At least AE (eventually) said an absence of genuine candidates should lead to spoilt ballot papers.
Voting for 2nds on the list is simply a spurious Unionist longstanding ploy to get themselves into power, a “generation” will revert to “never again” and the same old going nowhere stuck to the hull of a post imperial hulk like a limpet as it sinks/ becomes increasingly internationally irrelevant other than to become lap dogs to the US; (but certainly absolutely no one on the Eurasian landmass where the “great game” has been played out for hundreds of years).
Problem is; the Donald is going back 130 years or so, turning his back on Europe having scared us into spending what was previously squandered as the “peace dividend” and him focussing bit by bit on the Pacific rim.
That’s where things are going now the Hebes and camel jockeys have been restrained, Ivan has been drained in a proxy war and the Donald gets to focus on the massive area the US created their little post Spanish war empire of their own and are now revisiting on a greater scale..
Lochy at last, someone else asking the naysayers and yoonionist Scotland haters who they would vote for in the 2026 election
The well used alert readers pish will realise that Well before the last 2021 election the same posters were saying the exact same thing, voting for the snp is a waste of time and anyone doing so needs their heids examined , they were all denigrating and deriding posters telling them to get aff their lazy arses an dae sumfin , Hatey said exactly that to me and I replied that I had no problem daen that and would do it immediately after he did it , I personally spoiled my ballot
I proposed on here forming a collective WARNING MESSAGE to the snp and sturgeon that could be signed by everyone, that unless she concentrated on independence instead of her deviant policies then people would not vote for the snp , I asked various bloggers on their sites including Stuart Campbell, I even sent him personal messages , if they would host a downloadable form on their site that people could sign and send to their respective representatives, I got two responses to my request, from Iain Lawson and Roddy McLeod both declined, Stuart Campbell didn’t even have the courtesy to respond
The Franchise Fanny repeatedly goes on about a plebiscitery election as if he has discovered penicillin, posters including myself had been pushing the idea of a plebiscitery election on WOS since 2015 , everyone including Alex Salmond and Stuart Campbell ignored the suggestion , much later Alex Salmond introduced the idea of a supermajority of indy parties in HR
How many times has Stuart Campbell been asked (begged) by numerous posters either to start a political party or to stand for election , after Alex Salmond formed ALBA would have been a perfect time for Stuart to launch his political expertise for independence
Instead we have had a further 10 years of misery , corruption and deviant policies
Stuart Campbell has exposed and posted numerous times the only way forward for independence is to destroy the current snp and its vile fakery , and to await the birth of a NEW independence party
YET when one has been formed consisting of REAL independence FIGHTERS with true grit and determination who are intent on using their own funding to challenge the hegemony of the snp grifters he IGNORES them and turns away from them preferring to use his blog advertising Reform
The Scotland haters take great delight in denigrating and deriding Liberate Scotland telling all how they will never amount to anything and that no one has even heard of them and they are as the Franchise Fanny posts nothing but SCHEMIES how very middle class , I would like to see him repeat that retort in an Edinburgh pub
They use these accusations in fear that Liberate Scotland will gain some traction and show what can be done by SCHEMIES to run things properly , they prefer their middle class fannies who share a brain between ten of them and can only do what their party leader tells them
Their stupidity is highlighted when they are willing to settle for the MORONIC DROSS infecting ALL political parties, every one of them destroying the economy and standards of living , they refuse to accept that things MUST change and for that to happen the old tired and corrupt establishment fuckwits need ejected
But NAW don’t vote LS they might introduce DIRECT DEMOCRACY where we the people might have a say in the running of our country and who knows we might even be able to EJECT them when they do wrong
@twathater
Every gardener knows what to do if you have a precious, little sapling struggling to grow because it is overshadowed, crowded out and starved of moisture and nutrients by a big tree.
You grit your teeth and take an axe to the big tree.
“YET when one has been formed consisting of REAL independence FIGHTERS with true grit and determination who are intent on using their own funding to challenge the hegemony of the snp grifters he IGNORES them and turns away from them preferring to use his blog advertising Reform”
You keep going on about these dedicated independence fighters but bluntly from where I’m sat they are by far and away even more moribund than even the SNP. At least the SNP have people out there in the media making arguments and campaigning. Sitting at home doing nothing is not “grit and determination” and despite what you seem to think, nobody having heard of them IS a big problem for a party in democratic politics.
I’m happy to talk about succession planning and what that looks like, but the question you asked was who to vote for. Someone (or persons plural) needs to take the reins and follow a serious strategy, that means forming coalitions across civil society, business, academia etc. raising money, constantly being on the TV and podcasts etc taking on unionist media and politicians. In then means getting into Holyrood and running the Scottish government competently for a while to demonstrate to the Scottish people they are up for the task.
It does not mean developing legal “cunning plans” to try and persuade some court somewhere to annul the treaty of union or coming up with ever wilder and more eccentric conspiracy theories around the treaty or proposing to throw large numbers of voters off the electoral roll. None of that will achieve anything.
We have extremely poor interviewers in Scotland, he’s ask the question only for swinney to take over the conversation.
The question the interview should have asked, don’t you believe it would make more sense to go directly to the PM and ask if a section 30 order would be granted if the SNP won a majority. Because if you did you’d be given the Scottish people answer to the question before the election and would put the SNP in a better position for the election.
Theirs smell fear in the leadership of the SNP, at last. For Swinney to come out and blatantly lie shows how worried the SNP is about losing the election.
Here is a party who’s cure voters would rather stay at home than go out and vote for the SNP when the voters just don’t trust me and with good reason.
The SNP and Greens live up to the words of Thomas Sowell:
“It is hard to imagine a more stupid or more dangerous way of making decisions than by putting those decisions in the hands of people who pay no price for being wrong.”
Not hilarious but duplicitous.
Swinney answered a question he wasn’t asked.
The ONLY guarantee he can give in the event of a near impossible scenario is to request a Section 30 order.
Vote SNP? Haud me back.
Swinney answering a question he wasn’t asked?
The great political comedy “Yes, Prime Minister” had Jim Hacker telling Bernard Wooley: “Never answer a question you don’t want to answer.” He advised Wooley that in politics, say only what you want to say, regardless of the question asked.
Swinney is living up to tv’s laugh lines.
Cynicus,
How can Swinney ask for a section 30 order after the election when his plan is to get a majority for the SNP only and win a out right majority of seats.
Of course John will have someone to blame, but it won’t be the British state he’ll blame. It’ll be the voters who didn’t back his plan. Its all been designed to make Scotland look like idiots and Swinney knows it.
100%Yes says:
7 January, 2026 at 1:33 pm
“Cynicus,
How can Swinney ask for a section 30 order after the election when his plan is to get a majority for the SNP only and win a out right majority of seats.”
=========
You actually believe what Swinney says? That makes you something of a rarity hereabouts.
I’ m tempted to turn your post into a non-fungible token and put it up for auction on eBay
Like wings is saying, the percentages isn’t for the SNP. So why put out a plan for Independence and tell voters who’d rather stay at home than go out and vote for the SNP, your vote will not be counted if you vote for any other party other than the SNP.
If the SNP is on 30% and united the people to get behind an Indy plan that included if a majority of voters vote for any Independence supporting party, then this will be a majority for Independence, then the SNP just might have success. But they would have to also specify what the SNP would do if Westminster says “no”.
Eleven years of this endless talking shop on Independence is enough to drive anyone mad. It wouldn’t be too bad if it was just the SNP who was conning us but its also the other biggest voices in the movement.
The reason the voters don’t want to come and vote is because of the politicians we have. You can’t keep lying, changing policies when your elected or being corrupt and not to expect a backlash. The SNP is making its self more and more irrelevant and that a bad place for any party.
We keep here how Mr Swinney is a nice guy, how nice guys are prepared to go on national TV and lie their arse off without even blinking a eye, John can.
I wrote to my MSP following the pantomime meeting of the Equalities, Human Rights and Justice Committee to consider a (failed ) motion to remove M Chapman from the committee due to her disgraceful conduct and words after FWS ruling . I received no reply. I also wrote to the Standards Committee following their recent decision to recommend sanction of Ms Regan . I pointed out as Rev Stu’s piece highlights that the behaviour of Chapman to any reasonable observer surely falls far short of that expected of a parliamentarian but went unsanctioned. I also highlighted other instances of complaints being made public before consideration by the Committee -which were reported in mainstream press at the time in the same vein as the Conservative MSP highlighted by Stu- who had had no action taken against them. The demonstrable unfairness and inconsistency in applying sanctions serves only to undermine public trust in the Scottish parliament . And then along comes the Constance debacle ….and the cycle repeats ( ad nauseam)
@ J Robertson: well done for writing to your MSP and to the Standards Committee. If no-one tells them, they will think they have got away with it completely. And it will give them a moment’s discomfort at least.
A vote for the SNP is a wasted vote because after the election the SNP will not use the vote you gave on May 7th 2026 to change anything.
We just do not have democracy in Scotland yes we can vote for a party and have lots of choices but that it.
Scotland can’t decide anything about Scotland or our people and that’s all down to the SNP they own it.
The SNP doesn’t want independence,if you, or anyone else, honestly wants independence why would you vote SNP? Administrative fecklessness and serial foolishness, not to mention a complete lack of political nous and courage are so deeply ingrained within this irreformable gang as to be totally absent. Let’s tell the creeps so.
Am not, and never will again. Let the party die.
He will for the umpteenth time ask the big bully not to be a big bully and if he doesn’t give
Scotland a referendum then he will be a big bully from a house full of big bullies.
We might get bullied if he takes offence at being called a big bully.
God Help Us!
“a shameful day” in a shameful chamber.
‘Shameful’ primarily because we ken the UK ‘union’ is a charade, it disna exist; so we hiv a ‘wee pretendy’ parliament owerseen by a sovereign parliament in anither kintra, England.
And we hiv a ‘Scottish’ Executive/’Government’, which is noo the colonizer’s preferred mode of ‘Indirect Rule’ ower us; efter near 300 year o a Westminster Governor General (i.e. Direct Rule) sittin in London, or sometimes Bute Hoose.
Which explains the peculiar behaviour of what passes for Scotland’s political ‘elite’; the latter, when takkin thair oath and choosing “to protect only the interests of the colonizer” (Memmi), means by implication that they are required “to sacrifice” the true interests of the colonized people and nation. (Besides fae the odd wee crumb tae gie us the impression oor protector haes some human values an cares aboot us).
The reality is oor political ‘leaders’ canna ser twa maisters – i.e. Scotland and England – for thay aye luve ane an laith the ither, much as we see in a plundered, under-developed Scotland.
As Cesaire telt us – colonialism involves “hateful racism”; an us Scots fowk suffer fae it ivvery day in aw weys an mair. Not least in having to watch the Holyrood circus full of clowns masquerading as a national parliament whilst keeping the Anglo colonial racket going.
Britain will support the US in its humanitarian responsibility to protect the human rights of indigenous aboriginal peoples from the imperialist danish regime; the royal navy will bombard Copenhagen, commandos steal the little mermaid. This is an anti imperialist struggle for freedom.
– payback for the Danelaw ya bass
In a first strike against the rebellious running dogs of NATO, the US will – turn their weapons off; F35s, bricked, satellite comms, C3I assets offline, drones reset. Danes now raiding museums to grab battleaxes and watching re-runs of “Vikings” to refresh themselves with – the shield wall, and how to get your hair and tattoos looking cool. Only the french have independent weapon systems, but are too pre occupied with north african mystery meat blade merchants shitting up every inch of their country.
Big opportunity for Scotland here – in exchange for recognition of our statehood, Scotland will send an army to smash the Dane, battle of largs and all that.
– they had it coming.
4-2, cunts
Borgen was a war crime, on its own. Some people say the fight could be a tough one, plucky Denmark resisted the might wehrmacht for about 6 full hours, even the americans should do them in 7 or 8.
When you are in the mood for something, you need to let it flow … didn’t the yanks try to grab Canada in 1812 or thereabouts, and this time lost to the redcoats who burned the whitehouse (snigger) – I think they could be next.
Then the UK, once trump learns of the 511B barrels of oil in “UK” antarctic territory. Penguins don’t drive SUVs, so get in there.
That pretendy Scottish parliament is showing the true purpose for what it was set up to do when the time was right,
Block Scots from gaining independence when they gained near the 50% mark.
Sent to Scotland under the Acts and legislation of Westminster parliament, ran mainly by Civil servants..
Pulling the plug on the pretence of a fair or democratic voting system set up for Scotland and a supposed second parliament of the first Great Britain.
Without doubt it would pay dividends to have a real Scottish parliament Set up by the Scottish people, with no reserved matters held back for the bespoke Westminster parliament of Englands imitation treaty,
These politicians that are repeatedly arranged as politicians and leaders for Scotland would have to learn how to fly prior to wipeing the boot prints of their behinds.
If only Scotland had a Scottish parliament…maybe soon, Scotland is slowly waking up,
The transcult staffers rule the roost at Holyrood,
every vote,policy,grant,committee decision and color of toilet paper will be vetted by trans staffers,
the reason for `SNP both votes` is the staffers don`t want a Gov dependent on a party that are non believers in the cult.
It`s John Wyndham`s, The Midwich Cuckoos.
Alf Baird.
The devolved parliament under Westminster along with the treaty of union is like one of those big Scams,
Except no one has called this one out yet, but for a few, hopefully the nation gets
wise before they lose everything.
If a lie is told big enough, loud enough, repeated often then the scam can be highly successful on many victims.
Scot Finlayson,
Pretty accurate analyses,
I believe the Civil Servants are being challenge for parading in the trans marches while on duty as civil servants according to the news reports.
Not exactly un-bias to the mass populations in their actions while receiving tax payers finances,
The SNP are doing the job it was meant to do, with the support and assistance of those other political parties that vote or abstain.
It makes them appear useless and incompetent, not able to run a river down hill,
If the aim is to close the pretendy Scottish parliament once it has served the purpose it was set up to do.
Then Scotland should be prepared.
A trip down memory lane…
Gordon Dangerfield: Law, Culture and Politics (17 Oct 2020)
« STURGEON: “JE RECUSE” »
« What is undoubtedly the case is that when a woman, Nicola Sturgeon, wants to abdicate her responsibilities, it’s often a man, John Swinney, who is wheeled in to help her out with that. »
link to gordondangerfield.com
Without a doubt she the cause of everything! Trying saying that to the individuals who read the national you’ll be accused of being an unionist for your troubles in trying to educate.
I have never in my life come across individuals who claim to want Independence but apposes any meaningful suggestion in getting it, unless it comes from the SNP.
I woke up this morning with the dim Scottish sunset… shining in.
Then I found my nation in a brown paper bag… in a rubbish bin.
I tripped on a cloud and fell eight mile high.
Tore my freedom vote on a jaggy sky.
Then I just dropped in to see what condition Scotland’s condition was in.
After singing ma ain version o THAT song a few times in a paraphrased fashion in ma ain heid I did THIS:
None o that really happened, of course… I just made it up – apart from the song playin’ in ma heid.
NOTE: Thanks to Mickey Newbury for ‘allowing’ me to paraphrase his braw song “Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In)”… a psychedelic rock song; recorded in 1967 by Jerry Lee Lewis and backed by the braw vocal soonds of the Memphis Boys.
I think it was the “Kenny Rogers and The First Edition” version that was used in the filum, The Big Lebowski (1998), but I’m not certain.
The song popped in tae ma heid because it’s a song about the effects of Lysergic acid diethylamide (commonly known as LSD, from German Lysergsäurediethylamid, and by the slang names acid and lucy)… and living in Scotland the noo feels like a mind-warping, super-bad acid trip I had back in the early 1970s to the Tangerine Dream sounds of their album “Phaedra”.
A trip that lasted for three hunner year, and mibbe a wee bit mair, but was really only 18 hours – 18 hours, tho, is a fucking lifetime or ten when wanderin’ aboot explorin’ the eerie dripping wet caverns of a Phaedra-induced bad trip tae anither very strange and terrifying world.
Raquel Welch dressed as she was in the 1966 movie “One Million Years BC” kept me company, tho… so it wisnae aw bad.
Good stuff Northcode. Best Post of the day. We need to get lives. And that’s the great success of the execrable snp and most particularly swiny and fishy, boring us to the point of dumping them entirely. Probably destroying the parliament forever its so hated. I will wish on all those responsibe nasty, painful, lingering death.
Thank the Guid Lord ye’re OK, Northy.
Those reports that you were last seen, erse painted blue, clad in kilt and tam o’ shanter, running barefoot through the heather screaming “Claymore!”, had the regulars worried you would turn up in Intensive Care, gibbering and jabbering in the grip of the hallucinogenic fever that accompanies a case of severe pneumonia.
Anyhoo, while you was “oot yer heid”, you missed Scotland’s traditional Christmas celebrations – the ones all True Sovereign Scots observe in opposition to the alien, foreign 25th December date imposed on us by the aggressive, imperialist coloniser.
Maybe next year, eh?
Every day a School Day.
Turns out it has been really quite easy to stop boats, even humongous ones, all along.
All that’s really needed is the will to stop them.
Ah who cares about our pretend wee parliament
I read this evening that the Royal Navy and Royal Air Force have been action noarding and taking over s Russian oil tanker in waters between Scotland and Iceland.
With the Americans threatening to sink the vessel because it was carrying oil from Venezeula to Russia looks like Britain is itching to have a go with Russia.
Won’t be long I suspect till Scotland will have the pride and honour of playing its proud part in what most certainly looks like an inevitable conflagration
With all our submarine and air bases the UK knows it can depend on brave Scotland to do its duty. And not a cheep from the SNP as assets from Scotland engage.
Orcland is hoaching with oil. They don’t need to import it from Venezuela (unless the Ukie sabotage/destruction campaign has been way more effective than we’re being told).
The tanker was, in any case, empty. Pictures make that very clear.
But the Orcs were dispatching assets to try to stop an empty, old, rusty piece of scrap from being seized. Alert observers are wondering why.
Some believe the ship was carrying weapons, perhaps Iranian, but under Orc protection, to Venezuela. In which case this could be shaping up for a re-run of Cuba in 1962.
Scots have got very short memory’s. At the last Westminster election, on the night of the vote, Angus Robertson made it clear that the SNP would work with the labour party if they won the election and on the same knight when all these Westminster SNP MP’s were fallen one by one. John Swinney wasn’t in any way upset by the loses of his MP’s rather he was saying he wanted both government to work together and that’s what he’s been doing ever since.
The tone will change from the SNP at the next Westminster election because if Reform wins the SNP is toast.
Scots should know how Venezuelan’s feel about losing control of their oil resource. For over 30 years Anglo-American oil corporations raided Scotland’s part of the North Sea, enabled by our colonial masters in Westminster. Hence zero oil royalties for Scotland.
By holding on to its sovereignty and with a state-owned oil company Norway managed to avoid the same colonial plunder and is now $2 trillion better off, plus has a fully modern national infrastructure, high standard of living and a happy people. Colonial Scotland remains under-developed by comparison and with just half the GDP-per-capita.
As Aime Cesaire wrote: “American domination – the only domination from which one never recovers. I mean from which one never recovers unscarred.”
When you hear, it up to Greenland and Denmark surely its up to the Inuit to decide the colonial masters based in Denmark.
“the only domination from which one never recovers. I mean from which one never recovers unscarred”
Aye, Alf, it’s impossible to spend even half an hour in Kiev without hearing somebody say that. Warsaw, Tallin, Riga and Vilnius too.
As it happens, they never say “American”, as you well know.
You need to start distancing yourself from that Cesaire boy. His Negritude movement is inherently alien, foreign, and implacably hostile to all True, Sovereign Scots.
And it’s shite to boot.
“His Negritude movement is inherently alien, foreign, and implacably hostile to all True, Sovereign Scots”
Cesaire acknowledged that our national and cultural affinities are above all a matter of feeling, of emotion; and, as Fanon noted “independence is a cultural emotion” and therefore liberation is “a fight for a national culture”.
But Cesaire also recognised the political aspect of the colonial ideology of domination, writing that:
“Negritude was part of the left (but) I never thought for a moment that our emancipation could come from the right”.
Which also relates to Fanon’s thesis that independence is neither “a matter of left or right, nor of socialism versus capitalism”. Independence is fundamentally about a colonized people getting “rid of a racist system of oppression and exploitation” (Memmi).
Yes, both Cesaire and Senghor initially thought liberation of the colonized placed them on the left, but the mistake they admitted to was “they refused to see the black question as simply a social question”.
As we see in Scotland, “it is because the relationships between consciousness and reality are complex” and obscured in a colonial society, and remembering that “colonialism is a disease of the mind” (Memmi), that at the time of liberation:
“..it is equally necessary to decolonize our minds, our inner life, at the same time that we decolonize society” (Depestre)
link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com
Good stuff Northcode. Best Post of the day. We need to get lives. And that’s the great success of the execrable snp and most particularly swiny and fishy, boring us to the point of dumping them entirely. Probably destroying the parliament forever its so hated. I will wish on all those responsibe nasty, painful, lingering death.
It’s amazing how long it has taken for people on here to recognise how useless and crap Holyrood and the SNP are.
Holyrood was the stepping stone to Independence. Now its the vehicle which the SNP uses to stop Independence, with the Scotland act and one particular section 30 order to deny us that stepping stone.
I see Hatey’s still continuing with nazi terminology to describe and dehumanise a multitude of ethnic groups within a sovereign state.
Just like nazis referred to their victims as ‘units, the Japanese to their victims as ‘sticks’ Hatey’s (and some others here) on the bandwagon with ‘orcs’
I can well imagine him in position as a concentration camp commandant and wonder how he’d describe Scottish dissidents, Jews Romany homosexuals and the many other undesirables he’d love to oversee the destruction of.
Who’d be Hatey?
Daves, Dave.
I’d call them Daves and I’d describe them as Daves.
As a True Sovereign Scot, the ladies, as in traditional Scottish custom, would be Davinas.
I wasn’t looking for a reply but you couldn’t help yourself eh. It just demonstrates how supremely stupid you are.
Like I said, who’d be Hatey?
That’s rhetorical by the way but feel free to reply and further your stupidity rating. On you go.
“demonstrates how supremely stupid you are”
That’s going in the book, Dave.
When I’m “concentration camp commandant” “oversee[ing] the destruction of” the Daves, you’ll rue this day.
Incidentally, how will somebody as “supremely stupid” as myself come to be “concentration camp commandant” in the first place? The German system run by Himmler was a model of meritocratic, efficient resource extraction, through the seizure of wealth, the appropriation of assets, the forced labour of the victims, right down to the extraction of any valuables from their corpses – filled teeth and useful hair, for example.
The “supremely stupid” were allowed to beat up the inmates, but little more, and anything too excessive was discouraged on the basis it worked against the overall profitability of the very profitable operation that it actually was.
You haven’t thought this through, Dave.
A masterclass on the master race. What a winner!
Who’d be Hatey?
“DaveL”
Give up son !
You’re way, way out of your depth !
I’m just laughing at you ya cunt. You’d be Hatey eh. Laughing!
Anyone else?
A Parliament majority is the only majority that matters and it doesn’t matter whether it is won on 30% of the vote or 70%. If it were democratic to dismiss a result because more people didn’t vote for it than did, there would be no MPs or MSPs and democracy would never get anything done.
You know this, Stu, so it is horribly disingenuous every time you cite the contrary scenario as “democratic”.
Just because a system is run with a minority vote having a majority of seats doesn’t make it right, nor democratic. It’s a rotten system and should be called out whenever it happens.
If British Labour`s Starmer,Marcon,Ursula try and force a war with Russia,would USA be prepared to intervene.
Europe combined has biggest conventional army in the world.
But Russia has biggest nuclear arsenal.
Cause we relied on US arsenal.
If Russia limited their nukes to Europe would USA see this as not crossing the line to fire their nukes.
Does Europe possess the defence systems to stop Russian nukes and could Russian defence systems stop any nukes from Europe.
And would Russia first strike be Faslane Clyde.
Better Together.
The biggest offence is calling it Scotland parliament.
It is anything but a fully functioning parliament of Scotland with all these reserved, limits boundaries one way, and restrictions along with road block Civil servants and branch offices.
Scotland voted for it when it was sold as a pup, before reality came a calling.
Very similar to the treaty of union sales man speil.
But then neither of those sales contracts were sold in retrospect due to the fraudulent nature and dishonesty promised and involved.
Since 2015 I have drawing attention to both faux parliaments in Scotland and England,
I posted and reported on Wings of ex labour members within the SNP stating while campaigning on the streets for SNP that their goal was to remove Sovereignty from the people in Scotland over into Holyrude.
I thought in may take awhile for the messages to Spread through the grass roots for Scottish independence.
It has taken a exceptionally long time,
Now I inform Others in Scotland where the lies and deceit hide in the treaty of union,
I have played devils advocate side and the victim of the hoax being perpertrated.
The only ones, whom have have cottoned on to the lies and deceit of a union between Scotland and England are those actually people whom are afraid and will exposed,
And repeatedly try to dismiss, shout boring, old guff decry, scorn or attempt to get me banned from posting the information and records on Wings,
Are the regular and usual opposition to Scottish independence.
This should tell you all you need to know,
There are a few that the pennys dropped, that realisation and reality have occurred, one or two perhaps before me, and at the same time,
All of us together are but a handful, we need all the people and nation of Scotland to wake up from their dream world.
To check the small print, its a dodgy contract,
that was never completed,
It was improperly implemented,
altered after signed,
The dates and time lines have been altered,
each and every century.the so called union exposes itself like a pervert in higher society of the well payed.
Not by Scotland, or its non existent old Scottish parliament,
Sarah,
It does need calling out,
But the whole darn SCAM needs calling out and exposed for what it is by all of us in unison.
That is Scotland under one umbrella.
With the one aim to Liberate.
With the one aim to liberate Scotland via legalities I may add,
Holyrood is real enough.
But the Scottish people have elected pretendy MSP politicians, more interested in their perks than in governing effectively.
The SNP voters (most of the people commenting here voted SNP in the past) cannot disclaim responsibility for the people they elected.
Guardian Online is reporting Labour analysis of the effects of lifting the 2 child benefit cap.
If the cap was to be lifted only for households with two working parents born in the UK, that would benefit 3,700 households, less than 1% of the households that are actually going to benefit from a universal application of the new policy.
Have you worked out who the 99%+ are that lifting the cap is going to benefit yet?
Hint: It’s not indigenous, working Brits.
Keep on paying those taxes, suckers! Your WM government needs the money to keep your replacements comfortable.
Meanwhile ASDA and Tescopoly are still selling Yankee NAZI Booze.
I’m intrigued. What’s “Yankee NAZI Booze”?
What ever Yankee NAZI Booze you can only buy it at ASDA and Tescopoly, I might get a bottle.
Can’t you guess what Yankee Nazi Booze is Hatey?
I would have thought the word Yankee gives a very clear description.
I would have thought also that the policies of Herr Trump of the we want to rule our hemisphere, take Greenland, take Canada, take South America and destroy Russia, China, Iran and North Korea gives a hint.
And lastly, is Whisky spelled as Whiskey, a type of spirit drink made in the southern states of the USA a possible contender for the word booze.
But hey hoe maybe Yankee Nazi Booze means scnapps made in Germany by a company owned by a Chinese man (a Mr Yan kee ?) the more likely meaning.
I’m intrigued too that your good self is intrigued. And here was me thinking simply that it meant USA whiskey.
Certainly won’t be buying any good ol USA whiskey. Much better drinking Scotch whisky made at home. Far superior product aside of which why would you want to buy a foreign whisky from a foreign country that put absolutely huge import duties on Scottish produce.
Maybe you can provide documentation to proves that Denmark has always owned Greenland.
Denmark was a colonizer of other country’s including stealing land from Inuits who are the one of original inhabitants of Greenland before Denmark set foot on Greenland.
If anyone had claim to Greenland its Saqqaq originally from Canada so really Canada owns Greenland and in no shape or form does Denmark have any legal right when its only occupied Greenland for the last 200yrs or so.
Inuits have a message “Greenland belongs to the Inuits” keir starmer stated the other day its up to Greenland and Denmark to decide Greenland fate, this was a statement from a country who is also a colonizer. So when Starmer made this statement he meant its up the colonizers who have settled in Greenland and for Denmark he’d doesn’t mean the true owners of Greenland the Saqqaq or Inuits.
Lets be perfectly clear here with Starmer statement as a colonizer he’s pointing out that Scotland fate is the same as the Inuits isn’t up to the original inhabitants but the colonizer.
We in Scotland should have had a reply from Swinney or The National putting out about Scotland cause both have been silent on this subject.
If you had any beef with anyone its Denmark, Denmark has no claim nor does England to Scotland and yet both the Scots and the Inuits have no say on their land or any form of democracy.
Weren’t the Vikings Danes?
Isn’t that why England paid Danegeld for so long – to buy off the Vikings?
Didn’t the Vikings own Greenland for quite some time? Back in the period of global warming when the island wasn’t covered in ice and snow but was green? Hence its name. Were there any seal hunting igloo dwellers there when there was no snow to make igloos?
Colonisation, eh? It’s a complex subject, not easily reduced to black and white.
Although the genocide of Scotland’s original inhabitants, the Picts, at the hands of the invading colonisers, the Scots, might be an exception to the rule.
Anybody ken any surviving, real Picts?
Maybes naw, eh?
APEASEMENT of a bully results in more bullying, whether it’s Westminster, Trump, P***n or Xi.
The only person in Europe who appears to get that this latest yanki tactic is fundamentally a question of sovereignty and the status of «international law» is Marine Le Pen and she is prepared to say so.
Trump is a buccaneering business man, a chancer, he wants for America oil & rare earth deposits, he should be offered no chances, zilch, nada,
By the way, when the Vikings first made landfall on the green land it was uninhabited, just like Iceland but significantly not like the territory that became the USA.
But the yankis fixed that «problem»
TURABDIN,
Tomorrow you’ll be arguing that the Bagpipes were invented in Turkey, and you’d be wrong again.
link to en.wikipedia.org
“APEASEMENT of a bully results in more bullying, whether it’s Westminster, Trump, P***n or Xi.”
Aye, the colonial oppressor does what they want with other peoples and territories they annex and dominate. This includes militarily, economically, politically, culturally, psychologically, and more.
That’s colonialism, an whaur colonized Scots an ither doun-hauden fowks onywhair in the warld are makkit bystanders in thair ain laund.
Fowk should read up on the theory that defines oor reality, and explains what independence really means – i.e. decolonization:
link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com
Alf,
The Greenlanders where given a referendum and voted for Independence its Denmark who classed it as a overseas territory.
Denmark has no claim to Greenland and neither does the USA. It would appear both Scotland, Greenland along with Catalonia are colonialist provenances who just don’t have any rights and no form of democracy.
But lets STOP beating about the BUSH if Scotland held a legal vote tomorrow on Independence without Westminster approval, Denmark would be one of the first to declare the vote nil and stating it was carried out without Westminster approval.
I ask any sane person, how can a Country become Independent unless the colonizer gives consent. Well here is where our problems are Europe is a rotten cesspit of colonizers and will never give consent to lose what they believe they own.
My argument isn’t for the USA its against these colonizing Country’s who will not fave reality and that’s that they do not have any right to these lands and it needs to be return back to its original inhabitants.
Lets not feel sorry for Denmark, lets feel sorry for the Inuits and Greenland.
“Europe is a rotten cesspit of colonizers and will never give consent to lose what they believe they own.”
Yes, absolutely!
Colonialism is the same ‘scourge’ on ‘a people’ no matter whether it is English rule imposed over Scotland, France over New Caledonia, Denmark over Greenland, or Spain over Catalonia.
And, as we see, America is also still dominated by European colonial culture which confirms once more, if needed, that ‘colonialism is force’ (Fanon).
We have to hand it to Moscow, their former ‘union’ (empire) gave up and liberated a lot of national territories only for American and European colonizers to destabilize the ‘new’ borders and grab what they can.
If you were a paid actor, deliberately working for the British State, to destroy any faith in Scotland’s ability to govern itself, this is exactly how I would advise you to go about it.
Starmer also has the contradictory argument (based as human rights) to give away the Chagos Islands and pay reparations.for colonisation.
A strange settlement,
Which latterly America seems to agree with,
When observing his comments and stance over both lands they contradict each other and contradict the position of England holding Scotland a prisoner. Or Wales,
Ireland I am not sure on as the new UK agreement in 1801/ 02; had to dissolve the the Great Britain parliament between Scotland and England first in 1800, while acting as the Parliament of England as there was no Scottish parliament in 1800,
If the people living on the land or indigenous peopleto the lands are the ones you pay reparations too, then Scotland and Wales would certainly come under that classification.
Starmer the EU and UN could find them selves in a quandary over human rights. And Scotland alone.
Never a truer word spoken by Alf Baird when he says colonialism is force.
Just look at the history of the British Empire and you will see time after time, example after example what force means. But there will come a day when the force that the British Empire will come back to haunt.
I had high hopes for the Alba Party when it was formed. It seems my optimism was misplaced.
Would it not be a good idea for all the wee ‘Mickey Mouse’ independent parties to merge. They might even garner support from 1 or 2% of the electorate if they did!
My visits to Wings are becoming more sporadic, especially the comments section. A quick look reveals the usual dross from the likes of Cheyne and Baird. If anyone cared to look at posts from a year ago, 3 years ago, 5 years ago they would see the same repetitive bilge being spouted again and again.
Is it true that especially Cheyne and Baird do not need alcohol? I understand that they are able to get drunk on the fumes from their ignorance, bitterness and grievances!
What are the UN playing at? Is it now about time that they decreed that Scotland is now independent?
You’d be Hatey too eh.
Anyone else?
GREENLAND INDEPENDENCE.
from WIKI.
«A 2025 poll showed that a majority 84% of Greenlanders would support independence from Denmark, with 9% opposing. 61% opposed independence if it meant a lower standard of living, with 39% in favour. When asked in a binary choice between the USA and Denmark, 85% preferred to be part of Denmark with only 6% preferring the USA».
Independence is thus tied to living standards, rather like Scotland.
Factule….the Inuit reached the territory in circa 13c. well after the Norsemen.
America, this «claim» is an old one not just a Trump dream, wants the island for its resources and its strategic position. It would do to it what it has done to Alaska…..pollute.
“Search Assist
Early Inhabitants of Greenland
Initial Settlement
The first humans are believed to have arrived in Greenland around 2500 BCE.
These early inhabitants were part of the Saqqaq culture, which lasted until about 800 BCE.
Subsequent Cultures
After the Saqqaq culture, the Independence I culture emerged around 2400 BCE and lasted until 1300 BCE.
The Dorset culture followed, with the Late Dorset people settling around 700 CE.
Norse Exploration
Viking Arrival
Norse explorers, led by Erik the Red, settled in Greenland around 980 CE.
They established settlements in the southwestern part of the island, which was likely uninhabited at that time.
Disappearance of Norse Settlements
By the 15th century, Norse settlements disappeared, possibly due to climate changes and conflicts with the Inuit, who began to inhabit the areas previously occupied by the Norse.
Danish Claims
Colonial Period
Denmark-Norway reestablished contact with Greenland in 1721 through missionary efforts, focusing on converting the Inuit to Christianity.
Greenland was formally claimed by Denmark after the separation of Denmark and Norway in 1814.
Modern Status
Greenland was incorporated into Denmark in 1953 and has enjoyed home rule since 1979.”
“The propagandist’s purpose is to make one set of people forget that certain other sets of people are human.” – Aldous Huxley
Or, to paraphrase Auld Huxley, in the case of colonialism:
“The colonizer’s purpose is to make one people forget that another people are human.”
Anyway, enough of that stuff… let us discuss other stuff.
But first… three questions:
Is the world we now live in brave and new?
Or is it time for the sleepers to awake?
And if the sleepers awake… will they build a new brave new world?
A world without Trumpeters and other assorted mad musicians whose insanely tuneless orchestra is bangin’ oot a discordant tuneless tune using the beleaguered peoples of Earth as its wearied instruments?
H.G Wells of “War of the Worlds” and “The Time Machine” fame wrote other stuff tae… stuff that influenced quite a few famous authors yont him.
Aldous Huxley credited Wells’ “When the Sleeper Awakes” as being an influence when scribbling his well-known story “A Brave New World” ( yet another famous title took from words quilled by Shakespeare):
Will the Scots ever awake, I wonder… and if they do will they be brave enough to build a new world fir thersels fae the ruins o’ thair auld yin?
Why has The National showing a different oil tanker to all the other papers ? The oil tanker in most newspapers is riding high, obviously empty, strange ?
Maybe it’s a Scottish yin heading for Westminster?