Shaping the zeitgeist

Posted on June 03, 2012 by

Speaking as a professional journalist, the most flattering thing that can happen in your career is when major publishers pay you to write features. The second-best form of flattery is imitation, and at Wings Over Scotland we’re getting increasingly used to it.

Our more seasoned readers will recall examples such as the New Statesman’s enthusiastic “borrowing” of our popular Alex Salmond Dictator-Comparison Bingo piece, which they at least had the courtesy to acknowledge in print, albeit belatedly and after quite a lot of people shouting at them on Twitter. (It was such a good idea the Caledonian Mercury did its own tribute too.)

We’ve also been gratified to see other people finally picking up on the core and crucial observation about the nature of the independence referendum that we’ve been pushing since November 2011. (We won’t claim the credit for it being at the heart of the Yes Scotland campaign itself – we’re sure they knew it all along.)

Today, though, the thing we’re finding oddly familiar is a piece in Scotland on Sunday called “Will the SPL survive without Rangers?” The title and theme will ring an obvious bell with the over 20,000 viewers who’ve read our all-time most popular post, but the specifics are the really intriguing part, focusing as they do on the fact that several teams in particular wouldn’t be as badly damaged by the possible demise of Rangers as most of the media commentariat insists.

If we mention that the teams in question are Dundee United, Dundee, Hearts and Hibs, you’ll perhaps catch our drift. It’s nice to get paid for your analytical insight and research (and tracking down Dundee’s attendances from over half a decade ago was a tougher task than you might think) rather than just having other people take advantage of it, but setting the mainstream media’s agenda is at least some modest consolation.

Subscribe
Notify of

3 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Appleby

Flattery is always nicer when backed up with the readies you deserve for the effort. Tut tut.

Ron

Glad I didn’t waste any money buying that to-day!

Mark

Kenny Farquharson will be spewing.

Or perhaps he’s a closet fan of this blog? 😀

Stats: 6,671 Posts, 1,202,937 Comments

• meg merrilees on Telling the truth by mistake: “But does this mean that if you are a woman who has transitioned to a man and holds a GRC…Nov 22, 20:00
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “Answer my question, please?Nov 22, 19:56
    • Robert Matthews on The Long Unravelling: “The most recent poll shows No 52 – yes 48.Nov 22, 19:49
    • Skip_NC on Telling the truth by mistake: “Alba stood in one ward and got 4.2% of the vote. We’re not quite where we need to be but…Nov 22, 19:46
    • Campbell Clansman on Telling the truth by mistake: “Do you think Alba–which was stuck at 1% while Alex Salmond was still alive–will ever amount to anything, especially since…Nov 22, 19:36
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “Indeed. The GRA needs repealed. The Equality act 2010 can always be tweaked afterwards, IF necessary.Nov 22, 19:19
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “NOT fine by me. But, on many other issues we may agree.Such is life.Nov 22, 19:09
    • Willie Fleming on The Long Unravelling: “They got a wee lesson in Dnepopetrovsk yesterday. And these were purely kinetic weapons, no warheads. A magnificent strike, took…Nov 22, 19:07
    • Chas on Telling the truth by mistake: “I must be old fashioned. I always thought if you had a dick, you were a man. If you had…Nov 22, 19:00
    • Robert Hughes on The Long Unravelling: “Spot-on , my friend . What sickens/concerns me is the scale , the extent and seemingly limitless power to construct…Nov 22, 19:00
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “Do you support Scotland becoming a country again?Nov 22, 18:50
    • Campbell Clansman on Telling the truth by mistake: “Real world: in the 4 council by-elections yesterday, 118 people voted Alba–out of 10,204. The usual 1% for Alba, “the…Nov 22, 18:41
    • Confused on Telling the truth by mistake: “The BBC are starting a new charidee (for the kids) called “Children in Need (of COCK)” – and will feature…Nov 22, 18:32
    • Mia on The Long Unravelling: ““Britain could just tax the rich to fund the winter fuel allowance while still helping U” How exactly is helping…Nov 22, 18:06
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “And I meant to say, thank you Stu, Chris and whoever else is involved . . . your highly specific…Nov 22, 17:58
    • James on The Long Unravelling: “Nothing false about it. Read it again.Nov 22, 17:40
    • Mark Beggan on Telling the truth by mistake: “Are you sure about the GRC’s? Nothings new!Nov 22, 17:38
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “I’m so glad I grew up/was schooled in the 70s/80s. Just imagine being a wean the now . . .…Nov 22, 17:27
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “I picked up on that too. Fucking lunatics the lot of them.Nov 22, 16:53
    • Cynicus on Telling the truth by mistake: “Fearghas « Reflecting on why Children in Need only suspended donations to LGBT Youth Scotland in May, the newspaper said: “It…Nov 22, 16:22
    • Cynicus on Telling the truth by mistake: “Do you mean the third Synod of Macon when the learned divines denied women had souls? Mind you, they had…Nov 22, 16:09
    • Republicofscotland on Telling the truth by mistake: “This is exactly why we need to vote these b*stards out of office – they’ve f*cked-up the country up big-time,…Nov 22, 16:05
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Telling the truth by mistake: “MSP slams pro-trans group’s primary school scheme « LGBT Youth Scotland should not be allowed to push its trans agenda in…Nov 22, 15:52
    • James on The Long Unravelling: “McTernan lol wasn’t he the one who welched on the Rev’s bet? And gets *everything* wrong? Lower than a snake’s…Nov 22, 15:35
    • Zander Tait on The Long Unravelling: “We’re both wrong Humpster. It’s Free Thinkers 48 (not 42) and Dependence Monkeys 52 (not 58) You’re numbers in brackets.…Nov 22, 15:28
    • James on The Long Unravelling: “Clown looking for a circus.Nov 22, 15:21
    • Campbell Clansman on The Long Unravelling: “The latest poll is Nov. 20th, Survation. And the results are 42% Indy, 58% not. You might be surprised to…Nov 22, 15:07
    • Frank Gillougley on Telling the truth by mistake: “With apologies to Tom Leonard (for borrowing his spelling) and to Keats. The point I’d like to make is that…Nov 22, 15:06
    • Mark Beggan on Telling the truth by mistake: “Is this a translation from the council of Macon.Nov 22, 14:55
    • Zander Tait on The Long Unravelling: “I did read it Camster. It states in answer to the question, “should Scotland be an Independent country?” The answer…Nov 22, 14:48

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()