Stronger for Scotland
Posted on
May 07, 2015 by
Rev. Stuart Campbell
Cheers Rev, I’m up, dressed and ready, have a good day everyone!
Excellent, as soon as I saw the original photo I thought it should be a poster or in a book. Now see it on T-shirts.
Difficult to define but it just somehow summed up so much about the people in the campaign.
Aye – we need to know her name!!
Is this yours, Stu? Beautiful!
That photograph fairly defines not just the election or the referendum, but Scotland’s recent history.
The future is always in our children. We need to ensure our children are brought up to believe in what is right, what is just, what is fair. Give them the best start in life possible so they can live and thrive in an independent Scotland.
Thank you to the person who took that photograph. You did very well.
Don’t let me down today Scotland. Come on!
get out and vote then you can comment on what is done in your name until the next election
Brilliant – thanks for everything Rev Stu.
You are one of the main reasons we are able to take on the MSM and BBC – And Win!
O/T but curious. Up for the vote and hear on R4 that the volatile oil price is on its way back up again – expected trading range is ^0-70. How timely!
I loved that pic when I first saw it. Need to make that into a t-shirt with Hope over Fear underneath it
Cameron in a Rangers top? I thought he supported West Villa or was it Aston Ham? I thing he’s a bit of a glory hunter.
Take heart
link to t.co
Off to use a hammer then a smile – have a good day everyone xx
Brilliant. Really sums up the mood.
Thanks Rev! And Good Luck????????
The Past and the Future
Hope over Fear
Pins and needles. Let’s do it.
All ready been and done it.
The ladies in the polling place insisted that I unfold the bike where they could watch it this time.
Do it for yourself, do it for your family, do it for your children, do it for our Scotland.. 🙂
I like the fact that the ‘Rangers’ top was retained for Cameron.
Looking forward to casting my vote later. I don’t think I’ll weep as I leave the polling station, like I did in September, but it will feel damn good.
The promise of Home Rule for Scotland. Broken by the Tories, Libdems and more so the Labour Party.
link to youtu.be
The ONLY way to achieve this is to vote for the SNP today.
Hahaha Rev. Bring it on. Hell yeah!
Just coming round in my pit. As soon as I can haul my aged bones downstairs I’ll have a cup of instant, a glass of orange juice and a banana. Then off to vote. Hope they’ll let me in in my pyjamas.
Inspired and raring to go.
This is a small part of (Scotland) what we are fighting to hold on to, as an example to protect from Fracking.
Please go out today and vote for the SNP.
link to youtu.be
Good luck today Scotland, from sunny France! Well done to all of you who have worked so hard. I hope for great celebrations tonight and through the sma’ hours, and maybe soon I will find a way back home.
Is this your Official Declaration?
Have a good one all. Off to vote for Deirdre Brock in Edinburgh North and Leith 🙂
A picture paints a thousand words,perfect.
That’s about right. 🙂
The future is bright – its a bonnie wee lassie.
The photograph sets out the options for Scotland very clearly. One can but hope Scot’s will refuse to be intimidated this time.
link to caltonjock.com
@ Rev.
Naw, I prefer the original two muppets,the photo has lost its impact.
Lovely sunny morning here in the Mearns.
Polling Station fairly busy at 7.05am.
Just voted – Stuart Donaldson SNP for West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine X.
Enjoy the day everyone.
Off to vote in Dr Philippa Whitford.
Rev – brilliant bit of Photoshopping, but, the Rangers Tribute Act, like the old Rangers, does not do Austerity.
@thewaterbeastie says: 7 May, 2015 at 7:08 am:
“Aye – we need to know her name!!”
Her Mum posted her name. Track back to the original topic as some of us replied to say thanks to both Mum & Daughter.
Thanks everyone (esp. Stu) for keeping me sane since the last polling day!
Hope you all have a good day, and a great night 😉
Carpe Diem! Come on Scotland, we can do this. Good Luck everyone.
Thanks for all your hard work Stu! Wings is priceless.
Like many on here I have been canvassing for weeks, I’m worn out, and today I’m very nervous and excited!
Our MP is Charles Kennedy it isn’t possible to get a more self-serving MP typical of unionist MPs throughout Scotland
Let’s get these guys out of office and turn Scotland yellow!
Wings can you please unblock me on twitter?? RedToriesOut@YesAlliance59
Why have you blocked me??
Right, off to rock the establishment to its very core.
Enjoy the day.
Brilliant! Dave and Ed see the future. Hope Over Fear!
Aye, good luck Scotland. You know what needs to be done. Put this day into the history books! 🙂
I’m begging my fellow scots, please,please do the right thing today, cannot stand another Black Friday.
Up and at em! Just voted for Stuart Donaldson in West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine. Just the buckets to pit oot. Cup of Lapsang and a rowie and jam and that’s me set for the day. Alarm already set for 3am tomorrow when I’ll probably have a single malt for breakfast.
Ronnie @ 7.50
I have to say Im with you on that Ronnie.
Wee folding bike (nice to see you again)
“The ladies in the polling place insisted that I unfold the bike where they could watch it this time.”
Why what did it do the last time?
up to no good I expect.
I voted for Angus Robertson by postal vote, I’ll be making sure that the wife and her two daughters do exactly the same thing at some point today.
The hard work is nearly over, let’s hope it pays off bigtime!!
Well if the last 6 months polling comes to fruition today will be the day when Dorothy finally pulls back the curtains to expose these unionist parties for what they are and Scotland will open its eyes at last.
Yon guid sang brocht tears intil ae bodachs e’en.
(Owersettin intil the Inglis).
“That good song brought tears to one old man’s eyes.”
Anyone see the Times are promoting the North Korean option.
link to thetimes.co.uk
25+ so disappointing
40+ more than acceptable, amazing really…
50+ Bloody Brilliant!!!!!!!!!!
50+ is the figure that matters – it’s the only one that history will remember and will stick in the minds of the powers that be.
Thank you WOS.
Love that picture from Greenock isn’t it. Bet there are some proud parents and grand parents looking at it.
Brilliant – Rev Stu and thanks for all your hard work.
Without you we would have never been able to take on the MSM and BBC – and WIn!
Off to vote for my country’s future and this time my vote will count.
I’d love to see the National doing an article on this photo.
It is the image of the campaign for me. It captures everything that our campaign is about, hope, aspiration, courage & a better future for our kids.
The creativity which has been applied to it is amazing as well, there’s a really good ‘take’ on ‘Les Miserables’ – ‘Les Espoirs’ which, if my Google translate skills are correct, translates as ‘The Hope’
If anyone has any doubt why they are voting SNP today then all I can say is vote for ‘The Hope’, vote for a better future for this brave wee lassie.
And all our children.
Rev, I know in the days following the referendum that you opined about the future of Wings over Scotland. There is no doubt it found it’s place, and I join others to say thank you.
Well I was up at stupid O’Clock had a cuppa, and went and did my duty……Now the waiting begins……
I concur paul gerard mccormack.
It is amazing to think given where we are jut now that getting “only” 30 seats would be considered a defeat.
To quote a line from the BBC website:
“The BBC, like other broadcasters, is restricted to reporting only factual accounts of the election in line with polling day rules.”*
If they can only report “factual accounts” today, what do they do the rest of the time?
*http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-32509258
[…] Stronger for Scotland […]
Today we either decide to stand up and vote SNP to improve our children’s future, or we stay down and let Westminster and the UK media continue to destroy our country.
If we don’t try and protect Scotland, who will?
Is it my imagination or is Miliband holding a massive pair of Union Jack Y Fronts?
Great statement, but I wouldn’t wear the Apron on a t-shurt.
As much as anything I think this picture will come to illustrate a defining moment for this wee northern nation of ours.
Truly iconic.
IPSO exonerates itself and dismisses complaints about Hopkins “cockroaches” slur.
link to rt.com
Thanks to Stu and all at Wings.
” Here’s Tae Us;Wha’s Like Us!”
Come on Scotland.
We’ve had the feeble fifty.
Let’s now have the formidable fifty.
Off to vote for Kirsten Oswald in East Ren.
With Ronnie too!
Just voted for Neil Hay.
Inspired Stu, brilliant.
I want my voice to be heard in Westminster and now’s my chance by voting SNP. My constituency has always been Labour. But today a page in Scotland’s history will surely turn.
May all of Scotland be represented by the SNP – the ONLY party which will truly represent Scotland and NOT the Union.
Generations of Scots have been fooled by the name ‘Scottish Labour’ into believing that Labour would stand for Scotland against the Unionist Establishment. Now we know they are part of the Establishment, sleeping in the same bed as the Tories and LibDems.
Who will you choose to sleep with today?
Fantastic image that’s got me all welled up!
The wind of change has blown through Scotland and reached hurricane force today. Now we all need to Get Out the Vote for the SNP.
I’m heading out to vote for Tasmina in Ochil and South Perthshire. Go Tas!
We are making history today and Angus Robertson the campaign manager has outwitted them all, well done that man!
Good Morning Wingers
Today is finally here. This time we have a huge lead in the polls. This time we have a voice that will shake WM to the core.
Good luck and best wishes to all of you and a huge thanks to Stuart and the team for keeping us together and keeping us informed. And to all the commenters for keeping us right, sane and calmed doon.
I have a few folk to take to the polls today. Son on driving duty till polls close.
Try and get one person to vote with you folks. Each visit doubles our vote.
Go Scotland Go Wingers and Go SNP .
🙂 The bells are tolling for the unionists parties in Scotland. lets make it a wipe out. 🙂
Off to place the saltire next to the box marked hope.
Brian
Scotland the brave…..Let the 45% become 90
Let the future begin to-day.
Good luck !!
REV—the dailymash is epic today-you will love it
p.s.–will you have an election thread on here tonight?
link to thedailymash.co.uk
Robertson, Reid, Foulkes, Wilson, Davidson, Liddell, Murphy et al
” Lets batter it right intae them ” Scotland !!!
Todays the day, brothers and sisters all !!
Is it just me, but I always think the guy in the middle is holding up an emormous pair of union jack underpants — which makes him look even more of a numpty than he already is!
Lovely day in the Central belt, so hope that helps the turnout.
Feeling nervous, but hoping today will be memorable for the right reasons. It’s simply incredible where we are compared to last year, we really did have to get off our knees, and dry our eyes.
SNP and their support have worked tirelessly, and we can be proud. Also proud of all the non SNP support working to change our country in lots of different ways.
A though for all the doubters.
“le désespoir est une insulte à l’avenir”
Again – brilliant photo – the wee lass sums it up.
Away out for more canvassing and getting the vote out but just heard on LBC radio a so-called historian speaking on VE day say that if Hitler’s invasion of UK was successful “Scotland would have got independence”. WTF – Hitler as liberator? Don’t make me laugh. Just another sad attempt by the MSM painting us as Nazi sympathisers. But just remember MSM it’s us Scots who are rejecting welfare and disability cuts – and we all know what Hitler did to the disabaled. So look to the Tory party when linking Hitler with anybody. It’s also a gross insult to all Scots who died fighting Hitler and the fascists.
Come on Scotland – and all who live here whatever your colour, class, race, nationality or creed. A better Scotland is possible
Off to vote to make Scotland’s voice stronger in Westminster. As Argyll is the last place to declare we won’t know until lunchtime tomorrow if we’ve managed to win back the seat from the Lib Dems. How great will it be if the last seat declared in Scotland is for the party who have Scotland’s best interests at heart. Hopefully, it will be a final slap in the face for those who think we should get to the back of the bus and eat our cereal.
The wee girl’s name is Ciara; her mother’s name is Stephanie and posts on Twitter (I know her address but not sure if it is ok to post on here, even though I do not think Stephanie would mind!).
An iconic image for a(n) historic day. Have a good one everybody.
Just voted in Culloden.
Did my bit in getting rid of Danny Alexander.
Come on Scotland!
A wee thought for my Labour friends
“Ask not for whom the bell tolls….. it tolls for thee”
Bye Bye.
Am awa tae vote in Drew Hendry.
Good luck all. We’ll be voting later today for Neil Hay and to kick out that pie-faced loon Ian Murray. Looking forqard to surfing the tidal wave of condensed milk and shortbread that will herald the #Jockalypse.
Voting for Tommy Sheppard along with my wife and dad in Edinburgh East after work.Hopefully this weather is a good omen. Remember the horrible dreich day on the 18th that was foreboding and probably a portent at what was to transpire? Think this will be a great day. I can feel it!
@ terry
ah yes, Hitler, that great liberator of small nations – Austria, Chezchoslovakia, Norway, Denmark, Netherlands, Belguim…
I wonder what the wee lass is saying?
Anyone got a suggestion?
Ahhh Shit !!
Just realised we overlooked the 80,000 new Tory supporters wee ‘Ruthie the moothie’ was boasting about …. Pppppfffftttt.
Sorry couldn’t resist bringing up that guff again.
Can’t let her forget this surely.
Deerie Me, it’s going to be a long day. Tick Tock Maybe I will go and watch some paint dry, the grass growing, or bread rising. Many thanks to Rev dot Stu et al for all the hard work. But the hardest part may yet to come. If, as is possible, the SNP have a significant input at the hoose by the Thames, there will be a torrent of abuse, lies and misinformation forthcoming from the usual sources.
This image is destined to play an important part in Scotland’s struggle for Independence.
Who would have guessed that a little girl would display the confidence and bravery that any nation’s voters need to gain Independence.
Looking at her, I hope many will feel regret, but then feel inspired to be like her.
Morning all,
I just had an email from an English friend living in New Zealand who says that the vote will cause a few upsets particularly in Scotland.
Damn Right 🙂
I will be doing my stint at the polling station later after of course casting my vote for Owen Thompson SNP Midlothian 🙂
Good Luck everyone.
@Kenny says: 7 May, 2015 at 9:07 am:
“The wee girl’s name is Ciara; her mother’s name is Stephanie and posts on Twitter (I know her address but not sure if it is ok to post on here, even though I do not think Stephanie would mind!).
Do not, under any circumstance, post anyone’s address on a open forum.
The original photo shows a guy who is a well known nutjob Who has already been in trouble.
That song by the national collective… Wow, just Wow and a wee tear.
Today will be momentous, if as I believe we make history the coming weeks will be “absolute chaos”.
Stock up on Popcorn!
Nice one.
Due to life’s war wounds, I’m currently folded like a knife. Does anyone know if Edinbugh Central’s vote will be on a knife-edge?
I have cast my vote for Stuart McDonald and sincerely hope that enough others do to see the back of McClymont who never did anything good for his constituency in the last 5 years.
Its a waiting game now until the count.
Flown in from Hong Kong and off to vote for Deirdre Block. There ain’t no ocean wide enough…
Come on Scotland!
Aye it ‘s Election Day in Scotland…….Kye Adams has just told us that she is not allowed to talk about politics…….but that’s not going to stop the station talking about V.E. Day…….Already we’ve heard a transcript of news from that day….plus the radio speech made by the King…….Later on Kaye’s got a phone in lined up for us. She want’s our memories of V.E. day………….. Aye they can’t talk about politics but can try and influence listeners to vote for a Unionist party by evoking memories of Britains greatest Day…….As Alan Bissett said “Vote Britain”
@ Clydebuilt
Do they honestly think that is not political? Do they think we don’t know it is political?
Well, here we go folks.
Best of luck to all our SNP candidates. Let’s hope we shake Westminster to its core.
@Petra
Wonderful video – Mrs XSticks and I are booked to go on one of their flights at the beginning of June. My 60th birthday present to myself 😀
Going off to vote and then to help out Gavin Newlands in Paisley North.
Forward Scotland and the S.N.P.
Thanks very much to Rev. Stu and the Wingers team and contibutors to this site. I hope there is a liebore wipeout.
You gave me hope that there was a chance for Scotland post indy, opened my eyes to the fact others believed still and had not given up. If we win big today, this is just the start.
Hopefully it’s enough. Enough to keep me still believing that we can have a better future for Scotland.
Thank you and good luck.
@ John King
@ Macandroid
Don’t start agreeing with me or weil awe end up in the funny farm the Jocks Ward lol.
Onwards N Upwards People we’ve done as much as we could do & our best resource WOS will still be at the forefront.
All the Bestest to US Lads N Lassie’s.
Nice to see WoS get a mention in the National about the poll commissioned by this website.
Good luck guys, let’s hope and pray the times they are indeed a-changing!
Good luck today everyone. Go out & vote SNP for the future of your country & its people 🙂
Wonder if Fundilly is at the care homes in Renfrew East scaring the auld yins?!
This is quite an emotive photograph which sums up not only the election run up, but also the referendum and the last few years for Scotland. It sums up Scotland right now – we may be wee but we are strong in our belief.
It’s a simple fact that children are our future and we need to ensure they are brought up understanding fairness, justice and “doing the right thing”. We need to lay the groundwork for them to thrive, and in the future independent Scotland, thrive they will.
I just want to thank the person who took this photograph – it is iconic and you are appreciated not just by myself, but by so many more across Scotland and the world. A bottle of 30 year old Lagavulin awaits.
I’d typed and sent this earlier, but had put “Free Scotland” in Gaelic at the bottom, so the filter stopped it. It’s going to take more than a filter to stop Scotland being heard today.
@terry
No, the historian was right.
Hitler did plan in braking up the United Kingdom in the event of occupation. Not as a ‘liberator’ (it’s down to your opinion whether that would be liberation anyway) but to make Britain weak.
“Some Nazi planners envisaged the institution of a nationalities policy in Western Europe to secure German hegemony there, which entailed the granting of independence to various regions. In the British Isles this involved detaching Scotland from the United Kingdom, the creation of a United Ireland, and an autonomous status for Western England.[96]”
From link to en.m.wikipedia.org
Thank goodness for the solidarity of the UK in those dangerous hours.
My Father who’s a pensioner got a call last night from his local labour councillor asking him “if there was a straight choice between Tory or Labour who would he vote for?”
“Labour!” he said
“So can I ask that you’ll be voting Labour at the General Election sir?”
“No!” He said “I’m voting SNP!”
Just think today would not have mattered one iota if we had won. Och well,still it’s the wind of change at least.
The picture reminded me of the message conveyed by the Bellacaledonia competition poster. The little butterfly with saltire markings rising up to join the other butterflies with national colours.It is amazing how well a simple picture can express hope and aspiration.
…this time Scotland, this time.
Let’s do this!
@Clydebuilt,
Surely given the referendum, we know that unionist triumphalism IS political.Why am I not surprised.
Tick tock tick tock then effin loud wake up call 7am friday with the sound of the Scots invading west minister. Cannae wait.
Well my vote is in Brendan ‘o Hara Argyll n Bute… I was called a nationalist c*nt by 2 people that saw my SNP wrist bands to which I replied “that’s 2 useful things I am then” lmao FYU!
Goan yursel Kirsten Oswald wipe the smile fae Smurps face
The sun shine today is hopefully a sign of a brighter future.
Some light Hebridean entertainment ….
link to m.youtube.com
Voted first thing this morning – fingers crossed that we can turn the support into seats.
Love the picture – that would make a cracking T shirt if Stephanie is OK with the idea.
@Clydebuilt,
Given what happened during the referendum, how can Unionist triumphalism not be seen as ‘Political’.
Not surprised…..
Let’s press that reset button for politics that Gordy Brown tried.
It didn’t work for him, but that’s cos he is a fud and hit it way the clunking fist.
Hope it works for us.
All the best to all SNP candidates today.
I’ll do my bit for Roger Mullin in Broony’s old patch. He has a good chance.
Cheers Rev and all on Wings.
Vote SNP get Scotland!
Two votes from our house for George Kerevan in East Lothian.
Boxes crossed, fingers crossed.
Voted for John Nicolson in East Dunbartonshire. Was close though, the Daily Express urging me to vote UKIP nearly turned me..
Yoda
Thank goodness for the solidarity of the UK in those dangerous hours.
Aren’t you perhaps forgetting the input from our allies? What about that from Stalinist Russia? What’s your point? Are you suggesting an already independent Scottish nation would have supported Hitler?
I can just hear a chorus from Dave and Ed
“Back lads, they’re using Scottish Bluebells”
Robert
“I wonder what the wee lass is saying?
Anyone got a suggestion?”
Yes
“A wunder whit that bad smell is in ma nostrils?”
Wonderful image Rev.Funny how some of the most iconic images of Scotland ‘s recent blossoming have been of women and children expressing quiet and indomitable courage.
So much for the malign stereotype of macho Scotland.
Thanks again Rev for your own courage and resilience . Alba gu brath!
Are you all aware that the Union Jack is not a registered flag and cannot be as it does not represent a country? Whereas the national flags of Scotland , England and Wales are register flags because they do represent their countries.
The SNP and UKIP have a LOT in common.
Not their actual policies, of course SNP is left wing and UKIP right wing.
But think – both want their nation out of a union; both use nationalism to drum up support; both blame all the ills of society on the ‘establishment’; both believe there is a BBC conspiracy against them.
At least the SNP are not racists. But both parties are nationalists and that’s bad enough for me.
Come on the tactical voters, let’s show that SNP is not Scotland, that we will not stand for their divisive nationalism, and that above all we wish for a truly United Kingdom.
Cameron-probably,we are all Nazis according to them.
My contribution to help keep spirits high, and if it makes you weep, well, enjoy the emotion:
link to grousebeater.wordpress.com
Here’s to an election that actually benefits Scotland for a change!
Thanks to you Rev for all your fantastic work and to all Wingers for their brilliant, funny and knowledgeable posts.
Now the wife and I off to vote for Douglas Chapman SNP – Dunfermline and West Fife. Good luck to everyone and let’s hope for over 45 seats!
@Yoda
British plans in the event of a German invasion in WWll was to withdraw to Hadrians wall to the North and thus save the green and pleasant land. It is selfish of the Jocks to misunderstand the greater good of better together.
Scotland was said to be “too difficult to defend”.
@yoda. The fight against Hitler was a fight against evil. In my opinion an independent Scotland would have been to the fore in this struggle. Therefore immaterial whether the UK was an entity at that time. There are some wars you cannot avoid ……there are many you can.
Every vote counts, so if you are an SNP member, I suggest you get involved in making calls to get the vote out. You should have received an email last night with the details.
I am worried about the Labour incumbants everywhere, all those who “we’ve always voted Labour in this hoose” and the young (heavy SNP voters) not getting out.
Good luck everyone, especially our super women Mhairi, Emma, Natalie and Kirsten Oswald who are taking on the four beasts of the butcher’s apron! Go girls!!!
“A labour activist almost lost a finger when he was bitten by a dog while putting an election leaflet through a letterbox.”
Will Nicola Sturgeon be forced to apologise for and condemn the behavour of the dog as it must be an SNP supporter?
Vote cast. Natalie McGarray Glasgow East. Goodbye ???? Margaret Curran, don’t let the door hit yer arse on the way oot!
” katherine hamilton says:
7 May, 2015 at 9:11 am
A wee thought for my Labour friends
“Ask not for whom the bell tolls….. it tolls for thee”
Bye Bye.”
To our Unionist friends:
It’s a beautiful day. Wake up and smell the flowers. (There’s also coffee.)
Thanks Stu, and to everyone at Wings.
After all the months of work, I was worried we wouldn’t get here without something horrible derailing all of our efforts. I was half expecting the right wing press to invent some scandal or violent encounter.
But we made it. And the sun is shining.
SNP are winning
UKIP are losing
26 Millions Russians died in 11WW. 1 in 6. The Russians protected the West
@ Jim
I think we can rely on her to suspend that dog, or very possibly expel it.
The Jedi order (fiction or not) is also part of the endless war, using swords and sorcery instead of reason..
Bringing conflict to innocent corners of society.
Wizards and emperors… Get a grip.. Yoda is the new Jimmy Saville.. Popular once but the kids see through your self perpetuating lies. The force is now with us..
Know something, I don’t think you need the two guys in the fottie! Just the wee lassie herself wid dae fir me.
@CameronB Brodie says: 7 May, 2015 at 9:32 am:
“Due to life’s war wounds, I’m currently folded like a knife.
You are not alone. I’m already on a course of treatment and during the recent heavy rain had a leak start on my bedroom ceiling. I knew what caused it, (a blocked gutter round a chimney).
I had no option but get quickly on the roof and clear it. So driven by adrenalin I got on the roof and cleared the obstruction. It only took a minute but stopped the ceiling coming down.
Then out with the wet & dry VAX and sucked up the water from the carpet and dried out the bedroom unit that copped it too.
Then the adrenalin ran out and the neck, back, shoulders and knee started to throb. Now I’m not able to either straighten up or lie flat. Sleeping in the big chair with pillows propping up the stressed bits.
Had taken the precaution of a PV so have voted but feel as if I’ve let folks down by being stuck in the house.
Robert Peffers: I meant Stephanie’s Twitter address (@….).
Re Hitler, war: Before he occupied France and Low Countries, Hitler invaded Norway and Denmark. It was thought then an attack on the UK might come from there. Churchill planned, in such an eventuality, to abandon Scotland (and the north of England) to better focus on saving the south!
Go back to WWI, Scots suffered most casualties per head of population out of all countries behind Serbia (which was in the war from day one, occupied and basically whole population had to flee south to Greek mountains).
On a day which is, in theory at least, about democracy in action, it is important to keep in mind, especially with a view to the 2016 Holyrood elections, that the voting system cobbled together by Unionists for Holyrood, is itself intrinsically and unsustainably anti-democratic.
Designed to ensure that the SNP would never gain overall control of the Scottish Parliament and thereby be given a constitutional path to Independence, this legislation must be repealed and replaced at the earliest opportunity.
A further example of the skewed nature of the Scottish system – consider that with a FOURTH place in the Constituency vote, and 1800 votes in the List, the current Leader of the Tory party in Scotland enjoys a measure of power and privilege out of all proportion to her electoral support. On looks alone, I am sure I could get 1800 votes nationally for my dog.
Democracy – so often, just a pig in a poke.
Yoda says:
Come on the tactical voters, let’s show that SNP is not Scotland, that we will not stand for their divisive nationalism, and that above all we wish for a truly United Kingdom.
______
I doubt many believe the SNP is Scotland; what they perhaps think, is that they are the only party that will truly stand up for this country, yes, Scotland is a country in it’s own right!
Labour, the conservatives and the Lib Dems in Scotland are just there to make up the numbers for their respective parties; they are not there in the best interests of the country they were elected in and would soon be slapped down, as Jim Murphy was, by the real Party leaders in England if they do not toe the party line.
That is the difference; the SNP have no one to answer to but the people of this absolutely fantastic wee country and let’s hope they march en masse into Westmister!
Yoda, you have a very childish view of what nationalism actually is. Just about every national liberation movement in history could be defined as nationalist — are you dismissing all them?
99% of the countries in the world that were once colonies realised their freedom from colonialism through nationalist parties and anyone that argues they done wrong is simply a fascist lunatic.
I’m not sure your name is very appropriate. it seems to me like the Daily Record or someone probably told you nationalism was bad and so here you are shouting “nationalism is bad”.
Hopefully, might be more iconic pics, as Stephanie has just tweeted before going to vote:
“Ciara has chosen to wear the same outfit she wore on Monday so (and I quote) ‘People will recognise me’. Flag as well.”
@manandboy
She’s just the plump side of cuddly. Your dog that is!
@ Pete the camera.
Is there no a female voice droning,
” Ah cannae get the matches tae light Jim”
@Yoda
Really ?
UKIP and the SNP have little in common other than being political parties.
As for divisive – its healthy to have different opinions on things, like bedroom taxes, sanctions on the poor, illegal wars, the need for state services as opposed to privatized cartels and monopolies.
Great job Rev yet again, Thanks from our hearts !
Yoda
“Come on the tactical voters”
What a negative, depressing and downright cynical outlook you must have.
As the Green Party in England said in one of there election broadcasts “the only wasted vote is a vote you don’t believe in”
Neither Labour nor Tory camp would tolerate a ‘plant’ in their debating circle. I know the arguments for allowing ‘plants’ like Yoda to be allowed free rein here, but I would advocate for a time limit. Damage control is not a bad idea.
Just back from voting, Only SNP people outside the polling station, no activists from any other party. Hope it stays that way !
I surely can’t be the only person today who feels extraordinary nervousness?
Please, Scotland, do what is right.
link to commentisntfree.com
Vote with your heads held high … then prepare for battle.
God … I have never been this tense on election day in my life.
Yoda says:
I think you might be in the wrong place, if you seriously mean to influence anyone. Perhaps you should reflect on this
“It is a mark of insincerity of purpose to spend one’s time in looking for the sacred Emperor in low-class teashops”
Ernest Bramah
I think you are a troll, really
Fiona says:
@ Jim
I think we can rely on her to suspend that dog, or very possibly expel it.
_____
SNP leader Nicola Sturgeon said the canine who took part in the biting had “crossed the line and had been threatened with a trip to the vets”.
On Monday, Ms Sturgeon condemned the biting but stressed it had “nothing to do with the SNP”.
Speaking on the BBC’s New Channel, the SNP leader said she “condemned any canine that behaves unacceptably”.
She added: “We will condemn and we will take action where that is appropriate because I will never, ever condone actions that I think fall short of the democratic standards we should all expect.”
The dog’s human stated, “details of the door stepping had been passed to him by a disillusioned member of the Labour Party in East Renfrewshire.
The dog categorically denied his human was a member of the SNP, although he had personally planned to get his human to vote for the party because of its call for increased public spending on meaty chunks in gravy.
Mr Murphy said the biting was evidence that the SNP was trying to disrupt the democratic process, while the labour activist condemned the “violent emotion” of the mutt.
Demonstrators interviewed by the BBC on Monday denied they were there on behalf of the SNP and the party said it had nothing to do with the protests.
I suggest we all sit on the face of the obnoxious sock puppet called ‘Yoda.’
If we want our country back don’t waste time being ‘nice’ to Scot haters and the pig ignorant.
It would be wonderful if u guys did not spend the day posting at Yoda
Chapter-uppers needed later on in most constituencies
Yoda,
Scotland was divided before the referendum its just we chose to talk about it.
Your kind hated us at Faslane, even locals spat at us: unionism eh!
We will leave this rancid union, its over.
“Nemo me impune lacessit”
Time for a history lesson Labour.
Cheesy pop but on radio this morning, BBC r4 unlistentoable and this gave me goose bumps.
Thanks for everything Wings over Scotland and good luck to everyone on here too.
Stronger for Scotland.
Robert Peffers
Commiserations. I was actually moochin’ for a lift, but I must have been a bit too subtle. 😉
Anyhoo, I’ll away an drag my carcass around the corner. “I am just going outside and may be some time.” 🙂
My mother voted SNP via postal, she was a life long labour voter!
Just voted for Martyn Day, job done.
I would like to propose a suggestion regarding the picture at the top of this thread.
How about doing before and after versions?
The one above being the before and simply titled with the date it was taken. And getting another done with 2 piles of red, white and blue rubble/ash in place of the 2 knuckledraggers, with the date 8th May 2015.
Put them side by side in a WOS frame and i’d pay good money for one.
Away to do our bit for the cause.
The build up is over and today is the day when the people speak. Despite our different politics I hope that contributors here have a good day and that you are happy with the way Scotland votes.
Thank you to those that have “engaged” with me, even those that have offered robust advice as to where I might go!
Sadly, I think it is the following days that will be difficult for all and whatever government is cobbled together will be greeted by shouts of derision and/or illegitimacy from one side or the other.
Doubtless, we will all have something to say then.
@Yoda says: 7 May, 2015 at 9:51 am :
“Thank goodness for the solidarity of the UK in those dangerous hours.”
Don’t you know that it was not just the UK that had solidarity, Yoda? Many Republican Irish fought in UK armed forces as did the non-UK Isle of Man and do not forget the non-UK Bailiwicks of the Channel Islands who were put under Hitler’s rule.
BTW: The UK never did stand alone as some historians claimed – the entire British Empire stood behind them as did the Free French, Free Poles and many, many others.
The, “Forgotten Army”, – The Chindits – every bloody one of them a hero.
link to britishpathe.com
Our best wishes and good luck to all candidates who are standing for HOPE CHANGE POITIVE FUTURE in Scotland and through out the UK.
Special good luck to:……..
Callum Kerr
Brendon O Hara
Stu Donaldson
John Nicolson
Paul Monaghan
Tasmina Sheikh
Natalie McGarry
MHAIRI BLACK
Kirsten Oswald
Danus Skene
Big Eck
Drew Henry
Michelle Thomson
Ian Blackford
May the hope and vote of the country be with you.
It would diminish the power and importance of this image, but, and only for comic relief, I would insert a small puddle of water around the feet of both Cameron and Miliband.
Did my first stint outside a polling station today for the SNP. A bit ashamed that I had never done something similar before but so pleased that I did it at last for such a magnificent and unstoppable cause.
Tactical Voting says a lot for democracy when you do not vote for what you believe in. Proportional Representation would put a stop to that obscene practice.
Just voted for Roger Mullin in Gordon Brown’s old gaffe.
I know its getting to fantasy level to think it can go SNP here – but if we cant dream today…
So while we wait, think on this with a smile.
Back in December Jim Murphy was interviewed in the Guardian.
The whole thing is here
link to theguardian.com
But here’s my favourite bit.
““I know we can win in ’16, but the path to victory runs through ’15, and we need to do very well in ’15. I’ve set the bar, which is holding everything we have. We’re going to have a look to see if we can win one or more of the Lib Dem seats”
Please, please, please let someone remind him of this in the wee small hours.
I went into the Labour hub on Tuesday to ask some direct questions:
Both councillors Crooks and Selbie couldn’t answer any of them!
Whilst I was taking to Kenny the dinosaur himself came in and stood directly over me hand at the ready: he’s been so used to folks jumping and shaking his hand, imagine his surprise when I discarded him and ignored him.
Councillor Crooks directly lied to me about Labour’s record at Fife Council with respect to improving poverty.
He also said that the SNP SG cut teachers places: it was easy enough to google both assertions to see the actual report card on Fife Council targets and easy enough to see how teacher places allocations work.
Tired of the lies.
I challenged the idea that a 3-boat Trident system wouldn’t offer continuance at sea deterrent. They asked me to explain why as they didn’t understand.
My advice for tactical voters, vote SNP, anything else is a wasted vote.
Lord Baron Robertson of Port Ellen
In 1995, Robertson said that “Devolution will kill Nationalism stone dead” while he was Shadow Secretary of State for Scotland.This quote was designed to assuage fears that devolution would provide a greater platform for the Scottish National Party (SNP).
20 years later–2015
today’s the day bro——enjoy ( : > )
@Nodrog says: 7 May, 2015 at 10:15 am:
“Are you all aware that the Union Jack is not a registered flag and cannot be as it does not represent a country? Whereas the national flags of Scotland , England and Wales are register flags because they do represent their countries.”
Indeed I am, Nodrog, and I know that God Save The Queen”, is actually not the official National Anthem as no such official anthem exists.
Ooft! Nice one Art Badger.
I’m off to put Scottish Labour to the sword. With a pen.
James Forrest @ 10:47
You’re not alone. I’ve been feeling progressively more and more jittery for days.
I can’t get the memory of how I felt on Black Friday out of my head. I couldn’t bear that again.
Fingers SO tightly crossed this will be a very different experience!
@Rev
I’m not one for censorship, but can you ‘suspend’ Yoda, just for today. He can come back tomorrow.
Artist Gerard Burns would be very proud of that one!
King of life in the scheemies, Irvine Welsh, at his Englander bashing best here:
link to theguardian.com
Voted by postal ballot for Chris Stephens in Glasgow South West.
Good luck everyone. You are ALL amazing people.
Warning: Yoda is Jim Murphy’s screen name. Don’t let him waste your time.
Job done, another 2 votes for the cause. YEEEEEEEEHAAAAAAAA
We all could destroy its pathetic posts but its only purpose is to try and disrupt the good harmony and feel of the thread today.
Do not suspend Yoda he or she is entitled to express their opinion even if most of us do not agree with it.
Done it, squeeky bum time now. Nightshift looms with copious amounts of Vino Collapso. Back in the howf and Aberdeen North SNP Candidate Kirsty Blackman is chappin neighbours doors. Whit a bundle of dynamite she is.
I don’t know how many times We Wingers have appealed to the REST of you,s DONT ENGADGE THE FUCKING TROLLS.
Sos Rev.
Leave yoda to his delusional ramblings, he isn’t even in the new Star Wars film.
Been out and voted for Deidre Brock 09:40ish.
Came back and had my porridge.
IMHO anyone still undecided should vote SNP.
It’s the only vote that makes sense right here, right now.
I feel proud voting for what I believe in and stand for.
Don’t know how these folk that vote tactically aren’t ashamed of themselves.
Just back from doing the *ahem* deed. 😉
I just have one itsy bitsy teeny weeny little problem … there was no “None of the Above” to put my MEGA expensive cross next to. Oh well I guess the S.N.P. candidate will have to do then. 😀
Come on Nicola’s Army let’s get out there and do this!
The unionists are terrified out of their pathetic little skins. WOO HOO!
Ooops, looks like “Yoda” is not the only one promoting the Unionist cause, eh!
I wonder how many direct links to WOS these Unionist rags allow on their sites. Makes you wonder, doesn’t it.
As if our fight is not hard enough.
Oh well, c’mon Scotland, All Tories Out, Vote SNP.
I skip the YODA posts just as I used to the OBE Wan ones in the online Herald before I quit wasting my time.
@ Dumb Unicorn
Don’t censor – play Yoda Bingo! I’ve got three out of fifteen already.
@ Yoda
My tactical vote cancels out your tactical vote.
Whoever said there was no support for the S.N.P. in Dumfries, Clydesdale and Tweeddale needs to get themselves along to Annan. 😉
Hell when even the Famous “locals” are out with their S.N.P. posters then you know there is a massive change in the air. 😀
link to twitter.com
I don’t know who it was but what a fantastic sight. You will be able to see good old Robert the Bruce up on the Annan Town Hall with his S.N.P. poster as you drive down Annan High Street. 😛
I’m just in from my stint manning the polling station.I’ll get a bite to eat and then I’ll be “knocking up” til the polls close.
I’ve chapped Hunners of doors since the campaign began.I’d just like to say what a pleasure it has been and how nice the people of Scotland are,whatever their voting intention.You get the occasional rude one,but most are decent enough.It gives me a lot of confidence for our independent future.
In at the Tobermory Aros Hall polling station at 07:00 am today. Sorted! Mind you because of the geography it takes ages – usually Friday pm before Argyll & Bute declares. And hopefully we will see Brendan O’Hara elected in place of mr shouty FibDem Alan Reid
Nodrog: he or she is entitled to express their opinion
Wrong. These people are out to distract, to instil doubt.
Know the difference between someone asking directions of you in the street, and a dog barking at your heels stopping you from using the street.
Are we gonna see exit polls later on today? Would calm some nerves,(or shred them!)
On my way to the polling station to give Roger Mullin my vote. My 85 year old dad is getting a lift by SNP activists, and my partner and her father have already cast their votes.
To misquote a certain obnoxious retiring Slabber, – “Let’s stick it to bloody Labour”
@Training Day
Me too, except for the UKIP thing
Quite a few of the misery faces out this morning though
Swinsons got a few wee laddies running round the doors warning of the doom laden Cancer ridden future in store if we do the wrong thing
We’ll aw go tae the bad fire
Gaun’ yersel comrades
Show them you’re no longer slaves to old guard and that the power shift is toward you the people.
Hit them where it hurts and make sure you don’t hold back
Handed my postal vote in, don’t trust the system! Looking good for Natalie McGarry & farewell to The Witch.
Hope Wee Ciara’s gettin weighed-in?
Joemcg
exit polls can’t be published until the polling stations close.STV are to be revealing theirs shortly after 10pm.
@Dr Jim
Swinson’s eagerness to use cancer as a political weapon has been one of the more disgraceful features of this campaign.
She deserves – thoroughly – to be turfed out on her ear.
Hey Yoda. Away and take yerself tae yon dark side where yae crawled out from. ya nugget. And mind the swing of the door on yer wee green ass when you – damn. Too late.
wow anyone seen this
link to thoughtcontrolscotland.files.wordpress.com
Personally one of the more surprising and somewhat delightful aspects of this particular campaign has been the goodwill shown by die-hard Labour voters towards the SNP.*
(*May only apply in my wee area of West Aberdeenshire & Kincardine?)
Every family I’ve spoken to who have indicated Labour as their voting preference have shown genuine friendliness and camaraderie towards myself as an SNP canvasser. They like SNP policy, they like Nicola, they like the idea of Labour working in some capacity with the SNP at Westminster.
It’s been a real pleasure visiting these households, they’re good people who deserve so much more than they’re presently receiving from their own party leadership.
I’m hopeful for a large contingent of SNP MP’s heading to Westminster, not just from my own perspective, but for those loyal but disappointed Labour and Lib Dem voters.
Contrary to opinion in certain quarters, we’re not breaking the country up, we’re fixing it.
The way I see Trolls are is comparing to letting a stranger into your living room out of basic hospitality and then they drop their kegs and shite on your floor.
Just voted. Have two sessions outside the polling station later, including one up until closing time. Then I can relax while awaiting results.
The sun is shining, the birds are signing, the flowers are in bloom. Scotland’s voice will be heard.
Well this is the big day that we’ve all been looking forward to for months in the wake of the referendum and the stakes and expectations could not be higher! If someone had said last year that the SNP were in with a shout of 50+ seats, they would have been told to have a quiet word with them self.
I’ve just voted for Neil Hay in Edinburgh South so I look forward to watching that result early in the morning but I will be heading straight up to Fort William after work to see friends / family and hopefully the end of Charlie Kennedy’s political domination in this part of Scotland. He is a nice enough fellow but he is now simply out of touch with the new wave of politics that is so desperately needed in Scotland and the UK.
There are going to be some incredibly interesting seats to watch tonight, including Paisley South, Inverness, East Renfrewshire and Gordon to name a few… glad I’m stocked up with some fine ales for a long night.
I’m optimistic but also cautious as I think 50+ seats is a huge ask so we will wait and see.
Enjoy the night folks 🙂
John SM: Contrary to opinion in certain quarters, we’re not breaking the country up, we’re fixing it.
I like that. But Scotland first, thanks.
Anybody note Nicola’s wry gem?: “Instead of a high speed train London to Birmingham, maybe to Edinburgh a decade later. How about starting it from Edinburgh or Glasgow.”
They could start it from Aberdeen, oil capital of Europe my arse.
@Yoda says: 7 May, 2015 at 10:18 am:
“The SNP and UKIP have a LOT in common.”
Absolute idiotic balderdash, Yoda!
The only thing these two have in common is they are both registered as United Kingdom Political parties.
Your comparisons are odious and insulting in the extreme as, it seems are you.
The Scottish party is 100% inclusive and real nationalism is their mantra – that is they want only to represent the people of Scotland in the country of Scotland.
UKIP, along with every Establishment Unionist Party, are not in fact Nationalist but are Imperialist and Expansionist – That Is they want to continue dominating other countries than their own. That includes the other three UK countries.
Further, as they so often prove, by their abuse of the English language and use of such terms as, “British”, when the mean United Kingdom and often, “Country”, instead of kingdom, and most insulting of all, “England”, when referring to the United Kingdom or even Britain.
They, and it seems you, are imperialist and expansionists.
Like Hitler’s Third Reich, it flies under false colours.
Hitler called his party NAZI, which means, “National Socialist Workers Party”, but was neither National nor socialist nor workers. It was imperialistic, elitest and extreme right wing fascist.
The Third Reich,(“Reich”, is a German word that can be translated as either “empire” or “realm.”).
The United Kingdom seeks to not only make England the master race dominating the other three countries by England retaining the Westminster Parliament for England but by devolving England’s powers it now wants to prevent the Scots, N.Irish and Welsh from voting on what they designate as English Only Matters.
Skot i Sverige – Hur står det till? Jag bodde i Sverige under hela åttiotalets, och min hustru heter Kerstin.
We lived in Hälsingland, which was just as lovely as Annandale, where we are now.
Glad to have you cheering us on. You can tell all your Swedish friends why we are winning.
Hälsningar
Fergus
Proud Cybernat
Or the gem from the other night, “away and play tig with the buses”. 🙂
Just done my bit to oust the ‘lone Tory’, hopefully.
I also much prefer the original photo on the actual street, to me says far more than a photo-shopped image.
I actually AM a Jedi
With one swish of my Graphite Sabre (pencil) I can strike down The Empire
So Chewy on that …
I have had this song rattling around my empty skull all night. Just one wee suggestion to anyone who sings along to all the music video’s folks put up here replace Oliver with a far better name … namely… the one … the only … NICOLA. 😀
Alternatively you listen to Yew Choob instead. 😀
Why does Farage wear a second-hand car salesman’s camel hair coat? 🙂
Mealer-ta for the info! Well at least we won’t have to wait until 3am. Probs have a fair idea early on then.
Up at the crack of dawn, nervous as…
Already voted for Chris Law, in Dundee…
C’mon Scotland, let’s do this!
This morning, my son showed me a web page featuring a newsreader in London. Behind her was a large screen with an image and the caption for the viewers said:-
‘When are we going to stop the flow of money from the SE to Scotland’
This government is engaged in full-time, full blown nationwide brainwashing propaganda. Propaganda – government lying – is the absolutely necessary foundation and preparation for State skulduggery in a corrupt State like North Korea.
Oh, and it’s sister State, the UK.
It has been said before, but it must be repeated endlessly until that part of the electorate who are ‘sleeping’, wake up and discover the truth – we are in a propaganda war.
Voted for Margaret Ferrier in Hamilton West. My Dad did too, handed in his postal vote (don’t trust the post, he didn’t get the postal vote delivered initially) but couldn’t see it go into ballot box as I hoped as woman said they go into a separate envelope. Watched her walk down to the opposite end of the hall with it. Not much I could do but hopefully all above board.
Personally…
Compared to the Referendum, when on that day, I had a sense of doubt emanating from the nation. I think tomorrow will be different.
As Kininvie once said to me …’Scotland doesn’t usually do things the first time around; we do it like the spider and Robert the Bruce; we try and try and try again until we succeed.’
Tomorrow …I believe will be a good day for us all. I think we can all sense it this time; that the SNP will do well.
Then we have to wait. To wait and see what comes next. And when it does, it will be a new chapter in the seemingly never-ending fight for independence.
What Scottish seat will be first to announce a result and at what time approx?
Mealer I’m sure I read it was just after 2am not sure which scottish constituency though.
Voted about an hour ago and was struck by the number of people voting who looked and walked as if they should be postal voting. As usual, most people were grim faced and taking it all very seriously.
It occurred to me that as a Scottish Unionist, you would want to sell this election as a part of the Referendum, given that the No vote was 53% and the polls show Labour at 23-25%.
Win big or small here, this battle is almost over, and it will be on to Holyrood in 2016 when one of the big questions will be -‘if SNP votes in Westminster are not acceptable, then why would Unionist MSP’s headquartered outside Scotland sit in Holyrood?
The 3 donuts are at 3am, party time around then hopefully!
Here’s one for a giggle.
link to geek.scot
Mealer says:
What Scottish seat will be first to announce a result and at what time approx?
This may help you out a bit ealer. 😉
link to twitter.com
Just read the Daily Record on-lines political editorial, urging Scots to help the English kick the Tories out, by voting Labour…
Smack bang in the middle of the article is an on-line poll asking readers how they will vote.
SNP 75% hahaha!
Just back from my stint at the polling station. No other activists in sight apart from the SNP.
Voted for Tasmina,and hope all goes well.
Well that’s two votes in for Joanna Cherry from the Dram’s household here in sunny, but breezy, Edinburgh and as far as I can determine another 3 are in the pipeline from the older and younger Drams. Fingers crossed for a good result and all that.
Very steady input at the polling station when I was there just before noon. Where I overheard part of a conversation from a man complaining about being able to vote in the referendum but that he was unable to do so today as he wasn’t on the register (as a lot of you predicted would happen).
Mmm……
I did enjoy that wee giggle there Cameron. I would just pick up on a couple of itsy bitsy teeny weeny little points with GeekScot though.
1) They can promise the universe but at the end of the day Labour has no control over the N.H.S. in Scotland so this promise is an empty one.
2) whilst raising the Minimum wage to £8 an hour is good Labour will not finally achieve this until 2019, so FOUR years to wait till the £8 an hour is reached hmm I’m not so sure it is that good a point.
3) Getting rid of zero hours contracts is a great idea as everyone says unfortunately this is NOT a great point for Labour to raise in my view. Back in the good old days, before Blair got his soon to be blood soaked hands on the keys to number 10, he promised, in 1995, that Labour would do away with all zero hours contracts. Here we are 20 years later and we are STILL waiting!
I would therefore suggest that the final “scores on the doors” is NOT 7/10 but more like 4/10. 😉
Going to do a polling agent stint tonight. There was just an SNP and Labour agent at my station this morning. Surprised the Tories went there as this possibly their strongest area in the constituency.
Just in for a break from Kelvindale polling stn, Glasgow. Surprised at the number of Tory voters shaking hands with the Labour sentries, saying, “I voted Labour for the first time to keep that lot out”, pointing at me with a high vis SNP vest.
Back from the Far East to get the SNP’s Brendan O’Hara elected as Argyll & Bute’s MP. Feeling the cold, but the expectation, hope and belief of an historic result for Scotland is warming me up beautifully!
In my short time back I’ve been almost-but-not-quite physically ‘involved’ with local unionist scum twice, one hissed as I walked passed him, “Rangers still stays ‘No’, fuck ye.”, and another who, on seeing my SNP O’Hara badge, regaled me with, “Nationalists and Fenian bastards thegither, eh!”.
Welcome back to Scotland infested with backward, bigoted racists.
Scotland’s much better than that, though, and so is the majority of its population. Let’s get out there to the voting booths today and vote SNP – show the imperialist unionists that they’re a dying species which Scotland will be well rid of come the day.
Vote for hope – check
National colour in map ready – check
Popcorn ready – check
For the first time Scotland’s voice will be heard loud and clear.
Now let’s do this thing already!
Patrick Roden says:
7 May, 2015 at 1:00 pm
Just read the Daily Record on-lines political editorial, urging Scots to help the English kick the Tories out, by voting Labour…
Smack bang in the middle of the article is an on-line poll asking readers how they will vote.
SNP 75% hahaha!
just added my vote to that
Gather Ruth Davidson bleating on Twitter that ‘burly blokes’ are chasing people away from polling station in Annan if they are not voting for a ‘certain party’. She wouldn’t be making excuses now, would she?
@Johnny
She is tweeting this? Why is she not calling the police?
Been at 4 local polling stations this morning to meet and greet a few branch members on the doors (mainly women too)and there is a definite shortage of labour folk….. tumbleweed!
Strange days in Fife where not too long ago you had to force your way past them and refusing their labour slips they tried to offer you at the doors. Ach well, intimidating times no more! 🙂
Steady trickle of voters at every one and the weather is fine.
Twice now we have had posted here the first part of a quote by John Donne, (It’s pronounced Dunn), but many may never have read the full text. It is indeed a remarkable piece.
John Donne, Meditation XVII
John Donne: (22 January 1572 – 31 March 1631) was an English poet and a cleric in the Church of England.
Alot of old people are unable to vote this time around, in the National today.
I know some will be SNP, but a lot of these will be old Labour….hopefully!
CameronB Brodie says at 12.51 pm
@ leslie Anne
The letter on Geek Scot is from Sheila Gilmore.
She used to be high up in Edinburgh council until she was elected as the MP for Edinburgh East in 2010.
This is the witch that tried to sell off the housing stock in Edinburgh she has now been raking it in as an MP.
I and others had a run in with her at the time please god that they have seen sense and vote her out.
link to sturdyblog.wordpress.com
Everyone seen this? Scary
Manandboy 12.50
Please no,not the silent tractors again.
These selfish deadbeats are the reason I don’t think we’ll get much over 40 .
40 would be fine though.
Great pic!
Remember Folks if you pick blue, red, orange & purple torie parties and mix them all together you get revolting shade of brown, no surprises there! However pick Yellow Yes Party you get Pure Gold SNP, Go Scotland! Off now shortly with the whole family to Vote in Stuart MacDonald SNP (East Dunbartonshire), then off to LIDLs for some fizzy pop for later on, the Big Party is happening.
There goes the BBC news again doing what it does best, manufacturing propaganda for the British state – Victory in Europe Day.
It’s running a British patriotic item on voting day about the Second World War, and playing the expected “There will be bluebirds over the white cliffs of Dover …”
@Louis B Argyll says: 7 May, 2015 at 10:33 am:
“Wizards and emperors… Get a grip.. Yoda is the new Jimmy Saville.. Popular once but the kids see through your self perpetuating lies. The force is now with us..”
Aye! Louis B, And may the FEAR be with Them.
But Forgive them, Louis, they know not what they do.
First time posting here but have lurked for a while.
Felt I finally had to post today on such a momentous occasion.
Cast my SNP vote just before 8am and had a wee tear in my eye when I did so.
Also managed to convince two colleagues to do the same…g’on yersel’ Nicola!!!
Love the site, love all the comments. I’d like to join everyone else in saying ‘thank you Stu!’
Cast my vote for Neil Hay in Edinburgh South. Ultra-marginal here – Guardian have just changed their prediction to Lab hold – but we’ll see.
@ Mealer
Think the first one in Scotland to declare is the Western Isles or Na h-Eileanan an Iar if you prefer. Think this was one of the first in the referendum also.
Here is a useful guide to how the night is expected to unfold:
link to bbc.co.uk
Enjoy!
Manandboy-aww naww, sounds like the silent mob are out in force. Making sure my elderly dad gets to the booth now. Please everyone get our vote out.
I saw Jo Swinson going into a coffee shop this lunchtime in Bishopbriggs. Let’s hope she’ll be eating humble pie by this time tomorrow.
Over on the Rev’s Twitter he has a link to the Snow interview
(“YOU’VE GOT TO TOUCH THE SCOTS”) and at 5min 10sec into that video footage we hear Red Tory, Chuka Umunna, deny that anyone is saying things like “filthy Scots”.
Well, Mr.Red Tory Umunna, i’ve got news for you.
Are you aware of a Red Tory activist in Scotland named Ian Smart?
Your freak in Scotland, DimJim, knows all about him.
In fact, DimJim is an avid follower of the said activist and DimJim knows all about Smartarse and his references to us Scots as “fascist scum” etc etc.
Smart by name but not by brain, eh!
OH, and btw, Mr.Umunna, that scabby moothed activist still represents you lot in Scotland – BYE BYE L!EBORE.
The wake commences Thursday 8th May 2015, 10pm, all welcome.
I’m on my way from mystery to happiness today.
Uh-Huh
Uh-Huh
Uh-Huh
Uh-Huh
Nice one donald anderson.Noted for next election.
3 months or 5 years time????
The wee lassie might be saying,”I didnae touch yir porridge”
I think by the time the first Scottish constituency is announced we will have seen how accurate the polls have been in the rest of the UK.
Ed may have thrown the towel in by 2am or desperately looking up Nicola or Nick’s number. 🙂
Scottish Labour’s Jim Murphy Votes in East Renfrewshire.
Scottish Labour leader Jim Murphy cast his vote at a polling station in Busby, East Renfrewshire, in the past hour.
Greeting press gathered outside, Murphy reportedly said, “It’s removals day in Westminster”.
What a complete Arse that man is.
Heard reliable report last night of elderly being targeted in Paisley and Renfrewshire South with the pitch ‘did you know a 20 year old standing for SNP and that she tweeted this morning of waking up with can of beer in hand’
Today I am hearing elderly out in force making their Labour vote count…..no one can take the polls for granted, if you are in Pai & Ren South, or know someone who is, urge them to get their SNP vote out and beat down this fear and intimidation of our elderly constituents by SLab……not surprised at their tactics……it fits their profile perfectly
well thats me done my bit. Given Jimmy (benchwarmer) Hood a poke in the eye with a sharp stick. Okay it was a pencil and a ballot paper but never mind. Good luck everyone!
Still cant believe that getting 40 seats will be seen as a disappointment. Interesting times indeed.
Labour are not banning zero-hours contracts just the exploitative ones. Although no one knows how they distinguish them.
The suspense is killing me, can’t think, can’t work, no new Wings, this is murder!
Johnny says:
Gather Ruth Davidson bleating on Twitter that ‘burly blokes’ are chasing people away from polling station in Annan if they are not voting for a ‘certain party’. She wouldn’t be making excuses now, would she?
Aye I’ve just read that and answered her bleating. Just told her that the Burley gents would not be S.N.P. cause we don’t have any Burley gents in the S.N.P. 😀
She can try and make all the excuses she likes it aint gonna work. The S.N.P. are garnering votes down here from everywhere, young and not so young alike. 😛
Fluffy’s goose is well and truly cooked down in DCT from all the canvassing reports I have heard about in the lead up to today so as usual she is doing too little too late for her mate! 😉
Lesley-Anne
10/10 to you for being on the ball. 😉
@Johnny (1.19) –
‘Gather Ruth Davidson bleating on Twitter that ‘burly blokes’ are chasing people away from polling station in Annan if they are not voting for a ‘certain party’. She wouldn’t be making excuses now, would she?’
Anyone able to confirm Ruth Davidson’s ‘story’?
Pity we won’t see Ruthie,Rennie or the Dugmeister booted tonight as well.
Poll of polls shows SNP with 5% of UK vote – a percentage sure to be tossed at us over and over again by UK control freaks as ‘a minority dictating to the majority,’ as if two nations don’t, and never did, exist.
I’m not long back from spending the morning tramping the local streets getting the SNP vote out. I’m back home footsore and weary and fortified with a fried egg and cheese sandwich on Genius 3 seed GF bread and a cuppa soup.
The result was EVERYONE I found in had either already voted or assured me convincingly that they were going to.
There was a gueue at our local polling place at 07:00 and the others I passed in my travels were doing a brisk to steady trade. The signs are not looking for SLAB who fear a high turnout.
Caught a plug, it was shown after Reporting Scotland at 13:30 pm, from Glen Campbell, Brian Taylor and Jackie Bird who are all presenting Election 2015 – Scotland at 9:55 pm. Jackie Bird said she would be looking at what social media has to say about the results as they come. I wonder if Wings Over Scotlanf will feature!
it’s just a ‘ball of confusion’, temptation’s, it’s a gas.
whatever happens the temps, are right up there, one of my fav bands of all times.
chill.
vote SNP.
Press Association has a list of expected declaration times at:
link to election.pressassociation.com
They show Na h-Eileanan an Iar 1.30 as the first Scottish seat.
Quite a few more at 2.00.
CameronB Brodie says:
Lesley-Anne
10/10 to you for being on the ball. 😉
Thanks for clearing that up Cameron. I couldn’t figure out what happened there. One minute I’m happily skooshing through the posts on Wings and the next thing I know I’ve put up one of those wee post thingys. 😀
@Grouse Beater (1.30 pm)
Yes, saw that too. ITV are at it as well. British state subliminal/overt propaganda at its best/worst.
@sensibledave says: 7 May, 2015 at 11:03 am
“Sadly, I think it is the following days that will be difficult for all and whatever government is cobbled together will be greeted by shouts of derision and/or illegitimacy from one side or the other.
Doubtless, we will all have something to say then.”
Seems you are not a student of History, Sensibledave.
If you were you would know several things are going to happen from now on in.
First of all a great man, (Victor Hugo), once said, “All the forces in the world are not so powerful as an idea whose time has come. I’d say the idea of Scottish independence is here to stay.
History tells us this is indeed true, If not anywhere else in history consider every great Empire this old World has ever known. Great Empires conquer many countries while building their empire and eventually, their victims take back their freedoms. Often at the expense of much bloodshed and violence.
The British Empire is a prime example and the bloodshed from that breakup is still with us in many parts of the World today. So, sensibledave, you better believe that oppressed peoples have always eventually fought back and if not freely given have been prepared to take their freedom and die for that freedon.
Is that what you actually want? Remember, “The Troubles”, in Ireland. Scotland is not going back in the box. We are attempting to do so in a democratic manner but if our path is obstructed or threatened by force there will be only one conclusion.
Just voted in Midlothian.
Owen Thompson SNP YYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSS.
Is it just me or is there a sense of relief just getting here after all the abuse from September onwards ?
Most folk i saw had smiles and SNP badges on. The grumpy ones …. well you never know.
Go Scotland
Ian Brotherhood says:
7 May, 2015 at 1:59 pm
@Johnny (1.19) –
‘Gather Ruth Davidson bleating on Twitter that ‘burly blokes’ are chasing people away from polling station in Annan if they are not voting for a ‘certain party’. She wouldn’t be making excuses now, would she?’
Anyone able to confirm Ruth Davidson’s ‘story’?
I wouldn’t believe anything Ruthie Tank Commander says.
More dirty tricks:
link to thenational.scot
Nation Libre:
The suspense is killing me, can’t think, can’t work, no new Wings, this is murder!
I sympathise. Try these as an opate filler:
link to theguardian.com
link to grousebeater.wordpress.com
@ Yoda 10:18
You could at least have phrased that nonsense in character.
Arsewipe you are.
Looks like Labour will get the most seats in England/Wales according to polls….due to boundaries, even numbers for the tories means they get less seats than they did in 2010….
Looking good to send a heap of snp mp’s and get us more powers!
‘Muscleguy says:
7 May, 2015 at 2:02 pmI’m not long back from spending the morning tramping the local streets getting the SNP vote out. I’m back home footsore and weary and fortified with a fried egg and cheese sandwich on Genius 3 seed GF bread and a cuppa soup.
The result was EVERYONE I found in had either already voted or assured me convincingly that they were going to.
There was a gueue at our local polling place at 07:00 and the others I passed in my travels were doing a brisk to steady trade. The signs are not looking for SLAB who fear a high turnout.’
High turnout in yes voting areas is good, but I don’t think it’s good for the heavy no voting areas!
Best of luck Scotland lets keep our chins up regardless of what happens ,there is no going back in the box, lets remind them we are here to stay ,and that they should get used to it or let us go !!
Dumfries & Galloway Council say Ruth Davidsopn is talking utter mince:
@RuthDavidsonMSP No burly blokes outside Annan. Officers and police visiting frequently. No complaints re canvassers.
link to twitter.com
Wonderful iconic image on Wings today and so apt- captures the forward vision of a society that’s on the move. Semiotics at its most powerful and relevant -excellent!
For anyone concerned about wee Ruthie’s alleged big burley blokes outside Annan polling station then this may help calm those fears. 😉
link to twitter.com
Oh wait a minute, I have it sussed. It is the MASSIVE big black dug that is causing all the problems. 😀
@ Grouse Beater, that’s your best essay yet!
For all they’ve tried, they cant really touch Scotland. I was buying car stuff in Aberdeen last week and the teen behind the counter said a bad song was stuck in his head and wouldn’t go. So I suggested singing the national anthem assuming automatically God Save the Queen. But right there the kid starts singing Flower of Scotland, word perfect.
Don’t know if it worked though:D
Just voted at Dundee West. The Labour activist was confident of holding on. Her reason was that all the new folk that voted Yes in the referendum hadn’t bothered to fill in the forms to re-register.
Fingers crossed she is wrong.
Grouse Beater reminds us that “Poll of polls shows SNP with 5% of UK vote – a percentage sure to be tossed at us over and over again by UK control freaks as ‘a minority dictating to the majority,’ as if two nations don’t, and never did, exist.”
And Grouse Beater can’t see that our one nation Britain, created over centuries by the efforts of the whole British working class, does exist. Most people in Scotland can see this, which is why there will be more votes for Unionist parties than for separatist parties.
Democracy is majority rule, not minority rule.
Robert P..
And to all who visit here, apologies for rising to “yoda” earlier.
Would you concede its only ever ok to feed TROLLS.. If its something they cant digest… Their lies will stew deep inside.. creating a great kamikaze wind.. They’ll either go pop… Or fly aboot like the deflating ballons they use for brains.
Actually in a really good mood today, wonder why, and btw 30+ is still a majority…
Update on the Annan Mafia.
link to twitter.com
Got a warning at the polling station for taking a photo of the back my ballot paper re reg number. I told the ladies while the ballot paper was in my hands it was my property,& I would do as I wished with it, I could have torn it up I hows yer cocoa.
@ronnie anderson says: 7 May, 2015 at 11:30 am:
“I don’t know how many times We Wingers have appealed to the REST of you,s DONT ENGADGE THE FUCKING TROLLS.”
Ever though, Ronnie, that it all depends on how you engage with a troll? If you lower yourself to their level you waste your time. If you can, though, demolish their claims with good information and facts then the guys who would just lash out at the troll might learn how to demolish their spiel and the troll fails to make an impact and goes away.
Go Scotland! Back from voting for George Keravan in Musselburgh and doing my first stint at the polling station. Great feedback and thumbs up from loads of happy SNP voters 🙂
Here’s a great song of hope. The lyrics fit the current climate in Scotland and some of you guys may even spot yersels in the video too (Runrig’s 40th Anniversary gig – Party on the Moor)
Maymorning
I’m alive again on a May morning
Going to wipe the slate clean
Follow my dreams
All the yearning buds are here again
With the promise of a new life to come
Spring is here again
The sun is melting over the hills
All our roads are waiting to be revealed
For this day in history has brought us to here
Now it’s all there for the taking
The day is what you see
The light’s returning, the work is in hand
All the cynics have vanished
From where we stand
All the chances wasted are drawing me near
And all around there’s new life rising
From the winter fields
I’m alive again
Ruth tweet turns out not to be true. Pretty disgraceful from her. Note that Gordon Brown also retweeted. Wonder if we’ll see retractions from them?
@Lesley-Anne says: 7 May, 2015 at 11:38 am:
I just have one itsy bitsy teeny weeny little problem … there was no “None of the Above” to put my MEGA expensive cross next to.
Och! Lesley-Anne, don’t look on it as putting a kiss next to some numptie. Look on it as marking a Saltire next to an SNP candidate.
Honestly, if the people of Paisley and Renfrewshire South back a man who voted for an illegal war, opposed an inquiry into that war, refused to cooperate with an inquiry into extraordinary rendition, and blocked Chagos Islander’s right of return, all because his opponent once woke up with a can of beer in her hand, then I despair…
A really positive feeling at my local polling station with a very visible SNP presence.
Stay positive and don’t rise to the trolls. Just think of a troll as an unhappy person ranting at a mirror.
link to theguardian.com
Sterling goes more volatile than during the indyref.
I can’t wait for reporting scotland to report it…
Corri Wilson got my vote today, as SNP MP for Ayr, Cumnock, Dalmellington etc.
Stephen.
I envy you all
Here (Charnwood, bit NW of Leicester) we have a choice of :
Conservative
Labour
Libdem
UKIP
BNP (yes really I kid you not)
That’s it.
I can’t vote for anyone on the ballot paper because each & every one has pandered to the “anyone but the Scots” vote 🙁
@ Will Podmore
Are you sure your cereal was fresh this morning? WTF are you on about, with regards to “the efforts of the whole British working class”? Are you equating efforts spent to keep backbone from belly, with some centuries old fantasy One Nation solidarity?
Democracy is majority rule, not minority rule.
When were the Acts of Union signed and isn’t Britian’s experiment with universal suffrage and democracy, only 67 years old?
Sure your not an English Socialist? Style yourself on Squealer perhaps? Maybe your a secret monarchist? Or has your struggle with the duality of life left you a little bit confused?
Do you endorse Marx’s view of the lumpenproletariat?
Post 297. Oh please oh please oh please Douglas Alexander oh please oh please oh please Danny Alexander oh please oh please oh please Margaret Curran oh please oh please oh please Ian Davidson oh please oh please oh please Greg McClymont oh please oh please oh please Ian Murray oh please oh please oh please Gemma Doyle oh please oh please oh please Tom Clarke oh please oh please oh please McMahon oh please oh please oh please Harris oh please oh please oh please…please no hammers, Stu.
tonight ill be watching bbc and Jackie bird
it goes against the grain but the smug grin on her face when the referendum results were coming in still haunts me
so tonight
paybacks a bitch (bitch)
thank you rev for all the hard work in exposing the lies and tricks of these devious bastards
cearc says:
They show Na h-Eileanan an Iar 1.30 as the first Scottish seat
Sadly not. Different boat being used to bring over Barra and Vatersay boxes so Outer Hebrides not announcing first
link to hebrides-news.com
No matter, as long as Angus Brendan gets in again
Interesting that Ruth Davison did not – and has still not – identified the sources of the disturbing reports about intimidation.
Hard to say whether she’s just a liar or very gullible.
Erm … oops! 😀
Just read this over on Twitter. 😉
We’ve just received word that ballot papers for the Darlington constituency have omitted one or more the parliamentary candidates.
Used to love jogging to Maymorning and Siol na Ghorraidh
Cap in hand…..no more.
With regards to the Yoda guy/gal, I thought it was a nice piece of political tongue-in-cheek humor. A nice piss take of what a standard unionist feckwit would come out with. If I’m wrong I will graciously concede so.
Due to tory policies, I’m unable to vote cos me and my so called dirty foreigner wife were not economically viable for the British state and as such we are stuck in Ireland until we can come home.
Since my voice has been rendered irrelevant, please vote for SNP in my absence.
In the event I get shit for this post, I am in Dublin 8, Portobello if you want to visit me personally and I can give you the full details of why the British state is fecking me and the wife and why they are done!!!!!!
@ Matt, anent Murphy’s war record, he was dabbling his hands in red paint yesterday, it should have been blood.
@Robert Peffer
Ever though, Ronnie, that it all depends on how you engage with a troll? If you lower yourself to their level you waste your time. If you can, though, demolish their claims with good information and facts then the guys who would just lash out at the troll might learn how to demolish their spiel and the troll fails to make an impact and goes away.
Don’t agree. What they want is attention. Don’t give it to them when they have proved themselves trolls. Though it is right not to assume that very readily.
@ jim heraghty at 3.19pm
That reminds me of Arya Stark’s list from Game of Thrones!
Have you been repeating it to yourself every night before you go to bed? Please say you have, then as all good stories go, it has to come true.
@ mike cassidy: She can’t identify the voices in her head: their names are a secret.
I have no doubt at all that she is a liar, though
For those scunnered at the ‘How We Won the War’ running all this week, and the VE Day celebrations, remember that when they sing about ‘bluebirds over the White Cliffs of Dover’, bear in mind that there are no bluebirds in Britain (it’s an American bird) and never have been.
It is about as correct as saying there will be Gloucester Old Spots over the fucking WCoD.
They were lying then too. 🙂
LA,
Not sure what oor Ruthie is trying to achieve there. Burly SNPers are not going to put off the SNP vote and could therefore only backfire on her.
Ot sorry
can anyone rember the name of the bank (not The Airdrie Savings Bank)
Discussed here shortly after the referendum ?
Was not a UK bank and seemed to be independent from the big multi nationals.
It so felt good to vote finally.
If the SNP do as well as expected today then it will be remarkable how many of the people of Scotland have chosen to ignore the mountain of shit beamed at them by the mainstream media. Related “The British Press has Lost it“.
My Nicola Sturgeon (as Che Guevara) T Shirt has arrived and I can now wear it as I vote for Chris Law in Dundee West.
Thank you for your incredible efforts Stu Campbell
Something has to change, individuals demonstrate against organised groups who exploit people are called thugs, they are only allowed to demonstrate if they join a political party and obey orders. MSM has to be brought to book for this and their masters. Only then will real change happen. We are on the road of change but I see a junction coming up.
Any soul fans on here?
Paul Mason (one of the few good journalists on MSM) is doing a Top 100 countdown of Northern Soul songs on his Twitter feed – currently at 87
link to twitter.com
Well, it passes the time
*Come on Baby, Don’t Bring Me Down*
I had an intersting experience voting in England, Putney, safeish Tory, Labour second.
On exiting the Polling Station, right at the door ( is this legal?) a man asked me for my voter registration number. He had no rosette or party colour but was all official and clip board. When I asked him to what purpose he replied ” to identify who has not yet voted”. He said the party would contact those who have not voted. He was a Tory, as he admitted.
They have a right to ask but
1 Should he be so close to the polling station door?
2 Should he declare his purpose as he asks?
I’m starting to think the Rev’s trapped in a NORNÄS wardrobe in Ikea and no mobile reception to tweet for help..
He’s been affa quiet the day..
@mike cassidy
Ruth Davidson was talking pish as per.
Proof: link to twitter.com
@ Robert Peffers 2.15pm:
You Wrote: “Is that what you actually want? Remember, “The Troubles”, in Ireland. Scotland is not going back in the box. We are attempting to do so in a democratic manner but if our path is obstructed or threatened by force there will be only one conclusion.
Robert, I have previously responded to you with admiration for your intelligence, passion and desire. However, your comments at 2.15pm are, frankly, a disgrace.
I wrote a completely neutral, non-combative comment. I also wrote, what I thought was a completely neutral observation about the GE producing a result (whichever way it goes) that will doubtless cause some to complain.
I see absolutely no causal relationship, whatsoever, between my comment – and your very aggressive and threatening response.
I will put it down to you being “over-tired”.
Feeling pumped but hearing some worrying news that Labour outperforming SNP in a few areas. Word on the street is they’ll get c. 20-25 seats.
Dedicated to all my friends on this site who are NOT Wingers 🙂
Did notice a difference at my local polling station in Musselburgh this morning,compared to referendum day.
People smiling at me,making eye contact & most importantly giving me reading cards(to show they had voted SNP) I really hope George Kerevan gets the east lothian seat,has worked his socks off for it!
Where the new posts rev was promising….bored shitless at work.
The latest news from the #AnnanWarZone.
link to twitter.com
Just back from shift at my local polling station, Airdrie. Very positive, lots of smiles, goodlucks and conversion chats. Even the lifelong Labour agents tkink they’re beat, no longer recognise their own party.
Feel like a teenager waiting for their exam results coming in! Gonna try an get a kip before going to Motherwell for the count, totally buzzing!
That is the image of the total campaign Stu! 🙂
The Scots are coming! The Scots are coming!
Panic in the establishment.
link to archive.is
Just got back frae voting in N.E Fife. I don’t expect the SNP vote to be much in St Andrews, but hopefully Cupar, Tayport etc, will more than make up for it!
cearc says:
LA,
Not sure what oor Ruthie is trying to achieve there. Burly SNPers are not going to put off the SNP vote and could therefore only backfire on her.
I think she can only be trying to save the burnt earse of Fluffy. Nothing else makes any sense to me. Unfortunately for her, and Fluffy, he is out on his ear. Look out for him making a re-appearance at Holyrood elections next year though. 😀
Ther is one advantage though she has given us all a great big laugh at her expense with hash tags like #Annangate, #DisturbingReports and #AnnanWarZone! 😀
Jamie Arriere
Yep I’m a soul man , brings back happy memories listening to Paul Mason’s top 100 Northern Soul
Sadly didn’t get to go to Wigan Pier, just bopped in Edinburgh (late 60’s, 70’s) 🙂
@Vestas
I am voting for the Green Party as I am in the same boat.
@liz g
Are you looking for Handelsbanken – Swedish who have branches in the main cities?
https://www.handelsbanken.co.uk
Sensibledave@3:56
We have over the course of the last few days,attempted to good humourdly dissuade you from being on here annoying folk,given you the occasional written form of a dead arm,dead leg ” a nummie”.
Admittingly the odd occasional,accidentally misdirected, shot may have resulted in a low blow and landed on your familly jewels,resulting in your failure to keep the heid.
Hell slappit in the ye !,my advice,goan have a boatla ginger to clear ow that mince out of yer heid and dinnae haste ye back,we’re a wee bit busy for a few days.
chalks
Last known, he was heading to IKEA (Bristol prob, which is a pain to park at times)
So maybe eating them out of Swedish meat balls, if not mesmerised by the cornucopia of Swedish furnishings 😉
Arabs for Independence says:
My Nicola Sturgeon (as Che Guevara) T Shirt has arrived and I can now wear it as I vote for Chris Law in Dundee West.
Thank you for your incredible efforts Stu Campbell
It really is a cracking T-shirt AfI. We received ours yesterday.
We wore our Nicola Guevara T-shirts today when we went to place our crosses in the “None of the above” box at the local polling station. When questioned by the local defence force we denied 100% that there was any connection or coincidence even between our T-shirts and our intention to vote for the S.N.P. 😉
Thankfully the local defence force have seen nothing that would make them concerned that the Annan War Zone was spreading outside Annan, which is probably just as well cause I don’t do Disturbing Reports from the Annan War Zone or any other War Zone for that matter. 😀
Just back from putting yet another X in for Alex.
What a privilege it is to be in the fortunate position of having him as a general election candidate and my MSP.
I am truly blessed!
If anyone is up for a wee bit of Bingo tonight to while away the wee small hours then perhaps this may suffice. 😉
link to oscartaime.wordpress.com
“On exiting the Polling Station, right at the door ( is this legal?) a man asked me for my voter registration number. He had no rosette or party colour but was all official and clip board. When I asked him to what purpose he replied ” to identify who has not yet voted”. He said the party would contact those who have not voted. He was a Tory, as he admitted.”
I encountered this too. It’s natural to assume without thinking that this is part of the process and it does feel a bit underhand.
Just voted for Gavin Newlands, Paisley and Renfrewshire North.
One nice wee lady from the SNP greeting everyone at St Catherine’s.
Saw only two people get knocked back because they were not on the elctoral roll…pity.
Outside of that, voting seems to be going a nice steady pace.
Looking forward to tomorrow 🙂
Very sad story on BBC today:
link to bbc.co.uk
liek if u cri evry tim
@ Lesley-Anne
I think what wee Ruthie meant to tweet was:
“Burly blokes being turned away from Anan polling station because they don’t support having a party.”
“Oi! Taxi!”
@ lizg
Re independent bank – was it this?
link to handelsbanken.co.uk
I bookmarked it at the time but have not done anything about it since.
Thepnr
That one brings back memories. 😉
Partner filled in a populous on-line political poll this afternoon. She had voted this morning…I don’t get any to do on my computer 🙁
Less than 6 hours to go till the votes are counted in the Michael Woods Centre for Glenrothes vote.
Just across the road from where I am living. Mike Woods who I knew well was an SNP councillor, sadly no more, but a good place for Glenrothes to declare for the SNP.
@ Hoss
I see you got there first; well done!
Happens every time!
How’s Mackintosh @4.19
That’s the one.
Thank you very much x
Live updates from around Scotland, Scot goes Pop involved.
link to ibtimes.co.uk
Richardino
Smells fishy to me. I know there’s absolutely no chance of anyone committing electoral fraud in the yookay, but what the hell? If someone has a list of all the people who haven’t voted, they could get people to turn up late in the evening without a card and…….
Naw That wouldn’t happen. Not in the yookay.
Has Ruth apologised yet? Don’t know why I feel genuinely surprised that she’d tell a deliberate lie-or just an untruth?
maybe I’m naive.
Chatting at the polling place with the Lib Dem guy in West Edinburgh and i get the feeling they are not so confident of getting Tory votes to beat the SNP.
@ Jamie Arriere Thanks for the Paul Mason link. Really helping to pass the time! Just played Dena Barnes – superb.
@ Ricardinho
I don’t know why you are surprised. Have you forgotten she is a tory?
If anyone is going to a polling station (??) please check any Scottish Labour boards. In the Glenrothes area they have been using boards printed on both sides which is not permitted under election rules
Election agents had been contacted by the polling stations but the boards had not been changed/pasted over promptly (for at least 2 hours)
I suspect ALL the boards were printed centrally so I would be surprised if other areas were different. Labour cannot claim ignorance on this (as maybe a single issue independent might) They are well aware of the rules so give them as much grief as possible.
@ carjamtic says: 4.19
If I was unwilling to take a few hits I wouldn’t be “sharing” with you here.
Robert’s talk of the “Troubles” in NI is plain madness – and should be called such – not just by me, but everyone else here.
With regards to my presence here at all, if you want to make it a Scottish Only, SNP only site – then the Rev is quite within his rights to do so – but you need to scrap the “About” pages above and accept that it is no longer a political blog – but just another “me too, groupthink” site.
If you leave it open then surely people with a different point of view should be allowed their say – provided, unlike many here, they remain civil and debate politics – whilst also being able to respond “robustly” when challenged in that manner initially.
The SNP wants to be a partner in the government of the UK. It wants to influence the laws that will affect me in England. Am I not to be allowed to have a view on the SNP, its leadership, or its policies – and share those views with SNP supporters – providing I conduct myself appropriately?
@ Ricardinho
RE Approach at polling station.
This morning a SNP canvasser came to my door to see if I had voted yet: I hadn’t. He gave me a card and asked me to text or e-mail or visit the candidate’s site to let them know when I did vote.
It seemed to me that this actually achieves what your guy says he was trying to do. Over the last couple of weeks I had visits from SNP people asking which way I intended to vote, so they knew I would support them. I presume that they will contact those who are potential supporters but have not advised they have voted later today:with a view to getting the vote out
Your guy seems to imply that they will impartially contact anyone who has not voted: all very noble but it reeks of implausibility. If they don’t have the manpower to identify their vote, they don’t have the manpower to waste on contacting folk who have no stated intention of voting for them.
I smell rats
Rev Stu.
Sometimes you get so lost in IKEA the only way out is to give up, sit on the floor and wait for the nightshift man with the ride on sweeper to get you.
Proud Cybernat says:
@ Lesley-Anne
I think what wee Ruthie meant to tweet was:
“Burly blokes being turned away from Anan polling station because they don’t support having a party.”
“Oi! Taxi!”
Thanks for that PC. Now everything in Annan makes perfect sense. We no longer need to worry about who started the Annan War Zone cause now we know … it was the partyless burly men!
They may have a wee bit of bother catching a taxi though I understand all taxi’s are being diverted away from the Annan War Zone until Koffi Annan arrives with his blue bereted peace corps. 😀
@ liz g
Do you mean the Santander Bank?
Is that what you’re looking for?
Rev Stu
..and back in the room. Bet you’ve got some tea lights.
We’ll be coming down the road to Westminster.
@ Naina Tal 4.38
… I think it has been standard practise for a long time. I believe the objective is, indeed, to identify those that have not voted – and then to contact them to offer a lift to the polling station (providing they say they are going to vote the “right” way I think).
Pensioner here,
Just back from polling station,2 votes posted to kick out Danny Alexander. One from me and one from my 86 year old Mum.
Come on Scotland.
Wife and I now voted for the O’Hara guy in A&B. Polling station say they have been very busy all day.
Now we wait and dread a replay of last years sick feeling.
Oddly, there’s a pretty good case AGAINST a strong SNP presence at Westminster. If they repeat their minority trick as shown initially at Holyrood, the buggers will never let us go!
sensibledave says:
7 May, 2015 at 4:50 pm
@ carjamtic says: 4.19
If I was unwilling to take a few hits I wouldn’t be “sharing” with you here.
snip:
Dave, I find your posts knowledgeable and challenging. Don’t agree with your views but that’s called democracy.
The SNP does have faults and drawing attention to them makes the Party stronger and better because it does listen.
You’ll get the odd brickbat (or six lol) but it’s essential all issues are debated fairly. From me personally, please keep posting!
Ms Davidson attempting to mislead by misspeaking?
Who would believe that?
Ah the MSM – gullible bunch that they are.
Please stop responding to sensibledave – he is clearly insensible and really if you respond he feels obliged to keep going.
Also from West Edinburgh polling place,the LibDem Moke Cockart was not happy that Jo Swintn had stolen some of his little helpers.
I know. eavesdropping is not nice.
I got a call this morning from someone representing the SNP to ask if I intended voting today. I’m sure I’ve had that before and it’s okay with me as I know they’ll have my contact details.
Presumably that lets them tick you off on their ‘definites’ list and move on to someone who might need a lift or who’s changed their mind about supporting you (glad I’m not working in the Labour equivalent 🙂 ).
midgehunter @4.57
Don’t think its that one I think it’s the one Hoss Mackintosh mentioned farther up.
But thanks anyway Hun x
The guy who asked for the number on my polling card did have a blue rosette on but not obviously for the Conservatives. In fact I’m half certain that it was actually the Ukip candidate because I recognised him from their literature!
Guess it’s not a big deal but there’s it leaves you with the suspicion that something shady is going on. I would prefer people to be upfront about who they are so you can feel you’re making an informed choice.
“I don’t know why you are surprised. Have you forgotten she is a tory?”
Weirdly I had quite a high opinion of Ruth. I have to warn her that opinion is hanging on a shoogly nail right now!
So – my gf is at her polling station to vote SNP and see a labour guy at the door and says to him “am takin a note of the number on my card to make sure there’s no messing about with the votes this time”. His response to her was “ahhh but that didn’t happen her in Angus that was other areas votes got tampered with”.
Been at the busier polling station in my village all afternoon: steady stream of voters. One Labour polling agent joined briefly by a Councillor and no-one from Labour when he popped into the pub for lunch. He’s virtually the only one they have on duty.
By contrast there was a steady stream of SNP polling agents, including a visit from our MSP.
The best news is that an old guy I have known for a long time and who can barely walk even with the zimmer was helped into the polling station by his daughter: he paused beside us and said, “60 years I have been voting Labour, but I’m voting for your lot this time.”
I thanked him by name.
I also met an old lady I have known for a long time and she asked me the name of the SNP chap as she forgot to look before she left the house.
The times they are a changing!
A Layman’s guide to Sturgium.
Sturgium has been found to be highly reactive, especially in the presence of inert elements, such as Cameronium, Millibandite and Cleggium. These elements tend to break down rapidly in the presence of Sturgium, reverting to particles such as Murphite (an isodope of Millbandite) which has an incredibly short half-life.
Millibandite has become an increasingly rare element in Scotland as the value of the rich seams of Sturgium has become apparent in recent years.
Experts in the field expect that Sturgium will be produced in ever-increasing quantities, allowing the export of a generous supply to England.
However, supplies of Cameronium have been almost exhausted in Scotland, although small seams are thought to exist in the Borders. These are unlikely to ever be worth developing and Scottish consumers will in future have to rely on Ruthium, which some consider to be a reasonable (and much cheaper) substitute for Cameronium.
Cleggium and Cameronium have usually been found to be chemically bound, and only an expert can tell,them apart. However, in the presence of a catalyst, such as Sturgium, the bonds rapidly break, although this will usually result in the total destruction of the Cleggium, leaving only residual traces of Cameronium.
Prof. Fireproofjim BSc, Portobello (failed)
@Hoss Mackintosh + crazycat
Who are that Handelsbanken mob anyway? Are they a sort of independence-friendly bank?
Noticed the link being passed around, but I didn’t look into it at the time.
Nice day outside today, and the temperature is back above freezing again! 🙂
Was out casting my vote earlier.
One of the polling agents recognised me after my 12-hour shift outside the same polling station on referendum day (which my right knee still hasn’t forgiven me for!)
Couple of Labour and SNP representatives outside chatting quite amicably to each other.
Still not sure what to do with the rest of the day now. Tempted to go and join Cactus in Freedom Square. But the train fare up to Glasgow is a bit steep for a day trip.
Maybe just stay here and fidget…
Good title for an Agatha Christie novel: ‘Ms Davidson Misspeaks.’
What’s she been up to justified as ‘saving the Union’? 🙂
Any little respect I had for Ruth Davidson is gone. That tweet was nasty, time wasting mischief making, and I see the D & G Council were on the case immediately to refute.
IF Ruth was professional, and had any concerns, she would have lifted the phone to the Returning Officer etc in the Council to make her report, rather than put damaging gossip in the Twittersphere.
Being a party leader, she would get straight through and treated with courtesy, instead, she is casting aspersions on the polling officers ability to run a legally compliant polling place.
Shame on you, Davidson
Dorothy Devine says:
7 May, 2015 at 5:19 pm
Who would believe that?
Ah the MSM – gullible bunch that they are.
Please stop responding to sensibledave – he is clearly insensible and really if you respond he feels obliged to keep going.
see my post above.
I disagree, sensibledave has valid points (though in general I don’t share his views) but healthy debate underpins democracy. The SNP needs opposition to keep it on its toes. It keeps the Party healthy and ultimately makes it stronger.
I don’t think he’s trolling, just fighting his own corner. Don’t forget, 50 years ago the SNP were thought to be cranks and village idiots; it took brave folk to advance the cause and now look where they are!
Voted after work for Deirdrie Brock in Edin & Leith. Fingers crossed it looking good but want to err on the side of caution atm and not repeat the black frdiay experience of last september. Fingers crossed for the SNP!
@ Dorothy Devine.
SD is extremely rude and wholly disingenuous. But you do not have to talk to him. Those who get some benefit from doing so are doing neither you nor I any harm. Suggest you scroll on by 🙂
Voted!
SNP supervisor wearing black leather gloves, bit off putting for a handshake, but then again I have a chest infection, and she will be shaking hundreds- no, thousands of hands today! 🙂
There is a saying that covers that Kevin … now how does it go again … “Straight from the horse’s mouth!” 😀
@fireproofjim. Is Murphy a fundilymundily particle?
Ruthie`s had as much as she can take.
link to twitter.com
I don’t think he’s trolling
Wrong!
Trolls always have at least two supporters pop out of the woodwork to argue their case. Soon we are talking about the troll and not about the topic.
Narcissism is the hallmark.
Only a fool or a troll drops into an independence site to tell us we are wrong and NOT KNOW WHEN TO STOP.
@ Grouse Beater.
He is lonely in rl. There is a reason for that
Maybe just stay here and fidget… Tell me about it. Never been a GE like this before. 500 miles from home, great poets help but getting fidgety.
Come writers and critics
Who prophesize with your pen
And keep your eyes wide
The chance won’t come again
And don’t speak too soon
For the wheel’s still in spin
And there’s no tellin’ who
That it’s namin’
For the loser now
Will be later to win
For the times they are a-changin’.
Oh well Ruth is getting slaughtered on Twitter. Serves her right lol!
link to twitter.com
Re. checking if you have voted.
Just back in from a Get Out the Vote shift in Glasgow North.
There have been teams out all over the constituency making sure that all identified supporters remember to vote. There will be waves going out until probably about 9pm checking and rechecking until we’re sure that we’ve reminded everyone. So it’s standard practice as is the phone call check which obviously is only applicable if you are a member or have supplied your phone number with the survey forms that went out a few weeks ago.
Nothing to get paranoid about, it’s all about maximising the vote.
Just taking a breather from a very busy day taxi-ing many delightful older people from all walks of life and origin. Up farm roads, nay tracks, up skyscrapers wi broken lifts, doon basements liftin wheelchairs.
What a truly fantastic people we have in our wiser, ill-trickett elders.
Forget Ashcroft predictions, we are one people.
“There’s a political rule that says if an election comes down to a decision between the past and the future, the future always wins.”
(JOHN HARRIS)
link to theguardian.com
Good luck everyone.
Our fingers are crossed here in Finland!
I’m hosting a very strange “party”. I’m having a Scot-Finn couple over and we just had dinner, might have a glass or two of wine and then go to bed!
Scottish results should be coming from 2am Scottish time, that’s 4am Finnish time, so we’ll get up early. I’ve got a nice breakfast lined up and my guests have printed the bingo cards. 😀
Our predictions for SNP seats range from 35 to 59. I’m the pessimist just because I don’t want to be too disappointed. SLAB will have got its postal vote out, tactical voting could confuse things, some “soft” SNP voters might think it’s in the bag and not bother going and actually voting…
VPN primed so we can get the broadcast from Scotland, computer soon to be hooked up to the TV…
Finnish election nights are a lot more boring because polls close at 8pm and everything is done and dusted by midnight.
A.N.Surgent says:
Ruthie`s had as much as she can take.
link to twitter.com
Maybe she has … maybe she hasnae ANS but woe betide her if she turns up in the Annan War Zone in that leetle tank cause the frontline fighters are all ready and waiting. They are currently drawing lots to see who gets the privilege of firing the first anti tank missile. 😀
@ lumilumi
That was a very nice post: I found it rather touching, actually. I think it was because you intend to get up so early for an election which, no matter how interesting, will not actually affect you directly
So much for the neoliberal view of human nature. No better indication they are wrong
Just back from voting in Edinburgh west, another 3 votes for Michelle Thomson from the smith family.
At polling station there was one agent from SNP and one from lib-dems,..labour sent a photo of cammy day !
@Grouse Beater says: 7 May, 2015 at 12:25 pm:
“Why does Farage wear a second-hand car salesman’s camel hair coat? 🙂
Mibbie he reckons it’s a wee bit better than wearing a camel’s second hand coat as a car salesman.
Could there be another reason ruthie does not like burly men perhaps???
@Fireproofjim
Sturgium is what stars are mostly made of 🙂 Great post.
My Scots friend heard I was commenting on WoS and asked me to share this.
Re-reading the Game of Thrones books, he’s just realised who Jim Murphy is: Roose Bolton! That whispery voice and all over creepy and scary! 😀
I’m preparing myself for the sad fact that he’ll retain his seat due to unionist tactical voting, i.e. tory voters replacing the former Lab voters.
Still, if SLAB lose half of their seats or more, Murphy’s position as branch manager is surely untenable? And it’s in James Francis Murphy’s interest to “humbly” admit defeat, resign as branch manager and spend the next five years throughing in WM and sucking up to corporate interests for juicy directorships for when his political career inevitably ends.
Getting all misty
Feeling a part of something bigger than myself
Anyone else feel it?
Lesley-Anne
Have no worries about the defence of Annan, if your around. 🙂
RT pay attention to Mhairi
link to rt.com
I am looking out my window here at Robert the Bruce astride his horse on the field of Bannockburn.Its time to take the fifty odd steps to the polling booth at Borestone school to give my Scotland a helping hand.
Thanks for keeping this site going and all the tweets.
Here is hoping.
Long game
Dorothy@5:19
Fiona@5:40
Please excuse,I admit I have a problem in as much as,I subconsciously put a voice,to a post (er),I am allergic to certain dialects,for example,John Major ;-).
I will heed your advice.
Done my polling duty stint. voted and did some phone knock All the best Mike Weir Angus
Katie Hopkins Still Plans To Leave The UK If Ed Miliband Walks Into Number 10
My day just keeps getting better, 2 for 1! Great value for a vote.
link to archive.is
The difference in voter turnout between Scotland and rUK might be interesting.
Am frozen, av been at the polling station since 9 oclock this morning and its baltic oot there,
worse than that I sunburned as well,
but I am a happy wee camper, the hardest nut to crack in Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath was always going to be Lochgelly, and the exit responses I’m getting is JUST in favour of Labour so if we’re JUST behind here I would be willing to bet we’re taking GB’s (ex) seat
Sounds nice Maxi…my folks etc visited regularly but ive alway missed out. One day soon…
Researchers have discovered the heaviest element yet known to science. The new element, Sturgium (symbol=Snp), has one neutron, 25 assistant neutrons, 88 deputy neutrons and 198 assistant deputy neutrons, giving it an atomic mass of 312.
These 312 particles are held together by forces called morons, which are surrounded by vast quantities of lepton-like particles called pillocks. Since Sturgium has no electrons, it is inert. However, it can be detected, because it impedes every reaction with which it comes into contact.
A tiny amount of Sturgium can cause a reaction that would normally take less than a second, to take from 4 days to 4 years to complete Sturgium has a normal half-life of 2 to 6 years. It does not decay, but instead undergoes a reorganisation in which a portion of the assistant neutrons and deputy neutrons exchange places.
In fact, Sturgium’s mass will actually increase over time, since each reorganisation will cause more morons to become neutrons, forming isodopes.
This characteristic of moron promotion leads some scientists to believe that Sturgium is formed whenever morons reach a critical concentration. This hypothetical quantity is referred to as a critical morass. When catalysed with money, Sturgium becomes Holyroodium (symbol=Hm), an element that radiates just as much energy as Sturgium, since it has half as many pillocks but twice as many morons.
Not my words; from a comment on the scotsman.
I am disappointed in Ruth Davidson today, she let herself down either by allowing herself to be used or by behaving like a young conservative in charge of entertainment. She completely forgot she is Leader of Conservatives in Scotland total lack of class, compare with Nicola. Hell no compare with Kezia, still lacking.
Just back in from voting for Corri Wilson… go Corri.
Bit more chilled but still nervous, the guys at the polling station said no unionist party activists on show just one slab cooncillor has turned up.
So now this on fu bung…
link to wingsoverscotland.com
Will Podmore @ 2.48
“a percentage sure to be tossed at us ”
What do yo mean US white man?
Robert: Mibbie he reckons it’s a wee bit better than wearing a camel’s second-hand coat as a car salesman.
Ha, ha! 🙂
For the past 50 years I have been called many things because of my conviction to support the S.N.P. In the beginning it was a lonely furough that was ploughed. Tomorrow will be the fruits of all those have kept faith. To all who may be voting for the first time or those who now have joined with us recently. I welcome you to this special party. For the stalwarts keep up the good fight.
Lots of propaganda loose talk, aided by the British press, asking loudly if any political party propped up by the SNP would be legitimate.
I like the Cornish man interviewed: “Westminster? Don’t care for it. Don’t care for it at all. It don’t much care about us coz we’re Cornish men. Yeah. Stands to reason”
That’ll do for me. 🙂
@ Richardinho
A bit late in the day now I’m afraid, but advice to all. Parties try to find out who has voted so that they can do a late knockup to get their promised votes out. DON’T TELL TORIES (RED, ORANGE or BLUE) ANYTHING – that way they are in the dark and may waste resources in a futile attempt to get a late surge. ONLY TELL PROGRESSIVE PARTIES THAT YOU HAVE VOTED allowing them to cross you off their lists and properly target late and missing promises.
Red Tories used to specialise in late taxi runs in tight contests.
Every body part crossed here.
When I arrived for my stint at our local polling station my oppo informed me that the local dogs had already decided how things were going.. the Labour candidate’s A-board had already been pished on twice to the SNP’s nil… the dog’s have it.. the dog’s have it… Graham Morrice has been judged and found pishworthy.
Guardian crying on twitter about media bias .
Give me strength..
My vote in for Douglas Chapman.
Only SNP and Labour banners. Not a Green, Tory, LibDem or UKiP in sight.
Looks like good turnout though with many names already scored off at 5.30.
@ Yoda,
I wonder if you might want to look up from drooling on your keyboard, mebbe look around at whatever sad, empty room you’re in, and see if anything resembling self awareness kicks in. If you’re reduced to reposting stuff from someone smarter and better paid than you just to try to be sneering and insulting, while the rest of the country gets on with the business of pulling ourselves up by our bootstraps,you are a small, sad little man, and you have my pity.
Well, the feet are pretty sore, but, all in a good day’s work.
Was out just after 6:30am for polling station duty, then then mostly Get out the Vote work until just before 5:pm.
Glad it didn’t rain 🙂 Hoping for good results.
‘Kenny’ at 10.35 this morning repeated two myths that in the last two years have been used to support the ‘grievance and victimhood’ narrative that seems to underpin so many people’s reason for voting ‘Yes’/SNP.
First: ‘Churchill planned, in such an eventuality [a German invasion of Scotland in 1940], to abandon Scotland (and the north of England) to better focus on saving the south!’
Not true. This ‘factoid’ was invented in March 2013 and has since been used frequently to show how they nasty English were prepared to abandon us. If you want the truth: link to thinkscotland.org
Second: ‘Go back to WWI, Scots suffered most casualties per head of population out of all countries behind Serbia’.
Yes, but only because more Scots volunteered. The idea built on this assertion, that Scots were ‘sacrificed’ in preference to English troops, is rubbish. The losses per battalion for Irish troops were worst, with English and Scottish battalions within half a percent of each other, and Welsh battalions lowest of all. The units that were thrown into the difficult battles and had significantly higher losses than other battalions were the guards – Welsh, Irish, Scots, Coldstream, Grenadier.
Just back from the polling station with my family – that’s another four votes for Kirsty Blackman (Aberdeen North).
Thepnr @ 3.59
Wow man that’s real spite
LOLOLOLO LOOOOAAAAAA
I didn’t think you were so nasty.
Right who’s upset Alex?
carjamtic says @4.19
Nothing to add carry on.
A.N.Surgent says:
Lesley-Anne
Have no worries about the defence of Annan, if your around. 🙂
I just do what I can whenever I can ANS. 😉
Oh in case you’re wondering I won the lottery and get first shot with the anti “leetle” tank thingy should wee Ruthie try and turn up in the middle of the Annan War Zone. 😀
Gordon Barclay,
does St Valery ring any bells. Im now nearly seventy and have known about the defence of Southern Britain since I was a boy and the abandonment of the 51 Highland Brigade in France. I knew a lot of men who were there.
@Will Podmore says: 7 May, 2015 at 2:48 pm:
… Democracy is majority rule, not minority rule.”
Hilarious! Podmore, really, really comical.
Thing is that principle first applies at constituency level. And if the SNP get 30 seats they have a majority of Scottish seats and no English party has a mandate to run Scotland.
A party may get more votes on a UK basis and not win the most seats. That’s democracy UK style. It always favours Labour and usually labour, with less votes gets more seats.
And don’t tell us it isn’t the English government because Westminster is the English Parliament. If it isn’t then you tell us where it is.
Edward says @4.20
“Last known, he was heading to IKEA (Bristol prob, which is a pain to park at times)”
I had to read that three times before I got it,
I was thinking what kind of car is an IKEA,
it must be huge if its a bitch to park. 🙂
What?
I’m tired right,
I’ve been at the bleedin polling station all day! 🙂
@yoda
@ Robert Peffers
Hmmm – did I moan on about Churchill withdrawing from Scotland if there was a nazi invasion as in the Channel Isalnds? No. Strategic move I reckon – whether one agrees or not..
However Yoda you seek to rewrite history. Guess what? We want a Better Scotland – for eveyoe who lives here – not just native born Scots – and guess what again? If we do get independence Westminster will have been the architect of its own downfall through their lies and manipulation. They should be worried about the rest of the UK wising up to their antics and leave us to look after ourselves which we are ready, willing and able to do so.
Thanks Robert Pefers and all ye clever Wingers.
“The idea built on this assertion, that Scots were ‘sacrificed’ in preference to English troops, is rubbish.”
You say that, and it may be so, but you haven’t actually proven it.
The idea that Scottish soldiers would be considered dispensable by British general was expressed in the famous quote by General James Wolfe regarding Highland regiments: “They are hardy, intrepid, accustomed to a rough country, and no great mischief if they fall.”
Of course I begrudge any Scottish people being harmed in Britain’s wars to begin with.
Have just voted for Dr. Lisa Cameron.
High turnout reported in East Kilbride.
Just voted for Brendan O’hara Argyll&Bute. Local polling station Ballygrant, Islay, has got a high turnout, plenty folk coming in. Ready for a long shift with a midnight curry at the local. Come on Scotland.
link to theguardian.com
I was not aware of this. It is kind of glossed over, but a “sample” does not sound at all like “getting a glimpse through the back” or “seeing the odd one which was not face down”.
Can someone go through this again for me? I clearly don’t understand what happens
Lovely day.
Keep the comments coming readers.. loads of people still to vote!
All of your comments together with the live TV Interviews, like the one with Jon Snow and panel earlier, can still make a difference.
Get your stringed instruments tightened up musical players.. this could be the start of a three day bender! 🙂
I’m a gonna vote, then head into Glasgow town/west end to check out the good vibrations.. maybe see y’all at Freedom Square later.
Love Scotland.
Colin Church @ 4.52
“Rev Stu.
Sometimes you get so lost in IKEA the only way out is to give up, sit on the floor and wait for the nightshift man with the ride on sweeper to get you.”
Or you could just go through the shortcuts and head quickly to the exit. 🙂
Jings, nearly had a brain meltdown moment there when I was casting my vote
I nearly marked my X in the box for Ian Davidson, I always voted Labour and thankfully I stopped myself in time and looked for the name “Chris Stephens – SNP” and marked my X in the correct box.
So glad that I broke a habit of a lifetime and voted for a candidate and party that I believe will STAND UP FOR SCOTLAND
Sure some female historian broke electoral rules talking about VE day and saying the very fabric of Britain is at risk.You might catch it on 1+.
@ronnie anderson says: 7 May, 2015 at 2:57 pm:
“Got a warning at the polling station for taking a photo of the back my ballot paper re reg number. I told the ladies while the ballot paper was in my hands it was my property,& I would do as I wished with it, I could have torn it up I hows yer cocoa.”
Taking photos in the polling station is not actually illegal, Ronnie. They don’t like it but cannot prevent it.
Colin Church @
“Rev Stu
..and back in the room. Bet you’ve got some tea lights.”
They do a nice range of cushions (very cheap) ……I’ve heard. 🙁
Evening my fellow beautiful wingers.
I hate this limbo feeling, its like election Christmas and hope the present we all open tomorrow is a SNP landslide for us all in Scotland.
Just voted for Big Angus – he is well liked and respected up here.
So proud of my lovely country. Can feel the change in the air. Our road has so many SNP posters up – people stopping and chatting. Things have really changed and everyone is excited.
Got the red wine and chilli heat wave doritos at the ready for a long night ahead.
Go on SNP. Times are a changing.
Heading out to do my stint as a polling agent. Don’t know where today has gone, can’t believe there is only two hours of this election left.
Fingers and all other extremities crossed…walking to the polling station might be tricky.
had a laugh today at my polling station. On the way in a lady was on the way out, I stopped and said after you, the lady smiled and thanked me. It was then that I noticed the tory rose-set, I said you are on your way out anyway. Nae smile after that.
Just voted in kilwinning. Cut short a wee break in England to get it done.
@Fiona says:7 May, 2015 at 3:32 pm:
“Don’t agree. What they want is attention. Don’t give it to them when they have proved themselves trolls. Though it is right not to assume that very readily.
I’d agree with you, Fiona, that the Trolls on the average, really just social, networks are indeed usually just attention seekers. This, though, is a political blog and they do seem to have their agenda which is always contrary to the main flow.
To my mind they are more undercover agents rather than attention seeking Trolls. You will notice they hang around for ages attempting not to attract attention before coming out as out-and-out opponents.
Sorry folks but I want … and I mean WANT a pair of these shoes! 😀
link to twitter.com
I left Scotland in 2001. After the referendum I joined the SNP. I registered to vote for this election. Glasgow North East.
The ballot paper took some time to get to me, so I ended up paying $47 or so to have it express mailed to get to the count with time to spare. Some of the best money I have ever spent, no matter the result, but I am hoping for the right one!
Everyone who can vote, get out there and do so. Good luck everyone, and thank you to all the Wingers, and to all the campaigners who have worked so hard this election to make a positive change in Scotland. (And the rUK!)
An illegitimate government brought about by illegitimate voters.
Devised by separatists, a country duped by manipulative emotive politics.
Fooled and foolish, immature, uneducated and misinformed.
Lunch with a worried unionist.
Me? I’m looking forward to the unification of Scotland.
Everyone’s a winner babe.
@starlaw
My father was captured at St Valery. You are quite correct. The 51st Gordon Highlanders were sacrificed there while English battalions were rescued by ship. Sir Peter Scott, the bird man, was a captain of a ship prevented by Churchill from going to St Valery to rescue them. This is well known among the families of the troops who were captured and spent 5 years as prisoners of war.
Terry asks that I prove my argument about the myth about the ‘sacrificing’ of Scots soldiers (which he doesn’t feel the need to prove!) Try this:
British Army Infantry Regiments: Casualties (fatalities) per Battalion* 1914-1918. Brig E A James ” British Regiments 1914-1918″
Scottish Battalions (143).583 fatalities per battalion
Irish Battalions (56) 592 fatalities per battalion
Welsh Battalions (66)..410 fatalities per battalion*
English Battalions (776).572 fatalities per battalion*
Also here is a critique of the Fergusson and Devine ‘statistics’ that set the hare running in the first place.
link to scottishmilitary.blogspot.co.uk
Thank you for that link, caledonia.
I thought it was bad, but seeing it set out like that…
Really sad, especially if you grew up knowing that the BBC was respected round the world and that people in other countries risked their lives to listen because they couldn’t trust their own broadcasters.
Ruthie is just another Murphy, wants to be the centre of attraction, massive ego problem & think they’re the story when nobody gives a fuck really.
Campaign Daze Over
It has been a grueling campaign. But it did have its funnier moments. Here is Proud Cybernat’s alternative pictorial commentary on the key moments of the 2015 Election Campaign.
But first of all:
NEWSFLASH – This just in:
Annan war zone – Tensions Rise:
link to scottcreighton.co.uk
So we knew it was going to be a good campaign right from the kick-off when this happened:
And not forgetting Danny Alexander’s memorable speech at his party’s conference:
And as parliament broke up for the last time, Call me Dave hit the bottle to welcome the next co-ale-ition:
Labour unveiled their SNP Terminator:
But Dimbo got stuck right in, promising 1,000 more nurses than the SNP:
As did his three amigos:
Meanwhilse, Call me Davey was explaining the three-strike rule:
But it all has to be paid for:
There were TV debates galore:
Sometimes you just need a hug:
There were street campaigns:
The Labour Party Manifesto:
Not forgetting the Paul Predictions:
And it wouldn’t be an election campaign without the Labour lies:
Not forgetting the substance abuse:
And who could forget Dollgate?
Or Trident?
A break from campaigning, feet up with a cuppa:
For some it all became a bit too much::
And finally, there was the homage to one of my favourite movies:
Hope you all enjoy and here’s to a big SNP win tonight and that this happens:
Slainte!
*IF* we get over twenty-nine SNP members and *IF* there is a grand Blue/Red Tory coalition which pulls another stunt like the poll tax, terrible austerity in Ecosse or seeks to abolish or diminish the role of Holyrood…
… under the Treaty of Union, thirty Scottish members could *theoretically* declare UDI. And it sould be perfectly legal!
link to rusartnet.com
That, my good sirs, is the reason for all the fear in Westminster: and a situation wholly of Westminster’s doing!
Now, I certainly do not imagine anyone in the SNP, a democratic party who does everything legally to a fault, ever going this far… certainly not without the backing of all other Holyrood parties or a scenario by which the whole country was in uproar… but it is just another example of one of the “delights” of not having a written constitution… Why is Britain a thousand years behind all other nations in terms of safeguards, constitutions, land ownership….???
In 2010 only 51% bothered to vote in the Glasgow Central constituency. It is a beautiful evening, so if you want to make a difference to the turnout, you have under two hours left.
That image perfectly encapsulates what it is all about for me. I think I will get that blown up and framed. It will become timeless.
Man I can feel the butterflies again, just like on September 18, as I wait for the results to come in. Voter apathy? Not in Scotland son.
Bring it on!
One more for Gavin at Renfrew north, I must say though there was a little labour flier on the polling booth table for labour (it had a wee x next to thingy jigs name), I scrunched it up and gave it to the officer for disposal.
Lesley-Anne
As The Defender of Annan you are guaranteed your place in Scottish folklore. 🙂
Frogesque @5.19 pm said:
“I don’t think he’s (sensibledave) trolling, just fighting his own corner.”
Ha-ha-ha-ha-ha! Aye, right!
Do yourself a favour and find out what a Contrarian Troll is and how it operates. The University of Google will help you out.
@ Fiona, 6.18pm
We three are watching the UK GE because all three of us hope to live in Scotland in the future and the outcome of this GE could see the UK having an in-out EU referendum and perhaps out, so scruppering our hopes of living in Scotland (while Scotland is part of the UK).
I lived in Scotland for years, I’m back in Finland now for family reasons but hope to return sometime in the near future.
And we haven’t gone to bed yet, we first have to watch Finland play Slovenia in the ice hockey World Championships. Finland leads 3-0 about half-way through. (Ice hockey is the most popular sport in Finland and today is 20 yrs to the day that we first won the World Championship – thank god we won again in 2011, otherwise we’d be like the English with their 1966 😀 )
Opened the curtains in Edinburgh this morning. Clear blue sky over to Fife and trees swaying in the wind. Seemed like a good omen – the first two lines of ‘Freedom Come All Ye’ (had to go to work, so don’t know if the clouds went arse over tit across the water). Really hoped it would be good weather today to match the optimism. Voted by 8.30. Off to the pub tonight wearing my two specially made badges – big images of a broken egg and a bowl of cereal – no words. Day off tomorrow, so up all night – don’t want to miss a single Portillo moment. Everything in place – bottle of malt, beer, munch, fags. I’m gonna have a nip each time one of the tossers gets his/her P45. Have fun everyone. Love, Nuggets.
@capella, I holidayed at St Valerie a few years ago, the steam train takes you round the Somme to le crotoy. As I was trying in best French to get tickets the attendant was not very helpful until he asked in French for me to fill out the booking form, which asked for my address as soon as he saw it he broke into perfect English and was extremely helpful to an ecosse!
General “No great mischief if they fall” Wolfe died on the Heights of Abraham attempting to capture Quebec from the French. But before that he fought with Butcher Cumberland at Culloden. He expressed nothing but contempt for the Highlanders as he policed the country hunting out “rebels”.
A fine example.
If anyone is a little nervous, William Hill latest odds: SNP total seats,
31-35 12/1
36-40 9/1
46-50. 2/1
51 and over 8/11
Bookies are never far out. Keep the faith.
Voted and did my 5 hours at the polling booths for the cause. Sitting back with a glass of Chateau Neuf du Pape(large one) and thinking thank you very much Stuart Campbell for giving me the opportunity to express my thoughts. Thanks to you we are all journalists and commentators now and our opinions are just as important as anyone else’s and probably as widely read. Lang may yer lum reek sunshine. When victory is achieved tomorrow please consider some kind of set up whereby we can continue this kind of social comment. It has been most effective and very stimulating. Again – Thank You Stuart.
This really says it all
link to s29.postimg.org
That’s me & the wife just voted for Chris Law in Dundee West.
Now we wait..
@ Fiona
“Sampling” is just the word used for trying to sneak a peek at ballot papers and then extrapolating; it isn’t proper scientific sampling.
The council staff do their best to keep the papers face down when they take them out of their envelopes and compare the number on the ballot with that on the envelope and then count them into bundles, but sometimes the papers have not been neatly inserted into the envelopes by the voters, or the vote is partially exposed for some other reason.
In September, where there were only two possible positions for the cross, it was easier to get an idea than it will be with lots of candidates; the ones near the bottom right hand corner are more likely to be revealed accidentally. Trying to see through the paper is also tricky.
Nevertheless, experienced polling agents believe they can get a feel for what is going on, and then they do try to scale up, no matter how statistically dodgy that might be.
The woman in Bristol was monumentally stupid, and the excuses she came out with so lame that I can’t see how she could be fit to be an MP. (Then again, I think that about most of them!)
I heard earlier that Sir Bruce and his band of merry liberalites have thrown in the towel in Gordon and instead are concentrating their efforts on Angus.
This was at around noontime today.
C’mon Angus!
71% turnout with many smiley faces.
Was out on a good morning’s knocking-up shift. In one street five Labour goons were going round doors mob-handed trying to drum up/intimidate some votes.
I seriously want every one of those scumbags eliminated in Scotland.
It’s now 4-0 to Finland. 🙂
Admittedly Slovenia is a small ice hockey nation and Finland is one of the big 6.
This many hours after we knew Ruthie got it wrong, the Independent has a headline
“General election 2015 live: Intimidation claims at polling stations across Scotland subject to police investigation”
And below this a picture of three police loitering outside a polling station
Below this
“Police were investigating claims of voter intimidation in Scotland reported by the Scottish Conservative leader Ruth Davidson” this links to another page with the headline
“Election 2015: Voters intimidated in polling stations across Scotland, says Ruth Davidson”
And underneath a big picture of Ruth with her “love putting you right face”
They then say Ruth’s allegation wasn’t of voter intimidation across Scotland only about the DCT constituency.
Then admit the allegation was only about Annan, not across Scotland, but you have to get four paragraphs down before they write that “Police Scotland and Dumfries & Galloway Council said they are currently looking into the allegations, although The Independent understands that there isn’t anything in the claims.” I’m guessing that’s enough cover for them
Independent are durty basterds
Starlaw,7.33 & 8.03. I’m sorry your father was captured at St Valery but attempts by the Royal Navy to rescue the 51st Division were made but the Germans had captured high ground on the coast that meant they could shell any ships approaching. The 51st was fighting with the French Army a long way from Dunkirk.
The idea that Scotland was to be abandoned is utterly without foundation. Read my book about the defences – Scotland was well defended. ‘If Hitler Comes’ Birlinn 2013.
Rumours and myths are not history. Why is so much support for independence based on these ‘grievances’ and on Scottish victimhood?
A.N.Surgent says:
Lesley-Anne
As The Defender of Annan you are guaranteed your place in Scottish folklore. 🙂
Awe shucks. Look what you’ve gone and done … I’m all blushed out! 😀
P.S. two big burly gurlies wearing tank-tops and yellow rosettes accosted me with smiles. Very frightening esp. since one of them looked not dissimilar to Ruthie D.
Gaun yersels hens.
Stu has done a bingo card for us…
link to wingsoverscotland.com
I think when we get broadcasting devolved we should kick the BBC out of Scotland and make WoS broadcasting company publicly owned,now that I would pay a TV licence for,come on REV what do you say to that? 😉 plus a new Scotland T-shirt called Scot59GIRUY lol
The Mcfarlane family just added five votes to young Stuart Donaldson in Aberdeen & West Kincardineshire.
Polling Station busy at 7.30pm. Almost as busy as last September.
Now maybe I can settle down a bit. Thanks for all the posts today folks – you have kept me going.
All our workers in Dundee seemed pleased with the mood of the electorate today. Plenty of eye contact, winks and smiles in contrast to the previous GE in 2010 where a lot voters put their head down and didn’t establish eye contact.
Good comment on the faux outrage of MSM journalists against “cyber bullys” i.e. us.
link to lenathehyena.wordpress.com
@Gordon Barclay
It was me not starlaw and I am telling you about eye witness accounts and the published testimony of Peter Scott. Many of us could write a book about the real history of these events!
I’m not sure why Capella thinks that the words of an 18th century English soldier are so relevant to today. But to get the facts straight, most lowland Scots in the 18th century had just as strong a loathing of the ‘barbarous’ Highlanders as Wolfe. Try: ‘Teutonist Ethnology and Scottish Nationalist Inhibition, 1780-1880’ Colin Kidd The Scottish Historical Review
Vol. 74, No. 197, Part 1 (Apr., 1995), pp. 45-68 (link to jstor.org)
Wolfe refused a direct order by Cumberland to shoot a wounded Highlander after Culloden.
Why does the Scottish identity of so many people depend so much on ‘proving’ how horrible the English have been to us?
@ crazycat
Thanks.
That woman said she had a “sample” of 300: and it was not the referendum it was the 2010 general election. Is that not high?
Also, why would you tweet it if it was just what you could glean rather than something a bit more reliable
Why was Ms Davidson so confident
I am concerned that they actually do get a proper look at least at some of the PV’s and that they then usually keep quiet, as the rules insist. I am wondering why you would even have that rule if the only knowledge they have is as you describe
Don’t mean to be paranoid. But 300? When she said it was the beginning of the PV count? A constituency is what, around 30,000 turn out on average? 20% postal votes maybe? 5% seen by accident at least?
Och I don’t suppose it matters much. I just found it odd
Nate Silver’s final predictions for the UK General Election has the SNP on 53 seats (up one from yesterday!), Conservatives on 278, Labour on 267, Lib Dems on 27, Plaid Cymru on 4 and the Greens and UKIP on 1 each.
It will be fascinating to see how close or far out his predictions are. We’ll know by tomorrow.
“Rumours and myths are not history. Why is so much support for independence based on these ‘grievances’ and on Scottish victimhood?”
Ah, notice the subtle switch here from expressing fact to expressing opinion. I’m sorry to say that your apparent encyclopedic knowledge of military history does not provide any support for your ignorant views about Scottish peoples’ motives for supporting independence.
shire girl 7.52, where are you based, I’m in Lossiemouth, plenty of SNP posters here also, I spoke with the SNP guy outside the polling station and he said things were really positive.
I see some comments on her regarding the abandonment of the 51st Highland Division at St Valery.
One of my bosses as a young man, had been a Sergeant with one of the Highland regiments (cannot remember which one); he was one of the Jocks captured at St Valery and condemned to sit-out the remainder of the war as a POW.
He rarely spoke of his experiences, but did once confide that the 51st were ordered to hold back the German advance to allow the main body of the BEF to be rescued at Dunkirk. The 51st was chosen as the British unit best-capable of making life difficult for the Germans.
“We were told to hold them back, and, if they could, the navy would get us back to Britain, but, in the end they couldn’t”, he said.
He was old-school “British”, but, he was certain it was never a case of sacrificing Jocks to let the English get away – for him, it was a case of: “A very difficult job had to be done and the High Command reckoned we were the best men to do it”.
It is too-easy for us to try to re-write history, it is also wrong.
That said, the song ‘The Beaches of St Valery’ is, for me, one of the great Scottish folk songs, along-side Eric Bogle’s ‘No Man’s Land’, and, from a more-modern era, Billy Connolly’s ‘Sergeant Where’s Mine?’
Gee! I dunno. Perhaps we could ask the spirits of the 6,000 Scots who were slaughtered in Berwick in 1296.
@ Gordon Barclay
To some extent it is because the people have their own history, and that which is recorded does not reflect it. We can see the process right now. Journalists write the first draft, and it includes “cybernats” hurling abuse, not like unionists: it includes “chaos on the streets of Glasgow”: it includes “illegitimate MP’s”.
Each group has their own story and they are not necessarily shared. Thus, for example, in this country the generally shared perception of Winston Churchill is that he was a great war leader: beyond that some groups believe he was a great man in wider ways, and they point to his various achievements in other fields: in the writing of history, for example. Others do not believe that, and in their story his books don’t matter at all: what matters is that he shot the workers in 1926: this means he was an unmitigated bastard, despite his wartime achievements, and that is how he is perceived. Obviously this is not to do with historical reality: I merely use this example to illustrate the fact that such stories are handed down through cultural transmission and they stand in parallel with “history” as normally understood. They matter. The comedian Jeremy Hardy has a very funny take on that kind of thing when he takes those stories which are important to the UK population and mixes them all up: the same kind of self deprecating humour about our national tales is intrinsic to “1066 And All That”, so Hardy is carrying on tradition of poking fun at this kind of transmission and the impressions it leaves on us all. But they are not monolithic.
The depression of the 1930’s is one of those stories: but it is not shared equally by all. Nor is it promoted in the way that the Battle of Waterloo, or the defeat of the Spanish Armada, is: as unifying concepts which foster national identity. The depression is not a unifying story, and so it is not in the interests of the nation to incorporate it when “socialising” children: a lot of education is designed to make little brits or little americans out of children with no national identity: and all states have a mainstream tale to transmit which furthers that aim. Some big events are in that tale and some are definitely not: but the people have their own tale which is slightly oblique: and that depends on other kinds of identification.
This wee video explains why Fluffy is no longer going to be the last Tory in Scotland.
link to app.evver.com
Come on Emma 😀