Scotsman deploys threat multiplier

Posted on November 21, 2011 by

As a newspaper, The Scotsman is under absolutely no obligation to report the news impartially (a fact frequently misunderstood by a great many people). But it's becoming less and less subtle in its distortions of the truth the further we get into the SNP majority administration. One of its big politics stories today is a case in point. As a reader of Wings over Scotland you are by definition a normal, well-adjusted person, so how would you interpret the following headline?

"Swinney demands £20bn to secure the economy"

Since John Swinney is an MSP with a remit which covers only the devolved Scottish Government, naturally you'd assume he was demanding this £20bn for Scotland, right? Particularly as the story opens with this sentence:

"Finance secretary John Swinney has demanded billions of pounds from the UK government for major building projects in Scotland"

Even for the most ardent nationalist it sounds an outrageous demand, even in less austere times than these. £20bn is around two-thirds of the Scottish Government's entire annual block grant, and would pay for every conceivable major infrastructure project in Scotland – finishing the Edinburgh trams and the Edinburgh and Glasgow airport rail links, dualling the entire A9, building the new Forth road crossing, completing the Borders railway, implementing the Beauly-Denny power line and opening the carbon-capture plant at Longannet – with a good £10bn still left over.

But with readers duly inflamed, the next paragraph quietly reveals the truth. Swinney wants the Chancellor to spend £20bn on capital investment projects in the whole of the UK, with just a tenth of that money coming to Scotland. He's asking for £2bn, not £20bn, and – we find out another nine paragraphs later – that £2bn would be spread over three years, amounting to a somewhat more modest £0.67bn a year for Scotland, set against the UK government's total annual Scottish spending of £53bn.

The arguments for extra capital investment to drive growth, create employment in the construction sector and avoid a double-dip recession are economically sound, but that's another debate entirely. The Finance Secretary has in fact asked for approximately one-thirtieth of what the Scotsman's highly-misleading headline implies. It's hard to see that misrepresentation as an accidental one.

Subscribe
Notify of

2 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
JRTomlin

You aren't quite right or only partially right about The Scotsman's responsibilities. They do have a responsibility to report the news truthfully and not to misrepresent it. They regularly break this remit.
That does not mean that they have to be unbiased as an organisation and all newspapers have an admitted and advertised bias. They support a certain political opinion and are expected to do so editorially.
That does not make it acceptable to mis-report and distort news stories in an attempt to support that bias.

Stats: 6,665 Posts, 1,201,125 Comments

• gordoz on The Mandalorian Candidate: “Yet again a fine surgical expose of a useful tool for Britain. Slimy Igor type character with suspicious background &…Nov 4, 18:03
    • twathater on Bespoilers Of Graves: “Everything you say is true Robert , but unfortunately serfs like the clansman canny think for themselves , they are…Nov 4, 18:02
    • Rev. Stuart Campbell on The Mandalorian Candidate: ““And you missed out the bit about running the “Scottish” Labour leadership campaign against Dugdale – so a Labour hack”…Nov 4, 17:55
    • Katielass on Bespoilers Of Graves: “It seems Mike Daily (Govan Law Centre) is about to do just that.Nov 4, 17:51
    • J M on The Mandalorian Candidate: “Spooks probably gave him a tenners bag. What a grotesque individual.Nov 4, 17:46
    • Morgatron on The Mandalorian Candidate: “Thanks Stu. What a vile piece of shite that man is . Also , the gutter press and even lower…Nov 4, 17:38
    • David Hannah on The Mandalorian Candidate: “These latest made up allegations were reported to Peter Murrell 2 years ago. They were on Peter Murrell’s desk. Salmond…Nov 4, 17:38
    • Karen on The Mandalorian Candidate: “His “company” also does “crisis management”, so who is having a crisis? And you missed out the bit about running…Nov 4, 17:37
    • Alf Baird on The Mandalorian Candidate: “Aye, whit is it wae posh ‘boul in the mou’ preevat ‘colonial’ schuils an aw thay preevelaged fowk gied poseetions…Nov 4, 17:28
    • Bob Costello on The Mandalorian Candidate: “Now, the next piece of the puzzle would be, who paid him to do this? I am beginning to think…Nov 4, 17:21
    • Wulls on The Mandalorian Candidate: “He’s a patsy. They can throw him under the bus tomorrow and nobody would as much as blink. the question…Nov 4, 17:10
    • DougMcGregor on The Mandalorian Candidate: “The Mandalorian’s were bounty hunters in Star Wars , so if he is simply a shitty little bounty hunter who…Nov 4, 17:07
    • fiona on The Mandalorian Candidate: “just in from work, you’ve made my day!! good sleuthing Rev? bet you’re not finished yet either… ? still need…Nov 4, 17:07
    • Effijy on The Mandalorian Candidate: “Great Journalism Rev. A joy to see real journalism in play as it’s almost extinct here in the U.K. what…Nov 4, 17:04
    • Astonished on The Mandalorian Candidate: “I, for one, hope you can turn this into a weekly column.Nov 4, 16:39
    • Mark Beggan on The Mandalorian Candidate: “Well paid rent boy.Nov 4, 16:27
    • Alice Timmons on The Mandalorian Candidate: “You are SUCH a bitch. Any chance of a few lessons???Nov 4, 16:14
    • Alf Baird on Bespoilers Of Graves: “““Equality and Human Rights Mainstreaming Strategy.” Still nae respect fae Holyrood for human richts an equality for us Scots fowk…Nov 4, 16:11
    • Sven on The Mandalorian Candidate: “One hand washes the other ? And the taxpayer funds the operation.Nov 4, 16:10
    • Robert McAllan on Bespoilers Of Graves: “Aye Alf, whit we need is a FESTIVAL o’ REMEMBRANCE whaur oor culture peys homage tae oor deceased PATRIOT!!Nov 4, 16:07
    • Terry on The Mandalorian Candidate: “That terrible bbc programme on wednesday now all makes sense. This is so orchestrated. Hell mend them for the upset…Nov 4, 15:59
    • Ninja Penguin on Bespoilers Of Graves: “This is incorrect. Arabella Churchill was the mistress of James VII of Scotland (James II of England).Nov 4, 15:59
    • Robert McAllan on Bespoilers Of Graves: “ALL, of ‘these women’ had that opportunity in the highest court in the land when testifying under oath. NOTHING will…Nov 4, 15:58
    • Terry on The Mandalorian Candidate: “Was this disgusting smear too sordid for the usual suspects so they get a no-mark like Carlos to run with…Nov 4, 15:57
    • holymacmoses on The Mandalorian Candidate: “Thank youNov 4, 15:56
    • Vivian O’Blivion on The Mandalorian Candidate: “Is Carlos Alba a willing conduit feeding stories concocted in Thames House into the media? I commented the other week…Nov 4, 15:45
    • Annoyed on The Mandalorian Candidate: “Karma has no menu. You get served exactly what you deserve.Nov 4, 15:33
    • Vivian O’Blivion on The Mandalorian Candidate: “Clients of Carlos Alba Media include two Scottish Government QUANGOS, Visit Scotland and Skills Development Scotland. Clients also include Quality…Nov 4, 15:25
    • panda paws on The Mandalorian Candidate: “And the lesson here is not that people might change their views over time (either genuinely or to pander to…Nov 4, 15:24
    • 100%Yes on The Mandalorian Candidate: “Herald On Sunday the voice of the Union along with the National the voice for the SNP who support the…Nov 4, 15:22

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()