Positive-case-for-the-Union update #9

Posted on January 19, 2012 by

(See here for the whole story.)

Northern Ireland’s politicians seem keen to get involved in the debate at the moment, with the latest contribution coming from Lee Reynolds, Director of Strategy for the Democratic Unionist Party, writing on the Slugger O’Toole blog.

The Unionist case needs a Scottish and non-party political voice that will sell a positive narrative.”

Reynolds’ piece runs to over 750 words, concerning itself entirely with the need for the Unionist case to be made positively rather than negatively and insisting that the FUD camp needs to “sell the benefits of our Union”. Unfortunately, perhaps due to pressures of space, Mr Reynolds was not able personally to specify in the article what any of those benefits actually are. We’re confident someone will soon.

TIME ELAPSED: 31 years, 11 months
CONFIRMED SIGHTINGS OF POSITIVE CASE FOR UNION TO DATE: 0

4 to “Positive-case-for-the-Union update #9”

1. Commenter says:

The positive case for the Union is that with the Union we wont be reduced to gnawing on the bones of our countrymen as civilisation collapses around our ears.
    Simple!

2. Bugger (the Panda) says:

chuckle, chuckle

3. Patrick Stirling says:

I'm not swayed by your argument so far.
    Why don't you try presenting some evidence that  civilisation would collapse around our ears and we would be gnawing  at the bones of counrtymen?

4. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

I'm going out on a limb and suggesting that might have been sarcasm.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,779 Posts, 1,220,511 Comments

• James on A different school: “It’s Scots I’m mainly aiming at, Sven; we were regularly scolded and belted for speaking in oor ain tongue.Jun 23, 20:14
    • Insider on A different school: “Watch out, Hatey ! “Puir auld Alf” has his ouija board out again to talk to his deid pals. More…Jun 23, 20:12
    • Hatey McHateface on A different school: ““A language is a dialect with an army and navy” Uh oh! So that’s Scots fucked then. Or as we…Jun 23, 20:11
    • Callum on A different school: “Party before Country has been SNP’s position for the last decade. Indy supporters who intend to vote SNP in 2026…Jun 23, 20:09
    • Mia on A different school: ““The second group are those who want Scotland to be independent but do not vote. Some have never voted; some…Jun 23, 19:53
    • Andy Ellis on A different school: “The Danes tried to suppress the Faroese language for centuries. Given current circumstances I reckon most Scots would take a…Jun 23, 19:49
    • Hatey McHateface on A different school: ““world gone mad” Ah ken fit ye mean. I really struggle when Cooper, a politician I have detested since the…Jun 23, 19:48
    • Xaracen on A different school: “It’s a constitution, Aidan, not a system of modern democracy, and it has sod all to do with running an…Jun 23, 19:43
    • Sven on A different school: “James @ 19.16. Indeed they did not, James, and I share what I’m guessing is your entirely justified and righteous…Jun 23, 19:40
    • Hatey McHateface on A different school: “This is powerful stuff, NC. Who knew that the Scots for “internalised oppression” is “internalised oppression”? Or that the Scots…Jun 23, 19:30
    • James on A different school: “But Sven….did the Faroese parents and/or teachers ever belt their weans for speaking in their ain language though?Jun 23, 19:16
    • Aidan on A different school: “@Twatselfhater – Can you find me a single example of a recent case where the outcome was determined based on…Jun 23, 19:15
    • Hatey McHateface on A different school: “@ Lorn says: 23 June, 2025 at 4:27 pm “So you anticipate a breakdown of civilization as occurred in the…Jun 23, 19:13
    • Sven on A different school: “Kanska skuldi eg stríöst fyri á mínum forfedramáli, føroyskum. No, it may be this Scots ancestral tongue,however I do believe…Jun 23, 18:49
    • wullie on A different school: “S. N P Scotland Not ProsperingJun 23, 18:45
    • sarah on A different school: “🙂 🙂 🙂Jun 23, 18:30
    • Sven on A different school: “My online friend, Northy. Thank goodness then for such as I, who happily post using my very own heritage tongue,…Jun 23, 18:10
    • Rev. Stuart Campbell on A different school: “It’s an idea proposed by Wings in 2020. https://wingsoverscotland.com/the-snp-manifesto-2021/ (Although it makes more sense to use the constituency vote.)Jun 23, 18:09
    • twathater on A different school: “So ayden “The obsession with trying to dig up ancient documents and relitigate 1707 has got to be in the…Jun 23, 18:09
    • faolie on A different school: “The manifesto for independence needs a pretty decent level of public support however. Sign the petition to tell the pro-independence…Jun 23, 18:00
    • MaryB on A different school: “Lorn @ 4.27pm Slovakia is exactly as you say. The Slovaks had no say in becoming independent. It was forced…Jun 23, 17:34
    • 100%Yes on A different school: “George Galloway has made a surprise call for a Scottish independence referendum. Question why? Cause he knows the SNP isn’t…Jun 23, 17:32
    • Alf Baird on A different school: “” Internalized oppression” or ‘Appropriated Racial Oppression’ is an important feature within colonized and hence oppressed societies. To a large…Jun 23, 17:20
    • David Holden on A different school: “Please do not feed the troll collective whatever he\she\it is called this week. Thank you. Message ends.Jun 23, 17:12
    • Daisy Walker (no more) on A different school: “Daisy Dog passed last week folks, (for those who knew her) 17 years young. She didn’t suffer. Re the above,…Jun 23, 16:48
    • Doug on A different school: “Swinney and the SNP hierarchy continue to give every impression that they just wish this pesky independence thing would go…Jun 23, 16:46
    • Northcode on A different school: “A’ve been readin aw aboot different kinds o’ oppressioun. An a hiv juist feenisht readin’ aboot thon internalised oppression. Noo,…Jun 23, 16:34
    • Moon on A different school: “The next holyrood parliament needs parties like reform. This means the parliament will be distributed by disagreements regularly. Voting SNP…Jun 23, 16:28
    • Lorn on A different school: “So you anticipate a breakdown of civilization as occurred in the Balkans or Eastern Europe? Why? A Bulgarian working in…Jun 23, 16:27
    • ScottieDog on A different school: “Mr Galloway – a rank outsider, or is he?Jun 23, 16:14