The short straw

Posted on February 18, 2012 by

A little while before the Prime Minister’s visit to Scotland this week, several newspapers ran a competition to find the Scottish people who liked him the most in the whole country, who as their prize would get to meet him on his little jaunt north of the border. In this chill winter, warm your hearts at the beaming faces of the lucky winners, and feel the love that binds our United Kingdom together.

8 to “The short straw”

1. Bill Cruickshank says:

As the old saying goes "Every picture tells a story"!

2. Shodan says:

Gold. He couldn't look any more out of place. It's like someone dropped him off out of a spaceship. If that is the best he can hope for it's time to give up.

3. farrochie says:

Jon Snow started his C4News with a comment about it being like a visit to a foreign country.

4. redcliffe62 says:

And they got the only person in the company prepared to sit with him, and even he looked pretty unhappy and wanted to get back to packing oats into boxes.
    Had he come with Louise Mensch they might have shown a bit more interest, he says cynically.

5. tartanfever says:

Picture 3: the caption on the box be changed to
    'Oaf, so simple'..

6. Morag says:

A nationalist poster on another forum said her daughter works at that factory, and the staff who were going to meet Cameron were hand-picked.  They didn't do a good job on the "bright smiling faces" check-box, that's for sure.

7. Shodan says:

Every one worth a thousand words.

I'm guessing the boss was a Tory and he's twisted some arms to get this lot to sit down and behave themselves for their chosen party. They certainly don't look like they are pleased to be there or happy volunteers meeting their hero. Even that handpicking of a chosen few out of the best location they could find still ends up with it looking like an unwelcome visit to a foreign country.

Surely the fact he looks so out of place, that people are noticing it's like a visit to a foreign country and that the London media are treating it like a foreign nation when they bother to notice it all indicates that the union bond is nowhere near as strong as Dave would like to pretend it is. The media reaction and treatment of Scotland alone makes it clear it's considered almost a far flung foreign territory: link to wingsland.podgamer.com

8. Dorothy Devine says:

I just love this soooo much that whenever I feel down and depressed by the media and its twisted reporting I visit this !

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,730 Posts, 1,215,511 Comments

• Yoon Scum on SNP 2025 Update: “This machine Can switch it off and on again?Apr 14, 12:12
    • Yoon Scum on SNP 2025 Update: “Geri As most of my relatives all live in England Will an independent Scotland work with the EU to ensure…Apr 14, 12:11
    • Yoon Scum on SNP 2025 Update: “Geri There is two possible futures in this world The first is where Scotland is an extreme left wing marxist…Apr 14, 12:03
    • nutty slack on SNP 2025 Update: “commentApr 14, 12:00
    • nutty slack on SNP 2025 Update: “The scots parliament, that just means its mostly operated by the scots, I used to operate a machine, but the…Apr 14, 11:56
    • Hatey McHateface on SNP 2025 Update: “aLurker says: 14 April, 2025 at 10:54 am “If you think Lafferism is in any way NOT a politically driven…Apr 14, 11:55
    • Geri on SNP 2025 Update: “Shitface No need to. Over 40 lawyers, from all different countries, are already on the case. The Muppet is even…Apr 14, 11:50
    • Yoon Scum on SNP 2025 Update: “After you win indyref 3 (indyref 2 has already happened Queen Nicola promised it. She isn’t English therefore can’t lie)…Apr 14, 11:49
    • Aidan on SNP 2025 Update: “@Geri – Intrigued by some of this, could you advise in particular how; – people who earn £80-£150k can get…Apr 14, 11:45
    • Hatey McHateface on SNP 2025 Update: “Geri says: “wanted for war crimes” Tell ye fit, Geri. Aff ye go and mak yersel a citizen’s arrest. I’ll…Apr 14, 11:30
    • Geri on SNP 2025 Update: “Yoon Scum “Care to point to the piece of UK legislation that says majority of Scottish MP means instant indy?”…Apr 14, 11:18
    • Geri on SNP 2025 Update: “Complete bollocks. & Means testing is just job creation intended to put ppl off from claiming altogether. & The rich…Apr 14, 11:04
    • aLurker on SNP 2025 Update: “Y.S. ‘As they appear to be wilfully ignorant of the laffer curve’ If you think Lafferism is in any way…Apr 14, 10:54
    • Graeme George on SNP 2025 Update: “What happens to NO voters after indy? Get used to it, leave or go back to where they came fromApr 14, 10:38
    • Jay on SNP 2025 Update: “Dan: what do you mean by the words “rip the nuSNP a new one”? NuSNP is obvious but i have…Apr 14, 09:17
    • Yoon Scum on SNP 2025 Update: “Are you so thick that you think that 100% income tax on all earnings over a million would raise any…Apr 14, 09:05
    • Jay on SNP 2025 Update: “YS: a comment citing the ‘Laffer Curve’ really reaches a low point from which personal credibility cannot be re-established.Apr 14, 08:59
    • Yoon Scum on SNP 2025 Update: “Seeing that I have transitioned to English Does this make me evil? AND What happens to NO voters after indy?Apr 14, 08:35
    • Scot Finlayson on SNP 2025 Update: “Scottish born but transitioned to being English, is it the first Trans yoon.Apr 14, 08:26
    • Hatey McHateface on SNP 2025 Update: “We’ve all had a fun weekend screaming hysterical abuse at each other as we vent our anger at our impotence…Apr 14, 08:04
    • Aidan on SNP 2025 Update: “@Geri – firstly, every single thing on your list is either free in its entirety or free with means testing…Apr 14, 07:59
    • Hatey McHateface on SNP 2025 Update: “Not up to your usual writing standard, Rev Stu. It has to be you in there, right? Got to be,…Apr 14, 07:42
    • Hatey McHateface on SNP 2025 Update: “Geri says: “Freeze on council tax” My, my. Does Geri know much of anything about what she writes? Haha, rhetorical…Apr 14, 07:29
    • Hatey McHateface on SNP 2025 Update: ““you start to see these strange links all over the place” Of course you do, Confused. It’s all the fault…Apr 14, 07:16
    • Yoon Scum on SNP 2025 Update: “Dear geri I was born in scotland I am against scottish independence (mainly due to loons like you) Do you…Apr 14, 07:11
    • Hatey McHateface on SNP 2025 Update: “I have a postage stamp here, Geri. Ye’re welcome tae write on it fit ye ken aboot Scottish grafters.Apr 14, 07:06
    • Yoon Scum on SNP 2025 Update: “After Indy Will it be a hate crime to wave the GLORIOUS UNION FLAG? Or will it seize to exist?Apr 14, 07:04
    • Yoon Scum on SNP 2025 Update: ““won’t be Scots crying over someone on £100k losing three weeks money every yr. That money doesn’t belong to them.…Apr 14, 05:17
    • Yoon Scum on SNP 2025 Update: “Can I ask Are you and Geri paid by MI6 to make look like Scottish nationalists are thick English hating…Apr 14, 05:10
    • Young Lochinvar on SNP 2025 Update: “Bravo! Well said!Apr 14, 02:11