No reposit required

Posted on January 15, 2014 by

That’s the best you’re getting for a 10 o’clock joke tonight, we’re afraid. We’ve been beavering away expanding the Reference page this evening, with the result that it now contains a new section – the Repository, which is a collection of various documents pertaining to the independence debate we’ve accumulated over time and which we’ve now stuck in one place for easy finding, should you need to refer to them.

repository2

The White Paper is in there, of course, along with many of the other papers of non-specific colours released by both the Yes and No campaigns, various reports by government and independent bodies, some old election manifestos, the full text of the McCrone Report and all sorts of other stuff. If you’ve got anything that you think should be in there, send us a link in the comments and we’ll upload it.

70 to “No reposit required”

1. Gav Bain

I suggest, Scotland’s Economic Future from Reform Scotland, should be in here

http://reformscotland.com/public/publications/scotlandseconomicfuture.pdf

Also The Great Obfuscation

http://www.oilofscotland.org/The_Great_Obfuscation_GERS_2006.pdf

2. gordoz

If this has been covered by others my apologies

But its a powerful video message for the undecided by Jim Sillars

http://www.inplaceoffear.com/in-place-of-fear-ii-media/

3. uilleam_beag

Kudos, Stu. You put us ‘poor, Earth-bound companion[s] and fellow mortal[s]’ to shame.

4. Macart

How about some copies of the various draft constitutions available. There’s the SNPs old draft and that of the CC. A constitution is a big part of YES Scotland and the SGs selling points. Might get people thinking about a future.

5. squarego

Nineteen Eighty Four: The No campaign’s manual.

6. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“If you’ve got anything that you think should be in there, send us a link in the comments and we’ll upload it.”

7. twenty14

” how not to crash live ” by A. Carmichael

8. Lobeydosser

@Gordoz. Cheers for that, hadn’t seen it before. Will share it around.

9. Bingo Wings Over Scotland

For Facebook users, there’s an open group called Scottish Independence Library. Their files page is full of handy references and links.
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/297702830305399/files/

10. Gav Bain

There is the whole series of papers produced by the UK Government, including this howler where Scotland is allegedly “extinguished” in International law.

http://www.parliament.uk/business/publications/research/briefing-papers/SN06110/scotland-independence-and-the-eu

11. scottish_skier

twenty14 says:
    15 January, 2014 at 10:40 pm
    ” how not to crash live ” by A. Carmichael

I have a copy of “How to crash Live” by the same author.

Is yours maybe an earlier work?

12. Thistle

OT
    Live stream event 22nd with Alan Bissett and MD Michelle Thomson and Ivan McKee from Business for Scotland.

Live stream event on 23rd Labour voters for Scottish Independence with Alan Grogan, Denis Canavan and more.

Ask your questions during live stream or email us liveindependence@gmail.com

Economic Facts with Ivan McKee from Business for Scotland:
    http://youtu.be/1W8cKHcZn60

http://www.facebook.com/ScottishIndependenceLiveEvents
    http://www.youtube.com/IndependenceLive
    new.livestream.com/IndependenceLive

13. SquareHaggis

Thanks 4 the heads up Gordoz, 2 copies bought & paid, cheers.

14. Alba4Eva

Check out the dates of the comments on this thread… and the comments themselves. I just added the last one.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/positive-case-for-the-union-watch/#comment-763344

15. Semus

How about “Diomhair” Secrets the DVD.I have had this played in Irish,Czech,Slovak and Hungarian bars on big screen in large function rooms to shocked audiences. Copies were made and taken to villages and towns.
    What about the “Cheviot the Stag and the Black Black Oil”
    I have been trying to find a play, a radio play I heard about 20 years ago.Set in 18c Edinburgh in the court of Session and among a judges servant who sits under the judges table to “lowsen the gruvitts” and I think involves a slavery case,Any ideas?Grand elegant Scots language as well? I cannot bring myslef to write to the BBC or Anglo Saxophone.

16. ianbeag

Perhaps not tailored to your specific request for suitable archive material but a very interesting piece from Professor David Donnison of Glasgow University in the Scottish Review as he as he articulates a positive case for a YES vote to fellow academics at the LSE. Another convert from Labour?
    http://www.scottishreview.net/DavidDonnison140.shtml

17. Chic McGregor

O/T here’s hoping for a fairytale ending to the year like this event in the Hydro which is going viral.

18. Steve B

Sorry off-topic – but a lot of the usual BT suspects on Twitter are quoting a study by people at Reading University stating that in that most Yes / No referendums the Yes vote decreases nearer the poll date.

However I think they may only be selective with their views on this – so if anyone is any good at stats or has more info it would be good to hear some kind of repudiation to this.

https://blogs.reading.ac.uk/readingpolitics/2014/01/15/scotlands-independence-referendum-do-we-already-know-the-result/

19. Barontorc

It cannot be said loud enough that WoS is a major player in this ‘process’ and much credit to you Rev Stuart for being absolutely there on the pulse 24/7/365. Thanks!

20. Scott Minto (Aka Sneekyboy)

@Steve b

They are reviewing various different types of referendums on differing topics, and they say that no increases over time…

but the thing is, that’s not true if you just look at independence referendums…

the motivations are different compared to a single interest referendum…

they are picking data that suits their hypothesis rather than testing it against the closest matches.

Scottish Skier would be able to further expand on the point.

21. Steve B

Thanks Scott for the reply – it’s always good to get some kind of context for this kind of loose “research”.

Now off topic again – something that’s just made my blood boil in The Guardian- and I just had to vent it somewhere – who can say we are “Better Together” when we are part of a state that does this:

http://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2014/jan/16/harmondsworth-elderly-man-died-handcuffs

22. Angus McLellan

SLAB’s Powers for a Purpose interim devo-little proposal (hosted by the BBC, always keen to save SLAB money on advertising, etc): http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/shared/bsp/hi/pdfs/18_04_13_scotdevoreport.pdf

Armstrong’s Scotland Currency Options NIESR paper where the “1.5% interest rate premium” comes from (sort of). Very dull indeed: http://niesr.ac.uk/sites/default/files/publications/dp415.pdf

The millions of pages of the Anglo-Irish Treaty of 1921, the Anglo-Scottish equivalent of which would allegedly take simply forever to negotiate, can be found here: http://cain.ulst.ac.uk/issues/politics/docs/ait1921.htm

Dorcha Lee’s defence paper from the [Irish] Institute of International & European Affairs: http://www.iiea.com/ftp/Publications/Reflections%20on%20Defending%20an%20Independent%20Scotland-IIEA_2013_compressed.pdf

Martin Maguire’s book The Civil Service and the Revolution in Ireland, 1921-1938: Shaking the Blood-Stained Hand of Mr Collins may not be everyone’s idea of light reading, but it does explain how the civil service was split once before (on Google Docs): https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bwt0yv-UaY8FR0ppeGpaa2xnZXM/edit?usp=sharing

The Institute for Government’s Making and Breaking Whitehall Departments. How hard is it to reorganise government departments now, as opposed to 1921? This lengthy paper gives some recent-ish examples, including creation of DWP & HMRC. http://www.instituteforgovernment.org.uk/sites/default/files/publications/making_and_breaking_whitehall_departments.pdf

23. Adrian B

Cuts to the UK’s armed forces will limit the country’s ability to be a major player on the world stage, a former US defence secretary has warned.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-25754870

24. Inbhir Anainn

Could I suggest “The Great Debate” took place in February 1995, and was a head-to-head between Alex Salmond and Labour’s shadow Scottish Secretary of the time George Robertson (hosted by an unfamiliar raven-haired Lesley Riddoch) at the Royal High School in Edinburgh, which was then favourite to be the home of the still-notional Assembly.

http://youtu.be/if-2A47U5PQ

A young Nicola Sturgeon can be viewed sitting amongst the audience.

25. bunter

The Herald. BBC censured over Lucinda Creightons comments. Nothing on BBC website as yet.

26. caz-m

Celtic Connections music festival starts today in Glasgow, so I do hope there is a strong Scottish Independence theme running through their songs. It’s a world stage where they can get the Vote Yes message out. Let’s hope they do something constructive.

27. Illy

Can I suggest adding the following link in there somewhere:

http://wingsoverscotland.com/tag/claimofscotland/

It would be a shame if it gets lost after you’ve finished uploading it all.

28. Ken500

If Jim Sillars really want Independence so badly, why doesn’t he get behind Alex & Co and the SNP, instead of sniping in the wings (pun accepted). When the going gets tough, the tough get going – United to the cause – the ultimate aim, the prize. The goal is the most important. People sniping at the edges will put off people voting for Independence. People are cutting off their nose to spit their face. In a spite that is totally out of place. For goodness sake, Scotland is fighting for it’s life, fighting for it’s very existence. Can people No bury the hatchet and stop dividing and ruling, divisively. Just what Westminster tries to do and right into their barrel. Stop being a fifth column fraternising with the opposition.Some people should waken up. They could be the reason some folk will not vote YES.

Many people join the SNP for precisely that reason to contribute and fight unitedly for Independence. Don’t knock it, embrace it. Unity is strength. There will be Alliance’s formed after. That is for the future. There are enough external forces to contend with, people who support Independence should stay United and no let the ultimate Prize be sidelined, in any way. It is counter productive.

29. caz-m

@bunter

The lowlife at BBC Scotland need to be reminded of this and other anti-independence acts on phone ins, live debate shows, etc…so they don’t have time to edit it out.

I keep going on about this, but the best way to get back at BBC Scotland is to embarrass them in front of the whole Nation. And when the Commonwealth games are on, embarrass them in front of the whole world.

These scumbags need to be outed.

30. Bogindollo

Your own ’50 answers for the No campaign’ from 13th January this year

31. Ken500

Coming out

Eddie Barnes, has become Director of strategy and communications for the Scottish? conservatives, ‘challenging the lazy consensus that exists in certain areas’. Congratulations on such a suitable appointment, Condem.

32. Ken500

The best way to get rid of the BBC and any other embarrassment, is not to watch it. No viewers – no programmes. Rating tumble – Heads will roll.

33. SquareHaggis

Ken, I agree with you on many (although not all) aspects of what you are saying, same as I do with Jim Sillars. True he has a wee snipe at Alex Salmond and the white paper which he’s entitled to do as part of the debate but lets face reality here, many voters, especially women voters for some strange reason just don’t take to AS, JS has come up with a dialoge that does, to take back power for the kids and the grandkids, which will resonate strongly with the female voter IMHO.

34. Macart

Here you go Rev.

http://www.constitutionalcommission.org/resources.php

Hope these start to get people thinking about what they want.

35. Ian Brotherhood

Eyebrows were raised when NNS took on David Torrance as a guest columnist.

His latest offering doesn’t provide much reason to lower them any time soon, but it’s interesting to see how long a professional journalist can keep spinning plates – can’t be easy to write, and it ain’t much fun to read either.

http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-opinion/8582-listing-the-positives-and-the-negatives

36. Doug

O/T It appears Alistair Carmichael has been replaced as SoS for Portsmouth.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-hampshire-25753398

37. alexicon

This is a must for me.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/whats-all-this-we-paleface/

It counters the; “but we fought so many wars together.”

O/T.

BBC Scotland has been censured by its own BBC trust for misleading the Scottish public.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/politics/referendum-news/reporting-scotland-censured.23187864

38. steviecosmic

HC 643 The foreign policy implications of and for a separate Scotland.

Graham Avery, Senior Member of St. Antony’s College, Oxford University, Senior Adviser at the European Policy Centre, Brussels, and Honorary Director-General of the European Commission.

http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm201213/cmselect/cmfaff/writev/643/m05.htm

39. Ken500

AS is the most popular successful Politican in the UK. Alex & Co, the SNP are (pro rata) the most popular in the UK. 56% plus ratings – most trusted etc. Women for various reasons, are less likely to engage in politics. It’s not they do no ‘like’ AS, they do not engage with ‘male’? Politicans per se. People identify with people who they perceive are like themselves.(pychology). It could be women do not engage in politics as it is predominated by men. A self-fulfilling prophecy. ie women in Scotland do not like Cameron, Clegg, Miliband.

It is not so simple that women do not like AS, because of the negative Press. Or they do not like male Politicans. There can be the reason, a minority of people do not like AS, a minority are being influenced by the negative publicity.

Not everyone 100% supports the SNP or Alex and Co, even some supporters, but it is the best thing going (along with others) for those of an Independence persuasion.

40. steviecosmic

EU Presidency Statement – The right to self-determination

http://www.eu-un.europa.eu/articles/en/article_338_en.htm

41. caz-m

@Ken500
    To say, just don’t listen to BBC Scotland is too simplistic. They don’t loose money if people turn off, they are publicly funded. They are not a commercial outfit.

They are meant to take a balanced view on political matters.

The bias that is in every news bulletin is getting listened to by undecided voters, so these voters need to be told of the lies and twisted stories that are coming out of Pacific Quay.

Ken, surely you can see the point that we are trying to make here.

42. Ken500

Unemployment Portsmouth 3%

Unemployment Govan 15%

43. Paul

O/T Lamont giving yet more double speak on the council tax she is saying that it must go up we have all got to “Buy in to the council tax” maybe I would if Labour controlled Edinburgh council hadn’t have frozen my pay for 3 years and then cut my wage this year how does this stupid woman think I am going to be able to pay a rise. perhaps if these politicians cut their own over inflated salaries and perks there would be more money for services.

44. Ken500

If rating drop off, programmes are axed or questions are asked, even at the BBC. Funding is questioned etc. It happens in most Corporations.

45. Ken500

Tax is supposed to be progressive and fair. The council tax is not. The Council tax (deficit) funding is made up by the Scottish gov (Block grant – through income + other taxes) which is much fairer. Labour/Unionists want people to pay twice for their incompetence and squander of public monies.

46. Ray

@Bingo Wings Over Scotland,

Wow, that Facebook Independence Library link has loads of interesting things in it. Was just reading about the bribed nobles in 1707 and how much they were paid in today’s terms.

47. caz-m

@Ken500

You are not gettin this, are you Ken. Are you saying that we have not to question any MSM bias. It is not one particular BBC Scotland programme that is biased. It is all their news programmes and all their staff.

Sites like Wings are based on knocking down stories that are biased against independence and stories that are just blatant lies. The Rev watches the newspapers like a hawk for any bullshit that might be in them. Well the same has to be done with our state broadcaster. They have to be monitored, and any bias has to be highlighted to the undecided voter.

48. Schiehallion! Schiehallion!

The fact is that without BBC Scotland, the No campaign and all its BT lardy haw haws would be dead in the water.

49. SquareHaggis

@ken500,

Please note, I didn’t say women don’t “like” Alex Salmond, I said they don’t take to him particularly.

I spoke with a group of ladies on this subject at a folk night in Cruden Bay just ater Christmas and no they didn’t seem to be misinformed or disengaged, in fact I was quite surprised just how well informed they were. The problem I was having was in convincing them that a vote for Indepenence is not necessarily a vote for AS per se but a vote to free their country, .

Maybe the drinks were flowing a tad excessively and the girls were waxing lyrical, the setting was perhaps not ideal but insofar as convincing them, all I could get from them was that they would be quite happy to vote Yes if it were Nicola Sturgeon at the helm. Fickle but then that’s women for you. It appears they do need more convincing but they’re certainly not uninformed and definitely up for independence. I don’t think it’s anything personal against AS but more a case of them not trusting men on important matters in general.

50. ronnie anderson

@Ken 500, It would, be the first time, I have brought up the same issue,Bbc news a collective switch off.It cause,s a spike in the transmitter station/& the power supply,it all add,s to getting the attention & respect people demand, from the MSM. Who,s up for it,one week of switch off,s of Bbc news/then Stv.

51. lynne halliday

just to say congratulations on everything you guys are doing,WINGSOVERSCOTLAND is by far the best informative page that i have came across,easy to read an no political jargon, keep up the brilliant work!!! lynne halliday v.s.s 🙂

52. BillyBigbaws

Good stuff Stu. I really think these should be included.

State Papers on Scotland – Economic Advantages to Scotland of the Union.

http://www.tomgriffin.org/the_green_ribbon/2007/01/state_papers_on_1.html

These are the minutes of a 1975 meeting of UK Government civil servants, in which they discuss how Scotland can be persuaded to back away from the ideas of devolution and independence.

Money quote: “the orders of magnitude are sufficient to show that Scotland would have more cash on independence than under continued union.”

Also useful is this report from the Telegraph about another Whitehall meeting, held a year after the McCrone Report was submitted to the UK Government. The documents from this meeting are now in the National Archives. The Unionist sources lend credibility to some otherwise mindboggling statements.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/scotland/6240671/North-Sea-oil-gave-Scotland-massive-budget-surplus-say-Government-records.html

Money quote:

“A final draft, dated June 1975, admitted that a ‘popular view’ was Scotland’s economic problems would disappear and it would become the ‘Kuwait of the western world.’

This paper concluded that a separate Scotland would enjoy 25 or 30 per cent more wealth per head than England during the 1980s, but cast doubts on whether oil extracted in waters east of Shetland could be claimed by the Scots.”

Hope this helps. I have more.

53. SquareHaggis

@ken500

I think we agree on most points here, apart from the JS comments but I’ll wait til I’ve perused his wee booklet before making my judgement.

Best thing is he’s a definite Yes and that can only add to the support.

P.S. Don’t think the White Paper is set in stone, in fact I think it says that, maybe a massive red herring for them doon the road, keep them scurrying back and forth like the heidless chickens they’re porving to be.

Up and onwards eh?

54. castle hills chavie

How about Asterix and the Pechts

55. David McCann

A link worth uploading is RUSI Scotland. In it you can view a discussion about Defence in an independent Scotland. It lasts for 1 hour 14minutes.

You can also download the PDF of the report ‘ All The Blue Bonnets’produced by RUSI.
    http://www.rusi.org/scotland

The ‘Diomhair’ video referred to above, and which I agree should be viewed by every Sottish citizen, can be purchased from Caledonia TV,147 Bath St., Glasgow, for £10 plus p&p.

56. Kiereann

The Declaration of Human Rights

http://www.un.org/en/documents/udhr/

57. Kiereann

Scotlands North Sea Oil Revenue; itself brimming with additional links you may wish to follow up on

http://www.oilofscotland.org/scottish_north_sea_oil.html

58. velofello

Well you did ask Rev. I hope you have a team of little helpers to respond to all these proposals for archiving. Brilliant initiative by Wings.

Ian Brotherhood: I suppose David Torrance is contracted to write X thousand worded articles, and so just blabs on aimlessly until he reaches his quota.Maybe a smart move by NNS revealing Better Together as having plenty to say, nothing to contribute.

59. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Lots of stuff added to the Repository from your suggestions, including new sections for newspaper articles and video. Good work, folks.

60. GA

HC 643 The foreign policy implications of and for a separate Scotland

http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm201213/cmselect/cmfaff/writev/643/m05.htm

61. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“HC 643 The foreign policy implications of and for a separate Scotland”

Already in.

62. alexicon

Banking laws relating to which country is responsible for banks debts.

63. alexicon

International Banking laws relating to which country is responsible for banks debts.

64. dmw42

Stu, worth adding to your references (if not already there):

http://legal.un.org/ilc/texts/instruments/english/conventions/3_2_1978.pdf (Vienna Convention on Succession of States in respect of Treaties)

http://legal.un.org/ilc/texts/instruments/english/conventions/3_3_1983.pdf (Vienna Convention on Succession of States in respect of State Property, Archives and Debts

Both referenced by Boyle and Crawford and some very enlightening reading.

65. Stevie

THE SCOTTISH INDEPENDENCE LIBRARY

https://www.facebook.com/groups/297702830305399/

66. SquareHaggis

An excellent resource for info on Scotland’s oil

Includes an e-petition to revoke the secret deal that transferred
    6,000 MILES OF SCOTTISH SEA THAT WESTMINSTER MADE ENGLISH IN 1999

http://www.oilofscotland.org/

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.