Scot The Difference

Posted on April 01, 2012 by

Can any alert readers pick out the interesting contradiction from this page in today’s Scotland On Sunday? (Specifically the absurd piece of drivel by Tom Peterkin the paper has chosen to manufacture some embarrassing fake outrage over.) If you don’t have the eyes of a hawk, click on the image to see it full size.

First to spot it wins dinner with Tom Harris. Losers get two dinners with Tom Harris.

Subscribe
Notify of

23 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
steven luby

I'm actually getting fed up with thinking this but,you can't make this up !
Don't they realise how this makes 'them' look ? Then I think 'just how gullable they must take us all' !
Secretly though,love it !

Peter A Bell

I too have found myself moved to comment on this article as well as Kevin McKenna's little gobbet of nastiness – No decency in the name of the union. I am increasingly perplexed and disgusted by the tactics of the anti-independence campaign.

TYRAN

As per your own "the sounds of silence" page.
link to wingsland.podgamer.com

seven

The article says 70% want to bring it forward with 22% against.
However the poll to the right shows the ratios as 39% for and 61% against.?

seven

But it's those damned cybernats again, their everywhere I tell you! Everywhere! Voting multiple times! Everywhere! wheres my vallies! LOL

An Duine Gruamach

It is a well known fact that nationalists are the only people in Scotland who have computers.

Butchered by Campbell's

One shouldn't allow oneself to be distracted by such a trivial issue when discussing the major issue of the Scottish Government's discredited consultation.  It's clear that this 'consultation' is open to widespread abuse and that the huge response – significantly greater than the response to the Scotland Office's own consultation – has only been garnered thanks to the ability of respondents to post multiple, anonymous submissions.
The Scotland Office have rightly and responsibly avoided this scenario by forcing respondents to leave an email address, and only after doing so can the respondent choose to protect their privacy.  The difference is striking and shame on anyone who can't see this.
I feel so strongly about this travesty that I almost want to create a new email address just so I can return to this blog and write a second post reiterating my strong feelings about this travesty.  I reserve the right to use a different name since the site administrator – clearly an authoritarian – has not given me the opportunity to maintain my privacy.  In fact, I feel SO strongly I almost want to create TWO new email addresses.  I say almost but, in fact, I can't be arsed.  But, if I could be, that's what I might have done.

Peter A Bell

Roll on April 2!

Butchered by Campbell's

It's high time we ended the farce that is the secret ballot too.  To restore credit to the electoral process, everyone should have to write their email address on the ballot paper.  

seven
Kenny Campbell

Did Labour supporters not get caught doing the cut and paste thing earlier in the consultation process ? Or am I going mad.

MajorBloodnok

I think it was that the Labour site had already filled in their responses and it was hoped that any passing Labour supporters would have the wit to know to press the 'send' button.  Optimistic, I know.
I have no doubt that this will back-fire on Labour once the truth gets out.

Peter A Bell

The truth about "Scottish" Labour's pre-filled forms scam is out. But the mainstream media choose to ignore it.

MajorBloodnok

I should have written "when the truth gets out – again"… One can always hope, but with the BBC and Scottish MSM stubbornly 'on message' it will be difficult.  Mind you, I bought the Sunday Times for the first (and only) time this weekend just for the Cruddas stories.  They're really pushing it and I doubt that this will be the last of the revelations that will be drip fed out for maximum damage to Cameron.  Labour can't keep covering up for them with their silly diversionary tactics though… can they?

Peter A Bell

Labour can't keep covering up for them with their silly diversionary tactics though… can they?

We should never underestimate the anti-independence coalition. As has already become all too evident, they will do absolutely anything in an effort to preserve the union. And they genuinely believe that nothing they do, no matter how despicable in the eyes of the world, can possibly be wrong if it is done in defence of the British state.

Doug Daniel

Butchered makes an excellent point, which I've made elsewhere myself (hence why I think it's an excellent point).

I have at least 5 personal email accounts, and my work email account has numerous psuedonyms, which I think is pretty standard for any company of a certain size, especially one which is owned by a larger company. If I had wanted to, I could have spammed the life out of that Westminster consultation. I only wish I could have been bothered.

It's looking increasingly to be the case that nationalists have to pre-empt every line of attack by unionists, and disprove them beforehand. It shouldn't really be the case as it's extremely petty, but this is what happens when you're dealing with idiots who drag a debate down to its most base level.

Sawar Junior's comments on Sunday were completely out of line, and I find it quite depressing that a politician can actually accuse another party of vote-rigging with such impunity, despite a complete lack of evidence. He's an utter disgrace. Clearly the apple did not fall far from the tree.

Peter A Bell

If there was some "cybernat" conspiracy, why wasn't the UK referendum consultation flooded with pro-Scottish Government responses? So many questions. So few answers.

Butchered by Campbell's

I know I should know better by now but the behaviour of the print and broadcast media over the past couple of days has left me feeling truly depressed, particularly that of the Herald.  I had vague hopes that it was the on the verge of becoming the sole voice of impartiality within the print media but, alas, no.
We've seen what should have been a monumental story i.e. the Cruddas revelations, consigned to the shadows while a clear and obvious distortion of the facts has been peddled as truth. We're not simply talking about bias here.  We're talking about a massive conspiracy to mislead the electorate, and the sad truth is that it will be believed in many quarters, particularly amongst those who rely on the print and broadcast media for information.  
I'm at a loss as to how this can be effectively countered.  The facts can easily be established but, outwith the blog community, they simply aren't reported.   
I should know better, but still I find myself amazed to discover just how low the opposition parties and, more so, our media are willing to go to protect the status quo.

Morag

I still get the Herald, delivered by the proverbial schoolboy to my door.  I've been reading it since I was at the school.  I lived in England for many years, and tried (often without success) to get it delivered there.  When I moved back home, one of the stipulations when house-hunting was that the property should be near enough to civilisation to allow me to read the Herald over my breakfast, without me having to go fetch.

I've never been so close to cancelling it as I was this morning, when I saw that headline.  It is absolutely unconscionable.

Longshanker

There's nothing to suggest that the poll results printed on the right have anything to do with the Scotland Office Poll referred to in the highlighted text – assuming that's what you're attempting to highlight here.
If it isn't put me in my deserved place for being a thicko.
If it is. This piece makes you look either a) stupidly presumptuous or b) as disingenuous as you constantly claim the Unionists to be.
Which is it?
Your readers have a right to know.

Stats: 6,696 Posts, 1,210,054 Comments

• Hal Martin on The Silent Revolution: “Piss off with your ‘men are always behind everything’ crap. manhater. The way you deign to show that women have…Jan 26, 01:00
    • Hal Martin on The Silent Revolution: “Fuck off, unionist plant cunt. You’re not even worth saying anything sensible to.Jan 26, 00:53
    • Hal Martin on The Silent Revolution: “Fuck the English ‘Supreme Court’, in existence for five minutes. Joke of an institution.Jan 26, 00:47
    • Geri on The Silent Revolution: “I was about tae get triggered cause at first glance I thought #DragQueenSupper was actually a thing & trending LOL…Jan 26, 00:46
    • Geri on The Silent Revolution: “Aye! In private tho. It wasn’t that long ago we’d the News of the World where the Tories would feature…Jan 26, 00:40
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The Silent Revolution: “A good Northern Irish documentary on Robert Burns, personal, literary and political life. Commentary in mix of Irish, Scottish Gaelic,…Jan 25, 23:57
    • G m on The Silent Revolution: “DoneJan 25, 23:52
    • sarah on The Silent Revolution: “It is an outrage. Can you see even PMs as recent as David Cameron doing this kind of thing?Jan 25, 23:23
    • G m on The Silent Revolution: “You should have a go at it Geri just for the craic. It’s feckin wild.Jan 25, 23:13
    • sarah on The Silent Revolution: “I agree on the need for some visible resistance. Any normal person, male or female, must be sickened by the…Jan 25, 23:06
    • G m on The Silent Revolution: “‘There’s massive potential to make political capital from the vacuum that has been forming for years, yet silence and /…Jan 25, 22:46
    • Marie on The Silent Revolution: “I don’t want kid starver’s Happy Burns Day wishes. I don’t like grotesque ugly parodies of women either. #womanface.Jan 25, 22:30
    • Ian Brotherhood on The Silent Revolution: “Thanks for that response. Much to chew over. After an initial chew I’m in agreement with most of what you…Jan 25, 22:17
    • Geri on The Silent Revolution: “Listen Shiteface, If Westminster has billions of taxpayers money to send to the drug addled green t-shirt, stop whining about…Jan 25, 21:59
    • Dan on The Silent Revolution: “FYI I don’t do and have zero interest in using platforms like twitter or facebook for political discourse. I don’t…Jan 25, 21:53
    • Geri on The Silent Revolution: “You did better than me. I seen ‘The National’ & that was me done..lolJan 25, 21:41
    • Geri on The Silent Revolution: “What a crock of horseshit. She seriously needs to see the shite she’s been peddling for years if she wants…Jan 25, 21:33
    • gregor on The Silent Revolution: “Wings is indispensable to Scotland.Jan 25, 21:22
    • gregor on The Silent Revolution: “Jim Ferguson @JimFergusonUK: “Reporter: “Elon Musk says the UK has gone full Stalin and is a police state. What’s your…Jan 25, 21:16
    • Ian Brotherhood on The Silent Revolution: “Five minutes after that picture was taken she ate him along with some fava beans and a nice Chianti.Jan 25, 21:10
    • Ian Brotherhood on The Silent Revolution: “Twitter polls are, of course, pretty-much meaningless but as a general indicator of feeling they can be thought-provoking. The thought…Jan 25, 21:03
    • gregor on The Silent Revolution: “Keir Starmer @Keir_Starmer: “Happy Burns Night to Scots at home and around the world celebrating over a Burns Supper this…Jan 25, 20:58
    • G m on The Silent Revolution: “I don’t know you Dan. I have you down firmly in the good cunt category though. Minus the trolls I…Jan 25, 20:42
    • gregor on The Silent Revolution: ““your list of untermenschen” I don’t have any list of untermenschen (& gypsies and Slavs). You think I’m here to…Jan 25, 20:33
    • willie on The Silent Revolution: “And you omitted to add the Irish too. They were immigrant public enemy number 0ne not so many years ago.…Jan 25, 20:20
    • Dan on The Silent Revolution: “Nae bother G m, jist felt the “A poser” post was a bit ambiguous as to who it was aimed…Jan 25, 20:20
    • gregor on The Silent Revolution: “Apologies for any distress caused, Dan (et al) I made an effort to condense the bulk of it (didn’t take…Jan 25, 20:08
    • diabloandco on The Silent Revolution: “Ian , I don’t do X but I could live without 3 of the 4 – which is what I…Jan 25, 19:38
    • G m on The Silent Revolution: “Apologies Dan. I should have clicked reply to Gregor’s post wi’ the picture of Monsieur Kane. I couldnae make it…Jan 25, 19:31
    • G m on The Silent Revolution: “The fake social justice cult recently imported has been hard on our home grown poser class. Particularly those getting on…Jan 25, 19:16

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()