The demonisation of Alex Salmond

Posted on November 07, 2011 by

Iain Macwhirter in the Herald with a much-needed skewering of the "cybernat myth" that Labour have doggedly been trying to make stick for a few years now, and which was escalated dramatically with Iain Gray's vitriolic and bitter farewell speech to the Scottish Labour conference. There is, of course, poison aplenty on both sides of the SNP-Labour divide, but the most immediately noticeable difference is that nationalist bile and trolling comes from a few anonymous nutjobs on messageboards, whereas in Labour's case it comes from elected members and official representatives. We don't recall any SNP MSP comparing the Labour leader to Hitler, Mussolini or Mugabe, nor calling the entire party "neo-fascists", yet those insults and more have all been made in full public view by taxpayer-funded Labour politicians. Gray and Labour's attempt to claim the moral high ground is an extraordinary piece of brass neck, and it's good to see a grown-up journalist calling it out.

1. 13 12 24 02:44

Asas sobre a Escócia | Mantendo o fogo aceso - Agora Em Pauta

9 to “The demonisation of Alex Salmond”

1. Morag says:

I'm a nat, I'm a nat, I'm a cybernat….

2. Flooplepoop says:

Hello Morag from 3 years in the future, we might actually win this 🙂

3. Morag says:

One last heave…!

4. Brian Doonthetoon says:

And the interesting thing is, after 3 years, the situation is still exactly the same!

Any abuse and so on is NOT coming from the high heid yins on the YES side; it comes from a “few anonymous nutjobs on messageboards”.

The exact opposite is the case on the NO side. Their high heid yins, and their immediate sycophants, appear to treat this abusive behaviour as “normal”. Witness the Kathy Wiles escapade, as only one example.

5. Catherine says:

Plus ça change…

6. R-type Grunt says:

Well, that went well.

7. Mike says:

Thanks Stu, you have given power to the Scottish people with your insight.

8. Fireproofjim says:

And now, by the wonder of time travel, this message comes to you from five years in the future, it’s Wings fifth birthday today but disappointment reigns as promised hover boards have not yet appeared.
    I blame Nicola Sturgeon. (bet you cave dwellers in 2011 never thought that would happen).

9. mike cassidy says:

And this message comes to you on Wings seventh birthday.

Cant help with hoverboards.

But we were also promised jetpacks.

A free jetpack with every ‘yes’ vote!

And we’ll be home and dry!

10. Cuilean says:

2022. We are now in a dystopian world where biological sex has been abolished in Scotland (they/them/us/thon) and we self-identify reality according to feelings. (I feel therefore I am).

Today I feel I am Eric the Red, famous Viking Berserker.

Tomorrow I will self id as a Jedi, from the rebel-held planet, Affitsheid.

11. stuart mctavish says:

Guessing, despite the relative lack of btl evidence in the excellent posts predating its birthday :), that a site like Wings had plenty receipts for decade old claims

“that nationalist bile and trolling comes from a few anonymous nutjobs on messageboards, whereas in Labour’s case it comes from elected members and official representatives”

Going on current (2022) evidence, the rate of accumulation of said receipts will not have slowed, despite the Edinburgh agreement – although it may sadly have become inverted (danger being that Nulabour think begins with detesting tories/ competitors and morphs into looking for things to hate rather than focusing on the things we like..) something John Romero inadvertently touches on when discussing recruitment policy at ID softwear in this fascinating Strangeloop talk:

If so then said receipts, whilst potentially forming substantiation in part that UK state or nefarious private interests have been actively and recklessly conspiring to undermine political agreement (jaw jaw), can also serve as a reminder for constant vigilance alongside the parable of the little engine that could -ie provided always that the giants on whose shoulders it piggy backs had the foresight, organisation, teamwork, intellect and pride necessary to lay the tracks, dig the coal, divert the water, conceive the engine and Honk the bastarding horn long and loud at every mad cow disoriented enough to stray onto the wrong path.

Doubtless the optimism of the past remains more than enough to get Scots reunited sooner than later but in interim, hope the strangeloop talk makes for a hitherto unseen but nonetheless worthy diversion and, thanks for all the hard work & accessible infotainment – not least yesterdays uplifting redirection to the archives!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,975 Posts, 1,250,459 Comments

• Northcode on Anything But That: “Interesting… TURABDIN is chasing symbols: UN intervention external validation geopolitical rescue fatalistic narratives AgentX is describing strategy: democratic legitimacy internal…Sep 6, 19:16
    • Northcode on Anything But That: ““Northcode, I have always enjoyed your posts.” As do I yours.Sep 6, 19:13
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: “Well, well. I predicted there would be a few things you wouldn’t want to talk about, sam. And my prediction…Sep 6, 19:12
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “It is Mr Beggan to you. You dont decide anything about this page. Threats of violence Sam is the squeak…Sep 6, 19:04
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “Auf Wiedersehen, Pet Who would have thought a perfume salesman would change German history. It is the end of the…Sep 6, 18:51
    • sam on Anything But That: “Usually I scroll past much of what is btl comment regarding it as shite. A good deal of that shite…Sep 6, 18:49
    • Young Lochinvar on Anything But That: “Missing person appeal! Will the real Northcode come forward please, his account here has clearly been hacked and it appears…Sep 6, 18:36
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “Salmond new how difficult the task to unite Scotland internally would be. Everybody was on board on the anti English…Sep 6, 18:23
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “Well said Northy. Better late than never, about Ten years late, but none the less. Seriously! That is something that…Sep 6, 18:12
    • Young Lochinvar on Anything But That: “NC Stopped reading at “the UK constitution is recognised by the UK Supreme Court”. Kind of says it all really..Sep 6, 18:02
    • TURABDIN on Anything But That: “Strategy and a preternatural understanding of the opponent. WOW….if only.Sep 6, 17:59
    • factchecker on Anything But That: “Just repeating this because it’s the best summary I’ve seen in years. Well done, Northy. “Independence requires maturity, realism, and…Sep 6, 17:09
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: “sam likes to present ideas as evidence and conjecture as fact. He never quotes any source until he’s satisfied its…Sep 6, 16:52
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “” That is the opinion at least of the European Journal of International Law.” Who cares? You still do not…Sep 6, 16:49
    • TURABDIN on Anything But That: “IN THE IDEALIST’S UNIVERSE MAYBE. In the messy actuality any minority within a larger state cannot rely on the principle…Sep 6, 16:47
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: “I don’t know how you’re doing this, Northy, and I don’t care that much. Just stop reading my mind.Sep 6, 16:35
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: “The starship to Alpha Centauri left without him. The next one’s not due for 500 years. So he has no…Sep 6, 16:27
    • Northcode on Anything But That: ““I think your final paragraph needs to be amended…” No – it doesn’t. Read it again.Sep 6, 16:03
    • Northcode on Anything But That: “I support Scottish independence, but I’ve grown weary of the flawed rhetoric deployed in its name. When a movement clings…Sep 6, 15:50
    • sam on Anything But That: “I think your final paragraph needs to be amended. Scottish people need to be able to hold a referendum at…Sep 6, 15:46
    • Northcode on Anything But That: ““The UK Constitution…A bit of a myth that, point me to the stirring single document…” I’m not sure of the…Sep 6, 15:44
    • Young Lochinvar on Anything But That: “B Top ten in spending on military eh? I wonder how much of that is spent on the money-pit “nuclear…Sep 6, 15:31
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “The UN is the record keeper of war. They list the conflicts in the world, keep records, take statements, give…Sep 6, 15:17
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “Amen.Sep 6, 15:06
    • Young Lochinvar on Anything But That: “NC The UK Constitution.. A bit of a myth that, point me to the stirring single document will you? I’d…Sep 6, 14:59
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “Any relation to Darius the Great? “subjugated Thrace and forced Macedon to become a fully subordinate client kingdom within the…Sep 6, 14:59
    • agentx on Anything But That: “Ultimately, while pro-independence groups look to the UN Charter as an overarching moral and political justification for independence, the UN’s…Sep 6, 14:11
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “Shut up and eat your Lembas bread. You pointy eared trouble maker.Sep 6, 14:00
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “I thought it would be obvious. He has the woke disease. The symptoms can be quite easy to spot; Constant…Sep 6, 13:57
    • Insider on Anything But That: “Bloody hell, Northy ! You’re beginning to talk sense for a change ! What happened to you ?Sep 6, 12:57