Off-topic
Posted on
January 02, 1968 by
Rev. Stuart Campbell
For off-topic chat. Duh.
Amen to that, #Manky Mate:
Amen & Amen!
Wild Horses Hail-Free- News from Nowhere. Afro Celt Sound System link to youtube.com
Aweright there Cameron B… ~
What’s yer thoughts for today good bro?
Cheers.
Morning, Brains Trusters/sophisticates.
Feeling a bit nervous this morning and didn’t sleep well last night, although canvassing in my bit was encouraging yesterday. Wet here, which may be good since I think we’re more motivated to vote than a lot of soft BLiS______d supporters. Unfortunately, Ruth’s Marching Party will be undeterred, I fear.
On GOTV duty till about 8 tonight so I’ll just wish you all all the best today in whatever you’re doing to fight The Dark Side.
Come on, Scotland, do a Molly Bloom and say Yes to a better future for us all.
May The Force be with you.
Was having a conversation about WASPI women with my niece and her boyfriend recently, explaining our dilemma.
Of course for them the outlook is even bleaker.
If a lot of the current workforce is on Zero hours contracts doesn’t that impact on NI contributions, which then impacts the money coming in to finance current pensions and also build up any funds for future pensions.
Also, current schemes for youngsters are nearly all defined contribution schemes with very low returns – as far as I can gather.
Despite them both working – one self employed – they both felt that the basic income was the only hope for them.
Aye Meg, as you no doubt read ma post from the other thread, it’s a no brainier…I’m thinking after we get our guys back in, of lobbying Patrick Grady on this issue, maybe we should all consider this approach, if enough of us want this we can surely make a difference, and at least move the basic income to the top of the agenda. I’m well aware that Robin McAlpine and others have raised this and as I said there was talk of pilots in Fife and Glasgow.
But we need this from the grass roots independence movement, more voices. Might be worth fashioning a template letter for others to use in lobbying their SNP MSP and MP’s?
I’m on the mailing list of BIEN, so there is a lot of news of schemes and trials from all over the world to tap into in terms of, again evidence based best practice, making our case?
@ Dave McEwan Hill, 4/06/17, 12:27pm
You should have introduced yourself at the stall when purchasing those wee books. Next time, I’ll charge ye more! 🙂
Good day, apart from the thunderstorm!
@ Meg merrilees, 1:33pm
@ K1, 2:21pm
Citizens Income was discussed and investigating it approved at one of the SNP conferences last year. Sounds like plenty of folk interested. It has got to come eventually, so, worth taking the proposition seriously.
Howdy abody,
Here’s some classic ‘Daniel Chesterfield’ to while away another few minutes. Haven’t seen this for years, must’ve been removed for copyright reasons, and that’ll be why this copy is so bad.
This…
Hi Smallaxe.
I have a memory from the weekend of speaking about Preston Reed to someone; maybe you. He was at the Wings get-together in Waxy O’Connors in March 2016.
Here’s an example of his guitar playing (thanks to Paula Rose for putting it on her Twittery thingy.
Also, here’s a wee clip I shot on Saturday, showing the arrival of the marchers at Glasgow Green. Look in the distance and you can see how dense the crowd was.
Just back from Voting and I am out of Breath. Just like to say Well done to Everyone who Voted and all the Volunteers ect,ect, You know who you are. Got to Go. Alright. One More Cup of Coffee link to youtube.com
Ian B 7:59PM That was Magic Paula Rose 9:10pm That was Beautiful. Brian Doonthetoon Thanks for the Clip of the Marchers Arriving. Wha’s like Us link to youtube.com
Huns are at it in Scotland
Chumbawamba:
“Tubthumping I Get Knocked Down”
Peace Always
“Win The Race Song”
Peace Always
Jimmy Cliff: “The Harder they come”
Peace Always
Who’s that up above?
Now that we have been dragged into Eternal Tory Night and Smallaxe’s nightmare has come true, I offer some H&S advice:
*types from behind sofa*
Pity you can’t see my 1000-yard stare.
FFS.
I am totally Scunnered that Result was like getting Punched in the Solar Plexus. They will never take away our hope for Independence though. and Knowing that then it is just a time thing. Anyway I am back to Cooling link to youtube.com
Well said, Michael.
While on holiday, I bought a book about that great American Massey Ferguson, Benedict Arnold: “Valiant Ambition” by Nathaniel Philbrick.
In the closing pages, the author describes the various expressions of American shock and incomprehension at Arnold’s betrayal and the considered reaction of George Washington, who “no doubt felt all of these things and more. However……he had learned to take the longest of views. Nothing of consequence, he now knew, could be decided in a single battle, no matter how brilliantly fought. Winning a war and creating a new nation took time.”
Compared to the American situation in 1780, we are breasting the finishing line. As one of my heiresses said to her disconsolate father this morning, “It’s just a bump in the road, Dad!”
Heids up and thank Goad for the young!
Well said TC.
And cheers Michael, was too gloomy to reply earlier. Hope you’re well there.
Michty, that was a bruiser last night…
But as TC’s wise lass says, ‘bump in the road’.
If we we’re told 5 years ago that in 2017 we would have 30 odd MPs going down to westmonster to fight the good fight we would have been delighted. remember the bad old days ? Well- Do You Remember link to youtube.com Here is a wee noisy tune for you Ian B
IanB: just wait till the other one (you met her at the PQ demonstration) comes round for her tea on Sunday.
I’m hiding the crockery!
Hope lies with the proles? Hope lies with the young!
Michael: hope you’re feeling better too.
@MMcC –
Another new one for me. Brilliant!
Here is a wee tune for all the wingers feeling a wee bit battered and Bruised. link to youtube.com
@ Liz g,
sorry I didnt reply sooner, your attitude is what all I stand for, there are not many like us and the lads and lassies on wings will agree with you , I believe in karma , what you did was for summit that is beyond us, Im not religous but your gesture was sent for a reason, and as our auld friend said ….PEACE ALWAYS.
Lisa and Paul-Some Surprise link to youtube.com
We Shall not be MOVED!
Peace Always
Jonny Lang: “Bump In The Road”
Peace Always
“Bruised but not Beaten” Joss Stone;
Peace Always
Morning squad, a bit on the dreich side for “En Plein Air” flautistry is it no? Hope it pishes till Dolly’s Brae’s under watter!
Big Phil @ 2.49am
Thank you Big Phil and Peace right back at ya,my friend.
*Ah see gloatfuck is back on the MT. There’s nae end tae his crystal baw gazing talents is there…has there ever been anyone quite so happy after every set back, tae rush ontae Wings tae tell everyone ‘ah called it’? Imagine the amount of time this fuckwit has spent filing these comments, not just his own but everyone he’s decided are his ‘enemy’, so that he can then copy and paste them whenever he smells an opportunity to undermine or gloat. Does he simply not get it, that that’s what makes him a total dickhead?
*all questions within this paragraph are rhetorical
@K1 –
I had the good fortune to spend some time chatting to Smallaxe at Glasgow Green last week and we had a chuckle imagining yer man there with his wee box-file wi’ aw oor names, colour-coded tabs etc.
🙂 🙂 🙂
He’s a fekkin belter.
🙂 Ian, ah see yer a diplomat yersel! Glad you two got to meet (again) too 😉
Ah wiz gonnae say ah wiz him but I’d probably huv goat lamped pronto before ah could retract it!
@K1 & Fred –
Hail to those who are still awake.
That GE late-night seems to have knocked abody skee-whiff.
Anyway, ahm still hauf-skooshed, can’t quite believe what’s happened…it’s all just too bizarre.
Is it right that Ruth Davidson’s now the FM?
Blimey!!!
Isn’t the main thread full of openings for p!$£†aking tonight?
These newbies that come in and lay down the law – they’re a fair target, iye?
Onnyhoo, one of my rare music links… None of us have reposted this inspiring link for a fair old time. Now is the time…
And if you want the background story to that music, just ask – but I’m now going off to have my Indian/Lidl/Iceland concoction so I will post any required info tomorrow.
Nighty night.
8=)
Greetings, vile saboteurs and Brainstrusters.
Let’s let the dust settle. My clothes have just about dried out since Thursday. Hamilton was divided east and west and unfortunately, Margaret Ferrier lost by a few hundred votes to a young Blairite nonentity who will be lobby fodder.
Fortunately, Angela Crawley got in by a similar margin.
We got hit by a perfect storm of BBC propaganda, Corbyn-factor refashioning of our tartan breeks and very-carefully targeted Yoon electoral strategy in “marginals”.
Take heed, SG.
Yeah, main thread’s gone tonto. Some shit stirrers looking to capitalize on people’s distress. People looking to spread panic, anger, divisiveness and argument.
Real champs…
Anyroads, some mood music.
Fucking bonkers Ian…is Craig Murray the new ‘messiah’ tae 😉 Amazingly quick shift of loyalties all on the back of losing 21 MP’s, from a starting point of 56, which was historic by any measure, naw we skooshed it, but you wouldnae think it wi that MT and the way it’s panned oot over the last 24hrs.
Whit’s ironic is naebdy considering Craig’s jilted pov, like he’s so ‘pure’ in motivation, wunner how the CNP will dae in the second GE, (cause it’s coming)…and people wondered why he didn’t get picked 😉
BDTT;
I was me that you were talking about re, Preston while we were sheltering from the rain in my car.
Ian and all the rest of you Wingers worrying about the result of the GE, remember that it was only a battle. The war continues, Davidson et al will soon make an arse of themselves (again). We will prevail in the end. Don’t let the bastards grind us down!
Peace Always my Friends
I’ve been quite surprised by the new(ish) names putting the boot in tonight on the M/T but take heart that they must be worried.
Can I take refuge in 70s nostalgia?
Yeah look at the ‘familiar’ names, ‘manamdboy’ jusrmwrote something on the main thread that’s…shall we say…fukcin’ mental 🙂
At this rate we’ll aw be votin’ Tory next week 😉
Jethro Tull: “Nothing is Easy”
Peace Always
Morning peeps! a bit of a white-knuckle ride there? still standing though!
Off to Blochairn for the bargains, still pished from last night, walking thus!
Fred;
Tell the truth, you’re going to see if the bars open.
Peace Always my Friend
The snp won that election. For anyone with any doubt they did win.
BBC acting like Ruth is the FM and sowing doubt in the public’s mind about who won.
link to twitter.com
Thank goodness Ponsonby is keeping tabs on them, I can’t listen or watch the bbc, lying shower of ———–
Time for some posters, Enemy of the people style.
That’s me just got through all last nights posts up to the present.
BBCSTL I thought must have lost it or maybe just a bit pished, all I can really remember of his/her previous posts were links to the front page of the national which has been for 2 or 3 weeks if my memory is right.
Anyway what caught my eye was Robert Peffers post at 12:31am
Robert Peffers says:
11 June, 2017 at 12:31 am
@One_Scot says: 10 June, 2017 at 11:00 pm:
“Seriously you’re a dick.”
Aye! One Scot, and I think he even mentions himself among his list of those he hates in a silly effort to divert attention from himself. The style is very familiar but think of a rather childish person of the three mentioned that has fallen out with the other two and your guess may be as good as mine.
The post he was referring to is below, it is not beyond the realms of possibility for Roberts theory to be true LOL.
Payback time for Rock 🙂
BBC Scotland Tells Lies says:
10 June, 2017 at 10:15 pm
Rock, Heedy, Peffers and others are part of a Unionist Trolling gang .
Probably one guy.
Ignore them.
He’s certainly a ‘regular’ disguised as a relative ‘newbie’, that’s for sure.
@K1
Rock quotes me all the time, maybe I’m a hero of his or more likely someone he despises. He’ed like nothing better than for me to rise to the bait so I just ignore him obviously.
Of course there are trolls on Wings who are under the pay of the government, their obsessed with the undermining of the MSM by sites such as this so it’s necessary for the government to reduce their influence.
They can’t just outright ban websites such as Wings though that may be coming, instead they send in the sodjers to wind people up. The problem is the sodjers all attended the same lessons and all sound the same.
It’s pretty pathetic when your only means of opposing opposition on websites such as this where ordinary people express a view is to do you best to disrupt it. That is a sign of a desperate politician.
Attempting to shut off the voice of ordinary people will backfire as that voice will only get louder when the people realise they have been had. There’s no doubt that at the end of all this those that still believe in democracy will have won.
Might take a while yet so never take a back seat, sit there right up front and whatever they throw at us we throw right back and then some.
The truth will out.
@ Thepnr 5:58pm I totally agree with You. but I would just post them this link link to youtube.com Hope you are doing alright my Friend.
Just got round to yesterdays Xword.
27 ac, go on, give us a clue, literally.
OK me first.
A way back to each family member is always there. (8)
@Chick –
Unfortunately, since Calum Macdonald’s passing, there have been wee glitches. Very frustrating, I know, but the man had developed a system over 25 years and no-one quite knew how it worked. I met with the Herald editor a couple of weeks ago and he explained the full range of work Calum did. It was, honestly, astonishing – way beyond anything I’d dare take on. I don’t know if they’ve found someone to replace him but I suspect they never will.
🙁
Thepnr: ignore Rock and take his obsession as a compliment.
To those smug Yessers who voted for Corbyn, claiming they will return to Yes in a future referendum, I would say that it had better happen before the next Holyrood election, because there’s no guarantee we will have a SNP government next time, given the vagaries of the system.
BLiS______d will kill it off, as sure as eggs is eggs.
Still beelin’.
I look at it this way. People are angry, confused, defiant, crying, pissed, pissed off, desparing, hopeful, completely fucked up.
So if the t*olls want to bend over and asked to be kicked up the jacksie, who are we to tell then to get up?
It;s a bit of catharsis, before battle recommences.
prodigal?
Don’t ask me.
@ Chick McGregor 8:14pm Relative ?
And another thing I just got my VAT return in, having been almost out of probation, same as the last 2 years when I was late with one. Flaming election I clean forgot it on Wendesday, I blame it on the Tories.
Oh wait …
… it was the Tories called the election it IS their fault!
Mmmm …
… link to youtube.com
Chick McGregor@ 8.14
Open door?
Peace Always
Beers in the fridge
Oh, too many letters. coldbeer!
The word I thought of which fits with the other letters was PERSISTS
each – per
sis family member
ts – st backwards
Unfortunately, cannot say if that was the word for the missing clue as todays answers are not for Saturday’s Xword.
Where I’ve been since Friday:
And now talk of Sinn Fein possibly taking up WM seats in return for a unification of Ireland referendum.
Time for my shot, Nursie.
Make it a big ‘un……
“And now talk of Sinn Fein possibly taking up WM seats in return for a unification of Ireland referendum.
As far as I know TC, from the Ireland Act 1998, Stormont can hold this any time it likes, as long as it’s not within 7 years of any previous one. But it’s not in Westminster’s power to enforce one. So I think this is stirring it, which, by the way, I thoroughly approve of 🙂
“So I think this is stirring it, which, by the way, I thoroughly approve of.”
Really? Can’t say I’ve noticed. Heeheeheehee!
I’ve been trying to calm down since the weekend by tree-hugging, chanting “om”, drinking mineral water and doing bending exercises. I’ll be back on the vino by Saturday night, I fear.
I notice quite a few regulars are taking a break, which is quite understandable. Lots of recharging required for what is obviously going to be a much longer struggle than many hoped.
@Tinto Chiel
I’m kind of back to reaching out to those currently against Indy with honesty and empathy, but mixed up with a bit of stirring for fun.
I’m actually enjoying it now the pressure’s off, I bounced quickly. Perhaps inspired by the bounce that happened after 18th Sep when I came on to Wings about 5pm on Friday, dispirited, and regulars were already making plans for GE 2015.
What will be will be, and all we can do is our very best.
Tinto, a few glasses of peat juice is an excellent restorative kid.
I haven’t quite caught the bounce yet. I remember by 11 o’clock a.m.on 19/9/14 I had started to send texts to yessers saying it was an achievement to have gone from 30% to 45% and we would get there in stages, but at the moment everything is so unclear. Think I’ll be ok by the end of the week, though. I admire your cyber efforts btl on the Express etc. but don’t know how you can stomach it sometimes.
“a few glasses of peat juice”?
*prods at expression with sharp stick*
Mmmm…sounds suspiciously like malt whisky. I get into trouble if I drink yon stuff, Fred.
Adam’s wine for the next few days and some birch thrashing, methinks.
@yesindyref2
You’ve just given me an excuse to play this again that I played on Wings Off Topic on the 19th September. Sums it up I think.
@Thepnr
Yes, the dream is nowhere over!
I’m leavng a track for Rocky on MT …
Good main thread tonight guys! 🙂
@off-topickers…
Here WE go.
Yes WE can, now WE must!
Daisy knows xx
Wednesday morning.
Yes!
Will the deaths from the horrific fire in London be the end for Boris Johnson’s dream of becoming Prime Minister?
He was responsible for the reduction in London Fire Brigade staff numbers.
He shut down ten fire stations, some near the affected tower block.
People will say that the deaths caused by the fire were largely avoidable, and some of the blame and the anger will be aimed at former Mayor of London Boris Johnson.
Quite right David, the fat bastard should resign from parliament completely, right now!
Don’t call the evil bastard fat, it’s not polite Fred.
Peace Always
The Burning Hell:”Fuck the Government, I Love You”
Peace Always
@ Dave McEwan Hill, 14/6/17, 11:14am
Quote from your post on The parlour game thread:
PS to last post.
I didn’t mean all yes groups; there have been notable exceptions which carried on working.
I also didn’t mean to block quote the entire comment! 🙂
For; Tinto, Cactus, K1 and all Tree Huggers everywhere.
Peace Always
Thanks, Smallaxe, but I encountered a cholla cactus on holiday: bad wee bugger, soanitis!
Hey huggers, group tree hugs are the best, but if you’re on your own, I like the ones best where you can just touch your fingertips together.
Sure, I’ll offer love to the desert.
Then go for some dessert.
Ice cream.. mmmmm
NB Just heard them play ‘The Charlatans’ on Radio Shortbread there.. how timely, how good.
Meant to say, no offence, of course, Cactus 😀 .
You’d need a group to hug your way around a coastal redwood or a giant sequoia, of course.
Was in Muir woods just a fortnight ago: quite magnificent and I can’t forget them.
Mind you, our own wee Fortingall yew gives it a run for their money, age-wise.
The Cadzow oaks are worth a look-see guys!
Betty Boop @ 10.02
Totally agree with your comments.
With the benefit of hindsight (mine being brilliant)
Yes needed to stay engaged.
But hopefully there are still many just waiting on the date being announced.
My observations in my own area have lead me to believe? that the SNP were just not able to cope with all the new members.
A group of about 30 in and around my social circle joined their local branch.
Enthusiastic and intelligent they weren’t exactly welcomed with open arms…..instead the attitude ? was very much…
Don’t think that you can just walk in here and change things to suit your selves!!!we have been at this for years and it’s us that got you this far.
You are probably all ex Labour voter’s (not true, and what they were shouldn’t have mattered) and we are not even sure that your not here to spy for Labour and wreck things.
Not true and not right, two in particular were seasoned campaigners,who while in the volantry sector won a fair few battle’s with the council’s? on various issues and resources in their local area…. but the local branch felt how they felt…
And to be honest it is independance they are interested in an not the SNP..but no one knows for sure if the current SNP would survive Independence any way.
That group were and are a valuable resource for the campaign and just need direction,they thought that the obvious place to go was the Local SNP branch!
Had there been an alternative credible group then they would have been a lot more active than they are.
So I do agree that a Yes non party group’s of some description would have been useful.
First thing I did when Indy ref 2 went in the manifesto was check my local Yes Facebook page and I wasn’t the only one according to the “we will contact you soon” generic message.
So it seems we kind of know what to do…but need to get our thinking caps on about how to do it!
Indeed, Fred. I’m quite close to them as the crow flies. It’s just like going into the Entwood at times. I was in there one late autumn afternoon when I heard a strange pattering sound which I couldn’t explain. Every time I looked around I heard the sound somewhere else. Very M R James, until an acorn landed on my head and I realised it was the time the acorns fall out of their wee cups.
I gathered a good few up and then researched how you to replicate the best germination conditions. Eventually I put them into little pots and awaited developments but when I came home from work one night I found a squirrel had raided the lot.
Installed a mine field, machine-gun post and an electrified fence after that, of course.
I love nature…..
Tinto, you were quite right to stay away from the Cholla Cactus, we wouldn’t want you to finish up like W/Minster, full of little Pricks! I prefer hugging bushes of the herbal variety.
Peace Always
“I prefer hugging bushes of the herbal variety.”
It’s all the rage in a good number of American states, Smallaxe, where medical use of cannabis has been legalised. California, I think, goes legal quite soon and poor-quality, semi-arid land has been bought up cheaply to use as C-farms.
It’s Puff the Magic Dragon a gogo, methinks. Good news for those whose conditions can be alleviated by cannabis. Bad news for Big Pharma who flog expensive drugs for these illnesses.
Tinto; I approve wholeheartedly the use of cannabis and I think that it should be used medically for certain illnesses such as my own, it increases the appetite and relieves the symptoms of MS and many other ailments.
The problem at the moment in this country is because it is illegal the purity cannot be assured and it is very expensive at £220 an ounce which means people mix it with tobacco to make it go further hence they get addicted to nicotine, not cannabis as many people are led to believe.
Even if it was legalised here it should be treated as alcohol and only made available to over 18yr olds. Industrial hemp is not used enough because of the bad press (fake news) that has been given to this extraordinary plant.
link to forbes.com
win-win-for-the-economy-and-the-environment/#4591699d289b
link to auto.howstuffworks.com
Peace Always
Yep. Some states seem much more open-minded and practical than this corrupt Union.
Ensuring purity and safety would be an obvious benefit of legalisation and regulated growing.
You can imagine the Daily Mail headlines, of course.
You don’t have to imagine, Tinto, have a look at this trailer from the 1930s film; Reefer Madness!
And this,
link to massroots.com
Peace Always
Louis Armstrong:”Muggles”
Muggles used to be jazz slang for Marijuana.Now, where have I heard that name before, JK?
Peace Always
ELP: “Fanfare for the Common Man”
“Lucky Man”
“The Weight” Levon Helm & James Taylor, Steve Winwood, Sheryl Crow, Jacob Dylan, Emmylou Harris.
Peace Always
Hi Smallaxe.
Here’s another Keith Emerson for you. It was uploaded in September last year, explaining why I hadn’t seen it. Ages since I did a Youtube search for the track.
Hi Brian, it’s a long time since I heard that track, here’s one with King Crimson and Greg Lake on vocals;
Peace Always
We may as well have the full set Brian; Carl Palmer drum solo with Atomic Rooster!
Peace Always
Street stall in Airdrie town centre, 11am – 1pm, come along and show your support for indyref2.
link to airdrieforindependence.wordpress.com
Snow Patrol: “Just Say Yes”
Ken Andrews: “Just Say Yes”
The Cure: “Just Say Yes”
When it comes to Independence JUST SAY YES!
Goodnight*
Peace To All Always
@ Liz g, 5:23pm
Thanks for commenting Liz. Immediately after Indyref, the first local branch meeting was stowed with new members and members who hadn’t bothered that much before. There was also a meeting of the local Yes group tacked on to the end and quite a number stayed on – most never to be seen again.
Betty Boop @ 12.45
That’s exactly what I mean,all the Yes campaigners were looking for a place to go to regroup and plan.
The feeling that “this isn’t over ” started about tea time on the 19th.
Remember all the we are the 45 stuff!
And I don’t think that the branches knew what hit them.
We need to find and utilise that energy again.
We just need a Yes umbrella organisation.
Eh saw fowk on here saying we should go easy on these tory cunts.
Party of business, Scots need em fir business etc. Utter pish.
Let me state this clearly and unequivocally, if you vote tory in Scotland, you are a ("Tractor" - Ed) to Scotland.
Simple as that.
Lest we forget who these bastards are and what they represent.
Is that him starting wi the dots again. Awa and tak yir break Stu.
“Eh saw fowk on here saying we should go easy on these tory cnuts.
Party of business, Scots need em fir business etc. Utter pish.
Let me state this clearly and unequivocally, if you vote tory in Scotland, you are a ("Tractor" - Ed) to Scotland.
Simple as that.
Lest we forget who these bar stewards are and what they represent.”
Let it through Stu. Play nice now 🙂 I am responsible for the things I say – not you and not wings.
Sorry Stu.
Wiz on the previous page thinking you were at it again. I’m a bad boy lol. Hammer time 🙂
“FRIDAY” Rebecca Black:
Peace Always
Morning Smallaxe, Rebecca & chums fairly remind me of my own departure for school! what?
Morning, Fred, that disnae look like a 42 bus to Cranhill School but I was drinking heavily at that time so ah might be mistaken.
Peace Always
Prayers for the good folk of London, tomorrow and the days ahead:
Kendrick Lamar, ‘Alright’ –
Ian, may I join you in respect and remembrance for those who have and are suffering. I have no words.
Rodrigues: “Cause”
Peace and Love to All
“Saturday Sun” Nick Drake;
Peace Always
William Wallace
I see you’re still game. 🙂
Joe Benson – Rock and Roll Jungle
Wullie Wallace
They are not all bar stewards, some of them are bra studs.
Fred, TC & Co….
I know yous like to chat occasionally about old buildings and places etc. Don’t know if any of you are aware of this site so i’ll just drop it off here for your perusal:
Abandoned Scotland
link to twitter.com
Laughing oot loud at Cameron Brodie
Eh grew up as Douglas Toddy
and that’s plenty Jack cause ehm still game
Wha ever voted tory hing yir heid in shame. 🙂
Politics is not a fucking game.
Cameron B Brodie @ 1.28
Hey good to see you back !!
Hope everything is good with you..my friend ?
Are you back to stay ?
@ Cameron
Indeed I do:)
Liz g
Hi Liz. I’m fine thanks, though going cold turkey from WOS was tough. I’m afraid I’m just popping in from time to time, which means I can’t keep up with events so don’t feel it right I get more involved than posting the occasional tune. Unfortunately my options are a bit limited at present but I’ll get myself sorted as soon as the next indyref is scheduled.
William 🙂
Nolan Porter – If I Could Only Be Sure
Thanks for that, Stoker. Looks right up my rue.
Good to see you back, Cameron. You have been missed.
Quite a party on the M/T last night (I went to bed early).
It’s getting more like Off Topic. I’m confused.
Joan Baez: “Where have all the Flowers GONE”
When will we ever learn?
Peace Always
Good morning Tinto, 🙂
“Confusion” ELO:
Peace Always
Haven’t heard that for a long time, Smallaxe. Seems to come from a happier time compared to the shitstorm we’re enduring now, and all because Call Me Dave tried to outflank UKIP. That terrible fire was the last straw.
I’ve got Nana’s tin foil hat on at the moment but I think the Libdems will, “for the sake of the country” ride to the Tories rescue: price will be soft Brexit or even a second referendum. Then watch more fur fly.
Harvey and I are going out to count the daisies on my back grass now…
Heard this on the car radio this week and enjoyed it again:
@Tinto Chiel
Oi get your own tinfoil hat mister!
Thinking about tinfoil hats and suits of armour, there could be a small business opportunity here. I’ve Grannie’s old treadle machine in the shed and I’m a dab hand with the scissors.
Mmmm I wonder if there’s a government grant available?
Need to think of a slogan for the ads. Smallaxe, are you free??
Hi Tinto, Give Harvey a carrot from me. 🙂
Another Cat(Yusuf Islam)Stevens track;
“Oh Very Young”
Peace Always
I’m free!
Toryproof Tinwear sounds good to me, count me in, Nana.
Peace Always
“When Something is Wrong with my Baby” Sam & Dave;
Peace Always
@ Stoker, brilliant site, wanst a midgie-raker, always a midgie-raker! Saw Donald Anderson at the Barras yesterday, looking for unconsidered trifles!
Fred; gies a shout if ye clock a lucky wan, wid ye?
Burning Flames: “Rubbish Man”
Peace Always #Manky
Nana, have just knocked out a couple of foil fedoras in my shed. Look pretty good. Going down The Barras with them later, will drop in with your foil hat.
Tomorrow: red foil beret prototype on the stocks.
Tuesday: a whole new world.
@William Wallace
Don’t be offended by the Tractor Ed. stuff, I understand the reason for it. We can swear and express our opinions more here than any other site but for some reason tractor ed is a line that the Rev has drawn.
Believe me there will be a reason for it and must partly be not to hand the opposition any ammunition.
In my view Tractor Ed’s in the normal electorate are extremely rare animals. What we have in the main is unknowledgable folk requiring education.
That’s the job for Wings and me, you too if your up for it.
Tinto, put my name on one of those Fedoras, I was wearing one of mine this after at a small soiree over the border in Engerland, I found the locals friendly but slightly less…But maybe that’s just the way the Empire biscuit crumbles, wot say you?
Ps, If you have any idea what I’m talking about, please do me the kindness of forwarding the said idea to my good self I would be forever in your debt, I thank you in exquisite anticipation.
Peace Always #Manky
Nae probs, Smallaxe. Is it still 666, Bessie Braddock Way, Annan?
Red foil beret and groovy fedora to follow.
No charge, mon vieux.
That is most kind of you, my dear Tinto, you’re munificence positively astounds my humble and unworthy carcase, I thank your ancestor’s wisdom for their unerring foresight to have bred such a fine example of humanity and ethereal beauty in order that lowly peons like I can gaze upon and dream wildly of aspiring to be as butterflies who dream of being Eagles, when our gaze has the great good fortune of seeing merely where your shadow had once graced a moment in time.
You have been reading writing that I wrote:
We’re all just prisoners here of our own device;
Peace Always
😎 (Anon+ed)
Thepnr @4.17pm;
Ambassadorial mastery of answering with dignified aplomb. Respect sir.
“Let’s Stick Together”
Peace always my Friend
@Smallaxe –
🙂 🙂 🙂
BTW, Tinto, old bean, you were correct with my address, very remiss of me not to confirm but you will have noticed, of course, the end of the youtube link; User 666. Spooky intit?
“Ah Sweet Mystery of Life” Mario Lanza;
Peace Always
Hi, Ian, it was getting quiet in here, I could hear my eyelashes battering off my eyelids and it was echoing, startin’ tae get a wee bit feart tae tell the truth soawis, wit ah mean is tae tell the truth, ah wis a wee bit feart. Mah herts still thumpin’ soitis! Stir crazy, they call it, like the jail.
“Jailhouse Rock”
Thank you very much, uh uh!
😎
Peace Always Brother
I wonder, who’s kissing her now! I don’t even know where a woman keeps her now, never mind me kissing it!
There she goes with her Nose in the Air;
Still don’t know where her Now is!
Peace Always
Cut to the chase, a London-based film company claims they are going to sue me, they paid the National Trust to film on “their land”, I challenged them as it was on the public road and the only road to my home, they ran off to the police, does anyone have a link to “CODE OF PRACTICE FOR FILMING IN THE HIGHLANDS”. Not giving all details, always more than one side to a story, I am totally confident I did the right thing to stand up for my rights. Knowledge is power.
“Sorrow” the Merseys;
“Only one Woman” The Marbles (Graham Bonnet)
Mama Cass Elliot: “It’s Getting Better”
Peace Always
asklair;
I don’t even know if a Code of Practice for Filming in the Highlands exists but I hope someone here will be able to advise you, my friend. Meantime;
“Stand Up For Your Rights”
Peace Always
Nae sign o’ bbcstl’s the night folks, got telt by Rev…
It’s…hard out here…
Hard!
Softly Softly;
Peace Always K1
G G G Goodnight folks;
Peace to All
Good morning Peeps; 🙂
“Monday morning” Fleetwood Mac;
Peace Always
Morning, Smallaxe. Yes, that 666 thing: spooky indeed.
Have had to boost my “ethereal beauty” with some blusher this morning. Trying out new beret later. Will advise.
News everywhere pretty grim. What a state we’re in, on at least two levels.
Trying to cheer up. Unfortunately, I don’t have a convertible to drive around in with this at full volume:
Still don’t understand the lyrics, mind you.
Morning, Tinto, try 42 levels;
“Tears, feel the tears
I can feel the tears
Running through the years”
Level42: “It’s over”
Peace Always
Cheer up, Tinto, all this is caused by one
“Evil Woman” ELO;
Let’s have;
Happy Mondays: “Sunshine and Love”
Peace Always
That HM track was a strange one.
Topical, moi?
Ruby Murray always means curry tae me, but aye ah take yer point…wis jist huvin’ a laugh 🙂
K1, me too, also, as well.
😎
Peace Always
They’re just like us, Tinto my Friend;
“Common People” Pulp;
Luvly day intit!
😎
Peace Always
A bit cloudy at times in Darkest Lan, en effet, old fruit.
Pulp knew me so well, purescumsoanumurr.
Mind you, Jarvis was quite a clever wee sod, living in Paris, with a woman’n’that, wasn’t he?
He did reside with a Jeune femme, I believe her name was;
Thin Lizzie: ” Parisienne Walkways”
Widbrekyerhertsoitwid!
La Paix Toujours Mon Ami
They’re out in force today on MT.
Was it something someone said? 😉
link to twitter.com
DAY ONE!
I think it’s the heat that attracts them, they should market a spray to get rid of them, like an aerosol spray. I’ll need to get a spellchecker, did I spell arsehole ok up there^?
DAY OH!
Peace Always my Friend
For avocados of Beetlejuice, here is the splendiffrerous version of The Banana Boat song.
Did I spell aficionados ok? Must remembar Spelchequer
Peace Always
For splendiffrerous, please read splendifferous. My apollogees.
Dounlode Chelpekker as APAS!
“Lost for Words” Pink Floyd;
Peace Always All Ways
If you listened to that last track, last verse, what came into Your mind?
“So I open my door to my enemies
And I ask could we wipe the slate clean
But they tell me to please go fuck myself
You know you just can’t win”
Answers on a question please. A wonderful prize will be awarded for the best thought. You can be the proud owner of a shoelace that I wore to a Sydney Devine gig, back in the day, man.
Sydney Devine: “Scotland We Love You”
Sydney Devine: “Scotland Forever”
Gon yersel Steak n’ Kidney 😎
Peace Always
Enya: “The Humming”
Enya: “Echoes in Rain”
Enya: “It’s in the Rain”
Peace and Calm Always
Hello ladies;
😎 (shades on. I’m in the Dark)(on a horse)
Peace Always
with all this strife that has been happening music seemed so far away. But link to youtube.com
GO for it main article, ahm hingin’ oot here with ra Wingers 😉
Scotland.
Yes!
X.
I reckon we’re due a Wings get-ra-gither…
Ahm callin’ it.. now.
Who is comin’?
Same place.
Glasgow.
SCO.
X.
Anybuddy FREE on Saturday the 1st of July!!!???
Hi, Michael; I Hope you’re feeling better.
“Good to see You” Neil Young;
Peace Always
Hi, Cactus, what’s the deal in July?
“What’s Going On” Marvin Gaye;
Peace Always
CameronB Brodie;
“Where do you Go” No Mercy”
Peace Always
“Sun is Shining, weather is Sweet” Bob Marley;
One Love
Aye aye Smallaxe ~
Aye, just puttin’ it out there for interest.
It’s the start of next month and it’s a Saturday!
Time for some more ice-cream.
@ Liz g, 16/6/17, 1:41am
That may well be where National Yes Registry comes in. Groups in contact and working together with no “head” to knock off. It needs more support though if it is to succeed.
Sorry for late reply. Just working my way through comments.
Betty Boop @9.06
When it comes to late replies.. I win.. LOL
I know personally of a local group of about 30 VERY committed people..also some (around 10) that can be motivated…we just need direction and/leadership…but not party political..
I am not a leadership kind of person,and, don’t have any authority any way…but all of us are a very powerful and hardworking group….so I can only say…where is YES..???
Message tae the smallaxe on
the 18th at eleven pm
Ambassadorial isnae required
ehm sure o that you ken
fir eh may be a drunken fool
wi far too much tae say
but reason it oot eh can and will
but yet lament that day
Fir eh am fair enjoying meself
being pished and rather brash
reasoned intellectual encounters
ya kin stick that up yir arse.
See meh wife eh met way back
some score and more year since
once upon a time she telt me
play the fool when you are minced
watch how others treat you
watch and you will see
when they think you but a fool
then watch how they treat thee
and so eh did the fool eh played
a drunken fool tae blame
when everything is done and said
this life is but a game
@ liz 1:41am.
Battle buses seem to work for political parties. You can buy road worthy coaches for less than 5 grand.
If abody is up for crowdfunding a few battle buses and drivers, I am of the belief that we can mobilise the schemes as well as students ah ower Scotland.
Eh hae fowk ready tae stand the doors and deal wi ony eediots if need be.
Whas up fir it? 🙂
Scotland’s William Wallace says:
That and that alone William Wallace
That is key.
Cheers.
To, William Wallace
I play the fool as well my Friend
As you have plainly seen
But when writing all my posts up thread
Sober I have been
I gave up drinking long ago
I was spending too much wealth
I did not give it up for me
But for other people’s health
I am a peaceful man you know
And I just can’t stand the pain
Of punching nutters out of pubs
Then punching them again
Take whatever floats your boat dear Will
We get only one short life to live
And I know that you’d give that life
For Scotland if you had to give
We all on here in our own little way
Are fighting the good fight
A lot of wrongs need righting
Together we’ll put things right
The idea you have about students
And the schemes I do agree
A student once and learning still
And the East End Schemes bred me
I thank you William Wallace
For your passionate epistle
Written especially to me
And hope to meet you soon my Friend
In a Nation that is Free
Smallaxe
Peace Always
Bobby Bazini-Bubblegum (I cant stop this feeling) link to youtube.com
At the moment I want to know this…
Gut feelings.
Hello all, and thanks for all your contributions. Keeps me going, even in the tough times.
I don’t know if the following ramblings will be of any use, hit the mark or miss the wall completely… but chances are there will be bits, and some of those bits will be usable.
The Yes Movement and the SNP
I think the YES Movement recognised very quickly that it needed a Political Party to occupy the legislative space, and the SNP fitted the bill very nicely.
I’m not at all sure the SNP recognised that it absolutely needs the YES Movement (not just as voters and fund raisers) but to cover all the ground a ‘staid, grown up, responsible, suited, businesslike, (boring)’ Political Party cannot.
If/When it does realise this, it will realise that YES+SNP covers all the ground, they get to be responsible and upbeat, the Yes Movement, gets to be paukie, witty, blunt, innovative, the bad cop to their good one, and boy do they need that contrast now after the kicking they took at the GE.
That was skin of the teeth stuff.
I don’t know if they were just knackered, caught on the hop, complacent, spread too thin, or picked the wrong tactics, but definitely they have lessons to learn. Their heads have dropped… but here’s the thing the YES Movement has got its second wind, and it would be really good if the SNP communicated with us enough that we can all be pointing and pushing in roughly the same direction.
What I hear time and again, is
they win no-one over with free prescriptions,
they win no-one over with free bus travel for OAP’s,
today a well off pensioner even told me, ‘why do I need Winter Fuel Allowance’,
and free school dinners, a teacher pointed out to me… we’ve got children coming to this school and their parents are a Doctor and a Dentist, they ain’t short of money…
Don’t get me wrong – all of the above commentators are happy to take, all of the above. They just don’t vote SNP. To be blunt, they take and then They Slag off the SNP for being ‘reckless’ with their taxes.
So here’s an Initiative, they can do, which might get them the credit they deserve for the above policies, which I think are decent and responsible.
It is called:
AYE DO, WE DO 2, YES WE CAN
Kids are getting taught to swim at school, but because of austerity, they cannot afford to go swimming in the holidays.
This proposed SNP Led Charity – aims to give every Primary School Child 12 Free Swimming Pool Tickets for the Summer Hols
And the collection boxes, are placed deliberately
at the Pharmacy for when folks get their free script,
they’re on the buses for the OAP contribution,
they’re at the schools (and parents are written too and asked to contribute if they can), they’re in every SNP Office,
and the 11% pay rise that the SNP MP’s donate to charity – this would be a good one for them.
It is the Day Job of a Decent Government to protect its sick, its young and its elderly, this charity would close the criticism that they are too soft, too generous.
It costs too much to Police possible frauds with Prescriptions – but this allows money to come back into the system and fits in with Early Intervention – active kids are more likely to be healthy kids.
And the next time a well off person says, ‘why am I getting free prescriptions, I can afford to pay’ – we have an answer – Aye Do, We Do 2, Yes We Can.
Picture the scene – a group of kids, asked, who likes to swim, and the whole class shouting – “Aye do”.
And all the contributors making donations, ‘We do 2″ Yes We Can.
And now for the Yes Movement – currently we lost a lot of YES voters due to concerns about Immigration. It drives me nuts, but it is there.
And here is a Fact.
There will be an Increase in Immigration under Brexit as Teressa May is actively seeking trade deals with India, China and Brazil – the cost of which is free movement of people – and that will be without our Human Rights being protected.
The Rape Clause Tories are Toxic just now after Grenfell – time we told people they’re out to burn down all our houses.
Anyway, that’s me for now. Away to print off some posters from
Indy Poster Boy – Every Car’s Billboard.
One last thought… the SNP may not be able to ‘get back on track’ in the way we want. Any organisation has to pick its direction and then stick to it, and they don’t alway get it right. If that happens, remember your a Yesser, first and foremost.
And another last thought, the Media are never going to change, ever. You want people to know about the McCrone Report, print it off and put it through a letterbox, then do it again, and again and again, same with Wings and WGD. The SNP are way behind on this and we can’t wait for they anymore.
Keep on keeping on folks.
YES WE CAN – NOW WE MUST.
Paula Rose;
I’ll tell you this; “It’s Growing”
But first, you have to plant a seed and;
“Let it Grow”
Peace and Love Always Paula Rose 🙂
Paula
Gabber house?
Important – being served now…
Turn me Loose
Peace Always
With May trying to stagger her shambles of Brexit through the quivering walls of a falling down Westminster with the help of a Morris dancing troupe of DUP limbo dancers, Sturgeon’s Song is heard over a hushed chamber:
And the People say…
Peace Always
Paula
That was a serious suggestion. 🙂
Boom Terrorism – Gabberhouse
Hey everybuddy, how we doin’?
Here’s another sister, and brother.
Check out the line up!.. but most importantly.. check out that local vocal!
Nazareth.
Cactus, that was 1974, here’s the same local vocal in 2010.
He never gave up and neither will we!
Peace Always Cactus my Friend
I was going to put this on the main thread but I think it belongs here.
We can do little to comfort or help all of the victims in this crime, but we can do a lot to ensure that it never happens here in Scotland and we can do a lot more in an Independent Scotland!
Artists for Grenfell:”Bridge Over Troubled Water Official Video!”
My wish is for Peace for People Everywhere!
Who made the Supreme Court “supreme” and how does it’s authority relate to international law? Westminster knows it has no legal authority to tell Scotland what to do, they are simply relying on the perceived dominance of English legal culture and the public’s uncritical respect for tradition. Well fuck tradition, it’s one of the slave master’s favorite tools.
The Precisions – If This Is Love (I’d Rather Be Lonely)
@Daisy Walker
I thought that was a great post and thanks for putting it up.
I think sometimes when a post is so long it doesn’t get the attention it deserves. Some good ideas in there that you said.
Cheers ma mucker.
Stormy weather – beautiful rendition…
I still come over all unnecessary when you’re around Paula. 😉
Nathaniel Mayer – I Had a Dream
Aweright Smallaxe ~
Cheers for your 2010’er, some sound with the orchestra backing too!
Hey Daisy ~
Aye, some excellent ideas up above, good food for thought.
Also, it would be braw if we could have rowing boats back at the parks… Rouken-Glen Pond, Victoria Park, Bingham’s Pond.
link to theglasgowstory.com
Same goes for Glasgow’s River Clyde.
So much potential.
An ode tae you mah dear smallaxe
bit eh am nae big big tree
like yirsel ehm a fan o boabs
and oft converse in poetry
Ehm no sure just why eh dae this
an ehm assuming yir the same
we dinnae dae it just to be noticed
but we dae it ah the same
Eh micht come across as angry
and insufferable though eh may be
you are richt to say it clearly
that we must unite for liberty
and so we rally with common cause
and with noble purpose be
let’s meet and unite
fir a wee quick pint
and set our country free
Fir wha daur meddle wi me 😉
made an erse o line four
on verse two and lost the game
what it wiz really meant to say wiz
“let’s not wait for love in vain”
Wiz meant to be a reference
to the great man they call boab
fucked it up like a drunken twat
copy pasting wi adobe 🙂
It’s guid tae see that ithers
Wa’d love tae verse in rhyme
Fur many cannae dae whit yous dae
Cause they’re no that way inclined
Tae speak tae love of country
Of values wrought through pain
Evoke what many struggle wi
Tae fight fur no mere gain
It’s hard tae put tae words the heart
An organ much decried
It’s correspondence speaks tae feelings
The heid ofttimes denies
We journey on this sea of life
Fur brief oor time it is
Tae lift the burden from the young
Can be oor only gift
Sons and daughters of oor time
Past, present, future, last
We owe it tae oor history
Tae hold tae freedom fast
Keep on versing wi yer rhymes
In all the ways ye can
Spread the word, oor time has come
Tae take care of Scotland.
Cactus;
Glad you liked the 2010 track. Good idea of your’s to return the rowing boats to the parks. I missed Daisy’s post up thread it must have been in Admin. for a day.
Come in No.7 yer times up!
Peace Always
If we’re doing poetry section here’s a poem I wrote initially about the assault on Iraq but updated watching Syria and then the vengeance attacks in London and Manchester
It was initially dedicated to Bush and Blair but I remembered that a huge majority of the UK Parliament who also voted for Iraq are getting away with it as Bush and Blair are conveniently getting all the blame – and then the bastards voted to continue bombing Syria.
There has to be a hell
I went to bed last night
I wept
And as I slept
I heard no tread
As the silent dead moved by
But why, oh why, oh why I cried
Our leaders lied. Our leaders lied
I had no part
No bombs, no bullets in my hands
We marched, we marched
We sang, we sighed
Do not invade Iraq we cried
God knows it wasn’t us
And then – the silent dead replied
A million quiet voices sighed
No bombs and bullets in our hands
No bombs, no bullets then
It wasn’t us, it wasn’t us
We did no harm to yours,
But on our lands and on our homes
Your bombs and bullets fell
And on our children in our arms.
And in the hearts and in the minds
In weeping, bleeding, burning lands
Of hope, of life, of future shorn
A savage hate is born
So, now – our blood will share the pain
And still
The silent dead march by
As far as I can see
They weep with me.
If this could be
There is no God to tell
But pray, for those who send the bombs
There has to be a hell.
William Wallace;
An ode to you dear William
You say that your no big tree
That matters not a jot my Friend
My axe is not for thee
And your not sure why you do this
Well then I’m just like thee
I don’t do it to be noticed
It just pours out of me
You have every reason for anger
And insufferable your not
This situation’s insufferable
For each true-hearted Scot
To that common cause we rally
And noble our purpose is too
So we’ll meet for that pint
And maybe a cigar or a fag
Lit from the embers
Of a burnt Butchers Rag
Nemo Me Impune Lacessit!
Bydand
Peace Always my Friend
Ah miss the abundance of puttin’ greens we used tae have tae. Beating ma brothers on bets of 10 pence a hole wiz always a joy 🙂
Dave McEwan Hill; I remember your poem well Dave, here was my reply at that time. I think both are still very relevant
The tears flow down
my pain torn face
I am not part of
this inhuman race
Like a waterfall salted rivers fell
Down my wrinkled cheeks
straight into hell
They turned to steam in Hades heat
No one heard
The hissing sound
Like the final breath
of children Lying
Unheard unseen
but surely dying
For what they died no one would tell
They died but
did not
belong In hell
I know not where they
went when dead
But that salty taste was
On my head of
tear mixed blood spread
in an Eastern dawn
There gone there gone
They can’t come back
airborne attack
Their young lives were blown away
Like dust for what for what
For rich men’s lust
Who’s children never die in dust
But live as privileged
cursed spawn
Of demons who have fed upon
The bones of wretched
poor born pawns
In a game that just
goes on and on
On and on it goes
unstopping
Never ending bombs
are dropping
No one cares
no one needs them
The price to kill
Would cost less
To feed them
The sky cried
Death and
Stole
Young breath
Are we to blame
I die in shame
Peace Always
K1; I’m working on your’s, won’t be long.
😎
Peace Always
Oh dear K you are a one
I see you’ve joined the rhyming fun
You say not many can do what we can do
But I notice that you can do it too
We speak of love of country
Our values and our dream
To evoke and awaken others
With a rhyme or joke or meme
Our words are aimed at the unaware
To show the brain behind their eyes
That the head can be confused at times
But true hearts won’t tell them Lies
Our time is short upon this earth
So do our best we must
To leave a free land for our young
When they walk upon our dust
For them we must die hero’s
And fight with tooth and nail
For wouldn’t it be something
To be part of a heroic tale
A tale that tells of Scotland
And how She was held in chains
And of the heroes who helped free Her
An’ Awe Jock Tamson’s Wean’s
So aye we’ll keep on versing wi’ oor stories and oor rhymes
An’ hope the wan’s that come ahent will never ken sic’ times
Peace Always
Well, the longest day is behind us mates & the nights will be drawin in once more! Just back from the back o beyond where the nae-midgies were much in evidence, strangely!
Catchin up wi the crack & the poetry.
Hi, Fred, midges, lucky wans or Bitey wans?
Peace Always
@Smallaxe, WW et al –
O/T is the place for a tonic right now.
Much appreciated.
Ian,
You’re more than welcome, Brother. Thank you.
Peace Always
Here’s one for all those in or who support Salmond’s yoonionist party. TGIF. 🙂
Basement Jaxx – Supersonic
Joe Cocker: “She came in through the Bathroom Window”
Peace Always
Love poetry me – all skips about – harmless…
Poetry comes from some very strange parts of Scotland.
McTeagle the Poet;
From some very strange kinds of Scots
Peace Always
“Poetry comes from some very strange parts of Scotland.”
Since the M/T is such a bummer, I humbly submit:
No wonder the Rev needs a break…..
Hi, Tinto, I think I know what you mean!
Violin Melody ft. Maud Pie – Rocks (Maud’s Rock Poem Remix)
Rock.
You are a rock.
Grey.
You are grey.
Like a rock.
Which you are.
Rock.
Rocks; these are my rocks.
Sediments: make me sedimental.
Smooth and round, asleep in the ground.
Shades of brown and grey…
Peace Always
Nae midgie at Ben Oovie Smallaxe, nae midgie-motor has ever penetrated its sylvan glades. The rocks indeed remain unsullied, apart fae the fanny wan on the other place!
Smallaxe at 12.04
Cheers. I actually don’t care who collects my bins or what will be the price of stamp or who runs the trains in Scotland.
I want out of this disgraceful murderous state above all else.
Big, fat, muckle bridie.
Sittin’ there, you look richt tidy.
Bought oot o’ Davy Wallusses;
Fit to be eaten by keengs in pallusses.
I sometimes think my mum prefers my dad as much as me.
You ought to see the pile of beans she gives my dad for tea.
Now, he needs beans but so do I,
In fact, I need them more,
Coz my dad’s very very old and me? I’m only four.
I’m five really, but it doesn’t fit.
Taken from “Now That’s what I Call Poetry, Volume 33”.
@Dave McEwan Hill –
Good to see you in here.
Have been reading the MT, and it’s been a good one, well, it was until you-know-who turned up. But it’s got a good range of views and links and ‘banter’. For me, it’s the type of thread which shows why WOS has been so successful – if, for example, you compare the sheer amount of material in that thread to any of the mainstream ‘discussions’, there’s no contest at all. So many folk have been duped into believing that set-pieces such as BBCQT constitute meaningful ‘debate’. Even on radio, where, in theory at least, there ‘should’ be more space and time for real discussion, the usual suspects (i.e. state-sponsored hosts) keep a tight rein on any potential dissent, and seem to to it so ‘naturally’ and consistently that it seems okay to the average listener.
I’ve noted many of your letters to The National, and admire your tenacity. It must feel like a thankless task at times, but I just wanted to take the opportunity to tell you, directly, in this relatively ‘quiet’ space, that your work is appreciated greatly, and if I’m saying that? there must be hundreds who feel likewise but can’t, won’t, or are unable to express it.
Hoots mon, and more power to ye. 🙂
Cheers, Ian. I can’t help myself. I can’t stop now. We can’t stop now.
Well said Dave, we can’t and won’t stop ever.
Hi, to all of you, things are bad when I see so many of you over here, BDTT do you ever stop eating? 🙂
Play some music or whatever, I’m doing some stuff for the morning but make yourselves at home, Paula Rose may honour you all with her presence if you’re lucky. Michael McCabe, get on here, please.
Peace Always Guys
The Auld Triangle link to youtube.com
Dave, what Ian Brotherhood says!
Imagine a free Scotland full of Rox, who wid want it?
Just finished an excellent book called “Irish!” by John Burrowes, it’s about the heady mix that makes Glasgow & the staggering losses of the famine years. Meanwhile Ireland continued to export grain & livestock to Britain only sixteen miles away, one & a half million people died of starvation & millions more fled the country, (Catholics & Protestants, for Protestants starved also!) in this the richest empire the world had ever seen! Makes ye proud to be British!
Michael McCabe, thank’s for “The Auld Triangle” well timed my Friend.
The Irish Potato Famine?
There was only a blight on the potatoes, the Brits took the rest of the produce at the point of a bayonet!
We don’t have to wonder what they are taking from Scotland.
WE KNOW!!
Peace Always
For those of you who are digital subscribers to the National and use a drawing program to fill in the Xword, here is today’s with the grid unmessed up. Don’t say I’m not good to you.
?dl=0
Chick McGregor;
Good to us! This from the man who asked for help with an 8 letter word and omitted to inform us of the letters already in place!
Shame on you, sir, you should be confined in a room with “Rock” for at least the full 30 seconds that is the maximum possible for any normal human to survive in that environment.
Peace Always my Friend
The potato blight also affected Scotland but much less so as fewer Sots were reliant on potatoes. A vast proportion of the Irish population were TOTALLY reliant on potatoes because the geography of Ireland unlike Scotland’s lent itself to vast production of the crop and the huge population (8 million in 1848)living on smaller and smaller farm grew virtually nothing else on their smallholdings. Large landholders cash crops went to England. The famine and the subsequent depopulation of Ireland was a great benefit the Anglo Irish landholders.
Over 400,000 Irish immigrants came to West Central Scotland and the tales of their efforts to get herein small unsafe vessels matches the horrors of the immigrants trying to cross the Med at this time. Less than half the Irish who set off for America actually survived to enjoy their new home
Smallaxe
Where’s a hard place when you need one? 🙂
Oh goody a crossword – quiet please so’s I can concentrate.
Chick, a hard place is the main thread when Rock is Rolling on and on.
😎
Peace Always
The Famine was not just a one year event, smallholders in Ireland were not admitted to the workhouse until they relinquished their leases. Shetland took 20 years to recover, sailors in the RN had their pay docked to support their parents relief.
Thanks, Dave;
The effect of the Potato famine in Scotland;
link to en.wikipedia.org
Well worth a read.
Peace Always
Paula,
You probably don’t need this as an extra clue to 10ac but it’s a good excuse to dj it.
Mr Fogerty at his best, arguably one of the first identifiably heavy rock numbers.
Never thought I would ever be saying this, thought he was just another lost soul, another sacrifice on the altar of pop mamman, but this good. Christine and the Queens meets Bowie meets Lennon,
To mark Ruth D’s most recent escapade –
Skyhooks, ‘Women In Uniform’ –
Chick;
Well spotted, thanks, I would never have listened to him if you hadn’t played that track, can’t fault it.
Ten Years After: “Love like a Man”
Peace Always
Hi, Ian, I never saw you up there earlier.
Sham-rock: “Tell me Ma”
Peace Always
Hi, Michael;
Glasgow Rangers’ groundbreaking signing!
Peace Always
Everybody went away and left me, sad. I’ll go eat worms and then I’ll go to my wee bed and sob quietly into my pillow.
Oh Well
🙁
Peace Always
Song for Rock:
“Look at me, I’m wonderful” by Bonzo Dog Band
Mornin’ Smallaxe ~
You called the tune excellentaciously yesterday, cool bro.
Here it is for those that don’t know it (2 versions)
“A Minha Menina”
Portuguese, if you please 🙂
Good morning, Cactus,
It’s a Beautiful Day for “A Girl with no Eyes”
Peace Always my Friend
Morning Smallaxe. Just thought I would drop in and put up that Picture on the Wall. I think it is to your Taste. link to youtube.com
Laugh I Nearly Paid My Licence Fee link to youtube.com
Mariachi Mexteca Feat. Hugh Cornwell link to youtube.com
Morning, Michael, thanks for that. 🙂
Gordon Brown:
Peace Always
Afternoon Smallaxe. Gordon Brown ? I am not into Dinosaurs. Mind you some Dinosaurs are better than others. link to youtube.com
Hallorerrchina’s howzit gon.
I haven’t been here for a wee while, been enjoying all the wonderful sunshine last week, and just havin a wee rest. As I said before the election, I just had to step away, I thought my auld heid wis gon tae explode. Noo, the MT is bloody awful, where hiv some o’ these greetin faced buggers appeared frae. FFS, if you’ll pardon my French.
Nae wunner that the Rev is trying to have a wee holiday, it’s soul destroying stuff. I’ve noticed that OT has been visited by some of the MT regulars. Peace and a bit of fun and all welcome.
Tinto my friend, how is the dancing going? You’re a top chap on the dance floor, I’ve been kinda missing that.
Onywho, just thought that I might check in and see how a’body is. I’m away tae hae something tae eat, then I’m off to Baku for a couple of hours to watch the GP.
I’ll leave you a daft wee song to cheer us up. See you later.
McAvoy Boogie-Rory Gallagher link to youtube.com
Walk like a Man;
It’s Divine,
Peace Always
Hi, Marie, The Shettleston Harriers brought back some memories. 🙂
“Keep on Running”
Peace Always
One of my irregular musical contributions to ‘off-topic’…
My son and I were dipping into the coverage of Glastonbury last night and caught the interview with Dave Grohl (Foo Fighters).
My son then related a story of how the Foo Fighters hadn’t played in Italy for years so Italian fans organised a mass performance of one of their songs to try to persuade them to play in Italy.
From the YouTube blurb…
“1000 musicians play Learn to Fly by Foo Fighters to ask Dave Grohl to come and play in Cesena, Italy. This is Rockin’1000 – Cesena 26.7.2015”.
(Quite impressive to see all those drummers playing in unison.)
BTW: that video has had 38,096,307 views…
BDTT; The Foo Fighters are my daughter’s favourite band.
Screamin Jay Hawkins: “I put a Spell on You”
Peace Always
Rory Gallagher: “Shadow Play”
Peace Always
Nice to hear from you, Marie. I remembered you said you were taking a break, and nae wunner.
Not doing much dancing at the mo: the M/T is generally depressing, and so I come here for some sanity, which shows things just ain’t right.
I hope things will become clearer when the FM makes her Indyref2 statement.
Meanwhile, there are trees to hug and sunsets to watch…..
Smallaxe, thanks for the Gordon Brown link, brilliant. Good luck with the battery charging, always keep the windae open mate!
Take care Smallaxe.
After this weekend. I think battery charging sounds pretty damn good.
@Michael McCabe
You are still definitely the number one star of videos on Off Topic.
Laugh I Nearly Paid My Licence Fee had me grinning like a cheshire cat and was so topical and by the perfect guy to do it.
I Love to Bogie was magical, I had to shout on the missus to “come and watch this” She loves Gene Kelly 🙂
Well that’s me fed and watered, enjoyed the GP, great fun today.
I see the trolls are out on the MT again sheesh. It sure wid burst yer heid.
Smallaxe, loved your Dudley Moore plays Col. Bogey clip on the MT. I remember watching it all those years ago, and LOL just as much then as now. He really could play. I see you’ve been posting Nana’s links on her behalf. I hope she’s having a rest and keeping well, and you too. I hope that your no overdoing things.
Tinto, I share your depression with things at the moment, and I’m sad that your not dancing just now. Here’s a wee tune for you.
Sitting hear praying that our NEC hasn’t decided to betray us all (as all the papers are leading with tomorrow)by kicking Ref2 into the long grass.
So in moments of stress I play this (the finest thing I have ever seen)
l.facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D-c9-poC5HGw&h=ATPYNy_H6Pi-ckPEt_4SknCWTPTunJFTPAwxCJuaykwuXuYfVnV_rmYSMliCqaV8sV5I1gwLlvkuMg1MxdUo-ZpI8Pqgj_XIiim2JMRRPl_sWrk-f_TxLBPt55CFdUnqL_r-1wfKthk
@Dave McEwan Hill
Link didn’t work, is this what you wanted to play?
@ Thepnr Alex your link works but is not giving out any sound. link to youtube.com
Thanks, Marie, fair cheered me up. My snake hips are movin’ and a-groovin’ as we speak. I’m sure my big pal with the red beret from Castro, SF would enjoy it too.
DMH: this surely can’t be true?
Thepnr at 6.56
That’s it. Thanks. Just listening to it again. I’ll probably do so about five times.
I understand. I remember the people of Northern Nigeria dancing in their villages when the rains eventually came.
They can be very hungry but at least they are independent.
@ Thepnr this might give you a little giggle. link to youtube.com
And then I stumbled on this. Fairly brightened my evening
@Michael McCabe
Hahaha you won’t believe it but I’ve just this minute watched that very video and was about to post it myself. A peach 🙂
DMH I hope to goodness that’s not true. Big, big mistake if it is.
It’ll cost them the next election and we might get fat boab as FM, disnae bear thinking aboot.
Sooooo depressing, I’ll have to listen to some soothing music.
O M D – ISOTYPE taken from there new album due out soon. link to youtube.com
OK I’m gushing now for the videos that Michael puts up but this was another belter. Who would have thought that OMD could come out with that now.
Watch it the video itself is class, I liked the helicopters myself but that’s just me and each to their own. There will be something there for you in that kaleidoscope, check and see.
Cheers MMc
Hi folks, anyone about that fancies a wee gab/rant this Thursday and can get to Cambuslang for 7pm?
Please share amongst anybody you think would be interested, and I’ll hope to see you there!
twitter.com/YesRutherglen/status/879079981267210241
Acclaimed writer and broadcaster Lesley Riddoch will be Airdrie for Independence’s latest guest when she joins us to discuss her new book McSmorgasbord: What post-Brexit Scotland can learn from the Nordics.
The talk takes place on Monday 26th June 2017 in the One Wellwynd Centre, 35 Wellwynd, Airdrie, ML6 0BN at 7pm prompt.
Admission is free, but donations are welcome towards the cost of hosting the evening. Seating is unreserved, and it is recommended that you come early to guarantee a seat.
The book explores the Nordic countries veritable smörgåsbord of relationships with the European Union, from in to out to somewhere in between and asks: so, what does that mean for Scotland? Well, somewhere in this incredible diversity of relationships with Europe is an arrangement that s likely to be good for Scotland too strangely enough, maybe more than one. Inside or outside the UK, Scotland wants to keep trade and cultural links with Europe that much is clear. But is the EU really the best club in town for an independent Scotland?
Or would Scots benefit from doing a Norway joining the halfway house of the EEA and keeping the Single Market but losing the troublesome Common Fisheries and Agriculture Policies? Would an independent Scotland need the support and shelter of another union or could the nation stand alone like the tiny Faroes or Iceland?
These tough questions have already been faced and resolved by five Nordic nations and their autonomous territories within the last 40 years. Perhaps there is something for Scotland to learn?
Patrician, do you know if the talk is to be filmed? It would be grand for those of us who can’t make it to have the opportunity to see this?
hi K1
I don’t know if anyone has plans to film it. I think we tried to film the “Wee Ginger Dug” visit a month or so ago but I don’t think it worked out. So we will need to see how it goes this time.
mon Stu
this is art
Let iz treh again eh! (FS STU)
Monday morning and as eh sit here
wondering whether eh should crack a beer
meh thoughts they turn tae aff topic wings
and the positivity that youz ah bring
These last few month ehve been rather doon
Absorbed too much media fae rabid yoons
bit then ah login here following links tae yir tunes
and find mah melancholy turned right roond
So giz a chance to pay yiz back
couple o auld poems yiz ken the crack
Eh wrote these a lang time ago
and share them now cause lyrics flow
Giz a chance to thank yiz ah
fir keeping meh heid under par
yir too many fir me here tae name
but let me thank yiz ah the same
otherwise eh’d have gone insane.
This first poem o mine wiz called reflections
Eh wrote this once when eh wiz mental
It’s ah aboot the world eh seen
and how eh would have like athin to hiv been
Eh cannae write mind the year eh wrote it
Wiz a decade and half or more ago
let me share it wi you good people
and judge it fae when it was wrote.
Reflections.
I’m no literary genius, no Burns nor a Keats
But my heart is filled with passion and for the written word it beats,
So deciding what to write, in this little rhyme of mine
I’ve decided to encapsulate, a moment of our lifetime,
within that fleeting moment, images flood my mind
Of wars, and of atrocities committed by mankind.
Worldwide conflict rages, with ever increasing violence
Whilst Western propaganda, maintains a veil of silence,
My perception of this world, is with growing sense of sadness
Man’s inhumanity to man, I can’t comprehend the madness,
On our doorstep crime is rampant, remorseless criminals high on ‘crack’
Whilst unscrupulous ruthless dealers, entice our children onto ‘smack’.
There’s the destruction of communities, prevalent social deprivation
Dissatisfied angry citizens stage another demonstration
There’s the growth of new technology, it’s the age of information
Monitoring of the citizens, George Orwell’s realisation.
Power hungry politicians who no longer even care
Their hands are bound by capitalism, the rich don’t want to share.
Yes it’s a funny kind of life, I find myself within
To comprehend it in moment, I wouldn’t know where to begin
Of one thing I am certain, the wind of change is in the air
Awareness of the common people, is a power that they share.
And they will come together, the common folks alliance
They will fight with those in power, flying banners of defiance’.
So there it is my moment, of reflection of life today
And to the good common folk, I’d really like to say,
Never give up trying to make this world a better place
No matter what the challenges each of us must face.
Make it better for our children, a nicer world to live
Promote love, peace and harmony and teach them to forgive,
The generations gone before them, for the destruction of this Earth
Teach them love and understanding from the moment of their birth,
Then through the generations when we look on from above
We’ll see a happy vibrant planet, filled with hope with peace and….LOVE.
@William Wallace
Top notch Wullie.
Ah Tinto, that takes me back. Happy days, not a care in the world, just clothes, boys and the dancin.
It was the same the other day when I played the Scissor Sisters for you. It brought to mind about 4 or 5 years ago when my other half and I went to an hotel for Hogmany. We had a lovely meal, accompanied by a jazz band, ( I hate jazz) then after the meal we had a ceilidh. It was great, but finished at the bells, then it was to be a disco. So the auld boy says ” we’ll just away upstairs, we’re no staying fur the disco are we?” So we finished our drinks and the disco started, and it was very good. A good range of music for all ages. Then, they played I don’t feel like dancin, well, you should have seen him go, the kilt swinging guid style. It was truly a sight to behold. So at half past two I had to prise him away fae the disco that we wurrny stayin fur.I didnae ken that he still had it in him, and he’s no snake hips like your good self.
Happy days. Thanks for the tunes.
Mon plaisir, Madame.
Yes, the SciSis have some great tunes. My daughters educated me well.
Those were happy days for us but it was the same old corrupt world here, I have no doubt, and Biafra and Vietnam were raging abroad, with all their human misery.
I need some more of Smallaxe’s mad patter to cheer me up, I think.
Glad you’re back and looking forward to you skelping someone on the M/T!
That Isotype was pretty good. Was thinking Jarre meets Japanese anime music.
The Lochaber National Anthem, Karen Matheson folks,
link to com
Hoe the Bar L Kid’s OK.
It’s not working for me, Fred, although Karen normally does, hem hem.
In which Bev Bevan almost blows a fuse, and dig that walking bass…..
OK, gonnae stop now and I’ve played it before but: “Take it, Jeffrey!”
An “energetic” performance.
OK,no more Brumsound but:
This pathetic, repetitive nostalgia is a consequence of my alienation from The Now, gottit?
Hey, Cactus, help me out here…..
Sorry about that Tinto, where’s Smallaxe when U need him? it was Glen Balachulish.
“Canan Nan Gaidheal” Karen Matheson
Peace Always #Manky
Karen Matheson: “Gleann Bhaile Chaoil Blas”
The wife and I are having our yearly break at the moment in our usual place, we are currently at Loggerheids for a few days!
Wish you were here!
Peace Always #Manky
Loggerheids?
Is that just past Butlin’s at Heids o’ Err?
Thanks for KM, Manky Mates (team effort). Got quite a few of her recordings. Helps with the Gaelic, don’t ye know?
Isn’t Glen Ballachulish the name of the wee ferry at Kylerhea too? Saw a basking shark there once.
Happy hols, though it’s pouring here, chiz, chiz.
Thanks for that Smallaxe, ah kin sing bits of that but no comprende too much! also sang very well by Mary Katherine MacNeill from Barra but I think she comprende’s it good!
The Balachulish Ferry is indeed now based at Glenelg where they used to swim the coos at slack water, thoosands of them every back-end, heading for Falkirk, steak pies & skwerries.
Could have lent ye a tartan shirt for that timber camp kid, the small-axe will come in handy for sneddin the branches. The moniker is fully explained, alles ist klaar! Gute Reisen!
Picked up a copy of “The Cone Gatherers” for a rainy day!!! supposed to be good!
Hope you enjoy The Cone Gatherers, Fred, one of Jenkins’ best, imo. He was a conscientious objector during the war and worked for the Forestry Commission.
Mit leichtem Gepäck reisen,Fred, kann es heiß hier!
Luckily, I’m multilingual, I’m fluent in English, Scottish, Rubbish, Gibberish, and Obscene to name but a few.
Enjoy your book, if you look from the tall larch you can see the chimneys of the mansion behind its private fence of giant firs. Purededbrilliantsoanitis.
Must go, humble pie for lunch.
Peace Always
Hi, Tinto, just seen you there when I refreshed the page, as you will no doubt have seen, my present wife and I are discussing, well, she’s cussing and I’m dis-gusting apparently. All because I inadvertently served her some savoury sandwiches, there was no label on the tin. How was I supposed to know it was cat food!
I thought it was quite moreish.
Peace Always #Manky
Here’s one for the friends of
LazarusBLiS___d.Throbbing Gristle – Dream Machine
Ah thought the book was aboot a visit tae the Tallies at first. I’m a double sponge man masel.
CameronB: “throbbing gristle”? Afraid to look…
As for you two, Smallaxe and Fred: you’re the Francie and Josie de nos jours, in my opinion.
And that’s a compliment.
Marriage Counselling Advice, Smallaxe: try a little tenderness.
Or a visit to the jeweller’s, of course.
Tinto, another visit to the jewellers! Do you think I’m made of bricks? I’ll take your advice you romantic old bastard and I’ll;
“Try a little Tenderness” The Commitments:
and;
Treat Her Right:
Peace Always
😎
“Tenderness” superb Smallaxe! Cocoa wi a wee jag in it time!
It Makes No Difference link to youtube.com
Treat yourself to a big jag Fred.
I’m Gonna Hire a Wino to Decorate our Home
Peace Always #Manky
Family: “In my own Time”
Peace Always
Lovely Day link to youtube.com
Such A Night link to youtube.com
Banrion Mo Chroi link to youtube.com
So Nicola’s rolled back and nae indyref?
yet athins the same so that’s a leh
Severin and fowk o his ilk
are aywiz greeting ower spilt milk
Remember milk and they cuntin tories
when thatcher said here’s mah story
hungry bairns in scotland be
nae two fucks given beh the like o me
See that milk that’s ah we hid
eh wiz aywiz hungry wi could barely live
ya think these cunts kent what poverty iz
fkin nae chance the dirty spivs
Onyway that’s a view fir anither time
eh want tae share another auld poem o mine
this ane was wrote eftir nine eleven
and eh wanted wiz a world tae live in
Eh called this ane World at War
fir what hiz come well eh foresaw
This ane eh share wi ah on wings
and hope in some way that it brings
A sort of comfort aboot wha we are
what we stand fir cause youz are the stars
the very best o Scotlands ain
Thanks to yiz ah eh do proclaim
Independence is a waiting game 🙂
THE WORLD AT WAR
Blanket coverage from the bbc
the world anticipates world war three
visionless leaders who cannot see
seeking retribution for the WTC
Nations form a coalition
America,France and of course Great Britain
global might begins it’s mission
against a beleaguered nation in poor condition
Attacks are imminent in Afghanistan
against the outlawed Taliban
russia on alert in Tajikistan
and murmurs of rebellion in Pakistan
The world now waits with baited breath
as war is planned by a revenge fuelled west
the way it’s going there’ll be nothing left
civilization led to it’s death.
It’s clear they have the military might
to defeat all nations in a fight
but no two wrongs can make things right
and war is mans most ugly sight
Yet should the west not shoulder blame
when foriegn policies are inhumane
world leaders hang your head in shame
you cannot fight your pain with pain
So before you decide the fate of nations
and before you strike in retaliation
take a moment for deliberation
and sit at the table for negotiations
Dont allow our leaders to decide our fate
and in vengence retaliate
speak up now before it’s too late
let our peoples future be the peoples debate
For it’s about time this world its killing ceased
and dialogue entered at the very least
harmony restored from west to east
and for all this world to live in peace.
Just a poem Stu. Let it through eh! 🙂
@ Fred
The last time I saw that particular ferry mentioned was in the Portree Kid by rah Corries.
Snakes and ladders gone mad
Catherine-Ann MacPhee – “Chi Mi’n Geamhradh”
The language of the Gael.
Cànan Nan Gàidheal
I think Ian Brotherhood brought this to our attention originally: an interesting arrangement of an old Jacobite favourite. The lad with the tenor voice sure can sing and there’s some Lovely Laydees for Smallaxe (as if he’s not in enough trouble already).
Mrs TC says I’ve got to get out and cut the grass before it rains, so I’ll just scare the bejaysus out of you before I go with this sorry tale of betrayal and exile.
Mae McKenna sure can sing.
Some good music this morning mates!
Fred, since it’s elevenses time in Darkest Lan, I’m quite interested in this “cocoa wi a wee jag in it” concept.
Do you steep a thistle in hot milk first, or what?
Please advise,
Okie from Muscogee.
Btw, a sparrowhawk has just taken a wee bird off my niger seed feeder in the garden and proceeded to eat it alive.
“It’s a sign, a sign ah tell ye!”
Rejoice brethren and sistren! For today, June 28, is the first anniversary of:
Sherkaleg Day!
Alyn Smith speech to EU, short regular version:
Alyn Smith speech, short facepaint and broadsword version:
Heeheehee: thought that sword was going to impale Nigel Farrago as he starts to mouth “Scotland can feck off!”
Wee bit disappointed now…….
😛
Strawberry Fields for Brummies…..
Still pretty good, though.
Time for a groove-fest. Opening the doors of perception…
This is really dreamy Nachtmusik, while you stare at the stars and hear the music of the spheres. B side to “Life’s been Good”, I fink.
Some unadulterated schmaltz with absolutely no apologies. It is our ruby wedding anniversary on Friday and I am a schmaltzy kind of guy.
I did finish sculpting the ring I told you about and my caster has told me it has cast well, will be picking it up tomorrow.
Talk about just in time though. Phew!
@Chick McGregor
Congratulations Chick to you both, having met your wife back in 2014 there’s no way I could believe it’s your Ruby anniversary but I know your an honest man so I believe you.
Best wishes to the both of you.
@Michael McCabe
Thanks for covering my back today on the main thread, here’s a good tune that I want to play for you.
Congratulations Chick
Smaltz?) Romance*
Goodnight Guys
Peace Always
Awe ra best tae u and urs Chick, on yer imminent 40th.
Time Fly’s.
Cheers.
Aye aye Tinto Chiel ~
Here’s a helper…
“Let’s talk about brex baby” (ye ken where it‘s at)
“All the bad things and the bad things that WILL be.”
A song by The Condiments.
Let’s talk about brex.
Morning Hoolets! a bit dreich lookin! Tinto here’s an interesting site on the place-names of the top end of Inverness-shire fur ye, ah ken it’s up your street kid!
link to arts.st-andrews.ac.uk
Och, Chick, you’re just a big softie. I’ve got 5 years to go, unless she runs off with the coalman. Nice idea with the ring.
Brex, Cactus? Thought you said SEX:
Thanks, that’s right up my rue, Fred. Will study when I can today. Apparently I’m removing the sealant in bath and shower today, according to the Home Secretary.
And it’s pouring. Need one of your “cocoas”.
Oh, I see it’s by Simon Taylor. He knows his stuff all right. Haven’t seen this one before.
Hoose-haufs always generous using a decanter, funny that!
No, I’m under strict supervision today.
*sighs*
This sealant remover ain’t nice stuff to use.
Ah, can’t believe how appropriate this is:
This is to let you all know that my Scottish holiday this year went fairly well, even if not according to plan.
My brother’s sailboat was in Lossiemouth for the winter, then we’d take her through the Caledonian Canal, cruise the isles…
One mooring rope fouled in the propeller and Caley Canal takes more than 2 1/2 days. We limped through, took us 5 days, the boat leaking (our bilge pump could control the leak, just about.) Being towed by another yacht (fairly snooty English people who surprised us with their offer of towing) and finally towing ourselves with our inflatable rubber dingy with a 2.3 horsepower outboard motor that a friendly local in Gairlochy lent us. It was an adventure.
The next week could’ve been less an adventure. Boat lifted clear out of water at Corpach boatyard. Well, not clear out when the spring tides came in. Our ladder to the boat was only accessible during low tide… and it was new moon and time for very high high tides, very low low tides.
We hired a car and drove to Skye, stayed overnight, drove to Mull, stayed overnight (even visited Iona), places we were supposed to see onboard our boat.
I had to come back home but brother and friend are hopeful the boat will float tomorrow (Friday). Fort William is a nice place but if you’re not hiking, not much to see or do. Brother and friend will have seen quite enough of Ft W by now. We’ve been to every pub in town, waiting for the tide to go down so we could climb home to the boat.
Oh, yeah, a couple of nights it was pretty windy, the whole boat shaking, wind howling in the mast, ropes banging… I didn’t sleep too well those nights. I sleep no problems at sea, tossed and turned, but this was at dry docked and I began having nightmares about how the whole boat would fall down on one side, fiberglass splintering and skewering me. Uugh.
We were probably the star “funny” attraction to all the gazillions tourists who’d gathered to watch boats come down Neptune’s Staitcaise, and also see the Jacobite steam train come through before the swing bridges opens for boats in Banavie. We towed ourselves, a 38ft yacht, with the 2.3 hp motor on our tiny rubber dinghy, it must’ve looked funny. At least everybody on the banks were taking pictures or video clips (we’re probably on YouTube by now), laughing and cheering us along.
Corpach, a few km west of Ft William has a boatyard that could take us on. Tides withstanding… Are we allowed to stay onboard? At our own risk, it’s 95% secure – I didn’t sleep much that nigt. The wind shook the boat and I had waking nightmares of how we’d crash down, all splinters of fiberglass. uugh. Nightmare stuff.
Later on, they welded in some more supports, so I wasn’t worried anymore.
A short keel sailboat out of water looks daunting. There’s a ladder, about 4-5m that you have to climb to reach the deck, not ideal for someone who suffers from vertigo (like me), and it’s only accessible during low tide. During high tide, 1-1,5 m of the ladder is under water. Yay, great.
And we had spring tides, unusually high and low tides. Some ferries from Mull to Ardnamurchan (mainalnd) were cancelled because of the unusually low tides.
We finally got across, and then our driver went mad and tried to reach the official speed limit of 60mph on twisty, turny single track roads – the best he achieved was 47 mph on a rare straight. I think he envied locals who did faster.
The roads are appalling. No verge, full of potholes, patchy paving etc. Come to my country and rural roads are better than A roads in Scotland. Duh! (No single track nonsense here. Also, no sheep or cows on road.)
What struck me was how friendly and helpful all the locals were. We truly felt welcome in Scotland. Everybody went out of their way to help us with every bitty problem we had. I’d told the other crew Scots are not like the English, and they saw it first hand.
We, of course, flied a Saltire as a “courtesy flag” from our mast. I had to teach my brother and others several times as to the name of the flag. They thought only of St Andrew’s cross, which the Russian Navy uses (colours reversed), I went SAHL-TIRE, sahl-tire, it’s called Saltire and it’s at least 800 years old. (Unlike the Union Jack, which is only about 200 years old.)
Sorry for this long ramble of a post.
I just thought an outside opinion might be interesting.
Cheers,
lumilumi
@Lumilumi –
Good stuff.
Did you enjoy it overall?
What did you think of our Scottish ‘midges’? Were they a problem? I’m guessing you deal with nastier beasties back home.
Anyway, good to see you survived your trip!
@TC –
Just a quick one to check if you survived the ‘sealant removal’ process.
Sounds dodgy.
I have worrying images of you on your back, in the bath, legs akimbo.
Please let us know you’re alright.
IanB: I struggled manfully, nay heroically. Took longer than expected to get it all off so only half way there. New stuff on tomorrow. A good finish can be tricky.
Even more heroically, have resisted the allure of hoose-haufs.
Reading lumilumi’s account of the roads in Ardnamurchan accords with my memories of three years ago: they were worse than when we honeymooned there in the early 80s. Saw a good few saltires there though, and a big Yes painted on the rock near the lighthouse.
Regards, Gregor Samsa, heehee.
Chick,
Congratulations and have a good antipodean trip.
@ Ian B
Oh yes, I enjoyed every minute of it – well, maybe not sleeping in the wobbly boat the first night before they steadied it.
The scenery (“There’s great mountains there if the clouds lifted”), the beer, the whisky, the friendly people.
My brother or others asking about the weather. My answer: “It’s not raining, yet.”
I actually burned my skin on an iffy day. The Scottish sun, thru the clouds was enough.
There was even a day when I got to wear my skort (shorts disguised as a mini skirt).
My legs and feet show tan lines.
Yes, it was a great summer holiday. I even got to wear woollen long johns, which is the benchmark for me.
Excellent lumilumi ~
Some adventure… 🙂
Although sometimes the whisky is ra drink foist and ra beer is ra chaser…
To learn.. it’s ra meaning of..
It’s funky Friday!
@ Ian B
Oh, and midges weren’t a problem.
One night they got in our face, but not biting. While their nastier cousins went for the exposed ankles.
Who says midges are dumb.
Oooh, didn’t know I could be so Lou Reedish in the Herald.
SS, PD and RR – a hatrick!
Cheers.
Awa tae watch the QT.
You’re beautiful.
X.
Lumi, if Scotland was as flat as Finland we’d be the size of Australia, hence the roads!
Strange things happen at sea, fortunately your problem didn’t happen across in the Utter Hebrides someplace, being towed back by dinghy would really be an epic!
Feargal takes a flaky:
@Smallaxe
Just saw your post about Nana on MT. If you’re in contact at all, give Nana my very best wishes.
Macart, I will certainly do that, my Friend, I’ll be speaking to her later today.
Hope you are well,
Peace Always
Best wishes to Nana and Norman too, Smallaxe.
Hi, Tinto, I’ll give her your regards, my Manky Mate.
What’s this I here that you are removing the sealant around Bath, do you not realise that the Rev.Stu will be able to get oot noo and he’ll come and get me.
😎 ( Ah’m Hiding)
What were you thinking!
Peace Always
Heeheehee! He’s too feart o’ bears: don’t worry.
*dons hammer-proof overalls*
Teddy bears picnic;
Peace Always
Smallaxe
Thanks for your link over on the main thread this morning.
As I said I am always being caught out when I go into the toon.
Last Sunday morning was particularly annoying,as I was taking a young family friend and her little boy to a contact centre,and they made us late.
Which left us having to answer to lawyers for the next few days……
I can’t be the only one who gets inconvenienced in this way.
I mean not everyone can avoid the route,so once a year is more than enough.
They would definitely benefit from more time to practice holding a tune for more than 50 feet anyway.lol
Anyhoo if you are in touch with Nana will you please pass on my condolences and my best wishes for her recovery..
Thanks..
Also mind and take care of yourself and as always tell Mrs Smallaxe I am asking for her x
Hi folks, I’ve been a bit busy the last couple of days, trying to catch. Not with the MT, getting fed up of the trolls.
Yesterday I had to be on granny duty at the school prize giving, oh joy. Today I’m trying to catch up on what I should have done yesterday, sigh. Oh well, away on the hollybags tomorrow, son left in charge.
Smallaxe, please give Nana my love, and I hope that she feels well enough to join us in the near future.
Doh see what I mean, should have been catch up. That’s what you get when you do things in a hurry, I’ll meet myself on the road back at this rate.
Smallaxe, regards to Nana also, keeping the plinth polished for her return!
Marie Clarke @ 3.44
Happy Holidays Marie
Thank you Liz.g.
Steve Miller anyone?
To all of the above^;
I spoke to Nana this afternoon and she is sounding a lot better but is still needing to rest for a bit longer. I think, like the unicorn, she is champing at the bit and eager to get back to the day job.
She will;
I will pass on all your kind messages of Love and support to her and I’m sure it will do her the world of good to know how highly she is regarded by us all.
Peace Always my Friends
We are ONE!
Peace Always
A song for Nana (don’t tell Norman, btw).
Was having a discussion with a friend of mine today and sent him him a link to a tune I liked. However I’ve now found this a better version. You will not regret listening I promise, might even inspire you 🙂
Dundee Fowk who supported Independence more than any other area in Scotland should be proud of themselves, this is what Dundee Fowk are. Dundee fowk can stand tall and we need you more than ever.
Lets get in there with the head down.
@Thepnr –
Great stuff, I remember you posting that many moons ago.
BTW, I must’ve asked you this before, but what happens in Dundee in the ‘matching season’? Do you get the same pish we have to put up with hereabouts?
Ian Brotherhood
None that I can remember Ian though I left when I was 17.
I hope you guys don’t mind me offering the OO some constructive criticism, but I think they need to work on updating their orchestration. Something like this perhaps.
Shawn Lee’s ping pong orchestra – Bongo Fury
Welcome we to the 1st of July ’17.
It’s summer-time Scotland.
Warmin’ up.
Your correct Cactus,
It’s Summertime! 1968 style
Goodnight Good People
Peace Always
@Thepnr –
Aww, man!
If I knew they’d play that? I’d be there!
But, hey, they won’t, eh?….
;(
Pnr at echt thirty three
Whaz like the fowk fae Dundee?
twa line poem dotted beh Stu
wiz a message tae PNR and the Dundee crew
seek o this shite ehm telling ya straight
said the King o the castle fae the Overgate.
Gi yirsel peace Stu and turn aff the dot
an idiot fae Dundee that eh am not
ehm gonna start a riot and it’s gonna start here
remember these words as eh disappear
Eh kin be ony cunt that is a fact
but eh choose to be this drunk Dundonian twat
it’s aboot time ya listened tae the fools in yir midst
and let them chat shite when they are fair pished
Stay aff off topic and let the voice o the loon
speak fir himself and sing his ain tune
fae the land o oor wullie, the land O the broons
Thir is nae fool in Dundee an yir makin iz froon
Eh speak fir meself an eh’ll no be shut doon!
Iz eh typed ah that the comment wiz passed. I swear Stu iz it the trolling lol.
If the Scottish people are Soveriegn;
If the Treaty of Union was signed by non-representatives of the Sovereign people;
If the Scottish Parliament, being the representatives of the Sovereign people have confirmed the Scottish people can have a Referendum;
Why can the same Scottish Parliament not determine that the Treaty of Union is an illegal document and the Treaty deemed terminated forthwith?
Hence reversion to the position of Scotland before 1707 – an Independent Country?
Ian Foulds
Personally, I wouldn’t have thought it either practical or ethical to follow such an approach, as it would leave a good chunk of Scotland feeling disenfranchised and stripped of identity. I’m all for respecting historical facts but isn’t that the sort of authoritarian marginalisation of culture that we a resisting?
We simply need to temper our message and keep on fighting the cultural inequality and associated lack of social justice within ‘One Nation’ Britain.
link to scu.edu
Tinush (feat Aretha Franklin) – Struggle
Signing off temporarily for the second time.
Passport mixup meant we couldn’t travel on Friday.
2 years ago I couldn’t find my passport, we both hunted high and low, so reported it lost and got a new one.
You’ve probably guessed the next bit.
When we got to the airport, the passport I had was the old cancelled one with no time to get to Kirrie from Glasgow and back.
The Emirates staff were very nice and said it would probably be OK but they would need to phone New Zealand.
But New Zealand said no.
Worse than that they said they would report it to Interpol. So I suppose I may be arrested in New Zealand for trying to use a duplicate passport with identical details to impersonate, err… myself.
Meanwhile, before heading back up to Kirrie we tried to contact Glasgow Passport Office to see if they could help but the usual number, which has two options 1 phoning from UK, 2 phoning from abroad, when you clicked on 1 all you got was a recording saying this line is only for people who have lost their passport in the Grenfell Tower fire. If you are not one of those then re dial and pick another option.
Except there was no other option except phoning from abroad.
So rebooked for Sunday with rebooking fees and back up to Kirrie. Sheena found the current passport in about 2 minutes.
Not the best weekend but at least we did after all have a better celebration of our ruby wedding at a table with Tandoori mixed grill and a chicken tikka masala and a nice bottle of champagne.
I See no Ships?
“Sloop John b” me first and the gimme gimmes:
Nick Cave:”The Ship Song”
Hues Corporation: “Rock the Boat
Peace Always
A Ship Song
Sea Shanties – Spanish Ladies
“You can’t hold a good man down” Cornwalls’ own Pirateers:
Peace Always
Jolly Rogers:”The Devils Son
“The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald” Gordon Lightfoot:
HAMILTON – “Guns and Ships”
Peace Always
ERM…..this is even off topic,on off topic but..
Can anyone explain what it means exactly when you get [sic]in the middle of a sentence?
Hi, liz, it means that it was written as seen, maybe the person being quoted spelt it wrong. So they write (sic) meaning “how it was written.
Nothing is off topic on off topic, liz
Peace Always
Lord of the Rings:”Into the West”
“I’m Shipping Up To Boston” Dropkick Murphys;
“Captain of Your Ship” Reparata & The Delrons:
Peace Always
Thank You Smallaxe.
You have no idea how long I have wondered about that.
Will definitely be using it now… LOL… might make me sound smart… LOL
By the way I did thank you for the link last night,and reply to Valarie and two others,but the post’s just weren’t appearing, don’t know why.
Mibbi the internet had ,had enough of my ramblings and Wiz tryin tae tell me sumthin.
So I just gave up and spent sometime with Jamie & Claire instead LOL.
Take care of you,my friend..
‘Were an alien visitor
To hover a few hundred yards above the planet
It could be forgiven for thinking
That cars were the dominant lifeform…’
RIP Heathcote Williams, died today, a kind friend at a difficult time.
Cameron Brodie at an unearthly hour of the morning, 2/7/17
Your response is appreciated.
Sometimes it would be nice to give as you get but overall and, despite time passing (too quickly for some of us!) it would be better to win with ‘clean hands’ and honour intact.
Thanks,
Ian
It’s Bach-Kaleidoscope Music link to youtube.com
Ships ye say. 😉
Aheeee eeee Ahoooahh
Kishmuls Galley
OK, all these maritime-type links…
Seems it’s left to me to provide this one.
Hiya all you lovely people…
R.E.M.:”Everybody Hurts”
The Eagles: “Already Gone” live NY 1994 HQ full export
Marvin Gaye: “Trouble Man”
Peace Always
Pink Floyd Live at Pompeii – Echoes Part 1
Pink Floyd Live at Pompeii – Echoes Part 2
Peace Always
One city, one march, one walk:
Glasgow, June 3, 2017 – 15,000 people (minimum estimate) march in support of Scottish independence. In the pouring rain. No arrests are made. A great time is had by all.
link to bbc.com
link to rt.com
Glasgow, July 1, 2017 – 4,500 participants and 4,000 spectators (maximum estimates) walk in support of sectarian bigotry regarding events 300 years ago in another country. Eight arrests are made.
link to bbc.com
I make that a WIN for Indy!
We need to remember how strong the pro-Indy movement is, and also how diverse it is, and how open and all-embracing. We are not stuck in a ghetto of hate.
We are looking to the future with hope and expectation.
“March on” with the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, “Dogs of War”:
It’s always a good idea to take a wee break. Just saying cos that’s what I’ve been doing 🙂
@Smallaxe
Love you dearly, hit me with three songs at the same time then it’s song overload, I guess most will spend 5 or 10 minutes on Off Topic in a visit.
Not having a go, but slowly and surely would suit me better, I’ve one brain and after one song I’m usually away somewhere else. So I’d rather not be missing your links just having them hand fed a piece at a time. This is the original chill out room on Wings which someone always has to sweep out in the morning, usually Paula don’t cha know lol.
Peace Always. You know I mean it anyway. 🙂
When I’m in the mood for guys playing foreign tunes on huge big drums, this is what I listen to:
(Kodo – “O-Daiko” – Japanese drummers )
And when I want really mental, infectious, addictive drumming, drumming as the heartbeat of life, I listen to Brazilian samba schools like Salgueiro:
@Smallaxe
My song for you. You’ll know as well as I what I’m saying.
Bob Dylan: Slow Train
Sometimes I feel so low-down and disgusted
Can’t help but wonder what’s happening to my companions
Are they lost or are they found, have they counted the cost it’ll take to bring down
All their earthly principles they’re gonna have to abandon ?
There’s slow, slow train coming up around the bend.
Curtis Mayfield: “We Gotta Have Peace”
Peace Always
Thepnr; Got it, my Friend
As majestic bells of bolts struck shadows in the sounds
Seeming to be the chimes of freedom flashing
Flashing for the warriors whose strength is not to fight
Flashing for the refugees on the unarmed road of flight
Peace Always
Mornin’, here’s a sly and suggestive question for a future poll…
Q. In an independent Scotland, which of the current Scottish party leaders do you think would be the best at running the country?
You know the answer(s).
Ahhh ha ha ha 😉
Would love to know what 1,000 folks said to that!
Aweright David ~
Well said at six minutes to midnight…
“I make that a WIN for Indy!”
Hell Yes!
Think I’ll try number four today, for tonight’s EU Lottery draw.
That, ‘droopy drawers’, anna few others.
If it can work for America…
It could work for US..
A lucky dip.
Morning!
Shocking weather here. Summer, eh?
Trying to calm my inner Vlad The Impaler with some nostalgia.
Thought I spotted Smallaxe on the mudslide.
Tinto;
Well spotted, they even wrote a song about it!
Peace Always #Manky
Could someone tell me how this can be.
Delivery has failed to these recipients or groups:
haveyoursay@bbc.co.uk
The recipient’s mailbox is full and can’t accept messages now. Please try resending this message later, or contact the recipient directly.
Maybe it was that I was critical of BBC Scotland misreporting.
@Scott
Checked it for you and also got an Undelivered message from postmaster@bbc.co.uk You see it’s all these non payers screwing up their funding.
People have had to be laid off and such like, the bosses don’t bother with trivia like this though. However nothing to stop you trying.
Here might be a start Director General and Editor in Chief
Email tony.hall@bbc.co.uk Tell him what you think, he’ed love to know LOL
Evenin’, some good conversations a going on on the main artickle.
Excellent stuff.
Ce soir.
Some cute darings to last you all through the night – one of them was very special for me…
Some total magic for those rainy days (love to Thepnr)…
Last one for tonight – you can’t lose…
Loved the tunes but I especially liked the one for me LOL.
Who would have though that an old gal like her could play a tune on a guitar as she could wearing those high heels? Shame about the rain.
I spoke too soon!!!!
Was that last guy Jimi Hendrix’s old man? Sure sounded like it.
Railway theme…
One of the greatest movies ever made – opening scene 7 minutes – worth it.
Scottish economy rebounds in first quarter of 2017
What a disappoint for GMS BBC Scotland and the rest of MSM will Gary Robertson be full of joy.
Col. Davidson will insist these figures are wrong.
Col. Davidson, Scott?
Wot? Like this, you mean?
This is far too good for yon wee bachle, actually, but it cheers me up.
Regarding Col. Harrison, since it’s holiday season, can I suggest a distant location? She can still fire her tank up the dunes and do a bit of straddling *shudders*.
Voice full of soul:
Or heart.
Seems like there’s nothing like a good barney to increase WOS reader numbers. I can imagine a huge increase this week LOL.
And today’s theme on the main thread is “Little Lies” don’t I just know it.
Been away for a few days… going to be away for a bit longer.
Saw this:
link to derekbateman.scot
and thought, yeah s’about right.
Media and political celebrity defining the message which directs opinion. It boils down to people with money, influence and reach telling you what to think.
Along with the Rev’s piece on MT and Paul’s over on WGD –
link to weegingerdug.wordpress.com
it’s easy to see what many have been saying for so very long on the nature of the media. That’s not the only problem though, is it? It takes two to tango. That the media are compromised both politically and corporately isn’t a shock. It’s not even… news. Trust in the media and in political institutions is at an all time national low. The problem isn’t just in or with the media.
It takes one party to tell a lie and one party willing to believe a lie. You tell a lie big enough and often enough, then no matter how little you trust the source… it becomes the reality.
The media and political opponents rely on people’s willingness to believe the worst in others, in themselves, in each other. They rely on people’s willingness to be given an opinion rather than form one.
It’s not just a broken media which needs fixed. People do. Our heads have been turned so many times we don’t know who to trust and most especially not ourselves, not our own judgement.
We’re broken too, both as individuals and as a society. We need to trust. We have to trust. We want to trust, but we are unwilling to trust, because that means opening our personal defences and our minds. It means placing everything that you are in the hands of someone else.
That’s the definition of unity and partnership, yes? Placing your faith and trust in something or someone and knowing they’ll be there for you no matter what.
What happens to unity and partnership when you remove that trust? When it’s deliberately undermined, damaged, misrepresented, betrayed to the point of mass confusion. Divide and rule. Confusion to your enemies. A society and societal unity broken and in disarray, broken to the point where those who are trying to save or help are pushed away. Because those who actually betrayed a trust have placed in your mind that no one could or should be trusted.
Take a look around you these days basically. Politics as it is practised.
What you see is what you get.
Maybe folks should have a think about that. We’ve come so very far and through so very much to come within touching distance. What’s being attempted here was never going to be easy. We’re talking about independence, nation statehood and popular sovereignty achieved by peaceful and popular ballot. Personally, I’d say that’s a pretty big thing. Historic even.
Be a shame if fear, depression and frustration snatched defeat from the jaws of …etc. For the want of trust in each other.
I’m away for a wee while. Take care now.
Macart: loved your “Good grief!” on the MT two minutes after you went off on your hols 😀 . And quite justified.
Sometimes a complete break (without lurking) for a wee while is best, although Wings can be dangerously addictive.
Looking forward to your return once you have recharged.
Breaking news: the British Lions have declared independence from Scotland.
No reaction yet from Gavin Hastings.
Cannae wait.
Paul Kavanagh (Wee Ginger Dug) is looking for someone to look after Ginger for a few days in August – all expenses paid of course in Glasgow or the surrounding area, Ginger is no good near other dogs – tends to tear them to shreds, please ask around and help out if you can.
Word from Paul – all sorted for Ginger xx
From politics –
link to en.wikipedia.org
To heavy metal –
link to nwobhm.com
MIND…BLOWN…!
Sorry to come back again about my Scottish holiday with 2-3 guys who had no idea.
It was kind of fun, wherever we were, I had a story of Scottish history. I knew the names of mountain ranges (some of them “been there, done that”) and the glens. I could even point out the place where Willie McRae supposedly drove off the road and shot himself so well his gun ended up 50ft away.
Towards the end, my two companions who always want to be right realised they weren’t, when it comes to Scotland. They listened to my wisdom… and my knowledge of the Scottish lingo and banter. We had a “yer da” encounter, brother and friend had no clue, I bantered back and took care of it.
Let’s see what Andy does at Wimbledon. Is he Scottish or British?
lumilumi Honey come and sit down here and tell me all about it
*plumps up cushions*
lumilumi I’ve played this several times but you may have missed it…
The Mary Janes- Queen of Hearts link to youtube.com
I’ll walk beside you once I’ve done the washing up *looks at a mountain*
There is nae doubt that Stu and other bloggers dae an excellent joab debunking the Onionist shite but, how does this translate to a popular uprising backed by Scots that live their lives aff o twitter, blogs and facebook? The fowk that are just surviving day to day and trying to get by.
It’s ah fine and well for the intellectually inclined but, we need the message tae reach the schemes and that is no happening right now.
So what are we gonna dae? Sit here posturing and virtue signalling or take the battle into the heartlands o Scotland?
We getting this show on the road or what?
link to youtube.com Great Song but the Dream will never die.
Is this song about Paula Rose?
I worry about his ankles.
@William Wallace
Many of us were on the road prior to the first referendum, how’d you think that 300,000 wee blue books were distributed in a matter of days?
Some hardy souls set up stalls at local fetes and the likes under the Wings banner, they expected abuse for doing so but got none as far as I know and I attended a couple.
Another point, your average Winger is older rather than younger would be good to encourage more of the younger people to help out. As far as the schemes go I totally agree and walked around the streets of Dundee delivering Labour for Independence leaflets. I was more than pleased when Dundee voted Yes but disappointed in the turnout compared to elsewhere.
It was that which made me a committed Yes voter. We do what we can when we can, that’s it. By the way I never give up doing something even if that’s just complaining by email to IPSO.
Bonsoir, mes braves!
Only jokin’!
@Tinto Chiel
First one was class, second one before my time lol
Played this before, you have to listen to the words though.
@William Wallace, 7th July 4:11am
We all do what we can, every little helps, whether online or offline. Some can only contribute online, while others can get out and about. If you think that there is something else that needs to be done, get out and do it or join up with someone in your area to get it done, don’t just post on WOS.
Sorry dears I’ve been busy…
You are always on my mind…
Greetings, Manky Mates, been away in the Heilans getting tanned! Had occasion to visit a glaziers yesterday for a pane o gless. Turns out the fancy glass showroom is on the site of the now famous Manky Bar! Crossed the road for a wee look at the Auld Calton Burial Ground which has been given a make-over, some interesting plaques n stuff in this sequestered spot, shame about the Bucky bottle left on a stone!
@ Paula Rose, thanks for the “Back to Back!” tape, fine singin & Margaret Bennett sitting in the congregation. She fair gets aboot!
Fred, believe it or not, you can’t get glass cut where I live now so I have to get the train (about 7 stops) to that Glazier’s. Glad Calton cemetery is being looked after: sometimes had my lunch there when I worked in Green Street, ‘cos it’s interesting.
“Getting tanned” 😀
Do you mean Martyn’s mum? Paula’s Gaelic psalms always feel so sad and eerie: all the woes of the Gael seem to be distilled into that sound.
Excellent “soft” Stranglers, Thepnr. Mind you, even when they were in their Rattus Norvegicus stage their lyrics were excellent.
Don’t think they speak nowadays.
Hey, Cactus, if you’re out there, how about this?
Enjoy!
@ Tinto, Martyn’s Maw indeed! There used to be a wee glazier’s shop on Shettleston Road but apparently gone now?
Don’t know, Fred. Forsyth’s is handier by train for me anyhow (Mrs TC takes the Bentley Continental to work).
Great day to recline in my sitootery with my half-pint of crème de menthe.
Cheers, chinas.
Robbie Robertson- Somewhere down the Crazy River link to youtube.com
Greeting one and all. Back from the hollybags, feeling refreshed and rarin tae go.
Touring aboot in the highlands it just reinforces, what a beautiful country we have. Went to Dunnet Head on Wednesday, lovely and sunny, gorgeous. You could look straight across to Orkney wonderful. When we retired a few years ago, we decided to stay home for holidays, and see all the bits of oor ain country that we hinnae got tae yet.
Doing well, we’ve done the Outer Hebrides, and quite a bit of the mainland. Still to get to Orkney & Shetland, but we are working on it.
Anyway, I hope that I find you all well and in good form. I gather that Nana has not made it back to the fold yet. Never mind lass, you take all the time that you need, and come back to us when you’re ready. We do miss you.
Welcome back, Marie. This for you and Nana. Couldn’t find this particular lady singing Soraidh leis an Aite, one of my favourites: great voice, though.
Thank you Tinto, the late Ishbel MacAskill, what a beautiful voice I enjoyed that very much. What a sair loss as they say.
Superb Tinto a bhallaich, time for jagged cocoa!
I’ve had the TRNSMT gig on as my aural wallpaper (well outside my sphere of knowledge but I’m willing to learn) and, for some reason, it inspired me to post this link again.
Remember, this is a German band – singing about Robert The Bruce. Check out the audience reaction.
Bang bang…
The answer…
Hey Tinto Chiel ~
Catching up, cheers for the Zeppelin 🙂
Happy holiday time!
@ Brian, thanks for the Bruce fans! met three wagon loads of kilted Germans last year, they were returning from Skye with their dug “Nevis!” Made their ain kilts tae!
Paula Rose ,
Bang bang. …Great tunes.
Smallaxe im due an Elvis tune my friend. lol 😉
Hi Big Phil.
Here’s a unique Elvis video for you…
Came across this very funny song about brexit whilst surfing youtube and thought that the off topic regulars would enjoy it.
@uno mas
Aye, well worth playing. It was played before but that’s definitely worth a second run. Guess what it has come true!
I believe that the hope in Londinium is that the “threat to the Union” will save them from Brexit. Feckin ell ope not.
@ Patrice on the 8th July, 2017 at 12:58 am quoting William Wallace on the 7th July 4:11am
We all do what we can, every little helps, whether online or offline. Some can only contribute online, while others can get out and about. If you think that there is something else that needs to be done, get out and do it or join up with someone in your area to get it done, don’t just post on WOS.
Ok then. Mebbe that’s what eh’ll dae. Eh’ll dae ah the gruntin and you can sit on yir arse talking shite on wings.
How does that suit ya? Eh Dinnae mind daeing the legwork if we get to the same place.
You just kick back and relax eh!
@ uno mas, brilliant!
Hi folks, can I just ask, where is smallaxe? Is he having a wee break, on holiday or is he not too grand at the moment.
Haud oan a meenit, Nana is missing tae, is there something we should know LOL.
Both indisposed at the moment Marie ah think. They’re fairly missed!
@ Fred, thanks for the info Fred, I’m sorry to hear that. Life is very quiet without them.
Love to both of them, hope it’s not too long till their back with us.
Talking about Smallaxe. Here is a wee tune for you my Friend link to youtube.com
Swamp Dog- Synthetic World link to youtube.com
@Michael McCabe
Right on cue Michael with the Bob Marley tune. I hear Smallaxe has been poorly recently but hopes to be back on Wings by the weekend and I look forward to that.
I’ve a wee tune for Smallaxe as well and everyone else too of course. Played before and it means a lot to me but this version hasn’t been played as far as I’m aware.
Hi Alex you have played that tune a few times and I know the reason it means so much to you. Every time you play it I pour myself a Brandy and shed a few tears and lots of old memories flood through my mind. Perfect song my Friend. This was one of my Brothers Favourite Groups and Song link to youtube.com
Marie, Michael, Thepnr, Big Phil and all on O/T
Thank you all for your kind concern and the music, just to keep everyone updated, Nana has been ill and has also had the bereavement of a family member to contend with along with another family member being extremely ill at the moment, she is improving healthwise and hopes to be back soon.
I am undergoing a new treatment for blood cancer, it’s not a cure but is necessary and it’s taking me a while to get used to the new chemo and meds regime. Nana and I speak on the phone regularly for a good old moan and to talk about you lot behind your backs. 🙂
Thank you, again, on behalf of Nana and myself.
Peace Always
For Big Phil; by special request!
The King:
Elvis Lives!!
Peace Always
Smallaxe & Nana
Thanks Smallaxe for the update…..both of you have all our love and best wishes.
Tell Mrs Smallaxe & Mr Nana (Norman??? I think?)
They have our total support…..you too must be!!!
well you both just must…..???
Mrs Smallaxe & Mr Nana…. Scotland and her people..owe you both a debt….but we need them just a wee bit longer.. I hope you don’t mind..
we need them
No much but…. jist a wee bit..XXXX
Joe Cocker! the auld yins are the best!
Smallaxe, thanks for the update on yourself and Nana. I’m sorry to hear that you have both been having a rough time of things.
Hears a wee tune for both of you.
Joe Cocker sure knew how to bite lumps out of a song.
Nana and Smallaxe: you’ve both been having a rough time recently. Hope you the clouds lift soon.
I’m going away for a wee break but will try to keep up with you scamps.
Anyone know how to iron an acrylic tartan mankini?
@ Tinto Chiel yes take it of first. Enjoy your wee break away
@Smallaxe
Didnae realise jist how poorly you wir. Eh’ll no bore ya wi hollow platitudes aboot “getting well soon” and ah that guff but, eh will genuinely keep ya in meh thoughts and hope athin works oot fir the best.
Eh’ll hae to write ya a wee poem tae cheer ya up when ehm next fuelled up wi the single malt (willnae be too lang awa eh kin assure ya o that). 🙂 (Or will that make things worse) 🙂
All the best. Wull.
Hot tip, Michael!
Fanx
Shrink-Dri Tinto! Enjoy the break kid!
William Wallace;
Thank’s for your kind thoughts Wull, you enjoy your single malt ma Freen and have yin or twa fir me seen as how the boattle’s open anywie. 🙂
Peace Love and Liquor Always
Tinto, old chum, I see no requirement for a gentleman of your renowned generous endowment having any need to iron your swimwear, the creases will most certainly disappear once your more than ample family jewels are ensconced in the aforesaid garment.
I am utterly convinced that I am not alone in waiting with breathless anticipation for the publication of the paparazzi’s images of your good self to appear in the latest edition of Time magazine.
Ps, gonnie bring us back a stalk a’ rock.
Peace Always #Manky
Shucks , you guys……
Just landed. Interpol alerted, apparently.
They’ll never take me alive ah tell ye!
Foot tapping…
Oh look – a younger Cactus…
Love these boys and they loved me…
@Smallaxe
Thanks for the update Smallaxe. Wishing you and Nana the very best.
Haven’t been keeping up with Wings as often as I used to, but always keep an eye open for you both when I visit.
Don’t worry – this is my home…
Shucks, you guys…..
Mind you, my pecks look awfie braw in this get up.
Just landed. Interpol seem to have been alerted.
They’ll never take me alive, ah tel ye!
Macart; Thank you, my Friend. I did notice the lack of posts from you but when you did post you were a welcome voice of reason among the arguments, I only wish more people would take heed of what you were saying, it’s been sad to watch the disruption to the threads lately.
I will be talking to Nana tomorrow and I will pass on your kind regards to her.
Thanks’ again for your kind wishes, they are much appreciated.
Peace Always
Paula Rose, the doctor will see you now!
Peace Always
@Abody –
Blimey!
Smallaxe back again! – the man has made more comebacks than Sinatra, but still disny fluff any lines.
🙂 🙂 🙂
So much coming and going, it’s all a man can do to keep on top of it, especially when Paula Rose has returned, thus causing major distraction.
TC – saw yer mail. Braw stuff. Hope you’ve been ‘filled-in’ by now. I can’t reply properly as I’m restricted to a phone key-pad – my massive digits cannot negotiate the tininess of it all. I’ve been told that my mother-in-law has a collection of wee pencil-type dobbers fit for the job, and she may give me one if I ask her nicely.
Here endeth the greetings!
Hoots y’all!
Hi, Ian, I’m back for a short time only. I still have some problems with meds confusing me at times, tomorrow I may sleep for hours but it’s not something that I can predict so today was just a trial run. I made a few mistakes posting links this morning, I lost track of what I was doing but I’ll be back again when and if I can.
I hope your son enjoyed his new job.
Peace Always
@Smallaxe –
I’ll tell him you sent good wishes, and he’ll appreciate them too – first full day tomorrow, so he’s a bit wound-up.
‘First jobs’ is a braw topic – maybe we can get that going until you get back to us.
Have good dreams brother!
IanB: message received and understood. “The geese are flying high tonight”, although I remain unfilled as yet.
Wish I hadn’t said that…….
“Wee pencil-style dobbers”: thought you were talking about Ruth, Kez and Wee Willie Willie Wonky.
All the best, Smallaxe. Don’t rush it.
@Smallaxe
The disruption is a small thing and easily mended, though yes, it is a pain in the bum. Supporters of the opposition or folk who like trolling (for whatever reason) find it easy enough to do at present. It’s a lack of focus or momentum which leaves folk a bit directionless. People are a wee bit confused, uncertain, out of touch with a structure which enables them to focus their energies.
There is no campaign or campaign structure with identifiable leadership to rally behind at the moment, only a desire. Our broad church and small differences are what and where, our visitors are concentrating their efforts. Their agenda is childishly simple. Turn small differences into divisive chasms. Fracture the YES movement by fomenting resentment between ‘factions’. The political, the non political, the more conservative (with a small c) against the more socialist and so on.
Wander onto a forum, drop an offensive statement, bait a few names they know they’ll get a response from (call them out by name if necessary), sit back and wait for the ‘fun’ to kick off. They don’t care if you can or can’t refute their initial statement. Their objective is merely to keep the ball rolling by picking one side or the other to keep prodding and keep the pot boiling. Job done. Thread disrupted. Friends at each others throats.
They’re not going to be offended if you can call them out. They don’t care how many times you call them a troll (they’ll even use that to start a fight and make people pick a ‘side’). Their objective is disruption and division.
They have a problem though. The clock is ticking and they have a limited window of opportunity before a campaign and a rallying point for the YES movement presents itself. When we’re all travelling in one direction and reading from the same page on self determination they’re ontae plums and they know it.
As for right now? Forewarned is forearmed. Folk simply need to be aware of what they’re about. Walk on by those they find offensive and look for familiar names and faces where they are assured of a friendly welcome, a good ear for listening, or a reasoned post for some information. The important thing is to look past the differences that divide to the common cause that unites.
Caring.
As for me? What time I have at the moment for the interwebby is spent skimming forums and occasionally writing the odd piece. The real world has its way of reminding you about stuff (You definitely know how that goes ma friend), so time online limited these days.
Take care.
Macart, I totally agree with you, my Friend, as you say if we can all turn in the one direction we will be an unstoppable juggernaut, or should that be JuggerNats? 🙂
I passed on your good wishes to Nana and she sends her love, as do I.
Peace Always
Cheers, Tinto, enjoy your break, the geese are in flight and will be landing soon. Things are already in motion.
Peace Always
@ Smallaxe, the geese are moulting their feathers the noo & not flying very high at all! Huggy is fu’ o them. Regards to Macart!