Ahhh the never ending nostalgia of the English for the 2nd world war…. not entirely surprising ….. it’s perhaps the only war they fought in with morality on their side…
Though Bomber Harris did put that in doubt to be honest…..
@ Rev – Ok I did my homework. Spencer Moulton – Balls!Ā I mean squash, tennis and lacrosse. No more bouncy bouncy in train sleeper compartments due to rubber springs made by the firm. Hum ho !
@TMITJ.
There wasn’t much about Scotland on the show. It was just near the end, when they were discussing leader debates in general. AM asked Cameron about debating with AS, and Camerons face went slightly pink. He muttered something about AS wanting to turn it into a Scotland v England, SNP v Tory thing, so he wasn’t falling into AS’s trap. He knew AS was a wily old fox, and he, Cameron, saw the trap. Bollocks.
@Juteman
Thanks for that. I used to record the Marr show but much like the Six o’clock “National” news on the BBC I now find it almost totally irrelevant. Like you say “Bollocks!”
I’ve stopped watching Andrew Marr too.Ā Instead I listen to Ken McDonald’s radio programme on Radio Scotland – it’s more relevant to Scotland.
Ā
On another topic though, something has been niggling away at me over the weekend.Ā You know that awful piece of footage of the Labour candidate in the Dunfermline by-election – the one whee Bernard Ponsonby clearly referred to Bill Walker as an SNP MSP, despite the fact he was an independent MSP and was expelled from the SNP – well, I originally just put it down to a mistake, but then when I thought about it, I remembered that Bernard Ponsonby is a Lib Dem man and stood for election for them.Ā Given that the Lib Dems are also trying to win in the Dunfermline by-election, was there any chance that Bernard’s “mistake” was a bit too convenient?
O/T (?)
Ā
Rev : Since you made your point about lack of YES gear on display (agree BTW).
Yesterday at Kelvinbridge made it my job to look out for info.
Noted:
3 cars in daughters carpark with YES Ā stickers + one SNP out of 15 (No BT)
2 cars YES stickers on walk to shops for milk /papers +Ā 3 flats with YES signs + 1 YES CND; No BT sightings.Ā
Also saw D Bateman out with family (Dont know if that counts)
So on one unscientific jaunt out for 20 mins in Glasgow’s West End some signs of support are about. (when you look for them)
Ā
Also re lack of Yes I heard that a pub in Shawlands, Glasgow has advertised a debate on Independence this Wednesday. Will post name of pub when I check where it is.
@liz
It’s in the GladCafe on Wednesday, the panel is made up of YES supporters,Ā and theĀ idea is to attract No’s and Don’t Knows to comeĀ along and ask what they want to ask.Ā
@liz
Most welcome, anyway was trying to download poster to post, not happening. Stuart Braithwaite of Mogwai is chairing, debate starts at 8, though limited number as it’s in the back room, only holds around 70.
It seems organised by the Radical Independence Campaign
“Not sure which way you’re voting in next year’s independence referendum? Bored of the same old debate? Not sure what’s true and what’s not in the media?”
Ā
Panellists include
– Mary Lockhart Scottish Co-operative Party
– Gordon MacIntyre Business for Scotland
– Lynda Williamson Newsnet Scotland
– Janey Godley Comedian, Author, Playwright
– Karine Polwart Award winning somg-writer
– Stuart Braithwaite – From ‘Mogwai’ as Chairman
Ā
The Glad Cafe 1006a Pollokshaws Road
Wednesday Oct 2nd 7pm
Entry by suggested donation (5/3 pounds)
Ā
It says that it will be a lively and humorous debate between the panel and audience
āNot sure which way youāre voting in next yearās independence referendum? Bored of the same old debate? Not sure whatās true and whatās not in the media?ā
Ā
Panellists include
– Stuart Braithwaite ā From āMogwaiā as Chairman
Ā
Wednesday Oct 2nd 7pm
Ā
It says that it will be a lively and humorous debate between the panel and audience
Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.
Sven on The Modern Politician: “Willie @ 05.07. Gosh Willie, if it left Turkey around the 19th January and is now scheduled to arrive Corunna…” Feb 15, 07:12
Willie on The Modern Politician: “Seems that the new MV Isle of Islay may have been sustaining problems. The ferry built in Turkey was originally…” Feb 15, 05:07
DaveL on The Modern Politician: “āCaptain Swinney is believed to have gone down with his ship.ā If only but Iām afraid he fucked off quick…” Feb 15, 03:14
Colin Alexander on The Modern Politician: “The SNP and Scottish Greens will be delighted that Ebay are procuring donations for the Mermaids charity. Are Mermaids brainwashing,…” Feb 14, 23:42
Dan on The Modern Politician: “Big Country – Steeltown Vid contains footage of dirty men doing hard dirty work so not safe for some. www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ssx1Davnkw” Feb 14, 22:50
Dan on The Modern Politician: ““No, I donāt think coal mining was ever anything but dire Says it all. Perma “worried” woman rather than celebrate…” Feb 14, 22:38
Geoff Anderson on The Modern Politician: “I didnāt know he was a Spurs fanā¦ā¦. https://x.com/ScotExpress/status/2022733679576113365?s=20” Feb 14, 22:08
Lorna Campbell on The Modern Politician: “William Campbell: yes, I absolutely agree with you, but it was not the norm until Thatcher introduced council house ownership.…” Feb 14, 21:49
Young Lochinvar on The Modern Politician: “Well Iād like to imagine this anniversary may just, just mibbes, mighta have helped put some fire in the belly…” Feb 14, 21:46
Lorna Campbell on The Modern Politician: “Often you simply cannot turn back the clock. No, I don’t think coal mining was ever anything but dire, but…” Feb 14, 21:20
Alf Baird on The Modern Politician: “Plenty of wee coasters and fishing boats even smaller than the new Ā£50 million Isle of Islay sailing oot there…” Feb 14, 21:09
David Holden on The Modern Politician: “There is a lot to unpack in your latest offering but just a wee tip for you. Try shutting the…” Feb 14, 19:46
Hatey McHateface on The Modern Politician: “Quite right, Confused. You forever see the English as arse bandits and look where thatās got you.” Feb 14, 19:38
Confused on The Modern Politician: “flower of scotland is also RACIST and this is “zero tolerance” in a modern nation – what r u thinking…” Feb 14, 19:35
Confused on The Modern Politician: “rugby : after the postal tries have been counted by roof davison the too wee too puir inferior not quite…” Feb 14, 19:18
Cynicus on The Modern Politician: “14 February, 2026 at 6:33 pm David Holden says: āWhich miserable killjoy is going to be first to come on…” Feb 14, 19:11
TURABDIN on The Modern Politician: “We regret to announce the sinking of the MV Isle of Islay in stormy seas off the straits of Gibraltar.…” Feb 14, 18:34
David Holden on The Modern Politician: “Which miserable killjoy is going to be first to come on and moan about the rugby? Congratulations to the Scotland…” Feb 14, 18:33
auld highlander on The Modern Politician: “Storms out in the Atlandic caused the delay with Portugal and Spain getting hammered. Earlier this afternoon I had a…” Feb 14, 18:02
william campbell on The Modern Politician: “Born in 1948,brought up mainly in East Kilbride,which was fresh and new then in 1957,my catching TB was the reason…” Feb 14, 17:48
Aidan on The Modern Politician: “C-24 will not be assessing Scotlandās petition in June. C-24 has no power to add further territories to the list…” Feb 14, 17:35
Willie on The Modern Politician: “I think agent X that you may have stumbled on an issue with regard to the MV Isle of Islay.…” Feb 14, 17:26
Andy Ellis on The Modern Politician: “@ Hatey Having just come back from visiting the Stone of Destiny in Perth and taking in Marie R’s last…” Feb 14, 16:44
Hatey McHateface on The Modern Politician: “Good post, Andy. The shades of the signatories to the D of A will also be furious that we lack…” Feb 14, 16:30
Hatey McHateface on The Modern Politician: “Thanks for your reply, Lorna. Just about every politician gets something right. Starmer, Trump, Sturgeon, Brown, Blair. They won some…” Feb 14, 16:22
Hatey McHateface on The Modern Politician: “Cynicus Please show some respect when addressing a lady carrying the name of the Holy Mother Of God.” Feb 14, 16:02
Hatey McHateface on The Modern Politician: “You donāt think ⦠Naw. Nae way could painted oan windies been carried forwards from ane set of blueprints tae…” Feb 14, 15:58
Roffle!
“Give Scotland the Wings she wants – she’ll give Westminster the bird”.
The latter more likely as in the modern context! š
That jogs my memory of Post War Credits.
Ā
Sunday Herald front page link to twitpic.com
A DefenceĀ article in the paper disagreeing with Westminster.
Time to move from Bath to Trowbridge
Ā
Ā
Wiltshire seems to appreciate you and the name Trowbridge suits the internet.
Ā
For a moment there I thought it was another crowdfunding. š
Jings, Ā posters weren’t even made with letraset in these days….
Ahhh the never ending nostalgia of the English for the 2nd world war…. not entirely surprising ….. it’s perhaps the only war they fought in with morality on their side…
Though Bomber Harris did put that in doubt to be honest…..
Nothing worth posting?
@ Rev – Ok I did my homework. Spencer Moulton – Balls!Ā I mean squash, tennis and lacrosse. No more bouncy bouncy in train sleeper compartments due to rubber springs made by the firm. Hum ho !
Ruth Davidson says.archive.is/5jyQJ
Did Cameron just have a hot flush when asked about debating with AS? š
on the A Marr show.
@Juteman
Good! However I have just got up and missed that š Why do they have these things on so early?
It looks like its going to be a busy Scotland oriented conference this week
I just checked the A. Marr show is “coming soon” on the i player.
@Archie [not Erchie]
Here was me wondering if they would ban the word “Scotland” from their conference. š
@TMITJ.
There wasn’t much about Scotland on the show. It was just near the end, when they were discussing leader debates in general. AM asked Cameron about debating with AS, and Camerons face went slightly pink. He muttered something about AS wanting to turn it into a Scotland v England, SNP v Tory thing, so he wasn’t falling into AS’s trap. He knew AS was a wily old fox, and he, Cameron, saw the trap. Bollocks.
@Juteman
Thanks for that. I used to record the Marr show but much like the Six o’clock “National” news on the BBC I now find it almost totally irrelevant. Like you say “Bollocks!”
I’m sure I heard Cameron say ‘this Scotland thing’.
Ā
I’ll gae ye ‘thing’!
I’ve stopped watching Andrew Marr too.Ā Instead I listen to Ken McDonald’s radio programme on Radio Scotland – it’s more relevant to Scotland.
Ā
On another topic though, something has been niggling away at me over the weekend.Ā You know that awful piece of footage of the Labour candidate in the Dunfermline by-election – the one whee Bernard Ponsonby clearly referred to Bill Walker as an SNP MSP, despite the fact he was an independent MSP and was expelled from the SNP – well, I originally just put it down to a mistake, but then when I thought about it, I remembered that Bernard Ponsonby is a Lib Dem man and stood for election for them.Ā Given that the Lib Dems are also trying to win in the Dunfermline by-election, was there any chance that Bernard’s “mistake” was a bit too convenient?
Jeannie,
Ā
I heard Ken refer to Bella Caledonia and National Collective.
Ā
Did ‘Wings’ get a mention?
Don’t think so – not this week, at least I didn’t hear it.Ā Has mentioned it before, though.
O/T (?)
Ā
Rev : Since you made your point about lack of YES gear on display (agree BTW).
Yesterday at Kelvinbridge made it my job to look out for info.
Noted:
3 cars in daughters carpark with YES Ā stickers + one SNP out of 15 (No BT)
2 cars YES stickers on walk to shops for milk /papers +Ā 3 flats with YES signs + 1 YES CND; No BT sightings.Ā
Also saw D Bateman out with family (Dont know if that counts)
So on one unscientific jaunt out for 20 mins in Glasgow’s West End some signs of support are about. (when you look for them)
Ā
@Ronnie,
No but then I imagineĀ he’s looking at the top stories which have to be sort of newsy to get a mention I’d think.
Ā
Also re lack of Yes I heard that a pub in Shawlands, Glasgow has advertised a debate on Independence this Wednesday. Will post name of pub when I check where it is.
@liz
It’s in the GladCafe on Wednesday, the panel is made up of YES supporters,Ā and theĀ idea is to attract No’s and Don’t Knows to comeĀ along and ask what they want to ask.Ā
Hi Albalha Thanks for that.Ā
@liz
Most welcome, anyway was trying to download poster to post, not happening. Stuart Braithwaite of Mogwai is chairing, debate starts at 8, though limited number as it’s in the back room, only holds around 70.
“Not sure which way you’re voting in next year’s independence referendum? Bored of the same old debate? Not sure what’s true and what’s not in the media?”
Ā
Panellists include
– Stuart Braithwaite – From ‘Mogwai’ as Chairman
Ā
Wednesday Oct 2nd 7pm
Ā
āNot sure which way youāre voting in next yearās independence referendum? Bored of the same old debate? Not sure whatās true and whatās not in the media?ā
Ā
Panellists include
– Stuart Braithwaite ā From āMogwaiā as Chairman
Ā
Wednesday Oct 2nd 7pm
Ā