The Anti-Midas Touch

Posted on July 11, 2024 by

Ah, the innocent and hopeful days of May.

Just for a bit of fun, shall we see how that went?

EAST RENFREWSHIRE (Kirsten Oswald)

Result: LABOUR GAIN

PAISLEY AND RENFREWSHIRE NORTH (Gavin Newlands)

DUNFERMLINE AND DOLLAR (Naz Anis-Miah)

HAMILTON AND CLYDE VALLEY (Ross Clark)

GLASGOW NORTH (Alison Thewliss)

GLASGOW EAST (David Linden)

INVERNESS, SKYE AND WEST ROSS-SHIRE (Drew Hendry)

Result: LIB DEM GAIN

GLENROTHES AND MID-FIFE (John Beare)

GLASGOW SOUTH (Stewart McDonald)

NORTH EAST FIFE (Stefan Hoggan-Radu)

Result: LIB DEM GAIN

GLASGOW NORTH EAST (Anne McLaughlin)

0 from 11. Ah well, can’t win ’em all.

0 to “The Anti-Midas Touch”

1. duncanio

Didn’t she do well!

2. Confused

Grandad Marley in the last photo (the whole thing is a work of art)

– should give us a blast of

NO WOMAN, NO CRY

3. Johnny

It’s still 0/10 but wasn’t North East Fife a Lib Dem HOLD (with a massively increased vote share and difference between first and second, i.e. slightly less than 3% to more than 31%)?

4. David Henry

It looks like Nicola Sturgeon has the opposite of the Midas touch. Perhaps SNP members and supporters should table a vote of no confidence in the party leadership on the 30th of August in Edinburgh? Clear out those that have failed and get control of their party again.

5. Rob

The premise that everyone had to vote SNP to get the Tories out was one of the stupidest election campaigns ever.
    The tories have no chance of winning much in scotland and had little to start with to be removed from.
    All the SNP were trying to do, with the lack of any other option or policy, was try and get folk to vote snp from their historical distaste of the tories.
    What they had not counted on was that the country had an even stronger distaste of the snp and folk saw right through what they were doing.
    Plus they should have hidden the fish during the campaign, she is literally pioson to the electorate at large now.

6. Steve A

“Will ‘support’ where ‘required’!!! O.M.G! nah, you just stay home… please!”. What a record!!

7. Steve A

To be as fair as possible.. Kristen DID beat the tories in East Ren… just… she was not the only one that did!

8. Tay

Germany reopening coal mines, China flat out building coal fired power stations, gas galore in Russia. What do we do ? Well gender reform, hate crimes and shutting down new oil and gas in the North Sea. I hope people start to understand soon what is being done to the British Isles and especially Scotland. Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. Environment, Social and Governance. Gotta keep those ESG scores up, eh !

9. Ally

I wonder how many SNP members and MP/MSPs are going to walk back across the floor to Labour now that it looks like they are a better prospect for getting elected.

10. Stuart MacKay

It’s pretty interesting to study all those faces in each of the campaigns, including Grandad Marley’s (thanks Confused). Quite a few anti-normie types and then the SNP wonders why the election results showed they’re out of touch.

Just imagine the size of the shovel you’d need to clear out all that, erm, gold. Much better to burn it all to the ground and start again.

In any case, times have changed. The world is turning it’s back on what interests white, overweight, middle-class, american soccer-moms. Time for something new. Has anyone tried anything explicitly anti-liberal?

Nothing that could be labelled far-right, but instead something that focussed on putting food on the table, clothes on peoples’ backs, kids in schools sort of thing?

11. Robert Hughes

Confused
    Ignored says:
    11 July, 2024 at 2:33 pm

” Grandad Marley in the last photo (the whole thing is a work of art)

– should give us a blast of

NO WOMAN, NO CRY ”

Aye , yr man , ie Haile Unlikely n his burd – Fatty Dread , will be contemplating their Exodus to Nu Labour ere lang , now that the gravy train has been derailed and ” Toxic Masculinity ” n his mate ” Male Fragility ” still stalk the land . Those two bastards no doubt responsible for the cruel End Of Pies reality that has befallen that Darby n Joan of Prog .

Wait……maybe it was that super-villain Hate that screwed things up . Seems Yousaf’s ” muslamic rockets ” just weren’t strong enough .

Or maybe there were insufficient Nu Women ( ie disturbed men ) prancing about waving their ” lady dicks ” around on the Camp Pain Trail ?

Fuck knows , but the supreme skelping they got was absolutely nothing to do with them . We know this because The Stooge told them so .

Oh wait , again ……didn’t Knickers The Omniscient , as the disastrous results were coming in , start a bit of judicious pronoun sleight-of-hand , eg her Party , the one she’s still a member of and which she ran into the ground in record time , suddenly became not ” we ” , but ” they ” : shamelessly trying to disassociate herself from the calamity of which she was the main ” author ” ? Aye , she did .

Not enough *trans**women* in HolyMinster !! THAT is the problem

Obviously .

Ah well , I’m sure there will be more opportunities for Haile to babble-on in Babylon n claim , deep down , he’s always been a Labour supporter . Pass the dutchie ‘pon the left-hand side ( or whichever side is in power )

12. Antoine Roquentin

True story:Sturgeon posted at least 15 leaflets for me, long, long before she became the infamous wretch that she is today. I didn’t win that election, of course. She also had a pointless wee dig at Salmond over coffee in my kitchen. Something that I found extremely disloyal, given his support for her within the NEC. I must say: The young N.S. charmed me not at all!

13. Hatuey

So much for the election winning machine…

The big problems with politicians is that they think winning elections is all that matters. I’ve heard 100 people respond to criticism of Sturgeon by saying she won 8 elections as leader. She even said it herself.

They also won 8 elections with Peter Murrell as CEO. She didn’t mention that. None of them mention that.

Look at the trail of destruction the Murrells left behind. Everything is worse. It was shit before but now we don’t even have the audacity of hope.

The Murrells are the worst kind of people on this earth — sociopathic killers of hope.

14. 100%Yes

All that these modern politicians want to do is talk to their own fan base, PATHETIC.

What was so great about the Referendum was that the politicians got out in the street and got involved in talking to ordinary people and for me we felt like Scots again.

Nicola’s participation might have just swung it for Labour.

15. Hatuey

That last photo is something special… The National headline hahahahaha.

16. Onlooker

Not heard that song since John Peel in the 80s. Still miss him.

The funniest comedy quote of the day comes from Kelly ‘Missed The SNP Gravy Train And Bitter’ Given in The National. Having risen from the grave after dying of covid, if you remember that fictitious incident (“She turned me into a newt! I got better!”), she has the hilarious temerity to write this:

“I have always kept the faith that the party as a machine knew what it was doing and had the talent and the sense to steer itself through a challenge.

While that faith firmly remains, the optimism perhaps has been gradually depleting and has been replaced with a somewhat less-rosy dose of reality. More readily I would say since the departure of Nicola Sturgeon, who despite what opponents will no doubt scramble to assert, is a talented, honest and dependable politician.”

I genuinely laughed out loud when I read those last five words. What Nicola-piles-winching planet of the political apes does this narcissist solipsist live on? Seriously deranged and bizarre stuff indeed! She then goes on to say that the independence movement is bigger than any one person! Memory of a fucking goldfish, can’t even remember what she wrote seconds before! And, as ever, no mention of the vast majority of the public, or good of the country in general, just of herself (a million times, as usual) and ‘the party’ and Sadly-Missed Forever Goddess Nicola.

Guess Given drowning her post-election (which should be called an elec-shun in the SNP’s case, as they were shunned by voters) sorrows in Ibiza has cooked what six neurons were left in her inward-gazing brain. Oh well. Hard knock life. Wonder how long before she and her trite, tripe-spewing type jump ship to Labour…tick tock…

17. Sven

Onlooker @ 16.09.
    “Elec-shun”.

Ima so stealing that, nice one.

18. Republicofscotland

Lets hope the SNP’s MSPs come the 2026 Scottish election, that they parade this Judas B*stard up and down their constituencies, and with a bit of luck the whole 63 useless SNP MSP troughers will get the boot.

The SNP are the roadblock to ditching this illegal union, they need to be removed from office for any progress to be made no matter how painful it might be for some to vote them out.

Sturgeon has done some amount of damage to Scotland, and even if we had indy tomorrow it will take a helluva long time to to repair the damage.

19. Liz

Johnny says:
    11 July, 2024 at 2:37 pm
    It’s still 0/10 but wasn’t North East Fife a Lib Dem HOLD (with a massively increased vote share and difference between first and second, i.e. slightly less than 3% to more than 31%)?

With the boundary changes it was projected that had the changes been in place last time the SNP would have won the seat (Leven now included). I assume that is why everywhere had it down as a Lib Dem gain even though Wendy Chamberlain won NE Fife last time around.

20. Doug

More and more independence supporters are realising the SNP leadership [Sturgeon, Foote, Swinney, Flynn etc] has next to no desire for independence. If it is not replaced by a new SNP leadership which can prove such a desire [by permanently withdrawing its remaining MPs from Westminster?] the SNP will suffer in 2026 in the same way they suffered in 2024.

The 2026 election will not be primarily about devolved matters, it will be about independence.

21. Onlooker

I love that photay of Naz Anis-Miah (who?) Poor bastard is sidelined to the far right of his own PR photay, kneeling, whilst Sapphic Matriarch Pie-Eater revels in the slimelight right in the middle. Talk about speaking somebody else’s thunder…

22. Corrado Mella

A country that consistently returns a majority in favour of Independence must have a level of political engagement above the average and a very active and participative electorate.

You would expect that such a majority would go and vote en masse for the self-proclaimed “only credible vehicle for Independence”, bringing abstentions way down.

It’s not happening. The turnout was a meagre 59%, of which the absolute majority was for Unionist parties.

Where are all these independentistas? In one word, scunnered.

The Saint Nicola’s Party is far more toxic than we can imagine and is poisoning the entire ecosystem, including Alba, ISP, AOUB, etc. with their bile and venom.

It’s time to go hard and slam fists on the desk of every one of their MPs, MSPs and Councillors to pose an ultimatum: back to work for Independence, under our direction, no distractions or diversion, NOW.

The alternative is oblivion – at best – or the gallows.

23. Rob

Doug
    11 July, 2024 at 5:02 pm
    “The 2026 election will not be primarily about devolved matters, it will be about independence.”
    Unless something huge changes, or labour do really well or particularly badly at Westminster, the next election witgh be another negative one where folk either don’t vote or vote for the least detested party.
    The SNP are likely to lose badly to either labour or the Lib Dems with reform up the protest vote.
    Any talk of a resurgence in indy support without some huge change in the political landscape is simply howling at the moon and then burying your head in the sand because you don’t like the echoes.

24. Ruby Thursday

‘Rob Gaelic isn’t Scottish’ has started using the term moon howling!

He’s also making predictions. A week is a long time in politics Rob and also independence supporters are well & truly scunnered.

When folk are scunnered they can be unpredictable.

Two years is a long time for parties to muck up. Remember Starmer hasn’t told us what a women is and if ‘women’ will be called up.

That could be an interesting one. Men on receiving call up papers immediately identify as transwomen.

Ha! Ha! Ha!

25. James

Three hours. Not long at all really…

26. Ruby Thursday

Where is Onlooker onlooking from?

27. Derek

Wolfhounds, jangling away…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p0IgEjIuxkQ

28. Iain More

Jonah Sturgeon!!!

Jonah Wokists!!!

Jonah Alphabet Queers!!!

29. Ruby Thursday

Starmer raises hopes of extra bank holiday if England win Euros

That’s pathetic!

30. Ruby Thursday

Should the prime minister of the UK not be holding a bank holiday only when the UK win something?

The UK can’t win at football because there is no UK team.

Weird that!

31. Hatuey

Corrado: “It’s time to go hard and slam fists on the desk of every one of their MPs, MSPs and Councillors to pose an ultimatum…”

Fuck all that.

When they destroyed hope, they destroyed the power of Indy carrots.

Frankly, I no longer give a shit about Indy. All my hope is invested in wiping out the SNP.

32. Hatuey

Just in from the BBC; “SNP faces £1m Westminster funding cut”

And the SNP “has received no reportable cash donations in 2024, according to the Electoral Commission.”

There’s speculation going around.

Craig Houston asks, “Have Liquidators Already Visited SNP HQ?”

Developing…

33. Kcor

Long overdue for the biggest tractor in Scottish history to be in jail.

34. sarah

@ Hatuey at 6.53 re BBC reporting SNP funding problems.

Tch tch, BBC retreading the Rev’s reports, as usual.

35. Robert Hughes

@ Hatuey

” Frankly, I no longer give a shit about Indy. ”

I have that thought on average about 3 times a day .

And the thought ” wouldn’t it be great to see Scotland unburdened and renewed ; a Scottish Social/Cultural Renaissance ? ” on average about 5 times a day .

That ratio is under a shitload of pressure ATM , for obvious reasons , but it’s holding up .

“Things ” have been worse previously n can always get better .

Gotta keep on keeping on , H 🙂

36. stuart mctavish

Bright side her strategy looks to be paying dividends already – what with the newly elected labour MPs getting carried away enough to instruct Ed Milliband to stop drilling until Scotland is free from English rule.. and Scot Tories obliged to admit they quite fancy the economics of indy after all in 3. 2.. 🙂

37. Garrion

Ally at 3:33 pm says:

“I wonder how many SNP members and MP/MSPs are going to walk back across the floor to Labour now that it looks like they are a better prospect for getting elected.”

I absolutely guarantee it. These people are not political, they’re parasites.

38. TURABDIN

Starmer visits Biden.
    «It’s time for change Mr President»
    «You bet old pal, that’s what i call a special relationship»

39. Ruby Thursday

https://tinyurl.com/awypju52
    Law Commission plans to overhaul contempt of court laws

Just weeks after one of America’s most venerable magazines triggered a debate over England’s contempt of court laws, government advisers have proposed radical surgery.
    In May, The New Yorker published a 13,000-word article that suggested the murder convictions of the nurse Lucy Letby were unsafe. The magazine, which was available in the UK, published the article in advance of Letby’s retrial — and subsequent conviction — on a remaining murder charge, and during her appeal of conviction, which was ultimately rejected, on the other charges.
    The attorney-general’s office confirmed in May that it was reviewing The New Yorker’s article, but as of this week it had not advanced the position. The magazine’s editor has declined to comment on issues around the publication of its story in the UK.

I didn’t find the ‘plans to overhaul contempt of court laws’ all that interesting.

The part about The New Yorker’ being in contempt of court was interesting as was attorney-general’s position (as yet unknown)
    We’ll have to wait and see.

I understand the contempt of court laws are different in Scotland to England but maybe not that different.

So if ‘The New Yorker’ can publish this story maybe they could publish a Scottish story about contempt of court.

Although I suppose the crazy Scottish Hate law could convict even if ‘The New Yorker’ published online only.

Not just contempt of court buy even an article that hurt someone’s feeling.

Did anyone mention ‘The Hate Monster’ being another reason for the SNP’s defeat?

40. Big Jock

The fact that the SNP don’t understand the toxivoty of Sturgeon. Speaks volumes of how out of touch they are with the electorate.

The SNP leaders are on another planet from all of us. They might actually be insane.

41. James Che

Stu,

Just as I predicted, labour was touted to win by MSM with a majority weeks ahead of the elections and before Scotland even got out of their beds, no matter who we were going to vote for,
    I saved my energy and did not participate in the lack of democracy going on in Scotlands election day,

Ally,
    “I wonder how many SNPs will walk back across the floor to Labour”
    I wondered that too.

42. Derek

Seeing Thewliss has just reminded me that after her defeat at the Glasgow count, she and her supporters went into a huddle in the corner and started tearfully chanting “Who are we? SNP!!!” to pump themselves up, interspersed with choruses of “Ohhhhhh Alison Thew-liss”.

I wish I was making this up

43. James Che

Why are we even talking about transitional has-beings?

44. Alf Baird

Corrado Mella @ 5:05 pm

“A (colonized) country that consistently returns a majority in favour of Independence must” by implication now be independent. And if it is not yet independent then this means something is seriously, seriously wrong with these elected majorities.

Thankfully postcolonial theory explains the plight of a colonized people, which is due to:

“..corrupt check-licking politicians and subservient judges, .. the obscurers, the inventors of subterfuges, the charlatans and tricksters, the dealers in gobbledygook. And do not seek to know whether personally these gentlemen (and women) are in good or bad faith, whether personally they have good or bad intentions. Whether personally – they are or are not colonialists … because the essential thing is that their highly problematical subjective good faith is entirely irrelevant to the objective social implications of the evil work they perform as watchdogs of colonialism” (Cesaire).

45. Hatuey

“I wonder how many SNP members and MP/MSPs are going to walk back across the floor to Labour now that it looks like they are a better prospect for getting elected.”

Sure, I mean, the SNP until now was the best vehicle available when it came to delivering progressive policies and prosperity to the Scottish people. Today the best vehicle happens to be Labour…

We can stamp our feet and get all precious about independence, but that won’t serve the interests of the Scottish people…

You get the idea.

46. Anne Johnston

Everything she touches turns to shit.

47. Ebok

RH @ 7.13pm

‘Gotta keep on keeping on, H’

Too right Robert, could all change on Sunday … IF … they win, independence will be a shoe-in: statue of manager to be commissioned, captain proclaimed a demi-god, entire squad knighted, 24/7 adulation, WAG’s given celeb status, new annual July bank holiday (not applicable to colonies), Mink DeVille’s ‘Spanish Stroll’ re-issued and reaching No1 in charts within hours, 20 Million pre-orders … the first six months (of a 25-year rolling reminder) will see Indy support rise to around 80% …

48. Muscleguy

Not even being the anti Sturgeon could save Jo Cherry in Edinburgh South Western. She reported lots of people on doors saying they can no longer vote SNP for the obvious reasons.

Strange that we got an SNP MP here in Arbroath & Broughty Ferry despite me not getting a single SNP leaflet through my door let alone it being chapped despite being in most of the likely times. I would have said the same thing as above to them.

49. gm

Derek
    11 July, 2024 at 8:18 pm

Seeing Thewliss..

I would believe that. She was in the SNP in the 90s. Undoubtedly would have believed in it. Then went all woke on us and joined a cult and the cause of auld Scotis simply did not matter anymore. No wonder there were tears. These characters got completely carried away with themselves and their own sense of self importance. Feckin useless as well as stupid.

50. PacMan

Derek says:
    11 July, 2024 at 8:18 pm

Seeing Thewliss has just reminded me that after her defeat at the Glasgow count, she and her supporters went into a huddle in the corner and started tearfully chanting “Who are we? SNP!!!” to pump themselves up, interspersed with choruses of “Ohhhhhh Alison Thew-liss”.

I wish I was making this up

Really sums it up, watched the movie Grease too many times. Never grown up despite being in the most responsible position of society.

Sad.

51. David Hannah

AHAHAHAH. HAHAHAHA. YES! This brings me joy.

10/10 Wings Over Scotland. Brilliant!

52. David Hannah

Sturgeon’s Midas touch – she’s no Shirley Bassey.

I feel like Alice Cooper wrote his song “The Black Widow” about Nicola Sturgeon.

“These words he speaks are true, we’re all humanary stew if
    We don’t pledge allegiance to The Black Widow!”

Nicola Sturgeon: “If I may put forward a slice of personal philosophy; I feel that Man has ruled this world as stumbling, demented child-king long enough, and as his empire crumbles my precious Black Widow shall rise as his most fitting successor.”

53. David Hannah

I hope Stalin’s wee sister is having a bad night. She must read wings! Hahaha!

54. Kelpie

From Glasgow Freeshare group today “I have the first five editions of The National Newspaper. They have been rolled up and sealed in tubes since issue 5 was released on November 28, 2014, to keep them good. There are six of these tubes available for pick up Castlemilk. If you would like them, just message me.” Obviously another adherent losing faith…

55. Robert Hughes

@ Ebok

It would be worth seeing Angloland win if it meant Mink Deville’s ” Spanish Stroll ” @ #1 : ‘kin love that song .

But , aye , if they do , it will be the Omega Point of human evolution ; perfection achieved .

Maybe ,given the unparalleled glory they’ve brought to the Universe , those Titans of World Sport & Everything Else will graciously offer to sever the bonds of * Union * .

We’ll prob just reply ” no , we’re fine , really , * Union * is ok ; we’ve got Scot’s Porridge Labour now , things can only get better , right ? “

56. Anne Johnston

It would make a great situation comedy like The Thick Of It, or The Office.

57. socratesmacsporran

I notice the Rev’s montage of pictures including our former Glorious Leader did not contain any of her campaigning in her native Ayrshire.

I hope this is because, here in God’s Orange County, we lang syne found her out. I now find, hitherto loyal Sturgeonites have no time for her. She has now reached a hitherto unachieved level of toxicity.

58. Big Jock

The thing about Sturgeon is. That even the walls of Rome are crumbling around her. She doesn’t have the humility to call it a day.

They say that narcicists never apologise, because the condition does not allow for it. They will lash out, before ever apologising. The blame is thus transferred onto the victims of their behaviour. It explains her utter inhumanity to Alex Salmond. Only someone with such a personality disorder could act this way without internal conflict causing a breakdown.

I would argue that Sturgeon is a sociopath, and is addicted to power, publicity and control. So don’t expect her to ever blame herself for destroying the SNP. Which of course she was solely responsible for.

59. Onlooker

Big Jock: who what else is new? Where have you been for years? The woman is genuinely mad, quite clearly. No insult, just a plain, simple fact. This has genuinely been obvious forever. She got to run the party (into the ground) as her own bordello for a few years. Now it’s finito, she can’t handle it, her psycho humongous ego has been punctured. And we’re watching her, like a ruined holed blow-up doll, deflate to fuck-allry again. Almost schadenfreude-worthy, had she not done such incredible damage to this country, and to the independence movement.

60. David Hannah

Remember when she was up in front of the covid inquiry? And she blamed Brexit!

The lawyer said to her. Listen Nicola “This isn’t a soap box Nicola, it’s a dispatch box!”

And everyone sniggered. I enjoyed that moment as well!

The sad fact is that there’s people that should still be alive today were it not for her handling of covid. She sent the plague into the homes. She killed the old people in my opinion.

61. robertkknight

Bute House of Horrors presents…

The Curse of the Goblin Queen.

Cert. 18, Starring…

Nicola Sturgeon as The Goblin Queen
    Peter Murrell as King of the Brownies
    John Swinney as Willow the Wisp
    and introducing Kate Forbes as Baba Yaga

62. Rob

“Ruby Thursday
    Ignored says:
    11 July, 2024 at 6:07 pm
    ‘Rob Gaelic isn’t Scottish’ has started using the term moon howling!”

Now you are just making stuff up to suit your own viewpoint. I never once said Gaelic was not scottish, I said it was not the SINGLE scottish language and gave several other valid scottish languages spoken in other parts of the country.
    I am also quite talken with the new to me term moonhowling which seems to perfectly describe several seemingly derange conspiracy theorist and fantasist on this site, I am keeping that term for use outside as well.

“He’s also making predictions. A week is a long time in politics Rob and also independence supporters are well & truly scunnered.”

I put across my view on what I thought was likely to happen but also gave provisos in that major changes may make it not happen. Is that not what the site is for?

“Two years is a long time for parties to muck up. Remember Starmer hasn’t told us what a women is and if ‘women’ will be called up.”

Sorry not a clue what you are on about and how it relates to my posts? To be fair though you cannot have equality both ways, if you want equal rights then you will also have to go and fight. I’ll wave you goodbye when you do as I am too old to get called up these days

63. charlie

It would be not beyond your powers to find out what the plump ex-bench moisteners are doing since the election. I’m guessing it’s not pilates or weightwatchers but setting up a born big boned section on the NEC. I wouldn’t even be surprised if that happens. But the SNP finances – I look forward to that dissection.

64. Derek

Baba Yaga, y’say…?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=su7W-x_O7ks

65. David Hannah

Stick on Sleepy Joe press conference – Psychopaths Club summit.

Sleepy Joe spilled the beans on the deep state plans for the yellow and blue flagged country. Yank weapons can be used by Zelenski on Ruski soil. But not as far as Mosgow – As that wouldn’t be wise!

66. David Hannah

Joe Biden

“I beg your pardon” he said at one point.

Microphone’s dropped. Flapping paper. The deep state have been exposed tonight.

I enjoyed hearing about their plans for World domination.

An independent Scotland outwith the psychopaths club alliance will do nicely.

67. DavidT

Joanna Cherry did not draft in Nicola Sturgeon but received JK Rowling’s endorsement instead. But she still lost.

68. Young Lochinvar

It’s only a matter of time (probably just like Johnson’s Westminster but not as pompous) before we find out where the bodies are buried and where the moneys gone..
    But seriously; is Bobbing John (doesn’t pay the minimum wage) Sarwar going to be any better?
    Hmmmm..

69. Mia

Anti-Midas touch indeed, Rev.

Am I the only one who wonders what on earth somebody who is

-still a suspect in a live criminal investigation
    -the wife of somebody who has been charged with embezzlement and is awaiting trial
    -the “leader” under whose stewardship a political party raised and then ‘vanished’ 600,000 pounds of grassroots funds for a referendum they never plan to hold
    -the “leader” who brought her own political party down to its knees and from being the most successful party machine she transformed it into a laughing stock.
    -the ex-FM, under whose stewardship the Scottish government brought embarrassment to the entire country by enacting a complaints procedure deemed unlawful and tainted with apparent bias

doing as a special guest in a TV entertainment programme?

The same applies to Teflon-woman Lloyd

When did potential criminality, chronic incompetence and systematic failure became the qualities to be sponsored as role models in the eyes of UK broadcasters?

Have broadcasters completely lost their minds or have they been instructed to rehabilitate the duet from hell for a last-minute come back, so they can annihilate any remote chance of a pro-indy majority in the upcoming HR 2026 election?

Or is this just part of the establishment’s strategy to prepare the public for a complete and unadulterated whitewash of the ongoing cases these individuals are involved in?

You really have to wonder what the hell is going on here.

70. Luigi

Robertkknight
    Ignored says:
    12 July, 2024 at 12:07 am

The Curse of the Goblin Queen.

Indeed, everything and everybody the little monster touched has turned to dust.

But don’t forget Alex Salmond, Humza Yusaf and all the Alphabety’s, the green-wokies and cabal of weird friends etc. They all came under the curse of the Goblin Queen. And boy did they suffer.

The thing about little monsters, as history shows, is that even when they fall and are completely discredited, there always remains a wee rump of followers in complete denial, loyal to the bitter end.

The rest of us can shake off the dust and move on.

71. Ruby Friday

Rob

I am also quite talken with the new to me term moonhowling which seems to perfectly describe several seemingly derange conspiracy theorist and fantasist on this site, I am keeping that term for use outside as well.

Where have you been Rob? Are you new to this site?
    Carry on calling people moonhowlers and you can join ‘The Cunt & The Cock-a-leekie’ and get the V sign every time you post.

72. TURABDIN

PRESIDENT BIDEN, notional leader of the free world, has been described as « a corpse puppeteered by deep state».
    A US based aunt, now an American citizen, has technical confirmation her phones, which she now changes regularly, are «tapped» by deep state’s agents. Similarly her family, friends and acquaintances, in a society that has become paranoid about foreign subversives, losing status and societal collapse.
    She no longer trusts devices or media in the US or the Americas.
    As the US slides further into deep statism the counter-democratic, plutocratic and surveillance style of the socio-political milieu is exposed in all its goony rawness.
    The Will Smith film «Enemy of the State», with updated AI, and for very real.
    Starmer lies down with flees.

73. Ruby Saturday

Rob
    I never once said Gaelic was not scottish, I said it was not the SINGLE scottish language and gave several other valid scottish languages spoken in other parts of the country.

You said ‘Gaelic has nothing to do with being scottish.’

I think you deserve the nick-name ‘Rob Gaelic isn’t Scottish’

Actually I’ll make it ‘English Rob’ & you can make a matching set with ‘English Ellis’

https://wingsoverscotland.com/your-enemys-enemies/#comment-2875296

74. Ruby Friday

Rob
    “Two years is a long time for parties to muck up. Remember Starmer hasn’t told us what a women is and if ‘women’ will be called up.”

Sorry not a clue what you are on about and how it relates to my posts? To be fair though you cannot have equality both ways, if you want equal rights then you will also have to go and fight. I’ll wave you goodbye when you do as I am too old to get called up these days

Well English Rob you said
    Any talk of a resurgence in indy support without some huge change in the political landscape is simply howling at the moon and then burying your head in the sand because you don’t like the echoes.

I pointed out that conscription was likely to be a huge change for Labour & your precious Union.

I’ve noted your view of ‘women’. It’s not unusual on this site.

You are too old so you don’t care about young men & women going off to war to be killed.

The choice seems to be for these young conscripts is either to kill or to die.

Both pretty horrendous prospects and for what?

All for king & country and keeping the arms industry solvent.

PS Sure this site is for putting you views across and it’s also for other to contradict your views.

75. Northcode

She does seem to linger.

She’s the one, the one who had the Midas touch. A spider’s touch. Her cold finger beckoned us to enter her web of sin, but we didn’t go in (well, most of us).

Golden words she did pour in our ear, but her lies couldn’t disguise what we fear. For hopeful Scots knew when she kissed them; it’s the kiss of death from Mistress Coldfinger.

Hopeful Scots beware this ‘heart of gold’ – this heart is cold.

She loves only gold. Only gold. She loves gold

Does she love Scotland and the Scots? Naw, she disnae.

She loves only gold – and possibly other shiny things; baubles and trinkets and such.

And money and attention and…who knows what else?

Mistress Coldfinger disnae love Scotland, though. In fact, she gied Scotland the finger – and it wisnae a gold finger either.

76. Ronnie McNeill

Please don’t forget Robertson’s contribution tae ah this mayhem!

77. Ruby Friday

https://tinyurl.com/33ha3rjm
    New Yorker’s Lucy Letby story highlights deficient contempt law

The crunch point for the UK media is that if what The New Yorker published was in contempt of criminal proceedings in England, should the magazine be let off the hook purely because it is American?

In the meantime, US editors have the upper hand.

This all applies to England in Scotland we have the totally crazy hate crime monster whereby the New Yorker magazine could be charged for hurting someone’s feelings.

I haven’t been following the Lucy Letby case it turns out she was re-tried on 2nd July and found guilty.

The story of the New Yorker article’s contempt of court is still ongoing.

The magazine is part of the Condé Nast publishing empire, which has a London office. But the attorney-general, Victoria Prentis KC, would presumably have qualms about hauling an executive that had nothing to do with publishing the article before a judge. That leaves the possibility of a fine if the publication were found to be in contempt, but the amount would be unlikely to hurt the publisher much.

78. Stoker

Ally says on 11 July 2024 at 3:33 pm:

Not so sure many of them will, Ally. One thing i am very sure of is, just watch the names of the Westminster rejects all popping up in the SNP lists for Holyrood 2026. Having been denied their usual place at the Westminster trough they’ll seek, and get, a place at the lesser bountiful Holyrood trough. Pigs are excellent scavengers and that lot will not be denied their truffles.

79. sam

@Ruby

I don’t know much about Lucy Letby’s case. I have seen it suggested somewhere I can’t remember that it is a cover up.

The NHS in England has had so many disasters caused by negligence, underfunding and understaffing that the automatic reflex is to try to find a scapegoat.

Irrespective of SNP incompetence in some areas, grrrr, our NHS performs much better in most areas than in England.Privatisation of the NHS is going to be big.

Rob is ignoring the correction I offered him. That Gaelic was spoken across all of Scotland except for small areas in the East from the 9th century until well into the 11th century.

80. Stoker

Further to my comment at 11:39 am to Ally. I stated Holyrood 2026 but those ousted from Westminster may get Swinney to call an early election. But then again, would they want to risk a second severe kicking so soon after the Westminster one? I doubt it but it is a slim possibility.

81. Oneliner

‘Please don’t forget Robertson’s contribution tae ah this mayhem!’

Indeed. When it comes to the SNP constitution, Robertson is saboteur in chief.

82. Sven

Stoker @ 11.44.

Maybe I’m a bit sceptical, Stokes, however I’m guessing that the nearest we’ll ever view to a unanimous vote in Holyweird would be the largest party in it, “The Combined Troughers” uniting to ensure they get the maximum time possible (already extended from 4 to 5 years) gorging at the salaries, expenses, pensions and publicly subsidised fine wining and dining.

83. TURABDIN

THIS is a must read regarding the aspirations of the contemporary political class, if you’re not already wise on the case.
    https://thecritic.co.uk/britain-is-not-for-sale/
    In her small beer way Sturgeon plays this game.
    Starmer & Sturgeon, Blair and Sunak much prefer to hang at cool Davos man.

84. Anton Decadent

One for the playlist, The Midas Touch (Hell Interface Remix).

85. lothianlad

As A brit nat working for the brit shite establishmnent, she will be pleased with her work!!!

86. Ruby Friday

@sam
    I don’t know much about Lucy Letby’s case. I have seen it suggested somewhere I can’t remember that it is a cover up.

Maybe in The New Yorker?

87. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Derek.

More my timeframe…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a9P_Zd5qTJA

88. Rob

Ruby, not much point discussing things with you as you always expand and twist everything that is said to absurdity to suit your own agenda. I hope you are comfortable in your little fluffy world there and send me a postcard from the front when you get there….
    You can call me anything you want, makes no odds to me, as you know the old saying goes don’t you, sticks and stones and all that.

89. Rob

“sam
    Ignored says:
    12 July, 2024 at 11:43

Rob is ignoring the correction I offered him. That Gaelic was spoken across all of Scotland except for small areas in the East from the 9th century until well into the 11th century.”

Sam, even looking for it I can’t find any “correction” Nevertheless nobody is denying that gaelic was more widely spoken in the past, but so was french, danish and many other germanic languages across large parts of the country. To force gaelic onto areas of the country as “the national language” is trying to wipe out other languages and cultures that are just as old and have just as much claim to be the “national Language as gaelic does. The culture of these areas is not gaelic and hasn’t been since long long before the Union, some of it predates the founding of both Scotland and England as nations.
    My traditional language is Auld Scots and would anybody deny Burns wrote in that culture, or is he not scots too?

90. Alf Baird

Mia @ 8:25 am

“You really have to wonder what the hell is going on here.”

Criminal conduct may be ‘authorised’ according to the Covert Human Intelligence Sources (Criminal Conduct) Act 2021, where:

“(5) A criminal conduct authorisation is necessary on grounds falling within this subsection if it is necessary—
    (a) in the interests of national security;
    or
    (c) in the interests of the economic well-being of the United
    Kingdom.”

https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2021/4/pdfs/ukpga_20210004_en.pdf

91. Alf Baird

Rob @ 2:01 pm

“The culture of these areas is not gaelic and hasn’t been since long long before the Union, some of it predates the founding of both Scotland and England as nations.”

Yes, state legislation and public funding bias toward Gaelic as supposedly Scotland’s ‘only’ indigenous language whilst continuing to marginalise and denigrate oor ain Scots language that is still spoken by most Scots, the latter giving most of us our identity and national consciousness, would appear to be a classic colonial divide and rule policy. Fowk hiv a richt tae thair ain mither tongue.

https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2021/07/04/paper-two-the-determinants-of-independence/

92. cirsium

@Alf Baird, 12 July 2:05pm

Thanks for that reminder, Alf. In the light of this, I’d go for

“Or is this just part of the establishment’s strategy to prepare the public for a complete and unadulterated whitewash of the ongoing cases these individuals are involved in?” from Mia’s comment at 8:25am

93. James Che

Alf Baird,

I am a bit confused over Great Britain and the united kingdom as parliament and politicians often refer to England as Great Britain, when they hash on about the economy and bank of England and interest rates,

Tongue in cheek, do you think the Covert intelligence is going to track them down and imprison all those members of parliament and all those degenerating England’s governance of England and Wales, during the election camphaign,

You don’t have to answer that Alf.

94. BLMac

@Rob “My traditional language is Auld Scots and would anybody deny Burns wrote in that culture, or is he not scots too?”

I agree with your sentiment, Scots should be available on the language syllabus at schools and not regarded as ‘slang’, but I also remember the vicious means used to suppress Gaelic.

Your observation raises what is the real problem with our independence movement, Scotland is actually 2 countries, and possibly 3.

95. Rob

I did not suggest that gaelic should be supressed, just questioned the position that it was the only indigenous scottish language ahead of others.
    My tradional languange is auld scots and that of south west scotland, not gaelic. Where i live now it is traditionally Danish or Norse yet gaelic is the only one funded and the road signs are all in english/gaelic even when nobody in the area speaks it!

96. sam

@BLMac

Scots language is taught in schools.

The Scots Language Award provides opportunities for learners to study the history and development of the Scots language. It also helps learners develop their ability to understand Scots and communicate in the Scots language.

This Award is available at SCQF levels 3, 4, 5 and 6.

The 2022 Census shows increases, from low bases, of both Gaelic and Scots language speakers in Scotland.

From the Census 2022.

“Scotland’s Census found that 2.5% of people aged 3 and over had some skills in Gaelic in 2022. This is an increase of 43,100 people since 2011 when 1.7% had some skills in Gaelic. In 2001 1.9% had some Gaelic skills, similar to 2011.

In Na h-Eileanan Siar the majority had some Gaelic skills (57.2%). This was far higher than the next highest council areas, Highland (8.1%) and Argyll and Bute (6.2%). In all other council areas less than 3% of people aged 3 and over had some Gaelic skills.”

And Scots.

“The percentage of people aged 3 and over with some skills in Scots also increased, to 46.2% in 2022 from 37.7% in 2011. The percentage with Scots skills was higher in the north east of Scotland. Aberdeenshire had the highest percentage with some Scots skills (64.1%) and Na h-Eileanan Siar had the lowest (30.7%).”

the Scottish Social Attitudes survey say that 89% of Scots surveyed think that children should learn a language other than English. Most support is for learning a Western European language

97. Campbell Clansman

Sam, the 2022 survey you cite also found that more people speak Polish or Urdu at home than they do “Scots.”

For better or worse, Gaelic is more or less defunct, and “Scots-only” households (I’m ignoring the vague “some skills in Scots” designation) are a tiny percentage of the country.

98. Alf Baird

sam @ 4:29 pm

“Scots language is taught in schools.”

No tae me it wisnae, or tae ma bairns, nor ma grandbairns either. That’s the last 60+ years covered.

Whaur did you go tae the schuil? Whit Scots wirds did ye lairn thair, apairt fae a few lines o Burns aince a year?

There is still yet no Scots Language Higher or Degree, both of which the state provides and supports for Gaelic Language. Gaelic also has full national language authority, a college, a TV channel, a national authority, and an Act of Parliament, and annual funding. Scots language does not have any this.

The colonizer kens fine if a language isnae taught it will be lost. That is clearly the state policy.

99. Ruby Saturday

Why does the Scots language not get any funding?
    What excuse is given?

I find it hard to accept that the coliniser is happy to fund Gaelic but not Scots.

Gaelic isn’t taught in schools either.
    However the teachers I had at school taught us to sing in Gaelic. I don’t think they were allowed to teach Gaelic but singing seemed to be OK.

Maybe the excuse was that we were practising to go to the Mod.

Do Scots speakers have anything like the Mod?

Everyone seems a bit bitter about Gaelic.

100. sam

What has changed?

PDF file: Scots Language in Curriculum for Excellence (93 KB)

101. David Hannah

It’s the kiss of death. For Mr Goldfinger!

Beckons you to enter HER web of sin!

But don’t go in!

102. Wee Chid

To be fair, Swinney came to Dumfries and had the same effect.

103. sean

She’s clearly not skint, looks like takeaway every night… perhaps she trying to get rid of the £600k

104. Alf Baird

sam @ 6:24 pm

“Scots Language in Curriculum for Excellence”

This is a meaningless afterthought. The reality is
    there is still no required teaching of Scots language in Scottish primary schools, no Higher in Scots Language, no Degree in Scots Language, and therefore no serious education policy for Scots Language.

105. Derek

Hi Brian,

Prog-tastic!

You’ll like this. I like Carl Palmer’s left hand roll…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CLhSr_b4Bb0

106. Ruby Saturday

There is no requirement to teach Gaelic in primary schools if there were people would go mad. Look at the reaction to Gaelic road signs.

If there were a requirement to teach Scots in primary schools it would have to be restricted to only certain areas and it would probably be treated in the same way as Gaelic. What a waste of money! Dead language! Very few people speak Scots! It’s just slang!

Due to multi-culturalism there is probably less chance of Scots ever being taught in primary schools due to the need to teach English as a foreign language and a possible demand from immigrants to teach their children their mother tongue.

107. Peter Alexander Bell

Labouring the point?

108. Northcode

A wis taucht Scots hit schuil. A wis taucht thait if a spak hit a wid git a scud tae ma heid or the tawse tae ma hauns.

Sae, naiturally, a didnae spaikit Scots hit the schuil fer lang; no afore techeours or maisters onywey.

An some techeours didnae hauf pit ther herts intae whippin us weans haurd ower wir hauns an airms, aye an wir legs tae, wi laither straps.

Ye hiv tae wunner whit wis wrang in the heids o sic folk thit thay wid awfu abuise wee bairns.

A howp thay thocht it wirth it nou ther aw burnin in Hell.

109. sam

Google this: The Scots Language by an English Polyglot

110. sam

Google this

We’r Needin tae Talk Aboot Wir Language | Michael Dempster |

111. McDuff

The poison chalice.
    Well presented Rev.

112. John McGregor

I thought the 1st pic headline said Vote Kirsten to EAT the tories

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,621 Posts, 1,195,158 Comments

• RSS Wings Over Scotland