1. 05 04 15 07:40

Yesterday’s men | Speymouth

125 to “Yesterday’s men”

1. Stoker

Being a bit Liberal with that alcohol are they not!

Thanks, Chris, good to see you back.

2. Ken500

Haven’t done that

Is retiring Carmichael on holiday in France? With his ‘new’ friend.

3. Grant

Classic.

4. Marie clark

Morning folks. Great to see you back Chris. Great toon for a Sunday morning, how apt after yesterdays debacle.

Anyway, any idea where Carmichael is? It would appear that he has gone missing.

5. Luigi

Alistair Carmichael needs to man up, come out hiding and face the music. He has a number of important questions to answer:

Was he at the meeting?

If not, who was (from the SO)?

If so, is NS, the French ambassador and the consul general telling the truth?

If not, is he calling them all liars?

Did he write the memo?

If not, who did?

Does he have any evidence?

Etc etc etc.

6. Ken500

Why are the Westminster Gov monitoring and distorting Holyrood conversations? Why is the Scottish Secretary canvassing against Scotland?

What about the Home Rule/Full fiscal autonomy/Federalism.

7. bugsbunny

Alistair’s went away out for a Easter Sunday Swim. Unfortunately for him, local Greenpeace Activists thought he was a beached whale and towed him back into the sea. Fortunately for us, a passing Norwegian trailer thought he was a humpback and speared him for his blubber. I wish? Lol.

Stephen.

8. Dorothy Devine

Great cartoon and thanks to attending the rally I now sport two of your previous ones on my lapel!

9. gillie

The Lesser Spotted Lib Dem. Soon to be extinct.

10. jimnarlene

I think they’re going to need a bigger couch.

11. Macart

Nailed it Chris and welcome back.

Yes Mr Carmichael, if you’re out there I believe you do need to answer some pressing and pointed questions.

12. bookie from hell

Scottish Office prepared to smear FM

Will Finish off the LibDems forever

13. Famous15

Carmichael was at the meeting with the French Ambassador in Edinburgh too but had one too many “canapes”

Back at the uK Scotland Office his Senior Staffer reminds him to file his report. Having had a Charles Kennedy moment and forgotten what the meeting was about he tells the Civil Servant to phone the French Consul General to scrabble a report.

The posh Civil Servant of the speak louder to foreigners ilk phones but
    does not understand a word of the beautiful English Spoken by our Gallic friend so manufactures a report of the sort her boss the Secretary of State for Scotland might like to hear but safely qualifies it in the last paragraph as being possibly lost in translation.

Our sharp as a razor Imperial Governor sees an opportunity to damage the SNP and the rest is history.

Lib Dems Labour anyone? Point out any amendments?

14. JimmyC

If you can find it, I seem to remember watching Scotland Tonight the other night and there was a clip of Carmichael at some point getting a tour of a whiskey distillery. Anyway it struck me as weird when I was watching it because I don’t think he smiled once during the clip. And considering he was on the campaign trail folk are usually all smiles. Maybe he’d already done the deed by then/found out he’d been thrown under the bus, and he was shiting it.

15. asklair

Talking of alcohol, the Herald has got this title on a article “Row over Murphy’s link to drinks industry lobbyist” https://archive.today/rIi3e

16. galamcennalath

jimnarlene says:
    “I think they’re going to need a bigger couch.”

They are going to need a bigger couch, and we are going to need a bigger coach 😉

17. Alex Montrose

Another pair of troughers, ready for the big red cloak.

18. Author_al

@Ken500

Why is the Scottish Secretary canvassing against Scotland. Good point. And being paid a lot iof money to do so, no doubt.

19. dakk

@asklair

Surprise,surprise.

I also know very well connected Labour supporter who is dead against the forthcoming ban in UK of plain packaging of cigarettes,also works in PR

I don’t doubt Philip Morris and BAT will be greasing his champagne socialist palms.

Follow the money

20. Sam Auld

Twitter analysis blog: “When you write a algorithm to find the most frequent three word groups that appear together, then you look at the top 200 most frequent groupings, you only find groupings describing the SNP, it’s leader, or it’s policies. NO POLICIES OF ANY OTHER PARTY APPEAR IN THE TOP 200.”

“if I’m right the SNP will continue to *own* Twitter throughout this campaign”

https://garyshortblog.wordpress.com/2015/04/04/uk-general-election-day-4-twitter-analysis/

21. Cuilean

i love cc’s work but i don’t get this particular cartoon. can someone explain it please? is it to do with the scottish office’s alleged leak to the torygraph?

22. Oneironaut

Reminds me a bit of the average UKIP voter!

23. cearc

They’re watching the next LibDem party conference!

Welcome back Chris, hope the house clear-up wasn’t too awful.

24. Giving Goose

Jesus suis Nichola

25. Chris Cairns

@Cuilean – it was drawn before Frenchgate exploded on Friday night and certainly before any link to the Scottish Office. It merely refers to the leaders debate as watched by two of Sturgeon’s previous ‘victims’ in TV debates.

26. Joemcg

Always thought Carmichael and Foulkes were competing to nurture the largest alcohol induced pock marked brilliant red noses for the benefit of achieving Guinness book of record status.Have he seen the size of their effing schonks?! Alkie bastards.

27. Grouse Beater

I like Chris’s cleaner style of illustration.

28. Clootie

JimmyC says:
    5 April, 2015 at 9:00 am

…please don’t put an “e” in whisky 🙁

29. undead shaun

I think they scored an own goal with this, hopefully fuzzy bear is implicated as the source and is toast on may 7th.

As for the telegraph, after this it has as much credibility as the Sunday sport.

30. haud on the noo

Cearc– it is the next conference..

31. caz-m

Excellent Chris,

Another idea for a sketch would have been the paperboy/girl, pictured in a Scottish Labour Party “stronghold” area, showing them with a full bag of Daily Mail and Daily Telegraph newspapers, ready to deliver to all their new customers, who are eagerly waiting to get their political fix for the day.

Will the Daily Mail and Telegraph squeeze the Daily Record out of the picture as the “must read” for Scottish Labour?

32. undead shaun

Sorry that should read fozzy bear. Had an autotext moment there 🙂

33. ronnie anderson

Their no oan expences NOO its ScotchMac their drinking yuk.

Great TOON Chris.

34. Joemcg

Another attack on Scotland by the cretin Bruce Anderson in the Torygraph. What a condescending article. Toe curling. Like the description of Nic as the ice queen, always thought she was warm and kind. These unionists minds are twisted and warped by years of British establishment indoctrination. It’s sickening.

35. caz-m

Or you could have drawn Shuggie, the diehard Scottish Labour voting brickie, with his jeans falling off his arse, with the Daily Mail hanging out of his back pocket.

If any Scottish Labour supporter has the brass neck to through the Nicola Sturgeon story in your face, just hit back with the fact that more and more of them are getting their answers from the Daily Mail/Telegraph.

“…is that your Daily Mail there mate…”

Ouch!

36. Patrick Roden

Nice one Chris,

As for Carmichael, I just wonder if the French will authorise the release of all of their own papers, that relate to this story.

We know that the consulate guy spoke to the Scottish office, so I’m certain he would have noted the name of the person he spoke to, and what was discussed?

If it was Carmichael, he’s toast.

37. Patrick Roden

caz m says

” with his jeans falling off his arse, with the Daily Mail hanging out of his back pocket.”

Ouch, that’ll hurt. so c’mon all you photo shop experts and cartoonists…:-)

38. ronnie anderson

@JimmyC 9.am

Carmichael is doing a tour od Whisky Distilleries in the Hope of getting a few gifts of Hogsheads of Whisky to sit along side his Troughf in Retirement.

Jimmy watch your spelling on Whisky or you may find yourself called a Troll they cannie spell whisky without the E,am no ah Pedant honest,as many on here will testyfy to LoL

39. Joemcg

Aye, Carmichael is strangely very quiet. Especially as he loves the spotlight. Come on all you impartial journalists track the shill down. Yes you Jamesie Cook, you are the man for the job. Mind and use the same wee hard man tone you spouted yesterday with the FM. No bias now.

40. Mealer

Ronnie,
    watch your spelling of troch.

41. Marcia

Good cartoon. Maybe Chris can add more to the couch as the weeks go by.

Nice article about Mhairi Black, the SNP Candidate in Paisley South in the Guardian/Observer.

https://archive.today/hGMNk

42. Thomas Barrowman

Brilliant

43. Alastair

Carmichael retiring – have I missed any announcement. He is listed as standing.

And guys its the now the Scotland Office not Scottish.

Come to the party Alistair – we await your contribution with interest.

44. Mealer

They seek him here,
    They seek him there,
    Those cybernats seek him everywhere,
    Is he in heaven or is he in hell?
    That lying fat bastard should be in the jail.

45. Dave McEwan Hill

James Cook did his job well yesterday and Nicola was given serious questions and allowed to give serious answers and get all her points over. The last thing we need is journalistic sooks like the ones Labour and Tory enjoy. The people are seeing through all that.

We are producing 1/2 inch blue silicone wrist bands with the legend “Independence – the future is ours” at 25p each (includes p&p). Anybody who wants any (minimum order 100) can email me at dalinlongart@gmail.com

46. caz-m

Dorothy and Ronnie

Morning, did you see how the media used the bullshit Nicola Sturgeon story, to completely overlook the Anti-Trident rally yesterday.

47. ronnie anderson

@ Mealer

Pedant lol,ma speilings improving,it must be reading the postings of the Educated People’s on here am working on improving ma Pronuktuations.LoL

48. bookie from hell

murnahan

labour

Chris Leslie

“PERHAPS Nicola Sturgeon actualy does secretly wants a conserative government”

rowing back further an further–but keeping the smear

49. Mealer

Dave McEwan Hill 10.54,
    That’s fair comment and the interview itself was rigorous but perfectly reasonable.I’m sure he will be equally rigorous with Mr Carmichael.

50. Achnababan

If James Cook is such a brilliant and unbiased reporter why is he not leading the Press Pack to the door of Carmichael or running him to ground wherever in the world he is?

The scent leads there…. and its not pleasant!

Perhaps Glenn (with 2 ns) Cambelley is the only reporter who has a passport in BBC Scotland?

51. call me dave

No cause for alarm in the latest UGOV poll sub sample for Scotland on ‘Scot goes Pop’

Asked a couple of young ones serving in the paper shop “who’s that behind Sturgeon”. No idea they said winkling their noses… 🙂

Lost in translation…

52. ronnie anderson

British Establishment trait People are distracted with other events,& breaking several stories at once.

53. Calgacus

Is Labour calling the French ambassador and the First Minister of Scotland liars?

54. ronnie anderson

O/T sos Rev for re-posting.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fAtKVj65G0o

55. manandboy

Easter Sunday is synonymous with rising from the dead.

Frenchgate may well prove the exception to the rule
    for someone at the Scottish Office.

Alistair Carmichael?

56. Patrick Roden

It’s getting closer,

from the Sunday Herald:

“Pierre-Alain Coffinier, France’s consul general in Edinburgh, told this newspaper he had told a “friend” at the Scotland Office about the Sturgeon meeting, but refused to name them”

Of course Pierre doesn’t want to say who his friend is, but if the ambassador or French government should, decide that the way they have (not for the first time) been used as silver bullets, to attack the SNP, as well as all but accused of being liars, is unacceptable, they might just decide that it is in their own best interest, to tell Pierre, he must release all his notes from the incident, including this telephone conversation with his big fat friend, (not that I suspect anyone mind)

57. A MacRitchie

TEATOTAL SMURPHY?

Read the article in the Sunday Herald re Smurphy connections to Heineken hence his alcohol campaign. Now the hypocrisy of Smurphy doesn’t surprise me my disgust with this git is well documented I’ve no time for him.

However the phrase that got me in this piece was tea total?

A vague recollection of Smurphy outside the Clutha Bar that night came to mind.

My recollection of him standing their being interviewed by the BLBC was one of him with this am out of this world glaikit expression on his face. I thought then he looked pissed to hell and then when he spoke there was long gaps as he looked into space……..yes with this glaikit look. Now we all know his brain is wired up incorrectly and that his mouth is slow to respond to the grey matter but he always has a glaikit expression on his face unless he’s dodging eggs in which case hell claim he has egg on his face ……but.

So was he ……..pissed that night or well maybe he had just been sniffing the glue.

It would be interesting to see that interview again……. just to see that glaikit expression and make a definitive decision was it alcohol or glue?

58. Mealer

Ronnie Anderson 11.05,
    We don’t want the Rev to have to kill you with hamsters!

59. Ken500

Why is the Scottish Secretary spying on and briefing against the Scottish Gov? Is he still standing.

60. HandandShrimp

I don’t think Rona is going to help Alistair

61. ronnie anderson

@ Caz m, sos that british estb post was meant for you.
    MUST inculude name to reply,I,ll get the hang o this edit thing yit lol.

62. Alastair

Shouldn’t take long for enquiry.
    Todays Telegraph –

“Senior UK Government sources close to the official who wrote the account told the Telegraph he was an “experienced and reliable civil servant” in whom they had faith.”

So they know who it is, they have the memo and the background. Whoever it is must have been interviewed by now.

Great democracy when the UK Government know, Scotland Office know, the FO know, the Telegraph know but the First Minister of Scotland still doesn’t know.

We demand the truth and we want it now.

63. Cuilean

@ Chris Cairns

Ahh! Excellent – as usual. Sorry for being rather thick today!

In my defence, ‘Frenchgate’ / Carmichael’s ‘smoking-gun’ potential, put me off track.

It’s really all Stu’s fault (for taking so long to post your work)! 😉

64. Bob Mack

Carmichael—- One of the best recruiting sergeants in the business. For the SNP!.

65. Edward

caz-m @ 10:57

Yes, despite having camera crew’s there in George Square

Tells you what you need to know about the media

66. ronnie anderson

O what ah tangled WEB they weave when the practice to deceive.

The FEMALE Black Widow is the More Deadly of the Species.

No reflection on Nicola Sturgeon,she,s a Lady. But watch oot you clowns if Nicola starts to BITE,Oh err MRS that bite leaves ah big rid FACE.

67. T.roz

That is the best cartoon I have ever seen.

Is it possible to patronise a country anymore than having a “scottish secretary” or a “welsh secretary”?

The popularity of Nicola and her ability to deliver a new style politics,which is desired by so many, is completely alien to these free loaders.

68. One_Scot

“James Cook did his job well yesterday”

Are you having a laugh.

Cook puts the word accuse into Nicolas mouth, she then says she is not accusing anybody of anything but is looking for answers.

And yet the BBC website is currently running with,

“Ms Sturgeon has accused Whitehall of “dirty tricks” over the Daily Telegraph story.”

Who is it you are trying to fool.

69. Patrick Roden

Remember folks, Alistair Carmichael and the Scottish office have had this ‘bombshell memo’ since January, yet, even though it would have clearly had a devastating impact on oor Nicola’s SNP credentials, they kept discreet about it.

What a complete gentleman Alistair is, eh?,

You’d think that like most politicians, he would have immediately saw that this bombshell of a revelation, would inflict huge damage on his political opponent, and so would go straight to his friends in the media, but not ‘gentleman Alistair’

Can BBC James Cook, not hunt Alistair down, so that we can award him the ‘Political Nice Guy of the Year’ trophy, that he so richly deserves?

Or am I missing something in translation, and find myself, on the wrong track?

Help Me Rona!!!

70. manandboy

The Command & Control Centre for the ‘Smear Nicola/SNP’ Campaign
    is No 10 Downing St.
    Cameron, Carmichael, McTernan, the Civil Service, MI5, MI6,
    they are all in the loop.

Cameron and Carmichael are in on this – but they’ll pretend not to be.

The Union sinks a little lower in the water.

71. Donald Urquhart

Just watched the neighbours kids out on an easter egg hunt in the garden – sweet.

Now on the subject of searching for overcooked, rotund objects that need a pinch of salt …

..where’s Carmichael??

72. ronnie anderson

@ caz m screen name Young Martin wie a Y get him posting.

73. Edward

Alistair Carmichael (BOLO – Be on Lookout)

Mr Carmichael last seen 5 days ago leaving an Inverurie Distillery clutching a gift of a Half Hogshead of Whisky

Current whereabouts unknown

74. ronnie anderson

@ Rev.

Your like the Tartan Pimpernel ( nae relation tae the late Rev Caskie ) I was told many times yesterday,people had seen you at George Square lol.

75. caz-m

Don’t you just feel sorry for the Labour, Conservative and Lib/Dems Parties.

They just want all this “stuff” to go away and for things to go back to the way it used to be.

NO CHANCE PAL!

We are here and we are going nowhere.

Vote SNP May 7th.

76. Swami Backverandah

The Civil Servant friend of the CG, writer of the unofficial memo isn’t difficult to work out, but even if they wrote the note of the telephone conversation in good faith accompanied by the rider of ‘lost in translation’, or even if they wrote it with skewed motive of nefarious intent, they may or may not have leaked it.
    Finding the leaker may be a little more difficult. If it’s the civil servant, even if they confess as a useful tool in order to take the flak (reminds me of Jeremy Hunt’s SpAd during the Murdoch ‘back-channel’ bid) they’re for the chop. If it’s someone else it may be a little more difficult to uncover. Maybe Simon from the Telegraph can help with that. Then we’ll find out what standard of journalistic integrity he subscribes to. He might claim to “protect his sources”, but the claims in the memo have been soundly rebutted. Will he assist?

Over to you, Simon.

77. Swami Backverandah

@ Patrick Roden 11.43.

Could you state where the info is about the memo being held since January?
    I thought the meeting wasn’t till February, so may have been misled. Happy to be better informed. Thanks.

78. Dave McEwan Hill

One Scot at 11.43

“Ms Sturgeon has accused Whitehall of “dirty tricks” over the Daily Telegraph story.”

That is exactly what she did. Your point is?

79. YESGUY

Chris .

The toon got me smiling again after the previous thread with the Labour goons and the Anti Nicola lies.

Big thanks . 🙂

Marcia.

Great to read about the lass Mhairi Black.

The young are energetic and determined and if she was my candidate here in Midlothian i would be first in the queue to vote for her. A star in the future.

You don’t have to be old to be wise.

And there’s no fool like an old fool.

Go young team . You makes this middle aged man so proud …. and a wee bit jealous 😉

80. caz-m

Marcia 10.42am

Brilliant link to Mhairi Black, it is already doing the rounds among her thousands of little helpers.

https://archive.today/hGMNk

I really do think she will become my new PM on May 7th.

81. Lochside

As was the case during the REF, the Brits played the man (AS) not the ball. Now it’s play the woman…in this case smear her and by definition destroy her main strength in the electorate eyes: her honesty.

Perfidious and insidious Albion….dirty lying Imperialist scum.

82. Famous15

SOS Carmichael failed in his search for a LibDem safe house in which he wished to hide from the angel of Truth.

Despicable man. He hates all things Scottish and will make sure his faux ermine is from a yak with which he shares many genes!

83. gerry parker

@Alastair at 11:33

not even.

“an uncharacteristic slip, by an otherwise reliable member of staff”

but I suppose we’ll get that next, they’ll be holding onto that one for after the whitewash – sorry enquiry.

84. Marcia

You will find the doctored memo in the same room that holds Tony Blair’s weapons of mass destruction.

85. Dave McEwan Hill

Wee Ginger Dug is on the ball this morning!

86. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

Keep in mind that Clegg’s yellow tories are the party which welcomed back the odious Lord Rennard to their party with open arms after that scandal. It’s also the party which still refuses to hold an open and full inquiry into Cyril Smith.

So the chances of the fat fool Carmichael coming out of hiding with a believable account at what went on at the scotland office under his orders are zero.

About the same chance then of the unionist media bothering to look into his role in the tabloid smearing, lies and dirty tricks.

That being the case we might as well hear from someone who isn’t a corrupt yellow tory and who deserves all the support he can get to rid us of lib dem liars like Carmichael.

KrisForScotland ?@neurosceptic

@theSNP candidate for Orkney and Shetland @DanusSkene speaks about his vision for the Northern isles –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qahujZ1RBJo

It’s also well worth highlighting this again as already the kindness of SNP and Yes supporters in helping out Danus and the SNP campaign has already been huge. 🙂

Robert Leith ?@ClatchardCraig 16h

Danus Skene is the SNP candidate for Orkney and Shetland. You can help him to replace Alistair Carmichael…

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/orkney-and-shetland-snp-campaign-2015#pledges

87. Famous15

Sorry for my last entry,fell asleep in church and must have had a Revelations nightmare.

What? carmichael actually did this?The devil finds work for idle hands?

OK Wide Awake .Your back in the room. Surreal Scotland I just love you!

88. Joemcg

Well according to an article in The Scotsman pimpernel Carmichael is due to join the campaign trail in Edinburgh today. There ye go wee hard man Cook, done the ground work for you. Do your stuff.

89. gordoz

I don’t doubt this UK government memo exists in some form and I don’t doubt its content either or that it originated from a British state office.

The fact that its content is a calculated spurious comment of pure conjecture at best, with no basis in fact; confirmed by all the parties ‘accused of the said fabricated statements’ is more than concerning. Published and broadcast before UK state reacts at all.

The main worry is why the UK government did not pounce on this before the FM complained. Remember they are only investigating a leak – not the content of that leak.

This brings us back to all the covert sinister home and international briefing against YES via UK embassies during the referendum.

Just what other fabrications via Governmental memo, Chinese whispers aren’t we hearing about ?

More UK govt black arts to come folks ??
    Guess that will depend on how much progress it looks like SNP will achieve.

90. Ken500

Danny Alexander increased Oil tax 11% (£2Billion a year) in 2011 Budget. It cost Scotland £4Billion+ a year in lost revenues. £16Billion.

The poorer live on less than £10K a year. The vulnerable, students, OAP. Increased 10k tax threshold does not help them. LibDems support benefit changes, ‘room tax’ which will cost more. LibDems support sanctioning the vulnerable and food banks. LibDems support £9000 student fees.

The LibDems have cut tax and the tax take has fallen to £466Billion in the UK (borrow £90Billion a year). intend to charge for health care. ConDems elected to protect NHS/Education cut
    both. NHS £2Billion (savings?) a year and Education £3Billion a year.The Scottish Gov has funded social care, prescriptions, student loans, mitigated ‘bedroom tax’, mitigated £34Million welfare cuts. Labour means-tested student loans on household income. They would rather young people were unemployed (£60 a week?) than studying.

Con/LibDems have targeted the vulnerable and rewarded the wealthy who caused the crash. £30Billion of welfare cuts will hit the sick and most vulnerable.

More tax revenues are raised (pro rata 9%) in Scotland than the rest of the UK. £54Billion+ (Corp tax paid through the City of London HQ’s etc.) The rest of the UK raises £412Billion (borrows and spends £90Billion). Scotland could raise more by scrapping Trident/illegal wars, a tax on ‘loss leading’ alcohol, and Oil on the West coast. Westminster economic policies hold Scotland back.

91. K1

Great cartoon Chris…spot on.

Marcia, the ‘vow’ will be in that room too.

92. Stoker

I’ve just been told that Chris Cairns is privy to some insider info. And that his cartoon is really a subliminal expose of a Unionist shebeen.

What you can’t see, and Chris isn’t telling us, is that Dim Jim is hiding in the kitchen and controlling the scams on the alcohol.

btw, I refuse to reveal my source but what i can tell you is that she is very close to Dim Jim and is a Slabber party member.

93. JayR

Daily Telegraph said the senior civil servant who wrote memo was a “he”.

French Consul-General said it was someone at the Scotland Office.

That makes it almost certain it was one of these two senior male civil servants at the Scotland Office:

Chris Flatt, Principal Private Secretary to the Secretary of State

Glenn Preston, Deputy Director (Home, Social & Domestic Affairs)

I’d put money on it being Flatt.

94. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

Keep in mind that Clegg’s yellow tories are the party which welcomed back the odious Lord Rennard to their party with open arms after this scandal.

Leaving the Lib Dems – senior woman quits over Rennard

In her letter to Mr Clegg, seen by Channel 4 News, Ms Gaszczak writes: “I joined as a teenager, I have knocked on doors, delivered millions of leaflets, stood for council and parliament… I have given time, love, effort, as well as sweat and tears…However, I can no longer remain a member of a party that feels it is acceptable for the then chief executive to invite me to his hotel room to advance my political career.”

She adds: “Even though I have complained, and raised this for over 7 years, the party still do not see the complaint as an issue. This week the appeals panel met and threw out our appeal to an unfair process. I have been called credible more than once. Yet still no-one feels it is appropriate to deal with the issue.”

http://blogs.channel4.com/cathy-newman-blog/lib-dem-official-quits-lord-rennard-allegations/784

It’s also the party which still refuses to hold an open and full inquiry into Cyril Smith.

The Guardian ?@guardian Apr 4

Liberal officials allegedly bribed activists who witnessed Cyril Smith grope boy http://trib.al/9rxtt7F

So the chances of the fat fool Carmichael coming out of hiding with a believable account at what went on at the scotland office under his orders are close to zero.

About the same chance then of the unionist media bothering to look into Carmichael’s role in the tabloid smearing, lies and dirty tricks.

95. starlaw

SNP should take no part in any debate chaired by James Cook he is vehemently anti SNP. Ive been watching him since Bannockburn day until now. The vision of his smug mug on the ten o’clock news the other night told me it was bad news for the SNP. His interview with Nicola in Georges square was nothing short of an attempt to get her saying what he wanted to hear, and not what she wanted to say. He is in the same league as the other honours chasers

96. Rob James

Carmichael is still my main suspect. The link to the Scotland Office, his meeting with the French Ambassadeur, in addition to his previous with the Torygraph reporter, certainly point a finger in his direction. However, I don’t think he was the instigator, and was certainly not acting alone.

What were Carmichael’s motives? Save the Lib Dems? Perhaps his own seat? None of those. Carmichael’s interest would be to smear the SNP and impress his Imperial masters. The buffoon never thought that the paper trail would lead back to him so quickly. Now he is in hiding trying to work out a plausible defence.

Who else would stand to benefit? Labour certainly ramped up their ‘Vote SNP get Tories’ campaign of late. At first I expected it was a fall back after their other major statement, ‘the biggest party’ had been shredded to pieces. However, they progressed with ‘Tories little helpers.’ Looks suspiciously as though they were ramping up the Tory connection just in time for the press release. They were unusually alert in hurling the mud and have milked the situation embarrassingly to their own detriment.

The Tories? Their fingers shall be in the pie, but they have more or less distanced themselves and let the others self harm. Their tracks will be well covered, whereas Carmichael and his pals from Labour could lose out badly if a full inquiry were to take place.

The smear has certainly backfired, and the public have not been fooled, witnessed by the continuing membership rise and the number of labour members cancelling their subscriptions.

Now, having cried wolf once, it is a tactic whose chance of success in the future, has become greatly diminished.

97. wee jock poo-pong mcplop

Wouldn’t it be great to think that the Scottish Office, the Civil Service and the Telegraph were full of ashen-faced, worried figures today, desperate to avoid being found out?

Sadly, we just know that they’re all relaxing at their golf clubs. Those bastards have always been untouchable. “Official enquiry”, my arse.

98. HandandShrimp

It might have been Flatt that wrote the memo, which has the out that he didn’t believe the account to be true, but I would be more inclined to think that it was either Alistair or part of the Tory machine that leaked it…possibly Crosby’s lot.

99. Lochside

O/T But brilliant investigative work on how McTernan and gang fixed the REF result with the postal
    vote:

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=816197151794309&id=664987453581947

100. Bill McLean

Lochside at 1218PM – hear bloody hear!! The rats with posh voices.

101. Kevin Evans

O/T but am watching carry on Henry and it’s just reached the part when Henry has started war with the king of France. I had to laugh.

102. Robert Kerr

Annent the “lost in translation” statement and the acknowledged fact that the actual conversation was in English perhaps the telephone conversation between the Scotland Office and the Consul General was in French.

Any competent journalist would check out which officials at S O are fluent in French.

Is the Minister of State so gifted?

103. Harry McAye

Comments like A MacRitchie’s above make me wonder if there are black operatives on this site. I cannot stand Murphy but to insinuate that he was drunk when giving those tv interviews is a fucking disgrace. Shame on you. I suppose you would be calmness personified in such a situation.

104. Patrick Roden

Swami, you’re right the meeting was Feb, my mistake.

105. Robert Peffers

@Stoker says: 5 April, 2015 at 6:33 am:

“Being a bit Liberal with that alcohol are they not!”

It’s their new joint effort to be sure to end up as Liberal Pee’ers.

I’ll get my coat.

106. Dave McEwan Hill

Lochside 1.16

Hard copy of the DSF investigation into the postal vote with full charts and graphs is available from Forward, 186 Argyll Street, Dunoon, PA23 7HA for £3 (includes P&P)

107. Robert Peffers

@Marie clark says: 5 April, 2015 at 7:24 am

“Morning folks. Great to see you back Chris. Great toon for a Sunday morning, how apt after yesterdays debacle”.

Aye! Marie, Chris has a wonderful gift and, unlike many others, knows just how to use it.

“Anyway, any idea where Carmichael is? It would appear that he has gone missing.”

Never discount his equally naff sidekick at the Scottish Office, David Mundell. Two more sneaky, self serving, lying numpties would be hard to find anywhere this side of the Scottish/English borders.

108. desimond

Great stuff..even reminds me of Burnistoun!

109. ronnie anderson

Ave goat ah big barrel of Whitewash but ah canny make up ma mind as to whitch colourant of tint ah should use, mibbee,s the Scotlands Office could help me oot.

110. Robert Peffers

@Famous15 says: 5 April, 2015 at 8:52 am:

“Carmichael was at the meeting with the French Ambassador in Edinburgh too but had one too many “canapes”

To my best knowledge Carmichael was NOT at that meeting, Famous15.

His meeting with the nice French Lady was a different and separate meeting that Nicola was not present at.

Ambassadors tend not to have meetings with opposing political factions at the same time. It’s, shall we say, diplomatic to do so.

111. A MacRitchie

Reply to Mcaye ???? 13.36

A person that cant even put his real name on the post……..black operative?

I stand by my comment…. if he was or if he wasn’t drunk or high on glue that night he would probably deny it anyway he’s a spineless git.

But to pretend outrage, defend the guy ??? And claim you dislike him mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

Take the comment anyway you like am talking about the guy who when he found out he could use that unfortunate incident for exposure purposes used it to the max.

Lighten up.

112. Robert Peffers

@Patrick Roden says: 5 April, 2015 at 10:34 am:

” … We know that the consulate guy spoke to the Scottish office, so I’m certain he would have noted the name of the person he spoke to, and what was discussed?

If it was Carmichael, he’s toast.”

The young lady French Ambassador had two meetings when she visited the Scottish Parliament. One with Carmichael and one with Nicola but they were totally separate meetings.

As to your question – why not ask them?

Here’s their Edinburgh Consulate : –
    http://www.ambafrance-uk.org/-Consulate-in-Edinburgh-

113. Fiona

I am still inclined to believe that it is pure fabrication by the Telegraph.

114. Robert Peffers

@Joemcg says:5 April, 2015 at 10:41 am:

” … Yes you Jamesie Cook, you are the man for the job. Mind and use the same wee hard man tone you spouted yesterday with the FM. No bias now.”

Och! Joemcg, dinna be daft. Jamsie’s no daft, (or he thinks he isn’t), after all there’s a big difference between bullying a wee lassie and a big fat numptie.

One is more likely to hit back than the other. (and now Jamsie kens whit ain hits back).

All that after I posted the warning last week –

“The female of the species is more deadly than the male”.”

115. HandandShrimp

Never discount his equally naff sidekick at the Scottish Office, David Mundell. Two more sneaky, self serving, lying numpties would be hard to find anywhere this side of the Scottish/English borders.

I had forgotten he was in there too. Passing that document to Crosby would be more likely to be a Mundell move than Carmichael. Carmichael might be hiding because he knows he is going to take the flak for another person’s misdeeds.

Also what if it was Carmichael that said he though Ed was useless and wires were crossed by the time it had been through Chinese whispers?

116. HandandShrimp

Carmichael confirms that it is a Scottish Office memo but says anyone could have leaked it. That is bollocks because the memo states at the top that it is sensitive and therefore would have been on limited distribution.

117. Stoker

Robert Peffers says @ Stoker
    “It’s their new joint effort to be sure to end up as Liberal Pee’ers.
    I’ll get my coat.”

Jist haud oan ther uncle bob, the attendant canny fun yer coat,
    yer gaun naewhur.

118. Gary45%

There is a good chance Fatty Carbuncle will be up in the islands.
    Gary

119. Harry McAye

A MacRitchie – Or by fate he was near the pub when it happened and like anybody would tried to help. He looked shocked to me. I will dance a jig around my living room if he loses his seat I can assure you, I loathe him, but that night put yourself in his shoes. You are perfectly entitled to write these words but you are playing into the hands of the enemy. I don’t want this site to be mundane where everyone is scared to say the wrong word but surely a line has to be drawn somewhere. I think you crossed it. There is plenty of ammunition to throw at him, just not the events of that night. It’s rather sick to try to score points from it. He was there, he was interviewed, try to deal with it.

120. A MacRitchie

Harry MCAYESPY. 18.59

Obviously Concorde still flies where you live cause the points in that piece just went right over your head.

You couldn’t see sarcasm if it smacked you in the face.

Just check out the points if your able to get off your high horse your making a mountain out of an ant hill.

Get a life.

I think you should take a good look at your own aggressive attitude before you criticise anyone else. At least I didn’t use fowl language.

Ps You can bet its not going to be the last comment I make about that ass hole.

I think you may still have a soft spot for your labour party.

121. Harry McAye

A MacRitchie – “my own aggressive attitude” Read your own original post back again please. No, that to me sounds like a real nasty piece of work. You are doing nobody any favours with nonsense like that.

122. A MacRitchie

Harry McAyeSpy guardian of the Smurphy. 22:31

Please please take your meds you need them I canny take any more!

End of.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.