We’re back (we think)

Posted on July 29, 2012 by

Our apologies to anyone who had trouble accessing the blog over the last 36 hours or so. While a few concerned emails asked whether we’d forgotten to renew the domain name, in fact the problem was the opposite – we DID renew it, several days early, but the transaction caused our rubbish registrants to reset the nameservers by mistake, and although their speedy online support managed to identify the problem and help us get the proper details back, the nature of DNS propagation meant that it took a while to get the old ones fully out of the system.

(We regularly saw the page flip from the proper one to the placeholder several times in the space of ten minutes, as late as yesterday evening, and annoyingly it’s probably cost us the chance of breaking the cumulative million-page-views mark this month.)

Everything should finally be fine for everyone now. If you manage to read this page but then the site vanishes again, please let us know.

Subscribe
Notify of

3 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Bugger (the Panda)

Do you have a public e-mail address should this happen again. I maybe still drunk from last night but I cannot find one on the blog.

ukp42

Yeah! thanks for the advice someone there gave to me through Twitter, of clearing my cash (or what ever it’s called?).
 Great to see you all back (big smiley face) 😀

Stats: 6,698 Posts, 1,210,612 Comments

• Young Lochinvar on Freedom of choice: “Sigh.. And why exactly was that? Clearances mean anything to you? The Jocks were graciously “encouraged” to b8gger aff to…Jan 30, 03:07
    • yoon scum on Freedom of choice: “11 down votes for saying I want action instead of pleasing lies think about itJan 30, 03:03
    • Young Lochinvar on Freedom of choice: “Ever heard of the Clearances, Lowland as well as Highland? A long tale, sair telt, by the vast majority “seeking…Jan 30, 02:52
    • Peter McAvoy on Freedom of choice: “My suggestion on the Holyrood budget would be to scrap free bus travel for under 22year old’s and share it…Jan 30, 02:49
    • Lynne on Freedom of choice: “Not ‘only just’. The letter is from September 2024.Jan 30, 01:48
    • Lynne on Freedom of choice: “Have to do it?Jan 30, 01:39
    • Geri on Freedom of choice: “It’s been said 100 times by others too, especially n DDNews with features fromJoe Glenton &Matt Kennard. The working class…Jan 30, 01:37
    • Geri on Freedom of choice: “That’s because they did. They love playing the sectarian card & arming warring factions & are still playing it today…Jan 30, 01:03
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Freedom of choice: “Bill Rolston:IRELAND, COLONIALISM AND THE UNFINISHED BUSINESS (Vimeo, 2021) ———— Book Overview: ‘Ireland, Colonialism and the Unfinished Revolution’ by Robbie…Jan 30, 00:30
    • Geri on Freedom of choice: “‘Its not clear whether Big Lugs supported efforts to find another name’ He talks to plants & wishes he was…Jan 30, 00:20
    • Geri on Freedom of choice: “Gave a reply but it’s flown to moderation. I dunno why. Anyway, in short, it was a sticking plaster to…Jan 29, 23:55
    • gregor on Freedom of choice: “Elon Musk: “Woke James Bond”: https://x.com/elonmusk/status/1884639941046436323 #Mi6issy #QJan 29, 23:54
    • James Gardner on Freedom of choice: “RESPECT !Jan 29, 23:44
    • James Gardner on Freedom of choice: “I liked Charles Kennedy..Jan 29, 23:24
    • Geri on Freedom of choice: “Do you remember all the dumb brexshiteers crawing the EU was stealing their Sovereignty & they were going to build…Jan 29, 22:59
    • Oneliner on Freedom of choice: “And the Bengal famine killed how many?Jan 29, 22:51
    • Oneliner on Freedom of choice: “OK we’ll call it the colonial Scottish colonial imperative You confuse Pakistan with India – I suppose you think that…Jan 29, 22:50
    • Vivian O’Blivion on Freedom of choice: “Seven Scottish sub-samples available for Westminster voting intention in last ten days. Total sample population 1,054. Average results: Con 12.7%,…Jan 29, 22:42
    • gregor on Freedom of choice: “BBC: King involved in ‘woke’ name change of Agincourt submarine: “King Charles was involved in a decision to change the…Jan 29, 22:36
    • sarah on Freedom of choice: “It would be great if all the “real” Labour MPs formed a Real Labour Party leaving a rump on the…Jan 29, 22:27
    • Geri on Freedom of choice: “Yes. The USA has military bases in over 800 countries. Their NGOs are in every parliament & they have their…Jan 29, 22:16
    • gregor on Freedom of choice: “The Gov and BBC rumours I’m hearing are wild (eyes roll) #OMGJan 29, 21:40
    • Mark Beggan on Freedom of choice: “Well said Rosie Duffield MP.Jan 29, 21:22
    • gregor on Freedom of choice: “YouGov: Scottish attitudes to the British Empire: Scots are more likely to see Scotland as having been a subject, rather…Jan 29, 21:21
    • Alf Baird on Freedom of choice: “‘devolved administrations’ haund oot the wages tae the privileged elites, bourgeoisie and proletariat rinnin the colony. Hits whit thay caw…Jan 29, 21:20
    • Marie M on Freedom of choice: “Just watched a very interesting clip, Judge Napolitina was interviewing Col. McGregor when he said “What people don,t understand is…Jan 29, 20:56
    • Hatey McHateface on Freedom of choice: “I guess we have to believe that a Labour MP has only just noticed that Starmer is a talentless, unprincipled,…Jan 29, 20:35
    • Hatey McHateface on Freedom of choice: “I’ve got a wee question: Is time inside the White House different from time everywhere else? Only out here, far…Jan 29, 20:26
    • Tommo on Freedom of choice: “May I ask-for the sake of argument- what is the point of the ‘devolved administrations’-other of course than providing refreshing…Jan 29, 20:24
    • Hatey McHateface on Freedom of choice: “How many offshore windfarms has Slovakia got? Nobody is blowing up interconnects between countries? Sure? Final answer? OK, one last…Jan 29, 20:21

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()