For off-topic chat. Duh.

Subscribe
Notify of

40.9K Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
CameronB Brodie

Tam Jardine
Re. playlist. I’m not sure if that would be necessary. Folk are gathering to chat, so might a chill cd on repeat, not do the job?

Anyway, my playlists would probably be a bit heavy on the weird. 😉

Hood

I got two tests done on the water-jet for the Wings emblem. One is 400mm approx wingspan and the other 200mm approx. They are both in 2mm brushed 304 stainless steel. They came out fairly well I think, see here link to i.cubeupload.com

I was thinking of getting 24 of each cut. Water-jet time is not cheap but it is fairly fast so it is a lot more economical than machining on a milling machine.

I don’t have a definite price yet but £25 plus postage for one of each is a ball park figure.

Would there be any interest in them?

Paula Rose

Nice, nice, nice – I want! Yes Please Hood.

Paula Rose

btw – still need more wingers from Angus and Dundee if we are going to get a caoach to take us to Edinburgh on the 4th of July (£15)

Carol Jardine

Tam
Jardine was my mother’s maiden name. I believe her grandparents hailed from the borders. Made a start on family tree, then got sidetracked!

TJenny

Hood – hi again – glad you’ve decided to offer the Wings plaques for sale. 🙂

I think it’s the 200mm wide Wings plaque I’ve got – and as it wouldn’t be seen properly on my door 🙁 , I’d been thinking about bringing it along to The WOS night and asking all whether we should donate it to the Rev as a present from us to him, or donate it as a prize in the raffle?

Well Wingers, whatdaya think?

memaw/Wilma

So sorry cannot make Edinburgh but will be at the BBC Demo on Sunday.

Hood
Would really love the Wings emblem. Just let me know how much and how to pay.

Thepnr

Raffle prize TJenny. The Rev will get a special one after the Referendum. Hood, I would like one too at £25 plus postage.

Can you inscribe them as a limited edition?

Re the bus from Dundee/Angus, so far haven’t managed to drum up enough interest which is a shame. I’ll phone tomorrow about a smaller bus though it won’t have a toilet and might not suit all. Especially on the way home 🙂

Could be an option, else it’s the train.

Bob Sinclair

Thepnr, On your special plaque idea. For Stu I wonder whether it would be possible to inscribe Wingers Signatures on one.

Thepnr

Sounds like an idea Rab, I’m sure there will be a final meet up before or even on the night of the referendum. Wouldn’t be hard to do for those that attend.

Thepnr

Sorry I meant Bob 🙂

Hood

thepnr,
yours is the one in the pic 🙂 I already promised you that for the Seafest but if you are ever near Arbroath before then let me know and you can pop in for it.

I can likely engrave something on it, what were you thinking?

Paula
Interest noted 🙂

Paula Rose

@ Hood – I’ll be at the Seafest stall.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

I’ve just posted this at a couple of Dundee-oriented Facebook groups.
————————————
Thepnr is taking names towards organising a bus to go through from Brechin/Kirriemuir/Forfar/Dundee to the next Friends of Wings Over Scotland get-together, which will be in The Newsroom (basement), Leith Street, Edinburgh, on Friday 4th July.
The cost will be £15 return.
If you’re interested in joining us for WOS4, get over to the WOS off-topic thread and leave a message for Thepnr, registering your interest. We’re looking for around 20 names to fill the bus.
The last one in Glasgow was a great night.
link to wingsoverscotland.com

Thepnr

Cheers again Brian, been busy at work will stick a couple more posts up over the next couple of days.

Michael McCabe

@Thepnr Just read your post Diary of a Cybernat Two Weeks out. Brilliant. This ones for You.www.youtube.com/watch?v=9-BMlq_zyko&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes

Taranaich

So, it’s 24th of June, the 700th anniversary of Bannockburn. Here’s why I think it’s important to mark the occasion:

link to wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com

And here’s my comic about it:

link to bannockburncomic.blogspot.co.uk

Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Cheers, it’s just amazes me what can happen just because I’ve became passionate about a Yes victory. You just dedicated one of my favourite songs from my youth to me.

I’ve never had that before 🙂

Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

How I will feel on 19th Sept, No regrets, and a new beginning.

Michael McCabe

@Thepnr I Think I was born a Yes Voter. But by coming to this website and the other pro indy sites I now Believe We are going to win this. I don’t go out as much as I used to but I will be at the Newsroom on the 4th. Looking forward to meeting some of the Wings Crew and surrounding myself in the positivity. Cant wait. Vote Yes

Michael McCabe

I keep saying to folk we are on a Journey do they wish to join me. I tell them when we get to the other side it will feel like Heaven. link to youtube.com Yes I want to go.

Eddie

Hi, would like to leave a message for Thepnr… I am interested in going to Edinburgh for the WOS night. Is a bus being run? p2eaa@btinternet.com

Cheers

Eddie

Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for Patsy, sorry, Andy Coulson and Rebekah Brooks.

Patsy Cline, ‘I Fall To Pieces’ –

Liquid Lenny

Velofellow, can u email me at liquidlenny(at)Hotmail.com re arran bike show.

Hood I would like a water cut sign how do you pay?
re wgd’s post, as he mentioned Cambodia got to say that Ive spent many a happy night in Phnom Penh and I would encourage anybody thinking of visiting the Far East to go to Cambodia, you will not find friendlier people anywhere and Ankor Watt is a must for every bodies bucket list.

Its cheap, you can have a meal and a few beers for a fiver and if you stay away from the expensive tourist areas (20 quid for an aircon room) you can get good aircon rooms for under a tenner a night. In fact I once saw a sign at Sihanoukville , advertising a meal and get free bed for night, the meals started at $1.00, so 60p for a meal and a bed!!! Best way to get there is to get to either KL or Bangkok and then use Air Asia which is Asia’s Ryan Air but a lot better, you can fly from KL to Cambodia for about 30 quid or less.

Thepnr

Hello Eddie

Decision to be made Friday morning, we’ve only got 11 so far. Thing to do is see if you can get any of your friends interested. I’ll post now on the main board and again tomorrow a couple of times.

I’ll then let everyone know what our options are. Thanks for supporting the bus. It was good last time and I hope their is another.

Tam Jardine

CameronB Brodie

Re. playlist. I’m not sure if that would be necessary. Folk are gathering to chat, so might a chill cd on repeat, not do the job?Anyway, my playlists would probably be a bit heavy on the weird. 

Ok – will leave it, think you are right. I have a tendency to obsess about things that just work themselves out fine. I don’t have an ipod or anything remotely like background music!

Should be a guid night with a guid turnout.

See you there.

Thepnr

Tam

It will be good, got a feeling a few will bring their own instruments along and as I can’t play any will stick a few tunes on a memory stick that could be on in the background that few could take offence too.

Looking forward to it. The best yet methinks. Soon more will be open but not just at this moment. It will happen though.

Tam Jardine

Thepnr

Thanks. And good luck getting numbers for the bus. It will be great, I’m sure.

I don’t have a handle on what numbers to expect – have seen many confirms but who knows. It’s kind of hard to fully appreciate the numbers of people that are watching this site. Sometimes that freaks me out and sometimes it simply astonishes and inspires me.

G’night

Hood

Regarding the wings logo, I will just be getting 10 or so done as some material has been found to do that many.
I have done a few favours for my friend who in turn is doing a few favours for the guy that’s cutting them out, so cost will be postage only and if inclined a donation to Wings or Wee Ginger Dug or any other Yes cause of your choosing.

I hope to get them Friday so I was thinking they could be put into the raffle at the Edinburgh night out if wanted. I wont be there so I could either send them to someone who will be, or if anyone lives in the Carnoustie/Arbroath they could pick them up.

Not sure if Paula and Liquid Lenny will be going to Edinburgh or not, but if not then I can post theirs out.

Hood

Oh BTW it is just the full size ones that are being done I think.

Conan_the_Librarian

I’ve had to miss the last two for a family commitment and an illness, but I’m not missing this one!

Lanarkist

Hi Thepnr, been putting off committing to going as seriously short of funds, still not sure yet if I can raise the cash! Can you let me know the details just in case of last minute decision so that I can meet up for bus!
In the scheme of things poverty is not that big a deal, being there is more important. Will try to find a way. Know a lot of people in Edinburgh, will ring round to raise awareness of meet up and get a few along regardless!

Lanarkist

Hi Conan, hope you are good! Met up at rally last year. You got a photie wae ma hat! Did it come out okay? Thought you suited it!

Conan_the_Librarian

Hi, Lanarkist, I mind it well, but most of the photies I took that day didn’t save to the chip for some reason*, otherwise they would have been used for blackmail as usual.

*Being in the Waterloo Buffet afterwards?

Lanarkist

Conan, good that I had excuse to exit early! The crew were just getting going as I left, god knows what you all were like after a few more. Great andrenilin rush that day, always goes well with the beers!
Hopefully see you next week.

Thepnr

Hi Lanarkist

I’m almost about to give up on the bus idea as not a great response. Could though still make it simple and get a minibus from Dundee. Don’t know how that would suit though.

Oneironaut

@Thepnr
Or a clapped-out Transit van with a few old rickety plastic chairs in the back?

Wish I could afford to chip in, but I’ve got a load of legal types after me for money right now. Suppose I’d better (reluctantly) deal with them first, since they’re getting a bit ticked-off at being ignored all week…

Hope things work out ok for you there. Wishing you all a great time in Edinburgh! 😀

Oneironaut

Seems like the BT crowd have finally got around to noticing my area, judging by the deluge of propaganda that just fell through my letterbox over the last couple of days…

One was the BT booklet with the happy (brainwashed) family on the cover.
Keeping that until my fiendish imagination can work out a creative use for it…

Another was one of those self-congratulating “newsletters” (actually just a small sheet of paper folded in half) from local Labour councillor Jim Montgomerie, accompanied with a “Vote No” window sticker (which I’m also trying to figure an equally-creative use for!)

The newsletter itself didn’t mention the referendum, but had this bit about company blacklisting added that seems to me to be a deliberate attempt at turning people against the SNP in North Ayrshire.

Can anyone in the local area confirm if any of this is true? (which I very much doubt!) Or is this an issue that the SNP government have no control or power to change?

And if it is just a pack of lies, does anyone have any ideas on how to counter it? Considering that the people of North Ayrshire already seem to be heavily anti-SNP judging by the comments about Alex Salmond I get from locals.

The relevant bit of text from the newsletter is added here, in case anyone hasn’t seen it yet. Also does anyone know if the same story is being used elsewhere by other Labour councillors?

“There a [sic] number of companies that have been known to run blacklists of workers they refuse to employ. This is an illegal and pernicious practice which has been condemned from all quarters. It has no place in modern industry and it certainly has no place in the delivery of Council contracts.

I have raised the issue at least 4 times in the last year with the SNP administration, in motions and questions to the full Council. Each time the SNP has used a different excuse for doing nothing. The result is that in the last year the SNP led Council has entered into contracts worth millions of pounds with known blacklisting companies. Even now on the 4th attempt the Nationalists have no coherent policy or response. It is deplorable that companies who operate in this way are considered fit to do business with. it is even more deplorable that the SNP led Council continues to feed public money straight into the profits of organisations that conduct themselves in such an anti-social manner. It is doubly frustrating that the SNP in North Ayrshire refuses to implement their own party’s policy on blacklisting.”

Thepnr

O/T I need to know by close of business Sunday at the latest if anyone who might be attending the Wings night out in Edinburgh next Friday 4th July at the Newsroom in Edinburgh would like to take a bus from the Dundee and Angus area.

One was successfully organised for Glasgow earlier this month and it would be great to do the same again.

The overall cost would be around £500, it a 38 seater bus (with toilet) and I was hoping for at least 30 paying £15 return, so far only around a dozen folk. This is understandable as for most it would be easier to get the train except for those living outwith towns with a train station. Forfar, Brechin, Montrose, Kirriemuir etc.

I will arrange pick-ups in all these locations if people want a seat and post the details once I have enough bums on seats.

Haggis Hunter

@Thepnr
Would love to go to Edinburgh, however myself, Brian and Mealer (the 3 drunks at the back of the bus)are either on holiday or have other committments.
We will be up for the next trip on the freedom bus!!

Thepnr

Hood I know I saw your email previously, I would like to contact you Re the Wings sculptures. Can you please post an email address again. Ta

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

This may be a long shot, but have you contacted the Yes shops up your way? They could put up posters. Just a thought, and it would be interesting to know if they are enforcing the arms-length dictat from Yes Scotland re WOS.

Given all the work you put in, and the dosh you’ve spent, it would be horrible not to see that bus filled – the punters are out there, but a lot of them don’t come here.

Thepnr

Good point Ian.

You know what I’m going to see if I can book the bus this afternoon. So there will be a bus and we will do our best to fill it.

TJenny

Got a postcard today from Royal Mail saying that a letter addressed to me couldn’t be delivered as there was insufficient postage paid by the sender. Strangely, it does not state who the sender is.

I have to pay £1.11 in charges to have it delivered. RM depot is miles across town (I don’t drive) and so I tried to pay the charges online, but it wouldn’t let me as I don’t have a mobile phone no.

Anyway went to local PO where they attached stamps for £1.11 and sent it back. RM say that I will receive letter within 2 working days of payt rec’d.

Which means, if it’s my Wings badge, I’ll be able to wear it to the gig next Friday, or not, who knows.

Hood

Thepnr

email address is
hood at rdengineering dot wanadoo dot co dot uk

Wont be getting them until Monday now as my friend didnt make it back to his work until late yesterday, so only got them sent off today.

Thepnr

Wee bit annoyed, contacted the same bus company that I used last time. “Oh that’ll be the one where you were an hour late getting on the bus coming back” Driver wanted an extra two hours wages apparently.

Well I’m pissed off, I gave him over £60 from our collection and for the 30 minute delay. The last guys to get off bunged him another good whack.

What are people like?

Anyway he wouldn’t confirm that a coach was available until Monday as he’s not in the office. I can’t be arsed with this so bus is cancelled. Their won’t be one, the train will take the strain. I hate being messed around.

Sorry guys, that came forward earlier.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

Shame about the bus – the trip back last time was a fine experience!
The driver’s got a bit of a cheek, iye? Probably got around 5 hours pay “cash-in-hand” from us minions – and still wanted more!

Onnyhoo, Pete the Camera is gonna drive us through (he doesn’t partake of the grape or the grain) and my son is coming too, for the experience.

So, we’ll see you there. BTW: the last bus back from Edinburgh is around 22.50, as an alternative to the train.

Paula Rose

Darlings – what am I to do? Still no high speed link from Montrose to Brechin, do I sit at home and watch the live-stream, or have any of you clever boys got a cunning plan?

Thepnr

Yeah Brian, I was a bit shocked when the guy said that to me about the driver. As I said i gave him more than £60 and mealer and his buddies gave him just as much again.

Anyhow, those like you and I will all be able to make our own way there. No probs.

Brian Doonthetoon

Anyone considered a ‘self-drive’ minibus?
Mind you, finding a driver could be a problem…

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

From what you’ve said above, I guess the CH2 driver could have a bit of explaining to do if his boss happens to read this – trying to stiff the company for an extra two hours pay after having trousered over £100? Naughty naughty boy – I reckon we should hand him over to Paula Rose for some suitably stern ‘correction’.

Ian Brotherhood

Anyway, let’s shake off the trolls, greedy bus drivers and all the Miliband/Cameron bawbaggery. It’s Friday, and time to sink a few, play some tunes, and have a wee dance.

Here’s to all of you, friends. Slainte!

Van Morrison, ‘Bright Side Of The Road’ –

Nana Smith

Here’s one for all the labour gravy train wannabes.

Ian Brotherhood

Status Quo, ‘Rockin’ All Over The World’ (live) –

Ian Brotherhood

Oor very ain Dick Gaughan, ‘Erin Go snooker loopy!’.

If the BTUKOKNOTHANKERS had anyone with a fraction of the talent, passion and principle of this man they might be worth taking seriously.

But they don’t. So, fuck ’em.

Paula Rose

OOH – goody naughty bus driver- I should have pocketed those CDs that were in the machine, he was very keen to retrieve them.

Paula Rose

Off now to the music night in Brechin – honeys, I’ll be dancing the night away xxx

Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Don’t fret I have a cunning plan!

@Ian Brotherhood

Listened to it all, I’ve got a smile on my face. I feel upbeat. We know what to expect and it’s pathetic, they don’t know where to go next. We do, keep up the pressure like Sundays protest at PQ. Get in their people, a 1970’s saying “We are the people”.

For the ruling class it is squeaky bum time. Hell mend them. I’ll post again the last paragraph from the McCrone report on here because it’s enlightening.

If, in five years’ time North Sea oil is contributing massively to the UK budget, while the economic and social condition of West Central Scotland continues in the poor state that it is today, it would be hard to imagine conditions more favourable to the growth of support for the nationalist movement.

Very determined steps to urgently transform economic conditions in Scotland will therefore be necessary and the Scottish people will have to be persuaded that their problems really have received the attention and expenditure they deserve if this outcome is to be avoided.

We got transforming economic conditions alright. We got Thatcher who destroyed all industry in Scotland for ideology.

We are due payback.

Paula Rose

Ian darling, just for you –

Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for all our relatives and friends who lost hope, did themselves in with the bevvy and fags, or headed off overseas to try and find a better life. There was no need for them to go. They should have had the choice to stay here. They were lied to. We were all lied to.

Get your hankies out people.

Peter Gabriel & Kate Bush, ‘Don’t Give Up’ –

Thepnr

FFS Ian I haven’t even watched it yet and I’m greeting already!

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

I’m greetin’ as well, but that’s cause I nipped outside, barefoot, for a quick pish, and stood on a chuckie.

Ayabassye!

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I thought you’d said we had already ran oot of the best tunes? Obviously not cos that was a belter. My missus is out the night but can’t wait to show her that. She will love it.

Meantime stick this in yer pipe.

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Wow.

I didn’t even know Annie Lennox played piano. I do now.

Thepnr

@Ian

Her best performance me thinks, since I haven’t seen any others but that was great you have to admit.

Ian Brotherhood

Pink Floyd, ‘Comfortably Numb’ (live) –

Ian Brotherhood

Ronnie Anderson, and anyone else who’s going –

If you see this – what time you expect to be at Pacific Quay on Sunday?

Thepnr

Scots are too stupid though. Everybody knows that. Bet that piano was made by a furriner.

Ian Brotherhood

Eurythmics, ‘Thorn In My Side’ –

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

That Pink Floyd one was just class, I have a Pink Floyd one as well. For soon.

Meantime I can’t keep up Thorn in my Side is another cracker. I’m watching then I’ll bat right back.

Thepnr

Us and Them (pricks)

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Nice one.

Any self-respecting saxophone player of that era had to have a decent mullet. That dude did not disappoint – an extraordinary barnet.

Thepnr

It’s Fidat it’s crackerjack. LOL just kidding here’s another to tickle the toes.

Before you go I’m really looking forward to the fightback from the grassroots No’s

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I’m pishing myself now will you just stop it LOL

Nana Smith

Lets have some John Fogerty playing George Galloways theme tune

Gorgeous George telling the Spectator “Scottish independence will cause havoc throughout the land.”
He’s trying to outdo George Robertson

Nana Smith

Sorry folks wrong link

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Queen link brilliant – first time I’ve seen that bit with Mercury testing the crowd’s vocals. Superb.

I was working that day, in a small restaurant in Glasgow called ‘The Grove’, near Queens Park. All the staff (mostly students) were mightily pissed off that we were missing the big event, but the bosses plied us with non-stop booze throughout the day.

Happy memories mister – cheers.

Thepnr

Hey Nana

Wasn’t wrong at all, I’ve been smiling all day and have an even bigger grin on my my face now. Even George Osborne couldn’t wipe it off with a smack in the puss.

I’m past that now, that’s why I’m feeling positive. We are the happy chappies, they are the miserable sods. Who would want to be on their team? Nobody.

Not celebrating yet but just having a laugh at my oppisite number hehe lol.

Nana you naughty girl, just played your second song, LOVE it.

Nice one. xx

Ian Brotherhood

@Nana Smith –

Ha!

Galloway’s making a total arse of himself. Don’t know what he thinks that bunnet is doing for his image. If he imagines it makes him appear cutting-edge he’s onto plums. Bill Hicks he ain’t.

Nana Smith

@Thepnr

Grinning like the Cheshire cat here. The more rabid the opposition becomes the bigger my grin.

Nana Smith

@Ian Brotherhood

Bill Hicks he ain’t….George sure makes me laugh

“I’m nuts and I know it. But so long as I make ’em laugh, they ain’t going to lock me up”

Red Skelton [quote]

Brian Doonthetoon

Ah, Pink Floyd. ‘Meddle’ – one of my favourite albums of all time.

But I quite like this:-

Ian Brotherhood

Basement Jaxx, ‘Red Alert’ –

Ian Brotherhood

@Brian Doonthetoon –

Brilliant!

Never heard that one. Floyd are great and lovable, but they were never ‘funky’.

Methinks you’ve spawned another raft of stuff…

Ian Brotherhood

…like this.

Graham Central Station, ‘Release Yourself’ –

Thepnr

Hey Brian that was great, loved it 🙂

Thepnr

All tastes in music are welcome in Off Topic so don’t let the above put you off. Here’s one of my faves, a rock classic.

Ian Brotherhood

And finally…get the hankies oot again:

Andre Rieu, ‘Amazing Grace’ –

Nana Smith

Posting this one for my youngest, just got his honours degree and I’m wondering how the carefree little boy days went by so fast.

He is looking forward to voting YES in September

Night all…

Jock Scot

Newsflash

The smash hit of the summer, co-written by Ronnie Anderson and Ninja Penguin, is now available to watch on the Yew Choob you tube channel but ain’t being allowed to post the link..so you are going to have to work for this one..hope you think it’s worth it. Cheers

Thepnr

Hey Jock
Your right make these mothers work for it! 🙂

Ian Brotherhood

@Nana Smith –

I hope your son is as proud of you as you clearly as of him, and that he gets to achieve all he hopes for. If life in a free nation appeals to him, he may have been born at a good time.

In any event, he’s got a good Mum!

Nana Smith

Oh Ian thank you for such kind words.

my wee boy…

link to ross-shirejournal.co.uk

Jock Scot

@Thepnr

Hope life is treating you well, sir

Michael McCabe

Here is a wee bit of music to tap your toes too. link to youtube.com Vote Yes

Paula Rose

Pinkie Floyd is it boys?

Ian Brotherhood

@Nana Smith –

Looks like the lad is sorted.

More power to you, and him.

Not long to go now my friend – we’re ‘making’ history.

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I thought you were away dancing? What happened?

(Don’t tell me – it involves some high-heel related catastrophe?!)

Paula Rose

You know I will darlings…

TJenny

Jock Scot, Ninja Penguin and the man they call Ronnie Anderson – hope I’m not letting any cats out of bags here, but eat your heart out Paul Jones and Manfred Mann – superb. 🙂

Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

I’m only guessing but I think you are a musician yourself? Your choice of music is impeccable and I like it.

You see, it’s important to have an open mind and appreciate the best of everything. You can do that. salute.

Jock Scot

@TJenny

It’s public, no worries. Looking forward to seeing you on the 4th.x

Thepnr

@Paula Rose

You know I love you but I’m gonna piss you off just the same 😉

TJenny

Jock Scot – xxs to you too – see ya next Friday. 🙂

Paula Rose

Ian dear – back now from enjoying the non-existant Scottish not happening culture, listened to some marvellous music, had some great natter (with non-existant) people – I don’t need sexy shoes – Scotland is awake. I am more confident than ever xx

Paula Rose

Thepnr – darling, I just so love alert readers – I really thought you wee scotties would miss that one, well done xx

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

You don’t need sexy shoes?

Heads-up people – Paula’s in Sandie Shaw mode. (It don’t mean you’re safe…)

Paula Rose

Darlings I love being barefoot, but for you naughty boys – weep

Michael McCabe

@Thepnr Not a Musician but I love listening to all sorts of Music. I see there has been a few Pink Floyd. So here is another one kind of. For all the Wingers. Vote Yes

Michael McCabe

Sorry here,s the link. link to youtube.com

Paula Rose

Now dears – lets have some culture

Paula Rose

Oh btw boys – I am a professional reflexologist, please form an orderly queue.

Michael McCabe

Here is a song from a Glasgow Singer.www.youtube.com/watch?v=5SqqFeewq_8&feature=player_detailpage

Michael McCabe
Jock Scot

@Paula
Take’s one to know one, sister. x

Paula Rose

Jock darling – are you being patronising xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Jock Scot

@Paula

Not at all honey, I was remembering that,I too am a Professional reflexologist…have you ever tried a reflexology 69…neither have I , since the thought just occured…maybe it was all that dancing in Glasgow. x

Paula Rose

Jock dear – is the lovely ninja penguin about? Give her a fondest peck from me! _ I just called to say I love you (all).

Thepnr

@
Michael McCabe 12:50

I doff my cap. Where the fuck do you find them? How I wish you were here. lol Brilliant my man. We will win because we have right on our side.

And a laugh, and genius, and fun, and might. BT are fucked, they nought.

Paula Rose

Thepnr – ssh dear, us alternative types are doing some hippy stuff xx

Jock Scot

@Paula

Having lunch with later,I would be honoured to pass said peck on personally.

Sweet dreams.

Paula Rose

Oh btw dolls – any advice on how to do one liners? My eyes are watering, time for bed xx.

Thepnr

OK, politics over for the day. Sweet dreams all you warriors and see you all again in the morning.

Paula Rose

Always something…

Paula Rose

For afficianados of pop – here is the one and only Slaughter Joe daring to take a pop at the exquisite Paula Rose.

Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Reminds me of the dark days, cheers.

Thepnr

This is what I should have posted.

pete the camera

This one for David Cameron on the 19th September

Nana Smith

@pete the camera

Love that version but I prefer this one right now…..

Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for Paula Rose.

Kirsty MacColl, ‘In These Shoes’ –

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B and Thepnr.
Here are another couple you may like.

Blondie Vs. The Doors – Rapture Riders

Brian Doonthetoon

And the second…

Whole Lotta Sabbath

Brian Doonthetoon

And for everyone who will be at Pacific Quay tomorrow:

Thepnr

Brisn

Love your choice of tunes. Who’d a thunk it that such a diverse people could come together like this? I’m feeling very positive now. Yes is on the march. Like this one that went unreported.

Jim Thomson

This seems apt – kinda sums up the relationship between “us” and “them”.

Saw him live at the Shetland Folk Festival last year. He’s a very natural entertainer “noodling” (I’m assured it’s legal) as he chats between songs.

More of his stuff on ‘tube

Jim Thomson

And, just to cheer you all up – a blast from the past – the inimitable Emerson Lake & Palmer (warning – lyrics contain violence!). The piano solo is quite good though. 🙂

Jim Thomson

One with a bit of percussion action from Ric Parnell just for X-Sticks. You’ll need to like Hammond organs for this though …

Paula Rose

That Thepnr really is a darling man! This is his cunning plan (8:42) he has taken up my suggestion of a high speed rail link between Brechin and Montrose, except he’s going to run it from Brechin to Edinburgh!

I’ve got some footage somewhere of him and his lovely dog in action laying track…

Ah yes here it is…

Oneironaut

Since everyone else seems to be posting music, I’ll post up my tenuous music link for today…

“We wanna be free, to do what we wanna do!” 😀

Thepnr

@Paula Rose

I liked that, if only Grommit got the contract for HS2 it’d be built in no time and cost next to nothing. Sadly it will be a lot of other Jokers getting the contracts.

@Oneironaut
Here’s a tune that says Do Anything You Wanna Do. Your probably a wee bit to remember. Great tune from 1977 when I was still a boy sob 🙂

Thepnr

Shit, wee bit too young to remember. A senior moment there…again! LOL

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

This has GOTTA follow your train chase clip…

Brian Doonthetoon

It’s funny how the brain works sometimes.
Listening to the track above, of course, reminded me of this, where Anthony Newley gets a mention, coz my brain confuses Anthony Newley and Michael Holliday for some reason.

Warning: liberal use of both the C and F words!
Features Peter Cook and Dudley Moore doing the voiceovers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2UT02–Ijdc

Paula Rose

But but… if we vote Yes is this all I will see?

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Wouldn’t that be enough?

In any event, it would be nice if Capaldi maintains a Tuckerish persona –

‘Okay,you motherfucking Dalek cunters, taste some fucking special screwdriver…’

Oneironaut

@Thepnr
Ahh, 1977. That was the year I was born actually. Missed all the best bits of the 70s (unless I experienced them in a past life and just can’t remember!)

I’ve heard that one before though. And like it a lot. Thanks! 😀

Thepnr

@Oneironaut

Here’s a wee tune that got to number 1 in the year of your birth.

Paula Rose

Ian dear I know it’s late but there may still be some children up at this time, please be more thoughtful with your use of the english tongue.

Paula Rose

WOW – on BBC Alba – real men playing a real game!!!

Paula Rose

Are you there WGD? it’s good!!!

Brian Doonthetoon

And Oneironaut, within a year or so of your birth, we had these two classics…

Brian Doonthetoon

And this one…

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Whit? I thought you were a pal?!

I can’t use ‘industrial’ language to make a point?

Oh-er missus, you are even harsher than I had imagined, and I really think (sniff, dribble…) I would prefer not to speak to you any more.

So there!

Paula Rose

Ian dear – you know I don’t like ‘industrial’ language, unlike you socialites, but…

I’d go the whole wide world

Paula Rose

Ian dear – I’d go the whole wide world just to kiss you.

Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Fuck off, censorship is evil and I don’t care if there are children reading. They should be in bed at this time anyway.

Paula Rose

Threpnr honey – are you sending the kiddies to bed so that they can’t read our posits?

Thepnr

No I’m wakening them up and getting them out of bed just to read this. The truth must be told and wee sweary words are part of that.

We can articulate very well using the Queens English but a whole heap of our people don’t communicate like that. They say “What the fuck is this Independence Shite all about”.

Fuck it, gloves off, don’t give a rats fart if I put off some middle class gadgie from this site or Independence. Believe me the votes we need will come from the schemes.

Do you think they never swear?

Let’s not fall out about the minutia, there is a fight to be won. Face to face, chapping doors, in the streets and sitting in the pub. Sometimes a wee sweary word has relevance. At least I think that.

Paula Rose

Thepnr dear don’t fucking shout your sweary wee cunt language at me son – now get your jim jams on and get to bed and here’s a wee reminder of how to do strength…

Brian Doonthetoon

JEEZ!

And I felt slightly uncomfortable posting the Derek & Clive clip!

Well, you live and learn…

Paula Rose

Stop swearing dears – lets do culture

Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Your right, bedtime it is. Goodnight.

Paula Rose

Thepnr – apart from me, the most beautiful woman ever (don’t mess the sheets)…

Michael McCabe

Strong Woman good Song. link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Here is a Mowtown Classic with a Scottish Twist. link to youtube.com Vote Yes

Paula Rose

I love these boys! A special song just for me!

Bob Sinclair

Some pics from Pacific Quay. What a day.

link to dropbox.com

Oneironaut

@Thepnr
@Brian Doonthetoon
Thanks for the tunes 😀

To be precise, it was the 5th of February 1977. Thought of looking up what was at number 1 in the charts on the day I was born, but never actually got around to it. (I’m easily distracted).
Hopefully it’s something with a distinctly rebellious theme to it, since I’m a rebel at heart! 😉

Got back from the Glasgow gig earlier. Nice turn-out by the Wings crew there.
Also, I finally got my flag! 😀 (From the 10,000 flags for Yes thing! Yay!)

Waiting for the “BBC Headquarters invaded by evil Cybernat army!” headlines now 😉

Jim Thomson

Thanks Bob – nice to see a couple of familiar faces. Crawford (bloke with cowboy hat), X-Sticks and Ronnie to name but three 🙂

gerry parker

Great day at PQ, thanks to everyone who dropped by the wings stall and signed the banner. Patrician will be posting some photo’s later. Banner will be at the Newsroom on 4th July.

Paula Rose

Another declaration for the archive then Gerry xx

gerry parker

Aye Paula, at this rate I’ll need to order up a couple of extra banners, I can see the other one being full after the Newsroom event, and still Arbroath seafest to go.

Ian Brotherhood

Well done to everyone who attended PQ today. Another very significant nail in the proverbial.

Paula Rose

If ever I worry about our future – all I need to do is swap kisses with you lot!! Now, no naughty words tonight please.

Brian Doonthetoon

Here’s one of the pics from this afternoon, featuring the WOS banner.
(Captured from Facebook.)

link to sites.google.com

Michael McCabe

All the People who turned up at Pacific Quay did Scotland Proud. Thank You every last one of you. Vote Yes

Brian Doonthetoon

Thanks for the Dropbox pics, Bob Sinclair!

Paula Rose

@ Brian xxx

chipmonkey

No doubt this has been posted before, but seems to have been relevant a few times this week 🙂

Ian Brotherhood

Who’s got the picture of the pandas with the cops? The female officer was totally enchanted by Ronnie Anderson. I saw him working his magic – that man could charm the birds out of the trees.

So much for vile Cybernattery – WOS right there on the steps of the BBC entrance, directly beneath the BBC Alba logo, ready to talk to all and sundry.

Cochers, McColm and all the rest of you MSM belters who demonise us? GIRFU ye’s all – it’s well seen that not one of you had the balls to do some real ‘journalism’ and make any effort to speak to us. Typical unionist fearties, taking the lead from your glorious leaders in Westminster.

Caz-m, Jeannie and Big Al – a total pleasure to meet y’all, and everyone else whose names have slipped away for now…a great day altogether. Well done all.

gerry parker

@ Ian,
Patrician is posting up the pictures right now, The one with the Panda’s and the policewoman is a cracker.

Captures the spirit of the day in one snapshot.

Ian Brotherhood

…and you too Gerry – I take it your avatar is the very badge Oneironaut was so taken by?

Great to get to speak to you at last. We really are quite a civilised bunch, eh?

Brian Doonthetoon

The ‘panda and the policewoman’ pic is at the Dropbox link from earlier on.

link to dropbox.com

Brian Doonthetoon

‘Pandas and the policewoman’

Brian Doonthetoon

How two premiership clubs from the same toon just get along fine and work together in support of a YES vote.

Patrician

Today at PQ

link to imgur.com

If anyone wants any of the pictures removed or faces obscured please let me know. I will also date order the pictures and caption them later.

Ian Brotherhood

The feeling of solidarity and hope today in Glasgow was fantastic.

BTUKOKNOTHANKS are heading for a total tanking and they know it – they have nothing to counter this groundswell, and even the mighty BBC can’t help them.

Simple Minds, ‘Speed Your Love To Me’ –

Ian Brotherhood

Can’t be arsed trying to establish some indy-related quip – it’s just a great song.

Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes, ‘Don’t Leave Me This Way’ –

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Oneironaut.

Getting back to you. I’ve got bad news and good news.

The Number 1 single on the day of your birth was:
David Soul – “Don’t Give Up On Us”.

However, you share your birthday with a legend.
Born on 5th Feb:
1935 – Alex Harvey (vocalist, guitarist, The Sensational Alex Harvey Band; deceased).

8=)

Ian Brotherhood

@Brian Doonthetoon –

That’s an extraordinary coincidence, that you mention David Soul. My wife is in New York right now. Spoke to her last night, and she saw David Soul in Heathrow airport on the flight out. (Sadly, he was in a wheelchair and didn’t look very well.)

Ian Brotherhood

We just need to get over that line friends…over the line…

Bob Sinclair

Today was a really special day in my life. Lets all make sure that this is a story we can proudly tell our grandchildren.

Brian Doonthetoon

OOH! That was a surreal contribution to the independence debate.

So, I’ll offer this:

Ian Brotherhood

@Brian Doonthetoon –

That was superb!

I’ve no idea what age you are, so you may not be familiar with these guys, but well worth a wee listen:

The Shakin’ Pyramids, ‘Hell Bent On Rockin’ –

Ian Brotherhood

@Bob Sinclair –

Just so’s I’m getting this right…are you ex ‘Rab the Doubter’?

If not, apologies for annoying you, but if so? Great to see you again, albeit briefly.

I think we can all say, hand on heart, that today at PQ was a ‘success’. Let’s see what the usual MSM suspects make of it tomorrow IF they can even bring themselves to pay it any attention.

Bob Sinclair

Ian, yep, thats me, good to see you again. Decided to remove the ‘mask’ as I’ve got nothing to hide and am in awe of the things Wingers have achieved.

Tam Jardine

Bob Sinclair

Glad you had a great day. Your grandchildren will be proud. The generations of Scots alive today and people who have made Scotland their home have a great responsibility to push through a Yes. It has been a long hard road but we can achieve something profoundly good that will last forever.

Re the name thing (ditching alias), I love the idea of some dickhead being forced to monitor my work phone calls… its bad enough I have to listen to them!

X_Sticks

Evening O/T

Great seeing all you guys today.

Just a pity on Saturday at BL I didn’t manage to meet up with any WoS folk.

Thanks for the photos Bob, sorry I didn’t get a chance to speak. Gavin Barrie’s posted some good one too. The ones with Ronnie, the pandas and the Police woman are braw 😀

Thanks to Derek for the IndyLive feed. Some really good stuff on the vids that I’ll watch again. Really liked some of the indy songs, and the poet’s one about the youth.

Hoping to make the Newsroom next week 😉

Off to crash now, been a busy weekend. All good for the Yes movement. I think we are on course for a Yes 😀

Oneironaut

@Brian Doonthetoon
Ahh ok 🙂 Could be worse. Thanks for looking that up!

I think I’ll be sticking with my alias actually. Mostly because I don’t particularly like my real name.
And this name describes me much better anyway 😀

I’ve run out of suitable music links that haven’t already been posted, so I’ll just leave this one here ‘cos I like it.

They can’t beat us… We’re Still Alive… 😉

Cactus

Good to see y’all on the south promenade in fine numbers today 🙂

This is a MUST watch video, looks a bit like Nicholas Cage, LOVE LOVE LOVE X

gerry parker

@ Ian, Yep – the avatar is my badge too. Great to see you and Oneironaut Yesterday. He certainly picked up the different levels of communication intended by it.

Hope to see you at the Newsroom if you can make it.

Ian Brotherhood

Over on ‘Smear ‘Em Young’ thread, they’re reaching new depths. To hell with them. If they’re accusing us all of being Nazis, and extending it to include our weans, they’ve lost.

We only need to keep the heid, not rise to it, and let them keep doing what they’re doing.

Here’s a nice one.

Alison Moyet, ‘Only You’ (live) –

Nana Smith

Ah some Joan Baez just cos I feel like it….

Hood

memaw/Wilma and Liquid Lenny

Can you email me your address so I can get the wings emblem sent off to you both.
Thepnr is picking up the rest from me on Friday to take through to Edinburgh, so Paula you will get yours there.

email address is
hood at rdengineering dot wanadoo dot co dot uk

Paula Rose

Hood SSh dear – Thepnr wants to surprise me! Will meet you at Seafest? We can chew the langoustines xx

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

If I may venture so bold – what is it you’re leafleting? Is it just regular ‘Yes’ material?

Do you have the Wings flyer? If not, I’m happy to stick some in’t post. And what if I pushed my luck and sent you some SSP A5 flyers? Would you include them? (Mind you, I don’t have any right now, but should do soonish…)

In any event, I now have you rumbled. You’ve spent all these months distracting us with blether about strappy sandals and high heels, when, in actual fact, like the rest of us, you’re a Cybernazi who’s more into jackboots and goose-stepping. Right?

Must dash – I’ve been trying to train the dogs to do a Nazi salute. The Spaniel is managing fine, although he sometimes raises the wrong paw. The Labrador is proving more difficult, and prefers to drop to the ground, covering both eyes…work to be done there.

Hood

Afraid I wont be there Paula, have a real dislike of crowds I am afraid.
Oh and BTW think you have been watching too many BBC cooking programmes, we call them prawns 😀

Paula Rose

Ian – Aye Right, darling I walk barefoot, my world does not require jackboots xx

Hood – Honey are you in Arbroath? See you at the Seafest doll xxx

john king

I just felt the need s’all

Hood

Paula, my workshop is at the Harbour in Arbroath but I live in Carnoustie.

Michael McCabe

@John King Do you enjoy Reggae ? If so hope you like link to youtube.com. Vote Yes

fluffnik

I’m keen to come along to the Newsroom but a little worried about wheelchair access.

Anyone know what it’s like – the steps outside are surmountable with help!

Chic McGregor

At the first showing of the re-enactment of Bannockburn, caught the inadvertent (I presume) sweary word blooper from the PA system on video during the Bruce v de Bohun piece.

It is not long after Bruce kills de Bohun.

About 6:40 in

Chic McGregor

At the BBC demo, part of ‘Caledonia’ from the crowd. Apologies for my singing.

Chic McGregor

P.S. forgot the Bruce de Bohun clip.

john king

for some unaccountable reason the youtube link I tried to put up last night does not work and neither do any of the other youtube videos of the flying pickets ONLY YOU work, bizarre.
the link that went on was not the one I linked??? 🙁

Oneironaut

Decided to add my own pics to the collection of those taken of the BBC demo at Pacific Quay.

Can’t promise they’ll be very good, but feel free to use them anywhere you think they’ll be of use (although if I catch anyone photoshopping out the crowds and saying no-one turned up, I will be very annoyed. And you won’t like me when I’m very annoyed!) 😉

Professional photographers are advised not to look at them, as I was using a cheap camera with a broken screen, so the framing is way off on most of them, and I can’t change any of the default settings. I wouldn’t want to be responsible for any inadvertent insults to the art of photography!

link to filedropper.com

@Rev Stu
Help yourself to the shots of the Wings banner if you were looking for any 😀

Tam Jardine

fluffnik

The meeting on Friday is in the basement of the Newsroom. It is the next door along from the pub entrance and down a flight of stairs so not wheelchair friendly by any stretch.

I can imagine that we will be annexing the pub itself if the numbers are high and it is if not on street level, maybe up 1 step. Fortunately a Yes badge will mean that the cybernat army will assist with the stairs so don’t be put off.

It was not easy coming up with a suitable venue and time will tell whether this works out (nervous, moi?).

If I can do anything to help do let me know. If it’s anything like CH2 there will be a changing guard of smokers outside who can assist. Hope to see you there.

Tam Jardine

Ian Brotherhood

Just enjoyed you’re interview over on Newsnet from the demo- you come across really well… totally natural and very eloquent. Could do with you in the powered up indy parliament — but let’s get there first.

As per last post, the function room of the Newsroom is next door along (sign says 511). You are a vet at this game: i have raffle tickets, stickers, wee prize for raffle – don’t think I have missed anything?

Looking forward to a guid crowd. See you there

Paula Rose

Tam Jardine

Plenty of nuts for the squirrels? Fish for the Penguins and Puffins? Bamboo for the Pandas?

Tam Jardine

Paula Rose

Aye – will need to bring along something or someone for Ronnie to chew on an aw…

Tam Jardine

… where do I get a bus up to Angus?

TJenny

WOS Peeps – Jock Scot has posted the link to new Yew Choob outing – it’s their special version of Bohemian Rhapsody, here’s the link. Enjoy. 🙂

Ian Brotherhood

@Tam Jardine –

Cheers friend, you are too kind.

I won’t make Friday as I’m quite horribly skint – first CH gig I’ll have missed, and I’m properly hacked-off about it, but I trust the bold Thistle will be providing a livestream – I’ll be here with a pyramid of cans, cheering you all on.

Jock Scot

Cheers TJenny
Actually we did that one 6 months back and it’s a bit raw but had just watched the video that Stu had put up and I needed to vent, esp. as I had checked out his wife’s twitter page/thingy yesterday and it made me think/shout…feckin’ psycho woman makes JoLa look almost pre-primitive. Looking forward to buying you a drink on Friday.

TJenny

Jock – you say the sweetest things. 🙂

Jock Scot

@TJenny

Glad someone thinks so.That’ll get you an added peck on the cheek.x

TJenny

Jock Scot – Ooh, be still my beating heart. 😉

Ian Brotherhood

Here’s a wee singalong piece for some of our younger readers:

Primal Scream, ‘Swastika Eyes’ (live) –

Thepnr

Hello Ian

You still up my friend? I’ve sent you an email and I want to play your song for all our new listeners. Brilliant.

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Yes, I did get it – thanks again – and have replied.

But that track?

Ha!

I can’t believe you’ve stuck it back in my heid. Took about a week to get rid of it last time!

‘Aye aye aye aye aye aye aye aye aye should’ve known better!’

Of course, part of the reason it’s memorable is because it’s one of the ‘vile, abusive’ messages that helped to wreck VoteNoBorders on the evening of their launch, right?

If I remember correctly, you were also involved in that despicable attack, as was a certain Ms Paula Rose, and others from this parish…happy days man, happy days.

Michael McCabe

Its a new day and I am Feeling Good. link to youtube.com Another Day closer To Freedom. Vote Yes

Patrician

@Oneironaut, 2:51pm

If you don’t mind I am going to steal some of your photos.

Thepnr

This is true Ian.

I was an evil cybernat involved in that particular attack. I offered this.

ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood. Can you get yourself to Glega, we’ll take it from there, Wingers fly on the seat of they,re erses,so make sure your’s is in Glega see You Frid as early as possible.

ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood. Can you get yourself to Glega, we’ll take it from there, Wingers fly on the seat of they,re erses,so make sure your’s is in Glega see You Frid as early as possible,post up time of when you will be there.

Tam Jardine

Ian Brotherhood

Never mind – sure there is scope for another Glasgow night in August. Plus BBC 4, 5 and 6

Have a great day!

Tam Jardine

…and mibbe BBC 3 first off

X_Sticks

@Ian

Sounds like you might make it to Embra if you can get yourself to Ronnie’s. You’ll no be short of a pint if you can make it. Hope you do. 😀

Alexandra-M-

Was great seeing a few of you at Pacific Quay on Sunday!
I’m looking for the details of the meet in Edinburgh, have been scrolling up and down but can’t seem To pin point the details.

Can I be a pest and ask for someone to post the info?

Thanks xx

gerry parker

Basement, The Newsroom, Leith Walk. 7:30.

Oneironaut

@Alexandra-M
Ahhh, I thought that was you I recognised at Pacific Quay 😀
Wasn’t 100% sure since I’ve only met you once in Glasgow and that night was a bit crazy, hehe.

Couldn’t go after you and ask since I had a pole at one end of a banner wedged in my pocket at the time!

@Patrician
Help yourself 🙂
Did you manage to access them ok?
I had someone else I sent that link to telling me the file host tried to force them to pay for membership before it would let them download the pics.
If that happens to anyone, let me know, ‘cos I’ll be sending a very angry E-mail to Filedropper and never using them again if they’re trying to scam random people.

Hard to find a good file hosting site who isn’t up to something crooked these days…

gerry parker

Still hoping to be on a train from Sunnyside around 6:30 but haven’t fully checked the times yet.

X_Sticks

@Alexandra-M

Aww, sorry I missed you at bbc, along with Chic and quite a few others it seems. (Reminder to self: switch brain on while out and about)

Hopefully see you at the Newsroom 😀

Alexandra-M-

Thanks Gerry, that’s great.

Ah Oneironaut, shame we didn’t get a chance to say hello. Hopefully will get a chance in Edinburgh!

X_Sticks

@Oneironaut

Good meeting you at bbc Oneironaut.

I don’t get the photos when I try that link, just get their join up page 🙁

Alexandra-M-

I didn’t know you were there Sticks, I didn’t even catch a glimpse of your hat!

Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie et al,

So sorry I can’t make it mister – Thepnr has all the gory details, and they’re true.

On the subject of ‘excuses’, Richie Venton told me a cracker a few years ago. He was in Liverpool at the time (this would be early nineties, poll-tax time) and used to get all sorts of excuses from folk at the last minute for not turning up at meetings, demos etc. This one guy in particular was always crying off with implausible scenarios, so Richie tried to pin him down for an important demo some weeks ahead. ‘I can’t do it,’ said the man ‘I’m going to be ill in August.’ ??!!

Richie later heard that the guy was indeed unavailable for the demo, but not because he was ‘ill’ – he’d been knocked down by a combine harvester.

Bob Sinclair

Ian, are you sure you can’t make it to Glasgow, because ronnie has a very good point there.

X_Sticks

@Ian Brotherhood

“he’d been knocked down by a combine harvester.”

Reaping what you sow?

X_Sticks

@Alexandra

Yes, I was there with hat.

You can catch me and Cactus hiding behind Ian Brotherhood beside the Wings banner while he gave an excellent interview at the end of the video:

Ian Brotherhood

@Bob Sinclair –

Seriously man, it’s a no-go for me. Bummer, but so it goes. I’ll hold the fort here in O/T while you’re all having a knees-up, and make sure there’s some decent tunes waiting here for when youse get in.

Vronsky

Man who was going to be ill in August.

Some years ago I had an unusual IT problem: the wages system seemed to be predicting the future. The attendance file would show people off sick *next* week, and then turn out to be right. My boss told me to fix it before it forecast somebody’s death, or his secretary getting pregnant.

Tartan Tory

Hello Folks! Regarding the Edinburgh event on Friday, I have a question or two for those involved….

Firstly, is a ‘Tartan Tory’ going to be welcome at this gathering, or will he be consigned to a quiet corner on his own where he will be expected to drink Pims with a pinkie finger in the air?

Secondly, is there anyone who is desperate to attend this event from the Aberdeen/Angus area, but is struggling with funds or transport to do so? Aside from myself and my chauffeur, there may be room in the Bentley for one or two who need to find their way there and back again. 😉

Having only just found out about this soiree, I’m not 100% sure that I can actually attend, so I don’t want to get anyone’s hopes up about a lift. My PA has gone home for the evening and I’m completely lost without her! I may have a few board-meetings to attend to otherwise, but since the Grouse shooting doesn’t start until August, I may just be able to make it. I’m certainly quite keen but don’t want to be ‘out of place’. 😉

Any thoughts?? 🙂

Oneironaut

@Alexandra-M
Wish I could see you in Edinburgh, but it’s way out of my travel range at the moment. Train fares are more than I can afford right now.

@X-Sticks
Sorry about that. Going to E-mail them and tell them to shut that link down (along with a few choice words about what I think of their business practices!)

Anyone know a good file host that doesn’t try to scam people looking to download stuff?

Paula Rose

@ Tartan Tory – darling! Please come, I promise not to hog you to myself the whole evening xxx Ps Pimms? Yes please!

Thepnr

@Tartan Tory

Hey welcome! I’ve always wanted to meet a real tory. I thought they didn’t really exist. I do so hope you make it along. Mind leave the wellies and deerstalker hat at home 🙂

ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood. Ian lots of us will be disappointed, Im now mobile please reconsider get to Glasgow I,ll pick you up from there, I have a spare room ,if you agree going to the SSP shindig in Edinburgh on the Sat you can leave from here over 55s £20 return anywhere in Scotland thats covered so is everything else.Dont disappoint US Your a valued member of Wings & after Suday you have to be there.

Paula Rose

Otherwise you’ll rival Thepnr for country chic.

Ian Brotherhood

Sorry Ronnie, no can do mister. Dugs need looking after, the hall’s not even half-painted and we’ve got a street stall in Irvine on Saturday.

I’ll keep my powder dry for the next one…on the subject of which, we need to get oor heids together after Friday about another Glasgow night. If there’s general agreement that the CH is no longer suitable then we must pinpoint somewhere else. (Cactus made an interesting suggestion on Sunday, but it’s Glasgow West-end and adds another taxi/bus journey for those coming into Central.)

ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood, Ok Ian you know your own priorities,but you’ll be sorely missed, mind log in on livestream. I think I know where Cactus has his eye on just before the Kelvin Hall a Gailic pub.

Paula Rose

Ian Darling – how can I live? If only I’d known…

ronnie anderson

[Gaelic] remember EDIT IDIOT canny take me anywhere whit a embarrasment.

Ian Brotherhood

This is too O/T for the ongoing threads, but if you’re tired of hearing all that stuff about food banks and famished Mums tearing open tins of beans (‘Isn’t it ghastly?’ ‘It’s simply too beastly darling!’) escape for a minute or two into the wonderful world of Tatler magazine, with a ‘Burns Night’ special guaranteed to warm the cockles of your proverbials!

link to tatler.com

Paula Rose

Ian, never mind I’ll have Tartan Tory when Thepnr gets distracted by younger women – Hi TJenny!

Conan_the_Librarian

@ Ian Brotherhood

Hi Ian, sorry we won’t see you Friday, but as you are a member of the SSP I was wondering if you knew whatever happened to my old mate Gregor?

Conan_the_Librarian

@ Paula Rose

Will you be bringing doughnuts?

Paula Rose

Conan dear – not getting your drift, please elucidate (I’m not up to speed on mind transference – Hi Lesley-Anne).

Conan_the_Librarian

@ Paula Rose

You mentioned swifts mate on the wing; I suggested throwing doughnuts at them…

Notice I didn’t mention swallows.

Paula Rose

@ Conan – honey! giggle, I’d forgotten! Sorry love – NO we will not be flinging good food at wings over Scotland xx

Ian Brotherhood

@Conan the Librarian –

‘Gregor’?

I may need a toty bit more information for that one. As things stand, I know no-one with that handle, be they SSP members or otherwise. Sorry.

(I’m turning out to be an all-round disappointment here, eh?)

PS Paula – thanks for the Mariah vid. That lass can belt them out.

Conan_the_Librarian

@ Ian

AKA Prof Gregor Gall, last seen [by me] doing a Guardian column…

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

This may provide some solace. It’s a radical reworking of Tyler’s original which was entitled ‘I Need A Capstan Full Strength’:

Bonnie Tyler, ‘I Need A Hero’ –

Ian Brotherhood

@Conan the Librarian –

Aha!

I have heard the man mentioned, but have never met him, and am not familiar with his work, but I’m off now to Google…cheers.

Paula Rose

Ian dear – you really know how to spoil a girl xx

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

See you next time friend. You will be sorely missed, but needs must and taking care of your own always comes first. We will just have to wait for the next time to hear your words of wisdom.

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Friday will be the most important WOS social thus far, if for no other reason than it’s in the capital. I wouldn’t be surprised if you get a lot of curious WOS ‘lurkers’ popping in. And if they ‘pop-in’? They’ll stay.

It would also be nice if any genuine ‘journalists’ took their lives in their hands by venturing into a den of real Cybernats, and made some effort to talk to them. I was gutted that no-one from the SH made it along to CH2 in Glasgow.

Eventually, these gigs will become so big that they cannot be ignored – by the MSM? Aye. But ordinary citizens? Nah – they’ll click something’s afoot, and be on it like a shot.

Paula Rose

Ooh Ian honey do we have lurkers! gosh come one come all and share a pimms! (usual wingies drink crap lager, be nice to have some sophistication).

Tam Jardine

Ian Brotherhood

Would love to meet a real live journalist at Friday’s congress… I’m thinking Kate Adie and John Simpson might turn up in full flack jaikets and helmets. would love to see David Torrance just to get a neutral perspective on the debate.

I get the impression numbers could be high. Capacity is 120 with more space upstairs. Will try and get an accurate count without multiplying by a factor of 15.

Will punt it on the main threads again soon. Just one thought for Glasgow – is their scope for combining the event with BBC 3? On the Saturday night for instance?

Ian Brotherhood

If the Friday night venue allows music, please consider this as a candidate for unauthorised WOS Social Night Anthem status – the incomparable Hoff, making good use of old Star Trek sets, and effortlessly seguing from stunt-car mania to soft-porn, then back again. Superb.

David Hasselhoff, ‘Looking For Freedom’ –

Paula Rose

Tam dear – will there be room for my floor show…

Ian Brotherhood

@Tam Jardine –

That’s an interesting suggestion there mister…I’m not too familiar with the area around PQ, although it seems fairly solid BTUKOK territory, pubs-wise at any rate.

But what potential venues on t’other side of that footbridge?

Hmmm…one to ponder indeed.

Tam Jardine

Ian Brotherhood

The venue just needs someone with an ipod but I have not the hardware or the music or the time to sort it. Thepnr is going to bring some tunes i think but I am not sure if it needs it. Anyone who wants to put something together – feel free.

I loved your idea of a more music/performance based night touted some time ago – maybe one for the run in in early September or late August?

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

But what potential venues on t’other side of that footbridge?

That takes me right back to the first meeting you had in the Horseshoe bar. I’m sure with a wee bit of research we could beam the giant Wings logo straight onto PQ from across the river while we sit and sup a pint.

Imagination is a wonderful thing.

Paula Rose

Cactus plus guitar – sorted, the rest of us crooning gently, Tam dear stop stressing. We are winging our way – but if you have tatty namey sticky stuff instead of diamonte brooches – heaven help you.

Thepnr

@Tam Jardine

My vision, a Marquee, open air do with sounds blaring. Late August ideal. Must look into that!

Paula Rose

Also Tam love – if you have to resort to sticky labels- get a decent calligrapher.

Bob Sinclair

Ok guys – playlist reqs please – i’ll get them onto an ipod nano via Spotify (ways & means?)if humanly possible but will need a bit of time to do it so need a list quickly.

Ian Brotherhood

@Tam/Thepnr/Paula –

Loving this.

These things just seem to take form all by themselves…it’s almost ‘natural’, like watching time-lapse footage of a snowflake forming, a spider hauling a wasp into its parlour, or Alistair Darling making an arse of himself…strangely fascinating and beautiful.

Tam Jardine

Paula Rose

Plenty room…. think there may even be one of those red light bulbs to set the mood. Just don’t expect a rider in the dressing room – I ken its the capital and aw metropolitanic an that but I canny stretch to charlie on my wages.

crazycat

Re Friday night – I am planning to come across and stay with friends who may or may not also come to the Newsroom – one of them has colleagues who have also expressed an interest.

I assume it’s ok if I bring them?

Thepnr

@crazycat

There are no exclusions, all are welcome. Gotta a funny feeling though this is going to be one busy and full night. As Tam says, the spill over could always have a pint upstairs.

Hard to fit 200 people into a room for 120! Lets just make sure everyone knows the exits. Sensible.

Thepnr

Bob/rab

Is posting all the music links to youtube videos good enough? If so expect a big list fairly soon.

Tam Jardine

crazycat

All welcome. All the better if they are undecided – will be mingling with some very persuasive characters.

It will also be amazing for them to witness the vile cybernat myth being destroyed seconds after arrival – am sure it will change perceptions completey.

Maybe if a critical mass of Wingers converge we may even see a spontaneous technological advance. Who knows what will happen!
See you there

Conan_the_Librarian

First gig like that I was at was in the seventies; a marquee in the middle of nowhere, a bonfire made of railway sleepers, crates of McEwan’s Export, a witches cauldron of chilli cum stovies and Silly Wizard, Five Hand Reel and the JSD Band on the generator powered sound system…

…youth is wasted on the young…

Bob Sinclair

Easier if u give me thw track names so i can do it quick.

Bob Sinclair

That being said, it would be awesome if Mr Gaughan came along for a few pints and songs. I’d happily supply the beers.

crazycat

@ Tam Jardine

Thanks – they’re not undecided, but they may know people who are. See you there, plus or minus my extras!

Thepnr

Hey Conan what are all these old gadgies like? Funny this revolution being led by the over 50’s LOL.

Just kidding, I think the youngsters will be along soon. They always leave it to the last minute.

Paula Rose

Over 50 moi – how very dare you!

Patrician

@Oneironaut

I downloaded your photos with no issue. The download link is halfway down the page and not very obvious, it is just below the 2 links.

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Think that’s bad? Ronnie Anderson was suggesting that I make use of an Over-55s Railcard.

I mean, FFS, eh?

Clearly, my long-established defoliation/moisturising regime has failed…

Bob Sinclair

Thepnr, over 50, how very dare you, I,ve got 8 months more till I reach the age of revolutionary maturity.

Ian Brotherhood

Well, stripping the hedges and trees of all leaves has also been part of my regime, along with regular exfoliation…

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

You’ve got yourself in bother now mister…

Paula Rose

Ian dear – Ronnie was respecting your wisdom, we all know you are only 35 – but we won’t let on – after all honey, there is no way you are as old as us.

Paula Rose

And if you are in any doubt Ian dear – I’ll come and rub your delicate parts.

Thepnr

Hay Ian

I said the over 50’s were LEADING. The youngsters that are complaining are just following. LOL

Ian Brotherhood

Apropos of nothing in particular I just looked up ‘old cow’, searched ‘Images’, and found this.

Make of it what you will:

link to boards.cannabis.com

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

If you come anywhere near my delicate parts I shall summon an officer to take down your particulars.

Cactus

@ ian brotherhood & ronnie anderson ~ Aye, for Glasgow’s next gig I was thinking about the Òran Mór in the west-end (situated at the junction of Byres Road & Great Western Road).

It’s got several large bars, there’s plenty space inside and sporadic live folk music is a regular occurrence! From the inside, it would appear they promote themselves as a Scottish bar 🙂 is also placed right beside Glasgow’s Botanic Gardens.. if anyone cares for a summer evenings stroll.

@ Paula Rose ~ Yeah, I’m gonna get an early train over to our capital city on Friday and go walkaboutabit.. Heads up Edinburgh, there’s a Glaswegian foreigner a coming into town hehe.. maybe the bar has a house guitar!

As the ‘foreigner’ subject keeps coming up, here’s another track by them:

Back Where You Belong

Paula Rose

Ian honey – young man let us share delicacies xxx

Paula Rose

Cactus doll – not to loud love.

Paula Rose

And if I get any grammar pedants…

Thepnr

Hay when I meant Hey.

Ian I laughed at your picture, my daughter worked for Sheila Laxon as a work rider in Australia. Sheila was the fist ever female trainer to win the Melbourne Cup and a Brit(Welsh)at that, it wasn’t a popular result.

Anyway, one day this young colt in the yard tried to mount my daughter! Right in front of Sheila too. Next day it had no balls, ouch, they are cut off with a massive pair of snips.

As I said ouch.

Ian Brotherhood

This guy deserves to make it onto any playlist:

Darius, ‘Hit Me Baby One More Time’ –

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

‘Ouch’ indeed.

If only they could talk…

Ian Brotherhood

This might be worth a wee spin on Friday:

Dean Park, ‘Andrew Lloyd Webber, A Tribute’ –

Thepnr

THIS IS OUR LAST CHANCE

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Last chance?

Indeed. The propaganda war will settle it. Here’s a wee reminder of what’s possible.

This isn’t just a music video – it’s as ‘real’ as anything Banksy’s ever done. If you’ve done any ‘stickering’ lately, you’ll know that it’s happening right now, and some of the stickers going over the ‘Yes’ ones are from people who’re well-organised, and well-scary.

Best get to it people – we’re in the end-game now…

Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
“It would also be nice if any genuine ‘journalists’ took their lives in their hands by venturing into a den of real Cybernats, and made some effort to talk to them.”

Maybe that guy who was interviewing you at the PQ demo?
Liked the video from that 🙂

@Patrician
Yeah, I’m not sure if they’re taking random visitors who try to download the pics and redirecting them to a sign-up page with a “payment portal” before it’ll let them actually download anything.
I know some file hosters who pull that trick, and I’d hoped I’d managed to avoid them…

Glad you got them at least.
Need to see if I can set up something on Google Drive. As much as I hate the idea of trusting any of my files with Google! hehe.

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Naw I don’t think so. All of this country belongs to us. Well it will when we take it back.

Thepnr

Just for one day, the 18th.

Michael McCabe

Just Because I like it.www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ds1faZB4QSc&feature=player_detailpage Vote Yes

Michael McCabe

link to youtube.com Hope I got it right this time.

Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe —

!!

First time I’ve ever seen that dude.

Brilliant. Cheers.

Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Your smart as fuck. Great tune. Bob get that on the playlist.

I just love this website. Nutter!

Michael McCabe

Here is one I love and it was her TV debut. All the way from ST. Andrews. link to youtube.com And I hope She is Voting Yes

Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Bloody hell, what a performance. Right don’t do that again or I’ll be sacked! This Indy business is not good for your health. I can put up with the pain in the short term.

Knowing that the long term goal is good. Just stop playing they great videos, save them till September. 🙂

Patrician

@Oneironaut

Your link takes people to a landing page for filedropper.com, this is normal for file sharing sites. The first links you usually see at file sharing sites are for sign up to the site and usually some adverts for dodgy virus checkers, PC speedtests and the like. I have years of practice in picking through these file sharing sites getting to the correct download link.

LizM

If anyone wants a lift in an old beat up 4×4 and doesn’t mind the slight aroma of eau de chevaux or being covered in hair I can take up to four passengers to WOS night 3.

LizM

Forgot to mention in last post, I’m based in Numb&Cauld 🙂

LizM

Has anyone else been in my town centre? One of the empty units is now completely plastered with No Thanks etc, are they getting this free, reduced rates or is somebody paying the extortionate rent for it and letting them use it? Anyone know anything?

Liquid Lenny

Chic McGregor

At least you were singing, I wuz greeting (and I got caught 🙂 – something ye canna deny when the evidence is rolling down your cheeks)

Everybody enjoy the Edinburgh Gig, sorry wont be able to make it, nor will I make BBC3 which is a bummer as I thought BBC2 was probably the best protest I have ever been at, mainly due to how it all came together on the day. No grand plan,no stewards, just people with a cause.

heraldnomore

Brilliant new ad from the wee ginger fizzy stuff

Flower of Scotald

Hi everyone, I’m coming on Fri with my son and maybe one other. Looking forward to meeting you all!

gerry parker

@Alexandra-M
@Ronnie

Sorry, won’t be able to make it tomorrow night due to looking after the grandchildren till late.
I’d like to get that bottle to Tam Jardine for the raffle though, can either pop up to Ronnie’s with it, or meet Alex-M at Sunnyside to pass it over.

Paula Rose
Paula Rose

Nope wrong link – ignore above post.

Thistle

Hi All

I can’t do live stream for WoS Edinburgh, but if somebody got an iPad I can help one of you do it for yourself. It’s easy, just send me an email liveindependence@gmail.com

Ok some news, we were at Greater Maryhill Foodbank today filming Mark Coburn (IndyCyclist) and Julie Webster (GMF) who you may remember from a recent Evening Times article.

Mark is doing another bike ride around Scotland, 500 miles in 5 days and doing some more crowd funding. Any extra he makes will be going to to GMF.

Anyway the video from today should be up soon on our youtube channel.

Thepnr

@gerry parker, Paula Rose, Docfin and Silvertay.

I’ve had email today that confirms we have the Wings stall for 9/10th August in Arbroath. Also received around 1000 or so Wings leaflets from the Rev.

Are you still up for helping to man the stall? I need more volunteers. If anyone needs a room a room I have 3 spare, want as much help as I can get.

I need advice gerry/ronnie/silvertay/Docfin/Paula this must be a success.

chipmonkey

@ Thepnr Docfin and I definitely OK for Arbroath. Just arrived in Cambridge.

The Turkish taxi driver heard our accents and hoped we’d be voting yes. He can’t believe people can think no. Rounded the price down and wouldn’t accept a tip. Says he has degree in economics and we’ve been robbed for years. So only some more Scots to convince now.

chipmonkey

@Paula. The nice taxi driver (see above
)settled for a hug instead of a tip. Are you proud of me keeping the side up?

Thepnr

@chipmonkey

Great news, aren’t people without an axe to grind in this campaign just great. Well done for giving the man a hug.

I’m proud of you!

Paula Rose

Thepnr – darling you know you can count on me – oh gosh that’s a wee bit suggestive!!!

Patrician

@Thepnr

I was speaking to ronnie an hour or so ago, looks like we will be coming up to Arbroath, glad to help out too. I hope the west coast accents won’t put anyone off 😉

Hints for stall, get lots of printed materials, not only wings but from other groups. Also, badges (a quick ronnie impersonation for those who haven’t heard it yet “badges, badges, badges”), hamish posters, stickers, balloons (the blow-up type). And, most importantly some female wingers to help on the stall.

Thepnr

Arggh Patrician

Apologies for missing you off the list. I’ve got about 1500 Aye Right A5 leaflets, and 1000 Greenparty. I can get my hands on another 1000 or 2 LFI ones I hope. Are you reading Alan?

I will email the Rev about car stickers, posters and badges, can any of you guys bring some geberal Yes stuff/

Thanks again for jumping right in there. We have to be up for it. I’m sure the opposition is.

Chipmonkey

@ Thepnr We could liase with Kirrie to get some more material and order some Hamish posters. Let us know if you want us to do anything.

Tam Jardine

Gerry Parker

Sorry you cannae make it Gerry- hopefully it will be a cracking night and a guid turnout.

Look forward to seeing as many as possible the morn’s night. Have run out of steam plugging it – I reckon if you are not planning on going by now yer just no going.

Have been wading through awful twitter feeds the night feeling depressed at how visceral some folk are about Scotland, our people, our famous sons, my party and the Yes campaign in particular.

I need to forget all that shite and get some of that Yes positivity. One positive Yes conversation is worth more than all the negative unionist or anti Yes doggerrell on twitter. Unless it pushes others to a Yes of course!

Tired – abientot

Thepnr

Don’t sweat it Tam, we’re all tired but your doing a grand job. Not much longer to go. Tonight will be great.

Thepnr

OK I promise, this is the last Red Dwarf clip. Listen carefully for Rimmer telling us “We’ll be Independent”

Michael McCabe

Another Day nearer. link to youtube.com Vote Yes.

Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

I nominate you as the official DJ for an Independent Scotland. Cheers.

gerry parker

@Thepnr.
I’m planning to be up there for the first day of Seafest to give support physical, mental and emotional. Trying to get my brother and some others to come down frae Stonehaven to make it a family day for us but will be available to help on stall etc.

Won’t manage the 2 days but I think Ronnie, Patrician and Silvertay have plans to go up too.

Don’t worry about it being a success, it will be.

gerry parker

Tam, chin up, an evening with Wingers will raise yer spirits.
I’ll give the bottle of champaign for the lottery to Ronnie, I hope everything goes well.
Remember and sign the banner. If it gets full, we’ll order up another 2 for future events, there’s the BBC protest coming up, and thepnr’s stall at Seafest.

Tam Jardine

Gerry Parker

Thanks – all good amigo

Silverytay

Thepnr
I am still up for helping out at Seafest on the Sunday , unfortunately I can’t do the two days as I spend Saturday,s up in Perth taking my elderly in-laws shopping .

If Seafest is anything like YES in the Park the public will be looking out for you , I spent most of the day trying to convert undecideds and the rest of the day giving out my own badges and posters as we had run out of them .

As I stated in a previous post, with Arbroath being mainly a fishing and agricultural area it might be a good idea to have plenty of flyers showing how westminster has repeatedly ripped off the Scottish fishermen and farmers for their own ends .

Tartan Tory

@Thepnr

Can I help with the Seafest stall in a personal or even financial way? I have connections in Arbroath as my uncle was the minister at St.Andrews kirk for many years! He was buried in his kilt clutching a letter from Andrew Welsh….!

Perhaps we will speak later this evening. Despite all the talk of a bus from Angus and the associated problems, I’ve had no take-up of my offer of a lift in the Bentley. Perhaps I’ll have to bring some more modest machinery and give the chauffeur the night off.. 😉

ronnie anderson

@ Silvertay, I,, running up to Emburgh in my own car, do you want to travel up with me, anyone else intending to go Ican take 4 people, post up I will check posts about 3 pm.

Silverytay

Ronnie
Unfortunately I wont make the gig in Edinburgh tonight , hope to make the next one in Glasgow
Thanks for the offer
Mike McCabe not The Michael McCabe that posts on wings with all the great music .

Thepnr

Gerry, Silvertay and Tartan Tory thanks for offers of help. I’ll try and find some good articles on agriculture and fishing and see if I can get some leaflets made. Ta for the reminder.

Thepnr

Independence Live will be covering tonight shindig, see you all soon.

Thistle

Looking forward to Edinburgh Tonight – WoS4 Live Stream is on!

Will put up events soon on website and live stream channel.

Thistle

Update on Wos4.

I will not have my mobile gizmo for doing live stream as needed else where so will be risking the free bar Wi-Fi.

For backup, if anybody is willing and have a mobile phone or similar that can provide an internet hot spot for my iPad please bring along.

Bob Sinclair

Ive got the lappy set up with Spotify – hope theres somewhere to plug it in.

gerry parker

@ Thistle, can’t make it along but will log in and watch.

Thistle

If you can’t make tonight, watch the live stream…
link to new.livestream.com

Nana Smith

@TJenny

Jock has been in touch. He’s working on the first part of song. Said he’d hoped to see us at the Wings do tonight but sadly we can’t make it down.

Tam Jardine

Thistle

I’m sure it will be fine – we’ll just wing it (gets coat and runs away, ashamed)

Thistle

Could be we get kicked out of pub and I would still like to live stream, also would be nice to do a short walkabout outside. PLEASE, if you have a mobile or other device that can give me an internet signal for iPad then please bring along!

I would love other people to start live streaming so lets chat at event if you interested.

ronnie anderson

Anybodys wanting a lift to Emburgh from Aidrie area post up,

leaving Airdrie 6.30 pm.

ronnie anderson

@Thepnr, I picked up 1800 Aye Right leaflets from Gavin Lessells today, so theres plenty for Seafest.

fluffnik

I’m not going to make it in person, will give the livestream a go… 🙂

Taranaich

After seeing George inciting sectarian hatred in Coatbridge, and reading Wee Ginger Dug’s scathing response to Tom Browne, I had to do my own response.

link to wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com

Silverytay

I hope you all have a great night out in Edinburgh , Ronnie mind and don’t flirt with the Girls to much .

Looking forward to seeing you all enjoying your selfs on livestream .

Ian Brotherhood

Have a good yin a’body!

The Pretenders, ‘Kid’ –

Ian Brotherhood

Sparks, ‘This Town Ain’t Big Enough For Both Of Us’ –

gerry parker

Maybe it’s because we’ve been looking after the grandchildren (2 of them) all week, maybe it’s just that I’m getting old, but here’s Louden Wainright III

Nana Smith

Joe Bonnamassa & John Hiatt. Superb

Ian Brotherhood

Un-PC in several ways, but a belter all the same:

Mungo Jerry, ‘In The Summertime’ –

Ian Brotherhood

Wild Cherry, ‘Play That Funky Music’ –

gerry parker

Good one Ian, I was in Digs in Embra at the time, Herriott Watt University.

AN ardent “Stones” fan, but I always liked Melanie’s rendering of Ruby Tuesday.

gerry parker

Mungo Jerry one that is.

Ian Brotherhood

House of Pain, ‘Jump Around’ –

Nana Smith

Here’s one for Dave, Milliband and the rest of the gang

Nana Smith

Ah John Fogerty. He’s getting on in years just like myself.

Nana Smith

Might as well have some Creedence.

gerry parker

For any of our American friends, hope you have a great day today.

It will be our turn soon.

Ian Brotherhood

And one for all the O/O chaps and chapettes who’ll be congregating at Glasgow Green this week-end:

The Waterboys, ‘Don’t Bang The Drum’ –

Debbiethebruce

Just back from wings night,early to bed as going away on holiday tomorrow,great to meet you all in person finally!

Thanks to Tam and Ronnie and all the nice folk me and hubby met,hopefully see you again soon!

Ian Brotherhood

@Taranaich (5.45) –

A brave and brilliant post mister. Respect.

I had avoided watching GG’s performance, but thought I’d better do seeing as you linked to it. The man is playing with fire, and there’s no need for it.

SSP Ayrshire were supposed to be having a street stall in Irvine tomorrow, but, after discussions earlier, we cancelled it. As you’ll know, the big O/O parade will be in Glasgow, but a lot of the participants are resident here in Ayrshire, or will be making there way over from NI for the highlight of their year. Given what’s been happening in Stormont, and the news that Scottish Police are on stand-by to head over to Belfast for the expected unrest, we felt there was no sensible option. The older ones among us are quite prepared to stand our ground, but some younger members and supporters aren’t au fait with the intricacies and don’t deserve to be placed in potential danger.

Sadly, that’s what it’s come to. And we’ve still got ten weeks to go…

Ian Brotherhood

Too all you Edinburgher buddies –

Feel good?

Any idea how it’ll feel in the morning?

Am I jealous?

Not much (razzin frazzin…)

AC/DC, ‘Highway To Hell’ –

Ian Brotherhood

We’ve not seen this lad, or Pan’s People, for a while.

Randy Vanwarmer, ‘Just When I Needed You Most’.

Ian Brotherhood

Too early for this?

Nat King Cole, ‘The Party’s Over’ –

…or too late for this?

The Associates, ‘Party Fears Two’ –

FFS people, let us know what happened!

Flower of Scotland

It was a great night in Edinburgh! My first Wings night! and my son came too. I was so excited to meet all the friends from Wings. Hope that I can manage the next one!

A lovely lady called Carol gave me a Wings alert reader badge, so proudly wearing my YES and now my Wings badge too!

Ian Brotherhood

For all those who made it to the Newsroom, on the way back, asleep, pished, whatever –

Love ye’s all.

Moby, ‘Porcelain’ (live) –

Thepnr

Yes it was another good night, but as you probably know the Newsroom was only available until 10:30pm so after many of us us wandered down the raod to the Black Bull which is bit of a bikers pub.

While outside for a smoke I heard 3 guys I take to be regulars talking, well one mainly. He said something like this “It’s great that the Yes campaign is coming in our pub, I doubt the other lot would. These are just ordinary folk and I’m happy their here.”

I just smiled.

By the way, a mini do was organised for after, I got stranded as they left before I came out. Paula Rose if you read this mind and get back here before 10am tomorrow!

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

I take it you’re safe and sound?

No doubt the bold Paula is whirling herself around a pole even as I write, and I dare say she’s making a fine job of it too.

Looking forward to hearing all the details about how it went tonight.

Safe trip home tomorrow mister!

Nicht-nicht.

Thepnr

Cheers Ian

Safe and sound, off to bed. Trip to the borders tomorrow before going home, surprise visit for a friend of ours on Wings.

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Aha!

Say no more…

Ian Brotherhood

A wee lullaby for all the sleepy Wingers:

Matt McGinn, ‘Coorie Doon’ –

Conan_the_Librarian

Met the legendary Paula Rose tonight; wow, brilliant.

Thanks to Ronnie for the lift, and almost everybody for the drinks…

James Sneddon

Had a great time last night but regrettably I had to leave at 9 because of not feeling too well (side effect of stroke these early nights not any sense of Calvinistic work ethic 🙂 ) but great music and fantastic to be in room full of like minded folks and I got to sign banner! 🙂

Patrician

@thepnr

The package with the metal wings was put in ronnies car last night. Can you phone him, he is planning to visit Dundee in the next couple of days and he will drop it off. It was put in his car as we were ensuring nothing was left in the pub when the stewards were asking us to leave at 10:30.

TJenny

Good morning all. It seems safe to say that we had another successful WOS outing last night, meeting, not only the weel kent faces, but lots of lovely readers who hadn’t been at the other WOS nights. (and readers’ lovely sons too and X-Sticks beautiful daughter).

As Thepnr says above, a few folk, X-Sticks, Cactus, Cameron B, Quinie frae Angus and the ever adorable, Paula Rose, all ended up back at my wee house, where the partying continued into the wee sma’ hours.

Everyone now on their onward journeys and I’m lazing here with copious quantities of tea, and still basking in the joy of massed Wingers from last night.

Thepnr, so sorry we lost you, but as you’re driving today, you probably needed the extra sleep. We were up until @ 5! Happy, happy days (or should that be daze? 🙂

Right, so where’s the next WOS night going to be folks?

Patrician

@ Tam Jardine, thanks for organising last night, a good job well done.

The raffle money was split 3 ways, with 1/3 to Tam to help pay for the hire of the venue, 1/3 to Jock Scot (Yew Choob) and 1/3 for thistle (live stream). Thistle if you reply to me I will arrange to get the money to you.

TJenny

Patrician – do you know how much money was raised by the raffle?

gerry parker

Well done Tam, sorry I couldn’t have been there. I spoke to Ronnie this morning and he was telling me how well it went, from what TJenny posted above there were a lot of spin offs too. A pebble in a pond produces a lot of ripples you don’t see right away.

Thepnr, give me a phone sometime if you need to talk about Seafest or anything else. The local team down here will be getting together soon to plan the BBC demo presence and go over what we can provide for Seafest.

Tam Jardine

Patrician and Gerry Parker

Thanks- it was a great night. Strange venue, a bit of a dungeon but once the place filled up it was a really nice atmosphere. I met so many lovely folk… there’s something about Yes supporters- the positivity and humour- that makes you warm to total strangers instantly.

Plenty Wings old guard but also loads of people who visit the site and don’t post. Moving on to the Black Bull after we were kicked out was guid… Pivo later on a little hazy. I canny stay that late in the tavern- currently working off a hangover.

Shame about the media blackout but there was all kinds of technical shenannigans going on to circumvent the lack of wifi downstairs. Hope Thistle got some footage he can use.

Ronnie and Mrs King- thanks for all your efforts. Thank God you are working on our side!

Thepnr

Loved your post above. Must have been a strange site for all the ordinary pub goers when the cybernat army arrived, all with name stickers and covered in Yes badges!

Glad they were pleased to see us. Can you imagine the other lot descending en masse to the Black Bull at 11 on a Friday night? First thing they would do is take their wee U KOK badges off! Ashamed… and with good reason

Brian Doonthetoon

‘Twas a good night last night at The Newsroom.
Fine to meet up with peeps from The Ferry and The Counting Hose (WOS2&3) and new faces, like Tartan Tory.

We left for Dundee at the end of The Newsroom party and met up with TT outside – he had parked his chariot near to Pete the Camera’s car.

Coincidentally, when we stopped for a ‘comfort break’ at Kinross Services, we met up with TT again. An elongated blether ensued, as TT and Pete discovered they had both been involved in similar business ventures over the years.

Re another get-together: I had a blether with Thepnr before we left The Newsroom and put a suggestion to him for another Dundee gig, in a very appropriate location. I won’t type too much as Thepnr is going to look into it – and he is our ‘Dundee & Angus’ leader, iye?

Lastly, I mentioned this video while Paula Rose was having a blether about accents with our wee group in the corner.

Here’s the link for it:-

I must say her Glasgow accent is appalling – more like the media’s impression of a Glasgow accent. And – Ya Boy! Shih had nihin’ fae Fife, ya hoormin! Nur nethin’ frae Aiberdeen…

Tartan Tory

Well it was good to put a few faces to names last night and I certainly enjoyed the evening. Having traveled in excess of a hundred miles in the rain to get there, it was good to see the clear blue summer night sky at 11.30 when I left. Unfortunately, the torrential rain returned beyond Dundee in the ‘wee sma oours’ until I arrived at Tartan Towers circa 1.30am. 😉

Perhaps it’s just my age, but I find it difficult enough to remember names with faces, never mind the handles that go with them too.

It was great to meet Paula Rose and I have to admit, she exceeded my expectations in so many ways. Pity I must have missed her much promised sexy floor-show though.

Thanks to Conan, x-wings, quinie frae Angus, thepnr, Cameron Brodie, Scottish Skiers mum & dad, wingman2000, TJenny, x-sticks, Ronnie and a few others whose names I’ve no doubt forgotten.

I started the evening at the newsroom chatting with an attractive, young, well educated blonde girl whose name escapes me and I ended the evening with three middle-aged Dundee gents in a Motorway services car park after Midnight! In my youth, it used to be so much the other way around. Ho Hum!

See you at Seafest. 🙂

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi TT.

My son, Chris, says, “Thanks very much for making me feel old – I’m 22!”

8=)

Quinie frae Angus

Well, that’s me just home from the night out! Wandered back to Waverley Station this morning with Cactus after a most excellent evening and wee shindig at TJenny’s.

Thanks TJenny, Tam Jardine, Thpnr, John King’s long-suffering wife, Ronnie A, etc!

@ScaredyCat
I am SO sorry I don’t remember saying cheerio to you. See you at the next one when I hope to spend more time talking to you!

@Conan
Great to meet you at last. You might remember us chatting about a person of our mutual acquaintance who has been rather ill-treated by various parties……?
Please do email this person, and say that I’m asking for that person, and hope things are working out for them, and that they have my support, for what it’s worth. Thank you.

@Thpnr
So sorry we lost you last night! Hopefully will see you soon. Also, can you remember what was decided about the wonderful metal Wings plaques you made? And are they for sale? I’d love to buy one. Name your price!! Or are they being kept as special edition raffle prizes for the next one(s)?

@Paula Rose
Thanks, darling, for walking me along the road from somewhere to somewhere. But have you any idea why I can hardly walk this morning and my left kneecap has swollen to the size of a small grapefruit?

TJenny

QfA – hmm, knee like a small grapefruit! Never mind, being Scottish, you can count that as one of your 5 x day fruit and veg. 🙂

Tartan Tory

@ Brian Doonthetoon. Mea Culpa! It was dark and I could only see you and Pete in the front seats. I was only aware of ‘someone’ in the back, so my humble apologies to Chris! 😉

Quinie frae Angus

@TJenny

Cactus and I sat in a wee cafe just around the corner from yours and had spinach soup for breakfast! So that’s 2 out of 5 so far. 🙂

TJenny

QfA – 2, one of which was spinach, for breakfast! Are you sure you’re Scottish??

Conan_the_Librarian

@TJenny

I had a can of beer and a bacon roll at six o’clock, do I qualify…?

gerry parker

@ Conan.
Brown sauce, red sauce, or no sauce?

Bob Sinclair

Special mention to Ronnie – what a brilliant guy – for getting me back to Glasgow. I owe you one, thanks.

Conan_the_Librarian

@ gerry parker

Being an Edinburgh gadgie, broon 🙂

Cactus

Hey, another cracking night out, thanks for having us Edinburgh, you ROCK! (and literally in the Black Bull, cheers DJ).

Great to meet with all you new and known Wingers, a pleasure to be in your companies once again 🙂 There once was a Famous Five, but now there be a Scottish Six.. a big thumbs up going out to TJenny, X-Sticks, Cameron B, Paula Rose & Quinie frae Angus.

A special thanks to the beautiful TJenny and Tam Jardine for being excellent hosts.

Yeah me and pretty miss Quinie frae Angus found a cracking cafe for some freshly made tasty spinach soup yum. Enjoyed your company on the RJ 🙂

Popeye ~ Spinach

Just have to say you’re looking gorgeous as ever Paula Rose.. you really are quite an uptown girl, I thought I was out of your league, but then you lay down beside me 🙂

Cheers y’all,
X

CameronB Brodie

It was great meeting so many readers at the Newsroom. Here are some tracks specially of you Conon. 🙂

Prince Buster – My Sound That Goes Around

Roland Alphonso And The Alley Cats – Four Corners (Of The World)

Lloyd Clarke with Rico’s All Stars – Fools Day

Cactus

From one gig to the next.. Glasgow plays host to these guys tonight, see you there!

He-man Woman Hater ~ Extreme (The Band)

X_Sticks

Evening all 😀

Not long back from the Yes stall in Aberdeen and another huge backlog of online catching up to do 🙁

Great night out folks, thoroughly enjoyed it. Another batch of faces to put to names, and a catchup with the regulars.

Thanks to Tam for arranging it.

Special thanks to Tjenny for after hours hospitality.

Dammit Cactus, I knew I shouldn’t have left you and Paula Rose together, it was bound to be trouble 😉

Good to see you looking well Conan.

@Thepnr
Told you they would turn up.

If the quality of people in this debate counts for anything then I don’t see how we can lose. Yer a braw bunch.

Thepnr

@Patrician

Great news about the metal wings, I went back to the pub and they had gone, must have just missed you.

@Quinie frae Angus
The metal wings were provided by Hood, a Wings reader from Arbroath. I wish I knew you wanted one as I won the first raffle but took the whisky instead as since I collected and delivered them, I had already plundered mine. Oh, and I know what happened to your knee. Paula Rose will have to tell you though 😉

@Hood
The plaques went down a treat, those that got one were over the moon. So thank you very much from all the Wingers. We didn’t raffle them all so some will be available in the next raffle.

@gerry parker
I’ll wait and see Ronnie when he comes through to Dundee and give you a phone then. Ronnie gave me your number last night. Cheers.

john king

TJenny says
“Patrician – do you know how much money was raised by the raffle?”

My very able assistant (Irene) says it was £168.80p

TJenny

John King – that’s quite a goodly amount raised, considering that it was a smaller crowd than at CH2.

Paula Rose

Now darlings – about last night.

Quinie frae Angus – I did warn you when you insisted on trying on my Yes heels that they were not suitable for walking down cobbled streets, fortunately Jock Scot was on hand to provide relief.

Cactus – Ha ha honey, but I don’t think anyone is going to swallow that one.

TJenny – I think we showed the boys how to rock!

I had a lovely night. If there is a better man than Thepnr I have yet to meet him, though a certain leather clad gent came close. My thanks and love to you all.

john king

Oh btw Cactus.
Irene says she’s got you shades and wants you hat as a ransom
or will return them at the next Wings meet, whichever comes first!

john king

you=your

john king

Apparently the 80p was me but I distinctly remember giving her a Kooloopop bottle
Irene always said I was a cheapskate. 😉

Ian Brotherhood

Interesting stuff from George Gunn:

link to newsnetscotland.com

ronnie anderson

@ Conan’s majical mistery tour at 1am Sat 5th July , or as its known in that film The long Way Round Emburgh to Glesga via Whinchburgh & takeing in the sights of Queensferry ( those twinkeling lights on the Forth are a sight to behold & oor ain Bob Sinclair fullfilled a lifetime acheavment, he seen the underside of the Forth Railway Bridge,I offered to stop & let him take a photo. Conan dont whatever you do take a job driveing the Emburgh Trams, wey your directions there’d be a converging of Emburgh N Newcastle tram system.

On a more possitive note Conan arrived at his local boozer in time for a last pint.Bob arrived home safelywith some explaining to his Wife, & I benifited with some night time driveing,& after a year of not driveing I see that as a possitive, but there again spending time with possitive People has that effect, noo thats the WINGS effect.

Weil done Tam Jardine for grasping the nettle & orginizeing Emburgh Wings 4.

Come on other Wingers/Yes camp get orginizing night out in your Areas, the Times They Are A Changeing but at the same time, Times They Are A Wasteing.

Paula Rose

Apart from Brechin we’ve done the other 3 major cities, perhaps we should spread our wings over some smaller places?

Conan_the_Librarian

@ Ronnie

My directions were perfectly adequate for going to Dunfermline…

Jock Scot

Hi Folks

Can’t help thinking that Ronnie’s comment ” spending time with possitive People has that effect, noo thats the WINGS effect.” sums it up perfectly. Feel wonderful and humble to be so warmly accepted by such beautiful people and as a team..Yew Choob are well proud of the support we get from you evil cyber-thingys..happily take one of you folks over a vile britnat any day…and Paula, pls don’t read anything into that..it’s just my appalling sense of words falling out of place.

I have to admit being slightly disappointed that I didn’t miss my train and re-joined the group but to compensate, I forgot I still had on the top hat with the Yes sticker on the front and as I gayly walked through the concourse,( Paula…!) I became aware of a wee glum guy coming towards me and as he passed he said Naw…one deft pirouette later I found myself replying Yes in the most positve way, i surprised even myself, must be that Wings effect..and got a round of applause from people who had witnessed the ‘brief encounter’…happy days

Too many Wings stalwarts to mention and I am beginning to have moments of memory but still have blanks so I won’t leave anyone out by doing a roll-call..one thing tho’..Cactus..get yirsel’ a feckin’ recording contract..dude – you can sing!!!!

Lastly, I don’t often get stuck for words but last night I was, when Yew Choob were crowd-funded by Wingers and we hadn’t even asked.. have not had such a WTF moment in tangible memory but this ties in with the beginning of my comment on feeling humble. I have decided to use the cash to buy a new microphone which will hopefully be a benefit to everyone at Wings who listens..my way of sharing. Thanks again.x

Paula Rose

(Thepnr and TT – my heart is aflutter with young Jock!)

ronnie anderson

@ Conan_the_librarian, ah whist ye had telt me ah wuld’na endid up in Whinchburgh lol,you do know ma satnavs noo working to its full potential,but a good laughf.

Jock Scot

@Paula

less of the young, lol

Jock Scot

Hi Ronnie

Seems like a Magical Mystery Tour to end the night..lucky buggers

Paula Rose

Tonight the swifts are winging around my house, but they are only here for 3 months – I will be here all year creating a worthy nation.

Paula Rose

@ Jock – darling, young at heart.

ronnie anderson

@ Jock Scot/NinjaPenguin,Your contabutions via Yew Choob are much appreciated, they carry a powerful message via the satire & humour, & thats a message easily understood so more power to You’s both.

Quinie frae Angus

@Jock Scot

Thank you very much if indeed it was you who fitted the magic slippers to Cinderella’s feet….

Love the image of your happy pirouette in the station!

ronnie anderson

@ Jock Scot ,aye an it would hve been a longer tour if Bob didna hiv a satnav in his phone.

Thepnr

I must still have the buzz from last night, smiling so much at everyone’s recollections. Jock your story of the train station encounter with the Naw guy had me laughing.

Oh, and thanks for finally getting me a pint by the way 🙂

Paula I’m heartboken!

Jock Scot

@Ronnie

Coming from you, sir. Something to stick on the C.V. as a reference. Cheers.

@Paula

Thank you darling and stick around cos you are in the next one.

@Quinie

Thanks are never necessary when you participate in such a majick moment. They don’t happen that often. Was a wonderful first for me and I must admit to being ably assisted by my fellow foot-fondler Paula..the twisted mind under the Hat was trying to think of a number to describe the experience. Wish I could have stayed out longer but there will always be next times for the Wingers even after the 18th September..I think we ought to write the constitution and lead our country into OOR future. x p.s. Paula has my e.mail address

Paula Rose

@ Thepnr – please be the man who knocks on my door.

ronnie anderson

@Thepnr give me a call I,ll need your number when Im in Dundee to give you the Wings signs.

ronnie anderson

@ Jock Scot, I’ll Never Forget The Day That Wee Met (W O S )

Majic Moments lets take it to the Max.

Jock Scot

@Thepnr

I hate being indebted esp. where drink is involved and it was a pleasure to buy it. Meant what I said last night and hope Arbroath went well..sure it did…You are a gent whose company at these gatherings is always inspiring and honest..maybe not so rare a trait on Wings but there are places…..

Bob Sinclair

Is there any chance we can get Conan to apply to be the navigator for Labour’s Big Red Bus. ?

ronnie anderson

@ Bob Sinclair, is that the Big Rid Bus that goes round n round ,am ah driveing it lol.

Jock Scot

@Bob

SSSShhhh or we’ll have Arnie Scwartenfartz causing havoc on the M8, and who really needs that.That comment may need it’s own OOT page

Jock Scot

Since the resident DJ seems to be not here yet may I suggest something before the Coca cola ad men got their hands on it and I was young and impressionable at the time…

ronnie anderson

@ Bob Sinclair,noo ah hud wan o they navigator giglight torches,handy fur reading maps in the dark,an it wiz really dark on they Country Roads that tain us Hame.

ronnie anderson

@Jock Scot, see’s ther you’ve gone in dun it again

I’d like to teach our people tae Wing it

bring peace thoughout our land

thats the song I hear

harmonious hand in hand

Thepnr

@Jock Scot

I did notice the contrast with yours and Ninja’s stuff compared to the New Seekers. But know what there is no contrast. Both mean the same if you look closely. Cheers Jock.

Jock Scot

@Ronnie

I’m sure Ninja Penguin will hear about it. I’m off in a few weeks so will catch up on as much of the backlog as poss, plus Radio GaGa is a goer and I got a look at the lyrics today…Gotta love that ‘burd’. that may get me injured.

Michael McCabe

It was great to meet some of you at the Newsroom last night. I had one to many Brandies. Left the newsroom to take the short walk to the Black Bull, Hit the fresh air and everything started spinning. Amateur at the Drinking game. I Was sober long enough to meet some good people though and to take in all the positivity. Thanks one and all. Vote Yes

Patrician

Hi ronnie, I have just sent an email to your hotmail account, can you have a quick read and let me know what you think about it.

Thepnr

@Michael McCabe
Was great to meet you buddy. I’ve a wee tune for you. All the best, hope to meet up again before the 18th.

pete the camera

A couple of goodnight tunes

Michael McCabe

For Paula Rose And everyone there last Night, link to youtube.com

Ian Brotherhood

Bags me 3000 on o/t!!

Thepnr

Haha well done Ian. Just for that you get 500 air miles.

Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Thanks for the tune. Hoping to go through for BBC-3 Protest. Hopefully see you there. Was feeling hung over feeling closer to fine now though. link to youtube.com

Thepnr

@Michael McCabe
Great tunes again, it will be hard to keep up that quality.
Respect.

Brian Doonthetoon

Forgot to type earlier on today that is was nice to have a blether with Ronnie last night about the “Dundee Pandas”.

They will go down in the YES legend…
8=)

Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Loved that tune. Cheers. From the Blues Brothers to the Boogie Woogie Twosome. link to youtube.com Vote Yes

Thepnr

Brian
I didn’t know about the Dundee Pandas are they wingers is the question?

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

Re: the wee blether wee had at the end of The Newsroom meet.
I have decided to go into the venue I mentioned to put a proposition.

Basically, we don’t want to HIRE the pub but we are giving them advance notice that on the 32nd of Augtember, they will be invaded by 100+ punters from all over Scotland, so what will you do for us?

We don’t want exclusive use of the place but it could be an idea to open up the downstairs bit to give your regular punter a bolt hole.
Perchance you can provide few trays of sandwiches?

Pubs want business. This crap about a “hire fee” is just that – crap. We are in a position where we can say, “So you want £XX pounds to hire your premises? Fine. We want a 20% kickback on your takings for the night. Otherwise, we will just turn up, so what are you gonna do then, poor thing?

Nil illigitimi carborundum.

8=)

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.
Re the Pandas.
I believe Dundee RIC.

Brian Doonthetoon

And at least one of them was that the Jolly’s do.

Brian Doonthetoon

I mean, “And at least one of them was AT the Jolly’s do.

Taranaich

@Ian Brotherhood: A brave and brilliant post mister. Respect.

I had avoided watching GG’s performance, but thought I’d better do seeing as you linked to it. The man is playing with fire, and there’s no need for it.

Thanks, Ian! Sorry I subjected you to it, but I’m pretty sure it’s the last time I’ll dignify Mr Galloway with such attention.

SSP Ayrshire were supposed to be having a street stall in Irvine tomorrow, but, after discussions earlier, we cancelled it. As you’ll know, the big O/O parade will be in Glasgow, but a lot of the participants are resident here in Ayrshire, or will be making there way over from NI for the highlight of their year. Given what’s been happening in Stormont, and the news that Scottish Police are on stand-by to head over to Belfast for the expected unrest, we felt there was no sensible option. The older ones among us are quite prepared to stand our ground, but some younger members and supporters aren’t au fait with the intricacies and don’t deserve to be placed in potential danger.

Sadly, that’s what it’s come to. And we’ve still got ten weeks to go…

There was a walk a few days ago, it went right past my house. My young cousin was there. He wasn’t sure what was to be done. What I did was stand at the window, in full view of the parade, smiling widely and sincerely at the sour, angry faces beating their drums.

Strangely enough, I don’t mind the idea of the Orange Walk: we have plenty of marches and events which have their origin in the bloody & brutal past, so I don’t mind one group having a triumphalist celebration now. This was different back in the Troubles, when Catholics had significant legal opposition leading to stuff like Bobby Sands and whatnot – but nowadays, as we’re starting to get to grips with peace and there are no longer legal or social barriers to being Catholic, eventually I hope we’ll see a time where we have Orange Walks that aren’t bullish displays of brutal oppression, but simply another aspect of our history which we’ve learned from.

Ever the idealist, I know…

Thepnr

Facebook seem to be in on it now, I posted the Maryhill foodbank link but not showing on any of my friends timelines. Fuck em will just have to email or text or speak to them and make sure they get that link.

We are being nobbled, doesn’t take a idiot to see that. Tell everybody they can’t stop us all from getting the truth out.

I hope you arseholes are paying attention, we are having none of your crap and will fight back. With knowledge, reasoning and sense. You have no weapons against this. Give it up before you totally destroy this country. There are 2,000,000 at least voting Yes. You can’t shut us all up.

Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon
Your right, I will visit this week and get a hold of the owner, not literally of course, suggest a date and tell him what we want. This is great business for the pub.

David

On BBC website: A former Labour government minister, Leslie Huckfield, backs ‘Yes’ vote!

link to bbc.com

“Leslie Huckfield, Nuneaton MP between 1967 and 1983, now lives in Perthshire. He said the referendum was “an historic opportunity” to implement Labour ideas.

But he said that “won’t happen” while Scotland remains part of the UK.

Mr Huckfield served in Prime Minister James Callaghan’s government. He was under-secretary of state for industry from 1976-79, serving under industry minister Eric Varley, and was Labour’s frontbench industry spokesman from 1979-83. He was an MEP between 1984 and 1989.

He was elected at the age of 24 in 1967, but left the Labour Party in protest at the Iraq war and “New Labour’s continuing political drift”.

He moved to Scotland in 2004 and said it “became apparent that this is a country with a veritable passion for social justice”.

Mr Huckfield, 72, said few people in Scotland “sufficiently understand or recognise the emerging political agenda in England”, which he said “represents the disintegration of many principles and policies to which Scots hold dearly”.

“In short, I believe that an independent Scotland is an opportunity not only to free itself from Tories and a UK coalition agenda but also from the agenda of New Labour,” he said.

He said a “Yes” vote on 18 September would give Scotland a chance to “start again” and “implement the policies and causes that the Labour Party has traditionally supported”.

Now this is going to help Labour For Indy to persuade Labourites to vote YES!

Thepnr

@David
You should repost the above article in one of the main threads so many more will read it than will read it here.

Thepnr

Just noticed there is now an article on David’s post at Newsnet.

link to newsnetscotland.com

Bob Sinclair

I’ve just read that parking is likely to be an issue at the next Pacific Quay Demo, due to Commonwealth games restrictions. As I’m not that far from PQ, if anyone needs WoS materials kept and dropped off on the day let me know. Thepnr has my email addy. Thinking along the lines of the boot full of leaflets etc that Ronnie carries about with him.

Conan_the_Librarian

@ Bob Sinclair

Any chance of a lift back…?

David

@ Thepnr, after posting, I found that some eagle-eyed cybernat called Democracy Reborn had also seen the story, and put it on the “This could be a record” thread 4 hours before me!

The good news is gaining traction, it is also now on the STV website and the Herald website:

link to news.stv.tv

link to heraldscotland.com

This can be used to help convince traditional Labour people to vote Yes.

Ian Brotherhood

How cool is this dude?

Chuck Berry, ‘Johnny B. Goode’ (live) –

Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for Paula Rose –

Pet Shop Boys, ‘What Have I Done To Deserve This’ –

CameronB Brodie

Tam Jardine
I forgot to say thanks organising the Newsroom and that mobile number on your arm was probably mine. If you are still up for a pint and a blether some time, just say the word. There might be one or two from here who might like to join us. 😉

Paula Rose

Ian darling, what did I do to have such wonderful men at my feet! Darlings I love you all – please form an orderly queue…

Quinie frae Angus

@Paula Rose

There is no answer to that!!

@Ian B
We missed you on Friday! Hope we see you at next one….

@Cameron B
See you at next one too!

@Tam Jardine
Thanks so much for organising. Great night.

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Well, you do add a touch of glamour and sassiness to the whole shebang, and it’s much needed.

Here’s some sassy lassies:

En Vogue, ‘Never Gonna Get It’ –

Paula Rose

Ian dear – I get it!

Thepnr

The news on the BBC about Independence now is so boring I don’t even bother listening even when it’s in front of my face. Wonder what that means?

Ian Brotherhood

@QfA –

Cheers pal. Sounds like I missed a good ‘un too.

Never mind. Next one? I’ll be there, hopefully wearing one of these suits:

The Four Tops, ‘Reach Out, I’ll Be There’ –

Thepnr

Always hard to gauge the mood and find a suitable song. I’ll try and slip this one in, decent vocals and music but the visuals are great.

Tartan Tory

Guys, you might not believe this, but there is a piece from Robert Peston on the BBC website just now which is about as pro-yes as I’ve ever read from them!!!

link to bbc.co.uk

Something’s changed in the editorial room…… 🙂

Paula Rose

OMG – Ian Botherhood, Thepnr and the Tartan Tory all within the space of six minutes!!

Thepnr

@Tartan Tory

Sorry buddy disagree, neutral at best. Misses out Sir Donald Mackays piece written in the Sunday times today and posted here earlier. Don’t believe he tried that hard to get to the truth.

After all Peston is rightly know as “The Hon. Robert James Kenneth Peston” son of Labour Peer Maurice Peston. Another establishment member who’s interests remain in the status quo being kept.

Let’s see his telly programme before clapping our hands.

Tartan Tory

@Thepnr

I didn’t say it was pro-yes, I said it was “about as pro-yes as I’ve ever read from them” (in other words, neutral at best) 😉

However, it makes a pleasant change to see something almost ‘balanced’ on there…..

CameronB Brodie

Tartan Tory
Glad to have met you in the Newsroom and good to see you got back home. Probably more directly than some.

according to the respected Institute for Fiscal Studies 😉

What matters far more, arguably, is how Scots see themselves in a much broader sense, either as a confident nation that is proud of being part of a bigger country, the United Kingdom, or as a people stifled and limited by the historic union. 🙂

Paula Rose

Can we not have the best of both worlds? Be Scotland and have a great friendship with our neighbours?

1 4 5 6 7 8 81

Stats: 6,670 Posts, 1,202,822 Comments

• Hatey McHateface on The Long Unravelling: “Falling out of windows is certainly endemic in R and its satellites. But targets and innocent bystanders can also get…Nov 22, 06:53
    • Robert Hughes on The Long Unravelling: “Yes , indeed , B . I’ve never known such levels of mendacious propaganda being spewed 24/7 by MSM &…Nov 22, 06:03
    • Oneliner on The Long Unravelling: “Yep – better to stick to an ad hominem like ‘microbe’ Do you have any mirrors in your butt an’…Nov 22, 05:21
    • Mark Beggan on The Long Unravelling: “He should have grown a moustache like Neil Gray.Nov 22, 04:59
    • Breeks on The Long Unravelling: “I haven’t either, indeed it’s something of a fallacy calling them newspapers. A cursory glance in the direction of the…Nov 22, 04:56
    • The Flying Iron of Doom on The Long Unravelling: “Don’t you mean “You fall out with the Tsar, you fall out of a window”? 🙂Nov 22, 03:00
    • Robert Matthews on The Long Unravelling: “https://www.progressscotland.org/uploads/Progress-Scotland-Nov-Release.pdfNov 22, 02:51
    • Robert Matthews on The Long Unravelling: “https://www.progressscotland.org/uploads/Progress-Scotland-Nov-Release.pdfNov 22, 02:49
    • Robert Matthews on The Long Unravelling: “Julius Evola – The Yoga of Power: Tantra, Shakti and the Secret Way, should steer you in the Right direction.Nov 22, 02:43
    • Campbell Clansman on The Long Unravelling: “I see that I’m living rent-free in your head. … Perhaps you’d explain how childish name-calling advances your cause?Nov 22, 02:23
    • Michael Laing on The Long Unravelling: “Perhaps you could explain to us, Camp Bellend, how Scotland benefits from being in the UK? How does having governments…Nov 21, 23:37
    • Michael Laing on The Long Unravelling: “It’s deliberate. He’s an unelected UK state plant. He’s just continuing the sabotage and destruction that’s been ongoing since 2014.Nov 21, 23:11
    • Zander Tait on The Long Unravelling: “You do like your facts embedded in your fantasy future Dumpster CamelMan. Unfortunately for you Cancer FannyBaws the last two…Nov 21, 22:58
    • Shug on The Long Unravelling: “I do hope Swinney and co turn up at Salmond’s memorial so we can tell them what we think of…Nov 21, 22:52
    • wull on The Long Unravelling: “Flynn should also have known that Alex Salmond also donated one of the two salaries he had at one point…Nov 21, 22:39
    • Campbell Clansman on The Long Unravelling: “Glasgow is an Indy stronghold. If these areas vote 2-1 Unionist parties, all the Alba/Salvo fantasies and all the lies…Nov 21, 22:37
    • Zander Tait on The Long Unravelling: “There ain’t no medals for his kind of bravery.Nov 21, 21:38
    • Mac on The Long Unravelling: “I have not bought a newspaper in 20 years but I have an X subscription which I bought just a…Nov 21, 21:30
    • Mac on The Long Unravelling: “What Craig Murray is doing is beyond brave. I really thought he had a death wish this last couple of…Nov 21, 20:56
    • Ian Brotherhood on The Long Unravelling: “Watching that right now. It’s remarkable, listening to these people, (regardless of whether you agree with them or not) and…Nov 21, 20:50
    • znovak on The Long Unravelling: “Craig Murray’s argument about purity is fallacious. When organic chemists say that that the product of synthesis was 95% pure,…Nov 21, 20:46
    • Zander Tait on The Long Unravelling: “And you are a thing of wonder, Camel Humpster TransMan. Let’s see, the last 2 polls on Scottish Independence clearly…Nov 21, 20:31
    • Campbell Clansman on The Long Unravelling: “There are four council elections today. Three are in Glasgow, an SNP stronghold. I wonder if the “Indy” parties (assuming…Nov 21, 20:12
    • George Ferguson on The Long Unravelling: “I was surprised Flynn didn’t know that Ross donated one of his salaries to charity when questioned on the Sunday…Nov 21, 19:41
    • Zander Tait on The Long Unravelling: “And, of course, let’s not forget the double salary, double staff and double expenses. There are few more impressive sights…Nov 21, 19:17
    • George Ferguson on The Long Unravelling: “Stephen Flynn finding out that double jobbing motivated by naked ambition is not a good look especially when sitting politicians…Nov 21, 19:09
    • Stevie on The Long Unravelling: “Actually, people have been asking for decades what happened to huge donations left to the SNP in deceased willsNov 21, 18:45
    • Al Dossary on The Long Unravelling: “Cant watch that and Danny Haiphong / Mark Sleboda at the same time unfortunately……..Nov 21, 18:33
    • twathater on The Long Unravelling: “NO he”s just a fucking corrupt moron elected by imbecilesNov 21, 18:25
    • Mia on The Long Unravelling: ““Close Holrood” No. I have a much better solution: get a political party to stand on a manifesto to: gain…Nov 21, 18:23

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()