British together

Posted on July 03, 2013 by

Blimey. We were going to write about devo-max or something this evening, but we’re more emotionally drained than Ivan Lendl after a night at Riverdance from watching that incredible Andy Murray match at Wimbledon.

With Andy playing like a blind monkey flailing at moths for the first two sets and Fernando Verdasco hitting the ball like he’d found it in bed with his wife, the tension was almost unbearable for the whole three and a half hours before a magnificent display of character and skill finally saw the No.2 seed through to the semi-final.

murrayverdasco

Luckily, the watching-through-our-fingers pain was eased just a little by the knowledge that our fellow Brits from south of the border were suffering through it along with us.

murrayfans

This was our special favourite, though.

murrayfan2

We look forward, it should go without saying, to the blanket media outrage.

1. 08 07 13 07:37

IndyRef for Eejits #5: Andy Murray | Still Raining, Still Dreaming

130 to “British together”

1. Anne (@annewitha_e)

send it to George Foulkes:

2. Stevie

Phew…  racist pigs

3. Desimond

And Tennis is the Game of LOVE too

4. Dan H

5. janet kerr

Absolutely disgusting comments on your page !!

6. Arbroath 1320

Hmm now remind me again, didn’t some we 16/17 year old get a leathering from a certain George Galloway about there being NO anti Scots racism in England. Now you can call me stupid but all these tweets appear to me the be just ever so slightly RACIST! Never mind project fear keep telling us we are all better together, so I guess we must all be thankful for all this RACISM then!

7. Hazel Lewry

So charming to be in such a loving and encompassing union. NOT.

8. Yesitis

Shhh… somehow this will get turned into a ‘cybernats abuse Andy Murray’ headline.

@ DanH 🙂

9. Anon235

You should do something similar when the England Football team play at a major tournament…

10. Sunshine on Crieff

It is so nice for racist scumbags to put in their place so comprehensively. Well done Mr Murray!

To those tweeters: GIRUY!!!

11. Sunshine on Crieff

In fact I should have put an F in that last comment 🙂

12. Murray McCallum

What is it about racists / bigots on twitter – they just can’t help themselves.

13. DougtheDug

Not very nice tweets but then you’d have to balance them against any supportive tweets from south of the border to get a true view of their feelings.

14. Laura

Scotch?? And here was me thinking that was an alcoholic beverage. My bad. To be fair though, you can’t judge all the English by that. There are many, many of them who support Andy. They just aren’t as vociferous as the racist bunch of EDL wanabees are.

15. Seasick Dave

I was watching the Tour de France on ITV4 today and heard the commentator mention that the Scots rider, David Millar, had dropped off the back of the pack.

I’m sure that he was British yesterday when he was in contention for the yellow jersey. 🙂

C’est la vie.

Gutsy performance from Murray although he struggled to dominate the excellent Verdasco.

16. Robin Ross

ironic to see both a Campbell and a McDonald express their loathing of a Murray.  Puts the Massacre of Glencoe into a new perspective.

17. Angus McLellan

It’s been said before, but that was a hell of a game from Verdasco. I’m wondering whether it’s flesh and blood under that dashing exterior, or whether it’s titanium alloy and buckytubes and blinkenlights like you’d expect with a modern day Terminator that absolutely will not stop. What a guy!

18. lumilumi

Lovely. 🙁

Better Together and all that… 🙁

It was a nail-biter, and Andy didn’t play well and Verdasco played his best tennis in years, but that amount of bile… 🙁

Wimbledon isn’t on the telly here in Finland so I follow it through the Wimbledon online radio + IBM Slam Tracker. The radio Wimbledon commentators of the match usually referred to “the British number one”, except when Murray lost his 3-0 lead in the second set. Then one of the commentators referred to him as a Scot.

Andy Murray has a good sense of humour, he says he’s a Brit when he wins and a Scot when he loses 😀

Andy Murray of course doesn’t want to declare either way on the independence issue (and he doesn’t have a vote in the referendum anyway, as he lives in London) because that would be PR suicide. Just think back to the joke he shared with Tim Henman when he was a teenager. Some English football fans still hate him because of that.

They say that his tears after losing to Federer at last year’s Wimbledon, winning Olympic gold and silver (mixed doubles with Laura Robson, the new English darling), winning US Open, the BBC documentary Man behind the Racket (where he first publicly talked about the Dunblane shooting and got very emotional), all this has endeared him to the British (=English) public like never before. Maybe it has, but sadly, there will always be British (English) people who cannot forgive him that he’s not English. Sad. 🙁

Anyway, onwards, Andy! Jerzy Jancowicz (22 years) is so emotional and spaced out that he got to the semi-final that Andy can use his experience to his advantage. I hope. 🙂

19. Robert Louis

I am truly astonished at the racist venom coming from England regarding Murray.  These people should be prosecuted for blatant racism and threatened violence.  If people in England do not want to support him, that’s fine, but abusing him for the Scotland flag or because he is from Scotland is just beyond absurd.  Is this kind of blatant racism against Scots why we are ‘better together’?????

Of course this blatant racist abuse of a Scot will be highlighted by our state media, the propagandist BBC for days on end.  No doubt it will be item one on the BBC news at ten tonight.

20. M4rkyboy

Now that’s what you call abuse.
    Let’s see the Daily Mail quote you on that.

21. muttley79

Cannot really be bothered responding to those tweets.  On Andy Murray:  I loved it at the end of the second set when he went back to his chair and started swearing!  BBC apologised, but it was pretty obvious he called himself a prick!

22. Vincent McDee

Is naming someone a cunt fashion in England now?  17 cunts, 2 pricks and a wanker…Life.

23. Marcia

Sad comments from down south, just sad.

24. Adrian B

Is naming someone a cunt fashion in England now?  17 cunts, 2 pricks and a wanker…Life.

Outbreak of tourettes hits England….

Well done Andy on todays win against a tough opponent. 

25. Wee Red Squirrel

There was a particularly lovely one about Thomas Hamilton as well. We truly are Better Together with our delightful neighbours!

26. big_al

Disgraceful but not surprising.

27. John Lyons

The most disappointing thing a bout these tweets is the lack it’d creativity. I mean jock c@&t, not exactly original is it? My favourite is the girl Yasmin who want Murray to suck her dick. I wonder if she’s pre or post op.

and yeah nice one at the end. That guy’s also delighted England won the confederation cup after drawing with Brasil…

28. scottish_skier

I think people should vote Yes simply to resolve the issue of whether Andy Murray is Scottish or British.

29. Inbhir Anainn

Read somewhere that Andy’s dip in form during those first twa sets could have been due to a hex being put on him by none other than one D Cameron wishing him well.

30. handclapping

I dont know how these twitters work but couldn’t they be reposted to Better Together, BBC Scotland, Herald, Scotsman, etc. just so they know that there are cyberbrits?

31. ianbrotherhood

Dearie me, they do like their ‘c’ word, don’t they? 

Reads like a Derek & Clive transcript.

Silly so-and-so’s…

32. annie

Totally shocked at the use of the C word by so many people I obviously live a sheltered life.  Well done Andy am on tenterhooks until the final – right there with you.

33. HighlandMartin

Pffft.  On the ACRAIM Scale it barely registers.

(Anonymous Comedienne Requirement Attention In Media)

34. Magnus Barelegs

The nasty yellow english underbelly for all to see. All thick football chavs from cosmopolitan places such as Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Huddersfield, Stoke on Trent, East London, Portsmouth, Southampton etc. Leave them to stew in their own bile, no wonder englandshire is going down the toilet with inhabitants like that.

35. Bill McLean

Truly disgusting from our “nearest and dearest”. I have mixed feelings about Andy winning Wimbledon. As a Scot, and having no animosity to any nation, i’d like him to win but if he does the British jingoism will go into overdrive and he will be under tremendous pressure to conform!

36. Buster Bloggs

This has nothing to do with anything Andy Murray has said in the past, it has nothing to do with independence, I was at school  in southern England from 78-81 and the exact same attitude prevailed back then, not everyone was like that but it was the same type of bollocks as in those tweets .Total disrespect for Scotland, second class citizens, to be slagged off and laughed at.
    The times I was told over the years I got it wrong, well it’s now there for all to see. It amazes me that this kind of stuff doesn’t upset unionist Scots, but then, they see themselves as British so not angled at them, and that’s diabolical.
    Roll on the big purge next September.

37. Bill C

The tweets are racist bile from people who are  obviously educationally challenged. They do not represent the vast majority of English folk, many of whom I am sure would rooting for Andy Murray. There are those in Scotland who feel the same about nationalists. They are an unpleasant fact of life in most countries.  Best to ignore them but always be aware of the potential suffering they can cause.

38. Betsy

Depressing stuff. There are a few particularly foul tweets going around making reference to the Dunblane killings. I get that some people don’t like the Scots but wishing that a mentally disturbed, paedophile had shot at least one more Scottish child than he did must surely be a new low.
    https://twitter.com/TBoor74/status/352491901573799936

https://twitter.com/sorayasaikal/status/351749425753882625

39. Magnus Barelegs

Well said Buster Bloggs……..Hopefully come sept next year the joke will be on them and there faded joke of a country.

40. scottish_skier

The tweets are racist bile from people who are  obviously educationally challenged. They do not represent the vast majority of English folk, many of whom I am sure would rooting for Andy Murray.

Yup. For example I posted the below on another forum where lots of people from south of the border were supporting Andy. Not a c word in sight. My post was done in jest and was ‘liked’ from the outset (they know my politics too).

Damn. For a while there I thought we would get Andy back again. In the end, he remains British by the skin of his teeth. 😉

Good stuff Andy!

The tweets Rev shows do not well represent the people of England. 

However, the fact that the UK press will jump on any tweet/comment that possibly/sort of is slightly questioning or unfavourable with respect to people who support the union and make a huge indignation story out of it but would never report anything anti-Scots in the same vein is the moral of the story.

41. roboscot

Unpleasant but I suspect hardly typical of a country of 50 million people. I have lived and worked in England a fair bit and never encountered anything like that. I think the independence issue is too preoccupied on both sides with the opinions and behaviour of people who represent (very?) small minorities.

42. Ellie

I think actually it’s gone beyond just getting upset about this; aren’t there laws about this kind of abuse? Some of those tweets should be reported to the police

43. Yesitis

OT
    The ever decreasing Twitter Britnat clique speak with tea and hobnob tongue.

https://twitter.com/daftquine/status/352515921790767105

‘They`re coming to get you Rev Stu, they`re coming to get you…’ 🙂

44. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“However, the fact that the UK press will jump on any tweet/comment that possibly/sort of is slightly questioning or unfavourable with respect to people who support the union and make a huge indignation story out of it but would never report anything anti-Scots in the same vein is the moral of the story.”

That’s precisely the point, yes.

45. ianbrotherhood

@Magnus Barelegs-

I don’t know what your legs are like, but you have the best handle I’ve seen in many years.

(PS If ‘Magnus Barelegs’ is your real name, please accept my unreserved apologies.)

46. Bill C

@Scottish_skier
    “However, the fact that the UK press will jump on any tweet/comment that possibly/sort of is slightly questioning or unfavourable with respect to people who support the union and make a huge indignation story out of it but would never report anything anti-Scots in the same vein is the moral of the story.”
    Total agreement.  Just one of the many imbalances which seem to be engineered and embedded in the independence debate.

47. titchyboy85

Heading down to Wembley in August. Bring back a piece of turf for all those offended. Lol

48. ianbrotherhood

@Yesitis-

I’m not on Twitter, but read what I can via Rev’s link.

When Louise Morton says (as she has more than once) – ‘I have been publicly pulled out…’ what exactly does she mean?

It sounds vaguely vulgar, but I’m sure there’s an innocent explanation, albeit one which incriminates WoS and/or Rev.

Who ‘pulled out’ Louise? And what did it involve?

Some of us would like to know.

49. Angus McLellan

Glasgow City Council thinks there should be 57 Orange marches in Glasgow this weekend. If you think that’s too many then sign here please: https://www.change.org/en-GB/petitions/glasgow-city-council-stop-allowing-orange-walks-in-glasgow-city-centre

50. Yesitis

@Ianbrotherhood

I`m thinking she means singled out for her attitude and language regards the Maggie Fair incident?

51. Gavin

Anyone for Tourettes, What? Phoaw! phoaw! phoaw! 😀

52. Betsy

@Yesitis,
    Oh my! It’s a bit like what I imagine being chased by irate toddlers must feel like. 

I get the feeling this minor stooshie is literally the most exciting thing that has ever happened to poor Louise. I wonder how her legal case is coming along.

53. lumilumi

On the subject of British/Scottish sportspersons… Ice dancers Sinead and John Kerr (a sister and a brother) represented Great Britain for years and were big crowd favourites in international competitions. They made sure everybody knew they’re Scots. Their best achievement was bronze at European Champs, fifth in the worlds… Something like that. But the crowd loved them and went absolutely wild every time John wore a kilt on ice. 😀

Now, imagine, a couple of years on… When Scotland is an independent country… Andy Murray wearing a kilty skort at majors…
    It won’t happen because Andy Murray is too serious about his tennis career (as he should be), but it’s a nice fantasy. 😀

54. Erchie

Magnus Barelegs, like Ivar the Boneless and Ragnar Hairybreeks was a renowned Norse person. In this case a King of Norway

55. mealer

I was a bit disappointed with Fergies jacket.

56. Krackerman

Taranaich – sorry mate but that second tweet link you put up needs to be pulled down ASAP – that Soraya Saikal has some very graphic and disturbing pictures linked into their profile – one of which appears to be a half naked murdered woman.

Not your fault at all but that’s one sick son of a b1tch that shocked me – and I like to think I’ve seen a few things. 

57. ianbrotherhood

@Erchie-

‘Ragnar Hairybreeks’?

No way.

You’ve taken that too far man…

58. Tris

I was interested to see that Yasmin Lloyd, who sounds to me to be a girl, and looks like a girl on her photo, says, among other things, that Andy Murray can “suck her dick”. Interesting biology the English have!

59. AlexMcI

Andy Murray can “suck her dick
    Ah yes Tris , evolution but not as we know it.

60. Erchie

@ianbrotherhood
    Yep, Ragnar Lodbrok (Hairy Breeks)
    Although once called “Ragnar Furrytrousers” on the BBC

he’s the main character in the new History Channel Vikings series

61. Roddy Macdonald

Surely that’s just jolly Brit banter? Not like that vile cybernat abuse we read about all the time. 

62. sneddon

‘Hairy breeks’ better than ‘hairy baws  🙂

63. Indy_Scot

Anyone who is not sure about or does not know why Scotland should be Independent should read these comments, and then they will understand.

64. Hetty

Just noticed the BT lot came up on my facebook page looks again like they are infiltrating facebook…or whatever, my son has inadvertently ‘liked’ their page as well, I was just blocked by someone for posting too many ‘political’ posts on fb, …oh well can’t win em all…
    Looks like so much anti Scottish stuff out there, the hypocrisy is staggering…

65. Iain More

And he won! Wonder what they would be saying if he had lost? It must really irk them that he is a fighter and irk them really more that he didnt go to an English Private School. Oh well! Anyone for Tennis? It just isnt cwicket you know!

66. Taranaich

@Krackerman: I was actually quoting Betsy’s links. I could pretty much tell that someone actually joking that it’s a shame that a nine-year-old boy wasn’t murdered was going to be a bad egg, but now I daren’t even click on the profile.

67. Jamie Arriere

“ugly miserable Scotch letdown”

Oh dear, that’s lame – not trying hard enough son!
    Still it’s comforting to know that these people’s moods will not improve for the next couple of days at least!

68. Yesitis

Hetty
    Just noticed the BT lot came up on my facebook page looks again like they are infiltrating facebook…or whatever, my son has inadvertently ‘liked’ their page as well, I was just blocked by someone for posting too many ‘political’ posts on fb, …oh well can’t win em all…

Yeah, the BT Likes have been rampant these last few days; their FB page is an abomination.

69. kininvie

@ianbrotherhood
    You need to get yourself to this, obviously: http://www.magnusvikings.com/section557988.html
    Also you should know about Sigurd the Mighty, who was slain by the tooth of his dead enemy:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sigurd_Eysteinsson

70. Frazer Allan Whyte

Where does all this bile come from? And didn’t English diver Tom Daley have to change schools because his English schoolmates were – believably – threatening to break his legs? Something has gone seriously wrong at the south end of the island… maybe the English need some quiet time to come to grips with depths to which they have sunk (does this count as “racist?) and maybe Scotland should just quietly exit the Union to deal with her own troubles in her own time and in her own way without any distraction from the sad sad south.

71. Kenny Campbell

I noticed quite a few of their names could be Scottish which is doubly disturbing….

72. ianbrotherhood

@Erchie-

‘Ragnar Hairybreeks’.

Okay. I’ll take your word on it.

But come on man,

Ivar the Boneless?

Eh?

Who was this dude?

The Viking version of Nick Clegg?

73. Somebody

If these people are such racist bigots, then that’s their problem, not ours.

74. Tamson

One of the most awkward things about nationality, I reckon, is proportionality. I mean, you could probably say 1% of any nation’s population could be described as complete fucking morons (CFMs)

That means there are about 53,000 Scottish CFMs.

Unfortunately it means there are over half a million CFMs in England.

75. kininvie

@Erchie
    Project Fear? Send in Ragnar Hairybreeks & pals. No more fear. No more project…
    Off to the cellar now to put finishing touches to the time machine….

76. The Man in the Jar

I hope that the next “Z list” celeb that goes greetin to the media about abuse from cybernats gets this worked right up them!

77. velofello

Anonymous  nonentities.

78. ianbrotherhood

@kininvie (10.54)-

I was only having a half-hearted cheap shot at the names – those links are brilliant, salutary.

Great stuff.

Apologies to you and Erchie!

79. Jimbo

No doubt George Foulkes, the BBC, Better Together and their compliant Scottish press will consider an appropriate response to this vile, racist abuse before condemning without reservation those disgusting Cybernats who pretended to be English Tweeters. 

80. Ian Mackay

I’m totally OK with the English not supporting Murray. He’s not English so why should they?
    But the poisonous racist bile, which they lump with it, is quite reprehensible.
    Hopefully not the view of the majority of English people.
    It was once said that on Scotland’s Independence that England will lose a surly lodger and gain a sympathetic neighbour.
    On the above evidence, any surliness is entirely English. They already have my sympathy.

81. Tracey B

Well all I can say is,Im glad Im Scottish and NOT British.I wouldn’t want to be associated with such an unintelligent bunch of knuckle draggers. And I think you’ll find Murray doesn’t hate the English,he made a football joke, as a teenager, which by the way Sir Alex Ferguson,another proud Scot, had used before Murray did, but nobody batted an eyelid, and the comment was taken, and twisted.But I wouldn’t expect,the thick people who have left such comments, to research, or even care, about the truth. Lets just hope if Murray wins they keep their views, and don’t all suddenly become Murray fans. And they wonder why we want independence? we ll take our oil,scotch(see it used properly there? and other revenues,and finally be rid of the haemorrhoid on Scotland’s ass lol

82. lumilumi

@Ian Mackay

Agree with you completely.
    Many if not most English people have no problem with Andy Murray and cheer for him at Wimbledon or any other Grand Slams. He is a great tennis player, and while not English, near enough. British.

OT: Of the old Scandinavian “kings”, they all had imaginative bynames (hairy legs and the like), I like Harald Blåtand. Bluetooth… He probably had very bad teeth, but what a name! And Magnus Laduloss, in Finnish Maunu Ladonlukko, he first codified laws to protect ordinary people’s property, the byname means “storeroom lock”.

83. Dan

Yes, these are some select, bile ridden nonsense from some thickos south of the border.
    BUT
    This represents a drop in the ocean when it comes to public opinion. Most people in my opinion in England have real love for Andy AND Scotland  – banter aside. 
    Threads like this are dangerous. Sweeping statements that add fuel to the fire. Lets not generalise or be reactionary,  this makes us as bad as that 1%.

84. tom

I find it disgusting that you allow the horrible comments like these to put up for everyone to see, also the fact that almost all of the ones i seen take a shot at him for being Scottish is ridiculous.  #Bawbags

85. tom

I would also like to point out that i find it funny as hell that any comment needs to wait for moderation considering you have posted comments saying Cu*t all over the place. what do you consider inappropriate? i’m interested as to how you decide what is fine and what to sensor lol 

86. K Mackay

Betsy, wow, there are no words to describe how fucked those tweets are. What the hell is wrong with these people? Bad enough to think these things, stupid to say them to friends, but to announce them to the world on twitter?!? I feel sorry for the friends and family of these people, must be shit knowing them.

87. Holebender

Has anyone else noticed how hard the BBC commentators are working to ensure that bit of a slope at Wimbledon is called “Henman Hill” and nothing else?

88. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I would also like to point out that i find it funny as hell that any comment needs to wait for moderation”

Boy, do I ever get tired of explaining this one.

89. kininvie

@ianbrotherhood
    Apologies? WTF? – I love those old Norse names as much as you do.

90. archie

well we see the true colour of shit from the idiots from england and that`s not the real english people it`s the tramps that have this mile wide stripe of green envy on there backs they have achieved nothing in there small minded life’s so shout rubbish at some one that has done some thing with his life worked really hard won some top accolades all over the world and is see by these people for what he is a really good player it`s just because he is a Scotsman and not english so there hard cheese Sorry but the truth hurts     

CTRL + Q to Enable/Disable GoPhoto.it

91. Doug Daniel

Dan: “Threads like this are dangerous. Sweeping statements that add fuel to the fire. Lets not generalise or be reactionary,  this makes us as bad as that 1%.”

You’re missing the point here, mate. Reverse the situation – Scottish tweeters using the same language and justifications for hating an English sports person – and it’s easy to imagine the headlines that would fill the unionist press, telling us how dangerous Scottish nationalism is and what terrible, evil people the vicious Cybernats are. But stuff like this about a Scottish sports person goes totally unremarked upon, either because it’s so commonplace that it’s not “news”; or simply because it ruins the facade that we’re all one big happy family.

Whatever the reasoning, it’s totally hypocritical – which is exactly the sort of thing for which Wings exists to point out.

92. Martin

I watched Murray’s game in a pub in Portsmouth. Whole pub was behind Murray. Originally from Edinburgh but been down here 30 years and can assure you that in my experience those comments come from a very small minority. 

93. redcliffe62

I agree that if Scots had said this about English player then the right wing MSM would have it on its front page. The hypocrisy meter is a bit high.

94. john king

Murrymint anyone?

95. john king

“t’s been said before, but that was a hell of a game from Verdasco. I’m wondering whether it’s flesh and blood under that dashing exterior, or whether it’s titanium alloy and buckytubes and blinkenlights like you’d expect with a modern day Terminator thatabsolutely will not stop. What
    a guy!”

What? what happened? 
    I stayed on BBC1 
    and saw Andy Murray win,
    should I have gone over to BBC2? did Verdasco win?   

96. john king

“I dont know how these twitters work but couldn’t they be reposted to Better Together, BBC Scotland, Herald, Scotsman, etc. just so they know that there are cyberbrits?”

Don’t be daft do you think they don’t have eyes?
    of course they know, they just don’t want to acknowledge it.

97. Jim Lewis

“You should do something similar when the England Football team play at a major tournament…”

No we shouldn’t. Remember, that’s the racists who do that?

98. john king

Ah ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha 
    maybe if they watched the compare the meerkat advert I just watched we could all “live in harmony” “your gingery and your furee” ha ha ha ha ha ha ha 
    effing hilarious 

99. Captain Caveman

It’s ridiculous to suggest that Andy Murray isn’t loved and admired by the great majority of English tennis fans. They’re rooting for him all the way and will be ecstatic beyond belief with him and all Scots if he wins the title.

It’s rather silly and disingenuous in the extreme to tar and characterise an entire people because of the antics of a (very small) handful of dribbling, raving twitter trolls. Obviously.

Desperate stuff imo.

100. Rev. Stuart Campbell

You’ve completely missed the point. It’s not about the English. I’ve already said what the point is.

101. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Has anyone else noticed how hard the BBC commentators are working to ensure that bit of a slope at Wimbledon is called “Henman Hill” and nothing else?”

I actually agree with them – that’s what it’s called, it’s enormously naff to change it for every new player, and “Murray Mount” was always a shit name anyway – but it’s certainly been noticeable how militant they’ve suddenly become about it this year.

102. Tattie-boggle

listen to how danny dyer lost the plot and his true thoughts come out after crank call.

103. Fergie35

One thing is for sure, if it were Scots Tweeting these remarks, they would be up in court and facing sentencing. Does racist abuse exist when it comes from the English towards the Scots? Seems not!

104. Indy_Scot

If they are going to call it Henman Hill, they need to be consistent. You cannot call it Henman Hill when Andy plays and only call it the Hill when Robson plays, which did happened.
    Clearly the BBC staff are happy to take Andys credit, but not give him any respect. Not unlike the way Westminster treats Scotland. 

105. Anon Sailor

Isnt the first tweet above actually a breach of the peace? Shouldnt we complain to Police.

106. Craig P

Arseholes – meet twitter. Twitter – meet arseholes. I have a feeling you will get on splendidly. 

Anyway, looking forward to the blanket coverage of the evil cyber Brits attitude towards a national treasure, surely the BBC, Scotsman and Daily Mail will never let us hear the end of it, and will no doubt make the inference that *everyone* in favour of the union is a carpet chewing jockophobic trumpet.

PS Rev: ‘blind monkey swatting moths, hitting the ball like he found it in bed with his wife’ – I enjoyed that 🙂

107. Luigi

It seems that Andy Murray is already considered by some to be a “foreigner”.

108. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“CTRL + Q to Enable/Disable GoPhoto.it”

Um, thanks for the tip, Archie.

109. Angus

Very tasteless indeed but hardly representative of the views of the people in England as it is pretty certain  there is a lot of support for Andy Murray.
    One can’t cater for the thick let loose with a keyboard or twitter account in a democracy, but the Tory MSP John Lamont (I read it as Johan Lamont at first) was quick to condemn someone (who was presumably Independence orientated) for the audacity to make an extremely mild comment on Rod Stewart’s few sentences about the constitution of Scotland, reported by the media as big news-such a bandwagon jumping lack of judgement and context is laughable and deliberately used in an attempt to misinform us.

110. Seasick Dave

These Tweets should be referred to the Susan Calman Commission forthwith.

111. Taranaich

You’re missing the point here, mate. Reverse the situation – Scottish tweeters using the same language and justifications for hating an English sports person – and it’s easy to imagine the headlines that would fill the unionist press, telling us how dangerous Scottish nationalism is and what terrible, evil people the vicious Cybernats are. But stuff like this about a Scottish sports person goes totally unremarked upon, either because it’s so commonplace that it’s not “news”; or simply because it ruins the facade that we’re all one big happy family.

Whatever the reasoning, it’s totally hypocritical – which is exactly the sort of thing for which Wings exists to point out.

I think it would be extremely useful to compare the sort of things we’re getting here with what mainstream media are considering “abusive.” Most people with a brain would be able to find it themselves, but a single graphic chart putting “Cybernat” “abuse” which newspapers thought fit to publish alongside actual abuse which they’ve mysteriously thought irrelevant would have a lot of impact and really contextualise things. Maybe then people would stop mistakenly thinking this is a case of “tarring all the English with the same brush,” and people would get a bit of perspective.

112. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Very tasteless indeed but hardly representative of the views of the people in England”

Nobody was saying it was. I thought we’d done this enough times by now for it to not need spelling out, but I’ve added a line to the end of the piece to make the point.

113. Angus

Apologies Rev, the point ‘hardly representative of England’, was just reiterating that simple point (obviously needlessly) and was not against the tone of the article at all which is spot on and is being quite repeatedly face booked on timelines to demonstrate the really important point:
    It isn’t about twats on twitter warbling bollocks, but the media focus and attention payed to mild comments on say Rod Stewart in comparison to the sort of attacks that should make the news.
    Like this.
    You do a great job, if I hadn’t put so much into newsnet before I’d heard of your site I would regularly donate, but will try some one off donations.
    Slainte and out

114. David Ballantine

I don’t feel that these comments are the real racism. Part of the real racism is that fact that Scottish regiments in the British Army are predominantly run by English Officers now that is real racism.

115. tartanarse

I also like to point out at every opportunity the lack of English names in England on account of them actually being mythical.

A quick scan of the names on this page reveals a majority of Scottish names with a few Welsh and Irish.

Who’d have known England was full of Kelvin Mackenzies, as I like to call them.

116. alasdair

Hey Rev, this post got a mention on Radio Scotland lunchtime News today 😀

117. Erchie

@ianbrotherhood
    No one is sure why Ivar was Boneless. Suggestions are usually a genetic disease that he overcame with soft or brittle leg bones, or he was an acrobatic warrior.

He was Ragnar Lodbrok;s son. If you have ever seen the old Tony Curtis movie “The Vikings”, Ernest Borgnine is supposed to be Ragnar and Kirk Douglas is Ivar (Einar in the film).

118. Seasick Dave

Erchie

Possibly Ivar was lacking in the trooser department.

119. Rev. Stuart Campbell

So I just heard. Nice to know Stuart Cosgrove’s a reader.

120. Erchie

@Seasick Dave

Interesting idea, but he’s supposed to have founded a dynasty that ruled from Dublin to York (I assume linked by the sea rather than overland) so mebbes naw

121. Cynical

Hmmm.   Tweeters include Shaw, Hutchinson, Campbell, McDonald.   Don’t sound that English to me …

122. Andy-B

Oh!…Dont worry Im sure if he wins Wimbledon he’ll suddenly become “British”…but if he loses Wimbledon, well you know the routine.

123. Vronsky

Ah, Vikings.  Candidate for the most ‘please-try-to-keep-a-straight-face’ martyr legend must be St Magnus, who was offed by King Olaf’s cook with smack over the head with a ladle.  Big cathedral up there now, in memory of a doofus who didn’t know when to duck.

124. Erchie

ONE OF THE tweeters was a Craig Patterson. I’ve known at least three of them up here, so in slagging off the “Jock C***” he shows amazing ignorance

125. Dom

Really? Your going to judge the whole of England by the tweets of a brunch of illiterate retards on twitter? You’re gonna get 10% of thickos either side of the border – that’s 6 million between us.
    Anyway, I’m in the English but supports Scottish Independence camp – I wonder how big that group is 🙂

126. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Really? Your going to judge the whole of England by the tweets of a brunch of illiterate retards on twitter?”

No, of course not.

PS Calling people illiterate always works out best if there aren’t embarrassing spelling errors in your own comment 😀

127. HandandShrimp

Isn’t Twitter marvelous?

Of course there are a great many sane sensible people in England who would be utterly shocked by those comments but it does show how myopic the press in Scotland are. If there is a stray comment on twitter from a nationalist it is a front page spread and the rise of the Nazis all over again. Yet you can have an entire string of absolutely fetid racist bile against a top sportsman and it is just ignored because it doesn’t suit their narrative.

I know who the real cunts are.

128. Taranaich

I meant to mention that I think this:

With Andy playing like a blind monkey flailing at moths for the first two sets and Fernando Verdasco hitting the ball like he’d found it in bed with his wife

Is utterly sublime. Tears of laughter.

129. john king

jdman      

this is a comment made by some person or persons unknown on the Scotsman last night                                              

11:04 PM on 07/07/2013
    keep going all you sad gets, your just showing how bitter you really are when all you’ve got is a saltire being waved, here’s a thought, get over yourselves, 
    on second thoughts no don’t bother because your disgusting hatred towards anything Scottish is very revealing, and I’m talking to the uncle jocks here not the English

reply from defo
    Nice one jd, can I use that ? ala Uncle toms. Quality put down, and oh so on the mark.  
    11:04 PM on 07/07/2013

wis it sumthin a said 🙁

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.