A tale of two cities

Posted on March 01, 2014 by

Yes Scotland campaigning today in Edinburgh:

yesedinburgh

And here’s “Better Together” doing the same thing in Glasgow:

noglasgow

The good news is we might be able to fix up a hot date for the poor chap.

65 to “A tale of two cities”

1. Croompenstein

Donald looking down thinking “I thought devo would kill this stone dead”. Nae such luck Donald, those who followed you blew the contract..

2. Croompenstein

Has sumdy photoshopped the W into a B on the sign behind the BT guy?

3. Ian Brotherhood

Serious question – is there any documentary evidence of Blair MacDougall and/or Rob Andrew at any ‘grassroots’ BT event?

4. Dcanmore

Is that David Torrance manning the BT table lol!

5. Heather McLean

Hahahaha! I just KNEW who the hot date was before I clicked on the link! ????

6. Colin

What a wee shame, I would go and talk to him, I wouldn’t agree with, but I do feel sorry for him.

7. Cruachan

Another great day, and in the sunshine too!

8. theycan'tbeserious

They are just lulling us into a sense of security!?:-)

9. Arbroath 1320

Think this might sum up the top picture. ๐Ÿ˜‰

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RabCRjOL7nw

Well there’s only one thing to say about the second picture, and I think this sums it up. ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g5EqHfJqFDw

10. theycan'tbeserious

Oops. Should read false sense of secrity

11. Ally

Looks like he pulled at last!!

http://t.co/fY7Zfnrnrn

(Hope the link works!)

12. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“This, from the Twitter:”

DOESN’T ANYONE EVER CLICK THE FLIPPING LINKS?

13. Arbroath 1320

Sorry Stu I keep forgetting to remove the http lead on the links, consider wrists well and truly slapped…AGAIN! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Ally are you really sure he pulled an undecided there I’m thinking that’s his mother come along to see how he’s doing. ๐Ÿ™‚

14. cynicalHighlander

@Colin says:

What a wee shame, I would go and talk to him, I wouldnโ€™t agree with, but I do feel sorry for him.

I agree that someone should engage and point out the truth as to what is printed on their leaflet, create doubt in the messenger will reduce their commitment.

15. Ian Brotherhood

And this, from the person who made that poor sod turn up:

https://twitter.com/kayleighharvey

Worth a swatch, if only to get some inkling of how lonely these people really are.

16. Croompenstein

@Ally – that’s his maw

17. Ian Brotherhood

Rev,

I’m just trying to encourage folk to use the Twitter, know?

(Not really – I’m colour-blind after three pints and just don’t see the feckers…ochone, ochone…)

18. Ally

@Croompenstein

Honestly – I was there – it was ME that took the photo!

The amount of folk that refused the paper from the ONE guy that was handing them out was unbelievable!

Some, obviously took them out of “politeness” but the bins either side of the “event” were getting plenty-filled!

There was the 2 people in the photo (the glasses chap & his maw!) & one other 40ish chap handing out the negativity propaganda – (I declined!!)

THREE THREE 3 people in Buchanan St on a Saturday, in Scotlands biggest city?????

Only one outcome in September!

19. cath

That’s a shame – I feel a bit sorry for him too. I’d go and speak to him, just for a bit of banter and debate. This is the first time I’ve ever been involved in a political campaign and it’s nerve-wracking, putting yourself out there in front of the public, never quite knowing if you’ll take abuse. If there’s a big crowd of you it’s fun, and any abuse can be laughed off. Being stuck on your own, not so much so.

20. Thepnr

@Arbroath 1320

Loved the comparison. Got me thinking though, see the two week run in to the 18th Sptemeber, it’s going to be chaos.

Looking forward to it it’s exciting.

21. Arbroath 1320

Glad you liked it Thepnr. ๐Ÿ™‚

I think you’re right about the two week run in though. What will make it even more frenetic, I think, is that Scotland play Germany on the 7th in their Euro 2016 qualifier. Now what do you think the result of the referendum will be if Scotland can come out of that game with a draw or even a win! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m not trying to imply a loss will see a NO win you understand but I somehow get the feeling that an already buoyant YES campaign will find itself lifted up another level. ๐Ÿ˜‰

22. Linda's back

Problem is that Better Together have the UK right wing press and the BBC on their side so they don’t need to get their hands dirty dealing with the great unwashed (in their eyes).

23. Ally

I’m the biggeest Scotland fan – but, NO CHANCE!

24. Croompenstein

@Ally – Don Hutchison, pink jerseys Germany..0 Scotland..1 we can but dream

25. Grouse Beater

“No” means rejection.
    Who chooses rejection?
    Who would want to sell rejection?
    Acceptance is a curative for solitariness.

26. Macart

“DOESNโ€™T ANYONE EVER CLICK THE FLIPPING LINKS?”

Sometimes. ๐Ÿ˜‰

27. Alfresco Dent

To be fair you can see why they’re so behind the times, Kayleigh’s a tortoise.

28. DonnieMac

They should try running under a disguise to lure more folk in before hitting them with the real leaflets. Something more popular than bitterthegither.

Maybe an Al Queda or Scientology recruitment poster would get more ordinary Scots to approach the stall.

29. StevieMcB

ooops,spelt my name wrong am getting moderated, bloody whisky, bloody sat night,
    These people really need a cuddle, a wee pair of wings around them to save them from their delusions.

30. heedtracker

But these people are a. trying to stop my country from even existing and b. defending a City of London banker class that considers ยฃ60, ยฃ70, ยฃ100 grand a month a so so pay packet, even before their half million quid bonus comes in. Then they hide it all from the tax man. All the City is with this chap but its no wonder he’s on his lonesome in Scotland.

31. StevieMcB

ooop double, sorry heedtacker, thanks for bringing me back to planet Scotland. whisky makes me caring sometimes..other time not so. I may think that some could be converted with the right approach. converts are the best evangelists. I’m just a (drunk)idealist hoping we spread our message without the vitriol aimed at us. I feel your pain, your comment are spot on

32. heedtracker

@ StevieMcB Talk about buzzkill huh. Its what I do.

33. Better Together St Kilda

One BT supporter does the work of 107 gnats – sorted.

34. heedtracker

@ Better Together St Kilda, only a believer in Flipper Darling and co can call standing next to a picnic table blowing on your fingers, work.

35. SquareHaggis

@Ali

Sorry but that BT guy looks suspiciously like Frankie Boyle, this is not another spoof by any chance?

36. Better Together St Kilda

@ heedtracker – wish to point out that there are also five puffins under the table, you can see their feet – they’re having a fag break (taking orders from the Bullingdon Club).

37. StevieMcB

Heedtracker, all your comments are spot on. I love your passion. Peace, nite peeps

38. StevieMcB

@heedtacker
    Mmmm woke up. whats buzzkill am just bein human.

39. SquareHaggis

The table would look better together, u know, folded up and lobbed in a nearby skip.

40. Thepnr

Diary of a Cybernat – Two Weeks Out

Thur 4th Sep:
    Only two weeks now, I’m not sure what’s happening but there seem to be a lot of scared faces on Scotland Tonight of late. This has been more and more noticeable in the last few days. Brian Taylor in particular seems to be withdrawing into himself. It’s been weeks now since he has given us a “toodle oo the noo”.

Fri 5th Sep:
    Postie this morning brought me my final batch of 50 Proud Cybernat badges from Roddy, will get them to the troops over the weekend, bit of a collectors item they’ve become which is good cos I’ve kept a few for meself hehe.
    Scotsman finally shut its doors today, had been on the cards though I do feel sorry for the Cybernats that used to post there. The rest though…ah tough shit ye makes yer bed I say. Euan McColm and Jim Murphy have been raging on twitter about “they fucken Cybernats” Class.

Sat 6th Sep:
    I really hate shopping and if I’m to be a man then one day, yeah one day I’ll tell her that. But hey let sleeping dogs lie I say. One good thing came of it, in the taxi on the way back, the driver a definite No started to buckle under the relentless arguments I was hitting him with. By the time he dropped me off he was reading an Aye Right leaflet and agreeing “maybe I had a point”. Result I think.

Sun 7th Sep:
    My 79 year old Mother In Law!! what’s she like? Much tougher than that taxi driver for sure. Still hates Salmond, weasel is all she keeps saying. I keep telling her it’s not about Salmond, she just sticks her fingers in her ears and says la la la la la la. I won’t give in though.
    Went out tonight with the troops we were targeting Kirkton tonight, the 50 of us that turned up were given 3 streets each so could take our time and chat to the punters. Out of the dozen or so I talked with none would admit to supporting No and there was one who joined me and came to help stick leaflets through the door. Result!

Mon 8th Sep:
    Hated going to work today, everybody talks about the referendum but I live it..There is a difference, there are still a few No’s there and I won’t waste my breath on them any more.
    Best thing about today was watching Osborne squirm on Newsnight and demanding negotiations with Salmond on a currency Union prior to the Referendum. Salmond told him to shove it (sort of) me and the missus were pissing ourselves.

Tue 9th Sep:
    Woke up this morning feeling great with Osbornes performance last night still fresh. In fact I have a vague memory of dreaming about him and a kind of queasy feeling about that. Maybe shouldn’t have had those cheese and crackers before going to bed.
    I hear Kirsty Wark has gone on the sick but so far this is just a rumour started by Derek Bateman. Other than that, nothing much happened.

Wed 10th Sep:
    About time! The Rev has rallied the Wingers for the final push so tonight 10,000 of us will be distributing all kind of materials throughout Scotland, that’s only 250 houses per person and we hope to visit them all over the next 3 days. Seems plausible to me, thankfully all the plans have been in place for months and those that volunteered know their role. This is exciting.
    Mother in law is still giving it la la la. Just got to keep trying.

41. SquareHaggis

Maybe he’s genetically mutating into a toodle-oo-the-yes!

42. SquareHaggis

Is that a Wings hat in Easterhouse? Half way down the page

http://www.newsnetscotland.com/index.php/affairs-scotland/8810-another-easterhouse-is-possible

43. TJenny

The Rev’s just posted on Twitter that we’ve had more than a million page views in the week 23 Feb – 01 March.

Wings – soaring ever higher. ๐Ÿ™‚

http://t.co/m6jA4pCbHl

44. Doug Daniel

You know, Better Together could use this as the basis of an emotional film to tug at the heart-strings and convince people to vote No. I can picture it now:

Lonely Better Together Man is standing in a church (by himself – no best man), looking nervous, and he turns round to look up the aisle to the entrance to the church. “Suddenly” by Angry Anderson starts playing (the song Scott & Charlene got married to in Neighbours), and the bride appears – Lonely Better Together Woman.

“I only dreamed that I would find, a loving heart and an open mind…”

She gets down to the bottom (no bridesmaids, natch), and the reverend (not that one), shot from behind, starts making them say their vows.

“Suddenly you’re seeing me, JUST the way I am! Suddenly you’re hearing me, and I’m tlaking just as fast as I can, to you… SUUUUUUUDENLYYYYYYYYYYYYY EVERY PAAAAAAAAAAART OF ME needs to know every part of youuuuuuuuu…”

The reverend says “now the groom may kiss the bride”, and the Lonely Better Together Man and Lonely Better Together Woman lovingly embrace, only for the camera to switch in front of the reverend… IT’S ALISTAIR DARLING!!!!

“They’re certainly Better Together – aren’t you?”

Screen fades to black, the words “PLEASE DOMATE AS MUCH MONEY AS YOU CAN TO STOP THE EVIL NATIONALISTS” come up, and Scotland votes to remain in the union.

I’m scared, folks. They’ve got a secret weapon now.

45. TJenny

SquareHaggis – shurely ‘toodle – aye – the noo’. ๐Ÿ™‚

46. SquareHaggis

That’s the one TJenny ๐Ÿ˜€

47. Dr JM Mackintosh

Rev,
    looking at this great Edinburgh gathering you could open another branch in West Lothian.

It could be called “Bings over Scotland” !

48. Barontorc

OK, guys we’ve had our bit of banter, but that one guy has stood out there on his tod for what he believes in – and well done I say. When it comes to pass and we are striking out on our own, being very neighbourly and with the ‘bestest of fences’ to encourage that good spirit – I hope that guy will join in and help us make it.

I’m more concerned with those who couldn’t give a toss about voting at all. These folk need to be seriously looked at. This is our country, we’re all responsible – be in it and make it all it can be.

49. StevieMcb

@Barantoric, thanks,

50. kininvie

@Dr JM Mackintosh

Speaking on behalf of Yes West Lothian, that’s quite enough about ‘bings’, thank you very much.

It’s distinctly ‘countyist’ and we ain’t having it…

Mind you, the future is pink and jelly-shaped… ๐Ÿ™‚

51. Patrick Roden

Flipping Houses!!!

That’s a wallpaper pasting table he is using, the kind that costs a couple of pound and lasts for about the time it takes to decorate your house once.

no wonder it’s buckling under the weight of a few propaganda flyers, it’s only meant to hold one strip of wallpaper lol.

52. Seasick Dave

Barontorc

A fair point, well made but do you really think that he believes in what he is punting; to stay under the misrule of a completely bankrupt London Government and to stand in line for the austerity cuts that are yet to come?

Really?

53. Tattie-bogle

I posted on another thread i had a visit from the lone cooncilar in the springburn area with his united with labour pishlamphet .no boots on the ground just feeble air strikes via BBC and MSM

54. Stuart Black

McWhirter off the fence with a vengeance. ๐Ÿ˜€

http://archive.is/3COc4

55. Stuart Black

Nearly choked laughing at the hot date link, started sniggering as soon as I saw it and, knowing what was coming, I was almost hysterical by the time the page loaded! ๐Ÿ˜€

People in the office (oil & gas, we never sleep ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) were starting to think about calling a medic in before I regained my composure, always nice to start the day with a laugh.

56. theycan'tbeserious

Surely the bings would be West Lothians equivalent of Australias Ayers rock. I suppose that makes the bings “Ayes rock”!…I’ll get ma coat

57. Alastair Wright

Did anyone see the puff piece on BBC breakfast yesterday ‘comparing’ each sides approach to canvassing? Apparently BT are using a software system called patriot to target their supporters and yes are only using boots on the ground according to the BBC – they didn’t mention that the SNP had been using something similar for a while, might explain the Lonely better together approach.

58. John Gillespie

Still think you should send ยฃ50 to help him get a better table. Am worried he might have an accident at work!! Maybe Rev could get a group from Wings to present said new table? feel this only the right thing to do, in light of the good grace in which the debate is being conducted from the better Together side. All this talk of the. Dambusters and operation Chastise, maybe we could take this thing in a whole new direction??

59. jon esquierdo

Is Gordon Brown the chairman of united with labour a tax cheat?

60. Wullie B

Did my first time on a stall in Portree yesterday ,(went to pick wife up from work and was an hour late for her) ,fair bit of rain but people stopping and chatting ,horns tooting and thumbs up from passing cars ,even got mugged for a donation , wont be last time even talking to No voters about reasons for independence ,most were worried about being poorer off , a couple of softs naws converted so even better and stall looked busier than Glasgow , and thats while it was pishing it down , missed the ceilidh last night but work called ,cant wait for September because the papers are going to be reading WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!! on September the 19th

61. Zag flash

Never rest on our laurels – still loads of work to be done!!

62. tartanarse

I have a complaint.

I was in a public place when I opened this piece. My uncontrollable laughing did indeed mark me out a some sort of lunatic.

Like others, I knew who the date was going to be and my mirth was much increased when it was confirmed.

Please give a bit of warning when we are going need a personal space.

I also liked the pasting table weight bearing limits too.

63. jim cormack

Recently West Dunbartonshire YES campaign did a poll of around 500 shoppers in Clydebank. The result was a stunning 50% IN FAVOUR and 33% against. If we are going to win this it will be in the working class areas where the vote will be won

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.