Doing the job properly

Posted on November 10, 2011 by

Iain Macwhirter on his own blog, acting like a proper grown-up journalist and actually doing the research on the "Would Scotland be allowed into the EU?" debate:

"I've just been looking at the latest report to hit the front pages.  It came from the House of Commons Library and it is a background briefing note, not an authoritative assessment of the Scotland's legal status within the EU. It carries its own health warning:  "[This briefing note]  should not be relied upon as legal or professional advice or as a substitute for it.  A suitably qualified professional should be consulted.""

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,967 Posts, 1,248,886 Comments

• robertkknight on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “Agreed, Alf. Ignore the site pricks/usual suspects.Aug 18, 15:08
    • Marie on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “Monarchy – a relic. Time to get rid.Aug 18, 14:54
    • Aidan on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “You mean the glue won’t sniff itselfAug 18, 13:15
    • Hatey McHateface on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “I was unaware of the correlation between republicanism and Christianity, Spartan. In fact, I thought it was republicans who foisted…Aug 18, 12:51
    • Mark Beggan on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “Yes Alfie that’s right. Now tell us about your academic journey and any marathons you took part in.Aug 18, 12:46
    • Spartan 117 on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “KCIII’s deliberate abandonment of Christianity is just one of the many and varied reasons I am a Republican.Aug 18, 12:35
    • Hatey McHateface on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: ““they are a servile people” “they will always be slaves” Yet one quarter of the world atlas used to be…Aug 18, 12:32
    • Hatey McHateface on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: ““aside from … some traditions of dress” (Fanon). Praise be! I was worried that Professor Baird was about to tell…Aug 18, 12:24
    • Captain Caveman on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: ““– I will enjoy watching the muslims r4pe you and your kind into oblivion.” Well, I daresay I shouldn’t be…Aug 18, 12:20
    • Confused on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “first they came for the autists, but I said nothing as my disability increment was due to ADHD … then…Aug 18, 12:02
    • Confused on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “Hey Caveman – concern yourself less with Scotland and keep tae yir ain midden, your problems are greater https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2026/08/16/eritrean-man-raped-pensioner-outside-church/ -…Aug 18, 12:00
    • Confused on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “oh dear. I thought you really had them, this time … Much as I salute your indefatigability and dog with…Aug 18, 11:48
    • Nicky T Naquetti on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “It’s not 1707 any more, hen. I swear… whatever the story might be, it could be, say – aliens landing…Aug 18, 10:27
    • Alf Baird on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: ““And for the Dean of the Faculty of Advocates Roddy Dunlop KC he has just been told he and his…Aug 18, 10:25
    • Northcode on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “Yes, it was Queen Elizabeth’s former chaplain, Gavin Ashenden, who accused the King of “deserting Christians” and failing to uphold…Aug 18, 10:19
    • Captain Caveman on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: ““First they’ll have to stir themselves from the indifferent, apathy they’re comfortable in. Then they’ll have to wean themselves off…Aug 18, 10:01
    • Hatey McHateface on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: ““it is going to get worse, much worse as the common citizen increasingly comes to both hate and fear the…Aug 18, 09:47
    • Robert on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “Could an excuse be incompetence? One person, with good intent, collects “ringfenced” money, pays it into the SNP bank account…Aug 18, 09:41
    • gm on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “I would vote to close it. No doubt about that. it is doing the Scots harm now and ‘the purpose…Aug 18, 09:40
    • Hatey McHateface on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “When the troughers at the wee, pretendy parliament voted themselves medals of congratulation back in July 1999, many Scots (and…Aug 18, 09:35
    • willie on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “Frankly this latest refusal by Police Scotland to pursue criminal established criminal activity reinforces how institutionally rotten and corrupt our…Aug 18, 09:32
    • Chas on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “I see that Che has been discharged from the loony bin again. It won’t be long before it is readmitted.…Aug 18, 09:32
    • Hatey McHateface on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “You over complicate things, James. No government can bind its successors. No group of people will consent indefinitely to be…Aug 18, 09:28
    • James Che on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “The Crown of England has gone AWOL in multiple faiths that does not defend its one faith above all others,…Aug 18, 09:26
    • Frank Gillougley on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “With reference to above Police Scotland? letter, concluding the subject of uses for the redundant Scottish Parliament building, compare and…Aug 18, 09:22
    • Mark Beggan on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “Just off the phone to Andy Burnham. Told him I was the president of the Peoples Republic of Judea. He…Aug 18, 09:14
    • Hatey McHateface on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “Phew! It would be deadly serious if there was no going back.Aug 18, 09:11
    • James Che on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “The implications for the Crown of one faith, and Crown offices, judges, police and thir authorities dwindles daily in Scotland.Aug 18, 09:09
    • James Che on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “Which reminds those Sovereign people in Scotland, that Charles king of England can hardly claim inheritance of the Crown of…Aug 18, 09:01
    • Mark Beggan on The Land Of Do-As-You-Please: “The one thing the ‘elite’ fear above all else is to appear stupid. The lengths they will go to to…Aug 18, 08:55