The jungle VIP

Posted on February 11, 2013 by

For all the staggeringly impressive total to date, fewer than 500 of our 30,000+ readers have currently donated even a single £1 to our fundraising campaign. If you’re one of the other 29,500 – and statistically you almost certainly are – there’s a certain lion who wants a wee word with you this morning.

hamishcrop

Subscribe
Notify of

39 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Green Bean

Thoroughly agree with this – I’ve been getting a bit worried about it. Surely most people can afford £1? For such an excellent website?
Hamish looks particularly splendid today, by the way.

martyn

cmon folks whats a pound?

velofello

At Murrayfield on Saturday there were circa 50,000 spectators, and 30 rugby players.
Here Rev Stu tells us that of 30’000 readers just 500 have stepped forward to contribute some money.
Which would you rather be, a spectator or a player, for Scotland? C’mon help build towards a better country, if only by paying out some cash either in the role of spectator or player.
Anyone keen to pull on the jersey should sign up to the Yes campaign.

Boorach

@ Rev
Have made donation but you really could make life easier for a number of us by making some sort of ‘standing order’ proforma available. Many of us are on restricted incomes but would happily contribute a mickle on a regular basis to suit our pension payment date or whatever and a standing order costs nothing to set up. Either for the payee or recipient.
PLEASE make life just a little easier for us…… and if you are really lucky our fading memorys will mean it’s never cancelled!

Albalha

Feel before commenting have to make clear I too have contributed, though not sure why, feels a bit uncomfortable. Appreciate that’s probably my problem.

Anyway yes lots of people could contribute a pound but I’m sure there are many reading this site, maybe even using it for copy, speeches, references etc who can afford a damn site more …… lots of Hero slots left. 

CameronB

It would be such a shame if the old stereotype of tight Scots actually had some basis. Every pound will count in the end, so please help as much as you can. Even if it is just a pound.

Albalha

@cameronB

I agree but there’s also the Scottish sterotype that it’s those that can least afford it who’re the most generous, nice to challenge that one too. 

The Man in the Jar

Just waiting for pension day. Most works pensions pay out on the 15th. of the month so I hope there might be a wee surge then.

CameronB

@ Albalha

I don’t think that the generosity of the poor is confined to Scotland, I think it is something of a universal constant. It would be a nice one to disprove though.

Albalha

@cameronB

With Scotland it seems generosity often stops with those with least, those with most being more stingy.  

mutterings

Boorach says:

Have made donation but you really could make life easier for a number of us by making some sort of ‘standing order’ proforma

A standing order is set up by the payee (you). All you need to know is Stuart’s bank details. You can set s Standing Order up yourself if you bank online. Alternatively, your bank will do it for you. It does not require a form, just name, account, sort code.

Bank transfer (one-off or standing order) might well be more cost-effective than PayPal because PayPal charge for withdrawals and card payments as I understand it. I’d rather see Stuart getting the full amount than throwing money at PayPal.
However, if the receiving account (Stuart’s) is a business account, he might be charged for receiving payments. Only Stuart can clarify what the most cost-effective form of payment is.

Erchie

I think launching this so close to the Christmas credit card bills hitting was a bad move, hopefully you’ll pick up once the Feb salaries are in.

Just one thing. I probably hit you from 4 or 5 IP addresses during the working day, depending on what site/device I am on.  Other folk like me might inflate the figures.
On the other hand I have punted £4.60 per IP (£23 to the rest of you)
It’s well worth it

Ysabelle

I intend to donate again, maybe twice (second time in March). It means spreading it out more.

Ysabelle

The other thing is that I’ve helped raise money for a couple of successful Kickstarter projects, and you can see a surge in pledges towards the end. People tend to rally round and spread the word. This is a dip period. But it would obviously help to get the money up more in this phase too. Also, there are people here who couldn’t donate at this point in the month, so they may be waiting until it fits with their financial cycle.

mutterings

Rev. Stuart Campbell said: It’s a personal account, so there should be no charges at either end.

Maybe you should add the bank account options (one-off or SO) to your donate page explaining that using this method 100% of the amount go to you. I’d list it at the top with a link to your contact form to obtain bank details.

mutterings

With regard to the number of Wingsland readers tracked by Google Analytics:

Without cookies being set, Google Analytics cannot collect data. Any individual web user can block or delete cookies resulting in the data loss of those visits for Google Analytics users.

I block GA JavaScript and cookies. I won’t be the only one. You might well have more than 30,000 readers.

muttley79

I think the fund will increase significantly towards the end of this month when people get their monthly pay.  You have to say though that  the opening week has been a big success.  There is a strong base to build on. 

Robert Reid

I’m trying hard to donate a tenner but your paypal link doesn’t direct me to pay pal, it goes to the indiegogo site. Please advise.

Robert Reid

Sorry, I must have been doing something daft as I’ve tried again and it has worked. A tenner is on its way now!

K Mackay

Don’t eat me Hamish! I’ve paid! If you eat me now how can I vote Yes?!

Boorach

Thanks Rev. If you do that I’ll cancel my PayPal subscription after next payment and start increased S O payment for following month.

Thanks Mutterings for support and explaining what I was struggling with…. it’s always a struggle parting with money! 🙂

By the by I like the Hamish poster on the indiegogo email.

velofello

I’ll follow Boorach’s analysis and cancel my Paypal subscription and convert to a Standing Order.
Are standing orders payments accumulative – like Greenshield stamps – so I can become a £208 Hero?
Jist asking ye ken. 
No no Rev Stu, don’t get off your seat. Honestly ( Liebor speak), I’m jist asking.

Turnip_Ghost

As soon as pay day comes I’ll be donating! Come on people! Lets do this!

DanTDog

Already chipped in a tenner a couple of weeks or so ago, and will surely repeat as cashflow allows…I’m sure the total is well-achievable, but keep up the pressure in any event!! I’d LOVE to be a £208er, but sadly have too many other commitments and not enough salary to last the month! Living wage…? Aye, right…

Adam

Just put my quid in, I’m assuming this makes me lion-proof now.

muttley79

@Rev Stu

Has my cheque arrived yet?

muttley79

What the total now Rev Stu?  It must be well over £12,000.

Jeannie

Yay!  Nearly half-way there!

muttley79

Looking good! 

Stats: 6,663 Posts, 1,200,812 Comments

• Dan on That worth remembering: “Extract from. http://robinmcalpine.org/thoughts-on-the-decade-to-come/ “At the moment the smart money would bet on next to no progress on Scotland’s constitutional future…Nov 2, 19:01
    • diabloandco on The Skeleton Dance: “There’s a nice book given a promo today in the Guardian – everything one might want to know about a…Nov 2, 18:57
    • The Flying Iron of Doom on The Skeleton Dance: “Well, I’m going to guess that the creature in the dungarees is a direct reference to one Cameron Downing. You…Nov 2, 18:31
    • Geri on That worth remembering: “Spot on. The UK is anti family & anti young ppl. The nasty party created the whole toxic attitude not…Nov 2, 17:55
    • wullie on The Skeleton Dance: “SNP. HAMMER OF THE SCOTSNov 2, 16:45
    • Young Lochinvar on The Skeleton Dance: “A bit like Boris Johnson; apparently he hasn’t seen his namesake without the assistance of a mirror for over 4…Nov 2, 16:33
    • Aidan on That worth remembering: “Is this another one of “the law is what I say it is, not what the judges think” statements?Nov 2, 16:27
    • twathater on The Skeleton Dance: “Chris another cracker BUT that can’t be Swinney he’s NEVER broken sweat in his life , are those two breaking…Nov 2, 15:50
    • twathater on That worth remembering: “The flaw in your argument is that it is YOUR unionist parties who encouraged the rise in immigration because they…Nov 2, 15:44
    • Anton Decadent on The Skeleton Dance: “1974, fifty years ago, David Bowie released the album Diamond Dogs with the song Chant Of The Ever Circling Skeletal…Nov 2, 15:20
    • SteepBrae on The Skeleton Dance: “Wi’ the mou o’ a magpie.Nov 2, 15:03
    • Geri on That worth remembering: “Don’t be stupid. Those issues would be decided by an Independent country & not before it. Political parties would put…Nov 2, 14:59
    • TURABDIN on The Skeleton Dance: “Should you need an example of how marginal Scotland, Wales and N Ireland are to the British state scan this,…Nov 2, 14:59
    • Geri on The Skeleton Dance: “LOL!Nov 2, 14:35
    • Geri on The Skeleton Dance: “I’m going to guess Is it Fiona? She/her she who menstruates, chest feeder /non conforming wackadoo? My next guess would…Nov 2, 14:33
    • Ali on The Skeleton Dance: “Arf!Nov 2, 13:44
    • Confused by all this on The Skeleton Dance: “It’s not Liz Lloyd , as she’s both dressed and vertical. Can anyone confirm which one of the 24 genders…Nov 2, 13:25
    • Gordon Hastie on Let Justice Be Done: “And now Alex has gone, without seeing justice done and the criminals punished.Nov 2, 12:49
    • Graf Midgehunter on The Skeleton Dance: “Those are just the bare bones of what is happening resp. hidden from sight. The noose is getting tighter by…Nov 2, 12:36
    • Republicofscotland on The Skeleton Dance: “Hopefully the Chief (Alex Salmond) can bring them all down – from beyond the grave.Nov 2, 12:08
    • sarah on The Skeleton Dance: “I think she represents the dim loyalists who don’t realise even yet that there is a great deal rotten in…Nov 2, 12:03
    • Karen on The Skeleton Dance: “Another belter Chris! As Shauny Boy would say, “They’re not zombies, they’re just necrotically challenged!”.Nov 2, 12:01
    • Tinto Chiel on The Skeleton Dance: “LGBT+#€$ Daphne Broon?Nov 2, 11:47
    • Dan on The Skeleton Dance: “I recall Craig Murray stating that there might be other factors interacting with Operation Branchform. Not sure if it relates…Nov 2, 11:36
    • Young Lochinvar on The Skeleton Dance: “LOL Anyway, who’s the woman?Nov 2, 11:29
    • Dan on That worth remembering: “You didn’t answer my simple question.Nov 2, 11:25
    • Liz on The Skeleton Dance: “Can’t come quick enough I can smell the stench from hereNov 2, 11:24
    • Hatey McHateface on The Skeleton Dance: “Technically, only the skeletons can have their sex conclusively verified by visual inspection, due to the differences between the male…Nov 2, 11:23
    • Frank Gillougley on The Skeleton Dance: “Danse macabre. If only it was in double time though.Nov 2, 11:22
    • Oneliner on The Skeleton Dance: “Don’t you mean ‘Who’s the gender non-specific operative?Nov 2, 11:12

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()