The Scottish subsidy myth

Posted on November 08, 2011 by

A very welcome piece in the New Statesman on the much-propagated lie that Scotland is subsidised by England. Could do with linking some of its sources, but still a worthwhile non-partisan reference. Also features a comment debunking another myth, namely the one that Labour need Scottish MPs to form a majority at Westminster. (Details appended below the jump.)

UK GENERAL ELECTION RESULTS 1966-PRESENT
(Italics signify years when Scottish MPs made a material difference to the makeup of the government)

1966: Labour majority of 96. Excluding Scotland, Lab majority of 4

1970: Conservative majority of 15. Excluding Scotland, Con majority of 40.

1974a: Labour largest party, no overall majority. Excluding Scotland, Labour largest party, no overall majority.

1974b: Labour majority of 4. Excluding Scotland, Lab largest party with no overall majority.

1979: Conservative majority of 44. Excluding Scotland, Con majority of 71.

1987: Conservative majority of 101. Excluding Scotland, Con majority of 153.

1992: Conservative majority of 21. Excluding Scotland, Con majority of 71.

1997: Labour majority of 177. Excluding Scotland, Lab majority of 137.

2001: Labour majority of 166. Excluding Scotland, Lab majority of 127.

2005: Labour majority of 65. Excluding Scotland, Lab majority of 43.

2010: Conservatives largest party with no overall majority. Excluding Scotland, Con majority of 20.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,884 Posts, 1,236,998 Comments

• Geri on Two Men Unalike: “AUOB isn’t the SNP d’oh!Mar 2, 23:03
    • Insider on Two Men Unalike: “Sarah, Why doesn’t AUOB take the money from the £660,000 that the the SNP is holding on its behalf ?Mar 2, 22:24
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: ““enshrined in international law” Uh oh. That’s fecked then.Mar 2, 22:23
    • GM on The Tactics Of Suicide: “Any details escape as to what she was up to? It must have been something.Mar 2, 22:23
    • sarah on Two Men Unalike: “Alf Baird has posted a link at 8.59 p.m. to the AUOB crowdfunder to cover the 4 marches this year…Mar 2, 21:42
    • Alf Baird on Two Men Unalike: “Yes Robert, Swinney is only attending because this event is specifically for Fanon’s ‘legal tendency’ within the indy movement; that…Mar 2, 20:59
    • Geri on Two Men Unalike: “What is this so called Left-wing ideology you speak of?Mar 2, 20:52
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: ““bombing the enemies of the chosen people” If only it was possible to have a maturely moderated debate on here,…Mar 2, 20:01
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “I was going to say the sludge will be collected and distributed around certain wards in early May, in an…Mar 2, 19:46
    • BLMac on Two Men Unalike: “One thing concerns me about these puberty blocker trials. Are they legal? We have an Age of Consent for a…Mar 2, 19:36
    • robertkknight on Two Men Unalike: “Who is he going on behalf of? King Chucky? Sir Kid Starver? MI5? Sure as hell isn’t going along to…Mar 2, 19:26
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “If he wears a tea towel on his heid he’ll blend right in with the rest. You should go too,…Mar 2, 19:22
    • Mark Beggan on Two Men Unalike: “As happy as a condemned man spilling his last meal down the toilet.Mar 2, 19:06
    • sarah on Two Men Unalike: “Hold the front page. All is not lost for Scotland’s independence. John Swinney is going to be on the Believe…Mar 2, 18:34
    • Mark Beggan on Two Men Unalike: “From that comment I think you are already there. You don’t have to die to be in hell. Leftwing ideology…Mar 2, 18:19
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: ““Hell does not exist” Apparently, in your reality, neither does humour. Is it possible to get to your reality from…Mar 2, 18:17
    • David Holden on Two Men Unalike: “Oh well the Epstein files must be more serious than we thought as the lengths Donald Trump has gone to…Mar 2, 18:11
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “Quite an unrelated response, Marie, but I’ll bite. Unless you’re a co-religionist, you’d be a fourth class citizen in the…Mar 2, 18:11
    • Marie on Two Men Unalike: “Hell does not exist. Hell is a human created concept designed by the powerful to strike fear into people and…Mar 2, 18:10
    • Geri on Two Men Unalike: “Fandan, I don’t understand a word of that word salad. Try again. If you really must.Mar 2, 18:08
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: “Anybody ken if the brain is an organ? Only, Geri’s interminable rants, and her recent claim of organ snatching, have…Mar 2, 17:57
    • Mark Beggan on Two Men Unalike: “NEWS FLASH News just in. The Iranian revolutionary council is having a crisis meeting in hell.Mar 2, 17:49
    • Marie on Two Men Unalike: “You would be a second class citizen in Isr Hatey. And if you owned land in West Bank it will…Mar 2, 17:44
    • Aidan on Two Men Unalike: “It’s quite amazing Geri that apparently all this has been achieved by countries with no economies, no resources and weapons…Mar 2, 17:37
    • Mark Beggan on Two Men Unalike: “Yes even here in Bonnie Scotland. The patchwork of Leftwing, at whatever level in society, all have the same rabid…Mar 2, 17:36
    • Geri on Two Men Unalike: “One thing is crystal clear on the Scottish Independence front, Sunshine . Do not, under any circumstances, have your military…Mar 2, 17:35
    • Confused on Two Men Unalike: “you admit you know fuck-all, but then have a pop anyway … how does that even make sense? – I…Mar 2, 17:28
    • Geri on Two Men Unalike: ““I never post about airborne warfare.” Oh yes you do. Yer never done phappin over F-16s even though they’ve done…Mar 2, 17:22
    • Geri on Two Men Unalike: “Tell the Iranians what? You wee warhawks believe any old crap the BBC propagandists tell you. There are Christians &…Mar 2, 17:11
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Men Unalike: ““what expertise do you have in airborne warfare?” Compared with your obsessional butt monomania, Confused, none at all. I never…Mar 2, 17:00