Coming soon, later and always

Posted on July 03, 2013 by

We haven’t seen anyone giving due kudos to BBC Scotland’s graphics department for this splendid bit of work on last night’s Newsnight Scotland yet, so we’ll do it now.

projectfear4

As “vicious insidious pied-pipers of cybernats”, we appreciate it especially.

38 to “Coming soon, later and always”

1. ianbrotherhood

Aye, and as a verb, ‘project’ isn’t a kick in the arse away from ‘catapult’ :

2. big_al

Jings, what’s with thon erikka woman?? 

Deary me

3. Kirriereoch

Nice use of pronouns during the discussion:
    No campaign = we/us etc
    Yes campaign= they (were doing)/them/you´re behind/you´ll etc

4. Robert Bryce

A subconscious rallying cry for the no Scotland camp?

5. FreddieThreepwood

Hate to be picky when you’re trying to be all magnanimous but it was repeatedly and pointedly mentioned in the programme that ‘Project Fear’ is what the Yes campaign had decided to call the No camp’s tactics. When Blair Jenkins tried to point out this was actually a term coined by Better Together insiders he was scoffed at by Brewer.
    As we all know, there is a large and exploitable world between just another opposition barb and a tacit admission by your own people of a tactical error. The BBC knows it too.

6. big_al

Privately, some inside Better Together even refer to the organisation as Project Fear. McDougall is unrepentant about the tactics.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/politics/referendum-news/one-year-on-will-better-together-change-their-tactics.21402294

7. Albert Herring

Project Fear should really be called Project Feart.

8. sneddon

Ian Murray is my local mp , what a total car wreck of a new labour drone.  I felt Brewers exasperated sigh at Murray’s refusal to give his personal opinion regarding the best currency option. Generally I can take or leave Mr B but he got my sympathy in regards to trying to get a answer from Murray (pie faced moronic and fetid piece of decomposing excrement)

9. velofello

Project Fear – a gift to the Yes campaign surely.
    A reminder Rev., what progress on our wee lion cartoons? Hurry up or you will miss the September rally for sales.

10. lumilumi

I can’t see the BBC clip because I’m in a – horror – foreign country, but the other bile generated… Makes me wonder exactly how Better Together Scotland would be. And makes me sad.

OK, divide and rule has always been the leading principle of the British(/English) Establishment. The successes of this policy can be seen in Ireland, India, Pakistan… For decades (if not centuries!) they’ve been doing it re: Scotland – England.

Are they now going to reap what they’ve sown? Scotland, too wee, too poor, too stupid, realises it’s none of those things and the “British” elite are screwing everybody in “the home countries”.

The Bitters Togithers will throw everything and the kitchen sink at Scots who dare to think of independence. It’s got faily ugly even now, what will the next 15 months be like?

If YES doesn’t win on 18.9.2014, the sadest thing is that it’s due to state broadcaster propaganda, MSM collussion and the last, death-throe grip of the British state. Scots, even NO voters, will regret if Scotland votes NO.

11. Robert Bryce

lumilumi

I can’t see the BBC clip because I’m in a – horror – foreign country, but the other bile generated… Makes me wonder exactly how Better Together Scotland would be. And makes me sad.

Get yourself one of these or use a proxy

12. MajorBloodnok

Ian Murray is my MP too – and as Sneddon infers, he certainly looks like he’s no stranger to pies.

13. Buster Bloggs

The BBC will not change, What about a wee mock cartoon of Reporting Scotland, Newsnight Scotland,  see if we can get a laugh,  I’m going to give it a go,  I’ve made a start on finding my way around the software, I’ve made a wee opening sequence just to test, it’s rough but has some potential to bring the blood pressure down I think.
    Click on my name and it will take you there, hope that’s ok Rev..  🙂

14. lumilumi

@big_al
    Thanks fo the link. Usual unionist tripe.

Blimey, Blair McDugall is 34, ten years younger than I am. I thought he was ten years older than I am, judging by the pics and clips I’ve seen. His age perhaps explains his mad drive, anything to further his CV.

@Rober Bryce – thanks for the tip, I’ll look into it!

15. lumilumi

I find it funny that some unionist accuses Rev Stu or any other pro-indy blogger/journo/politician of being a pied-piper.

1) that accusation talks down ordinary Scottish voters. That they’re stupid enough to be enchanted from the true path by some demagogue.

2) SLAB really think that Scottish voters are that stupid, any donkey with a red rosette, that they can be led by the Labour pied-piper. They WANT to be the pied piper and they’re spitting feathers because they aren’t.

16. john king

Liked how the BBC reporter tried to attach the label “project fear” to the yes campaign in a derogatory fashion

and when Blair Jenkins pointed out it was actually the no campaigns OWN description Brewer said “oh come on”
    I thought this lot were meant to be investigative journalists?

17. mealer

Ian Murray,like many Scots,appears to be a bit over weight.People who live in his constituency should concentrate on his politics rather than his weight.I’m all for poking fun at politicians but name calling wont win the referendum.

18. pa_broon74

Can I call him another ineffectual, hypocritical Labour mouth piece who confuses hyperbole with incisive commentary & truth with lies?

He’s just another glassy-eyed Labour drone, if better together sold dolls with strings you could pull for a spoken soundbite – I was going to say, Murray could be a prototype, but he doesn’t possess the gravitas or presence.

19. Desimond

I agree its a bit harsh slagging Ian Murray about his weight. Dont forget that guy will probably be out marching loud and proud up and down the streets of Ayrshire this weekend.

20. Turnbull Drier

O/T Just found this on the Yes Scotland site:

http://www.yesscotland.net/undecided_responses

Seems like another good resource for pointing the undecided to.

I might have to get some cards printed up with a few urls’ on it to hand out when asked.. Obv WOS is top of the list… <sookingupsmiely>

21. tartanfever

Isn’t Ian Murray the MP now trying to save Hearts ? I thought he wouldn’t have the time to head up this campaign with the day job being so all consuming

22. Roddy Macdonald

Well, that’s 3 of us in Murray’s constituency in 22 comments. He’s certainly doing the Labour camp no favours, the words waste of rations spring to mind.

23. Training Day

The BBC in Scotland has decreed that the invention of the term ‘Project Fear’ must be ascribed to the Yes camp. Gary Robertson slipped it casually into an interview on GMS the other morning, saying that the SNP had ‘branded’ Better Together as such.

Fortunately there are journalists of integrity at the BBC who will not be bound by such a diktat, like Isabel Fraser, David Miller, Derek Bateman and..oh, right…

24. Max

“nobody cares what Ian Murray thinks” – Ian Murray.

Well he got that bit correct. 

25. MajorBloodnok

Mealer says:  Ian Murray,like many Scots,appears to be a bit over weight. People who live in his constituency should concentrate on his politics rather than his weight.I’m all for poking fun at politicians but name calling wont win the referendum.

Well, I considered referring to his politics but as he doesn’t appear to have any opinions of his own on anything (apart from pies) I went for the cheap shot.

No doubt someone will correct me if I’m wrong but this is the guy who, when he very narrowly won Edinburgh South (just beating LibDem Fred MacIntosh, of all people), allegedly said in response that a) he had not expected to win b) he’d therefore not prepared an acceptance speech and c) inferred (I understand) that he’d actually wanted to stand in a different constituency (Mid Lothian?).

On the upside there are now more pie-shops in the area (allegedly).

26. Max

I see the BBC have put up their own Project Fear web page.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/16630456

Note the positive tone of the headlines (NOT). Note also the mass of comments on the stories (NOT)

Scotland’s Future would be a lot better without the BBC. I think we can all agree on that. 

27. Craig M

Did anyone catch the piece on BBC Scotland this morning, with Dennis Canavan and a reporter discussing the events in Falkirk? Canavan was given space to talk fluently about the negative aspects of how Labour works. It was also interesting to note that Johann Lamont was in London at the time the decisions were taken by Labour HQ London to invoke emergency rule. 

28. HandandShrimp

Willie Bane (of the truth) was on this morning too and resolutely refused to answer anything not even if Johann had been consulted saying that Westminster MPs are a matter for London but of course Johann is the leader.

Willie actually made me laugh out loud. Unfortunataely for Labour the UK medi ahave their teeth in this one and they are not so compliant as the Scottish media. They are getting kicked all round the shop and various Labour grandees like Blunkett are taking pot shots too.

29. Murray McCallum

Regarding Falkirk selection, maybe SLAB are simply reflecting their acknowledged inability to run their own affairs (requiring Westminster direct rule) onto the entire Scottish population / economy?  This would explain their meek approach to all things Westminster and their low opinion of Scotland.

30. Atypical_Scot

Had a peek at that BBC page highlighted by Max. Clickable thumb nails – Queeny. Royal assent to parliament. Then read Royal assent wiki page;
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Royal_Assent
    Then supreme court page;
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Supreme_Court_of_the_United_Kingdom
    I must be missing something, but, nowhere does it stipulate that after Royal assent is granted to a devolved parliament, does the matter fall back to Westminster (Edinburgh Agreement), in fact, only the Supreme Court. Regarding the powers of a devolved parliament, it seems that the question of an undemocratic treaty of 1707 is overturned by the European bill of human rights automatically.

31. heraldnomore

O/T and apologies Stu, but… Falkirk/Labour/Unite
    The Silence of the Lamont, over at NNS, and that scoundrel Guido, with a leaked Unite document.
    Then Comrade Murphy and Wee Dougie.  Where is it all heading, for Labour, for Scotland.  Interesting?
    http://www.newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-politics/7681-lamont-silence-questioned-as-falkirk-crisis-engulfs-labour
    http://order-order.com/2013/07/04/read-leaked-unite-plot-to-stitch-up-seats-in-full-it-will-be-tory-party-conference-theme/

32. Boorach

@ Training Days

Sad to say but Derek Bateman is no more. he retired from BBC at weekend after hosting ‘headlines’ on Saturday. Will be doing occasional work for them but nothing regular. Was goven a hearty farewell so don’t think there’s nything underhand about his departure.

33. HandandShrimp

I am sad that Derek has gone. Headlines was one of the few genuinely balanced political shows on Radio Scotland and the banter between the various pundits was usually good natured and civilised. Even the Times correspondent Angus was pretty even handed in his brickbats across the political divide. I look forward to any replacement with trepidation. Is Headlines continuing and if so who is presenting?  

34. a supporter

lumilumi says 4 July 12.47am
    I find it funny that some unionist accuses Rev Stu or any other pro-indy blogger/journo/politician of being a pied-piper.
    Be happy it is a compliment to the fact that Wings is so effective. The BritNatz do not like it.

35. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I am sad that Derek has gone.”

Aye, especially in such quick succession after the loss (to politics) of David Miller. That’s Radio Scotland’s two best interviewers up the spout in a few weeks. If Bernard Ponsonby gets sent off to do the football it’s going to start to smell fishy…

36. Yesitis

Buster Bloggs
    The BBC will not change, What about a wee mock cartoon of Reporting Scotland, Newsnight Scotland,  see if we can get a laugh,  I’m going to give it a go,  I’ve made a start on finding my way around the software, I’ve made a wee opening sequence just to test, it’s rough but has some potential to bring the blood pressure down I think.

Buster, I checked it out and liked it. It was pretty good.
    I think you should keep doing what you are doing; a mock Reporting Scotland revealing the obvious pro-unionist bias could be great to put out there, and might click with undecideds who are unsure if anyone else has noticed the BBC in Scotland`s increasing pro-‘Britishness’.

37. Jamie Arriere

I heard a trail for another Radio Scotland programme called, would you believe, “A Scot’s History of Britishness”, presented by Richard Holloway. Might be an idea to check it out and critique it, Rev.

38. Jamie Arriere

Here’s a link for that radio programme – it is primarily a history programme, but later episodes may come up to the present day.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b0367c46

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.