The final indignity

Posted on May 08, 2012 by

You don't even need to be a particularly alert reader to recall WoSland's worrying piece about recession-hit Bath just a few weeks ago, which drew thousands of viewers from all corners of the net to become one of the all-time top 10 most popular posts on the blog. But this week, Bath's fall from grace was rendered complete.

The image above comes from a piece in Monday's Guardian about dereliction and decay in urban England (click the pic to read the story). The feature talks about northern working-class cities like Bradford, Redcar, Sheffield and Preston, particularly the various consequences (and, it posits optimistically, opportunities) presented by long-term disuse, decay and demolition of long-term empty properties. The picture chosen to illustrate it, though, is of London Road in Bath.

It's not, admittedly, the most salubrious part of town. But Bath is more accustomed to being employed to depict the grand Edwardian age in period dramas. To serve as a passable imitation of deprived modern-day Bradford instead may well be seen by the city's inhabitants as its darkest hour since it was bombed by the Nazis in 1942.

0 to “The final indignity”

1. They didn't choose the picture very wisely. Having been empty for years, that building has now been bought by one of Bath's big building firms and will get a long-overdue rennovation. These Guardian journalists just don't do their research!

2. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

Tsk, these bloody porn bots are spamming everywhere.

3. Irish Al says:

Ever been in the Longacre for a pint ?

4. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

I have not  – it always looked much too scary for me. Even when my best friends lived 100 yards from it we never went there. And never will now, because I think it's become a launderette or something.

5. Tom K. says:

A foamy pint of laundry detergent with a fabric softener chaser, please.

6. Irish Al says:

The Longacre looks like The Dog & Hammer, the local of the Fat Slags from Viz. I bet there's a combined tattoo parlour/abortion clinic up that alley beside it.

7. Pr0n Bot says:

The Longacre turned into a gaming parlour – you can go there and play dominoes but can't get anything proper to drink. Try the Piccadilly  further down. But not the Porter Butt, it's all gone hi-fidelity.

8. Archie says:

It is going to get far, far worse before it is going to get better. That much is obvious to anyone with a memory longer than the proverbial goldfish.

So far no one is doing anything to change the course we are on. They aren't even talking about it. What we see in Greece and Spain is headed for England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland too. I just hope that this time round we don't see the political nasties rise up with it (like every other time the economies hit the shitter). It's sad when you speak to people alive during WW2 and they talk about how things now feel just like it did back then (including a couple of Jewish decent that were interviewed too). All the nasty stuff kept down will float up like so much brown stuff – racist tension, facism, etc. or modern equivalents.

Enjoy the neo-liberal hellmouth opening up under the UK. I hope I'll be too old to care anymore when it gets hot enough to spill blood or at least long enough I'll feel I've had the best part of my life's worth of time, but I don't think I'll be that lucky at the rate this is going.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,886 Posts, 1,237,550 Comments

• Alf Baird on Looking up at the stars: ““Isn’t the Indy movement sprinkled with simpering pathetic fools” The main concern of the colonized is or should be focused…Mar 11, 15:38
    • Geri on Looking up at the stars: “I believe it is because they are sworn in individually as a member of parliament. Not as a block or…Mar 11, 14:32
    • Sven on Looking up at the stars: “I believe we all know that the answer to your query as to, “why, when some MP resigns fro a…Mar 11, 13:48
    • Hatey McHateface on Looking up at the stars: “Did you know that already, or did you look it up? 🙂 My money’s on the latter, and I’ve stuck…Mar 11, 13:25
    • robertkknight on Looking up at the stars: “Holyrood rammed full of yoons of varying political shades and persuasions, who frankly couldn’t run a bath let alone a…Mar 11, 12:51
    • Sven on Looking up at the stars: “The first verifiable recorded instance of the phrase, “The penny dropped” of which I’m aware is that cited in the…Mar 11, 12:24
    • Geri on Looking up at the stars: “No. Prior to indyref we were an equal partner in that wonderful family of nations remember? In a voluntary union…Mar 11, 11:42
    • Hatey McHateface on Scotland’s Most Frightened: ““no need to withdraw from something that does not exist” My exact response to every one of those crowdfunding grifters,…Mar 11, 11:34
    • Hatey McHateface on Looking up at the stars: “Could be worse, Onlooker. Isn’t the Indy movement sprinkled with simpering pathetic fools who have renamed themselves ‘Hamassa’?Mar 11, 11:30
    • Hatey McHateface on Looking up at the stars: “Does that mean the UK may not have only two days of gas left? OK. I’ll answer. Yes it does.…Mar 11, 11:27
    • Hatey McHateface on Looking up at the stars: “Dinna be daft, x. Penny Falls machines, from which the term originates, didn’t exist before 1964.Mar 11, 11:20
    • diabloandco on Looking up at the stars: “The Lib Dums proved themselves duplicitous during Jim Wallace’s time as leader. Can someone tell me why , when some…Mar 11, 11:19
    • Hatey McHateface on Looking up at the stars: “Aye, Geri, you do well to warn ordinary Scots about Baphomet. Any signs of your new hereditary king? I read…Mar 11, 11:14
    • Onlooker on Looking up at the stars: “I liked when the simpering pathetic fool renamed himself ‘Hamala’ during the last yank election and ran off to the…Mar 11, 10:45
    • agentx on Looking up at the stars: “James Che says: 11 March, 2026 at 9:23 am One day the penny will drop ————————————– It’s only taken 319…Mar 11, 10:27
    • Geri on Looking up at the stars: “They’ve been referred to as Lib Dumbs for over a decade at least. Remember the tuition fee fiasco where the…Mar 11, 09:41
    • James Che on Looking up at the stars: “The so called Scottish Elections are a farce, The devolved governance sent to Scotland under the laws of the England…Mar 11, 09:30
    • James Che on Looking up at the stars: “One day the penny will drop, Scotland, Ireland, Wales and England will wake up to the historical records and realise…Mar 11, 09:23
    • 100%Yes on Looking up at the stars: “UK may have only two days of gas left.Mar 11, 09:22
    • James Che on Looking up at the stars: “Peter McAvoy, English votes for English laws, The Anglo- Irish Agreement in 1800, [ Scotland not Included ] set up…Mar 11, 09:13
    • Sven on Looking up at the stars: “Did anyone ever seriously doubt that the LDs, at any level, in any constituency would sell out to anyone for…Mar 11, 08:46
    • Aidan on Looking up at the stars: ““Lib Dumb” – you’re so witty and clever James, will you be at the fringe this year? Northcode has told…Mar 11, 06:14
    • Young Lochinvar on Scotland’s Most Frightened: “HMcH @ 4.06 You have to be joking “old boy”! Scotchland Office seat warmers like yerself would probably be exempt…Mar 11, 05:03
    • James Barr Gardner on Looking up at the stars: “Bring back Wee Willie Rennie, he was funnier…….Mar 11, 02:46
    • Peter McAvoy on Looking up at the stars: “Will they cooperate to oppose the planned scrapping of jury trials in England and Wales,or remind Westminster of how these…Mar 11, 01:38
    • Cynicus on Looking up at the stars: “Geri says: 10 March, 2026 at 9:45 pm “I dunno how he has the nerve to even collect a salary…Mar 11, 01:12
    • Cynicus on Looking up at the stars: “Scot Finlayson says: 10 March, 2026 at 9:18 pm, `A carpetbagger is a derogatory name term for an outsider….. ..It…Mar 11, 00:54
    • James on Looking up at the stars: “There’s a dark underbelly in the Lib Dumb movement. “Movement” being the operative word. Speaking of which – where’s Adrian…Mar 10, 23:12
    • Geri on Looking up at the stars: “I dunno how he has the nerve to even collect a salary after he said Scotland shouldn’t be allowed to…Mar 10, 21:45
    • Iain More on Looking up at the stars: “I have nothing to add to what has been said already although to refer to him as a wank stain…Mar 10, 21:25