Including Carwyn Jones

Posted on February 20, 2014 by

We must admit, we’re perplexed by Scottish Labour’s apparent and oft-expressed belief that the Welsh (Labour) First Minister is the ultimate authority on currency unions. We’re not aware of any financial expertise on his CV, and as he’s not even a Westminster MP his opinion will carry no weight in any negotiations on the matter.

So we’re not sure why his view is singled out, from the entire population of the UK, as having special relevance. Still, Johann Lamont seems pretty worked up about it.

158 to “Including Carwyn Jones”

1. Morag

Wings over Scotland. Watching train wrecks so you don’t have to.

2. Bugger (the Panda)

Johann has completely lost the plot.

Yes must be winning, and No doesn’t have a clue what to do except scream abuse and froth at the mouth.

They are imploding.

I may take up drinking again as I watch this ship go down. I think it will go down quickly and soon. Johann and Darling may be the first casualties, followed by Cameron?

3. Wayne

JoLo was especially dire today. The last question in particular was absolutely hilarious. Alex had taken the debate in a different direction so much so that her last question seemed out of place, but she stuck to the script regardless. But we have all seen what happens when she goes off script (wee things and all that) so perhaps we should understand why someone of such limited intelligence has been forbidden from improvising.

She actually got through a whole FMQs without using the word “frippery”!

Lamont came across as increasingly desperate. Alex was on fine form once more and put them all in their place. Ruth Davudson must have been left embarrassed as Salmond once more used the views of her peers to belittle her in public.

Can’t wait for the Sturgeon demolition of Lamont next week on STV.

4. Gordon Smith

Hair Rollers, rolled down stocking and a fag end, all that is missing from this scene.

5. Alfresco Dent

She really is beginning to look quite mad.

6. KillieBoab

She obviously thinks that she is speaking to Primary 2.

7. Indy_Scot

“What do you not understand, what do you not understand”,

What I don’t understand is why she has not be certified as being insane.

8. ronnie anderson

I think Carwyn Jones will have plenty to deal with,Mr Cameron re the floods,( money,s no object ) thats of coarse that you dont stay in Ryle Nth Wales, they dont get any money for flood damage
    maybe Mr Jones will sort that out with his pal big Davy.

9. scaredy cat.

I despair of this women. This, on the other hand is splendid.

Happy Glasgow 2014 – in kilts!

http://youtu.be/ZxJGCqPakck

10. john king

refresh

11. heedtracker

She’s excruciatingly unwatchable, maybe on purpose. Cant believe she’s an ex teacher though!

12. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“refresh”

It’s TWO WORDS! People can’t remember TWO WORDS?

*explodes in corner*

13. John Bell

What I’ve noticed is that when she starts a sentence with “In the REAL world…” what comes next is invariably fantasy.

14. cynicalHighlander

@KillieBoab says:

She obviously thinks that she is speaking to Primary 2.

Which is why we have so many disturbed children a product of debater of the year 2013.

15. john king

I no understand I from Barthelona.
    What this word frippary mean does it mean a wee thing?

16. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Wings over Scotland. Watching train wrecks so you don’t have to.”

Watching them over and over again, while grabbing, editing and uploading them.

🙁

17. tony Little

page

18. tony Little

sorry rev

19. cynicalHighlander

Rev can you put those instructions above comment box as a temporary measure until the attack is over, just suggesting.

20. Donald

whit?

21. G H Graham

The clue is in the woman’s title: “STAIRHEID RAMMY EXPERT”.

22. john king

“Happy Glasgow 2014 – in kilts!”

What is this strange thing on my face? 🙂

23. Bingo Wings Over Scotland

That wee blast of Lamont was painful. Then I watched it again with the sound off while humming a happy tune. I can report that Dancing JoLa is much more fun. Try it, she’s like an auntie at a wedding. That clip really deserves be set to music.

24. Fiona

I was just watching Throwing Eggs on BBC iPlayer. I knew Ms Lamont reminded me of someone…. it is Lord Dunstable

25. Indy_Scot

I’m no medical expert, but having watched the clip a few times now, I am beginning to think that the strain of her postion may be having an adverse effect on her mental health.

26. Findlay Farquaharson

what scottish labour think of the scottish people can be seen by the choice of this woman as their leader. simply astounding.

27. muttley79

Yikes. Lamont does not get any better does she. Two things worth highlighting. Lamont absolutely hates the SNP with a passion. You can almost feel the self entitlement even SLAB political nonentities, such as Lamont, have towards Scotland. They still have not come to terms with their defeat in 2007, let alone 2011 (at least the unionist ones anyway). Secondly, Stairheid Lamont can’t even pronounce Scotland. 😀 😀

28. eric

Oh I am soooooo glad I didn’t see this woman in action at FMQT. This is cringeworthy and embarrassing.

Is this really the cream of Scottish Labour? The talent at the top? The high flyer? The shining example?

This silly wee wummin is damaging the reputation of all professional women. There are plenty of women in Scotland that could do this job a million times better.

What kind of democracy and government do we have? What is Scottish Labour? It really is amateur hour.

29. rabb

Lamont’s curlers

30. cynicalHighlander

@Bingo Wings Over Scotland

I can report that Dancing JoLa is much more fun

To a David Bowie tune I hope.

31. uilleam_beag

“What do you not understand?”

In a performance which was almost universally cringeworthy from start to finish, that part stuck out. It spoke to me of an intense frustration at and total incomprehensionof the SNP and the wider independence movement. Lamont seemed to be asking just what else unionists needed to say to make this group of zealots give up on their folly, just how much more overt the threats would need to be before these fundamentalist would stand down.

The language is deliberate for that appears to be how she genuinely views people on this side of the debate; but, above all, her ranting today exemplified how she views the whole referendum as little mire than the pursuit of a kind of “dangerous silliness”.

This is the extent of her imagination and ambition for our nation.

32. west_lothian_questioner

JoLa’s cringe-laden cringeworthy performances are reaching new levels of… whatever it is. I think she must have been the charicature Blair had in mind when he spoke about devolution being like a “glorified parish council,” all them years ago.
    Is she realy (really really?) the best that SLAB could find?

33. Murray McCallum

I hope that becomes a popular saying, about everything, from now on.

“The rest of the United Kingdom, including Carwyn Jones, … will have heavy rain over the weekend”

34. eric

I just realised where I saw here before! Jeeesh How could I miss it?

She is Andy Capps wife!

35. msean

Ye canny dae it!

Aye,we can. 🙂

36. tartanfever

JoLa –

The only human being whose blood pressure is measured on the Richter Scale.

37. john king

Two words 🙂

38. john king

Oh god, what have I done?
    he’ll come for me, in fact I think I can hear him, whats that sound?

39. Doug Daniel

Wow, she absolutely lost it there. What a joke. She might as well have started screaming “shut up, ye big dobber, ah’m no playin’ anymore” for all the difference it would have made.

They are absolutely hating it that their little plan hasn’t forced Salmond to say “this is our currency Plan B.”

40. Fiona

Still waiting to hear the unionists’ Plan A for a currency if there is a yes vote

41. liz

I just watched that performance by JoLa – she is demented!

If she loves the UK so much, let her stand for election down south – she’d be lucky if they allowed her to deliver leaflets.

42. Chris

Debater of the year?

Very poor performance and full of aggression- keep it up Johann!

43. john king

“Try it, she’s like an auntie at a wedding. That clip really deserves be set to music.”

What? this?

44. Stuart Black

Oh wow! Well, that’s convinced me, I’m voting No.

In a more contemplative mood, it is good that people can see performances like this, I watched the whole thing earlier and this particular segment stuck out like a sore thumb, and also made me sad that the name Black is actually a sept of Clan Lamont.

Scottish Labour is now an utterly busted flush, the brain dead behind Ms Lamont can shake their heads and bang their desks all they want, they have zero credibility left, and poor old Keir Hardie must be revolving at a prodigious rate of RPM. Saddened by more than the clan thing, I’m saddened by the current abysmal state of the party that was once my natural port of call.

Hopefully Labour for Indy can take up the mantle, though my vote will be going to the SNP for the foreseeable future.

45. msean

Mr Jones is the highest elected Labour guy left in charge of anything,so he counts until Labour romp the 2015 election.

How long ago was the last UK government that was elected for one term? We will have the same people in charge until 2020. Vote ye, and save yourselves.

46. john king

But after a while maybe she’ll be more receptive,
    like this

47. scaredy cat.

Strange. I have been able to reload the page with no problems today. Up until now that is. Seems to be an intermittent problem.

Anyway I’ll use this an excuse to share this. Please do the same.

thoughtcatalog.com/danielle-ryan/2014/02/i-am-a-ukrainian-this-needs-to-go-viral/#FUj8K88JTodeW55b.01

48. caz-m

If only wee Johann “Fae the Bunker” could be more like the character Marcel Marceau the mime artist she is morphing into.

Then we would only see her actions and wouldn’t have to listen to them.

http://www.revistavirtualpro.com/blog/images/ejm_vida/marcel_marceau.jpg

49. bunter

refresh

50. john king

that sound you just heard was the rev just imploding,
    sub thermo nuclear about 4.5 on the Richter scale I’d say,
    way to go banana heels Bunter 😉

51. Roddy Macdonald

For their own sanity, Darling and Lamont are in very dire need of a chill pill.

I always recommend Paolo Fresu & Uri Caine’s interpretation of Monteverdi’s Si dolce è il tormento in these moments. There’s no better non-pharmaceutical chill pill.

52. rab_the_doubter

Sorry if a bit too soon into the thread but hoping it’ll also do as a refresh.
    Just spent an ‘interesting’ couple of hours ‘debating’ with our BT chums. No substance really, just lots of unionist bile and slagging off Alec Salmond. Distinct lack of substance to anything they’ve got to say. I actually feel like I need a shower now.

53. Vincent McDee

Latest news frae the West:

Glasgow is set to launch an audacious bid to buy the city’s airport.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/home-news/air-wars-glasgow-set-to-mount-public-bid-for-city-airport.1392929399

The city council’s pension fund – the Strathclyde Pension Fund – is part of a bid consortium which includes Partners Group and Zurich Airport.

Partners Group is a global private markets investment management firm with more than 30 billion Euros in investment programmes under management in private equity, private debt, private real estate and private infrastructure.

Labour just could not resist the temptation of pulling one over the Scottish Government: “You dare to buy Prestwick without our permission, now suck this mandarina! https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=mandarina&newwindow=1&hl=en-GB&rlz=1T4GGNI_en-GBGB486GB486&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=xnAGU5D4HYrxhQeksIDgCA&ved=0CGgQsAQ&biw=1024&bih=624

54. Mary Bruce

She’s struggling to keep control. One day she will lose it. Hope it is next Tuesday. Roll on next Tuesday, I can’t wait!

55. scaredy cat.

Trying again.

56. john king

Anyone spot Bloodnoks voice on that song from Devine Comedy?

57. Indy_Scot

And another thing I don’t understand,

“They dont want a currency union”,

So what. They also don’t want Scotland to be Independent either. What’s her point.

58. john king

“Hope it is next Tuesday. Roll on next Tuesday, I can’t wait!”

Oh ha ha ha ah haaa he he he ha ha ha thats effin hilarious.

59. Betty Boop

@ scaredy cat
    Thanks for the “Happy” video. Made me smile a lot and got me thinking about how much I want a yes vote for the sake of the young more than anything.

60. rabb

I widny take an opened wage packet hame tae her on that performance!

61. cynicalHighlander

@Bugger (the Panda) says:

renew page ‘refresh’

joLa says write it out 200 times.

62. Findlay Farquaharson

putting lamont in front of the scottish people as a leader is just so insulting. could anyone really imagine that as your leader?

63. john king

@Bugger (the Panda) says:

renew page ‘refresh’

joLa says write it out 200 times.

Jesus dinnae annoy him,
    am in enough trouble as it is
    btw nice bowtie BtP

64. Elizabeth

Here’s Hugo Rivkind in the Spectator with a rallying cry to Scotland’s ‘timid posh folk’ the true middle class as he calls them. He reckons they are ‘no’ to a man and need to stop skulking and start shouting out for UKOK 🙂

http://www.spectator.co.uk/columnists/hugo-rifkind/9141162/its-time-scotlands-cowardly-posh-folk-spoke-out/

65. john king

“I widny take an opened wage packet hame tae her on that performance!”

Whit the hell would persuade you to go hame in the furst place, jist go tae the pub man, efter half a dizen pints yea’ll no feel the batterin ye would hiv goat hid ye went hame stracht fae wark!

66. geeo

I actually feel for Lamont in a way, not by a long way the best Scottish Labour MSP far less leader, but she is compliant enough to be led from westminster and toe the uk party line.

Unfortunately for her, she appears to be getting line managed by the tory party rather than labour, although the same could be said for the other main antagonists down there and up here.

The danger for Scottish labour by joining the tories against Scottish people waiting to exercise their mandated right on september 18th, is a scenario where they could be out the scottish political picture for a decade or more.

This is a disappointment for me, as a democratic Scotland needs a political balance across the whole political spectrum, including a Scottish conservative party, to ensure all the political views in our country are represented where it matters.

There may be a gap immediately after a Yes vote for a new political party to emerge in Scotland, possibly grown from the Wealthy Nation conservative group, or even a collaboration of Scottish/UK labour MP’s sickened by the direction the party has taken in the last decade or two.

I believe as the Yes vote looks more and more likely there will be an increase in dissenting voices amongst the Labour party,and a new Scottish labour party will be born in the event of a Yes vote.

I am not 100% keen on a one party nation long term, but to balance that statement,a two parliament start for the SNP gives our new beginning a proper chance to take root,formed by the principles from which it was born.

67. Rev. Stuart Campbell

@bunter
    “refresh”

BANNED.

68. David Halliday

I hope self-plugging, as it were, is ok:

http://reportingthereferendum.blogspot.co.uk/2013/11/the-old-man-and-sea.html

69. Croompenstein

WTF have we done to the Jones’s – Carwyn Jones, David Jones, Digby Jones, Me & Mrs Jones, Corporal Jones, Casey Jones…

70. john king

“The rest of the United Kingdom, including Carwyn Jones,”

Think it would be madness for me to have fishfingers tomorrow
    look you !

71. john king

“WTF have we done to the Jones’s – Carwyn Jones, David Jones, Digby Jones, Me & Mrs Jones, Corporal Jones, Casey Jones…”

Sorry, you lost me there.

72. Croompenstein

is that what they are going to call their new(continuing) state? Ladies and Gentlemen.. the ambassador from ‘The Rest Of The United Kingdom, including Carwyn Jones’..

73. X_Sticks

@ scaredy cat.

“I’ll use this an excuse to share this. Please do the same.”

Here’s the video straight from YouTube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hvds2AIiWLA

You’re welcome 😉

74. X_Sticks

You beat me to it! 🙂

75. john king

@bunter
    “refresh”

BANNED.

See,
    I heard the earth tremors in Fife
    not cool man not cool.

76. Croompenstein

@john king – sorry bit too subtle..we’ve had interventions this week including Digby Jones, David Jones(Bowie) and Carwyn Jones..the others were just a bit of fun and I forgot Big Tam Jones..

77. alexicon

What do you mean more people are going to vote YES! We’ve thrown every scare story in the book at the mugs…I know I’ll mention Carwyn Jones doesn’t want a currency union, that’ll soon change their minds.
    Noticed how she didn’t mention the names of the 4 men of the apocalypse, Cameron, Osborne, Alexander & Darling.

They’re panicking.

78. Stuart Black

@ scaredy cat:

Thank you very kindly indeed for the ‘Happy’ clip, which I found very uplifting. I have had a more than usually good day sitting here in a lonely Stavanger apartment, (aw, shame) due to the plethora of fabulous posts today: from Derek Bateman, Robin MacAlpine on Bella, and of course, whatever the Rev puts out here, but that clip has put the icing on a very rich cake indeed.

How could anyone vote against self-determination in the face of those youngsters, who embody the future of our country?

“Lord” George Robertson claims we don’t have any ‘kulchur’ like other folk have, I believe the Belgians were mentioned in this context.

Well, I for one am very ‘happy’ with the kulchur we have, and I believe I will be playing this clip every day until the referendum, and perhaps beyond. Thanks again, you’ve made my night!

79. scaredy cat.

@X_Sticks
    Thanks anyway 🙂

80. Tony Little

OK, colour me totally confused now. Why on earth could anyone with half a brain in the NO gang think that hauling in geriatric celbs, and Z list celebs to “love bomb” the recalcitrant Scots would active the desired result? The opening six weeks of 2014 have seen hysterical lies promoted by the MSM and within days (hours even) being totally debunked.

Now I accept that the MSM rarely carried the debunking, but the number and extremeness of the lies must have caused many voters to doubt. Hence, I would suggest, the faster drift towards YES seen in the latest polls. So, where’s the catch?

Someone tell me this isn’t a plot so cunning, it could had been developed my the Professor of cunning at cunning university.

81. john king

“I actually feel for Lamont in a way, not by a long way the best Scottish Labour MSP far less leader, but she is compliant enough to be led from westminster and toe the uk party line.”

Now if some little smart arse telecoms engineer could mess with the lines to the Scottish parliament and calls (INSTRUCTIONS) from Milliballs could be routed to Ruth, and calls from Osberon could go to Joanne then calls from Danny Alexander could be routed to, eh? Willie em
    well, we would end up with a complete dogs dinner oh?

82. G H Graham

What Stairheid is actually saying …

“Hey, yoos yins! Is ma shoutin’ no workin’?”

83. Tony Little

testing testing

84. Tony Little

@john king

but would we actually notice anything different?

85. Jimbo

So we’re not sure why his view is singled out, from the entire population of the UK, as having special relevance. Still, Johann Lamont seems pretty worked up about it.

I imagine that any input from Carwyn Jones, on any subject, would be sneered at by those elite, big boys at Westminster, and looked upon with some disdain. He is, after all, merely the acting overseer of what they consider to be an English colony acquired by conquest.

Maybe Lamont thinks by slipping his name in added some gravitas to her rantings.

86. Yodhrin

People still seem to be shocked at the total bizarro-world that Labour and their uncomprehending fanbase inhabit. Have a look at this comment from BtL on the Guardian article Rev linked on twitter(regarding charging sanctioned jobseekers a fee to appeal the decision):

“Jack Jazz > ellatynemouth

“Milliband’s father would be shocked at the state of Britain and at his own son’s acquiescence.”

He’s not going to stand on his soapbox and start thrashing out Marxist ideals to the public just yet! not while a highly prepared and fully propaganda charged right wing press are waiting to demonise him as soon as he opens his mouth.

He will quietly criticize and denounce this governments actions against the poor and most vulnerable people in our country until the run up to the election has only a few weeks to go, then he will expose and highlight the cruelty of this coalition of sociopaths while he presents his own alternative vision of what a fairer and more caring Britain can be.”

This is Labour now, people like Jack Jazz here, living in a reality so defined by self-delusion that their entire sense of self is no longer separable from their false perceptions. No wonder their only reaction to the prospect of building exactly the sort of society they claim to want in an independent Scotland so outrages them, as admitting change is desirable and necessary means acknowledging the status-quo they have convinced themselves to love has failed.

87. Alexandra-M-

My cringe reflex has stuck, I cannot seem to wipe the look of “oh dear Darwin, make it stop” off my face.

As a young-ish woman (I’m 30, that’s still young right? Right?) with a keen interest in politics, I find it incredibly depressing that Johann Lamont resorts to shreiking like a banshee in order to get her point (however wrong it may be) across. She looks like nothing more than a lunatic. She is the exact Victorian medical diagnosis of “hysteria” personified in that clip. Shameful, how undignified.

I have just finished watching the full 35minute video on Democracy Live, and I must say Alex Salmond really did well to stand his ground with that level of calm against such a shocking display by the Scottish Labour leader.

88. mato21

I know nothing about Archie Graham (Mr Lamont) but must admit I feel some sympathy for him Can you imagine having that fishwife screeching across the table at you?

89. john king

“@john king – sorry bit too subtle..we’ve had interventions this week including Digby Jones, David Jones(Bowie) and Carwyn Jones..the others were just a bit of fun and I forgot Big Tam Jones..

the comment was too smart for its own good, it was meant to meant that I couldn’t keep up (with the Jones’s)

90. cynicalHighlander

I have a problem with all of these ‘uprisings’ now especially since the Arab spring in that how much subversion has been exacerbated by the West for their own financial institutions gain coupled with extra terror laws.

91. john king

“As a young-ish woman (I’m 30, that’s still young right?”

jeesh get a niqab on before Bloodnok sees you!

92. John Bell

It’s the guy sitting behind her.
    When she starts off on her rant he’s happily slapping the desk like the rest but by the time she finishes he’s staring at her with a, “Holy Christ! She’s gonna blow!” expression on his face.

93. Kenny Ritchie

Performing her usual a seagull returning its library book comedy routine.

94. john king

“testing testing”

two words

DEATH WISH

95. Alexandra-M-

@alexicon

“What do you mean more people are going to vote YES! We’ve thrown every scare story in the book at the mugs…I know I’ll mention Carwyn Jones doesn’t want a currency union, that’ll soon change their minds.
    Noticed how she didn’t mention the names of the 4 men of the apocalypse, Cameron, Osborne, Alexander & Darling.

They’re panicking”

I think perhaps NOW they’ve thrown every scare story in the book at the mugs… The Lottery is in for it now.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-26276250

(Apologies Rev. If this doesn’t link, I am still finding my way with this forum!)

96. Taranaich

The sad thing is if a Yes person was getting flustered at a Unionist spouting complete nonsensical gibberish, they would be the ones being accused of irrationality & discomfort at being “found out.” I really wish there was a way to tell who was getting frustrated with someone talking mince, and someone getting frustrated that their mince isn’t being taken seriously. I mean, considering we can’t just, you know, use facts and figures or anything…

97. X_Sticks

john king says:

“DEATH WISH”

Livin’ on the edge John!

98. john king

I am still finding my way with this forum!)

Dont you go anywhere Alexandria not until you’ve met the Major.

99. john king

“Livin’ on the edge John!”

Dont try and blame it on me I was only trying to stick Groucho in

100. Alexandra-M-

@John King

I have no plans to, I feel quite comfortable amid such like-minded folk!

101. annie

She reminded me of a teacher who broke a wooden ruler over the back of a classmate yelling at him in the same manner, her hair bun falling down over her face with the effort she put into it – I can just imagine Johann with a hair bun. Shudder.

102. muttley79

@Doug Daniel

‘They are absolutely hating it that their little plan hasn’t forced Salmond to say “this is our currency Plan B.”

Agreed. The thing is that, say instead of doing what Salmond has done this week, which is basically stick to the currency union, and come out with a Plan B, it would have been completely ripped into by the unionists/MSM, irrespective of its merits. Almost everything the SG does, the No campaign/MSM instinctively oppose it. They probably will have to say at some stage what there alternative is to the currency union.

However, they have now got time to plan when to do it. To do it when the No campaign/MSM were demanding it would have made them vulnerable to charging of caving in too pressure. It would have been spun as the SG being on the retreat. They can now decide the timing of when to make an announcement.

103. Nuada

We get a lot of this kind of thing over here among Irish politicians, usually regarding the EU. After the second time we had to re-vote over an EU treaty (or was it the third? We’re not too bright over here and they often have to make us democratically keep voting until we get it right) there were a lot of rumblings about pulling out. These were closely followed by Lamont-like hysterics from certain panic-stricken politicians in dread terror of being cut off from Brussels and being forced to eke out a miserable existence in their own country. What a terrible fate to befall anyone.

104. john king

“considering we can’t just, you know, use facts and figures or anything…”

Come on Taranaich

fact and figures?
    getting a little above ourselves arnt we?
    next you’ll be wanting a debate between Cameron and Salmond for goodness sake.

105. Robert Kerr

I enjoyed watching all FMQ on the parliament website.

Mr Salmond referred to the Daily Mail as labour’s house journal.

Ms Lamont didn’t get the joke! neither did the rest of the labour lot.

106. edulis

When you think of ministers in the previous LibLab coalition, you can see the sea change in quality of government. Apart from the farcical McConnell, the real evidence lies in the comparison between McCabe and Swinney. I don’t think Tom McCabe could understand a budget sheet, never mind apply some imagination to what can be done with the pocket money sent to us by Westminster. And that was in times of ever increasing budgets.

As for Lamont, she has all the hallmarks, along with her scriptwriter of being unbalanced, even loopy, given her visceral hatred of all things SNP.

107. Fiona

I remember hearing the same story about Tony Blair: he did not mean what he said only he had to say it to get elected and then he would come out all properly labour: what was that definition of insanity again? Something about doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result?

108. Robert Kerr

@alexicon.

“4 men of the apocalypse, Cameron, Osborne, Alexander & Darling.”

And the fifth horseman is Fear!”

109. cynicalHighlander

Johanns’ family practice video.

110. rab_the_doubter

http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-26282037

Its stories like this that make me believe that a small self governing country like Scotland can and will be a positive force for good in the world. Compassion, a concept alien to the Westminster Government.

111. rab_the_doubter

@Calum Craig

Wowie Bowie,
    Someone with (considerably) more talent than me, please record this and get it on youtube.

112. Alan Gerrish

I have also heard some news from the West that the UK government is going to fund the resurrection of the Glasgow airport rail link (no doubt as a symbol of “bettertogetherness”). This is at least 3rd-hand reporting so may have no substance, but then again…funny it’s coming up just as news of Glasgow bidding for the airport comes out. Has Balls got something from Gideon for coming onside perhaps?

113. heedtracker

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-26276250 Its stories like this from this FUD mongering chap that make me want to…Didn’t same Darling Brown Labour GB.gov take hundreds of millions of Scots lotto money for the 2012 London Olympics, much of which lotto money still due to Scots charities, that they have no hope of ever getting back?

The only reason I know about this Brown Darling lotto rip off is down this blog too because its just one more UKOK con you wont hear about anywhere else.

114. Alexandra-M-

@Calum Craig

That is absolutely brilliant! Promptly shared on Facebook.

115. Anne (@annewitha_e)

Jones is a Labour First Minister, something she will never be

116. caz-m

Welcome Alexandra-M

Look forward to your contribution in the coming months.

117. Calum Craig

Just watching the full FMQ on the Scottish Parliament website and I love John Swinney’s reaction to any mince! He just laughs his head off!

118. Andy MacNicol

That was embarrassing. What must foreign tourists visiting Holyrood make of a performance like that? And I wonder who wrote this week’s script and sent her off in totally the wrong direction regarding transaction charges. What is even worse is that she persisted in showing the world that she could not grasp the concept that the charges would only apply in her own scenario, not Alex Salmond’s. “Train crash” is an apt description.

119. Tattie-bogle

jolo already has a panel line in for next week as she has the skitters

120. Edward

Can someone explain why Johann Lamont during her screech she stated that the STUC were on board and against independence. Yet when I look at “YES. Scotland should be an Independent Country” Facebook page which had an article stating ‘STUC say Yes and had a supporting ling with an article in the Scotsman.
    Does this mean Lamont was lying? Or was it that Paul Sinclair just puts any old crap on her script and she just reads it

121. Craiging_619

@Murray McCallum

I might start using that at the end of mundane texts to friends, e.g. “Come on mate, come to the pub tonight, everyone’s gonna be there…INCLUDING CARWYN JONES!!!”

122. Alexandra-M-

@Caz-m

Thank you. I look forward to plenty of discussion up to and beyond the referendum.

123. X_Sticks

@ Alexandra-M- & Caz-m

Are you two related? 🙂

124. Alexandra-M-

@Edward

“Can someone explain why Johann Lamont during her screech she stated that the STUC were on board and against independence. Yet when I look at “YES. Scotland should be an Independent Country” Facebook page which had an article stating ‘STUC say Yes and had a supporting ling with an article in the Scotsman.
    Does this mean Lamont was lying? Or was it that Paul Sinclair just puts any old crap on her script and she just reads it”

It would seem that the most recent status of STUC suggests members are leaning more towards a yes vote, however there is discontentment regarding a currency solution. Looks like both sides are perhaps just reading the parts that meet their agenda – however, I have no knowledge of where STUC stood before the most recent reports, so accept I may be entirely wrong here.

http://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/top-stories/scottish-independence-no-case-disappoints-stuc-1-3314114

125. Alexandra-M-

@ X sticks

I don’t know, we could be! You know what savages us Scots are 😉

126. Derek

Carwyn Jones, you been gone too long…

127. CyberNiall

Alex Salmond said “Bluff, Bluster and Bullying” and it was used all over the media. Johaan must think that saying everything three times will get her press coverage.

What ever you do, don’t say Johaan Lamont three times into the Mirror.

128. Desimond

After a week of sad Unionists screaming “Go on, Go on, Go on!” for a ‘Plan B’ … I reckon Johann Lamont could also be using language like Mrs Doyle tonight

129. Patrick Roden

Could it be that Johanns scriptwriters have been stung by the accusations that the BT campaign is ‘lacklustre’?

‘Look Johann, what we need from you is some passion’

‘Eh’ ?

‘PASSION! Johann, PASSION!!! You know, shouting at your neighbours because they missed there turn at cleaning the closey’

‘Oh, nae bother, I’m good at passion’

130. Taranaich

Speaking of people called Jones, apparently The Scottish Sun are dredging up this old nonsense from Duncan Jones (son of David Bowie):

https://twitter.com/ManMadeMoon/status/391574008246063104

“I’d trust Alex Salmond far more if he grew a long beard & spoke from a cave. Might help if he just fired an AK into the air occasionally.”

He goes on to allege that Scottish independence is REALLY all about the oil companies trying to get more control over Scotland, citing this post that the ILG were involved in future Oil & Gas production in the UK:

http://www.snp.org/blog/post/2012/may/maximising-future-oil-and-gas

His ONE argument against the SNP is that they want to lower corporation tax, and “turn Scotland into an oil field.” Because apparently the UK is protecting Scotland from Salmond’s fiendish plans to take all the oil. Yes. The UK is stopping SALMOND from destroying Scotland.

That’s it. No mention of the SNP’s more socially progressive things, like the thousands of new houses being built, abolition of prescription charges, the continuation of free elderly care & education, the mitigation of the Bedroom Tax, the balancing of the Scottish economy despite extreme financial limits. And more importantly, no mention that ALL THE SOCIALLY PROGRESSIVE PARTIES IN SCOTLAND ARE VOTING YES. Greens are yes. SSP are yes. SDP are yes.

While I might come across as an SNP cheerleader, I realise the SNP & Alex Salmond aren’t universally popular. But to say that independence would be worse for Scots because of the oil, to suggest that the Scottish government is “just as bad” as the Westminster government despite direct evidence to the contrary, is more than just disagreement, but willful ignorance of the facts.

Sorry Duncan, into the Champagne Socialist bin with you. I’m sure Dougie, Anas and Gorgeous George will welcome you.

131. gary

thought you mught like this appeals on two counts game geek and politics geek

http://www.gifsforum.com/images/gif/other/grand/First_Minister39s_Questions_20_07103995ebd5c7267e3ea11f95cb1d27.gif

132. Frankieboy

I’m sure she takes notes using her lucky, blue, bingo dabber.

133. K Mackay

I still don’t understand why we keep letting Eminem come and disrupt our parliament.

134. Early Ball

@Taranaich

Pretty sure Duncan (A.K.A Zowie) went to Gordonstoun. Maybe those cold showers were bad for him after all.

135. iain taylor (not that one)

@ scaredy cat

Yes lovely. such a stark contrast to the grim misery of Lamont, the Unionists & the small time, low life crooks (SLab) who run Glasgow.

136. iain taylor (not that one)

Maybe repeating myself, so apologies if…

The Machiavelli in me asks if the Lamont pantomime is intended to turn the Parliament into such a mickey mouse place (in the eyes of the public) that they don’t mind if Westminster abolishes it.

137. Another Union Dividend

Still waiting for some mention of Bowie’s previous political comments in MSM / BBC seem to be operating a blackout.

His admiration for Eva Braun’s husband and wishing his style of government for Great Britain

http://www.muhistory.com/?p=304

And I see in Herald Labour revolting MPs are opposed to transferring Air passenger duty to Scotland, so what major powers / Devo Max will come after a NO vote.

But also good news that Civil Service Union members will be coming out for a Yes vote despite leadership advice.

138. Greannach

Surprised to see the Debater of the Year is still in work. I hope Ed Balls or Rachel Reeves MP don’t find out how bad Lamont is at her job, or they’ll have her down the Job Centre before you can say Get On Your Bike.

139. Davy

Where did Lamont get her “transaction charges” from ? the figures she was quoting must have come from somewhere, and what would be the reason for the differences : rUK £7 pounds Scotland £75 pounds.

As for putting her to music, I just can’t get the birdy song out of my head.

140. Another Union Dividend

Davy says the £400 million figure come from SPICE and is correct but that is the consequence of her preferred policy not Alex Salmond’s.

141. gerry parker

Aye, I was there and seen the whole thing, dire. Worth watching the whole thing, Alex landed out some heavy blows.

142. Luigi

Since Johann Lamont seemed to be against, even limited powers for Scotland, and appears to have consistently resisted devolution from the very outset (she may have, I believe, even voted against it), what is she even doing sitting in Holyrood (taking a nice fat pay cheque, thank you very much)?

Hypocrite.

143. Training Day

You can imagine Lamont standing behind Christian Barnard shouting:

‘In the real world whit dae you not understand about the fact neabudy thinks ye kin dae frippery like transplant hearts.. Including Carwyn Jones!’

Ach, um away fur ma grosseries.

144. Barontorc

Wonder what Mr Jones thinks of the floods of money heading everywhere apart from Wales – no doubt he’ll find an accommodating justification like it’s because we eat lava bread nd use the leek as our veg of choice.

Sorry Wales – I’m really right with you, ditch this shouty opinionated joker.

145. Alan Mackintosh

Barontorc, your xwz will incur wrath. To reload the page, type p@age refresh (replacing the @ with a). This reloads the cache and the comment goes direct to moderation allowing rev to delete them and the thread doesnt end up full of strange comments which are disjointed

146. G H Graham

When asked to explain her outburst at Holyrood during First Minister’s Questions, Stairheid Rammy Expert, Johann Lamont admitted…

“Ah got a wee bit confused. Ye, see, ah wrote in ma diary that ah had been invited to appear on the Jerry Springer show.”

147. glynbeddau

Were having an extra laugh here in Wales. Carwyn Jones is like a non league manager advising another not to join the Premiership.

148. Appleby

She seems more and more unhinged each time she comes on. Why would anyone choose or continue to support this terrible, rude, bad-tempered and ill-informed ned as their leader?

More to the point, how can anyone watch her disgraceful efforts in representing the people of Scotland and actually nod along or continue to support her? They’d have to stick their head in the sand and hide from all broadcasts to think she wasn’t a joke.

Just imagine that performance as First Minister…

149. Murray McCallum

Johann Lamont’s new classification for the United Kingdom will have serious bureaucratic implications.

Every government statistic, graph, presentation, etc. must surely now have the qualifier as to whether “Rest of UK” includes, or excludes, Carwyn Jones.

Every time we hear “Rest of UK” this must be clarified.

I suspect this is yet another unnecessary transaction-type tax created by the unionists.

150. Cliff Purvis

They should have a paramedic on standby every time she speaks. I keep expecting her to be throttled by her own small intestine(ala Hitchikers guide to the Galaxy).
    Labour/Tories can’t seem. To fathom out that their joint plan of scare them scare them scare them is not working.

151. thoughtsofascot

@Heedtracker
    “She’s excruciatingly unwatchable, maybe on purpose. Cant believe she’s an ex teacher though!”

Suddenly…that explains everything. Her generation of teachers were absolutely terrible

152. Jim D

For the record, and as a (hugely embarrassed) Welshman, I’d like to deliver my wholehearted apologies to the people of Scotland for these continuing and unwarranted interventions by our useless FM.

Whatever you do, do NOT take any advice from this man on matters of the economy, bus services or education. Or Health for that matter. He WILL fuck them up.

Yours Sincerely,

Jim.
    (An ordinary welsh bloke who’s got about as much of a mandate to comment on your affairs as he has).

153. MajorBloodnok

john king said: Anyone spot Bloodnoks voice on that song from Devine Comedy?

I say. Oh-uh, don’t be unkind.

154. kev

That ("Tractor" - Ed)s opinions does not in any way represent the views of welsh people. Most of welsh people are behind scotland in this. You will never know that though because The media likes to pretend welsh people are union flag waving unionists. This couldn’t be further from the truth. Please dont believe anything the media or unionist politicians say about wales. Its all lies.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.