The referee’s a Mason

Posted on November 16, 2011 by

Professor John Curtice, a psephologist at Strathclyde University and the Scottish media's go-to guy for all political analysis, is often attacked by "cybernats" for alleged partiality in favour of Labour. This blog sighs in despair whenever online nationalists automatically scream "Biased!" at anyone who doesn't come onscreen in a kilt and Jimmy hat singing "Flower Of Scotland", but it has to be said that Prof. Curtice has done himself no favours at all this week.

As co-author of a report published yesterday by the Electoral Reform Society Scotland, the good professor has launched what the Scotsman today calls a "strongly worded attack" on Holyrood's proportional electoral system, under which the SNP won a majority of seats (53%) on 45% of the vote. As we noted yesterday, it's odd that the ERSS has chosen now to demand changes to the system, given that when Labour/Lib Dem coalitions had Holyrood majorities in 1999 and 2003, they also commanded less than 50% of the vote (45.5% between them in 2003, 49.5% in 1999), and nobody seemed to have a problem with that.

Now, to be fair to Prof. Curtice, the Scotsman does put words in his mouth, in their characteristic manner. The headline of the piece claims that the report brands the Holyrood system "a failure" (a description which we can't find anywhere in it) and also asserts that the report demands the system "should be changed to prevent one party winning an overall majority", which is something of an exaggeration – Curtice only actually says that the objective of the proposed changes is to make a majority "more difficult", not impossible.

But by fronting such a suspiciously-timed report, the Professor and the ERSS have allowed their credibility to be undermined by exactly the sort of distortion the Unionist media specialises in, and in doing so have left themselves dreadfully open to allegations of political colour. The society claims their motivation is honourable, and aimed only at promoting a fuller range of political views:

"We are convinced our democracy would work better with more parties in the system, so that more voices are represented and heard and that power is shared, checked and balanced."

…but the current method of electing the Scottish Parliament is perfectly capable of delivering that – in 2003, for example, the Greens got 7 seats, the Scottish Socialists won 6 seats and two independents also secured seats, those three groups between them providing almost 12% of the Parliament's MSPs. (For comparison, imagine the UK Parliament having 78 MPs from outwith the three main parties – the actual number is 28, with only one of those representing an English constituency.)

The simple fact is, the electorate could have elected a wider range of MSPs if they'd wanted to, as they have done in the past. Instead, they overwhelmingly chose the SNP. That's democracy, because in practice almost no democracy on Earth is perfectly proportional. This blog has no objections to bringing the Scottish Parliament closer to that ideal, but it's decidedly odd that supposedly neutral organisations like the ERSS didn't feel the need to suddenly press for it until the SNP won a majority.

We're absolutely confident, however, that the author of the above quote – the society's director Willie Sullivan – also being a Labour councillor in his day job (a fact the Scotsman inexplicably neglects to mention) is entirely coincidental.

PS The replacement PR method proposed by the ERSS report is one devised by the French mathematician André Sainte-Laguë. His most famous work is the calculation that it was scientifically impossible for bumblebees to be able to fly.

Subscribe
Notify of

1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
An Duine Gruamach

Cannae whack that for neutrality, eh?  I guess this is what Gerry Hassan means when he talks about the Labour State.

Stats: 6,696 Posts, 1,210,162 Comments

• gregor on The Silent Revolution: “BBC (2025): CIA says lab leak most likely source of Covid outbreak: “The CIA on Saturday offered a new assessment…Jan 27, 08:32
    • Andy Ellis on The Silent Revolution: “Oh, I’m not denying that in particular seats can come down to a handful of votes. I’m just not sure…Jan 27, 08:28
    • Young Lochinvar on The Silent Revolution: “Maybe the direly unfunny “funny” one should just eff off behind the bike sheds with her idol “Flo Blow” and…Jan 27, 03:07
    • Peter McAvoy on The Silent Revolution: “Unless it’s the BBC quizJan 27, 02:17
    • crazycat on The Silent Revolution: “No; 2016 was Holyrood and Brexit 2017 was local elections and Westminster Five years later: 2021 Holyrood 2022 local elections…Jan 27, 01:10
    • Geri on The Silent Revolution: “2017 would’ve been the General Election. 2016 was local elections & Brexit. Just saying. There were various organisations taking funds.…Jan 27, 00:29
    • Geri on The Silent Revolution: “You always seem to be overcompensating for something. Chanel is overpriced granny perfume. Proving a fool & his/her money are…Jan 27, 00:12
    • crazycat on The Silent Revolution: “Same here. I was fairly sure my second donation was for the local elections in 2017 (no idea now why…Jan 26, 23:59
    • Geri on The Silent Revolution: ““then formulate some policies and stand for office.” You don’t get this oligarchy shit do you? The super rich donate…Jan 26, 23:27
    • gregor on The Silent Revolution: “I like your humility and dignity. #IndependentSarahJan 26, 22:53
    • Geri on The Silent Revolution: “We’ve had plebiscite elections. What do you think the past ten yrs was? Clear mandates to exit. It didn’t work.…Jan 26, 22:38
    • gregor on The Silent Revolution: “Rotten MSM follows Wings, Sarah… Reality credits you/Rev. #ForefrontJan 26, 22:37
    • sarah on The Silent Revolution: “I can live without one!Jan 26, 22:34
    • gregor on The Silent Revolution: “Your experience is worth more than any donation. I’m sorry that you’ve not received an apology, yet.Jan 26, 22:21
    • sarah on The Silent Revolution: “The Rev gave this figure of 64,525 on twitter about a week ago. Does the article credit him? 🙂Jan 26, 22:17
    • sarah on The Silent Revolution: “I got a refund. I asked for two items to be refunded but the accounts could be unwoven enough to…Jan 26, 22:06
    • gregor on The Silent Revolution: ““Nemo me impune lacessit” stands as a powerful motto that emphasizes the importance of honor, justice, and the consequences of…Jan 26, 21:57
    • sarah on The Silent Revolution: “Siobhan Brown, Ayr, majority 170. Karen Adam Banff & Buchan 772.Jan 26, 21:50
    • gregor on The Silent Revolution: “The Herald: Operation Branchform: Call for SNP to refund Indyref2 donors: “He said the reaction to his complaint had exposed…Jan 26, 21:46
    • John H. on The Silent Revolution: “If people leave this site because of that, then these folk will have succeeded.Jan 26, 21:36
    • gregor on The Silent Revolution: “The Herald (2025): Leaked report reveals SNP’s struggle to stem membership exodus: “The SNP has lost yet more members despite…Jan 26, 21:33
    • Alf Baird on The Silent Revolution: “Aye, good call by our co-opted woke SNP colonial administrators to back Harris considering that ‘son of Scotland’ President “Trump…Jan 26, 21:24
    • sarah on The Silent Revolution: “Very droll. It just needs enough previously-SNP voters in each constituency to make the MSP nervous about the security of…Jan 26, 21:11
    • Andy Ellis on The Silent Revolution: “358 out of 4,007,200 registered voters as of December 2022. So only a couple of million to go…..?Jan 26, 20:58
    • sarah on The Silent Revolution: “O/T It is good to see that the Manifesto for Independence is gaining signatures – was 321 the other day…Jan 26, 20:52
    • willie on The Silent Revolution: “ULEZ is more about other things than it ostensibly is purported to be about. Take Glasgow. It has a hugely…Jan 26, 20:51
    • gregor on The Silent Revolution: “Well said Willie – accurate summary of the geopolitical situation. Exciting times, indeed…Jan 26, 20:50
    • Andy Ellis on The Silent Revolution: “Either you haven’t read Roddy’s article, or you didn’t understand it. Yes, I am a supporter of plebiscitary elections and…Jan 26, 20:41
    • gregor on The Silent Revolution: “Pointless ? “Something that is pointless has no purpose, and it is a waste of time doing it: This is…Jan 26, 20:29
    • willie on The Silent Revolution: “Sir Keir Starmer did everything he could to interfere in American politics and undermine Donald Trump, and Starmer is still…Jan 26, 20:23

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()