Now that the Nazis are back…

Posted on November 10, 2011 by

…seems to be the underlying message of a faintly extraordinary blog by Simon Johnson in the Telegraph today. Reacting to the suggestion (which appears to be solely his own) that the SNP will stage the independence referendum in 2014 to take advantage of patriotic events like the Commonwealth Games and the 700th anniversary of Bannockburn, Johnson suggests that the plan could backfire.

"2014 is also the 100th anniversary of the outbreak of the First World War and the 75th anniversary of the Second World War. This would provide the Unionists with ample opportunity to remind the Scottish people how they stood together with the English, Welsh and Northern Irish to defeat Nazism."

It's a fair point, and if by 2014 the Nazi threat is indeed once again looming over Europe, it may well affect the outcome of the referendum. But if the Unionists are already reduced to crossing their fingers for the rise of a new Hitler to stop the SNP, it would seem they're in even more desperate straits than anyone thought.

Subscribe
Notify of

1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Morag

We also stood together with the French, the Belgians, the USA and the USSR, to name but a few.
Is Simon Johnson suggesting Scotland should apply to enter into an incorporating union with any or all of these, as well?

Stats: 6,679 Posts, 1,205,171 Comments

• Athanasius on Trump’s Card: “In fairness, the SNP ARE an absolute clown show…Dec 15, 17:28
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: “Aye, Ros, they Naattoo cants really are fecking up yer wee pretendy scotland (population 1). Here in Scotland, we have…Dec 15, 17:23
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: ““an indirect result of” A direct result of some yellow Islamist nut job deciding that taking out a few hundred…Dec 15, 17:15
    • Republicofscotland on Trump’s Card: “The new Lord Haw Haw of Naattoo Mar Rutte wants _nnaatto and Western countries to cut public services and pensions…Dec 15, 17:12
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: ““24/7” Ask Santa for a matching watch/calendar combo this Xmas. See if he’ll throw in a free arse finder too.…Dec 15, 17:03
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: “Moan now Geri. The “gen0cide” claim against Isr only took a bung of $10 million to South Africa to organise.…Dec 15, 16:56
    • Nae Need! on Trump’s Card: “I agree with your last paragraph, even though I did donate to Kenny’s fundraiser for: Justice for AlexA fitting memorial…Dec 15, 16:55
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: “Humous fanboy greetin about sectarianism. You don’t have to make this stuff up – Ros does it for free!Dec 15, 16:50
    • robertkknight on Trump’s Card: “Crowd funder for Indy with no pro-Indy party in power and no united front for the liberation of Scotland amongst…Dec 15, 16:48
    • Republicofscotland on Trump’s Card: “So innocent shoppers – had to hide in shops and up closes in Glasgow earlier today, as the sectarian Neanderthals…Dec 15, 16:31
    • sarah on Trump’s Card: “Dan, I do see your point but I am also thinking that the threat of limitless funds to pursue the…Dec 15, 16:20
    • Sven on Trump’s Card: “Be debatable if the RN still has enough manpower to crew 6 Destroyers at one time, RoS. And, the way…Dec 15, 16:12
    • Geoff Anderson on Trump’s Card: “Telegraph article on Terf win https://archive.ph/NPtgYDec 15, 15:33
    • Dan on Trump’s Card: “I do understand the emotive motivations for folk wanting to try to obtain justice. But I’m of a mind that…Dec 15, 15:29
    • James Gardner on Trump’s Card: “Crowd funder to oust Alastair Carmichael in 2015, raised £100K ! Alex Salmond crowd funder in 2018, raised £60K in…Dec 15, 15:05
    • James Gardner on Trump’s Card: “Meantime, Glasgow earlier this afternoon….. https://www.facebook.com/100085397292644/videos/1069127125010543/Dec 15, 14:55
    • James Gardner on Trump’s Card: “Glasgow collected millions to build tanks in WW1, Glasgow built WW1 Tanks, in 1919 London used these tanks to suppress…Dec 15, 14:53
    • Republicofscotland on Trump’s Card: “The Butcher’s apron’s Daring class is on its knees – mind you Perfidious Albion, clings onto the Yankee’s coat-tails when…Dec 15, 14:44
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “I don’t believe there’s a lot of Yes voters who believe the crap about Salmond. If they won’t vote for…Dec 15, 14:40
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “Justice won’t be forthcoming. Its not a term in Perfidious Albion’s vocabulary. We all know it was a stitch up…Dec 15, 14:23
    • Michael Laing on Trump’s Card: “I don’t agree. I think we need to do everything possible, not only to get justice for Alex, but to…Dec 15, 14:00
    • sarah on Trump’s Card: “Alex Salmond case v Scottish government [and in a roundabout way the alphabetties too, I hope; also the young person…Dec 15, 13:10
    • Ian Brotherhood on Trump’s Card: “Aye, get where you’re coming from D but it’s not all about money. It’s more to do with grabbing a…Dec 15, 13:05
    • Dan on Trump’s Card: “But will Alex’s name ever be properly cleared whilst we’re still in the Union, and also enduring this corrupt Scottish…Dec 15, 12:48
    • Marie on Trump’s Card: “Well said Geri. Never mind Scottish troops being sent as part of a so called Coalition of the Willing to…Dec 15, 12:24
    • Ian Brotherhood on Trump’s Card: “If millionaire pals of Alex Salmond are spearheading the legal action to clear his name, is there any merit in…Dec 15, 11:35
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “BRICS isn’t a currency, ya space cadet. It’s a payment system. Speaking of currency tho – have you tipped the…Dec 15, 11:12
    • Mark Beggan on Trump’s Card: “Your Ross Greer’s boyfriendDec 15, 11:08
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “Oh do fuck off, Muppet.Dec 15, 10:57
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: “Yup. As the neo Tsar said, it’s a symbol of the creative genius of the Orcs. An eternally inventive genius…Dec 15, 10:32

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()