1. Morgatron

Classic Chris, just classic.

2. Astonished

Excellent.

I do hope those of us who support independence will soon see the day when Peter and the rest of them get their just deserts.

I am not alone in thinking ‘the rest of them’ will also have to include members of the police force, the crown office and the judiciary.

3. Muscleguy

Meanwhile the figures show Alba are £80k in the red. ISP are breaking even.

4. Effijy

At one time SNP MPs donated a percentage of their salary to charity.
    Maybe charity is about to begin at home.

The wolf at the door has eaten the piggy bank long ago.

I have every faith in political corruption and absolutely nothing will happen to any of them.
    We have known now for years that a certain woman who went after Salmond broke the law.
    Her punishment- a massive pay rise.

Maybe that would free up prison spaces if we just give lots of money to criminals as opposed to sentencing.

5. Marie Clark

Welcome back Chris, where have you been?

On the ball as usual, well done.

6. Alastair

One Foote in the grave.

7. 100%Yes

The SNP leadership seems to only be able to concentrate on the here and now and its been like that for ten years. It don’t take a genius to realize that come 2026 Holyrood will be returned back to the Unionist parties and from 2026 onwards the Unionist including the Greens will make sure the SNP never are in a position to run Holyrood again its a this point the SNP fall and there isn’t anyone in the SNP who could save the party from the abyss.

Lets be honest the SNP has run the party the same way its run Scotland, I’ll sell this to hide this or I’ll take the money from here and use it here and lets hope no one notices what I’ve done.

8. Alf Baird

And so the dominant national party is co-opted by colonialism, according to postcolonial theory.

As Frantz Fanon wrote:

“While the native thought that he could pass without transition from the status of a colonized person to that of a self-governing citizen in an independent nation, he made no real progress along the road to knowledge.”

https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2021/05/01/is-scottish-independence-decolonisation/

9. Mark Beggan

No money, No activists, No leader, No plan, No support,
    No moral fibre, No integrity, No honesty, No guts, No experience, No trust, No future.

They gave Scotland baby boxes and men in dresses.

A great talent pity about the subject matter.

10. Hatey McHateface

Surely the piggy bank was smashed and every last penny scooped out lang syne?

It should be shown all covered in cracks and sellotape from where it’s been patched back together!

11. Willie

You can only rob Peter to pay Paul if first you have a Peter to rob.

But the SNP don’t have a Peter to rob. Mind you they did at one time have a Peter who made off with the loot.

Financially it’s conference in a phone box time for the SNP or as the toon shows the treasurer looking up the piggy’s arse.

12. Republicofscotland

The same vile SNP – is not only robbing it’s branches for funds – it, continues to allow Westminster – and its corporate buddies to rob Scotland as well.

Of course – when the curtain finally falls on the political careers – of the likes of John Swinney, and Pete Wishart – these treacherous b*stards, will find themselves sitting on massive pension pots.

13. Robert Hughes

” Peter ” mugged ” Paul ” on the road to Damascus but , in an interesting plot-twist , rather than any conversion occurring , ” Paul ” turned the other ( arse ) cheek and responded ” hit me baby one more time ” . ” Peter ” duly obliged , to the tune of £600,000 , bought his maw a campervan ( even though she couldnae drive ) n blew the rest on ” Twinks ” n pies .

The moral of the story ?

False prophets make real profits . At least until their masters decide they’ve served their purpose n feed them to the dogs .

Great to have you back , in typically fine form , C.C

14. Breeks

No amount of money is worth betraying your country.

If I led Scotland to Independence, the bill would be zero pounds and zero pence. I’d actually be humbled by the honour of being asked to be honest, adequate payment in spades… Even as Breeks, annonymous and without a grain of personal accolade.

There would be a downside mind… If I was in charge, this modern day parcel O’ Rogues and tr@itors to Scotland would all be up to their necks in “shite”…. Sturgeon and her Alphabetty conspirators foremost amongst them. What can I say? It wouldn’t be pretty.

15. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh

Paddy Cullivan has many good lines in this 2021 interview by Peter Young, one of them being: “You should tie the SNP’s wages to how soon they get independence.”

16. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh

If you do watch the above Paddy Cullivan interview, don’t miss the post final-credit snippet.

17. Alf Baird

Republicofscotland @ 10:38 am

Yes RoS, colonialism aye depends on its native collaborators – Cesaire’s “confidential agents pensioned off at high reward”

https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2024/05/25/the-three-phases-of-decolonization-lessons-for-scotland/

18. robertkknight

So, the rancid SNP are now shy of the income associated with the 3 MEPs and 39 MPs lost since 2019, and now rely on subs from c.50,000 paying members and dues from just 9 MPs and 62 MSPs.

Diddums!

19. Graf Midgehunter

Breeks says:

“There would be a downside mind… If I was in charge, this modern day parcel O’ Rogues and tr@itors to Scotland would all be up to their necks in “shite”…. Sturgeon and her Alphabetty conspirators foremost amongst them. What can I say? It wouldn’t be pretty.”
    ————————

If you need any help just let me know. I’ll bring my own whip an’ spade. 🙂

20. twathater

Unfortunately Breeks @ 12.07pm there are TOO many idiots and dullards still supporting the RANCID and VILE snp deviants and perverts, also there are still TOO many people giving politicians messianic god complexes, PEOPLE have to start taking control and DEMANDING that as OUR SERVANTS politicians DO what WE tell them not the other way about, we have to find a way to destroy this subservient political system and regain our rightful SOVEREIGNTY, THAT can only be done through rebellion or SALVO

21. Young Lochinvar

Twathater;

Absolutely correct.
    Westminster has done all it can to deny democracy while the SNP have done pretty much everything they can to undermine themselves and people’s belief in the political route.
    SALVO!

22. sarah

Welcome back from your golf tour, Chris! Is the curly-haired woman the one mentioned in a certain court case, I wonder?

23. Skip_NC

Muscleguy @ 8:17am, you are gravely mistaken. You may be a very fine scientist but you clearly cannot read a set of accounts. That is OK. You are in good company, including a reasonably well-known blogger in the independence community who doesn’t get as many views on his website as Stu gets.

I am aware that people have been making comments on social media about Alba being in the red. To be clear, it is not enough to look at the Income & Expenditure Statement, nor is it even sufficient to look at the Balance Sheet. Notes to the accounts are an integral part of reading a set of financial statements. The Notes to the Accounts, in Alba’s case indicates that, as at December 31st last, we were in the black – not by much but still in the black. A deeper review of the full accounts also indicates that Alba is very good at paying its bills as they fall due. Fiscal responsibility is a good thing and I am glad we are practicing it. It is clear to anyone reading the accounts that there is work to be done in 2024 to maintain our financial position. However, it is evident to me that Alba leadership has practiced fiscal restraint in the past and, until I see evidence to the contrary, I trust them to continue doing so.

It would be really helpful if people would not rush to Twitter and post nonsense without thinking – that is the problem with social media and the “must do it NOW” culture into which many people are sucked. I am also surprised that a scientist such as yourself would not ask questions before forming a view.

24. Hatey McHateface

U Independence Day today, 24th August.

Extraordinary that can go unremarked on a site dedicated to independence and freedom but that’s where we are.

I’m very happy indeed to wish them well, and many, many celebrations of the anniversary of their independence in the years to come.

25. Shug

Well we are starting to see labours 2026 campaign approach.

Constant media “the SNP is wasting public money on vanity projects”

London cut £150 mill from the scottish budget forcing major cuts

Give murray £150 million to distribute to labour target seats in the name of the uk government.

Meanwhile the SNP is firefighting

A police enquiry.
    Someone appearing in court.
    The Salmond case appearing in court and major costs to the scottish government.
    Someone being charged with perjury.
    Someone being charged with conspiracy pervert the course of justice.

Nicola dissapearing into a hole in the ground saying it wasn’t me!!

Key players that thought they were being protected will be chucked under a bus.

Interesting 2 years ahead

26. sarah

Cheer yourselves up by clicking on the Chris Cairns link at the top of the article – it takes you to his archive and there are some crackers this year alone. They’ve put a smile on my face this evening. Now all we need is a giant billboard – outside Holyrood or Bute House perhaps, or at a busy crossroads in Glasgow – and play these cartoons continuously.

27. Shug

I think the SNP brand is dead in the water

28. George Ferguson

If the Norstat poll is correct I will pay out myself. A long way to go until 2026. A very fluid unstable political situation. And the De Hondt system complicates predictions.

29. Geri

“I’m very happy indeed to wish them well, and many, many celebrations of the anniversary of their independence in the years to come.”

Aye. I bet you even have yer wee tash & salute even doon to a tee tae.
    Lest we all forget the obvious – it has zero elected representative, has banned opposition & is scrounging off everyone for weapons so isn’t very fucking “independent” eh?

What have they done since independence besides waste millions to rename half the countrys streets & erect monuments after their Nazis fascist heroes & completely corrupt the country?

https://www.wsws.org/en/articles/2023/03/08/wdtz-m08.html

“Last year alone, 237 streets, squares, avenues and boulevards were renamed just in Kiev, as the city’s authorities, headed by mayor Vitaliy Klitschko, proudly report. The same government, which for nine years since 2014, when Klitschko first became mayor, could not build in Kiev, a city of 3 million people with constant traffic jams on the roads, a single new metro station, a single new multilevel transport interchange, a single new medical center, a single new campus, a single waste processing complex, and so on.

Where did such an insistent desire to rename everything and everyone come from? Is it because a large number of local residents wanted this? Because they were suddenly no longer satisfied with the names of the cities and streets, where they themselves, their parents, and sometimes grandparents were born and raised? Nothing of the sort. There were no referendums, no votes of local residents on these issues, no one asked their opinion.”

Yer a plebiscite Main, always will be. It’ll soon be time for you armchair fuckwits to be greeting over yer poppies while waving yer wee U flags.

30. Geri

*pleb

31. Breeks

OT

We are all familiar with Scotland’s economic plunder, but I have misgivings about another form of plunder…

Right now, there seems to be a mountain of archaeological investigation going on into Iron Age Scotland, yet with rare exception, the case studies are presented by English presenters with a decidedly British perspective.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure these people are adequately qualified and probably have a wealth of experience, but where are Scotland’s archaeologists?

The actual history of Scotland truly fascinates me, yet time and again I’m obliged to sit through “introductions” to Lord So-and-so pictured here in all his finery…

The reverence is nauseating. Most of these f$*kers have been a blight on Scotland, and Scotland’s prosperity, for generations and I am certain they have nothing to add to Scotland’s historic credentials. I would more readily believe the opposite, that the same individuals would rather see Scotland’s heritage remain dormant and buried in the clay while they promote an ersatz “history” of Britain. Time was, they’d have poughed anything Scottish back underground.

I am curious about the mechanism which makes Archaeolgy in Scotland so apparently commercial in these difficult cash–strapped times. Who’s paying for this? I would like to be persuaded this isn’t just that Scotland is producing a wealth of stunning artifacts and archaeology, but as seems ever the case, Scotland’s wealth must be harvested by somebody else.

To my shame, I’d readily accept my personal mistrust could be misplaced, and perhaps we should be grateful for so much attention from experts in their field, but their “frightfully British” bias in perspective gives me the dry boak, and more seriously, sows doubts about their objective impartiality.

Granted, it must be tedious being an Archaeologist south of the Border where their inigenous culture was subsumed by centuries of Roman occupation; an prolonged occupation they seem weirdly proud about. It sticks in their craw that Caledonia resisted Roman invasion, while the tribes in the South rolled over.

There is a missing divide, a deference, between British Archaeology and Scottish Archaeology, and until that changes, hands off our stuff.

32. David

The good news for the SNP is that they are no longer absolutely insolvent. The not so good news is that their accumulated funds amounted to £441k at the end of a year with no major elections in it. In the current year they have had a general election. In the year to December 2023 their Parliamentary levy raised £322,900. I suspect this includes both Parliaments but it is clearly going to take a heavy hit in the current year. The accounts also do not reflect the monies received by the individual MPs to employ staff and office costs.

There was an increase in the declared income from £4.25m to £4.75m but this apparent improvement is more than made up by the fact that a branch levy charged the branches £670K compared with nothing in the previous year. If you strip that out then income actually fell. This levy is also reflected in the creditors figure (since in the previous year the central party had simply not paid the share of membership fees that should have been credited to them) which fell from £(1.23m) to £(640k). In short the entire apparent improvement in their balance sheet, plus a bit more, arises from an internal transfer of funds from the branches to the central party which did not involve actual payment of cash but a reduction in their debts to those branches.

Mr Murrell is still due £60K.

The fact that this apparent improvement comes from these internal transfers and effective writing off of internal debt is reflected that the cash in hand amounted £42k, down fractionally from £46k the year before. How that was supposed to pay for a GE campaign is a mystery that will only be solved next year.

33. Hatey McHateface

Geri

Welcome back.

This place has been as miserable as a sparsely-attended wake on a dreich day lately. We need all the larffs you can post.

But first, we need your apology to all the guid fowks of Wings BTL for your confident prediction that the F16s would never get off the ground. Best you get that one done and dusted before trying to convince anybody you know anything of what you post.

Tell us though, just what is it about a nation fighting to rid itself of occupation, colonialism and imperialism that sticks in your craw so much. Every rational Scot would agree that’s a queer belief for a so-called supporter of Scottish Indy. So what’s the ghastly secret you come on here frantically scrambling to hide?

34. Hatey McHateface

Breeks

You must be unaware that the inhabitants of this neck of the woods, who successfully resisted the Romans, were subsequently Jenny Sided by the new Scots we are now descended from.

Says so in the Declaration Of Arbroath.

Best leave the history and archaeology thingies to those who have a wee bit grasp of the basic facts.

35. Alf Baird

Hatey McHateface @ 9:18 am

“Tell us though, just what is it about a nation fighting to rid itself of occupation, colonialism and imperialism that sticks in your craw so much.”

These people were not properly liberated, they were sold on and enslaved by their own corrupt elite to another imperial power and ideology/culture; it is now the latter’s dubious values that are sovereign in their land, which is being wasted.

The people in question are still colonized, this time by a different albeit still alien culture. No matter who the colonizer is, a colonized people remain ‘bystanders in their own land’ (Memmi).

36. Geri

Main

“Tell us though, just what is it about a nation fighting to rid itself of occupation, colonialism and imperialism that sticks in your craw so much. Every rational Scot would agree that’s a queer belief for a so-called supporter of Scottish Indy. ”

It takes a special kind of fucked up eejit to wish Independence for another nation, any nation, taunt about it even, while simultaneously wishing Scotland never achieves hers.

& U had independence, did you forget, ya eejit? Then they invited in the imperialists, occupiers & disaster capitalists who formed a coup to carve up U to the last man standing & have gambled the lot based on Nazi ideology & empty dreams of NATO & EU membership LOL – as if that’d ever happen. They’ve the same rocks in their head as you seem to have. U was also committing war crimes against ethnic minorities cause they’re Nazis.

& Those F16s can chug & whizz about in their own airspace for now. Pampered pooches no one can fly without a yank onboard. Venture out it’s airspace & there’s a bounty on its head & WW3 cause it’ll have been an act of war by a yank. I thought you Walter mitty fuckwits knew everything about warring?

So just to me clear, to date, that’s geno-cide, rape & torture of POWs & Nazis you support. Oh & lest we forget, not even elected Nazis to boot.

Don’t forget to cry yerself a river on remembrance Sunday!!

37. Hatey McHateface

Alf Baird

So they would have been much better off lying down and accepting Pres P’s dubious values instead?

Would you even be prepared to accept there might be some of them still smarting from their knowledge of the Jenny Side the Orcs visited on them less than a century ago? A real Jenny Side, mind, not a wee, pretendy one.

How’s about Pres P’s denial of the right to existence of their language and culture. Something else the Orcs have a bit of history of.

Tell the wondering readers of Wings BTL. This new dubious colonialism you write of. Does it deny the people of U the right to speak their own language, study their own history, and celebrate their own culture?

Strangely enough, these are rights we all have here in Scotland too. We can immerse ourselves in Scottish culture and history, speak nothing but Scots or Gaelic all day long, and never go out of doors other than in the kilt.

And nobody will give a fuck.

Yet we find you, an educated, respectable Scot, with some reputation in your own country, coming close to making common cause with the Orcs.

Not for the first time I have to ask, WTAF is wrong with your heids?

38. Hatey McHateface

Geri 10:04

Useful post. I thought Nazi was a banned word on here.

Plenty of decent Scots will shed a tear or two on Remembrance Sunday.

We’ll find a moment, too, to remember those who laugh at us for doing so.

You take your time over your various apologies. No rush.

39. TURABDIN

If those seeking Scottish independence were truly «nationalist» the SNP wouldn’t be what it is now.
    Too many just play mind games.
    The British state needs to be scared out its aging wits, not massaged.

40. Hatey McHateface

There’s a good article about Pavel Kushnir online today.

He’s dead now. Maybe Geri, or one of the other usual suspects, will put up a celebratory post in response.

41. Geri

The Yankees empire is over.

They’re completely out of control & answerable to no one. Not just from threatening nukes but from their endless crusade against everyone else’s safety & security.

Just what exactly are they doing in U with 46 bio labs & permission to kickstart that great Nazi past-time of practicing science on the infirm – that they originally crawed was propaganda. Yet another lie exposed. Wouldn’t surprise me at all to discover C*vID was deliberately planted in China cause that’s what they do.

I’d rather have anyone than these fucking eejits in charge to destroy Europeans & blatantly defy international law..they should feck off back to Yankee land – plenty nutters to experiment on there..

I’ve had to modify link to remove U..

https://www.peoplesworld.org/article/after-months-of-denial-u-s-admits-to-running-biolabs/

42. Anthem

Breeks, I totally agree. We know very little about Scottish history, kings & Queens etc,. Where they lived or how they governed. Seemingly, history only started in the era of the plantagenets, Henry the eighth & Lizzie.
    Which is surprising since the Kingdom of Scotland is so much older than the declared kingdom of wangaland.

43. Geri

Alf 9:45

“These people were not properly liberated, they were sold on and enslaved by their own corrupt elite to another imperial power and ideology/culture; it is now the latter’s dubious values that are sovereign in their land, which is being wasted.

The people in question are still colonized, this time by a different albeit still alien culture. No matter who the colonizer is, a colonized people remain ‘bystanders in their own land’ (Memmi).”

Well said.

44. Geri

Main

Not the first eejit to die for Nazi ideology.

You’d have thought he’d have at least picked an actual gen-ocide currently being conducted by his own kin folks & breaking every rule of international law, but naw – he starved himself in protest against the denazification of U.

Isn’t it strange they’re in collaboration with Nazis now? Who’d have thunk it eh?! Such strange bedfellows they keep these days…

45. Alf Baird

Hatey McHateface @ 10:11 am

“Yet we find you, an educated, respectable Scot”

My apologies, I’m sure that was an absolutely shocking discovery to the colonized mindset, which is dependent on ‘debasing the colonized’ (Memmi).

46. Dorothy Devine

Geri , page not found!

47. Andy Ellis

Apparently the biilionaire Telegram CEO Pavel Durov has been arrested at Le Bourget airport after flying in to Paris on his private jet. He holds Ruzzian and Emirati citizenship.

Well…of course he does.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/ckg2kz9kn93o

48. Geri

Main

“Tell the wondering readers of Wings BTL. This new dubious colonialism you write of. Does it deny the people of U the right to speak their own language, study their own history, and celebrate their own culture?

Strangely enough, these are rights we all have here in Scotland too. We can immerse ourselves in Scottish culture and history, speak nothing but Scots or Gaelic all day long, and never go out of doors other than in the kilt.

And nobody will give a fuck.”

Yes, it does. It’s well documented they persecute R speaking communities, opposition parties & outlaw other peoples religion. What kind of eejit are you?

& As for Scotland – don’t talk utter shite. Plenty give a fuck when we try our hand at democracy & self determination, we have no control over foreign policy, have no control over our population, have no control over our assets & have even less control over our education & institutions.

You have a fucked up world view on what colonisation even is.
    Go buy a dictionary.

& BTW, news just in, those “Brits” who tub thump they’re not colonised – try telling that to the yanks. You can’t fart without their permission first & you’re foreign policy, border controls, fucked up ideologies in schools, it’s defense & any ideas about advancing technologies & energy supplies along with trade, is dictated by another country, the USA, thousands of miles away.

Have you learned absolutely zero from BOTH conflicts ya ignoramus? Geno-cide Joe owns yer sorry arse & he has overseen the colonising of the USA by his great buddy Yahoo where every member of Congress has been bought & paid for.

49. Geri

Dorothy

Yes, sorry. I had to remove the U name in the web address because it flew into moderation.

47 USA bio labs in U. The USA now admit to having yet denied it for yrs. All being run without inspection & in defiance of various conventions & international rules. Why so many in that location? I don’t have access to an archive web to shorten the link but you can Google the heading & the page should appear..

From the article:

“As I stressed time and again, the U.S. conducts more bio-military activities than any other country in the world.

“Moreover, the U.S. is the only country opposing the establishment of a verification mechanism for the BWC.”

“The United States has been accused of engaging in biological warfare in the past.

“Late Cuban leader Fidel Castro claimed that its operatives had introduced swine fever and dengue fever into the country, with a previously unknown strain of the latter created in a laboratory.

The aim was to create “the largest number of victims possible,” he said.

Former Daily Worker (U.K.) international correspondent Alan Winnington and Australian journalist Wilfred Burchett were accused of treason and had their passports canceled after exposing the U.S. biological war in Korea in the 1950s.

Despite the denials, an International Scientific Commission headed by Cambridge University’s Professor Joseph Needham concluded that China and North Korea had been subjected to bacteriological weapons.”

50. Alf Baird

Anthem @ 11:11 am

“We know very little about Scottish history..Which is surprising since the Kingdom of Scotland is so much older than the declared kingdom of wangaland.”

Indeed. Not many know of the merger between Scottii and Pictii kingdoms to form what we know of as Scotland. As in any merger one culture becomes more dominant than the other; hence perhaps ‘Scotland’ rather than ‘Pictland’.

One preference might have been ‘Pictland’ given that the Picts are descended from the ancient Neolithic inhabitants, whereas the Scottii entered these lands via Ireland (then known as Scotia) from around AD 500. Which also reflects the subsequent linguistic divide to some extent – ‘Gaelic’ west, ‘Scots’ (or Picts?) east.

What we do know for sure is that country house ‘English’, the dominant language we are taught in school, BBC etc, has nae roots in Scotland (Kay).

51. Republicofscotland

Andy Ellis @12.04pm.

A politically motivated action – that mirrors, that of the politically motivated arrest – of the high ranking Huawei executive, a woman – in Canada a few years back.

Tucker Carlson has called for his release.

Meanwhile the Italian police, have opened up a manslaughter case on the death of Mike Lynch (and friends and family) on his yacht – his business partner – Stephen Chamberlin – was mown down and killed in a car “accident” around the same time, Lynch’s super-yacht sank in the Med – coincidence? I don’t believe in coincidences – in matters such as this..

52. Republicofscotland

“Just what exactly are they doing in U with 46 bio labs”

Geri @10.46 am.

The next release – is already underway with M-Pox, its already in Sweden. It was the Professor Jeffery Sachs – now all but ostracised by the Western establishment – who questioned the origins of Covid.

https://consortiumnews.com/2024/03/19/what-the-us-might-owe-the-world-for-covid-19/

53. Republicofscotland

Poll suggests – that BLiS branch manager Anas Sarwar – will be Scotland’s next FM – and that Nigel Farage’s Reform Party – will win, eight MSP seats at Holyrood.

https://archive.is/Hfo5D

54. Sven

Republicofscotland @ 13.37.

Difficult to gauge what Labour’s standing will be in 2026 when we see how Mr Starmer’s presently going down like a lead balloon already.

55. Geri

Ellis 12:04

That’s cause yer mates despise free speech. They’ve lost the narrative since the dawn of the internet so they’ll shut down or silence all platforms they’re not in full control of, that shares actual reality rather than their bullshit.

Yahoo, another mate of yours, has openly called for the silencing of dissenters & of internet platforms like TikTok for sharing war crimes. By force if need be & the globalists are more than happy to oblige by arresting, sacking, assassinating or funding & organising counter protests like yer other mates over at the EDL trying desperately to whip up some anti Muslim shite to make way for their next puppet regime, Reform.

It won’t come as any surprise to anyone outside the British bullshit corporation.

RoS

Aye, how thick are they to think ppl will swallow the accident crap? Two deaths around the exact same time isn’t an accident.

56. Breeks

Alf Baird
    25 August, 2024 at 12:46 pm

What we do know for sure is that country house ‘English’, the dominant language we are taught in school, BBC etc, has nae roots in Scotland (Kay).

Meh, not so sure.

Naturally, English didn’t exist because England didn’t exist, but that forerunner to English has been called Northumbrian English, but English retrospectively. There certainly weren’t any Angles kicking around at the time.

Northumbrian simply, but quite literally, meant it came from North of the Humber Estuary, which covers quite a broad Kirk if you think about it.

I’ve mentioned before that the earliest recorded place name in Scotland is Stenhousemuir; the placename derived from the Moor with the stane hoose on it, and that stane hoose was reputed to be Arthur’s O’on, a Roman Temple thought to be associated with the Antonine Wall built in AD 142.

The words “stane” and “hoose” are described as Northumbrian English words, but would ostensibly pre-date Dál Riata by three, possibly four Centuries at least.

OK, it’s true, the name might have been compiled later than the Roman Temple’s construction, but Occam’s Razor tends to suggest it wasn’t, and North of Humber “English” was already established in Scotland very early.

These times are somewhat mysterious and ambiguous, but I think that “Northumbria”, and what it actually was, remains a significant part of the greater conundrum. I wouldn’t be too hasty to expunge the language from the earliest semblance of Caledonia / Scotland.

I think “the” language went South, and came back to the North “branded” as English.

IF we assume the Picts were indigenous to what would become Scotland, and “Angle-ish” is linguistically distinct from European languages, (Celtic and Roman), isn’t it possible that Northumbian language might have had a load of Pictish influence to it, waaay before it ever became Angle-ish?

Maybe English didn’t come to Pictland, but Pictland spread it’s influence South centuries earlier.

Idle speculation of course,… or is it? Maybe Old English isn’t as Germanic as it’s believed to be. The oldest texts written in Northumbrian “English” are “just” 7th Century… 500 years after the Stane Hoose Moor ostensibly got it’s name.

See why I get nervous about English archaeologists decoding Scotland’s history?

57. Breeks

Just a quick point to ponder… Which “nation” was more likely to retain it’s distinctive linguistic integrity; the indigenous nation left defiant and unoccupied, or the nation subjugated to Roman rule?

Kinda though-the-looking-glass stuff eh? 😉

Stane, hoose, and moor were already words in use here in Caledonia by AD 142. So who taught whom to speak Anglish if it wasn’t the Angles? Maybe Pictish didn’t disappear at all.

58. Robert Hughes

ROS @ I.31

Yes , the next big scare on the horizon is the Pox formerly-known-as Monkey ( they changed the name in case monkeys were offended ; they’re so thoughtful like that )

It should slot-in nicely once the Proxy War has ended ( probably in 6 months or so ) .

We now live in a state of Perma-Crisis ; how else can * they * keep populations subservient and compliant : particularly when those populations have shown themselves to be so easily manipulated and willing to abandon whatever capacity for independent , critical thought they might have ? Not entirely surprising when the entire MSM , Political Class & Medical Establishment ruthlessly reinforce whatever agenda is being advanced .

* Covid * was merely a trial-run .The next time the enforcing of * measures * will be even more extreme .

Those paragons of selfless devotion to the welfare of humanity – the E.U – are in the process of rolling-out Vaccine Passports , their counterparts in that other bastion of benevolence – W.H.O
    are attempting to give themselves the power to overrule National Governments and impose whatever shit they deem ” necessary ” and all the fun-loving Philanthropaths , eg Gates n Big Daddy Pharma are already rubbing their hands in glee at the prospect of making more $gazillions . All to keep us ” safe ” .

We really don’t deserve them . We REALLY don’t .

Yip , not long now to the air is filled with hysterical cries of ” KILL THE UNVACCINATED ” ” CONSPIRACY THEORISTS BURN IN HELL ” ” WHERE’S OUR BEAUTIFUL LIFE-SAVING BOOSTERS ? ” ” WHAT DO WE WANT ? LONGER , MORE RIGOUROUSLY ENFORCED LOCKDOWNS ”

All overseen by that omniscient demi-god * drum roll * ………

THE SCIENCE !( not to be confused with that old fraud – Science)

Of course , best laid plans n’aw that ….events in M.E might make ” the next Pandemic ” ( which they are not ” predicting , but promising ) superfluous if , eg Beni n the Neo-Stern Gang * succeed * in their desire to precipitate WW3 .

’cause y’know their god is not just a ” jealous god ” ( fuck ! imagine being the creator of EVERYTHING n still being jealous )
    be he’s also a fuckn homicidal psycho who loves his creation as the wolf loves the lamb as he’s tearing it apart and savouring the taste of it’s warm blood .

Scottish Independence ? Forget it .

That will never happen until people stop consuming the poisonous diet of lies n intelligence-insulting versions of reality they’re fed 24/7 365 and stop giving power to the endless succession of pricks n fannies who comprise the Political Class that serve them this diet .

59. Republicofscotland

Dorothy Devine @11.47am

Unfortunately – I can’t link to article, because U is in the article link name – if you wish to read the whole article, it called:

On a Knife’s Edge in U——e

On the Consortium News website.

“Nuland’s answer under oath to Sen. Marco Rubio on Tuesday appeared to confirm the U.S. has biological weapons in U labs. Rubio asked her point blank whether U had biological or chemical weapons. A very uncomfortable Nuland answered that U was conducting “biological research” and the U.S. was worried “materials” would fall into R hands.”

60. Hatey McHateface

Geri & the Piss Takers

You missed one.

There’s 47 biolabs, not 46. The 47th one is so secret that not even the boy who has yet to crack the secret of how to write “Scotland” knows about it.

BTW, did you apologise for getting it wrong about the F16s?

You should. You come across as a hysterical eejit, frantically doubling down on every error in the pathetic hope you can win through by the sheer density of your stupidity.

The trouble with that approach is that when you double down on something everybody can see is wrong, then your credibility goes down the pan.

Whoopsee!

Damn, did I write 47, there’s actually 48. OK, 57, but only because of its apt historical connotations.

Get a friend to explain it for you, and probably explain connotations too, eh?

61. Hatey McHateface

Breeks

It has been conclusively proven that the most famous part of the Declaration of Arbroath, the bit about “100 of us remaining alive” is a direct quote from the Roman author Sallust, who died in 35 BC.

The Declaration also boasts of the obliteration of the Picts by the Scots, but to be fair, it also grants the legitimacy of the Original owners of the Holy Land, as well as celebrating the warrior prowess of some of their great leaders.

So it remains a handy manuscript to hurl in the faces of the “river and sea” chanters, along with their bandwagon-climbing, virtue signalling useful idiots.

As I wrote this morning though, I’d give the ancient history a body swerve. As we can see, it’s a minefield.

62. Rab Clark

So, do YOU think Angus Robertson is a ‘fud’?

Poll:

https://x.com/ianbhood/status/1827740449236463655

63. TURABDIN

To be truly «Scottish» why not learn Welsh the modern form of the language spoken throughout «Scotland» aka Caledonia before the English and Irish invaded.
    Mind games again? Or an airbrushing from history of a culture whose traces were maybe systematically expunged?
    Lowland Scots pushed their way into Orkney & Shetland «overwriting» the norse language and culture of the islands.
    A little bit of home grown imperialism?

64. Republicofscotland

Well said Alex.

Alex Salmond has accused the SNP leadership of being “brain dead” and lacking “fight” to secure independence. The former First Minister also dismissed SNP Cabinet Secretary Angus Robertson as a “fud” after he met an Is-ra-el-i diplomat.

65. Hatey McHateface

@Republicofscooby says: 25 August, 2024 at 6:28 pm

former First Minister also dismissed SNP Cabinet Secretary Angus Robertson as a “fud”

I kinda thought being a fud was key to advancement in the SNP.

It never was any obstacle in the past under AS. It was him who fast tracked NS into the leadership position. And was she ever a fud.

Still, I see Ros is at his usual games. Dig into the article, and this is what AS actually said:

“he’s managed to compromise one of the very few consistent, clear lines that the SNP Government has managed to portray in recent months”

So there we have it. Ever the consummate politician, AS neither supports or condemns the purpose of the meeting, and neither supports or condemns the SNP policy that has lead to criticism of the meeting.

His criticism is entirely based on Robertson breaking the SNP consensus policy, and thus committing the cardinal political sin – sending mixed messages.

It’s good to get that cleared up.

66. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh

DARK WINDSWEPT NIGHT

The robin the cat caught,
    dying in my hands.
    My grief for Scotland also.

OIDHCHE DHORCHA GHAOTHAR

A’ bhrù-dhearg a ghlac an cat,
    a’ bàsachadh nam làimh.
    Mo chràdh air sgàth Alba os barr.

67. Geri

We now know why independence will never be achieved & the SNP went to the dogs the moment those fuckwits went to WM.

Until the UK is knocked off it’s security council perch, which will thankfully be soon, it’ll always be compromised by the geno-cide lobby.

Anyone who watches the UN live TV channel will know that’s an absolute given. Over 100 countries can condemn what’s happening in Palestine until it comes time for the eejit from the UK to speak with the usual shite “an invading, murdering, gen-ocidal, rap*ng, degenerate force has a right to defend itself & can take as much land as they see fit” pish..

There’ll be a special seat in hell for them. They’ll not take their bank balance with them.

The SNP is an administration. It has fuck all business cozying up to warmongering degenerates on their wee all expenses paid excursions to be indoctrinated into their plastic pish their God gave them permission. All sense is lost on those fucking zoomers. No one else would get away with that pish in a court of law. “God gave me it” lol! I suppose they can prove that eh?

The Anglo American downfall can’t come soon enough. They’re a fcking weapon to world peace, security & the human race. If they can’t threaten with nukes & trade – they’ll try a spot of virus/chemical warfare. I didn’t know until recently that they had refused to sign up to a world wide agreement NOT to put nukes in space. FFS – hopefully soon they’ll all fuck off & colonise Mars out of everyone else’s airspace.

It also proves, just like the EU & USA congress, WM is completely captured. Nothing good will ever happen there. Money talks & trumps democracy.

68. Hatey McHateface

@Geri says:25 August, 2024 at 8:23 pm

nukes in space

Don’t look up! You’ll go blind.

69. Dorothy Devine

Geri and RoS,thank you!

70. robertkknight

Even the dogs in the street know the SNP will never deliver Independence.

However, what is laughable is that 50,000 blue-haired biology deniers, wee ginger fuds, the generally weak and feeble minded and other assorted troughers and camp followers refuse see it.

Amazing!

71. Geri

Robert

“However, what is laughable is that 50,000 blue-haired biology deniers, wee ginger fuds, the generally weak and feeble minded and other assorted troughers and camp followers refuse see it.”

They do. They’re not independence supporters. They’re the *happy as we are* crew if they even exist in the first place. Colonisers always have problems with real numbers.

72. Geri

Dorothy

Nae problem.

My original reply flew off to moderation. FFS – what now? I didn’t even mention anything bad.. it’d be useful to be told.

73. Alf Baird

TURABDIN @ 5:39 pm

“Lowland Scots pushed their way into Orkney & Shetland «overwriting» the norse language and culture of the islands.”

Not quite. The Picts as descendants of the Neolithic people, according to the archaeological and historical record, would rightly have regarded the vikings as invaders. The Pictish kingdom opted to merge with the Gaels to create a Scotland able to repel the vikings and other invaders.

74. Geri

Jeez

Popcorn time…

Things are desperate over at Castle Grey skull HQ, otherwise know as the great Satan..

RFK juniors siblings have made a very public spat statement on X all condemning their brother & even dragging in their dead father for weight.

How low can they go?

Like cats in a sack trying to cling onto their dying empire. Doesn’t matter who wins at the end of the day. It’s going down cause the axis of grievance around the world is stronger than any axis of evil they projected onto others. Plus, their GDP & PPP is absolutely shit by comparison.

MAGA – Make America Great Again – aye, stay in the hoose. Yer Rodeo is over.. nearly 80 yrs of mayhem up in smoke. Oh deary, who’ll be the Brits next best friend to latch onto? LOL! Wee Billy no mates.

75. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh

For those investigating Pictish, one available resource online is the 2015 PhD thesis by Guto Rhys (329 page pdf) —

‘APPROACHING THE PICTISH LANGUAGE: HISTORIOGRAPHY, EARLY EVIDENCE AND THE QUESTION OF PRITENIC.’

« 1.5 The Battle over the Ghosts of the Picts: In the late eighteenth century the conflict over the Picts and their language grew more virulent, driven by political, religious and ethnic prejudices and factionalism. This century saw not only the union of the parliaments of Scotland and England in 1707 but also the violent defeat of Jacobitism in 1746 and the attendant suppression of Gaelic identity. The later horrors of the Highland Clearances and famine were to contribute to the contempt felt by many towards all things Gaelic.

« As we enter more deeply into the Enlightenment little credence was given to early origin myths, and a new critical approach, based on evidence and reason, emerged. The Picts were sometimes pressed into service to validate the personal and political agendas, or bias, of involved parties. Some Scots-speaking Lowlanders were placed in a quandary; just how Celtic should they consider themselves? Buying in to a Gaelic past would involve equating themselves with tribal, highland barbarians who were moreover descended from immigrant Irish, whose adherence to Catholicism in recent centuries evoked alarm. Imagining themselves as immigrant Saxons involved the danger of delegitimizing their claim, as first holders, to occupy and rule the land. Finding the means to portray Lowlanders as indigenous, in particular if this could trump Gaelic claims to the linguistically anglicised east, had great appeal.

« The Picts, details of whose language and culture were gradually emerging from the murky past, were becoming objects of increasing interest. They had left very little in terms of concrete evidence of their identity and they were ‘convenient blank sheets on which almost any tale could be written’ (Ferguson 1998, 185). »

https://theses.gla.ac.uk/6285/7/2015RhysPhD.pdf

76. Breeks

Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh
    26 August, 2024 at 12:35 am

… Some Scots-speaking Lowlanders were placed in a quandary; just how Celtic should they consider themselves?

I think that’s a modern concept, probably introduced by 18th Century unionism to “homogenise” their precious UK. Prior to the Union, I don’t believe many Scots gave their origins a second thought.

That’s not to say they didn’t appreciate the various influences and heritage, but I don’t believe they were in a quandary about it.

My point wasn’t trying to identify a Scottish or Pictish exceptionalism, but merely to hypothesise that Northumbrian English was in widespread use in Scotland centuries before it was expropriated by “English” language. For the longest time, there hadn’t even been an England.

To announce to poor Scots that the language they’d been speaking for centuries was suddenly English must have come as quite an unwelcome shock to them.

As evidence of this, I cited the Stane-hoose surname, which ostensibly pre-dated the Mc’s and Mac’s still yet to arrive in Scotland by some 400 years.

Do I query their subsequent claim to be Scottish? Absolutely not. But similarly, I see Northumbrian “English” as scarely English at all.

Scots and English I believe are derived from a common linguistic ancestor which was neither Scottish nor English. Might Pictish have influenced this language? Why not? The populations must surely have communicated.

77. Rab Clark

@Breeks –

Really interesting stuff, and obviously a bit controversial too.

If you’d like to consider expanding your thoughts into an article we’ll publish it. No word limit.

78. Rab Clark

Breeks –

PS Sorry – should’ve mentioned ‘we’ is OTS.

79. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh

Breeks, with respect, your unsubstantiated assertion that “the earliest recorded place name in Scotland is Stenhousemuir” is untenable. Please reference a reputable authority.

Meanwhile, an “in-house” academic authority for the roots of “Scots” as such is obviously the online DSL (DICTIONARIES OF THE SCOTS LANGUAGE/ DICTIONARS O THE SCOTS LEID) website, which states the following:

« SCOTS: AN OUTLINE HISTORY: ORIGINS
    The first speakers of the Old English ancestor of Scots arrived in what is now southern Scotland in the sixth century CE. These people were descendants of Germanic invaders who had arrived in the south-east of what is now England from the early fifth century. Their variety of Old English is known as Old Northumbrian, a northern sub-dialect of Old Anglian, the Old English dialect spoken over a wide territory stretching from the English Midlands to the Scottish Lowlands. The area that these first Old English speakers occupied, in what was later to become Scotland, is characterised by place-names with early Old English elements. This area consists of a wide swathe of what is now south-eastern and southern Scotland, with less extensive settlements along the Solway and, perhaps rather later, in Kyle in mid-Ayrshire.

« Before the twelfth century the English-speaking part of Scotland was limited to these south-eastern and southern areas (except perhaps for the royal court of King Malcolm III and his queen, Margaret, a princess of the ancient royal house of Wessex, whom he married about 1070). By contrast, there is good chronicle and place-name evidence that by the tenth and eleventh centuries the Gaelic language was socially dominant throughout much of Scotland, including the English-speaking south-east. In origin Gaelic was the native language of the Scots of Alba, the kingdom centred north of the Forth and Clyde, whose kings in the tenth and eleventh centuries also gained dominion of the more southerly parts of what was to become an expanded Scottish kingdom.

« Until the late eleventh century the increasing linguistic dominance of Scotland by Gaelic continued, but this trend was reversed with the accession of the Normanized kings of Scotland, particularly King David I (1124–53) and his immediate successors. Thereafter place-names and other indications show a spread of the English-speaking area beyond the south-east, first to other parts of southern Scotland, then in the late twelfth and thirteenth centuries to eastern Scotland north of the Forth.

« This expansion of English in Scotland was brought about by several important groups of immigrants who came to Scotland at the invitation of the king: English-speaking servants and retainers of the new Anglo-Norman and Flemish landowners, and of the monks from England and France; and English-speaking ‘pioneer burgesses’, chiefly from south-east Scotland and from northern England, who settled in the new royal and baronial burghs of Scotland that the king and his supporters had founded.

« […] Though the language of the royal court and the baronage of Scotland was now Norman French, later to become Anglo-Norman, the native tongue of many of these immigrants of lesser rank was a variety of Northern English heavily influenced in pronunciation, vocabulary and grammar by the Old Norse language brought to northern and midland England by Viking-era invaders and settlers. This Norse-influenced Northern English was the principal, though probably not the only, language of the early Scottish burghs, and its contribution to the formation of the language later known as Scots is probably even greater than that of the original Old Northumbrian spoken in south-eastern and southern Scotland.

« […] Gradually the variety of Northern English spoken in Scotland began to diverge from the Northern English spoken in England, and the Scots language (although it wasn’t yet called Scots) emerged from the thirteenth century onwards. »

https://dsl.ac.uk/about-scots/an-outline-history-of-scots/origins/

80. dasBlimp

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/English_language

There you both go. Wonder no more.

81. Republicofscotland

The SNP government – post-Salmond have gotten our NHS into such a state that taxi’s are now being used to ferry patients to A&E – some of the patients are seriously ill and collapse – and pass-out in the back of the taxi’s.

All the ambulances are tie-up at A&E trying to unload patients.

https://archive.is/8J0i5

82. Geri

Aye, shocker! Fck all works in a colonised administration.

Robbing Scots of their natural wealth can only ever end one way. The same fucked up one nation pish.

Imagine being so fucking dense as a naw voter. Hand over yer wages & let some tosser from an unelected government exchange it for some limited peanuts in return they then expect you to work some hocus pocus magic to make everything just work & don’t be under schedule FFS! There’s also a magic formula that supposedly makes our money go above & beyond the targets these roasters even set themselves.

Meanwhile, let’s all wave to the pretty windmills & those oil rigs. Such a Bonnie wee sight to behold…

I bet those wee taxis are ferrying all the UK se-tt-lerz tae A&E & then off tae the bingo…fun all around. I wish everyone was as fucking lucky as us!

83. Geri

Wikipedia – where truth goes to die, edit or be rewritten.

84. Alf Baird

dasBlimp @ 9:23 am

“Wonder no more”

Aye richt, wunner nae mair, yon doun-hauden fowk:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scots_language

“Scots is recognised as an indigenous language of Scotland by the Scottish government,[8] a regional or minority language of Europe,[9] and a vulnerable language by UNESCO”

Hallelujah, but….a langage that isna taucht tae a doun-hauden fowk is aye ‘vulnerable’ tae ‘colonial linguicide’ (Phillipson). Which is all about changing a peoples identity – e.g. tae mak a fowk mair ‘British’ an nae mair ‘Scottis’.

Hence oor ain language is a key determinant of independence for ‘a people’ – somebody ought to inform the daeless SNP who have yet to figure oot whit independence means!

https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2021/07/04/paper-two-the-determinants-of-independence/

85. Captain Caveman

Why on Earth would anyone write stuff in their own *accent*?

I’m from Essex, but you don’t see me writing “awwrite me ol’china, going daaaaaarn the pub wiv me mates for a few pints and a pie and mash maaate”.

Alf. I hate to be the one to break it to you but it’s still English mate.

86. Sven

Captain Caveman @ 11.24.

It’s all to do with “post colonial theory” it seems, Captain. And I suspect you’re about to receive a fair few quotes from three much favoured post colonial theoretical authors.
    However don’t despair, this octogenarian, born and living in Scotland, doesn’t know anyone who speaks in that manner, outwith Burns Suppers. So you’ll comprehend us just fine when you visit.

87. Captain Caveman

Well, you made me chuckle Sven, thank you! 😀

88. James

Aye, ye cannae beat a bit of received pronunciation, right ‘Sven’?
    Dinnae forget to tug yer forelock though.

89. dasBlimp

If Scots is so far removed from English that it is a separate language then I’m a polyglot. I’m off to update my CV.

90. Captain Caveman

Wow, us Essex blokes aren’t used to having people tugging their forelocks at the likes of us (fnarr fnarr). We usually have to put up with “Max Power” Halfords body jibes and people laughing at our essential blue strip lights under our cars.

Well, every do has his day, right? Memmi-tastic! 😀

91. dasBlimp

Geri
    Ignored says:
    26 August, 2024 at 10:29 am
    Wikipedia – where truth goes to die, edit or be rewritten.

If you prefer to subscribe to Breek’s brainfart theorising, then go ahead.

92. Viscount Ennui

Geri says:
    “The SNP is an administration”.

Goodness. One of the most profound things that I have read on these pages. Absolutely true.

Not a political or ideological movement. Just a gaggle of incompetent managers covering their ar*eholes when they screw things up.

That is it. No more needs to be said.

93. Sven

James @ 12.24.

Ah, if only I had a forelock to tug, James. Been many a decade since my days of a DA & friction on a Saturday morning before toddling down to the Magic Stick or the Locarno in the evening.
    A quick rub with a soft cloth would suffice to restore a healthy glow to the old bonce now I fear.

94. Alf Baird

Captain Caveman @ 11:24 am

“Why on Earth would anyone write stuff in their own *accent*?”

Aye, ye ken ye mean *langage*. But you can’t resist it.

As Memmi wrote of colonial bilingualism and the colonizer’s view of the colonized’s language:

“Nothing can describe well enough the extraordinary deficiency of the colonized. The colonized..if he is lucky, is saved from illiteracy only to fall into linguistic dualism. In the colonial context the tortures of colonial bilingualism…is a necessary condition for all culture, all communication and all progress. Here, the two worlds symbolized and conveyed by the two tongues are in conflict; they are those of the colonizer and the colonized.”

Which helps explain why all peoples in self-determination conflict are linguistically divided.

95. Geri

That’s right. No more needs said but seeing as the ink is free…

An administration with cack aw knob…

They’ve heehaw say on our economy
    They’ve heehaw say on foreign policy
    They’ve heehaw say on immigration
    They’ve heehaw say on the cost of living
    They’ve heehaw say on peoples wages
    They’ve heehaw say on pensions
    They’ve heehaw say on anything of any significance

So it begs the question why the fuck they’re going jollies to rub shoulders with genocidal maniacs, bark no fly zones to nuclear powers, host a good old shindig with weapon manufacturers or have endless orgies with those unelected dark forces known as NGOs. Especially the purple kind.

You’d have thought , given they’d ten yrs at the top, to exchange “administration” to “The parliament of Scotland”

No need to answer. Mediocre management wasn’t an accident.

Caveman captain – you don’t need to have a written language. Your kind pollute the Western world & you’ve fck all culture of yer own. Morris dancing & jellied eels – wow. Just what the world is looking for, we’re all well jel!!

96. Geri

I thought this was a great post on culture & language.

Credit tae Dear Scotland, Leah Gunn & Ken Mathieson

https://open.substack.com/pub/dearscotland/p/popular-sovereignty-is-the-key-to?utm_campaign=post&utm_medium=web

97. Captain Caveman

FFS, I might’ve know Memmi would have something to do with it…

Alf. Your own language – the one you’re using here – is ENGLISH. That’s just a plain, binary fact, son, and no amount of blurb about being colonised is going to alter that fact. Whether you choose to deal with it or not.

98. Geri

There’s nothing funnier than an Englishman, of all ppl, Empire & all that, trying tae claim a ppls language disnae matter! LMFAO!

Take yer soup now…

99. Rab Clark

@Geri –

You might find this of interest – we saw a reference to the author via Leah Gunn Barrett’s ‘Dear Scotland’ and checked him out. We assume Alf Baird will already be familiar with his work.

http://www.offtopicscotland.com/post/the-broken-harp

100. Republicofscotland

We’ll find out – on September 16th, if, the ghastly plan for Flamingo Land, at one of our National Parks (Loch Lomond), will get the go ahead – or not.

It is utterly disgraceful – that the bid, has even gotten this far – between this, and the attempted building on the Bannockburn Battlefield – ( A trotting track, and carpark) which should never have been entertained in the first place – I ask, is their nothing sacred left in Scotland? that cannot be purchased – or leased-out, by our colonial government and our treacherous councils.

“Flamingo Land’s exclusive rights to land on the banks of Loch Lomond should end if its second bid for a controversial mega-resort fails, John Swinney has been urged.

The Yorkshire theme park operator signed an exclusivity agreement with government quango Scottish Enterprise in 2016 meaning only they can buy the public land in Balloch.

And despite dropping its original planning application to build a £40million resort at the site in 2019 amid public anger, Flamingo Land had its rights to the land renewed in 2020.”

101. Republicofscotland

Who could blame our hard working teachers – if they decide to take strike action – Tammany Hall – aka Glasgow City Council, is full to the gunnels, with crooks and con men/women – lets start by cutting their jobs – and keep the teachers, lets face it, we need the teachers more than that lot.

“Teachers in Glasgow are to vote on striking in a row over controversial job cuts.

The EIS union describes Glasgow City Council’s decision to cut 450 posts over three years as “damaging and dangerous”.

The council axed 172 of those teaching posts this year. The ballot will run until 1 October.

If teachers vote to strike, action could take place after schools return from the half term break. They are also voting on whether to take part in other forms of industrial action short of striking.”

102. Breeks

Captain Caveman
    26 August, 2024 at 1:28 pm

Alf. Your own language – the one you’re using here – is ENGLISH. That’s just a plain, binary fact, son, and no amount of blurb about being colonised is going to alter that fact. Whether you choose to deal with it or not.

Yeah Alf, you’re speaking German like a native! lol. Don’t you know after the Romans colonised “England”, the Germans colonised the place again and even re-named the place Angle Land… By the time the Normans colonised the place, the name had stuck.

In all fairness mind, I suppose “English” is less of a mouthful than Latino-Germanic-Franco-Norse-ish. Added bonus that the people wouldn’t be confused about who the latest coloniser was. Probably why they decided to call their overlords “Sir”…

Thoroughly versatile subservience, and nice and easy for the plebs to remember.

103. Willie

ROS@2.28pm.
    The Flamingo Land is no more than a Thatcherite give away. The public land being given to Flamingo Land is being sold to them for an undisclosed commercial in confidence exclusive deal. Anecdotal comment however is that the circa 36 acres of Loch side land is being given away for a few tens of thousands of pounds.

And so with 36 acres of land for free it doesn’t take a genius to work out why this Yorkshire based theme park come propery developer is camping at the bit to get it’s hands on this land. As Tesco say, once it’s gone, it’s gone.

And so with Flamingo Land on ownership of the land they as developers will then be able to set up deals with hotel groups, restaurants, and other retail businesses whilst retaining sufficient land ( as bunk house type chalets thst after a few years can be repurpoded to building expensive houses. Oh and of course there is already a housing development mixed in to the development too.

No wonder the great and the good of the SNP, the enterprise agency, and the and the regulators were all happy being wined and dined a a paid for freebie propery development jamboree in Cannes a few years ago. Money talks. The SNP and the quango are Thatchers children selling off ( or giving away at mates rates) the family silver.

104. James

Sven;
    “…A quick rub with a soft cloth would suffice to restore a healthy glow to the old bonce now I fear…”

Sadly it comes to us all!

105. Alf Baird

Captain Caveman @ 1:28 pm

“Your own language – the one you’re using here – is ENGLISH.”

In a colony “it is only the language of the colonizer that opens the door to opportunity”; which is what makes the colonizer “a privileged being” (Memmi).

English is niver ma mither tongue tho. A fowk’s mither tongue is ruitit in thair saul (Kay), hit disna come fae some statutory monoglot colonial institution.

Oor ain language is wha we are, whit gies us oor identity. Tak awa a fowk’s langage ye tak awa thair identity – imperial job duin!

Langage is a human richt, mind, an gies us oor diversity. Fowk dinna aw want tae be makkit English, ye ken.

106. David Hannah

Flamingo Land and the Bannockburn trotting park must be stopped at all costs.

Whoever walks in integrity walks securely, but whoever takes crooked paths will be found out.

Peter Murrell must explain to the criminal courts – where the missing 600K has been embezzled.

Sturgeon and her crooked paths. Stronger for Do not resuscitate.

107. Shug

Well we are starting to see labour’s 2026 campaign approach.

Constant media the SNP is wasting public money on vanity projects

London cut 150 mill from the scottish budget forcing major cuts

Give Murray 150 million to distribute to labour target seats in the name of the uk government.

Meanwhile the SNP is firefighting labour controlled unions ramping up protests.

Meanwhile the SNP continue of their merry way with prejures, liers of membership numbers, writers of vows in charge managing their conference thinking they can manage the membership and press coverage. They are totally oblivious to how ridiculous they look and sound.

Meanwhile in Paisley another great nationalist was laid to rest, a dream crashed by idiots.

108. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh

Or perhaps even Din Eidyn for oldest recorded place-name, featuring as it does in probably the oldest recorded Scottish poem:

‘THE GODODDIN: The Oldest Scottish Poem’ (Kenneth Kackson, Edinburgh University Press, 1969, 1978).

« What is meant by calling the Gododdin ‘the oldest Scottish poem’? Is it not a Welsh poem? Certainly it exists in a manuscript written in Wales, in the Welsh language, in a Welsh library. At the same time, scholars are nowadays for the most part agreed that it or its nucleus must have been composed in Scotland, very likely in Edinburgh [Din Eidyn], in the northern dialect of Brittonic spoken in that region and often called ‘Cumbric’, which, at the date in question [600 AD], is likely to have differed very little from contemporary Welsh; and if there were such differences, and if we had any means of recognising them, most of them would in any case have disappeared in the process of subsequent transmission for centuries in Wales. It is clear, further, that the heroes commemorated were almost all from Scotland, and there is reason to think that Aneirin, traditionally the author, was so too. As for ‘oldest’, the date about 600, if correct, naturally puts it centuries before anything generally regarded as a ‘Scottish’ poem.[…] So let us agree to call the Gododdin, with its linked gorchanau, ‘the oldest Scottish poem’ in the sense here defined. »

Extract:

« Gwyr a aeth ododin chwerthin ognaw.
    ?chwerw en trin a llain en emdullyaw.
    […]Gwr a aeth gatraeth gan dyd.
    ?[…]ny bu mor gyffor
    ?o eidyn ysgor?
    e esgarei oswyd… » Etc

[« Men went to Gododdin, laughter-inciting,?
    Bitter in battle, with blades set for war.
    […]A man went to Catraeth with the day
    […]There was none who more completely?
    From the fortress of Eidyn,?
    Scattered the enemy… » Etc]

109. twathater

@ ROS & Willie I have asked my msp’s, who gave the right to this unelected and unappointed by the electorate QUANGO to sell off ANY part of a national park, THIS land belongs to the Scottish people for their enjoyment and for their benefit

Who gave these carpetbaggers EXCLUSIVE rights to this land, the original opposition to the original plans numbered over 60,000 objections which was a record for objections to a development, the total objections to the NEW proposals stands in excess of 140,000 objectors, WTAF will it take for this QUANGO to tell flamingo land owners to FTFO, In my objection to the development filled online I asked Ross Greer to demand a public enquiry to find out why this company will not take no for an answer, and if this quango is acting professionally

110. twathater

I also meant to add to my previous comment ,the actions of this QUANGO and the ignoring of the overwhelming objections to those proposals exemplifies the urgent necessity for independence and the dire need for a genuine PEOPLE’S ASSEMBLY

111. Anthem

@Twathater. You are 100% correct! These clowns have no legitimate right to Scottish territory, yet, some nonsense is invented to give the impression they can. Scottish lawyers must stand up and be counted. They know this is absurd but still hide in plain site as their own country is raped and plundered. The Scottish public will turn at some point and I certainly wouldn’t want to be in their, or the SNP shoes when they do. It won’t be pretty.

112. Republicofscotland

twathater.

They can get away with much – simply because the people of Scotland, don’t stand-up against them in large enough numbers – add in the vile treacherous bastards known as House Jocks- who’d sell their grannies to advance, or get their palms greased; and Scotland has a big f*ckin notice stuck to it, which says everything is for sale.

Scotland – will continue to be pillaged – and lands sold-off by the lowlife House Jocks to corporations, as long as Scots remain divided – with apathy at the front and centre of Scots thinking.

Scots will are spoonfed shite – by the unionist media (all of it) 24/7 – most Scots, don’t even realise that Scotland is circling the plughole.

The House Jocks are the biggest problem Scotland faces – and until they are kicked out of office – in every prominent position within Scotland nothing much will change.

113. Geri

Twathater

100% agree.

A public assembly/people’s convention is urgently required.

Where are all those ex SNP MPs, yeh ken, the ones that were Stronger for Scotland? They folded early eh? Seems if they don’t win a seat they take their baw away hame..

On the bright side, they’ll own hee-haw under new management. It wasn’t theirs to sell.

114. Dan

Kind of busy with other stuff at the moment but was taking a quick swatch at some of the BESS (Battery Energy Storage Systems) for energy grid projects. And trying to comprehend how all these numerous individual projects will be coordinated and what contracts they’ll get.
    This is big budget and complex stuff and you have to wonder just how it is all being dealt with when you consider how “well” matters like Deposit Return Scheme and procurement of a couple of ferries were handled…

EG.

https://www.tealingbess.com/

https://www.energyconsents.scot/ApplicationDetails.aspx?cr=ECU00003354

Sirius EcoDev is an interesting search in Companies House.

115. sarah

O/T: Is the Rev going to be speaking in public at a theatre in Glasgow on 14th September? I can’t find the advert now but I’m sure I saw he is going to be on stage with Alex Salmond.

116. Hatey McHateface

@ Alf Baird says:26 August, 2024 at 1:00 pm

all peoples in self-determination conflict are linguistically divided

And then later:

Tak awa a fowk’s langage ye tak awa thair identity – imperial job duin!

All the more inexplicable that Alf is so implacably supportive of the imperialist aggressor in the Eastern War.

That’s why I asked yesterday if there are two Alf Bairds on the go.

It’s the only rational explanation.

117. sarah

Re my O/T at 7.41 p.m. – I’ve found it. Alex and Bernard Ponsonby will be talking to the “Stars of the Yes campaign” at the IMAX Glasgow Science Centre from 6 to 10.30 p.m..

So of course the Rev will be there.

118. Hatey McHateface

@Geri says:26 August, 2024 at 1:19 pm

rub shoulders with genocidal maniacs

Naw! Where’s this happening then? We should be told.

bark no fly zones to nuclear powers

Little acknowledged on here, but as it happens, Scotland (check capitalisation) is herself a nuclear power, locked in this rancid union as we are. That means that anybody (Orcs, say) seeking to “redevelop” Glasgow, for example, will get it back in kind. Great, eh?

have endless orgies

Aw, I’m guessing you haven’t been invited yet. Chin up, if they’re endless, you’re turn will come (check spelling).

119. Dumbarton Rock

Flamingo Land or Lomond Banks as they’re now calling it, would be a disaster but the good people now running Balloch and Haldane Community Council are fighting back.
    The leaders of the recently reformed Balloch and Haldane Community Council, have not only been vocal opponents of the Flamingo Land project but have actively used the Community Empowerment Act to galvanise local resistance. They’re spearheading a community buyout, proving that when a community comes together, it can fight for its future on its own terms.

These actions reflect the kind of leadership Scotland needs—leaders who are willing to roll up their sleeves and get stuck into the nitty-gritty of community empowerment. They’re showing us all that self-determination isn’t just a buzzword; it’s a living, breathing process that involves standing up for what is right for our people and our environment.

POWER TO THE PEOPLE!

120. SteepBrae

9.23pm Dumbarton Rock

Donations to Loch Lomond South Community Development Trust (CDT) at GoFundMe.

This is their statement:
    “Balloch and Haldane Community Council is leading in the set up of the Loch Lomond South Community Development Trust (CDT) to action an asset transfer under the 2015 Community Empowerment Act to protect and save the last remaining piece of public land on the shores of the picturesque banks of Balloch, Loch Lomond.

We are looking for your help to raise funds which will aid in the purchase of this land to be kept in the hands of those who care about it so that it can be used for the betterment of the local community and to create wealth and well being opportunities for the local communities and those who regularly visit the area.

We will as a Community Development Trust be able to apply to the Scottish Land Fund for funding but this will not be for the full amount of money that we need so every penny that we can raise will go towards our goal of saving Loch Lomond.

By donating you will be instrumental in allowing the Trust to fund the process to secure an asset transfer of the Tourist Information building and associated land on the banks of Loch Lomond and the west side of Balloch.

Once purchased, Loch Lomond South CDT will ensure that the land and animals are protected and the building is utilised fully to benefit not only residents but tourists visiting the area, as well as create career and training opportunities for the local community.”

121. Willie

Interesting update from Steepbrae and Dumbarton Rock on how a local community group are trying to stymie the Loch side land giveaway to the developer Flamingo Land.

Coming on top of over a 140,000 objectors it shows how iconic public land can and should be used for public good and future generations.

Quite how a sole, privately owned English development company is going to be given a huge swathe of land on the banks of Loch Lomond is nothing short of an outrage.

Santa Claus showering land on to a development company so that they can then develop the land is just unbelievable.

But there is similar precedent only a few miles away where at Lomond Gate as it subsequently got called, land that was owned by the public good was sold by the council to a CIC for a notional one pound.

Thereafter the development company which comprised of a board co-opted with directors from corporate businesses like Chivas Whisky and similar sold the once public land to a developer who then sold on parcels of land to housing developers, retail development companies like Premier Inn, Brewers Fayre Aggreko, a major garage and retail outlet.

With many of the parcels of land sold for many millions of pounds the land and the buildings on it are now worth hundreds of millions of pounds.

But where did all the profit go from this land sold for £1.00 by the council ( and common good land not their’s to sell) to a so called CIC development company go.

It’s absolutely wild, and all in plain sight if one looks. But folks don’t and the wide boys clean up.

Anyway, the reason the land was held in the common good was because the title too it was originally vested in the Scottish Crown going back to King Robert the Bruce. Indeed in part with some of the land comprising what was then intertidal land, King Robert the Bruce apparently moored his ships in what was the Bay of Murroch.

And now, the land is owned in only a few short years by corporates around the globe and in off shore jurisdictions.

Lomond Gate, Lomond Banks, gas and oil, wind farms, battery farms, just ask yourself, who owns Scotland?

Aye Scotland, a land that discovered oil and gas, and hydro and wind and owns none of it whilst the people struggle to heat their homes.

At least the North American Indians got glass beads.

122. Geri

Main

“All the more inexplicable that Alf is so implacably supportive of the imperialist aggressor in the Eastern War.”

You’re proving yer ignorance again. The whole reason that kicked off, besides the Anglo American coup to hail in the Nazis & instigate a good purging, was the systematic persecution of R speakers as laid out in the original Minsk agreement, Minsk two & again in the Istanbul agreement. Odd innit that it’d be mentioned in three official agreements yet the Western propagandists claim it never happened. Not even burning them alive (Odessa) No siree. Never happened. Doesn’t happen.

Yer buddies then went on to persecute others which now includes
    *The R Orthodox church
    *Trade unions
    *Opposition parties
    *The media
    *Elections
    *Referendums
    *Anyone who won’t sign up to the military
    *Anyone who won’t bend the knee to Z
    *An international “hit list” of geopolitical dissenters
    *International “Information terrorists” LOL!
    *Refugees refusing to return to fight should have their host nation deport them/ deny them money at their bank/ arrest their wages & have the money sent to U for Zs latest yacht the war effort LOL!!

Lest we forget, spending millions renaming streets after Nazis & destroying historic statues despite not a pot to piss in & scrounging around the globe.

& All while being unelected. Position expired.

Deary, deary. There goes those “Western values” fir ye.. spreading “democracy” USA style..A coup, a spot of purging, funding and bobs yer uncle, the colonisers have a conflict started – again. Classic playbook – if it’s not religion, start warring factions over language. Works a treat.

& There ya go..a list (not all) of their purging of R & anything & anyone associated with it.

Ye need reminding too, U WAS independent. Look who fucked that right up eh? Still, there’s at least $12 trillion natural untapped assets for the Yanks & Black Rock has already snagged itself chunks of land. & Not a single army needed. Remind us again who is the Imperialists? Another colonial sport, have them fight amongst themselves, they’re all R speakers to racists.

123. Geri

Main

“@Geri says:26 August, 2024 at 1:19 pm

rub shoulders with genocidal maniacs

Naw! Where’s this happening then? We should be told.”

The UN, The ICC, The ICJ.

You’re the same racist arsehole who cried about a 2 yr old baby taken hostage – yet not a tear over babies being blown to bits, incinerated alive or starved.

Upwards of 186,000 so far, not including the buried. That doesn’t define geno-cide tho. What does, according to the UN charter, is a clear desire to eradicate an entire population & make their lives hell & deny them humanitarian aid. They’ve ticked all the boxes. There’s even documented videos calling for it.

Dinnae fash yerself tho, the UN will go & an entirely new international body will replace it & with it an entirely new criminal court & security council. You should tune in to UN TV. Countries are pissed & have no problem in saying so & they far outweigh the Muppet 7.

The G7 are pish poor, colonial & offer zero world security, don’t uphold international laws & offer absolutely hee-haw but violence & plunder. An out of date gentleman’s club of has beens – will never be again.

Excellent news for England – tuffed out all on its lonesome. Germany without the beer LOL. It’s reign finally deid never to rise again. The Anglo Yankees couldn’t help themselves but revert to type. Lay with dogs catch fleas eh? One blessing amongst the chaos, thank fck it’s not going to be 300 yrs+
    Every cloud & aw that…

124. George Ferguson

Before the General Election nobody knew what Labour stood for. You do now. It’s two year Keir not two tier Kier. Labour have the Power and have used it aggressively. During my Monday voluntary work the Winter Allowance came up as a big issue. I can confidently say its the last time Labour will Govern this country. Starkey was right. Labour no longer represents White working class people.

125. twathater

@ Dumbarton rock and Steepbrae , with respect, this community buyout exemplifies just how much we the electorate are treated with contempt from the establishment, this land is actually owned by the common good NOT the quango Scottish Enterprise whatever and whoever they are

In effect we will be buying our own land from a quango who do not own it and do not even have the right to sell it, even to flamingo land

This is like having a crowdfunder to challenge the SG’s reviled hate crime law in court where the public are responsible for raising the legal funds for the CHALLENGE, YET at the same time we the public are also financing the SG’s DEFENSE of the reviled hate crime law , it is lunacy on stilts

126. Geri

Labour hasn’t been Labour since John Smith & even then that was iffy.

Corbyn was a fluke & look how that ended.

Anyone fooled by anti socialist, backstabbing “Sir” Kid Starver & still voted for him deserves zero sympathy. He didn’t earn those names for nothing. His mask slipped the moment he became leader & made it his mission to expel working class members & the left. Banning & sacking MPs for daring to stand at a Pickett line was evidence enough they’re not Labour & should change their name along with the now unionist SNP. Everyone seems to be having an identity crisis lol.

He’d not have been allowed to win the GE if he was on the side of workers or the poor.

127. Geri

Twathater

Well said…

128. SteepBrae

3.09am twathater

Good point, twathater. And yet what’s the alternative now that things are at this stage? Plans for ‘development’ been rumbling on for years and our elected representatives have failed us.

Apparently at least some of the land is owned by Glasgow City Council and managed by West Dunbartonshire Council.

129. Breeks

twathater
    27 August, 2024 at 2:55 am

@ Dumbarton rock and Steepbrae , with respect, this community buyout exemplifies just how much we the electorate are treated with contempt from the establishment, this land is actually owned by the common good NOT the quango Scottish Enterprise whatever and whoever they are

In effect we will be buying our own land from a quango who do not own it and do not even have the right to sell it, even to flamingo land

This is like having a crowdfunder to challenge the SG’s reviled hate crime law in court where the public are responsible for raising the legal funds for the CHALLENGE, YET at the same time we the public are also financing the SG’s DEFENSE of the reviled hate crime law , it is lunacy on stilts…

It IS lunacy on stilts, but the very same thing is happening both in the Middle East and Kursk. Insane events are happening, backed / sponsored by mentally unhinged Western “Leaders” throwing eye watering amount of money around, which isn’t theirs to spend, but who do not submit their actions to scrutiny, democratic control or sanction.

The planet may be seconds away from nuclear catastrophe, because NATO instigated a coup and proxy war it “thought” it could win, which has just recently occassioned NATO forces to invade sovereign Ru$$ian territory. That fact alone, that event coming to pass, is a line in the sand which, brace yourselves, entitles Ru$$ia to use their nuclear weapons in defence. The trigger has been pulled, the criteria for nuclear war met…

That we are not dust and ashes already, is due in large part to Ru$$ia’s RESTRAINT, and dare I say it, sanity in the face of outrageous provocation. I suspect too, the misadventure in Kursk has been no more successful than the remarkably similar Ardennes misadventure in Dec 1944.

This madness MUST de-escalate, or we are literally doomed. The West, yes I do mmean the West, must come to it’s senses, or we’re all dead.

130. Robert Hughes

@ Breeks

The obscenity of German – fucking German – tanks in Kursk, is justification enough for R to obliterate every trace of the pestilent Yank puppets Z regime in Kiev ;fortunately – for mankind – R has displayed remarkable restraint in the face of incessant , unhinged provocation ; displayed remarkable restraint SO FAR .

Unlike the pampered , degenerate clown show under the leadership of ever-smirking WEF-sponsored Globalist Von der Leyen , ie EU ,post-imperial fantasist Yank poodle UK and the MIC-owned donkeys in the US , R understands history , understands suffering , understands sacrifice . Understands the total horror of war .

The US engineered this insanity through it’s ” we own the World ” demented hubris & insatiable lust for MORE MORE MORE : more riches , more control , more domination of others ; in short… more POWER .

Drunk on it’s post-WW2 industrial/economic might ; unscathed on it’s home turf – unlike exhausted , ravaged Europe – for almost 80 years it has been swinging it’s military dick all over the Globe ; when not outright invading sovereign States , eg Korea , Vietnam , Panama , Afghanistan , Iraq , to name just some , it’s been the ardent supporter of every fucked-up extreme Right Gov in Latin America , Africa and elsewhere ; fomenting strife , toppling elected Govs – most recently the Maidan coup – installing it’s preferred puppets , and generally being the igniter of Global conflagrations whenever/wherever it has considered such actions to be in it’s * interests * . No cost in terms of human misery has been too high to protect those * interests * – as long as it’s other peoples who are paying that price .

Well , looks like it’s 80 year bender is coming to and end and the mother of all hangovers is about to kick-in .

Time to sober-up Uncle Sam , before cirrhosis of the intelligence kills not just you but the entire planet

131. Captain Caveman

“Caveman captain – you don’t need to have a written language. Your kind pollute the Western world & you’ve fck all culture of yer own. Morris dancing & jellied eels – wow. Just what the world is looking for, we’re all well jel!!”

Well first off, dear, no-one claimed “you don’t need a written language”, so that’s a nice little straw man in your very first sentence. I was – and still am – laughing at the notion that anyone can take a language (English in this instance) and consider it to be another language by merely phonetically (mis)spelling words as according to regional accent, which is self-evidently rather pathetic.

As for the rest of your trademark, foul-mouthed diatribe, if you’re referring to English culture, I think you’ll find that is amongst the richest, most long-standing and diverse in the world – from Shakespeare to Chaucer, from the Industrial Revolution to the jet engine, to our many works of great architecture, our scientific genius, our inventiveness and our humour. Only a complete ignoramus (such as yourself) would even attempt to claim the contrary, as against a vast backdrop of undeniable, readily observable facts. I mean honestly, the absolute state of you: leering, drooling stupidity personified.

132. Captain Caveman

“Yeah Alf, you’re speaking German like a native! lol. Don’t you know after the Romans colonised “England”, the Germans colonised the place again and even re-named the place Angle Land… By the time the Normans colonised the place, the name had stuck.”

Of course no one – least of all me – was/is pretending that English is somehow an intrinsically “pure” language (which is, in fact, a bastardisation of many languages, as evolved over centuries). But, so what? What has this got to do with one morning deciding that typing English phonetically as according to one’s accent (yet retaining every iota of English sentence structure etc.) merits anything along the lines of considering it a separate, bona fide, standalone language? Another straw man then…

133. Geri

Kursk was a “British” idea. One last Hurrah or some such idiotic rubbish. U & the Brits seem to have an orgasm at the thought of hitting a nuclear plant. That failed spectacularly as any sane person could see beforehand & they paid the price yesterday. The Brits aren’t off the hook tho, we’re now a legitimate target for that brain fart idea.

Some geopolitical commentator, I think it was Martyanov, summed it up to a tee, this is what happens when our so called elite schools churn out fucking eejits with Mickey mouse grades on Art, drama & political sciences then expect them to run a country. Think tanks of eejits who think this is a game & never think of long term consequences for themselves or anyone else – it’s miles away over there.

The Brits are in the thick of this, already linked to terrorist attacks against civilians, turning down the peace deal & now this latest Kursk idea.

As for the ME, well it sailed through parliament that they have our unconditional support, whatever it costs, along with new measures on any dissent against Yahoos apartheid regime. Not a single discussion about it. Democracy eh? Our great Western values now includes geno-cide. Farr Farr!

All is not lost. As they say, there’s more ways to skin a cat. BRICS is championing along nicely, swift payments (& with it the bullying hegemony) is over. The wallet is always a good place to start with bullies & it’s coming at them thick & fast & there isn’t a thing they can do to stop it. 143 countries have finally had enough of their pish in the ME & NATO has demonstrated it commands no authority & has fck all prowess when the chips are down. Outdated weapons, no manufacturers making fast enough, no manpower, no brains, no money & no balls either as they try to deny being involved.

You have to laugh when the whole world rips the piss out of little England. The biggest gob on the planet to be meddling anywhere while they need to advertise jobs on social media & keep crashing ships LOL.

Britannia rules the emmmm, paddling pools..lol

134. Geri

Caveman

“As for the rest of your trademark, foul-mouthed diatribe, if you’re referring to English culture, I think you’ll find that is amongst the richest, most long-standing and diverse in the world – from Shakespeare to Chaucer, from the Industrial Revolution to the jet engine, to our many works of great architecture, our scientific genius, our inventiveness and our humour. Only a complete ignoramus (such as yourself) would even attempt to claim the contrary, as against a vast backdrop of undeniable, readily observable facts. I mean honestly, the absolute state of you: leering, drooling stupidity personified.”

Wrong. That was acquired by thieving off everyone else. Yer looting & theft funded all that along with Scots who invented the modern world & gave you fucking eejits the enlightenment or you’d still be rubbing stones together while dancing round Stonehenge.

Where does the English language come from? It’s a bastardized language also swiped from others. Bit of a mongrel eh? Heinz 57 for your sort to be thinking yer exceptional. Go sit down. We all know yer hard on for other people’s languages & the way ppl speak. It’s a mental illness.

135. Geri

Well said Robert..sums it up nicely.

136. Graf Midgehunter

Cap. Caveman says:

“Don’t you know after the Romans colonised “England”, the Germans colonised the place again and even re-named the place Angle Land… ”
    ———————–

Didn’t know the Germans were there before the Romans..! But then again, the place is full of bastards anyway.

137. robertkknight

Thought I’d check BTL to see if anything interesting was being discussed about Scottish Politics or indeed Scotland in general.

But no.

Just the usual suspects boring the arse off everyone except a handful of like-minded “experts” on global affairs.

Isn’t there a pub you can all meet up in and spare the rest of us your “opinions”?

Asking for a friend.

138. Shug

I think the SNP conference should propose the edinburgh festival be moved to Birmingham (centre of the country) and be rebranded the Great British Festival of Culture.

So many more people coud access the event, we could relieve the housing crisis in edinburgh and resolve the driving and parking problem in Edinburgh.

So much carbon could be saved via flights and transport.

139. Dorothy Devine

Anyone read the piece in the Guardian?
    ‘SNP will lose Scottish election without complete rethink’

Wonder what they’re doing about it .

How’s the ‘rethink’ going chaps and chapesses?

Come to any major conclusions as to why the electorate and membership have abandoned you?

How much money in the piggy bank??

140. Robert Hughes

” Isn’t there a pub you can all meet up in and spare the rest of us your “opinions”? ”

Isn’t there a wee cave where you and yr ilk can go and talk about Scottish Politics – ” Alex Salmond says …. ” , ” that SNP, aren’t they just awful ” , ” did you see that article in the National ” blah fucking blah : who fucking cares what’s happening in ” Scottish Politics ” as we’re pushed ever-closer to nuclear oblivion ?

If the insanity continues there won’t be any Scottish Politics ; there may not be any Scotland you dummy , given the target our country will almost certainly be if this shitshow escalates out of control as it threatens to .

Go on , tell us again how important the 2026 S.E is . That should help to pull us back from the brink of Mass Extinction , eh ?

141. Captain Caveman

“Wrong. That was acquired by thieving off everyone else. Yer looting & theft funded all that along with Scots who invented the modern world & gave you fucking eejits the enlightenment or you’d still be rubbing stones together while dancing round Stonehenge.”

Ah, so it’s “wrong” – as according to “Geri” off the internet. Lol.

No, I think you’ll find that all the things I mentioned earlier are very largely attributable to English culture. To infer (however crudely and ineffectively) that the English played no meaningful role in the invention of the modern world is beyond merely ignorant – it is delusional. My God, you really do have no concept of what an imbecilic image of yourself you unashamedly project to the world; I’m embarrassed for you.

You have the temerity to mention The Enlightenment – this is doubtless nothing more than a mere phrase to the likes of you? In actuality, The Enlightenment is largely attributed to France and Britain. Newton’s ‘Philosophiæ Naturalis Principia Mathematica’ ring any bells? Francis Bacon? Thomas Hobbes? (It’s a rhetorical question btw. My dog would stand a better chance than you in answering it).

Feel free to delude yourself all you like, whilst others are equally free to laugh and point accordingly. Regardless, your crass anti-English prejudices have precisely zero effect on the facts of the matter.

“Where does the English language come from? It’s a bastardized language also swiped from others. Bit of a mongrel eh? Heinz 57 for your sort to be thinking yer exceptional.”

Like DUH. Do ya really think so? Maybe read my earlier post saying precisely this – do you even bother to read what people say, or is it (as I suspect) all about the voices in your head for you?

As earlier explained, the (agreed) fact that English – as a language – is a bastardised hotch potch (er, pretty much as most modern languages) has absolutely bugger all to do with what *I* have said, ergo my mocking the practice of writing English in one’s accent and expecting that to be taken seriously and/or akin to a bona fide (separate) language. But let’s be frank, you and the point are seldom accustomed.

“Go sit down. We all know yer hard on for other people’s languages & the way ppl speak. It’s a mental illness.”

Charmed I’m sure (as ever). It’s not how people speak, it’s how they write (in this specific instance). I realise this most elementary distinction will go over your empty head. Again, try to address what people actually say, rather than what the voices in your head say?

Also, “mental illness”? Really? Glass houses, I’d say.

142. Geri

1. The SNP is unionist.
    2. The SNP is over. There’s no hope of a revival. It’s stone deid, captain.
    3. It’s official, we’re a colony.
    4. No matter what shower of shite is elected, fuck all will change – see bullet point 3.
    5. There is no democracy. It’s all pantomime at 5 yr intervals until the next shower of shite life’s losers take over.
    6. We live in a perpetual two party English lunatic state.
    7. No one seems interested in public assemblies, Scottish conventions (Inc this sites owner) or even exploring any other route than through a cozy seat at the colonisers table looking for scraps. Doffing caps & begging bowls while humiliating Sovereign Scots in the process.
    8. Scotland has wised up. Rehashing SNP bad is nine years out of date.

The end.

There yeas go. “Scottish politics” Asked & answered for the foreseeable future.

143. socratesmacsporran

Shug @10.06am

Dear Boy, If you have to post pish, make it partly-credible pish.

I accept your tongue might be in your cheek when you suggest moving the Edinburgh Festival to Biurmningham, as a great festival of UK culture, however, far from being in the centre of the country, Birmingham is a southern UK city – nd apparently a bankrupt one at that.

The centre of the country is somewhere in the Northern Pennines, indeed, it might well be that Harrogate is the largest urban site closest to meeting that central position.

144. Anton Decadent

With regard to Scotland being sold off, I spotted a headline in the Scotsman last week claiming that if a student accommodation skyscraper is not built in its city centre Glasgow would, and I quote, die. As I mentioned earlier this year, some of these student accommodation newbuilds have it written into the small print that in the event of say a climate emergency these buildings have the right to automatic change of use as to who lives in them.

O/t, is anyone else still waiting for their badges? I have not yet received mines.

145. Geri

Aye, we aren’t even allowed a festival.

Completely consumed & dominated by the English who overrun our capital city, housing, universities & even the gardens & Castle fenced off for the pretendy gentry & house jocks, priced to oblivion & back so it dies a slow painful death like every other fcking thing in Scotland.

It’s a shite state of affairs. The peasants amusement can be looking out at all those Bonnie wee wind miles generating power for free to our overlords. Cue we’ve the wrong kind of wind up next…

146. laukat

With Robinson putting a recruitment freeze on the NHS it pretty much confirms SG would rather unmanaged decline in the NHS than unravel some of its commitments elsewhere. I’m surprised that more isn’t been made of that announcement as its directly cutting resources to an area that is already under resourced and is only one step away from redundancies.

In light of that and also further panicky announcements on use of councils being asked to use non-related funds on wages is Wings planning on doing an article or having a guest article from someone way more capable than me that shows were SG are spending money on the wrong priorities that if spent appropriately would better align with the Scottish public’s needs?

Strikes me that if we’re at that stage just now before Starmer’s October budget then it would be useful to understand what SG can actually do to avoid harm to the services we all rely on. I appreciate that will that may mean SG having to let down its Green or Trans commitments but perhaps its time pressure was applied in that area by making it clear its Trans rights or getting x more nurses in A&E.

147. Republicofscotland

This is not just the fault of the vile treacherous House Jocks – its also a symptom, one of many – of being held in this illegal union – we need to get the House Jocks out of office, they’re the main stumbling block – to kicking this illegal union into touch.

Come the 2026 Scottish elections – don’t vote for the SNP or the Greens – and it goes without saying -that the indy supporters don’t vote for the unionist branch offices at Holyrood either – such as the Lib/Dems, Tories and BLiS aka Scottish Labour.

Where you can vote for the ISP and Alba.

“The number of Scots who are on an NHS waiting list has reached a new high – with official figures showing 864,366 patients are waiting either for an appointment, for tests or for hospital treatment.

That includes more than 9,000 patients who have been waiting at least two years for either in-patient or day care treatment in a hospital, or for an outpatient appointment. Public Health Scotland data from the end of June 2024 also showed there were 1,324 patients who have been waiting three years or more for hospital treatment, either as an in-patient or on a day care basis.”

148. Republicofscotland

The coming added suffering for Scots – could’ve been avoided, or at least mitigated in some way, if Sturgeon the Judas hadn’t sold us out on dissolving this illegal union – but the treacherous b*stard and her clique of vile House Jocks – decided to back the union instead of backing Scots, now a shitload of cuts are heading our way – because the person we put our faith and trust in, to save Scots from this – turned out to be a vile, nasty, b*stard – who put personal – party, and unionist interests – ahead of an entire country’s (Scotland) interests.

Get ready for the major cuts.

“THE Scottish Government faces “considerable uncertainty” around its funding ahead of the upcoming Westminster Budget, independent economic forecasters have said.
    Holyrood ministers are “facing a challenge” in balancing their budget due to financial pressures from Westminster and the Government’s own decisions, the Scottish Fiscal Commission (SFC) warned.

Ministers in Scotland are required to broadly balance the books every year due to a lack of borrowing powers under devolution, but higher than expected pay deals, the council tax freeze and social security reforms are straining public finances.”

https://archive.is/HNLrk#selection-1781.3-1805.247

Get the SNP out in 2026 or suffer the consequences – its been almost ten years (next month the 18th of September) since the indyref – and the SNP post-Salmond has done terrible damage to the cause, and to Scotland in general – a vote for them is a vote, against our interests.

Vote Alba or ISP in the 2026 Scottish elections.

Incidentally – much of the hundreds of million stolen from Scotland every day – in this illegal union – via smart accounting tricks, is bound for U in one form or another – Sturgeon the Judas sent the vile regime $67 million quid of OUR money – to prop up an unelected dictator.

The US and the EU – is sending billions to the detriment of US and European citizens – as they too face the squeeze – a squeeze to prop up a vile evil regime in U and of late the other vile monsters in I.

149. Dorothy Devine

Meant to send my congratulations to the Scottish Womens Hockey team who won the European Championship at the weekend – in trult disgusting weather.
    I do not know if the ‘Scottish’ TV companies picked up on the fact that we have women champions – I would like to think it was reported but I have my doubts.
    Anyway , WELL DONE LADIES!

150. Alf Baird

socratesmacsporran @ 11:21 am

“The centre of the country is somewhere in the Northern Pennines”

The centre of Scotland is just north of Dalwhinnie – A’ve seen the stane masel:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geographical_centre_of_Scotland

But Shug is right, the Edinburgh festival has little to do with Scots and, given its many downsides, might as well be held in southern England, which fits more its ‘cultural’ centre anyway.

151. Confused

Last week there was a nasty little story on the beeb, basically that international students are “paying for the scots students degrees” … and without them there would be nothing

there was a queer, accusatory vibe about it all : “the UNIS are FUCKEDUP and ITS YOUR FAULT!”

– so, the SCOTS ARE FREELOADING off the BAMS??

But the unis BELONG to the scottish people, they were built and paid for by generations of scots, going back to the 15th century – you don’t educate your people for a short term profit but for the long term societal payoff – an educated, capable, highly skilled people; if they are not educating scots, there is no need for them. If they want to be businesses, then they don’t need govt grants and can pay the full tax rate.

what do you say?

– its a ripoff anyway; what worth are degrees if they dish them out like sweets. STEM is bad enough, but the entirety of arts/social sciences, it fills their heads with shite – would be better if that was shutdown for a decade, to clear out all the crap

43000 students at glesga and similar at edinburgh – I am sure its a high quality product. Also, both of these institutions have seen massive amounts of new buildings in recent years – but they claim they are skint. Maybe they should sack their vice chancellors, save a couple of bob.

You can get all the material on the web anyway, e.g. MIT courseware – all the uni does is give you the paper.

unis are tax exempt charities, get billions in govt grants and research money, are having a building boom, then turning round and claiming they are skint – maybe they should compete in the free market, on their own two feet.

– one other thing : I don’t trust anyone who sat all their exams online. Cheating has been a problem since the internet and mobile and also – continuous assessment, coursework, but these days … you can have your buddy behind your monitor, 20 tabs open, along with gpt, feeding you the answers.

The tale is worse than you think – the scotsman, of all rags, had the story, but you need to read down quite far to hit the meat :

https://archive.is/GpsMR
    https://archive.is/SbJZd

international students accounting for 47 per cent of the total at St Andrews University and 42 per cent at Edinburgh University.

About 26 per cent of St Andrews students were Scottish, with 24 per cent coming from England, while at Edinburgh a quarter were from England and 29 per cent were Scottish.

An investigation by The Scotsman in February found the majority of schools and departments at Edinburgh and St Andrews universities made a higher rate of offers to prospective undergraduates from overseas compared to those from Scotland.

If you asked most people they would assume that our unis educated, say 80% scots, 10% english and 10% overseas – way, way, off beam.

The unis are not educating the scottish people, they are merely international business rackets, running a very nice operation being tax exempt and all that, plus getting all those grants, often for some hilariously stupid research. Unis don’t even pay their research and teaching staff all that much – a lot of roles you can make double in industry, but it looks kinda cool to have say “researcher, edinburgh uni” on the CV. Something stinks and I think there should be a massive audit of them all.

In fact, something really stinks; half punters are paying full whack, 1/4 of the punters pay half-whack, you don’t pay tax and your staff are paid peanuts and are on short term contracts, plus the govt/research councils give you piles of dosh … cleaning staff on 12pph, dinner ladies the same … the students have their own laptops/tablets/tech, half the courses are online and the tutorials are run by grad students. Is there a black hole here, or what? Maybe ask the physics dept. down the clerk maxwell building? Oh yeah, then there’s the business spin outs in the commerce parks associated with them, that’s another tickle.

– this “selling Scotland by the pound”, the grand carve up is happening all over with everything. In theory, we still have the political power to stop all this, but once you become a minority in your own land, you lack that recourse even in principle.

People have a lot of goodwill and pride towards our universities, but they don’t know what is really going on. The ripoffs never stop – like the building booms in the cities – that’s not about affordable housing for working people, it’s mainly for students, who come and go and pay over the odds.

Maybe we should go to the endpoint of it all – welcome to BlackRock University (Edinburgh) or BlackRock University (Glasgow), blackrock fucking everywhere.

Our unis, greedy for the cash, take a “pragmatic view” towards idiot foreigners, massaging grades to keep the dough flowing; but this is a general problem, not confined to the outsiders.

Harvard might the richest uni on earth – “a hedge fund pretending to be an educational establishment”

– some people say a unis not a uni unless it was founded by the pope; harvard was founded by puritan nutters, heretics too harsh for england – interesting short –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=92e95I45yBk

– and just mind, conspiracies be damned, these fuckers do control the world, probably via informal networks.

152. James

Site prick John Main thinks Scotland’s a nuclear power.

ROTFLMFAO!

153. Dan

@ Confused

Unfortunately I reckon I am going to have to create another university.
    But mine will have a twist in that it will teach more useful stuff like how to grow vegetables and how to use a spade, instead of a load of intellectual pie in the sky bullshit.
    It’s aw very well these young and cretinous middle class woke fuckers whining about net zero and saving the planet, but if they don’t actually get their shit together and learn the basics of what is required to survive in a sustainable way and live by these principles, then they should just embrace the cosy warm feeling of global immolation because they themselves are the exact problem that they claim to be fighting against.

First students to be educated on spade use have already been identified and are the couple of council workers that drive about in a £150K diesel powered drain cleaning lorry sooking out the road side drain sediment bowls, but drive off without ensuring the actual outflow pipe is clear. This morning I spotted seven drains in a row still choked after they’d be “cleaned” a week or so back.
    There’s defo significant room for improvement on efficiency there I feel.

154. Confused

DAN-UNI has a ring to it.

Practical education existed, but was seduced by the notion of becoming “universities” and cashing in on that; foreigners who think going to East Leicestershire University is going to be Brideshead Revisited and High Table.

The AI boom will create a few AI jobs, but will otherwise eliminate 2/3 of paper pushing office jobs; the middle class are to be crushed, the workers, for once, getting it easy (because they already had their beating 30 years ago.) Computer vision and human dexterity is very hard, much harder than language models. If you could build a robot plumber, it would cost 100M USD, not economic.

– practical skills have staying power. The mobile phone has degraded everything – the kids don’t even understand slightly less new tech – they don’t understand folders on the filesystem (all is backed up on the cloud), they live in terror of the office printer/copier. They also have a very shallow understanding – they think you can do anything with a swipe or flick, fill in a form by voice control, they don’t know what is going on, what is underneath, how it really works. Some folks think the tech world is heading for a crisis of expertise.

Best if you can do both – check out the modelling and design software (with their components libraries), which can be used to drive 3d printers. “seize the means of production”.

I like the idea of off grid – self sufficiency and freedom, but you know if too many people did it they would ban it; some US states ban the collection of rainwater – it belongs to the corporations. Growing your own food may break safety laws. The planning system is a throwback to feudalism, but its a corrupt little racket and greases many palms at a local level.

155. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Flamingo Land and the Bannockburn trotting park must be stopped at all costs.”

Anything Ross Greer is opposed to is fine by me.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,639 Posts, 1,196,791 Comments

• RSS Wings Over Scotland