An Uncommon Occurrence

Posted on April 24, 2024 by

News reaches Wings this evening that Humza Yousaf has called an emergency meeting of the Scottish Cabinet at 10 o’clock tomorrow morning, just a couple of hours before FMQs. (This information has been confirmed directly to us by a source very close to a member of said Cabinet.)

An emergency Cabinet meeting is an extraordinarily rare event. As far as we’re able to establish there have only been two during the SNP’s time in power – when the budget failed to pass in 2009 and Alex Salmond’s administration had to decide whether or not to trigger a general election, and one the day after the Brexit vote to supposedly plan a second indyref (LOL). But in any case they’re extremely unusual.

The subject of the meeting has not been disclosed to us. It could, for example, concern imminent developments in Operation Branchform, or it could relate to the Bute House Agreement between the SNP and the Scottish Greens. The men in grey kilts may have come for the FM. Or Scotland could be about to declare war on Morocco or something. But we are told that the fact of the meeting taking place is a 100% certainty.

So no sleeping in tomorrow, readers. It’s probably going to be big.

0 to “An Uncommon Occurrence”

1. Simon

Where did the suspiciously appropriate picture come from? ?

2. BroughtyBoy

Brilliant work again Stu.

Scottish Media waiting for Murray Foote’s WhatsApp instructions yet again.

3. Andouilette

Hmph. How am I supposed to sleep now? This is an all night speculation-fest if ever there was one.

4. Cameron Lochiel

Always look on the bright side of life…

5. I. Despair

Yousless has mislaid his arse and being unable to find it with both hands, needs to call in urgent extra help.

6. Astonished

I’m hoping Karma has arrived for ‘ She who must be obeyed ‘.

Tick, tock for the rest of them.

If not, I’m not too bothered because it looks like none of the cabal are getting much sleep. And they all know that Karma is coming.

7. Shug

I suspect any decision now is to late.

Their only chance is uniting the indy movement and they are to stupid to figure that one.

Laughable they think they are electable

The bbc us on a roll in how they frame the news now

8. Dave Llewellyn

I didn’t realise Kezia was still talking to you Stu

9. Shug

What time have the polis agreed to pick up nicola

10. Young Lochinvar

My ten bob on this down Corrals is that Yousaf beat Penfold Pol Pot of the Khmer Vert at Rock paper scissors and he gets to tear up the BHA. He’ll be desperate for hauners as there’s no way this can be spun as *I stand by the ..* fill in the gaps to suit the news headlines or that it may be deemed *hurtful* to the Qwerties..

11. Mark Beggan

The picture looks like an excerpt from the Dire Straits video, Money for nothing.

12. PhilM

Noo let’s hae a wee think aboot wha can foregather at yon Scots cabinet? There’s ten SNP fowk wha can surely attend… but Ah feel like a body’s missing frae ma list…och aye the noo Ah mindet wha! Tis the Laird Advocit, the verra same. Aiblins she’ll pipe up aboot somit or aiblins she’ll be sarely botherit aboot awthing frae th’other lot? (Tis th’second yin…)
    Wha kens efter aw? No me that’s fir sure!!!
    Whit a dae ken is there’ll be ane or twa on thon Twitter the morn greetin aboot ‘hamesucken’ and ‘stouthrief’ which gars me greet anaw…sic like but are they!!!
    Guid nicht tae aw that sleep the sleep o’ th’unco guid, ye ken wha ye are!!!

13. Hatuey

It’s hard not to get too excited but there are at least 3 possibilities…

1) Branchform developments,
    2) We are at war,
    3) Humza wants to change his pronouns.

If we go to war, I’ll be honest, I may consider changing my own pronouns… I’m allergic to death. Do totally real women who totally identify as real women get conscripted?

14. twathater

I watched the news today Wednesday which said that the membership of the greens were having a vote on whether to continue with the Bute house agreement with the voting expected to call for an end to the agreement,Wee Paddy was quoted that if the membership voted to end the deal he would resign his joint leadership position, obviously he has gotten used to the POWER,the tranadian said whatever the decision reached she would NOT resign her joint leadership position or her ministerial position

I also watched a bbc interview in the HR lobby with Ben Macpherson,of the Scum Nonce Party,that guy is a morons moron,he waffled a load of pish and couldn’t answer the question he was asked and instead waffled an answer for a question he wasn’t asked, the interviewer was just as bad he didn’t even pull him up about it

15. David W Ferguson

The whole “men in grey kilts” idea has always intrigued me. The idea that behind the facade of boily-faced student zealots, over-promoted stupid fat people, and obvious grifters and carpet-baggers, there is some cabal of wise adults, becoming increasingly impatient with events and waiting for the right moment to step in and take charge, appears entirely fanciful. Who might they be? Where might they be? Sadly, as far as the SNP is concerned, I think the useleess rabble who appear to be running the show are in fact all that’s there. They are indeed running the show…

16. Colin Dawson

“I. Despair says:
    25 April, 2024 at 12:16 am
    Yousless has mislaid his arse and being unable to find it with both hands, needs to call in urgent extra help.”

They all appear to suffer from arse / elbow differentiation syndrome so goodness knows what the outcome would be.

17. Breeks

Imagine you’re in a crisis, a real jam, your back’s against the wall. As the clock ticks down to H-hour, you assemble the cream of your most loyal diehards, the troubleshooters…

… and across the table you see Air Miles Angus, Shit For Brains Shirley, Shona Robison, Jenny Gilruth, Mairi McAllan, with ominous empty chairs where Harvie and Slater used to sit…

“Who am I Angus?”
    “You are our King Sire”.
    “And do you trust your king?”
    “Eh….”
    “Where is the horse and the rider? What happened to the 100k + Membership? Where is the money? Where is the plan?”
    “The days have gone down the West, and it’s all falling apart. Freaks and weirdos are all around me. How did it come to this.?”

“Sturgeon”.

18. Stoker

Who, *exactly*, called the meeting? Sturgeon or Murrell? LOL!

Seems likely some sort of D.I.V.O.R.C.E is on the cards. Murrell from Sturgeon? Greens from SNP? SNP from Sturgeon? All of the above? One thing is guaranteed, it’s not Scotland from the rUK. Not with the current shower-of-shite running things at SNP HQ.

19. ScottieDog

More like Humza was telt to hold a meeting.

20. Hatey McHateface

That damn camper van had two sets of keys!

It says so on the invoice, I can remember seeing both sets myself. Now only one set can be accounted for. Where is the other set?

Nobody leaves this room until we have tracked down the second set of keys for the van!

I have all day, ladies, gentlemen, others, boths and nones …

21. Effijy

All we do know is that anyone who mentions Indy will be oot the windy!

The Gangrene Party needs to be amputated as the public don’t want the top priorities to be
    VIP status for the sexually confused.

Will a hat pass around the table to find £600K or can anyone back a cake with a file inside
    and a Motor Home on Top.

22. David Duncan

If it’s about Operation Special Branch, sorry Branchform, and related imminent developments – who are they getting their information from? The COPFS shouldn’t be leaking information about development to anyone, far less people linked to suspects who might pass that on, that would surely be illegal.

If it is related to Operation Branchform, and they’re not being leaked information by COPFS, why the need for an emergency meeting? Surely they’ve had enough time to discuss the implications at ordinary meetings?

The relationship between the Scottish Government and the COPFS is very unhealthy.

23. James Che

Hopefully the meeting is being called because we’ve discovered they arn’t officially a Scottish parliament and all their jobs are on the line,
    Everyone must go,

24. sydthesnake

I don’t think Yousless has the command to call any meeting, his masters will have instructed him to do this. Is this truly a meeting of the great and good of the SNP

Common sense is like deodorant—the people who need it most never seem to use it, so don’t expect any big surprises or revelations.

25. Effijy

The media are all agreed on the meeting being about the Greens dumping their coalition with SNP.

MP’s leaving them, members and voters and now alliance partners.
    Maybe a lifeboat would have been a better buy than a mobile home.

26. James Che

Interesting developements that pulls down the whole edifice of Holyrood politics hopefully,
    Maybe they will all squel on each other to save their own skins,

27. Luigi

Sounds like P.A.N.I.C. to me. Things seem to be unravelling fast now.

Aah, to be a fly on the wall this morning, watching those clueless dopes run around with their pants on fire. What a sight to behold. Popcorn ordered.

28. 100%Yes

Its obvious to me Sturgeon is going to follow the same route as her husband and the meeting is to decide wither or not to send Flowers, I would and make it Red carnations.

29. ScottieDog

He’s a puppet. Probably instructed to do so.

30. James Che

Hatuey,

I presume we will either merrily wander of to war with England under conscription as more cannon fodder,
    , or we will leave England,
    It might become one of those decisive moments,

31. 100%Yes

I would presume its to decide if they are to continue the Bute house agreement with the Greens, Its now a case of who can end the agreement first Greens or the SNP.

Don’t get F*cking emotionally aroused its not about Independence and if it was I would be totally shocked and it wouldn’t stop me wanting the demise of the SNP

32. Luigi

James Che says:
    25 April, 2024 at 7:59 am
    Maybe they will all squeal on each other to save their own skins.

I think the circular firing squad was formed a while ago. It’s just that no one has yet found the courage to pull the trigger. Rabbits in headlights – frozen by fear. Political calculations whirring around their tiny minds, struggling to determine the least harmful outcome. The pressure behind the dam continues to build. Someone will crack (always happens). It’s only a matter of time. Self-preservation will kick in. Then all hell breaks loose. Which bunny will squeal first? Popcorn ready.

33. ScottieDog

So it’s the Bute House Agreement.
    Maybe time now for some MSPs in the SNP with a pair o cajones to become independent or move to Alba and leverage change.

34. James Che

Just for fun while we are waiting,

I heard George Galloway yesterday call Rushi Sunak “Prime Miniture”

Not always keen on the man himself , as he fights and defends for every other Country but the one on his doorstep,
    But thats British democracy for you,

35. Cynicus

“Patrick Harvey and Lorna Slater litter have left Bute House in Edinburgh
    ahead of a Scottish cabinet meeting “ -GMS, 8.30 AM
    ==========
    Jumped rather than be pushed?

36. Cynicus

“Bute House agreement effectively over” – Paul Hutcheon, GMS.

It sounds as though Hapless Hamza actually sacked teim before this cabinet meeting

37. Ian McCubbin

If not any of the expected reasons could br Humza is resigning .

38. Cynicus

If Nicola gets lifted by the Polis today, that will be two bits of “bad news” for the SNP.
    ======
    But the end of Bute House cannot hope to bury that story.

39. Stuart MacKay

It’s video call from Nicla, berating them for their lackluster response to the Cass report.

40. Mac

I am still fizzing at the story yesterday. How does Jenny Gilruth get to lie her face off? Are there no consequences of bare faced lying in parliament?

Sturgeon’s Nonce Party, what an abomination. Grooming prepubescent children to be as fucked in the head as they are. It is unbelievable.

It is hard to express how despicable Jenny Gilruth and these other deviants are inflicting this on these children. Filling their innocent heads with all this putrid perversion. They should not be anywhere near these kids. The teachers are also a disgrace participating in this evil. You are supposed to protect them. Cowards.

These SNP perverts are totally obsessed with kids and talking to them about deviant sex. It is obvious, they just can’t stop themselves. It is disgusting beyond belief. Government sponsored child abuse.

I am betting the meeting is just to end the BHA. Be nice if it was something to do with Sturgeon being charged but that would involve applying the law equally and fairly and of course PS & COPFS don’t do equal and fair, they do hair-pinging. We’ll see.

41. Liz

@mac I agree re Jenny Gilruth
    These people believe they’re untouchable
    She mislead parliament
    VONC should be issued

Also agree Humzas been handed his orders,
    From whom is the question

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.