Failure To Learn

Posted on January 05, 2026 by

Scotland take on Haiti on Sunday 14 June (in the wee small hours of the morning), so this is nice, isn’t it?

At least, it would be if incompetent idiots weren’t in charge.

Firstly because the SNP – a party with a long and dismaying record of promising things it then doesn’t deliver – has made this announcement without the power to enact it. Bank Holidays are determined by royal proclamation, so all the SNP can do is beg King Charles for it and hope he takes pity on them.

But secondly because they’ve proposed it for Monday 15 June, the day AFTER the Haiti match. And that demonstrates a frankly terrible ability to recall Scotland’s record at World Cup finals, and especially the opening games thereof.

1950 – Scotland qualify, but the SFA refuse to participate because the team came second in its qualifying group.

1954 – Scotland send just 13 players to the tournament, despite being allowed a squad of 22, and lose their first match 1-0 to Austria. The manager resigned and the team lost its second and final game 7-0 to Uruguay.

(It’s worth taking a brief moment here to note just how weird the 1954 World Cup was. The group stage comprised groups of four teams, but each side only played two games. Scotland didn’t face Czechoslovakia at all.)

1958 – A creditable opening draw against Yugoslavia. Yay! (Followed by two defeats and going out bottom of the group.)

1974 – A win against minnows Zaire in their only ever appearance at the finals, but by just two goals (Yugoslavia put nine past the hapless Africans), leading to Scotland failing to qualify on goal difference.

1978 – An infamous national humiliation: Ally McLeod’s team has its chances cockily hyped to the moon in advance of the tournament, but Teófilo Cubillas burns his name into the brain of every Scot alive at the time forever as Peru gub us 3-1. (Followed by an arguably even more embarrassing failure to beat Iran and going out on goal difference again after beating Holland.)

1982 – A second opening-game victory, but conceding two goals to lowly New Zealand leads once more to eventual elimination on goal difference after Alan Hansen infamously took out Willie Miller in the crucial last game vs the USSR.

1986 – Beaten 1-0 by Denmark. (Then a loss to West Germany and failure to beat the thugs of Uruguay, who are forced to play almost the whole game with 10 men after a 1st-minute red card. Three teams qualify out of the four-team group, but Scotland finish bottom with 1 point and go home to think again.)

1990 – Another low point for the ages, as Andy Roxburgh’s side go down 1-0 to Costa Rica in their first ever appearance at the finals and Juan Cayasso adds his name to Cubillas’ in Scottish fans’ catalogue of mental scars. (Despite then beating Sweden, Scotland go out after a late loss to Brazil.)

1998 – Scotland play Brazil for a second World Cup finals match in a row, and lose the tournament curtain-raiser unluckily to a Tom Boyd own-goal. We go out bottom of the group after a 3-0 battering from Morocco, who along with Brazil have been drawn against us again this time.

And that was it for 28 years (by a distance our longest absence from the tournament). Our opening-game record reads P8 W2 D1 L5, with the only wins coming against Zaire and New Zealand and the most recent of those being 44 years ago.

Scotland fans have learned to moderate their expectations accordingly, but it appears that the SNP haven’t, attempting to schedule a celebration just hours after the biggest potential banana skin against a team ranked 84th in the world.

(Imagine the riddy if we’d had a bank holiday after Peru or Costa Rica.)

For the love of God, you unbelievable halfwits, if you’re going to do this at least do it a day or two BEFORE the game (the tournament starts on Thursday 11th), and tempt fate just a LITTLE bit less. We’re going to need all the help from it that we can get.

[EDIT 6 January] It’s even more useless than it seemed.

0 to “Failure To Learn”

1. David says:

And what about the fan parks with George Square locked down by the SNP for a 2 year refurb?

No Scotland no Party! And no SNP at the ballot box! I’m not voting for the globalist ("Tractor" - Ed)s the SNP!

Sturgeon get to fuck.

2. Jon Drummond says:

Anything “blessed” by @JohnSwinney will be at best jinxed, at worst royally fucked.

Woodenhead has no idea.

3. 100%Yes says:

I swear to God, I do believe in Scotland. I just don’t believe in the SNP or the people running Scotland into he ground.

4. Hatey McHateface says:

“to celebrate Scotland’s first men’s World Cup match in nearly 30 years”

I was going to take issue with that word “men’s” in there, but thought I better first check. And sure enough, the Scottish ladies did get a shout in 2019.

But now I hate the SNP for what they’ve done in devaluing these terms. Sure, it’ll be blokes playing for Scotland in the men’s World Cup.

But will it be women in the women’s World Cup? With the SNP in charge of Scotland, nobody can be confident there’s a simple answer to that simple question.

5. Skip_NC says:

I can see Haiti doing a Costa Rica on us. The last time we played Morocco we had to go on the attack after we went 1-0 down, hee we nice the two other goals we conceded. This time I think we’ll play out a 0–0 draw. So surely the sensible thing is to have a holiday after we gub Brazil 6-0 and qualify for the knockout stages.

6. 100%Yes says:

The only person and party that doesn’t allow democracy in Scotland is the SNP and John Swinney.

John Swinney has rigged the election making it impossible to even go and ask for a section 30 order never mind say “Scots should be “livid” if Keir Starmer refuses Indyref2 after SNP election victory, says John Swinney.”. So why has John decided that the only plan to achieve Independence is one that is unachievable unless you make it about all Indy party not specifically SNP only.

So after the election Scots are livid once again because the request for a section 30 order has been denied, so John I ask because on one else will, what the fuck are you going to do about it.

7. 100%Yes says:

How many times has the SNP failed to implement acts or bills and then taken to British supreme court only to be ruled against.

I’d rather be run by Trump than this moron, the guy is a prize tit.

The day after Independence he’d be running to England asking for Scotland to rejoin before consulting any of us, the SNP and its Mr nice guy isn’t working for Scotland its time to get rid.

8. Willie says:

Cheapshot SNP with a more than cringe worthy advert.

A simple wish that the boys do well is all that was needed. Of course their ad comes across as utterly sincere and calling for something that is not in the SNPs gift.

Reinforces exactly what a waste of space the SNP are.

• 100%Yes says:

John will be sat in a room with SNP MPs, Councillors, believe in Scotland, the National along the rest of the so called extremely soft Indy supporter waving on England.

9. James Cheyne says:

The pretendy world of the SNP even in football,

wings over Scotland and Xaracen was correct when mentioning the flaws of using AI mistakes, is equally akin to Human errors and mistakes.

On the other hand if either inputs are derived of stupidity , then they are not errors or mistakes, but simply deliberate stupidity with the wishing well ideology that all other humans could just possibly be as stupid as themselves.
    The modern world of reversed intelligence on display.

10. Rob says:

This just sounds like trying to manufacture another them and us argument.
    It would mean a Public holiday for the whole country, which is not likely or are Scotland the only country in the UK to qualify this time ?
    This is hoping for a refusal so that the CG can say they anglo bastards hate us and look we would give you one if we were independent.
    What moron came up with this idea other than for the above reasons, and they wonder why most folk think the SNP and morons

• Ross says:

Or they just think it’s a nice idea to signal giving ordinary Scots a day off for the day after the biggest game in living memory.

My god you lot are glum folk. At least wings is in Bath and definutely won’t get it so has an excuse

As IF Salmond wouldn’t have done the same by the way. And rightly he would have too.

• Willie says:

The creation of an additional bank holiday is not in the gift of the SNP. They do not have the money.

Aside however the cost of a bank holiday is huge. All that lost production. And for employers the cost of at least one days wages, or more if overtime pay has to be given to cover those who are required to work. And for self employed workers hundreds of thousands will just have to lose a day’s wages when laid off due the SNPs virtue signalling that they don’t actually have the authority for.

Says it all really about the dead hand sloth bags at the helm.

But yeah, I do like the idea of the self employed being laid off to lose a days work whilst government workers get paid.

• Campbell Clansman says:

How much will it cost (in lost work, tax revenue, etc.) to have this “holiday?”
      Millions?

11. 100%Yes says:

Russell Findlay backed calls to replace the Flower of Scotland lyrics anthem are ‘cringe’, says Scottish Tory leader.

Mr Findlay its to late to replace reform with stupid ideas. I supposes he wants it to be,

Blake’s poem

And did those feet in ancient time,
    Walk upon Englands[b] mountains green:
    And was the holy Lamb of God,
    On Englands[b] pleasant pastures seen!

And did the Countenance Divine,
    Shine forth upon our clouded hills?
    And was Jerusalem builded here,
    Among these[c] dark Satanic Mills?

Bring me my Bow of burning gold:
    Bring me my Arrows of desire:
    Bring me my Spear: O clouds unfold:
    Bring me my Chariot of fire!

I will not cease from Mental Fight,
    Nor shall my Sword sleep in my hand:
    Till we have built Jerusalem,
    In Englands[b] green & pleasant Land.

• Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

To be fair, he actually said “Loch Lomond”.

• 100%Yes says:

Didn’t the owners of Flamingo land donate money to the Tory’s and now reform.

I like the song as it is and the lyrics are appropriate for any occasion.

Does anyone have any information about if the application for Flamingo land has been rejected by the SG or is that something else they have no idea what to do about?

• Dumbarton Rock says:

We await a decision by Scottish Ministers . Here’s a letter to send to Ivan McKee – send to MinisterPF@gov.scot

Dear Mr McKee,
        I want to express serious concern at your continued failure to publish a decision on the proposed Flamingo Land development.
        For almost a decade, the communities of Balloch and Haldane have lived with uncertainty caused by this proposal. Throughout that period, opposition has been overwhelming, sustained and unequivocal. Residents, community councils and local businesses have consistently and repeatedly rejected this development through objections, consultations and public engagement.
        The Reporter you appointed submitted his report in September. Since then, there has been no transparency, no timetable and no explanation for the delay. This silence is unacceptable and is increasingly viewed locally as a deliberate political postponement rather than a matter of due process.
        The draft “Local Place Plan” is due to be published in January. Proceeding without your decision fundamentally undermines community engagement, asking residents to participate in good faith while a deeply contested development remains unresolved. While the Local Place Plan cannot stop Flamingo Land, withholding your decision strips the process of credibility.
        The people of Balloch and Haldane have been clear, united and consistent in their opposition. They are entitled to respect, transparency and an immediate decision. I therefore expect your determination to be published without further delay, or a clear and credible explanation to be provided.

I would appreciate a prompt and substantive response.

Kind regards,

[Name]
        [Postcode)

• Alf Baird says:

Yes, Flower of Scotland is a dirge, a lament, but a lament accurately reflects the grief of our colonial reality, and our aspiration and right ‘tae be a naition again’.

Normally national anthems have joyous music and words celebrating a peoples freedom, liberation and decolonization. Scotland is not there yet, hence as a colony and annexed territory we are still clearly in lament and grief mode.

A further key point not yet twigged by Swinney’s daeless cabal of useful idiots for maintaining the colonial status quo is that Scotland is the only colony and non-sovereign state in the World Cup final stages.

Maybe if we win the World Cup the UN will gie us membership, or at least confirm our Listing for Decolonization, which should be being discussed around the same time!

• factchecker says:

Wrong, Professor.

By the same definition, England is also a non-sovereign state.

Neither is a colony, according to the UN.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“Maybe if we win the World Cup the UN will gie us membership, or at least confirm our Listing for Decolonization”

Maybe if we win the World Cup the rest of the competitors will call us a fraudulent non-country and get us chucked out.

I’m kinda disposed to believe one possibility over the other, but thankfully it’s academic.

We’re not going to win the World Cup.

Incidentally, has it ever occurred to you that the 4 nations being permitted to participate individually in certain competitive sports is purely an historical hangover from the days when Britain had the greatest empire the world had ever seen? And could thus enforce what it wanted on the rest?

Meaning that when the inevitable re-arrangement of the World Order comes along, if the UK still holds together, there will be no participation by Scottish, Welsh and Northern Irish teams. The new imperial powers won’t grant that dispensation.

If only this was a serious forum for debate, this is the kind of serious subject we could explore.

• Alf Baird says:

“England is also a non-sovereign state.”

Naw, yer wrang thair:

England’s parliament was never dissolved in 1707, it continued.

England was merely rebranded as ‘UK’.

England’s Crown continues to rule (Britannia).

England’s parliament is sovereign.

Aye, England (as UK) is a sovereign state.

• Peter McAvoy says:

Regarding anthems I believe that Flower of Scotland was inspired by the Battle of Bannockburn.Then what inspired the Star Spangled Banner.

Or have many forgotten that it also says these days are past and in the past they must remain,or as I kept thinking about that it should say shat it in 2014.

Also the media has not criticised the GB team at the Olympics which could lead to outsiders and people in the UK saying there should be a GB Team,as I remember that the Scottish and English basketball teams merged.

• Xaracen says:

factchecker said:

“Neither [England and Scotland] is a colony, according to the UN.”

The UN is merely repeating what the British Government told it, so that statement doesn’t have the standing it you think it does. Therefore what it really means is;

‘Neither is a colony, according to the English government.’

And England certainly considers itself a sovereign state, because it still thinks the ‘unlimited English Parliamentary sovereignty’, owned by its former parliament, not only still exists, but that it now covers the territory of sovereign Scotland, too.

The dweebs still haven’t noticed that the English parliament and the British parliament are two different formal entities, because the Treaty entailed far more than just a new name.

You need to check your facts much more better!

• Hatey McHateface says:

Stop pussyfooting aboot, Xaracen.

Just call the UN a bunch of male reproductive organs.

Or is your New Year bottle now empty?

• Aidan says:

If we assume that NSGT=colony then Scotland doesn’t meet the definition of a NSGT either so whether or not the U.K. government have made submissions is sort of irrelevant.

• Xaracen says:

Aidan said;

“If we assume that NSGT=colony then Scotland doesn’t meet the definition of a NSGT either so whether or not the U.K. government have made submissions is sort of irrelevant.”

The UN has not declared that Scotland doesn’t meet the definition of an NSGT, so your argument and thus its conclusion falls.

Must do better!

• Xaracen says:

England can not legitimately be described as a colony and annexed territory.

Failed again!

• Aidan says:

The UN hasn’t declared that I am not the legitimate king of Scotland, therefore I may be king of Scotland.

The UN has criteria for which territories can and cannot be described as NSGT’s. Scotland does not meet those criteria, that’s how we know.

• Xaracen says:

@Aidan;

The UN hasn’t evaluated Scotland’s circumstances, and the evaluation is not as simplistic as you pretend. Your reliance on the ‘salt water separation’ trope is not the slam dunk you think it is.

So you don’t know.

• Hatey McHateface says:

@ Aidan says: 6 January, 2026 at 11:44 am

“I may be king of Scotland”

Fuck off!

I’m the legitimate King of Scotland.

You would be wise to avoid incurring my wrath. Be it known to all, if I should raise my mighty right arm to smite the false claimants and the unbelievers, it will be with the full backing of the UN.

• Aidan says:

“ The UN hasn’t evaluated Scotland’s circumstances, and the evaluation is not as simplistic as you pretend. Your reliance on the ‘salt water separation’ trope is not the slam dunk you think it is.”

The salt water rule is an absolute requirement for which Scotland does not meet, and nobody at the UN is either looking at or planning to look at Scotland’s “circumstances” (whatever that means), so it is pretty simple. Shows over, everyone go home.

12. Broughty Boy says:

Jeez.

To think how many of us campaigned for Parliament to reopen.

25 years later it’s reduced to infantile gimmickry & giveaways.

Salary N Pension Party have led us down this feckless spiral with ever dimmer MSPs.

Bairns across the land let down by a bunch of chancers devoid of principle.

Broken beyond repair.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Wasn’t it “reduced to infantile gimmickry & giveaways” on Day Zero when they all voted themselves medals?

Plenty of people thought so at the time.

Perhaps they were just setting the bar low to avoid any future misunderstandings. Generous reward for SFA was always going to be the norm.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Day zero?

Would that not be the incumbent Unionist parties at that point in time?

Love a bit of unearned tin don’t they, go on, bet you’d go gaga over a new years gong as service to the Union eh?

13. David Holden says:

No need to worry about bank holidays etc because if Trump makes good on his intent to take over Greenland in the next few months and continues to threaten Colombia, Cuba, Canada and Panama the chances are there will be a boycott of the whole shooting match. I wonder how his quest for a Nobel peace prize is going?

• Hatey McHateface says:

Boycott by who?

If President Trump gets oil below $60 permanently, hundreds of millions of people all around the world will be offering up their prayers to him nightly.

And that’s before we consider he’ll trash the economies of Iran and Orcland by doing that. So hundreds of millions more will be onside.

Heck. It’ll be the end of the North Sea too. So even the SNP and Greens in HR will be thankful.

You need to think these things through.

14. 100%Yes says:

I was just wondering what is the real state of affairs in the SNP with regards to money and support, because this stunt by the SNP isn’t to support Scotland having a holiday its something deeper and sinister than that the bastards haven’t cared in the last 11yrs.

The election in May is probably the most important for the SNP and yet their leaders cannot grasp that the SNP doesn’t exist without the Indy supporters.

For a political party core voters to simply stay and home and not go out and vote, not even for any other party is a protest against the SNP and yet the party isn’t for changing.

The PM has stated its for Greenland and Denmark to decides Greenland fate, quite a colonial statement to make. Considering is real reference is in regards to the occupation of Scotland and its for only England to make and with the approval of Mr Swinney. I bet Swinney says nothing regrading the PM’s statement on Greenland when if we was a true Indy support he’d point out the similarities between Greenland and Scotland not being able to decide their future for themselves.

15. agentx says:

A Bank Holiday = a sobering up holiday in Scotland.

• 100%Yes says:

The SNP don’t even mean it. Its a political stunt, all in bad taste, for a party who’s done nothing for Scotland in 11yrs and never will.
      SeeMeAmSNPOut.

• Alf Baird says:

The colonizer “seldom misses an opportunity to de-base the colonized” (Memmi).

16. In 78 Peru were the Copa América cup holders,
    having beaten Brazil on the way to the final,
    and beating Colombia to win it.

Iran had won the AFC Asian Cup in 1976.

17. Independent says:

Just a couple of thoughts from a long time reader/ lurker.

Why not a party solely set up to recreate the run up to 2014.
    Call it The Scottish Independence Party.
    Simple vote winning ideas.
    1. On winning cut SNPs to 69 as per the1979 agreement. Our current 129 is the equivalent of London having over 450 MPs.

2. Create an upper house of say 15.

3. Simple vote winning policies for a manifesto. i.e. 1 or 2 pence per litre of fuel which is used to fund 3rd party insurance for every vehicle. So youngsters and people on low incomes with older vehicles can drive legally getting no convictions for driving without insurance. One Australian state has done this since the 1950s.

4. Swimming pools Public and in schools to be opened for general public use and funded adequately. (I think this would be a much better use of money by keeping people fit and healthy paying millions on under utilised Cycle Lanes.
    I am to old to set anything up long term but feel sure somebody with a political future which has Scottish Independence as a core purpose could take things forward.
    Yours for Scotland and to hopefully achieve Alex’s Dream

18. BLMac says:

The problem with Scottish fitba is the real men play shinty… 🙂

• David Holden says:

Also rugby.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Nah. The real problem with Scottish fitba is that some real men are allowed to play the women’s game.

One of Scotland’s biggest problems going into 2026 is that despite all the hopeful signs and noises made in 2025, the trans insanity is still firmly entrenched in ScotGov and all the way down through the one third of Scots who suck on the swollen teats of ScotGov largess.

• Alf Baird says:

“One of Scotland’s biggest problems going into 2026 is that …the trans insanity is still firmly entrenched in ScotGov”

And so you blame all this nonsense on the ‘ScotGov’, or perhaps even on Scots more generally?

Our colonial reality means ‘ScotGov’ is essentially a spending department of UK Gov and aye staffed by Whitehall’s finest, who follow London’s diktat. MSP’s of all parties are merely window dressing English Crown oath takers, there for good form only.
        Altogether the ‘ScotGov’ and the Scottish Parliament and its many hundreds of funded institutions and agencies are what we might collectively term ‘a colonial administration’.

Trans and woke ideology more generally, like all the other dubious public policies and procedures imposed on Scots by our colonial administrators, are all therefore imported ideas and ideologies which we can place under the oppressive umbrella of ‘Cultural Imperialism’.

In a colony the people can expect nothing other than imposed policies which oppress them and/or are designed to protect the interest of the colonizer; Scots are ‘bystanders’ in oor ain laund and until liberation we will remain ‘out of the game’ (Memmi), subject to the whim of another people and culture.

• Hatey McHateface says:

No way am I believing Memmi, or Fanon, or Jonesey, or any of the others you cite were/are Scots, Alf.

Hence, I have no wish to be subject to the whims of members of other peoples and cultures.

Particularly when it is such alien and foreign peoples and culture as those Memmi and Fanon hail from. Not so dogmatic about Jonesey, he could be Welsh, but my main point will still stand.

19. Willie says:

Dumbarton Rock @11.19pm.
    A good letter in the waiting to send to the Minister who is responsible for the outrage that is Flamingo Land.

Public opinion is indeed overwhelmingly against this proposal. What however is less widely known is the level of public corruption that sits at the heart of this public asset give away.

As Donald Trump knows money talks and it talks big with regard to Flamingo Land. Thatchers children though our so called governmental agencies operate deep. Iconic land giveaway at confidential but understood to be chicken feed prices being at the heart of this.

Folks talk about corruption in Venezeula but don’t realise just how rotten governance is in Scotland. Loch Vegas on the loch, build on iconic public loch side land, given away for a secret sum, anecdotally reported to be hee haw, this is the reality of SNP governance.

Some good toilet cleaning jobs for the natives whilst the developer/s clean up financially. That’s where we are. Time the police or other such body were involved getting behind what has been going on. Of course if the system wasn’t so rotten, so controlled, then in any other country folks might have by now found out what was going on in the shadows.

This rotten saga has now been dragging on for well over a decade and has caused the public purse tens of millions of pounds. And if a wee bird is to be believed, has the public purse also been supporting the applicant pursue the give away.

Folks should have a right to know whats been going on and who has been doing what. Daylight washes clean.

• 100%Yes says:

This is why Wings and I have constantly tried to advocate to people that ridding ourselves of the SNP is more important than Independence. Because it doesn’t matter what the SNP offer it will never be a plan to achieve Independence only to preserve the union, but the so called Indy supporters just don’t get it it must be how the message is being delivered.

I keep making the point that their is something sinister in the SNP running of our Country but it falls on death ears, yes people come on here an post comments but that seems to be all these do, there is no active plan to get behind on any subject.

The worst things to have happened in Scotland since 2014 were Nicola Sturgeon becoming FM and leader of the SNP and The National newspaper what a pile of unionist shite, I got a free years subscription to this rag and the day after Mr Salmond was acquitted it had a letter from alphabet woman continuing the case, no wonder Alex is dead.

I have tried emulously to point out that the continuation of the SNP as the Scottish government until 2031 and beyond is incurable for Scotland. Its evident that the SNP has no love for Scotland or its people and is in fact openly honest about what they are doing and in the manner they are doing it.

I have tried numerous times to point out, that after the 2014 referendum on Sturgeon tour she was in Edinburgh she stated to a schoolboy who posed a question about another referendum and her reply was, we had a referendum we lost and it wouldn’t be fair on the other side if we had another one. Then in 2015 she plastered all over Scotland on billboards lets make Westminster work for Scotland, this is who the SNP are, they have been stating it since 2014 so why are people not paying attention to the message being put out by the SNP.

Wings has pointed once again about the actions of the SNP leadership. That John Swinney wants to get a SNP only majority in order to deliver referendum on Independence by asking for a section 30 order from the PM who has stating before the election you ain’t getting one while he’s PM. This is the same party who took the Scotland’s constitutional question to the British supreme court and didn’t even make a effort to win in fact they help the other side to win.

Now John Swinney want to be FM until 2031 and beyond so I have to ask these so called soft Indy supporters were is you criticism of Swinneys plan now and what are you going to do about it, I don’t expect a reply, and of course The Rag is on board with what ever the SNP do or say why wouldn’t it be they both have the same interest preserving the Union with the SNP in charge in Scotland quite a couple

Voices for Independence post articles from Scot goes pop and Wegingerdug and Lesley Riddoch to name but a few and I’ve tried to point out that these so called extremely low level soft Indy supporters and SNP lovers are happy to continue with the SNP’s plan to Independence and tell us all to vote SNP 1&2 in every election.

I’m am badly educated and I had ago at this Gordon Ross about the way in witch he put his point across about the SNP he came back and stated if your not happy then setup your own Youtube. I thought if I had the education to do it mate I would.

For me Liberate Scotland has went about this whole unity thing with the Alba and SNP in all the wrong way and have wasted years doing it. Even today Liberate Scotland policy is all about achieving Independence when 2026 isn’t about Independence and never was, its about the SNP staying in power and liberate Scotland will achieve nothing and they know it. When liberate Scotland should be about trying to replace the SNP and removing them from power.

Trust me the future isn’t bright and the people we have in power are poor at their jobs. Unless we get behind the idea of working together not to deliver Independence in 2026 but to remove the SNP from power things are only going to get worse, there is even talk of war.

20. factchecker says:

The Professor says (regarding his claim that “Scotland is the only colony and non-sovereign state in the World Cup final stages.”

“England (as UK) is a sovereign state.”.

But England is not the UK.

There is no English Parliament (the UK parliament contains proportional representation of English, Scottish, Welsh and Irish MPs on the democratic basis of one person, one vote).
    There is no English passport
    There are no English armed forces
    There is no English team in the Olympics
    There is no state called England at the UN
    etc.

England can enter the football World Cup only on the same basis as Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, also non-sovereign states, professor.

• Alf Baird says:

The Treaty of Union was never fully implemented hence the ‘UK’ state does not (yet) exist.

The fact remains that Scotland’s parliament and institutions were dissolved, England’s were not, they continued as before, as Professor Black confirmed.

What occurred was therefore annexation of Scotland by England rebranded (as and when it suits) as ‘UK’.

And the reality of annexation is that Scotland has been politically, economically and culturally dominated and exploited by England ever since, made a ‘dependency, i.e. a colony. That seems ever more obvious, not least given the persistent existence of a Scottish independence movement.

For a ‘UK’ state to exist there would have had to be a totally NEW parliament created and that would first require England’s STILL existing ancient parliament to be dissolved, as was done with Scotland’s. This never occurred.

Just because England’s political elite tell us (and the UN, the EU, OECD, Council of Europe or whoever) that the ‘UK’ exists disna mak it true. Imperial powers and violated treaties eh, whit are thay like!

FIFA is perhaps more accurate in recognising Scotland and England, Wales and Ireland (and where Imperial partition means N. Ireland remains the anomaly) as distinct national entities.

• Xaracen says:

@factchecker;

Your claim that “the UK parliament contains proportional representation of English, Scottish, Welsh and Irish MPs on the democratic basis of one person, one vote” necessarily presumes that all of those MPs are constitutionally the same. But they are emphatically not!

That claim only works if you ignore the unequivocal constitutional fact that they are actually two bodies, representing two entirely different sovereignties, neither of which abolished their sovereignties and constitutions, and neither is formally subordinate to the other, because neither agreed to be in the 1707 Treaty.

Given the huge numerical asymmetry between the Scottish and English representations in the shared parliament of the Union, that ‘democratic basis of one person, one vote’ is an obvious, abusive fraud, effectively depriving the Scottish sovereign half of the Union of any meaningful agency within the Union, and is directly responsible for three centuries and counting of the ongoing abuse of Scotland by England despite being an ‘equal partner in a voluntary Union’.

Compounding that presumption, there is literally nothing in that 1707 Treaty that obliges the use of that simple flat vote in the brand new British parliament.

It was an imposed English presumption, and the Scots MPs had no damn business accepting their subordination to England’s MP majorities, because the Treaty and their electors gave them no such leeway, and never have. Thus the Scots MPs have constantly ignored their formal obligations to their electorate and parent kingdom, and failed to defend their and its interests.

There is a word for such behaviour.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“There is a word for such behaviour”

Only one?

Surely their should be two? One English and one Scots?

Try to be consistent, Xaracen. It helps prop up the mirage you know what you’re on about.

“the Scots MPs have constantly ignored their formal obligations to their electorate”

That’s just plain laughable. The Scottish electorate in 1707 was a tiny handful of landed gentry, ecclesiastical nobility and rich merchants.

Plenty of other posters never cease to claim that our Scottish MPs have held true to the demands of the literal and collective descendants of the 1707 Scottish elites ever since.

• Xaracen says:

Hatey said;

“Try to be consistent, Xaracen. It helps prop up the mirage you know what you’re on about.

“the Scots MPs have constantly ignored their formal obligations to their electorate” (quoting me)

That’s just plain laughable. The Scottish electorate in 1707 was a tiny handful of landed gentry, ecclesiastical nobility and rich merchants.”

That doesn’t change my point in the least, Hatey.

• Xaracen says:

Hatey, the point was never the franchise. Pre-Union Scotland had its own constitutional machinery, and it worked well enough on its own terms.

The real issue is that under the Union, Scotland’s MPs were never just local delegates. They represented, and still represent the entire sovereign kingdom of Scotland, in a parliament created by Treaty between two equally sovereign kingdoms, neither of which ceded sovereignty to the other.

In that context, their primary constitutional duty was and is to defend the interests of their parent kingdom. But the historical record is blunt: they did not. They rarely, if ever, used the sovereign leverage available to them. Scotland’s unceded sovereignty gave them an effective veto they were fully entitled to exercise, but never did.

That failure has no constitutional defence.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Xaracen

If I concede every point you make in your post, then what then?

I have this feeling of deja vu. I seem to remember these arguments always end up at this question.

Agreeing, whether genuinely or not, with you that there has been 300+ years of unconstitutional government in Scotland, then what does that practically mean?

What does it mean politically? Economically? Militarily? Legally? What difference does it make to any Scot queuing for the bus tomorrow morning, or next week, or the year after next?

The best analogy I can come up with is that of a charity fun runner, who always comes in in the last ten, forever training, preparing and planning in the hope of one day coming in in the last fifteen.

What real difference would that make?

• Aidan says:

James I can actually smell you through the comments BTL mate, go sort yourself out

21. Hatey McHateface says:

Fa’s Professor Baird the day? Fa’s Northy?

How odd that on Nollaig Beag (January 6th on the modern, colonially imposed calendar) they’re not posting on here to bemoan the destruction of our authentic Scottish traditions and dates at the hands of the alien, oppressive coloniser.

Perhaps they don’t care. Perhaps they’re blissfully ignorant.

Perhaps they recognise the merit in celebrating common festivals and holidays with the rest of the world.

In which case, their insistence that we all speak, read and write in a language hardly anybody in the rest of the world knows (Scots) just seems even more daft than ever.

Anyhoo, a Merry Christmas to the people of Foula, who still hold true to Scotland’s authentic calendar. Perhaps if they ever throw off the yoke of Edinburgh’s imposed colonialism, their traditions will remain safe for evermore.

22. James Cheyne says:

Now I don’t know much about football except it was in Scotland in the sixteen hundred and prior to that i some various Annals in the history of Scotland there was a similar game in ancient times akin rugby where a stone ( some times ) carved ball was used thrown and caught by hardy Scots / picts in teams.

When bladders and leather started being used, I would presume it inevitable altered the rules as safety was less of an issue,

There is a rural field on the borders between Scotland and England that the ownership of used to be played for, across a burn, the last winners of this early football game were Scotland,

Perhaps Scotland would have a inspiration to win again if it was for a prize worth gaining, like in ancient time,
    A great way to solve disputes instead of war.
    Football and sport in general would be watched by everyone,

I believe that little field still belongs to Scotland that juts into England,

23. James Cheyne says:

Always getting his fact checker facts wrong,

The British parliament ended by dissolution the parliament of Great Britain in 1800.

The Parliament of England made a new agreement with Ireland which joined England and Ireland known as United kingdom of England and Ireland from 1801/ 02.

This in the legal structure and entity of the present UK parliament.after having dissolved the first Great Britain parliament with Scotland in 1800.

That is in records in the UK parliament of England AND Ireland for you to check factchecker along with the further factual information as evidence wrote down that I provided to Xaracen here on Wings.

24. 100%Yes says:

The so called advocate for Scotland and its people, why should the SNP and its leadership benefit by winning the 2026 election for its betrayal. This should be our focus, but its not.

Which Wings has stated years ago.

25. ALANM says:

“Disaster for Scotland” was a famous phrase coined by the late, great Arthur Montford. Sums up today’s SNP nicely.

26. James Cheyne says:

Alf Baird.

Besides Englands parliament continuing, There are indeed many anomalies ti the theoretical union that fall through the web of deceit. Some of which you mention,

But there are others.

It was the parliament of England that altered the Calendar dates in 1752 on the theoretical treaty of union, not the Scots, as the Scots already used the Gregorian Calender. The treaty of union on Englands side dropped / lost 11 days of it so called 1707 treaty of union,

I am unaware of a treaty that can alter its dates to favour one side because it lagged behind in progress of the world.

27. James Cheyne says:

These gap / lost and missing 11 days of Englands side of the theoretical treaty are never mentioned by unionist,

28. Donald says:

The point of the holiday the next day is ro allow people to stay up all night to watch it, no? Whether they win or lose it’s a bit hard to get up for work over less than two hours sleep

• BigJay says:

Donald, the Haiti v. Scotland match kicks off at 0200hrs on Sunday, 14th of June. The proposed public holiday will start at 0001hrs on the 15th of June, approximately 20 hours after the match concludes.

The ‘day off’ is simply a naked political bribe in an election year.

• Willie says:

Who pays for the bribe. Its an extra days holiday with pay.
        For the public sector there’s no shortage of money. And for self employed workers, well what’s a loss of a days pay.

And what of health service queues. Are we really saying that the entire national health service is to be given a day off. What a bloody great idea from the SNP. Folks on NHS queues waiting for treatment will appreciate that!

And what benefit cutting industrial output too. Who needs to produce anything when you can all tahe a day off.

Typifies the lush bag party that the SNP actually is. Swag bag Swindle politic s

Me im going to deduct payment of a day’s council tax, deduct payment of other taxes. Its wild and example of the wasteful nonsense.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Everybody is ignoring the announcement that our glorious Scottish MSPs have just announced they’re all getting an extra £3K (4.3%) per annum, starting April 1st.

So maybe they need that Bank Holiday to give them an extra day off to spend with their new money.

For those readers who care (and I’m certain Scotland is hoaching with them), one of the MSPs has already started bleating that it’s not nearly enough.

He’s a Tory of course. I say that because the True Sovereign Scots behind the pay rise will very cleverly have put a Tory into his position so that they can claim plausible deniability when the inevitable criticism of the pay rise starts.

“It wisnae us. Some big bad Tory bastard did it and then he ran awa! But we’ll tak the pay rise onyways.”

And so it was ever thus in the wee, pretendy parliament.

29. 100%Yes says:

link to macualraig.substack.com

30. Iain More says:

We should be boycotting NAZI USA WC

• Hatey McHateface says:

Good luck boycotting WCs in this weather.

When it’s Baltic and you gotta go, you gotta go!

• 100%Yes says:

What the fuck has Greenland to do with Denmark another colonial bull shit.

When Starmer said its up to Greenland and Denmark it was an echo we here in Scotland a lot. The only trouble is Scotland is left out of any decision making on the constitutional question and the SNP isn’t interested unless its in a skirt with male reproductive system still attached.

For me Trump is fucking with colonial Europe and I’m loving it, bring it on.

I’ve no love for Europe or colonial Europe its time for them to pay for the damage they have caused on this planet because of greed.

When Denmark says Greenland not for sale, they should be glad I’m not the USA President my reply would who offered to buy it.

• Hatey McHateface says:

The irony of the USA being the most powerful and arguably the most successful colonial enterprise ever in the history of the world is obviously lost on you.

Perhaps you’ve never heard of the millions of Scotch-Irish who spearheaded the drive west, raping, killing, stealing and driving the indigenous American survivors onto the reservations.

• Alf Baird says:

“the USA being the most powerful and arguably the most successful colonial enterprise ever in the history of the world”

Yes, don’t forget the English – Pilgrims, Providence, New England, Boston, New York – Korea, Iraq, Afghanistan, Libya.

For it is primarily the ‘superior’ Anglo-American neo-colonial culture and ‘values’ that aye seek to dominate others.

They also stole Scotland’s oil, aided by those of similar culture in the City of London, oor colonial overseers.

• Cynicus says:

Alf Baird says:
        6 January, 2026 at 10:41 pm

“‘the USA being the most powerful and arguably the most successful colonial enterprise ever in the history of the world”

Yes, don’t forget the English – Pilgrims, Providence, New England, Boston, New York…..’
        ======
        Alf, whit aboot wur ain kintra? Nova Scotia, Albany, Jameston, Houston, Dallas baith TX), Calgary (Alberta/Mull), Perth (AUS), Dunedin, Livingstone (Malawi)….

Dinna sell oor Scots colonisers short !

• TURABDIN says:

US AGRESSION against a European state might trigger a war. European leaders have indicated that an American annexation would be opposed, militarily.
      This would signal the end of NATO.
      Trump is sociopathic. Few now doubt he is even worse than his senile predecessor.
      He also has his eyes on Canada, maybe even Iceland.
      His performance in Scotland shows he has little concern for local customs or laws.
      He & the US need to be taught a lesson. The many enemies they have made should not chicken out of teaching it.

• Bilbo says:

Won’t be happening.

Too many addicted to American Netflix, Amazon, YouTube, Meta etc.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Then again, US aggression against a European state might not trigger a war.

Not a few European states have been looking the other way while Orc aggression was visited on them. I’m not seeing them suddenly growing a pair just because it might be the USA.

31. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

There IS a parallel universe…

‘SNP will build a NATIONAL MOVEMENT OF HOPE in 2026’

– Speech by JOHN SWINNEY 05/01/2026

(Couple of pointed questions at the end)

• 100%Yes says:

Was the event funded by blackrock investments. The man doesn’t know what way to turn, he’s got that many people pulling his strings.

I thought John Major was dill but John Swinney doesn’t Inspire the dead.

• 100%Yes says:

Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh, you are so brave to sit and listen to John Swinney and watch it to the very end. Well done you are a true hero not many could have.

The man person and his voice irritates me I have to turn him off.

• Alf Baird says:

Yes Fearghas, “the vein of cynicism” was not there in 2021.

It is now, hence the ever widening gulf between votes for the SNP and votes for independence, as the Rev has pointed oot.

Mr. Swinney looked decidedly uncomfortable and deservedly so.

• Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

I suppose redaction could be seen as a bureaucratic skill.

32. TURABDIN says:

ANOTHER FAILURE TO LEARN.
    Bullies never do.
    link to archive.is

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,864 Posts, 1,233,979 Comments

• Cynicus on Failure To Learn: “Alf Baird says: 6 January, 2026 at 10:41 pm “‘the USA being the most powerful and arguably the most successful…Jan 7, 03:14
    • Young Lochinvar on And every day was exactly the same: “Wilma Flintstone @ “when she should have been at work” Well well well self-projecting captain of industry: what a joy…Jan 7, 02:18
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Failure To Learn: “I suppose redaction could be seen as a bureaucratic skill.Jan 6, 23:16
    • 100%Yes on Failure To Learn: “Its funny when the SNP has a message it turns to YouTube but always turns of the comments.Jan 6, 23:01
    • Alf Baird on Failure To Learn: ““the USA being the most powerful and arguably the most successful colonial enterprise ever in the history of the world”…Jan 6, 22:41
    • Alf Baird on Failure To Learn: “Yes Fearghas, “the vein of cynicism” was not there in 2021. It is now, hence the ever widening gulf between…Jan 6, 22:11
    • TURABDIN on Failure To Learn: “ANOTHER FAILURE TO LEARN. Bullies never do. https://archive.is/ciPoaJan 6, 22:01
    • 100%Yes on Failure To Learn: “Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh, you are so brave to sit and listen to John Swinney and watch it to the very end.…Jan 6, 21:45
    • 100%Yes on Failure To Learn: “Was the event funded by blackrock investments. The man doesn’t know what way to turn, he’s got that many people…Jan 6, 21:40
    • Hatey McHateface on Failure To Learn: “The irony of the USA being the most powerful and arguably the most successful colonial enterprise ever in the history…Jan 6, 21:40
    • Hatey McHateface on Failure To Learn: “Then again, US aggression against a European state might not trigger a war. Not a few European states have been…Jan 6, 21:35
    • Hatey McHateface on Failure To Learn: “Xaracen If I concede every point you make in your post, then what then? I have this feeling of deja…Jan 6, 21:28
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Failure To Learn: “There IS a parallel universe… ‘SNP will build a NATIONAL MOVEMENT OF HOPE in 2026’ – Speech by JOHN SWINNEY…Jan 6, 21:27
    • Bilbo on Failure To Learn: “Won’t be happening. Too many addicted to American Netflix, Amazon, YouTube, Meta etc.Jan 6, 21:23
    • TURABDIN on Failure To Learn: “US AGRESSION against a European state might trigger a war. European leaders have indicated that an American annexation would be…Jan 6, 21:08
    • 100%Yes on Failure To Learn: “What the fuck has Greenland to do with Denmark another colonial bull shit. When Starmer said its up to Greenland…Jan 6, 20:32
    • Xaracen on Failure To Learn: “Hatey, the point was never the franchise. Pre-Union Scotland had its own constitutional machinery, and it worked well enough on…Jan 6, 20:15
    • Tinto Chiel on Off-topic: “Even Mods can become Rockers: www.youtube.com/watchv=Jtb10ZwbReY Moon’s skinwork from about 7.30 up to the big finish is memorable.Jan 6, 19:33
    • Hatey McHateface on Failure To Learn: “Good luck boycotting WCs in this weather. When it’s Baltic and you gotta go, you gotta go!Jan 6, 18:41
    • Iain More on List Voting For Cretins: “SNP and Greens along with the other Yoon Parties are traitors to ScotlandJan 6, 18:31
    • Iain More on Failure To Learn: “We should be boycotting NAZI USA WCJan 6, 18:29
    • Hatey McHateface on Failure To Learn: “Everybody is ignoring the announcement that our glorious Scottish MSPs have just announced they’re all getting an extra £3K (4.3%)…Jan 6, 18:28
    • Aidan on Failure To Learn: “James I can actually smell you through the comments BTL mate, go sort yourself outJan 6, 18:24
    • Willie on Failure To Learn: “Who pays for the bribe. Its an extra days holiday with pay. For the public sector there’s no shortage of…Jan 6, 17:47
    • Xaracen on Failure To Learn: “Hatey said; “Try to be consistent, Xaracen. It helps prop up the mirage you know what you’re on about. “the…Jan 6, 17:43
    • Aidan on Failure To Learn: ““ The UN hasn’t evaluated Scotland’s circumstances, and the evaluation is not as simplistic as you pretend. Your reliance on…Jan 6, 17:21
    • 100%Yes on Failure To Learn: “https://macualraig.substack.com/p/is-this-the-end-of-liberation-scotlandsalvoJan 6, 17:19
    • BigJay on Failure To Learn: “Donald, the Haiti v. Scotland match kicks off at 0200hrs on Sunday, 14th of June. The proposed public holiday will…Jan 6, 14:37
    • Hatey McHateface on Failure To Learn: “Dinna fash yersel, James. Alf’s posts are never intended for you.Jan 6, 14:25
    • Hatey McHateface on Failure To Learn: ““There is a word for such behaviour” Only one? Surely their should be two? One English and one Scots? Try…Jan 6, 14:19