The Groomers’ Friends

Posted on November 27, 2025 by

We’re just putting this here for the record, really.

It’s a “debate” from the Scottish Parliament last night, on a motion from Patrick Harvie complaining that vulnerable children aren’t being pushed into a programme of lifelong medicalisation, sterilisation and mutilation quickly enough.

The motion completely ignored both the findings of the Cass Review and the Supreme Court judgment in For Women Scotland, but not a single MSP spoke in opposition to it. (Jenni Minto, the Minister For Public Health And Women’s Health, actually broke down in tears at the end because she wasn’t managing to get children’s futures permanently destroyed with sufficient urgency, mainly because the UK Parliament took legislation out of Holyrood’s hands to protect them.)

The list of those who spoke in favour of child harm was:

Patrick Harvie (Scottish Greens)
Paul McLennan (SNP)
Mercedes Villalba (Labour)
Maggie Chapman (Scottish Greens)
Elena Whitham (SNP)
Monica Lennon (Lab)
Rona Mackay (SNP)
Jenni Minto (SNP)

We hope one day they’re held publicly accountable for their actions.

0 to “The Groomers’ Friends”

1. Milady says:

I’m hoping we punish them all in May next year. Minto’s ‘performance’, for that is clearly what it was, is woeful and pathetic.

2. Morgatron says:

Ballot box to remove them all and obviously mung bean eating parents are playing no small part.

3. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

A video presentation from 2018 providing a medical history of transgenderism, including surgery:

DR VAN METER: THE TERRIBLE FRAUD OF TRANSGENDER MEDICINE (15 Nov 2018)

« Dr Quentin Van Meter, Pediatric Endocrinologist talks about the rise of and fraudulent nature of “Transgender” medicine.».

• Frank Gillougley says:

Thank you for that link, Fearghas. I listened to every damning word of it. It is always useful to have sheer clarity on this issue and also to see beneath the surface, the normal dirty tricks employed in the gain of power by those whom society would trust. That this phenomena has reached such a scale is truly horrific. Now that the legality of these institutionalised practices are beginning to be challenged in court, i would dearly love to see in time the prosecution of the actual practicioners and cheerleaders of this cult.

• Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

PUBERTY BLOCKERS – My Job As A Physician Is To Protect You From Harm | QUENTIN VAN METER (2024)

Half hour interview with Dr Van Meter. Good material.

4. Lollysmum says:

Those parties stand no chance of getting a single vote from me. Distinctly lacking in morality as far as I’m concerned.

5. Campbell Clansman says:

It’s all very good to say “remove them from office,” but judging by the video, the MSPs don’t show up in the office anyway.

6. sarah says:

This is another tragic, and wicked, occasion in Holyrood. On top of the Assisted Murder Bill, and Gender Self-ID.

How can we rid ourselves quickly enough of this glued-in bunch of homicidal legislators?

It will take a determined and broad-based effort to get the message out to the voters before May 2026 just why they must not vote for the current MSPs or their even-less capable substitutes [in the SNP’s case].

The umbrella group Liberate Scotland can’t do it on their own. It’s going to take a Wee Blue Book/Indyposterboy/grassroots-like-2014 effort. Alba needs to come on board with Liberate.

Will this combined effort happen?

• James says:

Unfortunately the SNP are going to get back in again and they will partner with the greens once more. Holyrood has fallen!

• sarah says:

Come on, James. We mustn’t be defeatist. Surely there’s enough of us who know how useless, and worse, the Greens and SNP now are, to make a difference? We just need to combine our votes behind the good guys, and inform others of what to do.

• Iain Hamilton says:

Glued-in? Harvie is surely glued-up. Horrible wee nyaff.

• Campbell Clansman says:

Combine Alba’s 1% support plus Liberate Scotland’s 1% support, and they still couldn’t fill a camper van. Let alone win an election.

• twathater says:

@ Sarah, and all these people that comment on here regularly to denigrate and demean ANY move by others in SALVO , Liberation.Scot or Liberate Scotland to arrest this situation and FIGHT against this despicable perversion and lunacy are GUILTY of assisting in the continuation of this deviance and harm of Scottish children

How many times has the owner of this supposed Scottish independence website been asked to support these genuine fighters of the independence movement and has turned a deaf ear to any suggestion, YET he regales and informs us repeatedly with the ongoing corruption and VILE actions of a political party and its minions who are wantonly engaged in the long term destruction of Scotland and Scots
      Surely anyone who believes in independence would research and investigate ANY avenue that would lead to a chance for independence and support and publicise that avenue , it is one thing to constantly expose and ridicule the fake despicable actions of the Scum Nonce Party and its repulsive cabal of deviants but to NOT support or ignore genuine fighters for independence is showing apathy and disrespect

7. James says:

According to Harvie in his opening remarks he pretty much refers to anyone who disagrees with gender ideology as a far right homophobe!

8. Sven says:

Just when you imagine the nadir of evil (yes, I do mean evil) is reached, lo and behold, yet another circle of damnation is achieved.

• Peter McAvoy says:

As a result of the transgender debate some things have been forgotten,presumed consent for organ donation,and cameras in school toilets and the child sex survey in schools.

So when assisted dying comes into being it will be a cull of those not economically active and coerce them into taking that decision.

Will the people deciding this and their relatives be exempt from this policy which Josef Mengele would approve of.

9. Nae Bother says:

Crying to try to get what you want. How very female. Actually, let me adjust that – how very four-year-old female. Disgusting and pathetic and hilarious.

Anybody without kids should not be allowed to vote on the future of children, especially hacking them up. They have no stake in the future of this country, or the children in question, and they’re seemingly Mengele-worshipping narcissist psychopaths.

10. Keith says:

So if some African carries out female circumcision on a child it’s mutilation and a violation of their human rights. But if kids get their genitals chopped off here, it’s progressive and an affirmation of their human rights – make it make sense – because it’s almost as if those supporting this practice are a bunch of psycho-sexual perverts.

• Hatey McHateface says:

You’ve put the cart before the horse, Keith.

A tiny bit of internet research will discover credible sites enumerating the incidence of FGM in the UK, both total and ongoing cases per year.

This is culturally and religiously ordained among populations that utterly dwarf that of the UK’s. It’s not going to stop because some progressive whiteys are bumping their gums.

The people utterly determined to see it accepted in the UK as mainstream are playing the long game. Persuading our own people it’s acceptable under the guise of “trans” is just one of their more clever moves.

It’s working. Never underestimate the utility of the “useful idiots” in all spheres of human endeavour.

11. willie says:

Harvie is one twisted perverted individual. Posing as a Green his desires are quite different from Green policies as his recent parliamentary oration shows.

But aside of his twisted perverted nature who does he, and indeed the others act for. Most certainly not for the ordinary families and their children. For him parents have no rights his wacko way is what he seeks to promote, pursue and enforce.

As a single man with a reported reputation he has no family unit of a mother, a father and children. And this he wants to destroy. The state, his version of the state, is where parenting and the inculcation of beliefs resides. And his, and others woke policies show that.

But what of the bigger picture. The all enveloping control of a super state where freedom and choice is but a historical concept to be written out of the history anals in our brave new Orwellian world of which Harvie is just one warped bit player supporting the bigger agenda.

Consider therefore the video piece below.

link to x.com

Its an interesting presentation and frightening when you see the extent of the all pervasive surveillance and control that is well underway, right here an now.

And free speech, will Harvie or any of us have any of that in the future as the State, whoever will be in control of that, profiles and controls every aspect and facet of our lives – health, wealth, what we spend our time and or money doing, what our sentiments are, what our politics might be were we allowed to express them.

But Harvie, in relation to what he thinks should be the life and times for our children is part of that.

But let me digress a tad and move on to the honesty of government. On looking at yesterdays debate I see that concern was expressed about the multi billion pound so called Scottish salmon fish farming industry now swamping our lochs and shore in huge industrial measure.

There are huge concerns about the disease and environmental toxicity of salmon farms where up to 75% of salmon can dies of disease, where fish can be horribly disfigured, where environmentally toxic chemicals do huge damage to the sea bed environment, and where anyone raising concerns can be interdicted through a big business corporate strategy called a SLAPP – Strategic Litigation Against Public Participation. A brutal strategy to close down all comment this has already been done in Scotland by multi billion corporate Mowi against a sole individual.

Its the new world and the reality of the new Scotland where the multi billion industry has the Scottish Government in its pocket.

But to make the point just read the transcript of the wholesome praise made this week by the Scottish Government in response to concerns raised by Edward Mountain.

And in whose interest, and in whose pocket do you think our two bit fill your boots Scottish Government are in. And then think of Harvie and how he wants the state to run every aspect of you children’s lives.

Or am I missing something in our fabulous democracy.

• Dan says:

It’s not just salmon farming that has negative environmental impacts. Day in day out, Scottish Water continue to pump untreated sewage into our rivers, and SEPA turn a blind eye…
      My wee village pumps a minimum of 2500 gallons of untreated effluent a day into Scotland’s and the UK’s biggest river. That’s everything chemical that folk produce and use in their homes, shit n piss, and all the detergent chemicals in bleaches, oven cleaners, soaps and shampoos.
      But no doubt the big bonuses for some bosses, and spaffing cash away on inappropriate “planet saving” leccy fleet vehicles uses up reams of taxpayer’s cash that could instead have gone to actually upgrading our archaic sewerage systems.

No sign either of our virtue-signalling MSPs or MPs looking to restrict sales of environmentally damaging products. Aye, yer car tax will increase due to its emissions, but there’s no incentive to stop using and flushing an endless amount of nasty stuff into the river.

It’s all quite surreal, really. This site rages on and on about genderwoowoo lunacy, but would appear to have little interest or put fuck all effort into promoting or support the idea of electing folk that have the common sense and unity of purpose to actually begin to end so much of the utter nonsense subject matter that folk have grifted on for years.

• Captain Caveman says:

Nothing you’ve posted there would I disagree with. Yet, how are we supposed to attract expert engineers into governance (or even people who have a clue), as opposed to the useless – and in some cases downright weird – political class that we do have, not one of them hardly ever having had a “real job” of ANY description, let alone the required expertise?

We read earlier about the attempts of the Left to smear Farage about stuff he was supposed to have said when he was THIRTEEN YEARS OLD. Now, I don’t believe them for a minute, but let’s assume it is even true – in effect, your entire life is beholden to some shite you said when you were a kid in 2nd year at school?! For having the “wrong” opinion and the “wrong” politics, as according to the Guardianista. How many careers have literally been finished for good over some unguarded remark on Twitter 8 years prior.

• Hatey McHateface says:

We can’t elect people of common sense and unity of purpose if no such people are prepared to stand for election.

It would take less than one hundred such people to tear the Scottish political status quo to shreds.

Yet no such tiny cadre can be found, in a country of near 6 million.

Go figure.

Once you’ve figured, tell me if you agree with my conclusion. A nation of 6 million people who can’t find 100 to represent WHAT THEY REALLY WANT doesn’t REALLY WANT anything much.

That’s why our next democratic opportunity to blow the doors off and bring down the entire house of cards, May 2026, is shaping up to be a non-event which will do no such thing.

• Captain Caveman says:

‘… Once you’ve figured, tell me if you agree with my conclusion. A nation of 6 million people who can’t find 100 to represent WHAT THEY REALLY WANT doesn’t REALLY WANT anything much.’

I suspect that’s only partly true. Yes, the Scottish Indy movement has it’s (very vocal) “interesting” elements and supporters, and it doesn’t take too much to imagine people being put off by that, and not wanting to be associated etc.

However, the dearth of political talent, as drawn from “real world” educated people with discernible, useful training and talents (Engineers, Architects, SME proprietors et al) appears to be a worldwide phenomenon, rather than “homegrown”. (It does seem to be particularly bad in Scotland, though, and they’ll be reasons for that, probably along the lines I describe).

It seems fairly obvious to me that the main (global) reason is along the lines of the Farage “story” as trumpeted here only a couple of days back, from the Guardian (quelle surprise eh), alleged comments made when 13 years old, really? Who needs that kind of thing in their lives, that level of imbecilic scrutiny – whether real or fabricated? Either way, it’s completely disproportionate, and more than enough to put off everyone except talent-free gobs-on-sticks with one-dimensional political agendas and no other comparable life choices. And here we are.

12. Graf Midgehunter says:

They all live in a wee strange little world where real constituents are mythical beings who can’t intrude the bubble.

The synchrone fartings of Harvie, Chapman and the weepy woman et al are gender clap-trap on Webberly’s insane level.

13. 100%Yes says:

Holyrood and the people we sends their aren’t working for us, its time to CLOSE this SHIT WHOLE DOWN and down for good.

I voted for Holyrood, Yes as a stepping stone towards Independence and a better Scotland this clearly isn’t working is it.

Its time for us to be offered a referendum on wither or not we actually want Holyrood anymore, I know I don’t the SNP and the greens have abused it.

14. GM says:

What were they trying to achieve with this debate/vote?

• GM says:

I didn’t see it. I was hoping we had heard the last of this twisted nonsense. Is there something that these politicians think can come from it?

• Nae Need! says:

“Is there something that these politicians think can come from it?”. ‘Think’ is maybe a wildly optimistic adjective.

This piece, by Jennifer Bilek: Emerging From The Ooze Sex Identities’, discusses the driving force, the foundational ideology behind Queer Theory and the ‘Trans’ phenomenon, and I feel she has a robust ethical ‘take’ on things.

link to jbilek.substack.com

• Sven says:

GM @ 15.27.

I believe that they are so intrinsically bent and twisted that they seek to continually keep this perverted philosophy alive, debated and in the public arena.
      They “virtue signal” to each other, self applauding for their “advanced”, “open minded” and “liberal” attitudes even as they seek to encourage the irreversible medical deformation of our children.
      And this is the disgrace which, in the form of our devolved administration, rules over Scotland in 2025.

• Alf Baird says:

Sven, Postcolonial theory confirms what happens with a colonial administration (Fanon etc):

the dominant national party elite is ‘co-opted by colonialism’;

the party elite ‘take the people up a blind alley’;

lacking ‘courage at the decisive moment’ they suffer from ‘petrifaction’ and then act only ‘to delay independence’;

their inaction and deceit serves to ‘rupture the movement’;

in order to make themselves ‘look busy’ they pass dubious laws ‘that mystify’ the people and further divide the movement.

In other words this is all carefully managed by oor colonial maisters, an its aw been done afore in mony ither colonies.

link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com

• GM says:

CHEERS SVEN

15. Anthem says:

What an absolute disgrace. They should all hang their heads in shame!
    How can this be called a debate when only one side of the argument is discussed?
    They are supposed to represent the public voice and they must know that the majority of Scots do not support this. The lies and contortions are inexcusable.
    Can’t this be seen as incitement for grooming and sexual deviance towards children and vulnerable young adults? Can that not be seen as criminal?
    The other question is who is bankrolling all this? These people don’t stick their neck out like this for nothing. This is corruption at the highest level considering the years this nonsense as dragged on for.

16. Mark Beggan says:

“People are crazy and times are strange.
    I’m locked inside, and out of range.
    I used to care, but times have changed.”

17. McDuff says:

These people are sick and you rightly state rev that they should be held accountable. You seriously have to question what goes on in their head.

• Nae Need! says:

Nothing.
      Nothing goes on in their heads apart from how to remain in (or gain) power.
      They are the most brain dead demographic.
      Zombies.
      The Walking Dead.

18. Andrew scott says:

Why is this even being discussed
    Shut down Follyrood

19. Confused says:

Nigel Farage is a gay n1gger and worse than a jew, since he is an anglo, a little englander

– I said that 49 minutes ago, in my youth and I wouldn’t want anyone to take me out of context.

Are the reform pushers still pushing farage, after “the revelations”?

– I reckon he put the story out himself, as it means more votes for him. No one who reads the guardian is going to vote for him anyway; he’s like a bacon salesman in a mosque (synagogue, rather)

Farage said “gas the jews” to his tribal classmates – how many times?

6 MILLION TIMES

– the answer is always 6 million.

He also told the guy to grab his biro and fuckoff up the attic

When Farage was around they called Dulwich College “thatchers rape farm” and lights out meant more action than a weimar sex club. The empire was built on sodomy, remember, teaches you discipline, master and servant and who is boss; the making of every prominent englishman since edward 2 (- the guy who got the red hot poker up … )

• Hatey McHateface says:

No risk of being taken out of context, Confused.

We’ve all read far too many of your unhealthily obsessed posts. We read you loud and clear.

20. Confused says:

Reform UK is like Monty Python without the jokes

link to archive.ph

– we see what a govt would be like by examining somewhere they are in power.

“It’s just a cult,” Bill Barrett, one of the expelled Reform councillors, tells me. “They all talk about Farage like he’s the messiah.”

He’s not the messiah – HE’S A VERY NAUGHTY BOY

• Mark Beggan says:

That’s right confuses. You just keep supporting the garden gnome and the Puberty Blockers. Your just pissed coz you can’t hang around the ladies toilets.

21. TURABDIN says:

I LEARNED EARLY in my life that adults could be dangerous, carrying guns, dropping bombs, wearing suicide vests etc.
    This is little different in its life destructive effect.
    Leave kids alone!

22. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

Book suggestion for any parents new to all this…

‘IRREVERSIBLE DAMAGE: Teenage Girls and the Transgender Craze’

by ABIGAIL SHRIER

(Paperback and Kindle, 2021, 4.8 out of 5 stars)

“NAMED A BOOK OF THE YEAR BY THE ECONOMIST AND ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF 2021 BY THE TIMES

“’Abigail Shrier does something simple yet devastating: she rigorously lays out the facts’ The Times

« Until just a few years ago, gender dysphoria – severe discomfort in one’s biological sex – was vanishingly rare. It was typically found in less than .01 percent of the population, emerged in early childhood, and afflicted males almost exclusively.

« But today whole groups of female friends in colleges and schools across the world are coming out as ‘transgender’. These are girls who had never experienced any discomfort in their biological sex until they heard a coming-out story from a speaker at a school assembly or discovered the internet community of trans ‘influencers’. ‘Gender-affirming’ therapists now recommend medical interventions for them.

« Unsuspecting parents now find their daughters in thrall to YouTube stars and ‘gender-affirming’ educators and therapists, who push life-changing interventions on young girls – including medically unnecessary double mastectomies, and hormone treatments that can cause permanent infertility.

« Abigail Shrier, a writer for the Wall Street Journal, investigates this phenomenon. Shrier has talked to the girls, their agonised parents, and the therapists and doctors who enable gender transitions, as well as to ‘detransitioners’ – young women who bitterly regret what they have done to themselves. 

« Coming out as transgender immediately boosts these girls’ social status, Shrier finds, but once they take the first steps of transition, it is not easy to walk back. Shrier concludes that far too much of the discourse around being female is negative, and offers a series of steps parents can take to enhance their daughters’ well-being. »

« ‘Every parent needs to read this’ (Helen Joyce) »

• Mark Beggan says:

For me it’s the age of Aquarius and the rise of feminine power. I think we are going to see a lot more attacks on women coming from different male bastions and in many forms. Transgender being the most obvious revelation of decreasing male dominance. Another being Islam.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Seriously gonna disagree with you on this one, Mark.

It’s Islam all the way. Aided and abetted by their useful idiots in the trans community, our own home-grown medieval misogynists, and our snivelling, weeping “just be kind” virtue signallers.

But none of the latter three would have gained any traction in recent years without the aggressive, violent, colonising bulldozer that regards our women and girls as fourth class people, their own women and girls as second class. And all women and girls as chattels to be controlled and coerced by any means up to and including death.

As I frequently point out, in the realm of government, the colonising tail increasingly wags the weakening dog. That applies across all policy areas, not just the economic.

23. Iain says:

Surprised to see Monica Lennon on that list.

24. agentx says:

“SNP ministers have been ordered to release secret evidence given to the James Hamilton investigation into Nicola Sturgeon following a long running freedom of information battle.

The Scottish Information Commissioner David Hamilton, who is not related to James Hamilton, issued his decision last night which requires the Scottish Government to disclose some of the written evidence supplied to Mr Hamilton as part of his investigation into whether the former First Minister breached the Ministerial Code.”
    ——————————-
    Good.

• The Flying Iron of Doom says:

Aye, but it’ll probably be redacted so heavily as to be useless. After all, that’s the SNP way 😐

25. Mark Beggan says:

The next time I speak to Nigel or Duce as we like to call him. I’m going to propose the deportation of the Greens to Mexico City.

• Hatey McHateface says:

You colonising cant.

Leave the Mex’s alone.

And it’s Il Duce to you.

• Captain Caveman says:

“Il Duce” still in his shorts 😀 😀 😀

• Mark Beggan says:

“It’s better to live like a lion for a day than to live as a Yes voters for ten years”

• Hatey McHateface says:

Sure Mark, but shouldn’t Sovereign Scots be living as Scotland’s national animal, the unicorn?

Come to think on’t, it’s obvious plenty of Sovereign Scots already are!

26. 100%Yes says:

It would appear the SNP loyalist are a bit upset with Reeves god knows why. It didn’t take a genius to realize that the UK PM was never ever going to give a referendum and that we been saying this for the last ten years and for anyone on here who has been making this point well done to you, we all knew it.

Finally the SNP loyalist have woken up to the fact that the UK will never grant a section 30 order but that isn’t the problem we need them to waken up to the SNP and the leadership because this is where Scotland is dead in the water on the constitutional question.

There is a million things the SNP can but won’t and one of them is they’ll never delivery Scottish Independence, I have more faith in Your Party than the SNP on delivery that.

scotgoespop.blogspot.com/2025/11/its-official-rachel-reeves-confirms.html

thenational.scot/news/25654038.rachel-reeves-rejects-referendum-snp-win-holyrood-majority/

27. Andy Wiltshire says:

There are plenty of highly capable individuals in Scotland who are in favour of independence, but they won’t stand for office. There are very many voters who would vote for such candidates, but they aren’t there to vote for. What’s the way forward?

• Aidan says:

Exactly Andy! They won’t put themselves forward because they don’t want to be associated with the “R” apologists and the drunken old men who’ve infested the movement.

• Dan says:

Think you’ll need to provide some evidence of that to prove you aren’t just spouting shite.
        Or maybe you are channelling your inner Ellis and already know what folk you’ve never met are thinking…

One ponders how those that consistently bring up and talk about shit Stu doesn’t want talked about on here continue to get away with subverting the trigger word moderation rules and not get themselves put on moderation, when others long term pro-indy stalwart commenters did.

• Hatey McHateface says:

@Dan

No regular reader needs evidence for Aidan’s claims. The usual suspects have been shilling for R every week for near 4 years now, for the whole world to see.

They shill for every shitty regime in every shithole in the world. R, Ir@n, NK, the Covid Spreaders, you name it. It beggars belief you’ve never noticed how the self-identifying champions of Scottish freedom, nation, culture, language, tradition, etc. are so hell-bent on the violent extermination of these things elsewhere.

• Dan says:

Oh aye. The near ever-present bot like arsehole rocks up yet again with some diversionary pish to defend Aidan. And in doing so yet again deliberately subverts the site’s trigger word moderation. And that from a serial offender who for years has been bringing up foreign matters that Stu has specifically stated he doesn’t want discussed on here.

• Hatey McHateface says:

OFFS Dan.

You can consistently take issue with every offender.

You can consistently ignore them all.

You can, of course, selectively challenge posters who generally don’t share your POV. But by doing so, you expose to the entire world your pathetic efforts to shut down those awkward posts that floodlight the threadbare condition of your arguments.

Never mind. Post some potty-mouthed insults and you’ll feel better.

• Dan says:

Dear John, you are the one that attempts to make so much of other “usual suspects” “infesting” this site “fluffing” for whatever foreign cause you do not support or agree with. (Fucksake, can nobody come up with some exciting new terminology, as the arse has been well and truly torn out of those old tropes).
        Yet, there’s pretty much not a day goes by when you don’t try to bring up some foreign cause by subverting the word moderation filter implemented by Stu, because, for good or bad, he has asked that folk don’t err into those areas of discussion.

I’m merely pointing out your utter hypocrisy and obvious Darvo modus, and question why you somehow get a pass for clear repeat offending when others have been put on moderation for far fewer infringements than yourself. But if it stops you greeting, then I’ll ask if other folk can also have some respect for what the site’s owner has asked, and keep discussion more relevant to Scottish politics.

Anyway, between Aidan, yourself, and I’ll now include myself through interacting with you, there’s been zero useful discussion in response to Andy Wiltshire’s post subject asking why more sensible folk don’t put themselves forward to represent their constituents.

So to get it back on track, Andy W, there are folk in Scotland that are putting themselves forward, but they just aren’t getting the required exposure to promote and develop the concept. That’s a shame because if they did, it could then lead to support from the wider electorate once they consider that in terms of political representation, things could be significantly improved upon when compared to the current political party shit show which is implementing all manner of policy and laws we do not agree with.

But what of England, is it not effectively suffering a similar contagion of not enough “real” people from across the spectrum of society entering politics? Existing political careerists playing musical chairs by jumping to new parties every other year doesn’t seem to be cutting it down south either.

• Aidan says:

@Dan exhibit A, this site. I bet I am the only commenter under 35. In fact I bet I’m one of very few commenters under 60. Why do you think that is? Because ambitious talented people of working age aren’t going to waste their time engaging with the repetitive appalling drivel that gets spewed out continuously by a small number of deranged nutters.

Aside from the occupants of the state hospital, there are very small number of individuals who I might describe as exhibiting a semblance of normality and actually do something which could loosely be described as campaigning. However, all they do is invent endless cunning plans and then howl with rage and abuse when the glaring and obvious flaws are pointed out to them.

Now of course that’s just this site, but I’m afraid it’s an indicator of the Indy movement at large.

You complain below about the apparent “good people” not getting the “required exposure”. I assume that is in part a dig at Stu for not turning his site into a campaign webpage for whatever name the ragtag ISI I4I etc. bunch are calling themselves this week. But why is it everyone else’s job to do what these “good people” are either too incompetent or lazy to do for themselves? When is the last time any of these “good people” got themselves into any form of media that the general public watches or reads. It doesn’t even have to be TV (although it obviously should include TV). There are plenty of podcasts, blogs etc. that would be a good start.

• sarah says:

@ Andy Wiltshire: the capable people standing for office in 2026 are those standing under the Liberate Scotland umbrella. There’s 23 candidates already.

People like Eva Comrie, a solicitor, who is from a low-income background herself plus has personal experience of disability. Eva stands as an Independent For Independence.

Also under the umbrella is the Independence for Scotland Party’s Colette Walker.

28. Lorna Campbell says:

They don’t ‘need’ the health care, they want it, which is a different thing altogether. If you have cancer or a heart attack or some other life-threatening condition, you definitely need health care. If you have a mental ill- health, yes you need healthcare, but not surgery or hormones.

All these homosexual and lesbian people who do not have children are doing children no favours either because they confuse homosexuality, an orientation, with a delusion not grounded in reality. They keep on saying ‘trans’ people. What is ‘trans’? No one ever explains what this is, yet expect the NHS to jump when they squeal. Answer what ‘trans’ is in terms that everyone can understand and that is not rooted in the brain – which would make it a mental illness. If it is not a mental illness, what is it? Come on, MSP, tell us what it is. So sick of children being called ‘trans’, so sick of men and women being called ‘trans’ as if it is a proved condition. It is no such thing. All this s**t about suicide is just that. Adults are supposed to look after and support children and young people, not to serve a life-long service of medical care on them.

We need to demand some forms of evidence – not so-called ‘lived experience’ but based in reality: brain scans that show changes in the brain that could be a ‘transformation’ from one sex to the other because there is no such thing as legal gender which can never be anything other than a ‘feeling’; or a change in genitals from penis to vagina and vice versa. No other medical service involves no actual evidence of an existing condition except a person’s claims.

These children have become the human shields for men and women, mainly men, who cannot face reality and call their condition what it is – a fetish/paraphilia which leads to a sexual obsession/addiction or a social contagion or a neurodivergent condition or whatever. The children can be saved with the right counselling and treatment, and these MSPs are disgusting ghouls who pretend that they are concerned. If they were really concerned, they would be advocating for better mental health services not a Mengele-style intervention. It is eugenics, you morons!

29. TURABDIN says:

THE YOUNG are leaving the sinking ship…Australia & Dubai seem popular.
    The Scots, their representatives that is, sticking it out to the likely bitter end.
    Such loyalty.
    Vivat Britannia!……or fetch the sick bag, turbulence ahead.

30. Sheepshagger says:

Looks like a Spring-chicken-hawk lek to me.
    Strutting their virtue-signalling colours.
    A man’s a man for aw that,
    therefore a boy will never be a girl.

31. Young Lochinvar says:

The headline picture suggests Beaker Queer is operating Penfold Pol Pot like Ray Allan and Lord Charles..

32. BLMac says:

You go to jail for having sex with an underage child, and rightly so. You go to jail for enabling other people to have sex with an underage child, also rightly so.
    So where are our police when people are publicly declaring their intent to chemically castrate underage children?

33. BLMac says:

You go to jail for having sex with an underage child, and rightly so.

You go to jail for enabling other people to have sex with an underage child, also rightly so.

So where are our police when people are publicly declaring their intent to chemically castrate underage children?

So where are our police when people are grooming and offering their children up to these monsters?

They’re as bad as the so called Pakistani grooming gangs.

34. Mark Beggan says:

“If you are a man, you’re a He.
    If you are a woman, you’re a She
    If you think you are anything else, you are mentally ill.”

35. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

JENNIFER BILEK | Who is Behind the TRANS AGENDA? (2023)

Jennifer Bilek is an investigative journalist, a feminist and a leading voice really looking behind the curtain at who is pushing the trans agenda.

Over a million views. You won’t regret watching this!

• Frank Gillougley says:

Again, this is 100% right (literally) on the money! Oh! If only this was mandatory viewing for all those stupid stupid professional grifting shit for brains politicians that get to dictate policy but whom no-one actually elected.

• Nae Need! says:

Ah, Fearghas, another Bilek fan 😉 . . . I have posted a link to her latest substack up-thread, but I shall re-post it here. Her thinking/investigation around this phenomenon is well worth broadcasting.

link to jbilek.substack.com

36. dandydons1903 says:

Ah the Rainbow Himmler is at it again.

37. wally jumblatt says:

If, for example a small %age of the population is trans, jolly, whatever then it is appropriate they have some representation or a kindred spirit at least in parliament.
    What rankles with me is the calibre of the others in this debate. Somebody, lots of somebodies both nominated them for election and then voted for them, or couldnt be bothered to find someone better.
    If this is what we are offering to govern us in an independent Scotland, I suggest we are a century away from being ready for it.

• sarah says:

@ wally jumblatt: “What rankles with me is the calibre…”.

You, Sir Tom Devine, me and millions of others.

The problem is our party political system. Instead have direct democracy, similar to what we had pre 1707, whereby the politicians are NOT free to pass whatever laws they like.

So if the do pass some terrible law, we can put a stop to it, AND eject those politicians.

Such a system is perfectly possible. We had it pre-1707, Switzerland has a version now. So get independence and have MSPs who want direct democracy. Currently such people are in the Liberate Scotland umbrella group – vote for them, spread the word about them, and we have a chance of improving everything.

• factchecker says:

Sarah says
        “The problem is our party political system. Instead have direct democracy, similar to what we had pre 1707, whereby the politicians are NOT free to pass whatever laws they like.

So if the do pass some terrible law, we can put a stop to it, AND eject those politicians.

Such a system is perfectly possible. We had it pre-1707,”

Could you please give me an example of pre-1707 direct democracy in action in Scotland? You have around 800 years of Scottish history to choose from.

• Alf Baird says:

“such people are in the Liberate Scotland umbrella group – vote for them, spread the word about them”

Indeed so Sarah, the Liberate Scotland unity alliance provides a positive voting option at Holyrood26 for Scots seeking independence/decolonization and liberation, as indicated below:

The Liberate Scotland Alliance

“We will use every democratic election as a plebiscite on independence, uniting pro independence candidates across Scotland under a single purpose, to end the Union and begin the rebirth of a free Scottish state”

Independence for Scotland

“ISP contest Scottish Parliament elections as plebiscites. It is the party’s stance that if a majority of seats return pro-independence MSPs, this is a binding expression of the Scottish people’s desire for independence from the United Kingdom. The Acts of Union were a bilateral treaty. In international law, such a treaty is annulled when one or both parties withdraw.”

Sovereignty Party

“At a recent Sovereignty Congress, a motion declaring the members’ support for a Unilateral Declaration of Independence (UDI) was debated and agreed by the membership. This is conditional on a majority of the Scottish electorate voting for parties that support withdrawing from the UK.”

Independents4Independence

“Our message is simple: it is time to turn the upcoming Holyrood election in May 2026 into a decisive referendum on Scotland’s independence. We call for this election to be transformed into a plebiscite—an unmistakable mandate from the Scottish people to break free from the constraints of the British Union and to chart a new course as an independent nation. Our manifesto for the 2026 Holyrood election will be a bold declaration of independence. “

The voters get the politicians they deserve.
      Maybe the problem is the poor quality of the voters…

38. Confused says:

Galloway is a unionist shill, now bleating about his treatment

– but you reap what you sow; the union you protect now calls you terrorist, delicious

– it’s my opinion he has been a disinfo agent since forever; he is a pied piper and he diverts people – but he is finding out the hard way; maybe he is no longer of any worth to his masters, now they let the dogs on him

– the determination for a “homeland for the pals” (really too wee, too poor, and too likely to be fucking bombed every 5 minutes by their neighbour from hell) but not one for his countrymen (an already functioning country, with everything in place), has always made me sick; that he is proud of his actions and thinks he is owed something on that basis tells you where he is. There are tells I use to identify the real nasty cunts – the word “secession” is one; in no sense, would indy be secession. Nor would leaving the union be “UDI”. People who use these terms are guilty of more than “bad optics” – it indicates mindset.

I hope his beloved BRITAIN throws him in Belmarsh with all the jihadists, lovely

It’s something you have to watch out for : the real good guys are pilloried, hunted, and always lacking money (the sensible ones stay anonymous), then you get these guys being very high profile “fighting the man” – but they make very good money out of it, they get book deals, no one sues them, no one demonetises them.

Give an example, there was this outfit in my student days the “revolutionary communist party” and they were a tiny cult on the campus, weirdoes – even the socialist workers thought they were dodgy; at the time the SWP had a paper, 4 pages of it, sold by volunteers, the ink mostly ended on your fingers – the RCP had a glossy magazine called “living marxism” which was sold in the high street newsagents. The cult leader was a guy called Furedi, and all the people had nice jobs in the media/academia. The magazine peddled a bizarre mishmash of shite, like – “we should support the IRA” and also thatcherism – that was when it was being clear, though it was mostly filled with word salad postmodernist “theoretical”-shite; I don’t remember them suggesting we all cut our dicks off to achieve a workers paradise, but I wouldn’t rule it out.

“give the left a bad name !” – maybe that was the idea, and who would want to do that?

Galloway is a carny act – or like a “band you urnae into” that occasionally comes out with a half decent song.

39. TURABDIN says:

THE FUTURE OF BRITISH POLITICS…..Faragism, Zack’s wokish mates, Your (squabbling) Party….gawd!
    Mr Swinney, even you must see the words on the wall…
    UK’S END IS NIGH!
    Go on, be a devil, bring the nigh a lot nearer.

40. Dan says:

A year or so ago, I had to start #OatClub because the politicians thought oats were bad for you. Feck ’em. Flapjacks FTW ya bass!
    But now we’re going to have to sneak about avoiding #TheFishSupperPolis

link to isp.scot

• twathater says:

Thanks for the link to ISP Dan

WOW the progressive green politicos are fair utilising their green credentials by Arianne Burgess green MSP insisting that highland Scotland needs AT LEAST 1 million MORE immigrants to work the land and tackle climate change , She doubled down by saying migrants may be ‘better suited to farming’ than ‘indigenous’ Scots ,but finally admitted her plan would create something of a challenge for the Highlands, particularly the cultural impact of a mass influx of migrants from countries which are culturally much different from western democracies.
      Burgess claimed that many of ‘those people’ ‘possibly have more of the earth and the skills in their bodies and their bones’ and may be able to work the land better than we do
      Her colleague and Green councillor Chris Balance, representative of Aird and Loch Ness, not only approves of the takeover of Cameron Barracks by 300 migrants, he also wants the Inverness Common Good Fund to finance a civic buffet for the arrivals.

I wonder if the good people of the highlands who voted for these progressive politicos are happy at their proposals to facilitate and encourage this massive upsurge of immigrants into areas where there is already extreme difficulty to access affordable and easily accessible housing and employment when their children are having to leave the area because of unemployment and exorbitant housing costs

• Dan says:

Aye, twathater, that was a cracker from AB. Multiculturalism and immigration are problematic when trying to meld in with the indigenous folk and traditions and rules of a land.
        A fine recent example being a neighbour getting shafted by some English twat masquerading as a builder / roofer.
        Took 4 grand up front after rushing the elderly women to accept a 10 grand quote to redo 1/2 her slate roof.
        A couple of English stripped off the old slate and quickly laid membrane over the old tired sarking boards. A couple of days later the gaffer rocked up with half a dozen asylum seekers to get them to do the work laying new slates, then he left.
        I was working away from the village that day but returned to see a stand off between the gaffer and crew. I took one look at the work they had started to do to the roof and wow, I didn’t think it would be possible to fuck up laying slates more than they had managed.
        That roofing crew may have been great at thatching roofs on some African hut, but they had zero clue about Scottish slating and should never have been allowed near that roof.
        Everyone left, then I went to have a word with the neighbour who was clearly stressed.
        I quickly called a couple of builder acquaintances and one popped over straight away so we could witness and survey the roof and work. On closer inspection, it was even worse. Areas of the original sarking boards were rotten, the replacement slates were installed completely wrong as the vernacular Scottish roof in this area should start with larger slates at the bottom courses then taper to smaller further up the roof, but these muppets had 10 inch long slates at the bottom and 16 inch halfway up the roof! Totally wrong overlap coverage so would leak like a sieve. You could even see nails (and bizarrely screws which would rust out in a short time) holding the slates on and these should be hidden by the two courses above.
        We were shown the quote, and it stated replacing the battens which is an English way of roofing, we use sarking boards here. But they hadn’t been replaced and definitely need to be due to their condition.
        A lot of grief followed as the roof now needed to be completely stripped and the work done properly. The neighbour had to get the contractor off the job, as he clearly wasn’t able to do the work to a decent standard, and he wasn’t for paying back any money.
        Fortunately because the initial money deposit had been by bank transfer by an elderly person, the bank should have done more due diligence to ensure all was well. But I understand she has now got all her money refunded as the bank took back the 4 grand transferred. So that’s great that there are some kind of processes to protect folk from being exploited by cowboys.

The roof work has now been completed properly by a cracking young local Scottish lad and his mate for way less than the original 10 grand quote.

• Nae Need! says:

TH, it’s disgusting, overt plantation.

Well done, Dan.

• Hatey McHateface says:

How many years have the Highlanders been bleating about the sheep?

These new sub-Saharan Scots will finally sort out the sheep; they’ll replace them with goats.

And another plus. Few to none of the White Sizzlers will want to stick around once their portion of the Highlands has adopted Sharia. The new sub-Saharan Scots will sort out the beavers too – they’ll eat the feckers.

“‘possibly have more of the earth and the skills in their bodies and their bones’ and may be able to work the land better than we do”

Ah well. Nobody should be able to claim the Great Replacement is a theory when its proponents are as explicit as this.

It is wryly amusing to see that old Soviet-era joke coming true in Scotland. The unbridgeable gulf between the representatives and the represented has finally driven the representatives to consider the nuclear option.

They must dissolve the governed and find a new people more aligned with the values of the government.

41. David says:

When the world makes us want to turn to hated. I think of Alex Salmond who was rich in love and slow to anger. We need to find out the details of this Benjamin Harrop FOI request. I want the truth of the conspiracy against Alex Salmond to bring light to Independence from heaven.

The details must be released. Because the dream shall never die. No matter how hard Farage tempts.

42. Mark Beggan says:

Swinney is a Wanker.

43. Dan says:

Due to Grangemouth refinery closing and a new fuel supplier on the scene; I hear Edinburgh and Glasgow airports now get some of their Jet A1 fuel requirements delivered by a couple of 38,000 litre tankers a day travelling up the road from Merseyside.
    That will be diesel powered trucks hauling that up the road then, and not transporting the fuel up north by rail on the environmentally cleaner electrified rail network.

Tune in next week for more lunacy and nonsense when we’ll possibly learn of Forfar Bridies being imported from Botswana, and importing coal to heat our homes from Columbia… Oh, that’s right, burning imported coal from Columbia in Scotland is actually the case. Guess it was deemed racist to just import white cocaine, so progressives needed to import something black to balance the equation.

• Mark Beggan says:

This imported coal from Columbia, is that the white powder coal? If it is we got tones of that coal in Scotland.

44. sarah says:

@ factchecker: The proceedings of the Scottish parliament pre-1707 are available online on St Andrews university site. They were also published in book form so can be read at the NLS. You can see for yourself how the system worked.

As usual, you didn’t answer his question about examples to prove your claim that there was “direct democracy” in Scotland pre-1707.
      Of course there wasn’t any. There wasn’t even “democracy” by modern standards.
      So why does Salvo allow a historical fantasist to be one of their lead spokespersons? Does Salvo believe that since evasion and lying worked for the SNP, it will work for Salvo also?

• factchecker says:

Thank you, Sarah, but that was not an answer to my question.

You spoke of “direct democracy, similar to what we had pre 1707, ”

I asked for an example of this direct democracy in action. in action. I would be grateful if you would provide one.

45. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

SARA SALYERS: SALVO SPEECH in GENEVA 2025, PART 1

« “This is the first time that Scotland’s case has ever been presented to the international community. First time that we’ve ever had a chance to tell the truth about who we are and what this state, known as the United Kingdom of Great Britain, really is. »

SARA SALYERS, GENEVA SPEECH 2025, PART 2

« What rights should pertain under the Claim of Right if the Union were really in place? Shaped by the treaty that created it? It’s impossible to illustrate all of them here, but two fundamental and astonishingly progressive provisions of the Claim of Right should serve. »

SARA SALYERS: SALVO SPEECH in GENEVA 2025, PART 3

“The continuing English State may talk of the British Crown and the right of the Crown as if there was only one. But two exist, in fact.”

46. Hatey McHateface says:

The world’s most high-achieving half-Scot, President Donald Trump, once again does something that helps rehabilitate our national reputation as savvy and canny exemplars.

A reputation traduced and trashed in Scotland by our own Scottish governing class this past decade or so.

link to unherd.com

There are very good reasons why our ancestors coined the concepts of “first-world” and “third-world” countries. We’ve become so used to observing our own slide to third-world status we’ve come to believe it’s inexorable, like terminal cancer.

The world’s most high-achieving half-Scot, President Donald Trump, shows us all it was never anything but a choice. A bad choice too.

• TURABDIN says:

Love or hate the guy Trump thinks BIG.
      Sometimes only a big brute driving a monster truck will suit the case.
      A joyful St Andrew’s day!

• Alf Baird says:

“For the first time, mass migration is formally recognised as a human-rights issue for host societies, and sovereign governments are acknowledged to have the right — and obligation — to protect their people.”

Unfortunately there has been no sovereign government acting to protect us Scots since 1707 which resulted in historic mass displacement. And today we also have a colonial administration who think our national flag is a symbol of even more mass in-migration (so-called ‘inclusion’), not as a symbol of national sovereignty, and who are trying to finish us off.

• Old John says:

I occasionally have the privilege of working with an Iranian refugee. She is early 40s, Parsee, Christian. She utterly despises what the Islamic Revolution has done to her once great nation. She is a graduate, who got out while she still could, as she saw littke future for herself in her own country. She is astonished and horrified in equal measure, by the laissez faire attitude of our Governments to the issue of Muslim immigration. She always says to me. “Tell everyone listen to Trump. Trump is right” her attitude is based on nothing but lived experience, so, no matter what is your opinion of the Orange Leodhasach, we should pay attention to Yasmin. She has first hand experience.

47. TURABDIN says:

UNDER the current dispensation Scotland’s thinking is exceeding small.
    If you dont stand out through «big thinking» you will be walked over.
    «Small minds cannot grasp great ideas»
    St Jerome.

48. TURABDIN says:

OUT OF CANADA……always something mighty QUEER
    link to classic107.com
    Note the novel acronym 2SLGBTQ.
    Check out the Gov. of Canada site for «clarification».
    link to canada.ca
    The taxonomics of this domain are boundless…

49. TURABDIN says:

FOR ENLIGHTENMENT,
    another kind of «grooming»
    link to archive.is

50. willie says:

Well interesting twist in todays media whereby the blackhole in the country’s finances is now being acknowledged by Chancellor Reeves as being overstated.

So taxes up by £26bn whist spending £16bn more on welfare.

Its an interesting twist. Raising taxes on working people and pensioners to balloon welfare is an interesting concept. Removing the two child benefit cap is most something that will cause much concern and there are many who will rail at that. If you are on modest incomes or pension there are many who will resent this. Indeed, there are some who will see the extension of benefits to pay for three, four five or more children as being an immigrants charter since traditionally many immigrants have big families.

Benefits are benefits that some people need but pensioners who are now paying tax on their basic pensions might not agree. Benefits for those that need it. Get the country working too. Help those who really need it. And don’t feed the racists with lines like benefits to support immigrants and their large families.

This country is a mess. Scotland and the UK is struggling to produce and what it does produce we need immigrant workers. Over half of the circa 12,000 workers on the new £100bn plus Hinckley C nuclear power station are foreign. The company building it is the state owned EDF of France with the participation of China.

And in Scotland, and let us not forget bonnie Scotland, Babcock at Rosyth are deploying over 200 welders brought in from the Philipines. Not dissimilarly on the Clyde warships are being built with hundreds of foreign workers. Great for defence industry security vetting one would think. Great for the private companies employing cheap foreign labour. And so it goes on – especially when you look at where the kit for thing like renewable energy is procured from.

(Hint – with oil back in the day we built the rigs in Scotland. Today we procure the giant jackets that support the offshore turbines from places like Dubai and China. Or rig deconstruction. That is not done here but in Norway – and so it goes on turbine generator, wind blades and so much else!)

Anyway, big stooshie this morning, and whatever they say, we can all look forward to more taxes on working folks and pensioners and more benefits and a culture of saying all our ills are because of foreigners and immigrants.

Have a good Sunday, it’ll all be here tomorrow, and the day after, and the day after that.

• twathater says:

Willie , where are people saying that ALL our ills are because of foreigners and immigrants , I post about immigrants and foreigners regularly but I have NEVER blamed them for ALL our ills

I BLAME governments who have NEVER considered what MASS migration means to indigenous people

I BLAME governments who have NOT monitored or reacted to the deliberate inability or downright refusal of immigrants to integrate with the indigenous people

I BLAME governments who when asked to discuss the rights and wrongs of mass immigration by the electorate immediately resort to the RACIST claim

I BLAME governments for refusing to identify genuine refugees from economic asylum seekers

I BLAME governments for their total incompetence to address illegal immigration , and for their total incompetence in returning failed asylum seekers to whence they came

I BLAME governments for their crass inability to identify and encourage a positive points system that meets the needs of our communities

I BLAME governments that penalise families financially that want to have children whilst simultaneously and continuously insisting that our population is becoming older which means we need MORE IMMIGRATION

I BLAME governments who IGNORE the rights of the indigenous people and favour the needs and wants of the immigrants

I BLAME governments who deliberately turn a blind eye to illegality and sexual depravity in the cause of inclusion and fear of reprisal

51. Confused says:

quite

link to x.com

– tucker carlson is a strange phenomenon; it is related to my remarks about galloway. TC comes across as sane, rational and as my neighbour would put it “talks a lot iy sense, ken … ” – I wonder how he gets away with it; it’s like he, and pretty much he alone, is “allowed” to do what he does and express certain ideas. He is also allowed tremendous access – Trump, mad vlad, galloway, anyone and everyone.

“it’s cool”.

But I feel that for most folks, first of all you are not getting access, but if you did what he did, you would get de-monetised, cancelled, chucked in the gulag; there is enough law on the books to hang us all.

Mad Vlad, with smirk, called out TC, when talking of nordstream, he said “your people did it”. TC’s family are all CIA. What’s the odds of that then. All these coincidences, the world is full of coincidence, hell, I might become a full blown “coincidence theorist”.

– so the money shot is, the rumour is : TC is being setup for a run at the presidency once Trump has to go. TC would be like “Trump without the Tourettes”. Business as usual, peeps, turned out nice again. One way elites always win is that they back all the horses.

I am hoping for a part 2 of the morgan interview where TC asks what is the collateral for all that city paper. Note the anglo narcissism of Morgan “the great journalist” – uncomfortable questions, but kneejerk defence of the mother country. My england, my england. TC should have asked him if england can feed itself (it imports 44% of its food) and what happens if – for some reason – the pound was severely devalued by 30%?

• David Holden says:

Tucker Carlson on WOS. We live in interesting times. Tucker for president is not so far out there when you see Marjorie Taylor Greene and Donald junior and Eric Trump also being touted for the job. A square go between Tucker and Piers is a fight you hope they both could lose.

• Hatey McHateface says:

See what you’ve done now, Confused?

Dan will be along, raging, in a minute.

Seriously, though. You don’t think our fighting friends in the east blew the pipeline? Then you’re an object lesson in why Indy-supporting Scots will never be able to get anywhere – you’re congenitally unable to apply Occam’s Razor to reality.

“what happens if – for some reason – the pound was severely devalued by 30%?”

Oooo, I know that one! Everybody in Scotland will be 30% worse off.

Occam’s fucking razor again.

Come tae think on’t. Best you stay clear. You’d only slash your own throat with it.

52. TURABDIN says:

WHY SCOTLAND IS WHERE SHE IS…..just read the btl.
    I give up!
    Adieu!

53. Northcode says:

Latest Scottish census stats show an increase in folk claiming some skill in Gaelic since 2011 of 43,000 bringing the total in Scotland claiming some skill in Gaelic to 130,000.

Census stats also show an increase in those who claim some skill in the Scots language of over 500,000 since 2011 bringing that total to 2.45 million.

So, 58% of folk identifying as “white Scottish” in census stats (2.45 million) claim to have some Scots language skills, whilst only 130,000 – a third of one percent (0.03%) claim the same for Gaelic.

Why we have Gaelic plastered all over road signs and polis cars and such I have no idea… so few folk speak it in Scotland it’s hardly worth the cost and effort (relax Fergus, I’m just fucking with you… whilst also making a valid point).

Tot population of Scotland 2023: 5.5 million.

Tot number claiming to be “White Scottish”: 4.22 million (77%)

Tot claiming some skill with the Scots language: 2.45 million (58% of “White Scottish” – 44% of tot population)

Tot claiming some skill with Gaelic language: 130,000 (0.03% of “White Scottish” – 0.02% of tot population)

Looks like the Scots as a unique people with their own languages, history, traditions, nation, culture and identity aren’t done for yet… ye beauty!

54. Northcode says:

Welcome to the “Holyrood Chunter Show”.

Your weekly ‘in-depth’ commentary on all things Holyrood delivered to you in toneless, living-corpse &#174, hollow chuntering surround scribble (HCSS &#174).

This week that stalwart of stupit and griftyness, Patty “The Harpy” Harvie, chuntered on aboot how a very few folk who live in Scotland have to wait several centuries to get some specialized treatment free on the SNHS.

Now, if what “The Harpy” tells us is true – and that is a mighty big “IF”, folks… for thon Harvie the Harpy often harps on aboot stuff hauf-true at best, but always utterly irrelevant tae maist Scots – then Holyrood should request the extra funds and resources required for the SNHS to deal with the relatively recent upsurge in folk wha need this special treatment fae England, the country that controls Scotland’s pocket money.

That would keep “The Harpy’s” tiny wee whiny mooth fae chunterin’… for a while at least until it finds some ither shite the Scots don’t gie a toss fir tae whine and whitter and chunter oan aboot.

I’ve employed a lot of double quotation marks in today’s “Chunter”… but only because I felt like it.

• Northcode says:

See that “&#174” code I stuck after “living-corpse” and “HCSS”… any decent HTML system would have converted that code to a “Registered Trademark Symbol” – but no here, oh no!

Decent HTML generating software is apparently tae guid fir us Scots oan here.

On the bright side this wee explanatory comment allowed me to scribble oot a few more double quotation marks.

• Hatey McHateface says:

You’ve got me welling up here, Northy. The sight of you frantically posting away to the supreme indifference of all could bring a tear tae a gless eye.

Here’s what you should do, while you once more have the minority Scots language and the Gaelic dissing bits clamped between yer yellowing fawsers:

Drop the beyond you HTML bollox. Gie us all examples of how road signs will change when Scots becomes the new Lingua Scotia.

Stop.
        Give Way.
        Slow.
        Beavers Have Priority.

You know the sort of thing. And my Gaelic favourite, the painting of Ambaileans on the side of ambulances for Gaelic-speaking fuckwits who can’t fathom what the boxy dayglo truck with siren blaring and blue lights flashing actually is.

What word will be painted on ambulance sides for Scots-speaking fuckwits who can’t fathom what the boxy dayglo truck with siren blaring and blue lights flashing actually is?

• Northcode says:

“Living Corpse®?” and “HCSS ® ”

The first symbol is ‘right-click menu in the comment box and insert selected emoji’ and the second is just copy the ® from somewhere and paste it without using character codes.

I’m just playing with HTML symbol codes and stuff… so just ignore me.

“Aye, that’s what we usually do anyway,” I hear you say.

• Northcode says:

So it looks like just copying symbols from elsewhere and pasting them into the comment box works best on here.

• Northcode says:

Aye, hilarious… anyway:

STOP: Stap, v. Also: stopp(e, stopt, stope, stoip(e, stoyp, stoup, stoop(e, stapp(e, staupe, stoppin, -yn. P.p. also stopitt.

GIVE WAY: Gie Wey

SLOW: Slaw, adv. Also: slau, slou.

BEAVERS HAVE PRIORITY:

Bever, Bevar, Baver, n.1 Also: beuer, bevir, bevuer, bavir, bauer, bawer, baiver…

[choose one and put it here] Hae Priortie.

• Northcode says:

Here are some mair braw Scots wirds:

Ther scarce be a wird pit doun here fae colonialists (unyonists if preferryd… baith be alike) that’s onythin’ ither than abuise, threit, lie, errure, afftak, diveesion, diversioun, distractioun, logicale fallace, or hatesome antiScot rethorik.

• Hatey McHateface says:

An wan mair:

Haverin blethers.

BTW, did ye forget (forgeit v Also forgit, foregit, fowergite, foogit, fooshit, fushite)?

“What word will be painted on ambulance sides for Scots-speaking fuckwits who can’t fathom what the boxy dayglo truck with siren blaring and blue lights flashing actually is?”

I reckon it should be a n, Northy.

55. Northcode says:

Aye, hilarious… anyway:

And again… in dull, plain old English:

There’s barely a comment posted here by colonialists (unionists if preferred… same thing) that is anything other than insult, threat, lies, error, mockery, division, diversion, distraction, logical fallacy, or hateful anti-Scots rhetoric.

56. Northcode says:

Ambulance; 1798, “mobile or field hospital,” from French ambulance, formerly (hôpital) ambulant (17c.), literally “walking (hospital),” from Latin ambulantem.

As it turns oot, there’s no direct translation for “Ambulance” to Scots – and no Scots creation that would work well painted on a vehicle – but the current Gaelic “Ambaileans” works fine on its own anyway.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Nae word for ambulance in Scots?

Come now, Northy. Just do what you already do with about half of your Scots words.

Start with the English word, swap a few letters to mimic a Scottish accent, then declaim it’s superior Scots leid or some other such nonsense.

You know you want to!

• Northcode says:

Aye, hilarious… anyway…

57. Hatey McHateface says:

I see the reviled and hated utter cants colonialists have completely stopped either our generous host, or his legions of BTL followers, from remarking that today is the feast day of Scotland’s patron saint, Saint Andrew. Officially declared in 1320 no less, back when Scotland was Christian and proud of it.

Alternatively, in a different interpretation of events, not one self-identifying Scottish patriot on here either knows or cares about Scotland’s history and culture, other than those parts of it that provide the stereotypical Scottish chip-on-shoulder gurner sufficient tears to water his or her dram.

• Dear Hatey,

It was celebrate all over “GB News” (Channel 236).

• Cynicus says:

BBC Scotland channel featured an unusual long distance duet: their weatherman Callum MacColl sang Burns’ “ My luve is like a red red rose”, accompanied on the Joanna by BBC Russia editor, Steve Rosenberg.

The BBC clip I saw did not mention it, but I will: Steve’s accompaniment was particularly appropriate because Saint Andrew is also the patron saint of Russia.

58. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

Stu’s above post in the historic and living Scottish language:

CÀIRDEAN NAN GRÙMAIREAN

Leis an fhìrinn ìnnse, chan eil sinn ach a’ dèanamh cinnteach nach tèid seo à cuimhne.

Is e “deasbad” a th’ ann bho Phàrlamaid na Alba a-raoir, air gluasad bho Phatrick Harvey a’ gearan nach eil sparradh sgiobalta gu leòr air cloinn so-leònte a dh’ionnsaigh prògram fad-bheatha de rian-leighis, seasgachadh agus corp-riasladh.

Chan eil an gluasad pàrlamaideach aige a’ nochdadh diù a’ choin do cho-dhùnaidhean an Ath-sgrùdaidh Cass agus na Cùirte Uachdarach a-thaobh Às Leth Bhan Alba, ach cha do labhair aon BPA idir na aghaidh.

(‘S ann a bhris Jenni Minto, Ministear airson Slàinte Phoblach is Slàinte nam Ban, a-mach a’ caoineadh a-chionns nach deach aice an cuid beatha ri teachd a lèir-sgriosadh leis an dian-chabhag a bha a dhìth. B’ e Pàrlaimid na Rioghachd Aonaichte as mò a bu choireach ri linn an reachdas seo a thoirt à làmhan Riaghaltas Alba los an òigridh a dhìon bhuaipe.)

Seo agaibh liosta na feadhna a labhair às leth dochann cloinne:

Patrick Harvie etc

Tha sinn an dòchas gun tig an là nuair a thèid an toirt gu dìoladh poblach.

59. Nae Need! says:

From Stu’s article: because she wasn’t managing to get children’s futures permanently destroyed with sufficient urgency.

Spot on.
    And nothing will change for the better for a long, long time.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,852 Posts, 1,232,282 Comments

• BLMac on How Far To Go, How Far: “Stench of Kompromat.Dec 13, 08:41
    • Mark Beggan on How Far To Go, How Far: “That would be correct if ‘passionate opposition’ was against equality. Where as Linehan and Rowling are against perversion and intimidation…Dec 13, 06:32
    • twathater on How Far To Go, How Far: “The fact that this supposed learned professional is receiving such criticism from his fellow legal professionals indicates that they can…Dec 13, 04:26
    • Cynicus on How Far To Go, How Far: “Great work again, Geoff. I highlight the points below from the journey your link led me: 1) Anya Palmer, a…Dec 13, 03:34
    • James Cheyne on How Far To Go, How Far: “Dan, I hear you, though obviously the ginger news is not read by myself, but the (war) word is fast…Dec 13, 00:08
    • Alastair Ewen on How Far To Go, How Far: “Is Judge Kemp a heavy drinker??Dec 13, 00:07
    • James Cheyne on How Far To Go, How Far: “I will keep eye on war news to check wether propaganda or true over next few weeks, The tribunal judge…Dec 12, 23:56
    • Lorncal on How Far To Go, How Far: “So, in order to let these men have everything their own way, we have to trample on women? That is…Dec 12, 23:43
    • Lorncal on How Far To Go, How Far: “Yet, even ECHR agrees that men should not be in women’s spaces.Dec 12, 23:30
    • GM on How Far To Go, How Far: “He’s a man.Dec 12, 23:30
    • Lorncal on How Far To Go, How Far: “Of course they do, Mark. That is not the point that Michael was making. The use of the words, hierarchy…Dec 12, 23:27
    • Lorncal on How Far To Go, How Far: “Yes, AI does make mistakes, but all on one side? Methinks human intervention here.Dec 12, 23:17
    • David McAdam on How Far To Go, How Far: “So the DG had to resign from the BBC when a programme was found to have “edited” a speech of…Dec 12, 23:07
    • Geoff Anderson on How Far To Go, How Far: “Archived Times article https://archive.is/MyuviDec 12, 21:39
    • Kate L on How Far To Go, How Far: “Much like the male judge Alexander Kemp I suppose you find women’s safety and dignity acceptable sacrifices to make on…Dec 12, 21:37
    • Captain Caveman on Strike One: “Meh! Awesome Northy you made me laugh. Touche! 🙂Dec 12, 21:18
    • DavidT on How Far To Go, How Far: “I have no personal stake in this matter, nor am I aware of any transgender individuals. However, Graham Linehan and…Dec 12, 20:48
    • Dan on How Far To Go, How Far: “But James, according to polling in the recent Ginger Stepchild article; Only about 5% of Scots rate Defence and Security…Dec 12, 20:33
    • Geoff Anderson on How Far To Go, How Far: ““Wouldn’t it be so much easier if we just did what the TransCult wanted” That is what the Judge concluded.Dec 12, 20:31
    • Mark Beggan on How Far To Go, How Far: “And breathe,,….Dec 12, 20:15
    • Mark Beggan on How Far To Go, How Far: “‘Keep Rabies out of Britain’ Springs to mind, forgot about that one. What with all the other dangerous things coming…Dec 12, 20:10
    • James Cheyne on How Far To Go, How Far: “Britain and France preparing for war, we have to wait and see whom the enemy is, but France informing its…Dec 12, 20:05
    • James Cheyne on How Far To Go, How Far: “Public matters and private rights are entirely different laws in Scotland.Dec 12, 19:55
    • James Cheyne on How Far To Go, How Far: “Tribunals in Scotland are funded by a consolidated fund by the Scottish governmentDec 12, 19:49
    • James Cheyne on How Far To Go, How Far: “Private Rights of biological Women to have private spaces regardless, is matter of Internal Scots law in Article XV111 and…Dec 12, 19:39
    • Hatey McHateface on How Far To Go, How Far: “It’s lower in saturated fat, sure, but for Mammie’s authentic home baking, it has to be butter.Dec 12, 19:29
    • James Cheyne on How Far To Go, How Far: “He iis quite an interesting site on legal matters. There are a few other Barristers that I follow for points…Dec 12, 19:29
    • Hatey McHateface on How Far To Go, How Far: “Could be rabies. The precautionary principle says put them down.Dec 12, 19:24
    • James Cheyne on How Far To Go, How Far: “Stu, I presume you watch BlackBeltBarrister as he states more or less the same as you. If not then he…Dec 12, 19:19
    • Mark Beggan on How Far To Go, How Far: “The politically correct voice of the chattering class is foaming at the mouth!Dec 12, 19:09