The sounds of silence

Posted on March 10, 2012 by

An alert viewer points us to a story in today's Times (paywall link).

"Supporters of the United Kingdom have swamped the Scottish government with hundreds of demands for an early referendum, SNP sources said. Scottish ministers were stunned when they received a flood of e-mails from unionists late last week, each one calling for a change in their approach to the referendum.

But when they examined the demands they realised that each e-mail was exactly the same and every one had been copied from a single standard e-mail.

[…]

[Michael] Moore was keen to distance himself from the e-mail deluge yesterday. A source close to the Scottish Secretary insisted that neither Mr Moore nor his team were responsible for the e-mails.

A Conservative spokesman was more direct, however. He said: “Given the way the cyber-Nats operate with the tacit approval of the SNP leadership, maybe the SNP should just calm down and look closer to home if they want to find conspiracy theories.”"

We'll be watching closely to see if any of the "Scottish" media investigates this dramatic story further over the weekend. But we won't be holding our breath.

12 to “The sounds of silence”

1. commenter says:

They’re really pounding away with that cybernat slur these days, eh?

It’s the new “Jocks”.

2. bigskelf says:

Perhaps something today with a certain Labour party "click here" to repond page that popped up last week.

3. Peter A Bell says:

That's the British Labour & Unionist Party up to their old tricks here. With the full support of their Tory allies, of course.

4. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

Oh dear. Well and truly busted, it would seem.

5. ron edinburgh says:

this suprises me?..their normally very good at being sneeky! they have just upgraded their old letter writting to local newspapers scam (where they would get members to sign a template letter to their local rag) ..i'm convinced this has browns people's hands all over it! 

6. Embradon says:

I wonder where all those identical e-mails came from.
    link to scottishlabour.org.uk

7. TYRAN says:

As per Embradon link,

– "Sending the message on the left means you will send an email response to the UK and Scottish Government consultations." (Scottish Labour)

The underlying code indeed sends / spams a pre-composed letter to three addresses, Scotland Office, Scottish Governement and another to Labour. 

8. Morag says:

What seems to be happening now is that cybernats are deleting the pro forma text in the window and typing their own responses, then using Labour's facility to submit.

I added a sentence explaining exactly what I had done, including a link to the web page.  I approve this course of action!

9. Christian Wright says:

Have any of you received the nod from Alex today? I haven't. I just don't know what to do or say. And when did you last receive a cheque from SNP Covert Action? 
    Do any of you have spare templates of what we are supposed to say this week? I'm all out.

10. MajorBloodnok says:

Christian, unlike Scottish Labour drones waiting for their weekly orders from London, those who want Indepedence are generally capable of independent thought.  The clue's in the name.
    Reminds me of something i was thinking the other day (probably somebody else got there before me but):

Labour supporters refer to Scottish nationalists who use the internet as Cybernats, whereas a Labour member who uses the internet is generally regarded by his peers to be a genius.

I'll need to work on the timing.

11. CW says:

Allow me to make a correction: "Labour supporters refer to Scottish nationalists who use the internet as Cybernats, whereas a Labour member who uses the internet is generally Tom Harris."

12. MajorBloodnok says:

Ker-ching!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,893 Posts, 1,239,270 Comments

• Aidan on Not So Octopus: “@Lorncal – an excellent and considered post. There seems to be this suggestion amongst the more hard of thinking here…Apr 10, 06:17
    • Aidan on Not So Octopus: “Tommy Sheridan was convicted and sentenced to 3 years in prison for perjury. Would perjury not be a crime in…Apr 10, 06:05
    • Young Lochinvar on Not So Octopus: “Beggars! But of course it has everything to do with you! I presume you utilised yer vote, so, it’s got…Apr 10, 02:17
    • Young Lochinvar on Not So Octopus: “Geri @ 7.38 Hit the nail right on the head again. Yoof trendy is not necessarily “right trendy”.. C; And…Apr 10, 01:09
    • Young Lochinvar on Not So Octopus: “AX Because we have been forcibly indoctrinated by persons “historical” such as yerself with agendas.. Who? 1. Royalty 2. Protestant…Apr 10, 01:00
    • Cynicus on The quality of mercy: “Bilbo says: “Trump….. may be good at a certain type of business that has made him rich….” =========== NOT TRUE…Apr 9, 23:48
    • Cynicus on The quality of mercy: “Bilbo says: “Trump….. may be good at a certain type of business that has made him rich….” =========== Not true.…Apr 9, 23:26
    • Geri on Not So Octopus: “Gen Z Aptly named the zoomers. If it’s not on social media it didn’t happen/isnae real..lolApr 9, 23:19
    • Rev. Stuart Campbell on Not So Octopus: “You seem to have forgotten to name any of them, ironically.Apr 9, 22:48
    • Colin Dawson on Not So Octopus: “Is there a way where the voters could choose the order of the regional list candidates rather than the parties?…Apr 9, 22:21
    • Geri on Not So Octopus: “George, That is unfortunate but it shouldn’t be held against everyone else. There are individuals I’d think twice about now.…Apr 9, 22:08
    • MaryB on Not So Octopus: “George Ferguson @ 7.22pm I can well understand why people are so tired and jaded with the independence movement, especially…Apr 9, 22:03
    • Alf Baird on Not So Octopus: “There is nobody to be held higher than those who have lost or stand to lose their liberty fighting for…Apr 9, 21:47
    • George Ferguson on Not So Octopus: “@Mark Beggan @9:09pm It was nothing to dae with me either. Self made situation for the Independence movement. We are…Apr 9, 21:39
    • Mark Beggan on Not So Octopus: “I want a clean conscience after the 7th of May. When the whole shit house comes burning down I will…Apr 9, 21:09
    • Bilbo on Not So Octopus: “There is quite a lot of comment saying that support for the Greens is generational where the majority of their…Apr 9, 20:52
    • George Ferguson on Not So Octopus: “@Geri 7:45pm So I have ruined the Independence movement. The fact that I was defrauded twice is not relevant. Perhaps…Apr 9, 20:38
    • Bilbo on Not So Octopus: “You are never going to get a party that is fully aligned with your own personal political views in normal…Apr 9, 20:37
    • Bilbo on Not So Octopus: “I’m afraid the others are correct Socrates. If your grandson is involved in the Greens, he is either an ideologically…Apr 9, 20:28
    • agentx on Not So Octopus: “Why is the name in English and not Scots?Apr 9, 20:26
    • Bilbo on The quality of mercy: “Trump is touted by his supporters as a business President untouched by the grubbiness of the Washington political machine. The…Apr 9, 20:25
    • Geri on Not So Octopus: “Eh? Wales belongs to England. Scotland is a country. Scotland is in a Union with England. Not with Wales or…Apr 9, 20:03
    • Cuphook on Not So Octopus: “Here’s my idea: Non-voters are counted on the list just as political parties are and each time non-voters win a…Apr 9, 19:58
    • Geri on Not So Octopus: “So basically you’re waiting on 5.5 million people agreeing with you before you’ll even consider if Scotland should be an…Apr 9, 19:57
    • Geri on Not So Octopus: “You have that the wrong way around. It’s ppl like you that have ruined the Yes movement. You aren’t asked…Apr 9, 19:45
    • Geri on Not So Octopus: “I have to agree with GM. They weren’t in Holyrood five minutes & immediately started reversing on indy with inventing…Apr 9, 19:38
    • agentx on Not So Octopus: “Why is it “Alliance to Liberate Scotland Party” when the Wales Nationalist party is Plaid Cymru?Apr 9, 19:30
    • George Ferguson on Not So Octopus: “@MaryB I am so glad I didn’t stand as an Independent Candidate seeking Scottish Independence. I couldn’t share a platform…Apr 9, 19:22
    • diabloandco on The quality of mercy: “Thank you so much auld yin! Now some others may listen to it!Apr 9, 19:01
    • Joan Hutcheson on Not So Octopus: “Well said, Lorna. Sane and intelligent as always!Apr 9, 19:01