Very good, Chris.

Nutshells come to mind.

Stoker

Her gun is a bit small, should she not have a tank? 🙂

Conan the Librarian

Chris has the scowl down to a T.

Ruglonian

Brilliant cartoon – Inconceivable policy 🙁

(Mhairi Black gave an impromptu speech in George Square on Thursday evening – check it out – she seemed to really articulate the feeling about this disgraceful new political low)

Snode1965

Can someone clarify for me…are these tax credits equivalent to the old family allowance?

Socrates MacSporran

I get the impression Ruth the Mooth is so far up herself, she will probably contact Chris to try to get the original, and have it framed.

And still the Yoons love her and denigrate our First Minister. Nicola is Champions League class – the Mooth would struggle in the local pub league.

Bugger (le Panda)

Was wondering how you were going to handle this one Chris, subtly or full metal jacket.

Problem solved; both.

Time to stop pussyfooting with this lot”

Bits on, steel toecaps and get in there. No more Mr Nice Guy.

For the record Anas Sarwar, I was speaking metaphorically about the footwear
?

Stoker

Give her caricature a tank and Nazi swastika armband and it would be the Battle of the Bulge all over again.

BTW, she rings a bell, i’ve seen her somewhere before! Got it, she’s the result of Nazi experimentation involving Hermann Goering.
link to archive.is

Arthur Martin

Your cartoon says it all Chris. Captures perfectly the brutality of this terrible policy.
I reckon RapeClauseRuth already knows that the continuation of the Union is a lost cause especially with the realities of Brexit becoming clearer.
She is a careerist and is dutifully making all the right noises in the hope that her Tory chums recognise her heroic efforts to keep Scotland subservient, and offer her a job in a cosy wee Tory seat after Scotland becomes Independent.
She cares nothing for ordinary folk, it’s all about Ruth. I personally can’t wait till she vanishes from the Scottish political scene as so many have done before her.
A horrible despicable party filled with the dregs of society.

X_Sticks

The mooth and her chums are trying to defend the indefensible. She’s just managed to alienate many of the middle ground folk that would have held their noses and voted for the tories believing that to be a vote to preserve the ‘union’. It will have made many of them question rule by the London tories altogether.

Another step closer to the prize.

And speaking of prizes, today’s prize for cartoons undoubtedly goes to Chris Cairns. Another nail cleverly dealt with 🙂

Robert Louis

I’m just glad that people in Scotland are getting to see the true nature of Ruth Davidson. In some ways, reflecting the way in which the Tory party has become an extreme right wing organisation, intolerant of other cultures, obsessed with punitive hurtful policies against the poor, and keen to insult and denigrate other countries including Scotland.

When the last Tory Government was in power under thatcher and John Major, before David Cameron, they were universally known as the nasty party. This was accurate. Thatcher did things which served no good purpose apart from punishing poor, homeless and disabled people, to the benefit of the rich.

David Cameron, tried to change the Tory party, and moved it away from its petty minded, dogma-driven vengeance politics, but now here in 2017, we have incompetent, second-rate people like Boris the clown, Theresa May and Ruth Davidson, literally enjoying punishing poor people, disabled people, and women who have been raped.

My instinct is that this support for the hideous rape clause will backfire on Ruth. You see, Tories like her, when they think of rape victims, they envisage a single mother living in a flat on a housing scheme. But people in all social classes experience rape, and so do their families and relatives. They know the pain, rich or poor.

Of course people in higher social classes are not affected by benefits, or the rape clause, but those who know of rape regardless, will still be utterly appalled by Ruth Davidson. It matters not if you are on benefits or not, or indeed for that matter whether you have been raped or not, it is obvious this rape clause and associated benefit changes are punitive, will save little money overall, and are utterly, utterly devoid of one shred of humanity.

Just as the poll tax brought down that witch Thatcher, so I think we will see the rape clause hung around the neck of Theresa May, and her second rate, fawning poodles like Ruth Davidson.

Juteman

A dangerous woman. All that cheery patter masks something sinister inside.

Socrates MacSporran

I checked through the London-based papers this morning, no mention of Ruth the Mooth and her incredible efforts to get “SNP Baaad” out there with regard to the odious “Ruth Clause”. Not even the allegedly “left wing” Guardian is having a go at the Ruthsfuhrer – it is, within the M25 bubble at least – a non-story.

But, I bet they will be all over Pete Wishart like a rash, once the news of his hilarious tweet gets as far as that there Lunnun.

Jack Collatin

Chris, I know that you rely on your wife to point to posts on here that would make you blush. This is one.
In a hundred years from now, this extraordinary pictorial comment on the Evil that stalks Scotland, will feature in history books, like Hogarth before you.
Again you invoke anger and defiance, and stiffen our resolve to banish the Cold Heartless Bastards Together from our land for ever.
Thank you.

Jack Collatin

Socrates @8.13 am.
Another CTF skit comes to mind. Newcomer being shown around the office by an old lag who labels fellow workers as ‘Cans’ and ‘Cant’s.’
Davidson, Dugdale’ Rennie, Mundell, Murray, and Carmichael, and their ugly little band of Unionist gravy trainers are right bunch of ‘Cant’s.’
Do you think that I’ll make the front page of the Hootsman tomorrow. Oh, please, if there is a god.

ronnie anderson

MUGGED And for the rest of there lives under Tory Govs.

Good one Chris.

FM

Brutal! Good job!

The Isolator

Ouch…yah.Hard hitting as ever Chris.Bullseye!

ronnie anderson

@ Ruglonian

Alison & Mhari both made good speeches , its the 1st time I’ve had a chance to speak to Mhari since HOF, also Brendan O Hara attended , many of the would be candidates for the Glasgow Local elections were conspicuous by there absence, one notable candidate Mr Graham Campbell late of SSP & RISE or any of the other shoe ins of the NE Glasgow for SNP .

Hi K1 & friend Rose & CrazyCat Bob Sinclair.

starlaw

Hi Chris another great cartoon, but could have made gun a bit bigger.
Had a friend who worked on stage props told me to make weapons oversize … for better effect.

Les Wilson

Ruth the Mooth is a bully and indeed has a very big mooth. She does not do decency nor compassion of any kind, and that is coming to bite her in the ass. She just verified how nasty her party really is.
Some Scots were forgetting the earlier days of Thatcher but Ruth, personally has brought them back from the brink of voting for her.

I can hear them now saying ” what the hell was I thinking! these are the stinking Tories, phew!”

Sinky

Socrates MacSporran says: @ 8.13

Just heard Radio Scotland GMS newspaper headlines and no mention of The National front page highlighting seven Tory candidates implicated in racism.

link to thenational.scot

But enough for London press reviews to ignore the paper that backs the views of over one million Scots voters but no excuse for BBC bias by omission.

cearc

Everyone seems to be concentrating on the women concerned but not a lot of attention is being given to the children who will have ‘conceived by rape’ on their bureaucratic record for life.

This is surely a much greater breach of their privacy. Also, probably, a fact that their mother wouldn’t want them to know.

Socrates MacSporran

In an earlier post, I referred to Ruth the Mooth as “the Ruthsfuhrer”; on reflection, this was the wrong label to attach to her.

Ruth aspires to be Gauleiter of the region of Scotland – taking her orders from those higher up the food chain, but, doing her bit to keep the natives suppressed.

So, for me, henceforth, she will be: would-be Gauleiter Ruth.

ronnie anderson

Me Bad re my post at 8.44.

Jacqueline McLaren SNP prospective candidate for Canal ward was in attendance at the R***Clause protest .

bobajock

perfect.

[…] Source: Wings Over Scotland The most sensitive way possible […]

Phydaux

This image speaks to my anger and disgust…a true depiction of Ruth Davidson as a nasty thug devoid of decency and humanity and with a bloodthirsty contempt for the people of Scotland.Her militarised language, absence of goodness, ideology of human beings being considered superfluous, organised lying and craven obedience to the authority and culture of power of her masters in London and its grotesque economic inequality, bear all the hallmarks of totalitarianism.

Thank you Chris for helping to galvanise me to work even harder in campaigning for the local elections, to actively encourage others to vote till you boak, as Stuart rightly recommends and especially in my Leith Walk ward where the obnoxious Ruth Davidson lives.

ronnie anderson

O/T.
Quell Surprise Kelvin McKenzie ( SUN ) has been reported to Police for printing Racist Slurs in his column by Jo Anderson ( mayor of Liverpool ) & not before time on that Mouthpiece.

starlaw

Scottish Tories now morphing into UKIP under Ruths leadership.

Alba 46

Alison Thewliss is like a dog with a bone. She discovered this nasty piece of legislation tucked away in a much bigger parliamentary bill.She had continually raised this issue both in westminster and in Scotland for well over a year. Initially she was a lone voice in the wilderness but she wasn’t deterred.

She has never given up her absolute determination to keep this disgusting bill in as high a profile as possible. It has gained substantial traction more recently to such an extent that even Dugdale and labour are on board, for them a road to Damascus moment perhaps?

I genuinely believe that the profile of this bill has been raised to such an extent that when we look back, it will turn out to be a defining moment on the road to independence.

stu mac

I don’t know if this link has been posted before but just in case here it is:
link to indyref2.scot

I think it’s a good reply to those who ask why don’t SNP MSPs counter the anti-SNP arguments more effectively.

Smallaxe

These people go to war “with god on their side”. I am not a Christian but I have read the bible, this, from the New Testament.

(Matthew 19:13-15; Mark 10:13-16)

“And they brought unto him also infants, that he would touch them: but when his disciples saw it, they rebuked them.But Jesus called them unto him, and said, Suffer little children to come unto me, and forbid them not: for of such is the kingdom of God”.

What god are these people worshipping? (Genuine Question)

Thank you, Chris, for showing that all cartoons are not meant to be funny, this one should make any compassionate human being weep.

Peace, Love and Compassion for the sake of all Humanity

Brian Powell

I think folk may want to look up ‘Propaganda Criminals’ when considering Kelvin McKenzie articles or those in the Daily Mail, the Express and increasingly in the Telegraph.

If it had been reported in Scotland and not by the Mayor of Liverpool in England it would be ignored by the press and the BBC. I should add the SBBC to that list for propaganda criminals.

TJenny

Phydaux – I’m also in the Edin Leith Walk ward and didn’t know Ruth lived here. Having looked at the list of candidates, I think I’ll rate the ‘indy’ candidate, Alan Gordon Melville, 4th from bottom above the 2 Slabs with the Tory at the very bottom. Even though AGM stood as a UKIP candidate in both Holyrood and Westminster elections – and lost both times, natch. 🙂

Wee Alex

Just back from visiting relatives in Coventry.

They vote Tory as they see the Tories as a middle of the road tolerant party who understand the working class.

This type of coverage never finds its way into there household. They were completely unaware of this or the savage cuts to welfare. It’s not covered in the press or TV.

They are utterly appalled and intend to take it up with their local party, Thay also intend to follow Wings.

The only problem for them is who to vote for in the future.

Calum McKay

This is the tories and davidson’s true colours shining through.

Can you imagine the out cry from fraser, davidson, may, express, telegraph or mail if the SNP had come up with policy, far less enacted it?

The tories rowed back tout suite on nat insurance tax for self employed, but not this.

Some are stating this policy is huge for women and politcal, I agree, but this is more, it’s about decency for all and what kind of society do we wish to live in!?

DerekM

Oooft big nail blasted right in with one smack,nice one Chris

I have no idea why but this song came into my head.

galamcennalath

Cartoon shows explicitly the horror that is the Tories.

Perhaps voting should be …
1 SNP
2 SNP
3 Green
4 UKIP Lite
5 UKIP Cherry
6 UKIP Classic
7 UKIP Max

ronnie anderson

@ Phydaux / T Jenny .

It would be well worth the effort to take the R***Clause Protests to Ruth the Mooths DOORSTEP & show her there will be no escape route for her on this issue.

defo

And will Truthie be advocating removing charitable status at Lorretto and Fettes forthose hard pressed families boarding young Torquil, as Henrietta and Farquar are already there ?
Simply not on !

Ken500

The Tory incompetent, ignoramouses. Another 25,000 children in poverty. The cowards attack the children and the vulnerable. They are disgraceful. They support illegal wars, financial feaud and tax evasion on a massive scale. The Westminster unionists have cause the worst mitration crisis in Europe since 11WW. Causing suffering, death and hardship for the innocent vulnerable. The Westminster unionists are despicable.

Now Brexit to cause even more hardship, damaging the world economy. They committed electoral fraud in 31constituencies to ruin the world economy.

Terry

Brilliant. These cartoons say more than words. We need them plastered everywhere. Any ideas as to how? Maybe if national prints a selection we can all buy and laminate them then post round towns etc

Robert Peffers

@Stoker says: 15 April, 2017 at 7:21 am:

“Her gun is a bit small, should she not have a tank?”

But Stoker, she has got a tank, Chris drew it in the cartoon. It’s the bit between her shoulders and her hips. What we used to call, “Tankard belly”.

Valerie

Great toon, Chris. Really sums up what awaits children of the future.

Right wing types actually arguing that if you have a two child policy the rape clause is a legit mechanism. It truly beggars belief of how we got here.

Remember, this is population control, social engineering, not to mention pure filth.

The cap at two children is heinous, each child should be awarded benefit, it’s to feed and clothe.

Alison Thewliss has been tireless, and has kept this up for months, she deserves a medal.

We must keep using this now and beyond local elections. We can’t let Ruth get away with saying Scotgov can redirect our money into mitigation. We know it means another area suffering, and the view is, it might not work, as extra money to cover it, might get clawed back.

Jack Collatin

It’s official. I’ve just read John Lamont’s response to a constituent on the ‘Tax Credit Rape Clause’.
The justification for the ‘Two Child per Family, State Edict Rule’ is to ensure that families who have an income from paid employment are not ‘disadvantaged’ over families existing on Welfare Payments.
The Fascists have decreed that you are restricted to tTwo children per household and that’s your lot, because you never know what disaster is lurking around the corner. The money there is, is needed to give JK Rowling even more wealth..
I assume that Lamont considers the current state of employment/unemployment to be steady state, immutable. Those in work will continue to be in work for evermore; those out of work, the ‘undeserving skivers’ will always (like the poor) be with us, they will never work, breeding like rabbits, scrounging off the state.
Like China, the English Parliament of Blue Tories are actually decreeing how big a family you may have.
We have entered the world of Orwell, the maniacal ‘Brazil’ dystopia of Terry Gilliam, and nobody even noticed, least of all the so call Labour and Liberal Parties.
So, be warned, if you are working away, earning a good wedge, and doing your bit for under-populated Scotland by producing two or three ,or four even, offspring, the next generation of workers vital to the economic and social well being of Scotland, but your employer decides to move lock stock and barrel to Romania, then you can forget help from the State: starve, beg for charity, or put your kids up for adoption, instead.
We are on the verge of civil unrest.
To the six or seven fresh faced youngsters featured in ‘Scottish’ Labour’s PP Broadcast the other night:- ‘What the fuck were you thinking endorsing this toxic little bunch of gray trainers?
You are the future, not the tired old dinosaurs lolling on the benches at Holyrood.

Clootie

…I’m surprised she is LEFT handed!

Judge them by what they DO. The Tories can never hide that indicator.

Golfnut

I wonder if anybody on wings has any ideas about how much the cuts to the third child and upwards payments actually save westminster.

I can’t believe that it amounts to that much, would collection an extra billion from those avoiding / evading tax cover it. If it would, why haven’t they focused on that?

auld highlander

If that grotesque creature was alive in the early forties she would be goose stepping around some concentration camp torturing the poor inmates.

Bob Mack

Brilliant as I now expect Chris. On a cheery note I noticed at the top of the national that Scottish food and drink exports to Asia are now over £1 billion alone. Too wee ? too poor?.
We could be enormously successful.

I waste no time on Ruth. A cold heartless git if ever I saw one. Lacks warmth ,empathy and compassion for everybody but herself.

Phydaux

TJenny 9:17

I will check out the other Independent candidate Harald Tobermann before I decide where to place him. broughtonspurtle.org.uk covered the recent Leith Walk hustings and is well worth a look… informative and witty to boot.

galamcennalath

Wee Alex says:

…Coventry. They vote Tory as they see the Tories as a middle of the road tolerant party ….

Yes, views like this are much more common down south. I am fairly sure they used to be widespread in Scotland. Some older Scots Tories still don’t see them in their true light.

However now in Scotland many Tory voters do know they are the nasty ba5tards party, and that suits them just fine.

Marcia

Chris missed the bit about evicting them from their home.

stu mac

@Robert Louis says:
15 April, 2017 at 8:01 am
=========================

Disagree re Cameron. What he did was try to put a thin veneer of liberal policy over the usual nasty Tory policies. (His idol was Blair which tells you all). May, Osbourne (whose so-called economic policies have impoverished the country), Hammond, Hunt and the rest were all given a free hand under Cameron. The only thing that held them back a little was the fact they were only able to run things first term with the help of the Lib Dems (though they didn’t hold them back too much). Now with Labour a joke opposition they can do what they like but this is not because they are worse than the old lot – they are the old lot but with a much freer hand than they had before.

Ken500

There is still family/benefit allowance? The first child gets the most. Then subsequent children. Now restructed to household income and now only the first two children.

Households above gross? £50,000 do not get it all. It was cut Tax credits are different depends on how high a salary/household income and how many children. It is calculated on a certain scale and then tax is rebated. (Net or gross?) It encourages people into work. Gives the incentive of tax refund (qualifying condition). To boost income often especially for lower income, (PT?) one parent families so they can manage. Instead of having to rely entirely on benefit payments. It give self respect and incentive. It also cuts Gov costs.

Cameron now retired and 6 jobs Osbourne (who destroyed the Oil & Gss sector in Scotland) Came up with this. Along with wasting £Billions on Hinkley by the sea, HS2, Heathrow and Trident. All a total waste of money of little value, with more credible alternatives. Cutting NHS/Education and sanctioning and starving the vulnerable, mostly women and children.

Now Brexit which will affect the most vulnerable disproportionately. Ruin the world economy. The Tory/Unionist ingnorant incompetents.

Croompenstein

Straight to the heart of it Chris, Harrison is the embodiment of a wolf in sheeps clothing. Sugary, sweet Ruthie on the outside and a cold hearted bastard on the inside.

Robert Peffers

@Robert Louis says: 15 April, 2017 at 8:01 am:

“In some ways, reflecting the way in which the Tory party has become an extreme right wing organisation, intolerant of other cultures, obsessed with punitive hurtful policies against the poor, and keen to insult and denigrate other countries including Scotland.”

Very, very true, Robert Louis. In truth it was Tory Government policy that first made many of those they now seek to punish poor in the first place.

Their own statistics prove beyond doubt that Tory Government policies are deliberately killing old, sick, disabled and poor people. Every one of such punitive policies has seen a corresponding rise in deaths in those selected groups they punish.

These Tory policies are every bit as efficient as gas chambers in killing what the Tory party apparently sees as a drain on their supporter’s greed for personal wealth.

Yet the gap between the rich and the poor has never before been so wide in my over 8 decades lifetime.

And by God the poor in pre-WWII Britain were very poor indeed.

mogabee

Snode 1965

No, family allowance is now called child benefit which is nothing to do with child tax credits.

Jack Collatin

While Stu, Chris, Paul over at WGD are dealing with the real political issues, as illustrated today, and always, Tom Gordon, described as ‘political Editor’ over at Herald Britland, writes a re-heated piece of EU membership nonsense today.
Don’t mention the systematic destruction of Civic Scotland by the Arch Right Better Together Unionist Fascists. I did, but I think that I got away with it.
How do these Porn Propagandists sleep o’ nights?

clan rossy

evil personified

Robert Peffers

@Clootie says: 15 April, 2017 at 9:42 am:

“…I’m surprised she is LEFT handed!”

You shouldn’t be, Clootie. You may not know it but, in heraldry, the left is known as the, “Sinister”, side.

Heraldry archaic:- of, on, or toward the left-hand side. However, on a coat of arms, from the bearer’s point of view, that is depicted as the right.

TJenny

Phydaux – thanks for pointing me to the broughtonspurtle hadn’t heard of that before, some info and humourous with it. I did a quick check on Harald Tobermann, and apart from a very dodgy looking moustache (a bit blacktoothbrushy in the middle?), he seems very hot on roadworks in Leith Walk and it would be great if he, or someone on council, could tackle the problem with the pavement in Rossie Place too. (Literally dozens of wee metal utility plates and slabs at varying angles of tripupability too.

Red Squirrel

Chris – you made me cry.

These are kids. They already need our support or the family wouldn’t need tax credits. We’re part of a rotten country that’s taking even that pitiful support away unless they have even more violence in their lives – and apparently that’s “compassion”.

Illness, age, disability and kids – all those we should cherish are targets of rabid right wing press and rampant capalist elite.

Enough. It’s time we stood up.

Cuilean

She’s as fly as a shit-house rat.

Marie Clark

Very well done Chris, excellent cartoon. Nail, hammer, wallop.

Ruth Davidson was someone that I have never liked, she used to annoy the hell out of me when she was employed by the BBC on GMS. Always giggling like an idiot. It has become clearer that she is an idiot, quite a dangerous one, but an idiot.

She seemed to con a lot of people at the SE with her Ruth Davidson not the Tory, stop the referendum party. She sure as hell is showing her true colour now.

I actually despise, and that’s not a word I use very often, but I really, utterly despise that creature. I’m glad that their true colours are on view ahead of the council elections.

I will vote till I boak even though I have to hold my nose and put the tories last on my paper. I think that there are 3 seats and about nine candidates in our ward, but number 9 will be the tory.

Ken500

Out of a Budget of £533Bilion. The benefits cuts are £18Billion spread over a few years. The NHS cuts are £20Billions spread over five years. Until 2020. There has had to be more cash invested because of the state of NHS/social care in rest of the UK. The tax cuts and wanton illegal UK Gov spending. Total incompetent mismanagement ensures the debt goes up. Now education cuts in the rest of the UK and non mandated move to Grammar schools are causing major problems in the rest of the UK.

In Scotland the Unionist/green council sdministrations have been cutting essential services and spending £Millions on groteque non mandated projects. Getting the Councils into £Billions of debt. Illegally selling cities on the stock exchange. A total and utter disgrace, They should be charged with embezzlement and jailed.

The STV system ensures their position. Voters can’t get rid of them. They come back time and time again. A lifetime of illegal misuse and troughing entitlement and mismanagement. Ruining towns/cities and the local/national economy. They can do what they like and they know it. A total abuse of power. Against the majority wishes and the public interest.

Tinto Chiel

Another wonderful cartoon which says it all, Chris.

What a condemnation of a wicked and morally bankrupt party.

Ruth Davidson is worrying because there is NOTHING she won’t say or do to advance herself at our expense. The false bonhomie mask is gone now and one of the Lizard Folk is poking through. I once described her attention-seeking behaviour as resembling a Duracell bunny with the skitters but now I see she is a really repellent person and not remotely funny. I can see her burning a £20 note in front of a beggar in Full Bullingdon Mode, and enjoying the experience.

For those who haven’t yet heard a compassionate politician speak on the topic…..

Hope lies with our youth and brave, principled women like Mairi.

paul gerard mccormack

I saw Janey Godley on youtube do this Ruth Davidson piece of evil (please see it). It was described as satire. I didn’t think it was satire, I thought it was the truth of the matter.

Tinto Chiel

Sorry, Mhairi. I keep forgetting she doesn’t pronounce it that way.

And what Marie Clark said @10.21.

Well and truly nailed.

HandandShrimp

The whole welfare changes thing has swept in from the side and washed away Ruth’s carefully constructed non-Tory edifice. She must be absolutely raging at the timing of this. Of course she could criticise her buddies in Westminster but Ruth is every bit as hard nosed as they are so there is no chance of that happening. Hoist by her own nasty party…sweet 🙂

Robert Peffers

@paul gerard mccormack says: 15 April, 2017 at 10:26 am;

“I saw Janey Godley on youtube do this Ruth Davidson piece of evil (please see it).

Did you mean this one, Paul?

dakk

Brilliant Chris.

Great likeness to the Ruthless one

Marker Post

It seems that Ruth Davidson’s stance here is the same as it was on the Bedroom Tax, i.e. that the Scottish government should mitigate the worst effects. In this way, she’s trying to make the Scottish parliament subservient to Westminster, reactive to the policies coming out of there to try to protect the poorest in Scotland. Who was it that said something about judging a society by the way it treats its poorest individuals?

And what also of these people in England, Ruth? You’re happy for these Westminster policies to be imposed on them? Such sheer hypocrisy in relation to your soundbites in the first referendum about “caring as much for the people in Newcastle as the ones in Glasgow”.

Blackford Wheeler

How about a tax hike for higher rate taxpayers with more than two children? I know that it might be perceived as being a bit harsh.

However, with a bit of creative communication, and the support of our State Fraudcaster, it could be sold as the eminently sensible removal of the Spare Child Subsidy.

What d’ye think Ruth?

john young

Wonder what Rooth the mooths response is to the shenanicums of our special relationship with the USA bringing us to the edge of the cliff with the fool endorsement of the Westminster cabal of idiots,will tri-dent save us or damn us.

Robert Peffers

@Myself : 15 April, 2017 at 10:47 am:

” … Did you mean this one, Paul?

Here’s an example of the real thing to see just how good the depiction of Ruth by Janey really is as done in the above clip

Macart

Great toon Chris.

Davidson of course isn’t really the organ grinder though. She’s the monkey. She’s the apologist, the messenger girl… white noise.

The organ grinder lives in No. 10 Downing Street.

Ruth Davidson’s sole purpose in Scotland is to act as her master’s voice and run interference. It’s proven beyond any doubt at this point, that Ms Davidson is about as shallow and disingenuous as they come. She is a political lightweight whose conviction politics begins and ends with party and career.

There is NO Ruth Davidson party. She is NOT the cuddly, cheeky, presentable face of Conservatism. Her media persona is just that. A molecule thin veneer and media creation. What you find when that veneer is scratched or removed is someone willing to deliver anything Tory central desires. Ally herself with the most questionable elements of our society in pursuit of a vote. A person who misrepresents the words and actions of others in every public forum accessible. Undermines public trust in our institutions and services. ALL regardless of consequences for the public.

She does what she is told to do and accepts her orders without question.

If people want appalling Tory legislation to end, there is only one source to tackle and only one way to ensure it never has impact on their daily lives ever again. You remove the source of your pain at the ballot.

People should be under no illusions on the upcoming referendum. The choice is the union, extended Conservative government and Westminster politics. Or it is independence, the government of YOUR choice and a Holyrood system of politics you can actively help to shape.

Tory rule? Or your independence? Them’s the choices.

Dr Jim

Ruth Davidson’s more interested in the progress of her career
than the progress of her country

Bob Mack

Another point about the rape clause worth considering is that there must be some forms of decision making about whether what you have claimed, is true,. A bit like ATOS or capita I would assume. Will people still be refused having subjected themselves to this demeaning process?

The Queen's Elevenses

Thought Ruth wouldn’t need a handgun what with her martial arts prowess. Mind you it looks like she hasn’t been down the gym for some time now.

Ken500

Scottish Gov

EU Ref Parliamentary Channel

heedtracker

Other side of this is how tory voters might react to it… why should I pay for these scroungers to, just pull the trigger Ruth, what what.

State benefits are a classic great British fuck up though. If anything needs revolutionary change, its them.

DavidCaledonia

I got the message of doom today from the local tory candidate, he says, the SNP has cut the council budget by £4.6 m over the next year, it is unjust and if re-elected as your councillor in may David will fight vigorously for a better deal for Inverclyde.
This guy has never been to my door to speak to me, or any other person that lives here, he is a complete stranger to any of us, my town does not vote for him, his own little tory area must be the reason he gets elected, he is of course against the referendum and anything good or bad to do with the present scottish government, he never talks about foodbanks, local unemployment, nuclear weapons, 10 billion pound aircraft carriers, westminster cutting the scottish budget, you know, the usual unimportant things to a tory, yes a vote for him will be good, yes good for his bank balance, but good for nobody else

Valerie

Great toon, but at the same time shameful, that we live under this gov’t, and wondering how did we ever arrive at this state of affairs.

It really is evil and heinous. If they are prepared to do this, there is literally no where, they won’t go.

You think you’ve seen it all.

David Caledonia

These are the same people that employed a company to cut the welfare bill down, a man dying with terminal cancer told he is fit to work and his benefits stopped
Blind people told they are fit to work benefits stopped, it goes on and on, who votes for these people, they must be mad whoever they are

caledonia

Thank you for contacting us about Reporting Scotland.

We have received a wide range of feedback regarding claims that reports on Nicola Sturgeon’s visit to America were edited to cut parts of her interview. Keeping in mind pressures on licence fee resources, this response seeks to address the key points raised. That said, we apologise in advance if your complaint has not been specifically addressed here.

James Cook’s report was focussed on what the First Minister was doing in the USA. The clips from the interview, shown on Reporting Scotland, covered subjects such as the purpose of the First Minister’s USA visit and her response to points made by critics. It is a necessity, and editorially justified, to edit clips from a long interview for inclusion in a short news report. We do not accept that the use of the material from the interview in this instance was inaccurate or biased. The interview itself was broadcast in full on other BBC outlets which have the capacity to do so. We are satisfied that we covered the FM’s visit to the USA fairly, accurately and impartially.

Your comments have been fully registered on our daily audience log. This internal document is made available to all our production teams and senior BBC management.

Thank you, once again, for taking the time to contact us.

Kind Regards

BBC Complaints Team

caledonia

Cant remember any of Gordon Browns rants being cut short

Robert Kerr

Ruth needs to be reminded that to the BritNat Establishment she is merely tolerated as another Sweatie on the make! Useful for now!

Comparisons are odious but have a look at Ilse Koch.

link to en.wikipedia.org.

Two rather odious females!

Dan Huil

The bbc still loves her of course. One of their own an aw that.

The Rough Bounds

The expression, ‘Give a man enough rope and he’ll hang himself’ has never been better demonstrated than that which we are seeing happening to the Tories in Scotland at this very moment.

Suggested epitaph for Ruth:

‘Here lies one whose name was writ in water’.

(Keats.)

Breeks

Far as Ruth is concerned, these Scottish kids are just going to grow into people who can’t join a polite gathering without breaking stuff and stealing things. What a classy thing to say about your own people.

Imagine how humiliated she’d feel as the future First Minister of Scotland. At least that’s one delusional humiliation that Scotland will thankfully be spared.

She’s not just a modern Toom Tabbard, she is worse. At least John Balliol grew tired of his denigration at the hands of the English, and allied Scotland with the French instead. History remembers his name unkindly, but Ruth Harrison’s name isn’t even remembered by her own party today, and that kinda tells you all you need to know about her AND them.

Ken500

The ”psycho bastard’ Tomkins. Liar. Seems to thing he is in Spain or Canada USA. Don’t doesn’t seem to understand Scottish or International Law or the relevance. After 6 jobs Osbourne ruined the Scottish Oil & Gas sector. Losing 120,000 and £Billions.

The multimillionaire Tory who had to borrow £25Million, against tax evaded lands, because of the Osbourne inspired downturn. On the mobile phone. Wants to be elsewhere?

Socrates MacSporran

Child Tax Credits, it needs to be remembered, was Gordon Brown’s method of trying – back when he still had a social conscience – to offset the low wage economy which Thatcherism had brought in.

He knew so-many firms were paying low wages, that he at least tried to limit the damage.

The spirit seemed to be right, even if the measures introduced were, and still are, flwed.

Tinto Chiel

“History remembers his name unkindly, but Ruth Harrison’s name isn’t even remembered by her own party today, and that kinda tells you all you need to know about her AND them.”

Breeks, do you think Ruth Davidson remembers Benedict Arnold?

Hamish100

The frightened wee boy says it all.

The is what is in store for us all if the Tories and the state press and broadcasters persuade Scotland to remain with the right wing tories/EDL when brexit comes in.
What a future.Thankfully we don’t have to put up with the right wing racist party.

TJenny

Socrates MacSporran – what absolute bollox.

All Gordon Brown succeeded in doing was to ensure that the taxpayer continued to subsidise big business at the expense of the tax payer.

If he genuinely wanted to improve the wages of the employed, he should have enforced a higher basic hourly rate, perhaps maybe related to the employers’ profits and dividends paid out, instead he chose to let them continue to reap the benefits of tax payer employee subsidies to employers. The man was totally useless.

I have no problem with my taxes supporting bairns – all bairns – they are after all the tax payers of the future, The better they are looked after, the better for all our futures.

sarah

@Wee Alex – well done for shining some light. I don’t blame the English voters – they are fed the lies through the media and what choice is left?

Labour is nearly as right wing and their left wing is pilloried by the same media so they are unlikely to form a government. Then there’s LibDems who have lost their soul.

The Greens are still too small and under-funded – and of course the media barons will ensure they don’t get a fair hearing either.

Sigh.

maureen
Fred

Tinto, this business will haunt her!

Speaking of Arnold, Arnold Clark’s funeral is on Wednesday, he was born up a close in James Nisbett Street in the Garngad? & started his business career as a bar-man in the Wee Man’s pub next to the Cattle Market in the Gallowgate, Arnold supplemented his wages by buying cars at the market & selling them oot the back door. So literally from humble beginnings to the biggest private car dealer in Europe with 11,000 employees at present. On one occasion when strapped for cash, the only sympathetic ear was the bank manager of the branch at Parkhead Cross who he repaid by transferring the company funds through that small branch. He found time for 11 of a family plus his charitable stuff. It can’t have been easy being near the only kid called Arnold in the Garngad.

The funeral is at Glasgow Cathedral near his birthplace. Another shining example of Scotland being too wee, too poor & too stupid. What a contrast between him & failed car-salesman Jackson Carlaw.

Ruglonian

Hiya Ronnie,

Completely agree – there were many, many folks (you could count the elected representatives on one hand!) notable by their absence on Thursday, very disappointing 🙁

(I saw only Mhairi Black, Allison Thewliss, Patrick Harvie and Chris Stevens)

Phronesis

‘Early childhood education and care (ECEC) can bring a wide range of benefits – for children, parents and society at large. But the magnitude of the benefits is conditional on “quality”…

A growing body of research recognises that early childhood education and care (ECEC) brings a wide range of benefits, for example, better child well-being and learning outcomes as a foundation for lifelong learning; more equitable child outcomes and reduction of poverty; increased intergenerational social mobility; more female labour market participation; increased fertility rates; and better social and economic development for the society at large’
link to oecd.org.

Support for children and families in the early years is an investment in human capital that benefits us all. It is not the Conservative way however with their grandiose ideas of freeing the market and reducing the role of the state in generating well-being for all. Instead their structural adjustments are pushing more children and families into poverty- deliberately.

They do seem rather perplexed about the concept of economic return of investment in breaking the intergenerational transfer of poverty. Perhaps the electorate should insist for the purposes of clarity that every policy has a children rights based agenda which would ensure that the ‘rape clause’ as well as other conscious political choice to deconstruct any investment in human capital and decades of development of a progressive child rights agenda is halted. That demand can also be expressed at the ballot box.

Dr Jim

Perhaps the Scottish government should buy shares in Nissan given that car dealers get more of a say in the UK than Scotland does

And we still don’t know what was offered in the Nissan letter

Do we think they’ll get the best possible deal?

I think so! Scotland? not so much!

CameronB Brodie

Re. Yoons. They be mad. Re. Tories. They be evil.

The ongoing upsurge in English populism is a symptom of the global resurgence of fascism. Also, the Prime Minister speaks with an Anglican God.

link to nytimes.com

ScottishPsyche

Showing Ruth for what she is once again, well done.

This may be a stupid question but does anyone know if you can rank your first and last preferences only on the ballot? I have the choice of one SNP, no Greens, a disgruntled exSNP ‘Independent’, and various LibDems and Tories.

Can you put marks against just your first and last choice or is that invalid?

Ian McCubbin

It has all been said. Every angle to expose Ruth Davidson and her insidious party must be used. Hurry up for Indy to be rid of her and her kind of politics.

K1

Reveals exactly who Ruth is for all to see Chris. Excellent as per.

The petition has garnered over 2, 000 overnight, keep pushing this, if 12,000 signatures can be gathered in under 48 hours it should not take us too long to get it up to that 100,000 mark…

‘Scrap the “R clause” and the “family cap” on social security payments.’

link to petition.parliament.uk

Grosue Beater

Yes, Dirty Henrietta time, Chris.

The Tories have begun the war early on ‘holding onto Scotland at all costs’.

I can’t see what they can pull out the arse this time around, – see essay ‘Westminster Repeater’ – except the false promise of more vague powers – which has already been mooted – so maybe we will be allowed to name Scottish roads after Scottish people, that sort of thing.

Holiday weekend, so political polemic later.

Your weekend reading:

The perfect Easter subject, lesbianism: link to wp.me

K1

*waves at Ronnie*

Acht ye dae remember names an aw so ye dae 😉 Rose says hi tae 🙂

Cactus

Ruth Davidssson & the Tories.. there’s no give, it’s all take, take, take!!!
«««««««««««««

This story was on the latest front cover of The Extra:
link to glasgowsouthandeastwoodextra.co.uk

Here’s the maplist for all:
link to en.wikipedia.org

It says mostly there is ‘no overall control’ in the Scottish councils, therefore…

…it’s time to take back control.

With pro-Scotland / pro-indy (majorities)

mike d

Socrates 8.13am. As no doubt (meindevon would probably agree with me). Down here in deepest Dorset we here literally nothing re Scottish or NI political news coverage . Our country might as well be on the southern tip of Africa.

Robert Graham

its good to see she has been given a makeover , lipstick on a pig dosnt make it a princess does it ? . My sincere apologies to Pigs being linked to this eh person .

mike d

Should have said ‘hear”literally nothing “

Cherry

Great cartoon as always. Captured the venom on that Tory FM wannabe.

Ruth Harrison reminded me of Billy Bunter for a long while. But after she did ‘The After Dinner jokes about BJ she put me in mind of a character from Bridedhead Revisited. The jolly plump cousin who enjoyed dressing up in dinner suites,telling loud schoolboy smutty jokes whilst swilling back the brandy and puffing on a cigar. Just an awful woman.

Cherry

*brideshead* *suits*
Sorry predictive text

Lenny Hartley

Smallaxe great to see you back posting 🙂

Robert Peffers

@ScottishPsyche says: 15 April, 2017 at 1:31 pm:

“This may be a stupid question”

Nah! It’s not stupid, but if it was then there’s a awful lot of stupid people around. I’d rather describe them as, “Those somewhat confused by stupid people”, if it was me describing them.

” … but does anyone know if you can rank your first and last preferences only on the ballot?”

Best not, ScottishPsyche. The reason being that you don’t tick or put a cross but must number your choices in the order that you prefer them.

You put a number one for your first choice: a Number two for your second choice and so on to the one you like the least.

It is all right to not number them all but you must number those you do like in the order you like them.

So if you only liked three of the candidates you only need to number those three and leave the others blank.

Hope that helps.

ScottishPsyche

Thanks Robert, I meant if there are 6 candidates and you put 1 against your first and then 6 against your last but didn’t number the others.I didn’t make it clear.

I am not surprised by the lack of quality in the other candidates who are all much of a muchness but I wanted to make the point of putting the Tory last. Guess I’ll have to rank them all to make it clear!

ronnie anderson

Just come across this.

link to livestream.com

David

Love the accuracy of this cartoon. He’s even got the kids looking they are from different fathers! Good job.

Albert Herring

@ScottishPsyche

No, if you put SNP 1, and Tories 6 (or whatever the last place is) there will be nowhere for your vote or part thereof to transfer to, other than to the Tories. It would be exactly the same as putting SNP 1, Tories 2. Vote till you boak, as they say.

K1

This is a really good example of the cognitive dissonance of those who claim from positions of extreme wealth that they understand and have empathy for those with less. This is Steve Hilton former Cameron pal and architect behind detoxification of the Tories unravelling when asked if he and his family ‘deserved’ their wealth.

‘David Cameron’s former blue-sky thinker says the rise of populism is due to the super-rich’s inability to put themselves in the shoes of those less well off – before accepting a free cab ride and becoming lost for words about his own wealth’

For once, a journalist that knows ‘how’ to interview his subject and get right tae the heart of the story by uncovering the hypocrisy at the core of Hilton’s philosophy:

link to archive.is

Proud Cybernat

Horrible ‘toon, Chris – just utterly horrible (if you know what I mean).

As some band said not so long ago:

“If we tolerate this, our children will be next.”

And this to the 22% of Scottish Tories out there – Scottish Tories are much better than this vile woman. Wake up, FFS!

John Thomson

Does her partner feel the same way?

Horrified if she does

Tom Kane

Super, Chris. This is amongst your all time best… And you have given us so much food for thought.

It’s utterly incredible that this law passed in the Mother of all Parliaments in the first place. For that, they are all culpable.

It beggars belief, that any man,woman or child can simultaneously defend it and blame the snp for not mitigating it at the same time.

There are some bad, bad people in power.

Your work is fabulous, Chris… Many thanks…

Robert Peffers

@ScottishPsyche says: 15 April, 2017 at 2:47 pm:

“Thanks Robert, I meant if there are 6 candidates and you put 1 against your first and then 6 against your last but didn’t number the others.I didn’t make it clear.”</i?

You were clear enough, ScottishPsyche. It is not the easiest thing to explain, though.

I really think the designers of the system intended it to be difficult to both describe and thus hard to understand the more complex bits.

I would say the number of posts by the normally astute, and quick on the uptake, Wingers is sound proof of the totally unnecessary complexity of the system.

Furthermore, the fact that so many bright and alert people are at a total loss as to the political leanings of many of the lower ranked choice, and the fact the system requires all the candidates to be in preferred order to accurately reflect the wishes of the electorate, make the outcome a farce.

Flower of Scotland

Good one Chris!

Ruth Davidson has made politics in Scotland stomach churning. Her and her cronies, Murdo Fraser, Adam Tomkins, Jackson Carlaw are trying to bring the Scottish Parliament back to Westminster’s shouting, baying, old fashioned way of doing things. Bringing hatred and ulsterisation to Scotland suits their agenda to a tee.

They are now more UKIP than the Ukippers!

I never say that I hate anyone but I hate the Tory party, especially the one in Scotland, for what they are trying to do to us Scots.

ronnie anderson

The Media hiv never thought this is a way tae throw shit.
link to facebook.com

geeo

Is it just me, or does that caricature of Ruth Davidson look an awful lot like yon other ‘uber-yoon-ionista”, Arlene Foster ?

heedtracker

This is a nice SNP council election video what is NOT mentioning independence. Google SNP council election tv ad, and my monitor melts with the sheer weight of the SNP bad fury raging away, just from Severin Carrell too.

Its a bit disorientating watching ads like this and the relentless howls of vote NO to indy ref2 poured over us all.

Will it be different from last time and if it is, where next for yoon culture in Scotland?

link to theguardian.com

Archive is, blocked on this pc, sorry.

May the fourth be with you, fellow Jedi vile seps:D

CameronB Brodie

Some background on what shapes the thinking of “blood and soil” social Darwinists, such as Ruth Harrison, the Prime Minister and Farage (as in garage).

link to saylor.org

Since 1979 social and economic inequalities in the UK have risen year on year, while previously between 1918 to 1979, they had fallen.1 Injustice looks at what may be driving this increase in inequalities and shows why it is not inevitable

link to policypress.co.uk

Smallaxe

Lenny Hartley:

Thanks, Lenny, good to be back but a lot of catching up to do. Hope everything’s good with you.

Peace Always

Robert Peffers

@David says: 15 April, 2017 at 2:57 pm:

“Love the accuracy of this cartoon. He’s even got the kids looking they are from different fathers! Good job.

Oh! Come on, David. That one is below the belt. The implication that the lady is promiscuous is unwarranted.

I’ll tell you a true tale here. To show you should never jump to conclusions because of a person’s looks.

I was a Union rep for over 15 years and one of the duties was to take deceased members Death Grants to the bereaved family along with the Unions & workmates condolences and a wreath.

One old member died and I called upon the widow. The member had a large family of eight, now grown up, children. I knew the family very well.

On being invited into the family home and chatting with the widow, Kathy by name, the conversation got to this point. To understand the rest, I had acted a bit like a Welfare Worker some time previously when the couple were going through a rather bad patch.

Cathy: “Weel Bob, is ye ken wi whiles haed wir troubles”.

Me: “Aye! Cathy, but didn’t wi sort aa thaim oot aa richt?”

Cathy: “Oh! Aye! Bit if ye mind the bother cam aboot ‘cos Sam wis aye suspicious oor youngest wean wi the rid hair wisna his.”

Me: “Aye! Bit wi convinced him he wis wrang, did wi no?”

Cathy: “So wi did, bit noo Sam’s awa Ah kin tell ye the truth.”

Me: “Och! Cath, ye dinna hae tae tell mi onythin. It’s nane o ma bliddy business.”

Cathy: “Ah’m gaun tae tell ye onywey, Bob.”

“Sam thoucht the rid heedit wean wisna his ‘cos nane o the twa o us haes rid hair.”

“Weel, Bob the truth is the rid heedit wean wis the ainly ane whit wis Sam’s. The ither seevin wir frae an insurance man wi haed fir years whit Ah aye paid ahint the door.”

ronnie anderson

@ Mr Peffers ROFPMSL

Robert Peffers

@ronnie anderson says: 15 April, 2017 at 4:16 pm:

“@ Mr Peffers ROFPMSL

No Kidding, Ronnie, the story is true.

I used different names, though, as there could be people who know me who could figure out who the real, “Cathy”, was. Matter of fact she will probably have passed away herself by now or have long ago had her telegram from the Queen.

Robert Graham

Well as confusion continues on STV, The simple solution in my area is all Nationalist supporting groups are ranked, SNP No 1 and so on until they are all ranked, all Unionists are left blank.
Please tell me how my non vote can be, sliced, dissected, split, or otherwise Transferred to a Unionist candidate, if it ain’t there it can’t be counted .
As I have previously said it’s a bloody stupid way of voting , but I suppose i am just stupid in not understanding a simple system the general public so obviously have mastered so easily .

Hamish100

Can I vote 1 & 6?

How will those with “0” votes get a benefit as the polling heidjin can’t transfer my vote to anyone if they aint listed

izzie

A fellow winger must have been in Morrisons Arbroath The National was placed on top of the Daily Mirror and Express I bought 2 one \i put in the cafe the other on the 73 to Dundee. Off topic can anyone enlighten me to what is the menage?

shiregirl

Smallaxe

Good to see your posts again.

Beautiful evening in Cullen.

Wishing everyone a fine evening.

Croompenstein

@David

He’s even got the kids looking they are from different fathers! Good job

Oh David in Holy Week as well..

Judge not lest ye be judged

Wullie B

Snode1965 says:
15 April, 2017 at 7:36 am

Can someone clarify for me…are these tax credits equivalent to the old family allowance?

No Snode1965, these are like a top up to a weekly wage if low paid or part time hours over 16 hours so the claimant cant claim Income Support

Scott

John Thomson says:

15 April, 2017 at 3:02 pm

Does her partner feel the same way?

Horrified if she does

Who is her partner she wears no ring now??

robin

Mr Peffers sir
you should be on the stage

roflmao

galamcennalath

OT the Irish population is 4.6 million.

They have received 250,000 passport applications from the UK this year already. They expect around a million in 2017.

I am not one of them. Mind you, I expect a Scottish one in the next few years.

Smallaxe

shiregirl:

Many thanks, I hope the weather stays fine for you, it’s quite nice here in the borders also.

Peace and Love to You and Yours.

ChewinTheFat

I am hell of a glad everyone will now be seeing Ruth Davidson’s true colours. Of course, you will get the hardcore ones who use any excuse to despise Nicola Sturgeon or the SNP and who will stand by Davidson no matter what.

She is a vile excuse of a human being – the only thing that gives me comfort is knowing that this will all come back and bite her on the fat arse one day.

If Davidson thinks this is going to win some votes her way then she is mistaken, as I would like to think that voters who back-up this Rape Claus are in the minority and the majority of people are good, decent human beings who truly want the best for their country. Just hopefully what this bint has done will give them food for thought and they will vote in anyone but the Tories.

As far as I’m concerned, anyone who votes Tory is now voting for this ‘Rape Claus’ and should be ashamed of themselves.

And of course, nice piece of art, btw. 🙂

Ann

Having seen some recent photos of Ruth, I think she has visibly aged.
Stress taking it’s toll.

Smallaxe

izzie:

I hope this helps.

Menage = a sort of savings club having several of the characteristics of a lottery, at one time very popular among certain of the working-classes. Weekly payments of a fixed sum were made, and, in the order in which the names were extracted from the hat, each member received a full period’s total subscriptions. Thus the owner of the first name had the advantage of receiving a lump sum straight away.

Peace Always

Thepnr

I loved that cartoon Chris and says it all to be honest.

The comments below the line though are giving me goose pimples, the are heartfelt, serious and just show the mood that more than 50% of Scots are in.

I can feel the rage, the anger. Can you feel it too? Because it’s real. We won’t put up with this shit anymore and our voice will be heard in a second Independence Referendum despite what the despicable Tory May says.

The passion is building, you can see it here in front of you. They won’t beat that even with all the lies they can muster and feed to people through the BBC.

I’m so proud, really I am. Guess that makes me a proud Scot. There is no BUT though and never will be.

ronnie anderson

@ Robert Peffers Ah was in various unions as a shop stewart the nearest I came to personal intervention was to get a Gaffer to speak to a Minister about a alcohol dependency , glad to say the whole family were released.

Mind Robert dont be giving up the day job fur comedy lol , we have more than enough undergrun comedians on here .

heraldnomore

Anyone still confused about STV voting strategy could do worse than have a look at James Kelly’s excellent article in The National today.

Sorry no link facility on this gizmo but no doubt someone else will be kind enough.

ronnie anderson

5.51 & the word should read Relieved , ah wiznae promoting ah Gerry Dorsey song lol.

ChewinTheFat

Croompenstein says at 10:03 am:

Straight to the heart of it Chris, Harrison is the embodiment of a wolf in sheeps clothing. Sugary, sweet Ruthie on the outside and a cold hearted bastard on the inside.

Ha-ha. Yes, this rings true for auld Roothie. I tend to think of her this way:

Psychopath:

A person with an antisocial personality disorder, manifested in aggressive, perverted, criminal, or amoral behavior without empathy or remorse.

Psychopaths tend to lack normal human emotions such as guilt. They are also often highly intelligent and skilled at manipulating others.

Also, psychopaths seem to appear normal. You would probably never guess there was something wrong with them.

robin

OT
It does annoy me what the MOD spends our money on, and how the mass media like the telegraph report things.
The Telegraph reports the Royal navy is ‘escorting’ some Russian warships through the channel when what they are doing is monitoring these ships.
The definition of ‘escort’ is ‘Protection, care, or safeguard on a journey or excursion’ but hey ho the MSM like to big up our forces on all occasions; just irritates me these inuendos of how grand and powerful we are…sorry had to get that off my chest.

Capella

@ heraldnomore – James Kelly article on STV archived:
link to archive.is

Stoker

WOS archive links for the remainder of October 2013 now on O/T.

link to ayemail.scot

Thepnr

I started to think that rage and anger re my earlier post was too strong since we’re the nice guys and maybe shouldn’t be describing ourselves as such.

Well, don’t know about you personally but I’m sticking with rage and anger at what these Tories are doing to our welfare state and the English NHS which will affect us indirectly.

You can’t ignore cruelty and that’s what removing even £13.70 in tax credits from a working family with more than two children will do. It’s the difference between being skint on a Friday or skint on a Thursday.

Heartless bastards that bring in laws like this, the UK is going to rat shit. The good people still remaining in England must wake up at some point. I doubt these policies that the Tories have chosen to follow through until the bitter end will end well.

Definitely not in Scotland. Heinous.

crazycat

@ Marie Clark at 10.20

If there is only one Tory, you don’t have to actually vote for him/her.

Once you’ve ranked all the other candidates, the one you don’t rank is last by default.

@ anyone wanting to vote for first and last only:

That doesn’t work. Once your first preference has been elected or eliminated, and only then, your lower preferences will be looked at. If you don’t have one marked 2, the tellers would either have to treat your 6 (or whatever) as 2 – which is not what you want – or discard your ballot for not having a second preference. I would expect them to do the latter, though it might end up in the “invalid” pile, to be discussed at the end.

crazycat

@ Thepnr

Someone I know has a sticker on her laptop which reads: “If you’re not outraged, you’re not paying attention”.

ScottishPsyche

Thanks to everyone who answered.

Like some others, our SNP candidate said not to vote for anyone else as there were no other Independence candidates. This obviously contradicts the ‘vote till you boke’ stuff which until then I was planning to do

It did occur to me though that I didn’t particularly want to transfer my vote to the others after the election (hopefully) of my single preferred candidate but I did want to rank the Tory last, hence the question.

Anyway the consensus is to rank everyone so that is what I’ll do.

CameronB Brodie

In my last post, I mentioned in passing the eugenic dimensions of tax and immigration policy. The genetic quality of the national stock is a taboo subject, and for familiar, excellent reasons. Nazis! That said, the history of eugenics is fascinating, especially if one is also interested in the history of economics as a discipline with deep roots in ideologies of social planning and control. A number of early presidents of the American Economics Association were prominent eugenicist who leaned heavily on eugenicist arguments in policy analysis. Check this out, from Thomas Leonard’s “Eugenics and Economics in the Progressive Era”:

link to bigthink.com

Eugenics: Economics for the Long Run

If a program of eugenics is to be introduced into modern countries, it will most likely be as a byproduct of births being restricted to restrain population growth. Thus, it will be argued below that in the long run society is faced with a choice between having the population restrained by misery, and having it restrained by conscious restrictions of births. Once the idea of preventing some births is accepted, it will then be natural to discuss the question of which births. It is then very likely that decisions will be based at least partially on preventing the births that are most likely to result in what that society regards as low quality citizens. This will be a eugenics program, although as will be pointed out some of the gains may arise from insuring that those children born are born into the families that provide better environments.

link to eugenics.net

N.B. British nationalism require the sumbision of one’s will and agency to an Anglican God and the Malthusian elitism of England’s rigid class system.

Davy

They say a picture paints a thousand words, Chris your cartoon paints 10,000.

truly shows the real tory party.

Robert Peffers

@ronnie anderson says: 15 April, 2017 at 5:51 pm:

“Ah was in various unions as a shop stewart the nearest I came to personal intervention was to get a Gaffer to speak to a Minister about a alcohol dependency , glad to say the whole family were released.”

Thing was, Ronnie, I stewarded in the Radio, Sonar and Radio workshop. It was a large department and it included several trades, including fitters, technicians, skilled labourers, labourers, cleaners, Office staff. As they were all based in the one big workshop we were all on a first name basis.

Which explains why we had much more personal problems. Then it helped that I had served my apprenticeship with the people in higher management and went to the Dockyard College with them.

I just never fancied management so remained as a specialist on the tools. I earned as much as most low to middle management but was on first name terms with the top guys.

It led to a much closer and friendlier relationship for everyone. Not to mention that as there was every trade you could imagine in the Dockyard the different trades had an arrangement that we looked after each other’s members as much as we could. The trades were workshop based but many were spread out on Ships all over the yard at their jobs.

You often had to do more Social worker stuff than Trade Union stuff. As you point out there was stuff like Alcoholism, depression and such like too.

“Mind Robert dont be giving up the day job fur comedy lol , we have more than enough undergrun comedians on here .”

No kidding, Ronnie, I could do standup with some of the things I experienced. Billy Connelly claimed that working in the Clyde Shipbuilding yards was what taught him to be a comic. The MOD Ship refit & repair industry was at least on a par with the Clyde yards.

ronnie anderson

@ Robert Peffers Did U hiv tae gon an done that mention billy conerly , spit. lol

ronnie anderson

@ Robert Peffers catch U laters , following up on the Silk Road bbc 4 .

Macart

@Thepnr

Something the Yoonitariat and their chain tuggers should take heed of. Never mistake endless patience and empathy for peaceful acceptance and conformity.

Being the good guys doesn’t mean we endlessly turn the other cheek. Sometimes you need to make a stand and say ‘enough is ENOUGH’!

It’s well past that time in my view. Unionist politicians and their meeja have used the Scottish public as punching bags, lab rats and whipping boys for years. We’ve turned our ‘other cheek’ so fucking often we’re suffering from whiplash at this point.

I think we’re done with the ‘mushroom principle’ at this point. More folk need to get angry and then use that anger clinically and constructively at the ballot.

CameronB Brodie

It’s comforting now to think of eugenics as an evil that sprang from the blackness of Nazi hearts. We’re familiar with the argument: some men are born great, some as weaklings, and both pass the traits on to their children. So to improve society, the logic goes, we must encourage the best to breed and do what we can to stop the stupid, sick and malign from passing on their defective genes. This was taken to a genocidal extreme by Hitler, but the intellectual foundations were laid in England. And the idea is now making a startling comeback.

link to spectator.co.uk

gerry parker

Robert Graham at 4:47How many seats are there in the ward?

Rock

Smallaxe,

“I am not a Christian but I have read the bible, this, from the New Testament.”

“Peace, Love and Compassion for the sake of all Humanity”

I thought you were the re-incarnation of Mother Theresa.

Dorothy Devine

Ronnie , it is a great programme and shows such beauty.

Paisley pattern abounds.

Hood

Bit of advice needed regarding STV.

1 pro Indy in my area (SNP)
and basically 6 Unionists
Labour, Tory, LibDem and 3x Independent

2 of Independents on twitter always badmouthing SNP and saying no appetite for a referendum etc. Other one not on Twitter and not so vocal about Independence but I know he is a Unionist.

So ranking is obviously 1 for SNP.
I know the not so vocal Independent will either get in first or second so nothing lost I reckon by sticking him as a number 2 (no pun intended 😉 )

But where to rate the rest. Tory definitely last for me but the rest?

Robert J. Sutherland

crazycat @ 18:27,

True, there is no need to fill in your very last preference, for Tory or whatever it happens to be. (And even slightly more than that if there are any obnoxious no-hopers that you wouldn’t touch with a bargepole.)

I have avoided saying that too much though for fear of deflecting from the essential point that it really does matter to go stepwise down the list through other pro-indy candidates and right into the opposition as far as possible.

And yes, it is important to get the numbering right 1-2-3…, with no gaps, to avoid any possibility of invalidating any of those choices.

And @ 18:29,

That’s a great quote I must pass on to my mrs…(!)

Thepnr

@Rock

And you are just a cheeky bastard.

Apologies to all that I have been advising not to feed the trolls, but this comment from Rock is beyond the pale.

You Rock aught to be ashamed, but as a Yoon through and through I’ve no doubt your laughing at me for responding and Smallaxe.

You will regret that. When Scotland votes YES. I hope your piles keep you awake all through tonight, you fucking toerag.

ronnie anderson

@ Dorothy Devine Should that no be the Flame of Zanahar . Carpet weaving at their best , ah couldnae afford ah square inch of wan o them lol.

Iain Cormackf

Don’t you feel sorry for the poor old torY’s.
Still languishing around 20% and with no positive case for the union.
And they are such grim ugly bastards.
Still at least their mum loved them.
Or did she?

Tinto Chiel

“Smallaxe…I thought you were the re-incarnation of Mother Theresa.”

I don’t normally respond to your stuff but that remark was beneath contempt.

You’re a nasty piece of work, really, aren’t you, with your obsessive lists of posters’ quotations and your gratuitous bile?

Quite appropriate it’s the Ruth Davidson thread.

CameronB Brodie

What a bunch of hypocritical, sanctimonious wanks the Tories are

“Protecting human life, protecting marriage, and protecting freedom of conscience are foundational for creating and maintaining strong families, caring communities and a just society. Our Christian faith compels us to speak and act in defence of all these.”

link to christianvoice.org.uk

Robert J. Sutherland

maureen @ 12:02,

Thanks for that reference. Very worrying development. Another potential robbery of our rights under the guise of “yooniformity”. And not entirely O/T either, because the current “no-referendum referendum” is just a skirmish line that won’t hold. The Unionists are also working out ways to fix the eventual ScotRef in their favour, and that’s one of them: skew the electorate as much as they can get away with.

We can argue precedence from the last time, but as we know very well now, Westminster can trump all whenever the hell it pleases, unless (as Macart rightly says) we stop turning the other cheek and start making everything count.

This is just the start.

Rock

Thepnr,

“@Rock

And you are just a cheeky bastard.”

Thepnr, here is how I defended you when you first started posting and was attacked by an earlier re-incarnation of Robert Peffers:

Rock,

+—–, you are making petty points about Thepnr’s real life experience and what he feels about it.

There are two sides of a coin – the giver is giving out of pity but the receiver is acutely aware of his helplessness in having to receive charity.

With independence, we want to get rid of this poverty and helplessness in Scotland.

I would prefer to be poorer in an independent Scotland than ever again be called a scrounger or subsidy junky, of which I am neither.”

As for Smallaxe, who else would sign off every post with “Peace Always” or similar apart from the re-incarnation of Mother Theresa?

Dorothy Devine

Ronnie ,indeed ! the mosque and palaces shown are absolutely stunning and the presenter meets fascinating folk along the way – I love it.

Marie Clark

Rock, I usually just ignore you and don’t respond to you at all, But that crack about Smallaxe crossed the line. You are a very nasty piece of work.

DerekM

Got to agree Thepnr that was totally off topic and nothing to do with politics,independence or Scotland.

I think an apology is in order others probably think you should get put on the naughty step for that pebble.

Rock

Thepnr,

“but as a Yoon through and through I’ve no doubt your laughing at me for responding and Smallaxe.”

Anyone who “apologises sincerely” to someone who calls him “bloody stupid” must be “bloody stupid”.

Since when did it become standard practice for yoons to post comments like:

Rock (yesterday),

“I don’t know how statistics are compiled, but an SNP total vote of more than 50% is the best response to the unionists.”

Rock (yesterday),

“But every vote for a Tory is a toxic vote, boosting the most disgraceful and dishonest politician in Scotland.

The Tories must be completely defeated.”

You and me often have similar points of view but you have been attacking me ever since I suggested that persuading Tories to vote Yes was not a good idea:

Thepnr,

“Embrace the NO voters, even the Tory ones if you hope to reach your ultimate goal.”

Rock,

“Do you seriously believe that spending limited resources on persuading Tories in Scotland to vote for independence is a good idea?

Rock says:
12 April, 2017 at 6:32 pm

“Any self respecting people would want to be independent of a coloniser at any cost.

Unfortunately there are too many selfish middle class Scots who would rather live under colonial rule than perhaps suffer a small drop in income which would benefit those less well off then themselves.

Proud Scots, but— are a disgrace to Scotland.”

Thepnr says:
13 April, 2017 at 7:45 pm

“A proud scotbut is someone with no shame or compassion for their fellow Scots plight under this Tory government.

No they are proud all right, proud of their wealth or their business or their land that they own. They are real Scots of course but the cringe is in their blood.”

Rock

Thepnr,

“I hope your piles keep you awake all through tonight, you fucking toerag.”

Maybe Smallaxe’s signature comments are meant for the likes of you:

Smallaxe,

“Peace, Love and Compassion for the sake of all Humanity”

CameronB Brodie

P.S. Any Scottish signatories, particularly those in ecumenical positions, should perhaps take time to reflect on how the Westminster Declaration squares with Brexit, the Yemen, destruction of the welfare state, etc., etc.. I’m not sure if it will be possible to remove their endorsement but it would at least be worth trying.

link to middleeasteye.net

K1

Fucking moronic little grievance hunter and pathetic nasty minded wee swine Rock. You jealous little nonentity. Fuck off back tae the sewer ye fucking wanker.

Thepnr

I guess I’m a sensitive soul and really really should know better.

However I’m only human and make the same mistakes over and over that we all can do at times. I apologise again for losing the plot, it was an error that I’m not very proud of.

Anyway what’s done is done, we get on with the job in front of us and that’s fighting for our Independence. Sorry for the sweary words and that’s to you Rock.

Croompenstein

@Rock – in Holy Week

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.

Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy.

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.

Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are you when others revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account.
Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you.

heedtracker

Rock says:

Warning to Scottish independence movement: GCHQ boasts of using “false flag operations” to manipulate online discourse and activism and generate outcomes it considers desirable, says journalist Glen Greenwald

Hey Rock, do you know how much the UK has extracted in NOT Scots oil and gas revenues, to date, including inflation?

Do you think that Mayhem’s crew are going to big on fracking hydrocarbons in England Rock? Or will they bottle it, in the face of middle and upper middle class fracking opposition?

Rock

Thepnr,

“Sorry for the sweary words and that’s to you Rock.”

Only if you meant it.

Why don’t you swallow your pride and admit that converting Tories to vote Yes was never a good idea?

Instead of endlessly using the T word against me and attacking me at every opportunity.

I mean no harm to any yes supporter but there are too many sycophants posting here and their comments must be challenged when necessary.

I am sure the “silent majority” of WOS readers agree with me.

Croompenstein

Rock, If The Lord Jesus isnt’t good enough then maybe Morrissey\Marr will do it..

If you’re wondering why
All the love that you long for eludes you
And people are rude and cruel to you
I’ll tell you why

You just haven’t earned it yet, baby
You just haven’t earned it, son
You must suffer and cry for a longer time
And I’m telling you now

If you’re wondering why
When all I wanted from life was to be famous
I have tried for so long, it’s all gone wrong
I’ll tell you why
But you wouldn’t believe me

You just haven’t earned it, son
You must suffer and cry for a longer time
And I’m telling you now
I’ll tell you why

Today I am remembering the time
When they pulled me back
And held me down
And looked me in the eyes and said
You just haven’t earned it, my son
You must stay on your own for slightly longer
You just haven’t earned it yet baby
And I’m telling you now

heedtracker

I am sure the “silent majority” of WOS readers agree with me.

You’ve yet to say anything remotely interesting pro indy or SNP Rock?

What are the issues that are going you to get out voting 4th of May?

Who’s your SNP MP and what are they like?

He asks the most futile queries of a troll possible:D

DerekM

Shall we test that Rock?

Hey Rev how about a poll since the Rock knows best what the wingers think.

Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie A, crazycat, Cactus, Caz-m, BDTT and/or abody else who was at the last PQ demo.

Can someone please remind me of the name of the big lad near the end who did the ‘rap’ stuff?

Rock

heedtracker, let me remind you of your opinion of WOS and its author:

heedtracker,

“Rock, whatever you’re up to on WoS, listen up, the author of Wings over Scotland is not the messiah and he’s not going to win ref 2.”

What are YOU up to on WoS, heedtracker, day and night?

As for me, I honestly and seriously believe that if Yes wins, it will be WOS and its author that has tipped the balance in favour of Yes.

K1

I’m not apologising to him for anything I said. I mean it.

Rock

I repeat:

I mean no harm to any yes supporter but there are too many sycophants posting here and their comments must be challenged when necessary.

Goodnight.

DerekM

So that is it is it Rock i do not give a fuck if you care about independence in fact i am probably the only Winger who actually thinks that.

You as far as i am concerned deliberately set out to disrupt this thread by starting a fight it is called flaming and for that you should say goodbye imo.

heedtracker

As for me, I honestly and seriously believe that if Yes wins, it will be WOS and its author that has tipped the balance in favour of Yes.”

You just want people like me to stop, go away and not say anything under WoS blogs Rock, fair enough but is it because I’m such a sycophant, I bash out stuff like, “Rock, whatever you’re up to on WoS, listen up, the author of Wings over Scotland is not the messiah and he’s not going to win ref 2.”

All the logic of a troll Rock.

Smallaxe

Rock:

I avoid loud and aggressive people, they are vexatious to my spirit but in your case, I forgive you as that will probably annoy a specimen like you.

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

I suppose in the Big Book of Life there are those who enhance our short time under the sun with their wit, good humour, love of music, and of life, and by their dignity in adversity. These souls are to be cherished and we grow in their company.

And then there are the others, who offer nothing but utter negativity and corrosive bitterness.

Iain

The yoons are defeated and they know it.
The UK is no more.
The end is neigh.

Bob Mack

@Rock.

You are way out of line I fear. The question is do you know it?

If not I feel sorry for you having all that resentment towards people. I have seldom if ever seen you post a positive view of anything. You hate lawyers judges (sycophants) and just about anybody who does not fit your narrow frames of reference.Boy, has life kicked you about.

Actually I pity you that you try to ridicule someone on here who has only ever expressed compassion towards others. Get a grip.

ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood Aye Ian U wait tae ave put the leaflets in the bin then ask that question, hud oan the noo ——— that feking bin needs a gid cleaning again Shaun Moore, an jist tae let U know ah dont bin rake fur jist oanybudy , an am saying that wie a funny squeaky voice, the klaispegs still oan ma nose lol.

Smallaxe

Thank you, everyone, who came to my defence, I have only just come back online and seen the post directed at me. Please ignore the person concerned in future, as I will.Thank you again, my Friends.

Peace and Love to you All

arthur thomson

This issue is going to haunt the Tories.

It boils down to: you can’t OWN more than two children if you don’t have the funds to sustain them. It is the same issue of ownership that motivated their opposition to the named person scheme.

Davidson and her followers are Thatcherite Tories, including the red tories who have chosen to swell their ranks – the sanctimonious, purse-mouthed ex Slab supporters who rage at a ‘something for nothing culture’.

Whatever their deluded notions of superiority, they are in fact – UNCIVILISED.

caz m

Cheers Ronnie Anderson 2.55pm

Posting BBC Scotland protest video from last month.

Oh the memories. If I hadn’t turned up that tent would have blown away, lol.

hi Ian Brotherhood, I can’t remember the name of the Rapper guy.

A big hello to all who made it a great wee day oot.

CameronB Brodie

OT. Re. all these whiny Yoons going full Tonto over Pete Wishart’s use of BBC aproved houmour.

@Yoons
The BBC felt it acceptable to broadcast the Chewing the Fat sketch in to every Scottish household receiving a signal. You are tryibng to make political capital out of nothing.

Grown up please, virtue gesturing feeds fascism.

@David Scott
Wantt to talk about morality? What about Brexit, Britain’s involvent in Yemen, privatisation of the English NHS, etc….?

Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie A –

Cheers mister, much appreciated. I wanted to look him up on the Youtube cause I’m sure I’d seen him before that day. I want to show my son that rapping is not the preserve of the young.

@caz-m Hoots to you too brother!

ronnie anderson

Classic Troll manoeuvre when people ignore your uttering’s Resort to Abuse.

Cmon Lads N Lassies we’re better than any Disrupter . I’ll say this again IGNORE IGNORE IGNORE.

An am no shouting chist highlighting ma point.

Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie A –

Forgot to say thanks for bin-delving. I hope you don’t get burst blood vessels on the end of your nose – yon midgie-raking’s a serious business fraught with all manner of dangers, and something of a dying art.

North chiel

Yes ” robin” at 0600pm . Money for defence ” posturing” no object
especially to provide a ” splash” in the state controlled media for the PM
when the domestic agenda is ” falling apart” , what better for the ” union” and
establishment than the ” drum beat” towards war ? Anyway , where possibly could our trident subs be I wonder?. Are the missile launch codes and authorisations under
US military control ??
Is the PM under pressure to join in and ” sabre rattle” possibly to undermine
our FM ?

louis.b.argyll

I’d say the number of sycophants is fairly representative..

ronnie anderson

@ caz-m That was the 1st time I’ve seen it , I tried contacting Ian Russell for his video but auld Ian’s no weil the noo . I’ll get a new Gizebo for the AUOB June 3rd, hopefully we can set up as we did before with lindsay & Ken & use our Gizbo as a Tea/Coffee stall.

@ Ian Brotherhood Shaun has sung at a few events, HOF & Holyrood .

ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood Midden raking was profitable in ma teens , many a auld yin got ah bargain 6d fur a bunch of Green Banana’s straight aff the branch an they were Fyffes naen o that Carmin Marranda shit. lol

Free Scotland

A further example of Tory compassion appears in this article, which dishes more dirt on Donald Gatt, ex-UKIP, now vile Tory.

link to pressandjournal.co.uk

Artyhetty

Great image. Davidson has really blotted her copybook, with regard to Scotland. Ermine awaits her, London darling, one day soon no doubt. Urgh.

If that was me, and it would never be but if it was, like in another universe, I would need daily,no hourly debriefing so as not to go to bed at night knowing I had just shafted my own country, and that I had spat on actual vulnerable women.

My book just arrived today, ‘Natural Resources of Scotland, Symposium at The Royal Society of Edinburgh’ 1960/61. Came across it completely by chance. Have done a bit of speed reading some if it, wow. It is a ton weight, at 796 pages. Costs 1p to buy.

Ok, it is beleive it or not, very interesting. They talk about everything, except the oil! Elephant in the room me thinks. One speaker, from the US, expert on Latin America, does say, on page 751; ‘Finally, and the element that is perhaps crucial, and may even be present today in it’s early form, is an organisation to carry these measures into effect. A visitor to this country is struck by what I may call the unusual nature of your Governmental arrangements. I perhaps hear the rustle of Scottish Nationalism in the wings!’ He then goes on to talk about the ‘absense of national or a (competent) ‘sub national Governmental organisation’. In the context of Scotland’s natural resources.

Probably seems very boring, but the whole book is very interesting, to me anyway. It covers everything as I say, but oil!

They often talk about Scotland as a region, but the conclusion is what we would expect, Scotland is and was then, considered a very rich country, in terms of resources. Funny that.

caz m

Ronnie Anderson Ian brotherhood

If we don’t win our Independence then rakin the Midgies will return to our street sooner than you think.

And see you all on 3rd June.

caz m

This Ruth R*pe Clause is not going away any time soon:

“Rape clause: Ruth Davidson riles up Glasgow West End residents for supporting new rule”

link to archive.is

caz m

This Ruth R*pe Clause is not going away any time soon:

“R*pe Clause: Ruth Davidson riles up Glasgow West End residents for supporting new rule”

link to archive.is

arthur thomson

@ Smallaxe

I’ve always liked referring to people affectionately as ‘Pal’. I wonder if that is short for Peace and Love?

Who knows. Anyway, we’re all with you,

Pal.

paul gerard mccormack

robert peffers was asking about this earlier –

here is janey Godley on the very subject

link to twitter.com

sadly true every word of it –

i did see this described as satire – more like the truth of the matter as far as i can hear.

Macart

Spotted this on Rev’s twitter.

link to twitter.com

Never a truer point made.

These two statements highlight one other thing. They bring into sharp focus Labour in Scotland’s act of democratic vandalism throughout the 2014 referendum. They led better together’s campaign front to back, supported from afar by Cameron’s government and all the mechanisms of Westminster power.

That we are still part of the political union today is due to Labour in Scotland’s efforts.

So what did their efforts buy Scotland’s electorate?

We now enjoy being part of and party to a societally divided UK teetering on the edge of an immigration driven, intolerant and ill advised Brexit. A Brexit which was given no thought for any consequences, not economic, not political and most certainly not societal.

Three million UK wide and some 190k UK resident EU citizens of continental origin living in Scotland as new Scots. They now live with the all too real fear of a very uncertain future. Do we really think this will stop with EU citizens? How many overseas nationals now call the UK home? What of their future? So much fear and uncertainty for their future at the hands of what is without doubt one of the most appalling conservative governments in the UK’s political history (and there’s been a few crackers).

Do we also really need to cover EVEL, ongoing austerity ideology and the wholesale destruction of benefits? How about the now very hollow claim of pooling and sharing? Where were those broad shoulders in times of economic hardship? The only shoulders capable of stewarding Scotland’s highly volatile and hopelessly complex oil resources when they were needed? It wasn’t only the oil industry who suffered in this period. Almost ironically HMRC in Scotland also felt the lack of support. Our retail sector could probably tell a tale of woe too. Oh, and how about those orders for the Clyde? Rolling in are they?

Then we really do come to the constitution. An epic Scotland bill settlement. A settlement which makes Scotland the most powerful devolved legislature in the Milky Way galaxy. Devo max and the nearest thing to federalism promised. Partial control of income tax and the vital competence of road signage, aggregates levy and APD delivered. In reality, a punishment exercise for our people, our Scottish Government and our Westminster MPs.

We’re fed a daily diet of arrogance, ignorance and humiliation for daring to exercise our democratic and inalienable human rights. We’re also expected to respect those who put us through these trials regardless of their actions and, more importantly, their lack of agreed upon actions.

We’re expected to obey our betters. Turn the other cheek. Eat our cereal. Mainly because… fluffy sez so and he’s backed by lots and lots of MPs we DID NOT vote for. That do NOT live in Scotland and who would no doubt have trouble locating our country with the aid of a map, a GPS and a six man safari.

How much more pain do we need to go through? How much more stress and utterly needless suffering should our poor and our powerless be subjected to? What will it take before we say enough is enough? What KIND of country do we want to live in and live with?

Apologies for the length of post, but still ragin’.

geeo

It is getting really old, coming on here and having to skim past responses to trolling wankers.

Ignore them ffs. The fact they get ever more desperate to get responses says we are winning.

I am going to post this again, as a wee reminder as to why we are winning.
………..
‘Battle Lines’

As I stared across the battlefield,
At my enemies, bold and strong.
Armed with all their weapons,
Sharpened points and long.

I bowed my head down slowly,
And took a mighty breath.
My heart was beating fast now,
Almost beating out my chest.

I took a glance behind me,
And what my eyes did see.
An army staged and ready,
Yet not a sword to be.

As I stared across the battlefield,
At my enemies, weak and wrong.
I knew that we had beat them,
With words and pen, and song.

A peaceful revolution,
Redemption of a dream.
A land betrothed of equals,
A country that is free.”

Tinto Chiel

geeo:

It’s been a long thread, so this is always relevant for the battle ahead.

Chris F

Chris Cairns, political cartoonist.

He is light years ahead of his contemporaries. And that’s an understatement.

Dave McEwan Hill

galamcennalath at 5.19

An interesting point is that the population of R o Ireland in 1925 was 2.9 million when the population of Scotland was just under 5 million (and would have been well above 5 million had we not lost 130,000 men and fathers in WW1).
The population of RoI will shortly pass Scotland’s 5.2 million and the population of the Irish island is already well over 6 million.
Somebody recently said to me “You don’t want to end up like Ireland do you?”
“Yes” I said (and I’d have better pension for a start.)

crazycat

@ Arty Hetty at 10.12

They talk about everything, except the oil! Elephant in the room me thinks.

When I first read that part of your comment, I thought “not surprising in 1960”, but then I wondered if I was right, so I looked it up.

As always, I don’t want to rely too heavily on Wikipedia, but they do say (in link to en.wikipedia.org):

The UK Continental Shelf Act came into force in May 1964. Seismic exploration and the first well followed later that year.

That seems to be the start of offshore exploration/extraction, though knowledge of onshore resources long predates that. I can vaguely remember the shift from town gas to North Sea (we didn’t have gas, but relatives did) round about then.

Interestingly, the article also says

In the petroleum industry, the term “North Sea” often includes areas such as the Norwegian Sea and the area known as “West of Shetland”, “the Atlantic Frontier” or “the Atlantic Margin” that is not geographically part of the North Sea.

Maybe someone who works in the industry could confirm (or not) that. Apologies if they already have and I’ve missed it.

Smallaxe

arthur thomson:

I would agree with that sentiment, Arthur, if it didn’t mean Peace and Love before, it does now!

Peace Always Pal

Fireproofjim

crazycat
Oil was discovered in the North Sea (Montrose Field) in 1969 and,shortly after, BP discovered Forties,, and started production in 1975.
There was scepticism in the government that there was any oil in the North Sea and licences were practically given away. BP has been producing oil for over forty years and made billions upon billions of profit.

heedtracker

BP has been producing oil for over forty years and made billions upon billions of profit”

Its probably NOT by chance that your average voter, me, hasn’t the faintest idea how much not Scots oil and gas revenue has been extracted, so far.

Nor do any of us know how much is left.

Its not by chance, but you can bet your May 4, some people know, right down to the last barrel.

Maybe their gimps like Rock know:D

But they’re maybe just too busy picking fights with strangers online.

You can bet your non Scots oil dollar, every Norwegian knows how much Norway’s oil reserves are worth.

We’re such a stupid Scotland region, at the end of the UKOK day. Just ask socialist workers like Lord Flipper, seated on the board of Morgan Stanley,

link to morganstanley.com

Ian Brotherhood

@Macart (10.44) –

Apologise for nothing mister.

Yer words are powerful and true.

Get yer ain blog going and properly let rip!

More power to ye.

boris

Ruth Davidson is becoming a bit of a loose cannon. Her most recent attack on women and rape is beyond the pale. But will Margaret Mitchell, Tory Convener of the Justice Committee reign her in??

link to caltonjock.com

David

CameronB Brodie, thanks for posting this link at 3:58pm.
I recommend everyone have a look, it’s only a 12-page document, but has lots of very quotable/tweetable lines in it:

link to policypress.co.uk

We need a YES vote in #ScotRef to separate Scotland from #RapeClauseRuth’s Tory bosses in Westminster. If not, they will happily grind us out of existence.

crazycat

@ fireproofjim

Thanks – it was mostly the terminology re “West of Shetland” etc that I was seeking confirmation for, but your post is of course also helpful.

Still Positive

Ian B @12.03.

Totally agree. Macart should have his own blog. He has proved that when he has stood in for the Wee Ginger Dug when he has been away.

geeo

@tinto chiel..

Wow!!

Haunting and beautiful ..thanks for sharing that.

Tinto Chiel

You’re welcome, geeo.

Shouldn’t have engaged with the TW tonight: you’re right but, as Kenneth Williams used to say on Round The Horne, I’m pleading the headaches! 😀

Ian Brotherhood