Reflex test

Posted on February 28, 2015 by

reflex

61 to “Reflex test”

1. Malcolm

Captured the SLab Pavlovian response perfectly!!

2. Roll_On_2015

As usual Chris… spot on.

And as they say ‘long may your lum reek’.

3. Lollysmum

Chris
    Are you trying to teach us to be psychoanalysts now?

Certainly the Labour candidate is behaving true to form, talking over the other person & just spouting SNP bad which always seems to be the first thing that comes to mind for SLabbers. No policy but just ranting nonsense 🙂

Clearly he is also angry-just as they are right now because they aren’t getting their own way for once & don’t know how to make us compliant to their will.

Great fun isn’t it 🙂

4. Clootie

Murphy has put on weight!

Never mind – he will have more time to focus on his lifestyle after May.

He will have a year to kill before he jumps on the list for Labour MSPs.(He won’t risk fighting a seat)

5. Ken500

The Scottish Gov policies have nothing to do with Nationalism but everything to do with right and wrong, fairness and social justice. Westminster secrecy, lies and corruption. Using the Offical Secrets Act to cover up their crimes. Westminster criminality costing Scotland £Billions.

6. Mealer

Good work.

7. Les Wilson

Usual, meaningful standard Chris.
    Unfortunately for Labour, that is their mindset, but never interrupt your enemy when he is making mistakes!

They are the enemy, being power hungry, they spare no lies, they have no principles, they no longer have anything to offer Scots.We see and hear why, every day.

8. iheartscotland

Labour Party nailed.
    Thanks Chris…

9. jimnarlene

Magic.

10. john king

EVIL NAZI SNP SCUM!
    Sorry what was the question?

11. HeehawBaws

I bet that cartoon has been moderated a bit.

12. Grouse Beater

Never forget, discredited Labour would rather the Tories run Scotland than the SNP. In fact, they’d rather see people in poverty than vote SNP – and they say so.

And they mean it.

https://grousebeater.wordpress.com/2015/02/28/greece-scotland-and-hope/

13. Mealer

We elect a new UK Parliament in May.By the time that Parliament comes to an end,about 250,000 mainly No voters will have died off the electoral roll in Scotland and been replaced with mainly Yes voters.The union is melting away.

14. donald anderson

Clootie says:
    “Murphy has put on weight!
    Never mind – he will have more time to focus on his lifestyle after May.
    He will have a year to kill before he jumps on the list for Labour MSPs.(He won’t risk fighting a seat)”

He has also turned fifty shades of grey. The Grey man.

15. No no no...Yes

Good one!

Is that Scotland’s very own expert Prof Curtis asking the questions?

I note the glass is half full, or is that half empty? In Labour’s case half empty! They have not got one single fully costed policy to offer, no wonder they need therapy.

16. Tackety Beets

Brilliant .

A BLUE suited SLabber needing ” Heed” help as they have been brainwashed with SNP Bad .

They’re must be a que roon the block .

Maybe he is there learning how to drive ? They are certainly drivin us roon the bend !

17. Gillian_Ruglonian

Excellent as usual Chris, keep it up!

Sharing a cartoon with someone can often be more effective, initially, than an article as the meaning is immediately conveyed (with a good cartoonists work!), and is therefore a vital resource for us all.
    I hope you see a wee bit extra in your pay-packet as a result of all of yesterdays festivities 😉

18. Marie clark

Oh well done Chris. Labour to a T. HA HA HA

19. Bob Mack

The Psychoanalysts last word was “Democracy” !

20. HandandShrimp

LOL

That reminds me of one or two SLab enthusiasts I have encountered on the interwebs. 🙂

21. galamcennalath

Another spot on cartoon.

What is it with Labour? I just can’t get my head round the whole tribal irrational approach they are taking. They oppose the SNP on policies which are their own! Self abuse is preferable to cooperation.

Also, surely they saw the way this election would unfold? 2007 then 2011, the SNP go from strength to strength. 2010 SNP voters gave Labour backing at WM in what was seen as the traditional two horse Lab Con contest. Did Labour actually expect that to happen again in 2015 after the referendum debacle? For heavens sakes, they were in complete partnership with the Tories and lied and cheated their way to winning, how could the possibly have believed this GE would be like 2010?

What Labour seem to misunderstand is, it’s not about policies, it’s about conduct and behaviour. Their attitudes and actions will be the death of them.

22. Free Scotland

The red rosette could quite easily be swapped for any of the unionist rosettes. Consider this from the online pages of the Hootsman:

THE UK Independence Party has laid out plans to slash £8 billion from Scottish funding to help balance the books in government.

The anti-European-Union party was last night being accused of becoming the “English party” after it targeted Scotland for budget cuts as a possible price of coalition after the election in a direct appeal to “Eurosceptic England”.

23. Croompenstein

Chris Cairns are you peddling hate and paranoia 🙂

24. Macart

Nailed it Chris.

Labour policy in Scotland never was very complicated.

25. Nana Smith

Great cartoon.

Is that 2 jags Prescott buckling under the strain?

I believe Ed has brought him in as an advisor of some sort.

26. One_Scot

I take it the Daily Record is sitting in the waiting room.

27. JLT

Very true. So obsessed with the SNP, that it appears that’s the only thing that the Labour Party can think about. I’m sure Murphy probably has a stronger set of words when he thinks of the SNP.

On a slightly different note, it seems Cameron and Co are
    ready to pump up the rhetoric with Russia. How Sawer can state that he’s surprised in the relationship that developed between Russia and the West is a bit staggering.

For a man who was at the heart of Security, surely he could see in the manner that the West; and America especially; reacted in such a triumphalist manner after the wall came down, then maybe the world would be a better place. America along with the EU pumped money into Eastern Europe, but no olive branch was held out to Russia. America wanted Russia to fall, and fall badly.

Well, look how that ideology turned out…

https://archive.today/Qh3EX

28. Dave McEwan Hill

Most of the Labour candidates would have difficulty matching the demented anti SNP rantings of Alan Who? the LibDem MP for Argyll and Bute.
    We await his next posted offering with interest. We suspect it will suggest that the SNP invaded Poland to start WW2

29. manandboy

Evil Nazi SNP Scum – the language of malevolent abuse
    and part of the constant downpour of lies and smear
    that flows from the mouth of the UK Gov.

All just part of the Propaganda War
    which has been raging now for close to three years.

But, after three years and three more to go at least,
    this has become a War of Attrition.

This is now the default position
    of the Westminster Unionist Establishment,
    and it is unlikely to change for the foreseeable future.

So put the kettle on for a cup of your chosen brew
    and settle down.
    We’re going to be doing this for a while.

There is now a simple choice facing all Scots both Yes&No.
    To go on to Independence
    or to give up.
    That is the only choice on offer from Westminster.

It was different when we didn’t know the truth
    about Westminster’s serial raping of Scotland.
    But now we do, and that changes everything.

And Westminster knows it.

All past raping was done with tacit agreement.
    All future raping will be met with resistance.

So what are the implications of the War of Attrition.

Well, first, there can be no sitting back in our chairs
    in front of the Telly doing nothing except be brainwashed
    by Westminsters’ thought control machine.

We have to ‘get dressed for action’
    and become a resistance movement
    against the Propaganda.

Many have done so already, but most have not.

There are probably many, many reasons
    why so many have done so little,
    but the most likely reason is that we are waiting.
    Waiting for everyone else to start first.

It’s a national characteristic of ours. It goes like this –
    Right, who’s gonnae go first?
    How’z about you Tommy?
    Who me? Aw naw. No me. It’ll hiv to be sumday else furst.
    Ah’ll join in after a wee bit, bit Ah couldnae start.
    Until eventually, after a lot of hummin and hawwin,
    somebody has a go and then eventually,
    the thing gets goin’ and everyone joins in.
    Well, nearly everybody.

But the resistance movement just doesn’t work like that, does it.
    Everyone must make up their own mind to join – and do it.

Anyone who wants to resist the British Propaganda machine
    must first STOP BUYING IT!

I can hear the rumble of resistance already.

And, in a nutshell, there is the problem, right there.

Most people are ALREADY IN A RESISTANCE MOVEMENT,
    so they are not free to join another one which opposes the first.

Like my teenage son – he’s in a resistance movement already.
    He resists everything I say to him
    preventing co-operation, joint action and teamwork.
    And harmony.

He knows he should, but ‘why should ah’ and
    ‘ah’ll do what ah like’ prevents him.
    That and ‘I’m busy’, and, ‘ You do it’

Perhaps that is the way it is for lots more than him.

If 1.6 million Yes voters chucked the telly and their paper
    even for just 3 months,
    and bought The National instead,
    and read Wings, Bella and Derek etc,
    we would be Independent in jig time.

Shame really.

30. X_Sticks

Sorry O/T so early 🙂

One for the ladies (although I’m sure they won’t be alone)

Live Independence broadcasting the Women for Independence conference from Edinburgh STARTING NOW

tinyurl.com/n5g558o

Thanks for the laugh Chris, although you’ve only used 3 four letter words. I’ve found they usually use more than 3 😀

31. mogabee

Could equally put a purple rosette there too!

Great Chris, got the mindless to a tee. Scary. Is there someplace teaching new recruits. Possibly an American Uni course pointing the gullible in the “right” direction?

Nothing would surprise me anymore.

32. Les Wilson

Rev, would it not be a good idea to have a banner/link above all posts to increase the fund raising, and until it finishes.( ie, out of sight etc )
    Just saying.

33. Stoker

Thank you Chris, you’ve certainly earned that pay-rise when it comes your way.

A good political cartoonist is worth his/her weight in gold.

As Gillian previously stated at 8.40am, a good cartoon can be far more effective than any written article.

@ Rev,
    I also repeat what i said yesterday, along with many others, time to give yourself a modest pay-rise, a bonus if you like, for all your exceptional efforts throughout the referendum period, you are worth every penny.

34. Ben Donald

The psychopathology isn’t that hard. People who had until recently every reason to assume they were in a job for life are facing the chop in middle age (mostly). It’s a horrible situation to find yourself in, especially when you’ve no skills or qualities likely to be of use anywhere else – but human nature being what it is, the very last thing you’ll blame is your own complacency, laziness, arrogance, incompetence and general venality. Instead you’ll insistently locate all of that and everything else that’s Evil in the thing that threatens you.

These people have built their careers on keeping us in our place. It’s their livelihood, and now we’re taking it away.

35. heedtracker

With a little bit of luck they’ll be having group therapy sessions starting May 8, Gordon Brown Psychiatric Hospital, Tony Bliar Unit, at least 40 ex SLab troughers in counselling, no expenses. Although the whole teamGB sheebang all do seem to be determined to start WW3 with Russia before May, so it may not matter anyway, the maniacs.

Duck and Cover Glasgow.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IKqXu-5jw60

36. caz-m

Murphy up for re-election in East Renfrewshire should surprise nobody.

I don’t think he has had any intention of standing as a Holyrood MSP. He was brought in to lift the profile of Scottish Labour and has failed dismally.

“IF” he wins the East Renfrewshire seat, you will hear shortly afterwards that Scottish Labour will hold another leadership election. That will allow an MSP to lead their Party.

And it will allow Murphy to carry on in the Big Parliament to collect all those lovely expenses and other perks that you just cant get in Holyrood.

The trick is to defeat Murphy in East Renfrewshire and leave him high and dry.

We are on your case Murphy.

37. charles mc

Spot on

38. Ben Donald

The psychopathology isn’t hard. People who until very recently had every reason to believe they were in a job for life, with an interesting career structure and the possibility of rich rewards, are facing redundancy in (mostly) middle age. It’s a horrible situation to find yourself in, especially when you lack any notable skills or qualities likely to be of use elsewhere. Human nature being what it is, you don’t make a frank admission of the complacency, incompetence, arrogance and general venality that brought you to this pass – instead you locate all of that and every other Evil in the thing that threatens you.

These people have built careers and retirement plans on keeping us in our place. It’s their livelihood, and we’re taking it away.

39. Valerie

Thank you Chris, the perfect answer to what has happened this week, and esp. the disrespect shown to poor Nimoy in that post from last night.

I thought it looked like Poultice and Two jabs.

40. Dr Jim

A true cartoon as usual
    Just heard a wee rumour thing, can prove nothing, i only mention it because it sounded plausable and wondered if anyone else heard similar
    Referendum postal votes from care homes were being filled in by individuals other than the recipients
    As i say i’m not trying to start a rumour it just feels as though there may be substance
    If there’s anything in it they’d do it again would’nt they?
    Anybody else?

41. Bittie Glakit

I love the way you can make one figure relaxed and the other terminally tense. I expect the next picture in the series to be an almighty explosion. Hmm, that may happen.

42. starlaw

right on caz-m Murphy will be hoping to further his career at Wasteminster. As Ed wont last to long after GE. Expect SNP to go after his E. Renfrewshire seat with a vengeance.

43. heraldnomore

Interesting conversation yesterday, down Newton Mearns way.

A very dear friend of mine had been winding me up lately, liking and sharing items from Murphy’s page. She does like him as an MP, and very glad he is a Friend of Israel; despises all forms of nationalism and any sighting of a Palestinian flag. A strong woman in many respects.

I might not vote this year, quoth she. I just can’t vote for Labour.

And of course in her 30+ voting years she’s voted for no one else.

Suck that one up Murphy, in your own backyard. I’m working on it. She will vote, but not for any tory party.

44. Anne Lawrie

Dr Jim: This was always the case & will continue to be so, unless something can be done about it. The same with postal votes for elderly people – completed and taken away by local councillors.

45. ronnie anderson

Prof Cuteist the Pepsi-oligist should stick to what he knows best psy psy ah fek predictions an he,s hee haw good at that.

lordy John tow jags Prescot hiz been driving ah couch & horses through the liebour party fur years,wiz it his secrtary he coupt oan the couch in his Westminster office.

Chris as always, your fingers oan the Pulse.

46. Bittie Glakit

Mealer says:
    27 February, 2015 at 2:12 pm
    Bittie Glakit,
    Good work! I’d like to commission a piece,if you have the time and inclination.I’m thinking along the lines of Jim Murphy dressed as a Redcoat bayoneting the wounded cos Davidsons to lazy to do it himself. Post it on here and I’ll make a further donation to Wings.
    Cheers.

Hi Mealer, I had a go at it, so here y’are.
    http://gmtopp.wix.com/altered-images

47. call me dave

@Ben Donald

Good summation of the whole situation IMO.

Murphy putting all his eggs in the East Renfrewshire basket too, a much safer option for him, nice to have that safety net for Westminster.

Also great cartoon right on the button with that one!

PS:
    Kaye, who only does a Friday slot nowadays, was absent yesterday from BBC radio Scotland ‘your call’.

Never heard any reason given but I tuned in a few minutes late.

48. gerry parker

@ Ben Donald.

“It’s their livelihood, and we’re taking it away.”

Just like they took away the miners and steelworkers livelihood, and the car workers, and the ship workers in Scotland.

Well, they said they had to make difficult decisions at the time, now it’s our turn to make the difficult decisions.

49. Fiona

@ gerry parker

What politicians call “tough decisions” are always decisions which hurt other people: never themselves

The fortitude with which they bear other people’s hurt is truly impressive, in a psychopathic sort of way….

50. HandandShrimp

Not surprised that Murphy went for staying on in the seat.

If Miliband doesn’t make No 10 there will be the inevitable power struggle to see who replaces him and Jim as a last man standing in Scotland (if he retains the seat) would see himself well placed to re-enter a serious shadow cabinet role…possibly his favoured Defence portfolio.

If Ed succeeds then he can continue with the SLab role and play his options on the Labour list for Holyrood in 2016.

He is nothing if not career minded.

51. Lollysmum

gerry parker
    I can wholeheartedly ascribe to that sentiment. Well said that man 🙂

52. Bob Mack

@Bittie Glakit,
    Yep right on the money my friend.The Red Tories dont do prisoners.

53. Calgacus

Doubling my donation this year when wages get to me, thanks to daily record:-)

Also would like to put in a word for Grouse Beater’s blog. Well worth a visit. Thank you

54. Claymore

john king says:
    EVIL NAZI SNP SCUM!
    Sorry what was the question?
    ———————————–
    Err.. I was asking, since your leader Ed Miliband is announcing he will cut student tuition fees in England to £6000, would you plan to bring in a tuition fee of £6000 to Scotland?

55. Ben Donald

Gerry – exactly. Oh, the “fearful symmetry” of it.

56. Ricky

Stoker and Chris.

Cracking toon and bang on Stoker. Many folk only look at the headlines and won’t bother reading what’s said. But a cartoon or picture can leave a lasting impression. Munguin’s does this and really gets the message through.

Worth your weight in gold Chris.

To all Wingers. Well done and thank you all for making me laugh with your comments.

You cannot get a Winger down. We pop back up for more and more.

To be part of this movement is uplifting and often leaves me feeling very humble . You are a credit to all Scotland.

Lets keep the donations coming folks and break the 100,000 before the end. Then maybe the National and the SH can give the REV a wee bit space to tell the country we’re here and going nowhere till independence.

We are Wings over Scotland

57. Barontorc

Clootie says:
    28 February, 2015 at 7:02 am re Chris’ cartoon –

‘…Murphy has put on weight!’

No Clootie, it can’t be Jim, you’re right he has put on tons of weight, but he ain’t getting bigger, just denser!

What on earth is that guy’s psychological state? He cannot possibly be compartmentalising all of these lies and declarations and meaningless vows yet still be in touch with reality.

58. proudscot

Great cartoon Chris. Right on the bullseye! Naturally I would love to see Creepy Jim losing his East Renfrewshire seat to the SNP candidate. But wouldn’t it be ironic if he lost it to the Tory challenger. Provided wee sneery toad Mundell gets humped in the borders, I wouldn’t mind a Tory gaining a seat at Murphy’s expense.

59. arranc

worked in care homes for over 25yrs know they are filled in by office staff seen it

60. Robert Peffers

@Croompenstein says: 28 February, 2015 at 9:15 am:

“Chris Cairns are you peddling hate and paranoia”

No, Croompenstein, but, “He’s mibbie no really against it”.

I’ll Tell you where that retort came from. When I was Shop Stewarding one of the least pleasant duties was to attend the funerals of members who had died. On one such sad occasion I sat with the widow after a very quiet burial service.

Only three other persons and myself were still in the late departed’s home and I was the only male. I soon realised, by the conversation between the ladies, that the widow was less that upset at the death of her husband. I had known he had been a real drunkard and had not treated the family well.

It seemed as if the women had forgotten that a man was present and they were getting a bit tipsy. Then the widow’s sister said, “Aye May, Noo ye’ll get the Dockyard Pension an it’ll be a guid ane fir he worked there fir 50 year. The ainly thing ye micht miss noo he’s awa is the occasional wee bit”. “Weel! Says May, “Fir aa the wee bits Ah’ve haed fir the last twinty odd year, it’ll no make muckle difference”.

I was somewhat embarrassed at the turn the conversation was taking so said, “I best say Ta! Ta! and head for home”.
    May’s sister says, “Ach May, yer gettin the wee mannnie aa roucht up. If yer no carefu he’ll mibbie rape ye”. So I said, “Och! May, widna be wantin raped. noo wad she”? To which May replied while staring hard at me, “Weel rape’s no a muckle guid thing, (long pause), “Bit ah’m no really again it”.

61. Tackety Beets

@ Robert Peffers

Aye Robert , despite what teenagers think , sex is no a new thing .
    I have had ma share of situations you describe .

Naw …. I’ll cut to the last line the lovely auld wiffie said direct to me as she recollected her youthfull days
    ” Aye me an ma pal were real keen , I was busy wi man lad for while … eventually I turned roon an there was ma pal wi one ……. an the ither …… ”
    She told the story word for word as if she was readin the paper . Jeepers , me a wis Reed as beetroot an off a skidadled fester than Alf Tupper .

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.