Onwards and upwards (TBC)

Posted on July 02, 2012 by

The records have been tumbling like skittles at Wings Over Scotland – we’ve just notched up our biggest day of page views ever (last Friday), our biggest week, and our biggest month. Especially heartening was the fact that no single post provided more than 18% of the traffic for any one week, or more than 6% of views for the month – we were already comfortably through the 200,000 barrier even before Friday’s popular and widely-linked piece on the SFL’s farcical “reconstruction” proposals.

We also smashed the 1000-Twitter-followers barrier (despite a furious Twitstorm from No campaigners last Tuesday), set a new high of almost 23,000 unique users, and exceeded 50,000 visits for the first time. Thanks so much to everyone who’s come to the site, and particularly to those who’ve tweeted links, posted Facebook likes and all the other stuff that’s helped our readership grow by 1,675% since the turn of the year.

Now for the (slightly) bad news.

If you visited WingsLand last week, you can’t have helped but notice that it’s becoming a victim of its own success, with the server going up and down like Hearts in the 1980s, leaving the site frequently unavailable – albeit usually for no more than a couple of minutes at a time. (One flakeout annoyingly costing us half an hour’s unsaved work on a post, which we’ll hopefully return to next week when we’ve stopped swearing.)

This is a result of our cheapo bargain-basement web-hosting, which promises “unlimited” bandwidth but shuts you down whenever you exceed a certain percentage of your shared capacity. And despite what the unfortunate tech-support people we harangue might tell you, we can’t really complain – you get what you pay for.

The only long-term solution is to move to a proper host, but that costs money and we’re skint (a situation which may not be entirely unrelated to spending so much of our time banging on about independence like idiots rather doing paid work to earn a living), so like all good Scottish subsidy junkies we’re getting the hat out.

We now have a Donate button, where readers finding themselves burdened with annoying excess cash can chip in a couple of quid to help us fund the higher running costs of a better service. (Several alert viewers spotted it while it was being tested and have already sent money, to whom we offer extra-special thanks.) There’s no obligation whatsoever, but any and all contributions, however small, will be gratefully received.

5 to “Onwards and upwards (TBC)”

1. Seasick Dave says:

I was just going to tap you for a fiver 🙁

Well done on the numbers, though!

2. TYRAN says:

Good work, Rev. I think interest will also spike nearer independence time in much the same way with the football stories as this is now and people want the latest.

3. Richie says:

Ya moochin b…..!
    Well, well, I donated to Newsnet a few days ago.
    You’re not quite as informative as they are but a damn sight more entertaining, so I’ve just given you the same as I gave them, so no fighting please! 
    And don’t spend it on sweeties or else I’ll… 

4. Morag says:

I had been about to give (some more) to NNS when they put me on the persona non grata list.  I seldom read there now.  So you can have it instead.

5. Stoker says:

Rev wrote:

“We also smashed the 1000-Twitter-followers barrier (despite a furious Twitstorm from No campaigners last Tuesday), set a new high of almost 23,000 unique users, and exceeded 50,000 visits for the first time. Thanks so much to everyone who’s come to the site, and particularly to those who’ve tweeted links, posted Facebook likes and all the other stuff that’s helped our readership grow by 1,675% since the turn of the year.”

IZ THAT AW? Pure comedy gold! Any chance of an update?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,975 Posts, 1,250,674 Comments

• Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: “Mark, Measurements of length have always been relatively arbitrary and it has only been in recent times that it has…Sep 9, 12:26
    • James Che on Anything But That: “Mark Beggan. I wll retain my politeness as I have done on wings for the sake of he host of…Sep 9, 12:21
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: ““differed in some degree from their English equivalents.” Which system would be the more accurate? Was the transition to the…Sep 9, 11:35
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “Aye Northy never trust the French. A wee eighth of a Scottish inch or a baw hair ken.Sep 9, 11:24
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: ““professors, authors, policy thinkers, a Labour peer, a broadcaster, and Salvo/Liberation Scotland” I wonder if they will be taking questions.…Sep 9, 11:07
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: ““move Scotland even a millimetre closer to independence” Sorry, Northy, but no True Sovereign Scot uses the metric system. Prior…Sep 9, 10:53
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “Just those who don’t agree with you.Sep 9, 10:44
    • Hatey Mchateface on Anything But That: “An ideal opportunity for Burnham to promise a McLaren in every postcode.Sep 9, 10:40
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “The Elite.Sep 9, 10:30
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “Wrong city. The capital of the fascists was Rome. Germany was a National Socialist dictatorship. Benito Mussolini would have to…Sep 9, 10:27
    • Northcode on Anything But That: “Maybe it’s just me, but the upcoming SSRG conference has a particular vibe to it. I’m not claiming any special…Sep 9, 10:10
    • James Che on Anything But That: “It sounds like some people may now be on the anti Terrorism watch list,Sep 9, 10:10
    • James Che on Anything But That: “Careful Willie or you to might end up on the fascist hit list of fanatics from Berlin headquarters for elimination,…Sep 9, 09:58
    • sam on Anything But That: “It is likely right, as Aidan says, that the Act of Union will have little to do with whether Scotland…Sep 9, 09:41
    • agentx on Anything But That: ““The British supercar manufacturer McLaren is to create 1,000 jobs in a welcome boost to the UK’s struggling automotive industry.…Sep 9, 09:40
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: ““you do have to ask why this has happened” DEI? That’s what was blamed when the US NAT system screwed…Sep 9, 09:15
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: “OK, Mark, I’ll look forward to reading your currency proposals. I’ve written before about how quickly other countries manage to…Sep 9, 09:11
    • Willie on Anything But That: “And another comment if I may. What will be the cost of yesterday’s NATS global disruption. The law suit damages…Sep 9, 09:09
    • Willie on Anything But That: “Oh dear another emblem of Britain’s first world infrastructure as the National Air Traffic system collapses. With thousands of aircraft…Sep 9, 09:03
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “I never left the currency question open I just haven’t come to it yet. But I can say off the…Sep 9, 08:36
    • Hatey Mchateface on Anything But That: “@Mark Your policies tick a lot of the right boxes. But I see you’re making exactly the same mistake that…Sep 9, 08:09
    • Young Lochinvar on Anything But That: “HMcH Unless you started making sense in the 3rd sentence then I didn’t see it as it was tripe and…Sep 8, 22:44
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: “Haud yer horses there, Auld Lochnagar. I’ve got that gen you were looking for. The French woman is called Gisele…Sep 8, 22:08
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: “Be honest now, Spartan. What earthly use would replies from some of the other regulars be to anyone?Sep 8, 21:55
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “Law and Order The MacTrump administration will issue a warrant for the arrest of Nicola Sturgeon. An application to the…Sep 8, 19:44
    • Young Lochinvar on Anything But That: “HMcH @ 7.34 Wow! You have just described yerself to a “T” there old boy! I take it that it’s…Sep 8, 19:20
    • sarah on Anything But That: “10.25, not 08.25.Sep 8, 19:18
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “Family Family will be at the heart of MacTrump policy for Scotland. The focus will be on encouraging working families…Sep 8, 19:11
    • sarah on Anything But That: “Here on this Wings article btl at 8.25 a.m. 8.9.26 is a youtube link that gives all the information to…Sep 8, 18:43
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “I never gave them your name. Apparently they already had it.Sep 8, 18:34