New things in cartons

Posted on February 15, 2013 by

We’re still mulling over the exclusive design/logo for “Heroes” in the fundraising campaign, but we were so pleased with this when we came up with it this morning that we thought it was too good to limit to people with lots of money.

betterourselves

It’s also the first Megastore sub-section with the new version of our masthead logo, designed to show progress from 2012 to 2013. (Last year we’d just found our old wings in the attic, now we’ve well and truly got them on. Not sure what we’re going to do for 2014 yet, maybe patch up all the holes.)

We might do a special version or exclusive colour run for Heroes or something, or come up with something different entirely. For now, click the image to see the product range, or just simply look at it and bask in our genius 😉

Subscribe
Notify of

39 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Scott Minto (Aka Sneekyboy)

Well why not go with “Local Hero”.

Seems apt

Keef

Very clever Rev.

Would an exclamation mark at the end of ‘ourselves’ enhance it?

Atypical_Scot

Is there any merchandise with the logo, but without the quips?

domhnall dods

Bit close to Sinn Fhein – we ourselves?

Morag

I like it.  I don’t actually like the new version of your masthead logo so much , but no doubt I’ll get used to it.

I’m constantly debating with myself just how suibtle it has to get before a sweatshirt will get past my employer’s ban on wearing sporting or political logos.  This one – maybe not so much.

Keef

Hey Morag did you happen to see my offer to you on the ‘8 days’ post?

Atypical_Scot

Yep, no words. My screen show dollar prices for shop? P.S. Liked McNeil’s piece in the Herald today.

The Man in the Jar

Like it. Good wordplay!

Doug Daniel

Ahh, I hadn’t noticed the subtle change to the logo – when did that happen?

As a Hero, I would be quite happy to just have “HERO” automatically appear under my Gravatar, or something similar to fuel my ego. Although an empty display case with “Positive Case For The Union in here” in diamond-encrusted letters would suffice.

Morag

Keef said:
Hey Morag did you happen to see my offer to you on the ’8 days’ post?

Yes, I did.  Already done the Hero bit, and holding off now till it gets nearer the target date.  I still think you should take him out though.  I don’t know who isn’t there, but I suggested Macbeth and/or Kenneth MacAlpine, neither of whom I saw on a quick run-through.

I don’t remember if Queen Margaret was there, but I hope not.  Including token women shouldn’t extend to the woman who brought to an end the Scottish royal house speaking Gaelic, and tried to get everything as Anglicised as possible.

Mike Hutchison

I really like the logo with the patchy wings, don’t ever fill them in! It would make a great tattoo, but I’d better not: while we all want indepedenece it only goes so far when you have a partner.
Maybe it’s just me, for some reason the clean solid font doesn’t ‘feel’ right with the patchy wings. I’d love to see the logo with some simple shading to give it a little depth – Nothing too fancy like, the fact that it’s simple without too much going on but still manages to look cool is what makes it a winner in my opinion. 

Morag

Mit Flügeln, die ich mir errungen, werde ich entschweben ….  🙂

Atypical_Scot

Wow, a very speedy response! Cheers!

squarego

Looking for the Scottish Pound option. Coming soon!

Midgehunter

Sorry but I think the text BETTER OURSELVES just doesn’t fit.

It’s much too near to the bitter together slogan – better this -better that – better yourself – better ourselves – better future – better nation – better ……. etc. We’re not good enough, we need to get better. It’s not positive and forward looking.

I thnk we need something with more power, a definition of stronger together, dynamic.

Thinking cap switched on …?

Morag

It’s an extremely clever pun, but I agree there will be people who don’t get it.

naebd

“Thinking cap switched on …?”
They do electric thinking caps now?

naebd

I agree it needs an exclamation mark – not strident enough. Maybe stick an Alba gu snooker loopy! on there too.

Jeannie

@midgehunter

That’s quite a good point, actually.

Jeannie

@Re
That’s quite a good point as well.  Not sure what to make of it now.

naebd

I think it’s a witty play on words, but the separation (sorry) of the two words made it harder for me to notice that play on words. 

Jeannie

@Rev
 I could certainly knock some up in a few minutes
Will you behave yourself!

Doug Daniel

Someone should do BetterOurselves posters etc in the BetterTogether font…

Morag

Yeah, that’s a good idea.  I was thinking the best place for that slogan was at a Bitter Together meeting!  Could confuse the poor dears something rotten.

Albamac

I’ve never liked the logo.  I think it looks too militaristic and threatening, like the battle-worn banner of a conquering legion.  It squats above us and spreads its wings in an aggressive display.  Some may see it as a representation of imperialism in tatters, but that’s not the immediate message that it conveys to me.  I look at it and old associations colour my response.

I don’t see anything in it that conveys a message of hope and peaceful progress towards a better life in a better world. I’d prefer something clean, modern and bright, conveying an immediate sense of forward, upward, unlimited movement.

Stereotypes!  Whit c’n ye dae? 🙂

ianbrotherhood

@Rev Stu:
‘I should be able to locate some more beaten-up fonts, will have a muck around in Paint Shop later and see what happens’.
Suggestion – what about the ‘stencil’ style Banksy uses – chunky, urban, edgy…might be a good match for the distressed wings, and aspiring Banksies would find it easy to emulate…not that I’m advocating graffiti of any kind.

Albamac

“You’ve got our email address, right?”
Aye, Stu. Whitmalike? 🙂

Chic McGregor

I kinda concur with Albamac, can I have your email address as well please?

kininvie

Maybe you need to stop being modest and get the product to promote the site?
‘Scotland has Wings”
with URL of course…

ianbrotherhood

Variant magazine did a belter years ago – it was a poster of the 1919 (??) demo in George Square, a monochrome close-up of the massed bunnets with cops helmets dotted amongst them, and a very small slogan, appeared very rough, as if made with one of those John Bull kits. It said ‘Dream At The Top Of Your Voice’. Don’t know who said it originally, but it was a powerful image.

KenC

In response to the ‘Scotland is extinguished’ advice, how about:
Scotland- Relight the Flame. 

Indion

BEST TOGETHER
INDY + UNIONS

or

INDY + UNIONS
BEST TOGETHER

geddit?

Stevie

A bit too 3rd reich for my tastes, though BETTER OURSELVES is good

Stats: 6,691 Posts, 1,208,912 Comments

• Oscar Taime on A crisis of democracy: “Have always detested the assumption implicit in Churchill’s statement i.e. that we have tried everything there is to try &…Jan 15, 13:56
    • Alf Baird on A crisis of democracy: “Thanks Fearghas. I am not sure we can say the Scots are one indigenous ethnic group whilst seemingly encompassing twa…Jan 15, 13:54
    • Jon Drummond on A crisis of democracy: “Parody Account. But you dream on, Bud.Jan 15, 13:49
    • robertkknight on A crisis of democracy: “A bit more nuanced than ironing razor sharp creases in the sleeves of my favourite brown shirt. Well, I got…Jan 15, 13:43
    • sarah on A crisis of democracy: “I too am hoping to hear this umbrella has been organised. It is the only way I can see to…Jan 15, 13:19
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on A crisis of democracy: “Alf, not to be tiresomely contentious, but you are again reprehensibly airbrushing Gaelic from our heritage. The Gaels were of…Jan 15, 12:38
    • sam on A crisis of democracy: “It’s a wee bit more nuanced than that, James. For instance quite strong belief that in UK big business takes…Jan 15, 12:23
    • Confused on A crisis of democracy: “The union was a perfect thought from the mind of God himself. And because the British Empire created western civilisation,…Jan 15, 12:17
    • James on A crisis of democracy: “So, ‘Reform’ – that some charlatans on this site are cheering on – support; Tax cuts for the rich. Benefit…Jan 15, 12:11
    • Alf Baird on A crisis of democracy: “Yes, ‘anglocentric heft’ a critical aspect in the dominant cultural hegemony ruling Scotland and prevailing over our ongoing ethnic oppression.…Jan 15, 11:54
    • Andrew F on A crisis of democracy: “Ivor Caplin. That name rings a bell. Was just reading a very interesting story about him being arrested the other…Jan 15, 11:49
    • Alf Baird on A crisis of democracy: “The reality is a bit different in a colonial society where there is also an ethnic, linguistic and cultural divide,…Jan 15, 11:45
    • sam on A crisis of democracy: “Young people today do not have enough respect for traditional British values 89% Migrants coming to the United Kingdom across…Jan 15, 11:39
    • Alf Baird on A crisis of democracy: “Yes, Kelly did the same in 2021 arguing for SNP 1+2 which as many predicted totally wasted the nationalist list…Jan 15, 11:35
    • Confused on A crisis of democracy: “the english state religion is worship of the mythic pastJan 15, 11:24
    • Cynicus on A crisis of democracy: ““Kelly is back in the SNP and is back to urging anyone who’ll listen to “cast both votes SNP”. What…Jan 15, 11:11
    • Cynicus on A crisis of democracy: “Not true. Of course, it was NOT P.R. And was far worse than any version of PR, including d’ Hondt.…Jan 15, 10:53
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on A crisis of democracy: “Further to the René Lévesque video above, here is some informative nostalgia. The half-hour 2013 documentary linked to below was prescient…Jan 15, 10:14
    • Vivian O’Blivion on A crisis of democracy: “Further evidence of the febrile nature of UK politics. More in Common, Westminster voting intention, field work 10 – 13…Jan 15, 10:01
    • sam on A crisis of democracy: “YouGov shines a light on the backers of the insurgent party [Reformhttps://yougov.co.uk/politics/articles/49887-what-do-reform-uk-voters-believe]Jan 15, 09:49
    • Mike on A crisis of democracy: “https://wingsoverscotland.com/dreaming-of-perfection/Jan 15, 09:41
    • Rev. Stuart Campbell on A crisis of democracy: “Or, y’know, because those polls put the “indy” parties combined on under 40% and the Unionist parties on over 60%,…Jan 15, 09:30
    • Chas on A crisis of democracy: “Wrong in so many ways. Are you a Tory?Jan 15, 09:18
    • Mark Beggan on A crisis of democracy: “” exceptionalist historic myth of origin” I take you are referring to Troy.Jan 15, 09:11
    • TURABDIN on A crisis of democracy: “In my relatively limited experience of the thing itself, i find the UK to be the fountainhead of the «proscriptive…Jan 15, 09:06
    • Vivian O’Blivion on A crisis of democracy: “James “both votes SNP” Kelly claims to have the Holyrood data set from the Survation poll (field work 7 -…Jan 15, 08:55
    • Mark Beggan on A crisis of democracy: “How many Promises, Vows and Visions will spew out of the political class between now and 2026?Jan 15, 08:51
    • Tartanpigsy on A crisis of democracy: “So any news on a single ticket Yes Front for the list vote? It is the only democratic option left…Jan 15, 08:41
    • Muscleguy on A crisis of democracy: “The non voting is partly driven by the Tory’s vote depressing measure to require photo ID at UK elections. I…Jan 15, 07:32
    • Humza Who? on A crisis of democracy: “The national debt was around £1.5T when Brown was booted out. This was AFTER the bank bail-outs. The Tories doubled…Jan 15, 06:16

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()