Fast work

Posted on June 14, 2016 by

9 June 2016:

climate1

14 June 2016:

climate2

Weirdly, STV’s digital editor doesn’t seem to have mentioned the story today.

1. 14 06 16 18:56

Fast work | speymouth

179 to “Fast work”

1. Colin

Bad SNP. Doing something good and early. Oh well, MSM will find something to moan at.

2. jdman

D’oh

3. Clootie

…I often wonder what the support for Independence would be if the media printed the truth!

4. Proud Cybernat

…despite London reneging on their IndyRef ‘Vote NO’ promise of the carbon capture plant in Aberdeen.

Scotland, moving forward despite London.

5. blackhack

SNP Good….Err, Sorry, SNP BAD….

6. jdman

Scottish government needlessly imposes steeper emmissions targets that EU require and 6 years ahead of EU target shock!

7. jdman

Scottish government sets target too low to boast of early sucess, revelation!

8. heedtracker

Tory nimbies will be in melt down.

9. Stoker

Rev wrote: “Weirdly, STV’s digital editor doesn’t seem to have mentioned the story today.”

Aye, and other channels were promoting this success story yesterday, even the Beeb on their text service.

STV = Sassenach TeleVision!

10. David Mills

Nice to see hackosteve is keeping himself abreast of what happening in Scotland after it all just for his interests it not like it his job or anything.

Mind you even if he was doing an uncle Bulgaria I don’t think any would be at all phased as his credibility is just a head of BBC news

11. John Moss

Aw, come on. Stop picking on poor wee Stephen.

Leave the wean alone.

12. Valerie

I hope Harvie will make the proper acknowledgment of this, because this is an incredible feat.

I also hope the critics from RISE types GIRFUY. I have spent the last few years defending the SG on their green credentials only to be shot down, in many different forums, including my local anti fracking forum.

13. heedtracker

Yep nothing at all from the greatest living journalist ever, and his best friend Blair

Stephen Daisley ?@JournoStephen 7m7 minutes ago
    Best luck to @blairmcdougall, a good guy who actually believes in stuff. Not many would see an unstoppable juggernaut and take it on anyway.

Wiki probably out of date but says Scotland’s renewable energy totals are

Current capacity 7.383 GW
    Potential capacity 62.63 GW

No idea what a gigglewatt is but their out there, waiting.

14. heedtracker

They’re out there! Gigglewatts that is, not cheezy hacks without the decency or grace to do the right thing.

15. Ann Murie

Headline on the BBC website:
    “Scotland exceeds emissions targets”

16. George S Gordon

Harvie seems to be in silent mode. Some of his chums were trying to argue that it’s 4 years rather than 6 years, but they seem to have vanished too.

17. Kennedy

What is Daisley’s targets for SNPbad?

Has he met them yet?

18. Andrew McLean

Apparently this chap is Digital politics and comment editor at STV,
    Well I have a comment for you Stephen, “you are a wanker”
    childish I know but so accurate.

19. Iain Hamilton

More bad news for oil industry as scottish government continues down mad course for renewables.

20. Brian

Yeh, but it was only cos we’ve no heavy industry left and its been warmer winters.

21. Dr Jim

SNP only reduce the easy peasy emissions thanks to UK closures of STUFF

22. yesindyref2

Six years ahead of schedule? Bloody disgusting, what are the SNP going to do for the next 6 years eh? Eh? sit around on their hands staring at vapour trails [1]?

[1] It seems Stephen Daisley is flying on fumes, and likes to leave vapour trails behind him, particularly while doing elevator pitches, or something.

Makes me think, how about a competition for the most vacuous unionist tweeter?

23. Bob Mack

Humble and pie spring to mind for some reason.

24. heedtracker

Makes me think, how about a competition for the most vacuous unionist tweeter?

And the winner is

Stephen Daisley ?@JournoStephen 14m14 minutes ago
    Scotland used to have a problem with football hooliganism. Thankfully we solved it by not qualifying for international tournaments anymore.

25. Bob Mack

I love that Quote “not many would see an unstoppable juggernaut and take it on anyway” Stephen, you have just described stupidity. Mr Mc Douglall is leaving his post this summer because he became a casualty of the juggernaut

26. yesindyref2

Emm, see this guy Stephen Daisley. I’ve seen Rev talking about him but never paid attention. Just looked at his twitter feed though and there’s this: “The First Minister’s audition for Strictly Come Dancing goes well despite avant garde routine.”.

This jibe aimed at the FM who was at a Thistle Charity event “FM @NicolaSturgeon takes part in a thai chi class @thistlecharity Centre of Wellbeing.” which seems to be promoting Tai Chi (not THAI) Chi – a martial art promoting mental and physical discipline.

“Thistle Foundation is a health and wellbeing charity that supports people living with long-term conditions across Scotland to live the life they want.”

Is this prat supposed to be a TV journalist? STV should be ashamed of him. Disgusting creature.

27. The Man in the Jar

Daisley will have to clear it with Jakey Rolling first.

28. Gary45%

Proud Cybernat@5.14.
    Us WoS followers have to keep this in the face of the yoons
    Good story = SNP bad, No surprises there.

29. Stoker

BBC Shiteshire 6pm headlines:

First Up = Family of Scot’s Judo star thank supporters…

Secondly = “Scotland” reaches its climate change targets…

Now, don’t get me wrong, i’m as happy as Larry that one of our sports stars is recovering well, brilliant, but i think most would agree the far bigger story leading the “National News” should be that of the successful climate change targets.

Just another perfect example of how BBC Shiteshire is nothing more than a discredited untrustworthy mouthpiece for London.
    A national embarrassment run and presented by gopher turds!

30. yesindyref2

I see there’s an article on the STV website by Aidan Kerr “Scotland meets climate change targets six years early”

“The country has reduced its carbon dioxide emissions faster than the UK average since 1990.”

So much for Stephen Daisley’s credibility, It’s in shreds.

31. Thepnr

I think all the Unionist journalists are the same person using different non-de-plumes for different papers. They all write and spout the exact same shite.

C’mon, has anyone ever seen them all in one room at the same time?

32. HandandShrimp

I don’t think Stephen really gets “ambitious”.

Failing to meet easy targets – now that is a story.

33. dakk

A decent and honest person would at least give some recognition to these achievements after being so mouthy and hyper-critical in his snidey tweets.

Not Stephen Dailey though.

34. Lanarkist

TPNR.

I saw the majority of the herd in a pub in Aberdeen just after the BBC session at the SNP Conference last year!

Thick as thieves they were, all getting the story straight before deadline.

I imagine they all share watering holes in smaller groupings in different cities and then swap stories via email…or just have a peek at Reuters!

They didn’t like being observed though, or wound up.

Pair wee lambs!

Ps, sorry for all the different animal labels!

35. heedtracker

C’mon, has anyone ever seen them all in one room at the same time?

You can find them all on twitter at the same time. Just start with this dullard and and see his “you may also like” list of UKOK greatness.

https://twitter.com/KennyFarq

You may also like ·

David Torrance
    @davidtorrance

David LeaskVerified account
    @LeaskyHT

Severin CarrellVerified account
    @severincarrell

Tom Gordon
    @HTScotPol

euan mccolm
    @euanmccolm

The only interesting issue concerning the massed of ranks of UKOK hackdom is, are they anti SNP and Holyrood or anti everything Scotland? As in that twits thing about Scottish football fans and not Scotland not qualifying for anything anymore.

36. Ghillie

WELL DONE OUR SCOTTISH GOVERNMENT !!! = )

I am so proud of this achievement and the many others that OUR Scottish Government, lead by the SNP and sometimes assisted by willing others, have brought to fruititon in the face of continual spiteful and pathetic opposition.

Steven who?

37. mike cassidy

His employer is reporting the story.

http://archive.is/qTGWN

38. sinky

In what capacity does Bredan Davey failed Labour candidate appear on bbc scotland news ponticifating on eu referendum

39. Tiderium

O.T just had the misfortune to see the blatant liefest (sic) which is the leave campaigns televisual spectacular, the one about the N.H.S. what a load of blatant scaremongering lies.

40. yesindyref2

@Lanarkist
    Yes, I’ve seen photos of them all together, in pubs in Edinburgh, and elsewhere. They don’t like being photgraphed apparently.

What’s sad about it is that they then report something like “We talked to people and they thought …” when it’s each other were the only ones they talked to apart from buying more drink. They need to get out more! They’re just so incestuous.

41. T.roz

“Scotland fails to meet emissions targets” scientists blame excess methane and toxic bull-shit gas escaping from Stephen Daisley’s mouth.

42. Inverclyder

Who’s going to write the SNP Bad tweets for Daisley now that Tuba boy is leaving.

Is it true that Bliar is off to join the band of hope?

43. Thepnr

OK, evidence mounting that they may in fact all be “different” people. So why are they not so different? Do you need to go to a special or maybe an approved school?

That could be it, special schools and approved schools where you learn to write and spout the exact same shite for the Unionist cause.

44. G H Graham

Maybe when the hate oozing, right wing extremist Daisley does something that he could have actually done while NOT eating, he’ll let us know via Twitter, eh?

45. Mick DIAMOND

Dont know why educated nawbags cant see through these lies. Uneducated nawbags,well!.

46. Truth

That’ll be one of those moments when the people ask you not to hold the government to account Mr Daisley.

Your naked agenda is laid bare for all to see and it’s about time you simply admitted it.

Oh, and I’ve got a hint for Jaikey as well…fuck off!

47. Valerie

Had a look at Twitter. Nothing from Greer.

A pernicious exchange with Harvie, who was talking this achievement down, ended with a Tweeter saying #sourgrapes

Good we can count on our Green support at Holyrood, when the SG is showing we can be world class.

48. yesindyref2

OK. can’t find current figures (can’t be bothered searching too long), but it appears that for 2012, Scottish greenhouse gas emissions, including international aviation and shipping, were estimated to be 52.9 million tonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent (MtCO2e).

From elsewhere for 2012, Transport’s share was 12.9 MtCO2e, aviation was 13% of transport emissions, at 1.7 MtCO2e.

A complaint in the rancid Grun (thanks Heed), from the Greens (Mark Ruskell) is that APD being cut will increase aviation emissions by 60,000 tonnes – i.e. 0.06 MtCO2e. That’s just 4% of aviation emissions (I would expect it to be more, and hope it’ll be a lot more), and just 0.5% of the total CO2 emissions.

And the Greens are complaining about a move to halve APD that could “set alight” the Scottish economy, to coin a phrase.

49. yesindyref2

I see Daisley’s photo of himself on Twatter isn’t the genuine article (presumably), is this him?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AN6vzemiMy8

50. Thepnr

The goal of unionist special and approved schools in Scotland is to educate the Historians so as they in turn can tell the plebs the true path to future UK glory, power and empire.

Journalists came bottom of the class and are no more than failed Historians. Second class UKOK liggers with a remit to lie about the present and the future for the sake of UK glory, power and empire.

51. Tinto Chiel

@yesindyref2, 7.35 p.m.

That link was uncalled for.

I’ve only just recovered from that footage of Lockjaw Gordie and his Lost Rowies from yesterday.

Double Yuck. Off for a brain shower.

52. Tam Jardine

God bless the old BBC website…

Towards the bottom of the page we find:

“Scotland exceeds greenhouse gas target” as the headline. https://archive.is/oBE5S

How ambiguous is that- not “Scotland hits greenhouse gas targets early” or ” Scotland succeeds in meeting greenhouse gas targets”.

As the target is a reduction the headline suggests exceeding that target would mean failure. This awkward, misleading language can hardly be accidental.

You click on the link and the headline is subtley different:

“Scotland exceeds emissions targets – six years early” which puts a completely different complexion on the piece. And finally as you reach the article proper you get to the truth: “Scotland has exceeded a target to reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 42% – six years early.”

Fascinating article: https://archive.is/HqKGH

I took a quick count of positive and negative sentences and even in an article announcing something so positive the BBC manage (I make it) 8 negative sentences to 11 positive sentences.

You have to get right down to the very bottom of the piece to get the global perspective:

“In March this year, the UN climate change secretary praised Scotland’s progress on climate change as “exemplary”.

Christiana Figueres told BBC Scotland that she was impressed by the pace of change, and described the reduction in emissions since 1990 as “quite impressive”.”

There really is a skill to twisting such a positive story in this way. Think Francis Bacon painting a portrait of your parents.

Lets not forget- when we eventually reassert our Independence lets dismantle the BBC in Scotland brick by brick.

53. Macart

Oh Jeez, that’s brilliant! 😀 LOL

A Homer moment from Daisley.

Kerrrash!

54. Macart

That’s the sound of the toys bein’ chucked oot the pram. 🙂

55. Tinto Chiel

“Lets not forget- when we eventually reassert our Independence lets dismantle the BBC in Scotland brick by brick.”

But what to do with the Vichy Vision operatives therein, Tam? I prescribe an intensive course in Scottish history, literature, languages and folklore and six months shovelling slurry (Yoon propaganda) in a rigorous re-education programme.

As for those reductions in emissions, I can see the Daisley headlines: “More SNP cuts in greenhouse gases!”

56. mr thms

#yesindyref2 @ 7:30pm

With regard to mainstream media and opposition party complaints that cuts in APD will result in a rise in emissions..

They are only giving half the story

http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2016/03/3238

“The Scottish Parliament will, assuming the Scotland Bill 2015-16 is enacted, soon have devolved competence over the power to charge a tax ‘on the carriage of passengers by air from airports in Scotland’.

The Scottish Government has indicated that it intends to use this power to introduce a new tax replacing UK Air Passenger Duty (APD) in Scotland from 1 April 2018.”

This consultation paper seeks views on how the new tax should be structured and operate in order to help achieve the Scottish Government’s objective of generating sustainable growth by boosting Scotland’s international air connectivity.

The consultation will close on Friday 3 June 2016.”

There is a large part of Scotland that is already exempt from APD? (Highland and Islands airports, including Inverness)

Better not tell the Guardian (or the Greens)

About Scotlands falling greenhouse gas emissions..

One of Europe’s worst offenders for emissions closed down in March 2016

http://www.blog.clientearth.org/scottish-super-polluter-mothballed-last-coal-power-station-closes/

“Scottish super-polluter mothballed: last coal power station closes”

No longer having that millstone, will make a huge difference to Scotland’s emission figures in the years ahead.

57. Almannysbunnet

Scotland has exceeded a target to reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 42% – six years early.

“But environmental campaigners said the loss of heavy industry and warm winters contributed more to the cut in emissions than bold government policy.” Bit of vinegar and gruel there from unnamed “environmental campaigners”. Mind this was from the BBC so it might not be true.

58. yesindyref2

@Tinto Chiel
    So sorry!

hehe 👿

Hope you weren’t eating your tea.

59. Tam Jardine

Tinto Chiel

All the main offenders can get in the sea as far as I am concerned- Jackie B, Sarah Smith, in fact the entire propaganda team can GTF as can (it goes without saying) the entire management structure. Sack every last one of them. We should really be taking them to court for crimes against democracy.

As for the rest break it all up to start from scratch. Strip out all the bullshit pompous crap of the charter and start again.

Instead of the BBC trust or whatever shadowy cabal overseas them now I would appoint a committee of broadcasters, MSPs and members of the public to oversea it with someone who we can actually trust running it.

Cancel the licence fee and make it partly funded from central government, partly funded by commercial activity.

Christ- I’m no expert but whatever we do to it you could hardly make the situation worse!

60. Rock

Tam Jardine,

“This awkward, misleading language can hardly be accidental.”

It is deliberate, not accidental.

Many headlines are written like that to give a spin which suits the establishment.

When they are forced to publish a story which puts the SNP in a good light, there will be no quotes or minimal quotes from the four opposition parties.

When an SNP bad story appears, the SNP’s view will be drowned by four lengthy opposition anti-SNP comments.

61. Petra

I’m TOTALLY gobsmacked that STV still entertain this blatantly biased guy. Something not quite right. Last year pre-election he wrote some claptrap article for the Daily Liar: A piece that was spot on for psychological analysis. He and JKR could get a two for one reduced deal.

…………………………

@ Valerie says at 5:28 pm …. ”I hope Harvie will make the proper acknowledgment of this, because this is an incredible feat. I also hope the critics from RISE types GIRFUY. I have spent the last few years defending the SG on their green credentials only to be shot down, in many different forums, including my local anti fracking forum.”

Well it was shown on BBC news tonight by Jackie Burdy and I thought WOW I don’t believe it …. something positive for a change …. and then they went on to play it down with comments about the fair weather, no heavy industry now having helped and so on (as Brian pointed out earlier). Then they started complaining about lack of energy efficient housing in Scotland, CO2 emissions from cars, airplanes a problem. Diabolical as usual.

……………………………………….

And on the subject of fracking Valerie: I was reading the Sun earlier and couldn’t believe my eyes. They had an article on page 10 (practically full page) by Jim Sillars….. ‘An open letter to Kezia Dugdale’ …. and I thought Mmhh that looks good. It started with him getting into her ribs ”if your members want to know why its (SLab) been knocked off its pedestal” …. and then he mentioned fracking ”No doubt you thought it quite a lark to drive the SNP into abstention, while you mustered all of 32 votes to condemn fracking forever.”.

I thought he’s going to blast her for putting a future ban in jeopardy but NOoooo! He started on about ”the poor salute you not. Neither will the trade unions when the implications for jobs sink in. The GMB is already fizzing.” He went on about energy costs, fuel poverty etc etc. Then ”fracking has a record of improvement in the science applied, technology, engineering, environmental and health safety, and improved Government regulation.”

It goes on and on and on such as he mentions Grangemouth / US. Far too lengthy for me to set out on here.

Then ”you and your Green friends seem to have infected some in the SNP as well. A couple of years ago, an SNP Conference delegate foretold fracking would set the whole of Scotland on fire (he’s right there). This month Gail Ross SNP is reported as saying it would destroy ‘our land, our water supply, food and drink, and tourism industries transforming Scotland into a ‘wasteland’ within 20 years.”

He then tears her and the Labour Party to shreds, line after line, and ends with ”you are a very nice person Kezia, but being nice is not enough. You have to be right and you did no service to working-class needs in the ploy you engaged in. Yours fraternally, Jim Sillars.”

Well I’m pretty annoyed about this. Very in fact. I’ve always had a great deal of respect for Jim Sillars and of course for Margo. Now and again I came across comments and wondered if he was bitter towards (maybe even jealous of) Alex Salmond. Then we had his Brexit views which I couldn’t make sense of and now THIS! Unbelievable.

Murdoch is determined to destroy the UK / Scotland. Backing ‘Leave’ now and todays Sillars article (first I’ve ever seen in the Sun and I read it every night – variety of newspapers my husband brings home from work) is no doubt leading up to Jim Sillars spouting his ‘Leave’ views in the Sun in an attempt to influence SNP voters (and maybe Labour).

FGS JIM WAKE UP AND SMELL THE COFFEE!

62. yesindyref2

@mr thms
    Wow, Longannet: “10 million tonnes of CO2 per year”. Nearly 6 times the emission of all aviation.

Longannet was robbed of CCS support by the UK Government. It could have captured up to 90% of CO2, still making it 1 million tonnes.

Like most around here, I’d have preferred a Hunterston C station but that’s not politically correct.

63. Tinto Chiel

yesindyref2: “Hope you weren’t eating your tea.”

I was actually, but te absolvo, since you taught me how to use Smileys.

Hehehehehehe!

😛

64. Rock

Tam Jardine,

“We should really be taking them to court for crimes against democracy.”

We did take Carmichael to court. What happened?

£100,000 down the legal sewer, plus much more taxpayers’ money for carrying out the farce.

The Scottish justice system is rotten to the core and the vast majority of lawyers, especially judges, are the lowest of the low.

The first thing we have to do is sack every single judge and appoint new ones after live televised public hearings.

Make judges face the full force of the law for failing in their duties.

We won’t have a fair society in Scotland even after independence unless the rotten to the core justice system is completely overhauled.

65. Tam Jardine

Rock

They consult opposition parties when its an SNP BAAD or SNP Neutral article like the one on hitting the greenhouse gas reduction early. I say SNP neutral because they take a good story and phone round until they have SNP BAAD angles to try and neutralise it.

In this case they start with a positive reaction from Roseanna Cunningham then have negative quotes from a climate change campaigner, from a Scottish Greens spokesman and Scottish Labour and close on a positive quote from the UN Climate Change secretary. “Balanced” they call it.

66. Grouse Beater

What kind of nation is it that harbours media employees engaged to serve the nation’s culture and development yet who plot and lie and counsel against it and its people?

What kind of nation’s media gives these propagandists jobs and salaries and says, do you worst?

What kind of people accept that brief and leave their place of work each day filled with pride that they have served well, acted scrupulously, and with respect for their community?

67. Still Positive.

Petra @ 9.05

I’m sure Margo kept the reins on Jim and now that she is no longer here he’s missing someone close to bounce ideas and thoughts off. One of the things I missed most when I was widowed. He’ll calm doon in time, but the papers will manipulate him for all their worth until then.

Re: Scottish Broadcasting. I’d put Stuart Cosgrove in charge and let him pick his team. Start from scratch with new rules and the people having a proper say as some have suggested.

68. Tinto Chiel

Petra @ 9.05 pm: you’ve been a star today. Breathe deep and let all the crap pass over.

JS has always been more about JS than anything else, although he got the advice right on referendum day. Sadly, only 45% of us took his advice.

Tam: yes, a complete clear out would be necessary. Democracy will be required for a new broadcasting service in Scotland.

69. The Rough Bounds

Environmental campaigners muttering that the only reason they were able to beat their target is that the Winters have been milder.

OF COURSE THE WINTERS HAVE BEEN MILDER. THAT’S THE REASON WE’RE TRYING TO REDUCE THE CARBON EMISSIONS YOU DIDDIES.

70. Dorothy Devine

The scum of the earth Grouse Beater , that’s who accept the remit to denigrate their country – a despicable bunch indeed.

Liars , spinners and immoral to a man /woman.

I watched Ms Bird choke on the announcement of this success and I indulged in a satisfied smirk.

71. David Agnew

Its official the Scottish MSM are the dumbest fuckers in the room.
    Best to chuck them into the fuck it bucket and move on.

72. yesindyref2

@The Rough Bounds
    LOL

Well spotted.

73. Lochside

Tam Jardine says :
    ‘There really is a skill to twisting such a positive story in this way. Think Francis Bacon painting a portrait of your parents’…that made me laugh Tam…but as you eloquently point out the BBC continues its inexorable onslaught of distorted lies and propaganda.

On the same show ‘toodleloothenoo ‘ Brian Taylor..looking like the love child of David Cameron and his Bullingdon club spunk receptacle…introduced Bredan Davey, failed Labour candidate and leader of ‘Northumberland Independence’ talking specious shite about Brexit. This charlatan has been in Scotland about two minutes…but there he is…masquerading as yet another imported English ‘expert’ courtesy of the BBC.

I’m fed up of the weak SNP non response to the lies being told day in and out by this disgusting State funded organ.
    I’m tired of waiting for the fight back that never came in the last days before the vote in 2014 and I’ve almost given up commenting on the same issue of YES Scotland being fucked over by our mangy media Unionist collaborators.. it’s even worse than ever. So what good are our 56 MPS and our impotent parliament?

Tam finished with: ‘Lets not forget- when we eventually reassert our Independence lets dismantle the BBC in Scotland brick by brick’…. and prick by prick say I.

74. Thepnr

@Grouse Beater

All down to a great education don’tcha know.

Alan Cochrane
    Scottish Editor of The Daily Telegraph. Born in Dundee, attended a special school where you had to pay to get in, Independent High School of Dundee.

Andrew Marr
    Former Political Editor of BBC News and now a presenter. Born in Glasgow, attended a special school where you had to pay to get in, Independent High School of Dundee.

Brian Taylor
    Political Editor for BBC Scotland. Born in Dundee, attended a special school where you had to pay to get in, Independent High School of Dundee.

Just what was taught at Dundee High in their time?

Always know on which side your bread is buttered perchance?

75. stephen

I am beginning to think that Jim Sillars is a MI5 plant.

76. jimnarlene

@ The Rough Bounds, brilliant!

77. yesindyref2

@Thepnr
    Independent High School of Dundee – provides co-ed education for 5-18.

Ah, so it’s a comprehensive.

78. Thepnr

The Rough Bounds

Touche! 🙂

79. Big Jock

Gms this morning just couldn’t say well done. They had a spokesman from climate change Scotland on. The snidely said yes but isn’t this just a case of making the targets easier to meet this year. Honestly I couldn’t believe it.Anything to talk Scotland and the SNP down.

If Brexit happens against Scotland’s wishes. I fully expect Gms to take England’s side. Even if the Herald etc take Scotland’s side.

80. Thepnr

@yesindyref2

What is co-ed education? Thought that meant mixed sexes? Ah, your just being ironic eh.

Fees range from £8.5K for a primary student to around 12K for a first year student at Dundee High.

http://www.highschoolofdundee.org.uk/fees

81. Gary45%

The look on Jakey Burds coupon on Rep Shortbread, whilst talking about climate targets.
    The sneer was in overdrive or someone had just stuck a used jockstrap under her nose.
    Don’t worry when the winters get cold again, I am sure the SNP will get the blame for the increase in broken hips.

82. Ian Brotherhood

Congratulations to Takyertimesson, Keeptheheidsson, Gaunyerselsson and their compatriots.

83. Valerie

Harvie. very sour about achievement, and been told. Wee git.

https://twitter.com/patrickharvie/status/742677655686893568

84. Brian McHugh

Why is it that I keep confusing Stephen Daisley and Ross Greer?

85. Grouse Beater

Ian: “Congratulations to Takyertimesson, Keeptheheidsson, Gaunyerselsson.”

🙂 I’ll dine out on that gem.

86. Dr Jim

@Petra

Jim Sillars has always been a through and through Labour man really though, but the SNP was a handy vehicle for him at the time when he was jumping ships all over the place

Now unfortunately he’s just a grumpy man and only the press pay any attention to him for an SNP Baad dig every now and again coz he’s good for that

He’s kinda more to be pitied, although difficult

87. One_Scot

The word ‘Bellend’ comes to mind.

88. HandandShrimp

With Longannet now off line I would imagine the 2016 emission figures will be considerably better than the 2014 ones. I think Longannet was the single biggest source of emissions in Scotland.

89. Tam Jardine

Lochside

“… and prick by prick say I.”

Brilliant- you put it perfectly!

I feel your frustration with official campaigners. We need to take the BBC on but I feel it has to be driven by public. We, the public are able to do almost anything- certainly things politicians cannot. We are more powerful than we know if we organise.

The SNP won’t declare open war on the BBC because it will be accused of trying to gag the media. If it comes from the people it is harder to dismiss.

The biggest enemy we have is our own lack of focus, energy and lack of will. If the will was there we could have a BBC protest every week. We could have a march every month. We could have a hundred thousand T-shirts out there with Anti BBC bias slogans. We would not struggle to get past the 100,000 target on a petition.

Not to be too down about it- there has been so much going on we have lost a bit of focus on our enemy the BBC. We need to take them on though and it won’t be done through their complaint process. I am hoping the GA Ponsonby film will kickstart a new campaign on this.

90. Robert J. Sutherland

Petra @ 21.05,

Sillars’ support for fracking (and dislike of wind turbines) is already well-known. That and his support for Leave are sure signs that he is slowly descending into old fogeydom.

I still fondly remember the electric atmosphere at an SNP hustings meeting (remember them?) in Govan back in ’88 just before he achieved that stunning by-election win.

Then he was in the vanguard, now he’s rather lost the plot, I’m afraid. Very sad.

91. shug

Off topic I know – I see Boris thinks there should be no second referendum.
    I agree with 53 out of 56 MP’s and the majority in Holyrood there is no need – there is a clear mandate to walk away from Westminster.
    A simple announcement the treaty is ended and MPs return.

Discuss

92. Dal Riata

In the stinking rotten Guardian, Sleverin’s got an article up entitiled:

“Scotland beats climate emissions reductions target six years early
    2020 target of 42% cut reached earlier than expected”
    [but do notice]:”but climate campaigners sceptical about government’s role”

No comments are allowed BTL, which is but the norm these days.

Roseanne Cunningham gets to express her honour and joy at this achievement. But haud yersef back.

Here comes Jim Densham, a spokesman for Stop Climate Chaos Scotland, who said it was great news that the “symbolic” goal had been met early, since it showed that greenhouse gases could be cut without harming living standards and the economy. But he said much of that fall was due to factors outside Scottish government control, including a much warmer winter than usual in 2014.

And then there’s Mark Ruskell, the Scottish Green party’s Holyrood climate spokesman, who said that if Scottish ministers wanted to set more challenging targets for 2020, they would need far more ambitious domestic policies on transport, home energy efficiency and fuel poverty.

He also said ministerial plans to cut air passenger duty by half would add 60,000 tonnes to Scotland’s growing emissions from aviation.

Poor old Scotland eh, whenever it does something even vaguely good it gets the full-fat SNPBAD treament from the Yoonatics with as many deranged caveats and aye-buts as they can make up to throw their little rubber spanners in the works.

Thing is but, it’s funny as fuck. No matter what they come out with now they are disbelieved and mocked. Too good for the bastards. May their ultimate demise be quick – but completely, utterly and horribly painful.

93. Robert J. Sutherland

Thepnr @ 21:56,

Thanks for that insight re Cochrane/Marr/Taylor. I had no idea about that. (The connections keep on surfacing now, like Dumblebum’s former membership of the Bullingdon Porcine Appreciation Society.) But for me anyway it explains everything about their attitude and output.

94. ronnie anderson

Court of Sessions today (Indycamp) case, to long winded nonsence to detail on here ,suffice to say Lord Turnbull wasent best pleased at the disrespect shown to him & the court ( no more leeway & assistance from him).

One of the wittness’s named by the Respondents today,
    Elizebeth Mary Battenberg. Mawaahaa.

& dont dare mention JAH law (gods law) before Lord Turnbull or it will be the high jump for you.

Next hearing 27th June,good case ruined.

95. Smallaxe

Two culprits on this thread who shall remain nameless have mentioned bacon more than once,are you totally mad?

Cameron will be up here and up your bacon if he gets wind of this! 🙂

96. Dr Jim

I’m mad as hell and I’m not going to take it anymore

I’ve just watched BBC 2016 rubbish everything about the climate change data and then subject us to two complete SNP diddy haters repeat every word Rosanna Cunningham DIDN’T say and then have the temerity to say the SNP aren’t doing enough and bent the figures to suit

It’s absolutely no wonder there are overthrows and political murders in some countries over this sort of mis reporting
    except in our country it’s the BBC and the journalists we want to kill and not the government

Whaurs ma gun Ma

For those who haven’t seen it, DON’T, it’ll drive you to murder (I’m considering it) and I’m a pensioner, so considered dangerous with nothing to live for

97. Tam Jardine

Dal Riata

The archived (and very short) original BBC article is 36 minutes old at 9.29am. The Scottish Government press release is timed 9.30am.

Severin’s article is from 12.40pm whilst the BBC’s expanded article with extra SNP BAAD quotes is from between 12.14pm and 1.14pm.

So the SNP BAAD version has been finalised at approximately the same time by the BBC and the Guardian.

Between 9.30am and about 12.30 that is the window the anti SNP angle has been worked on.

Severin’s article is very similar sans the bit at the end of the BBC article:

“In March this year, the UN climate change secretary praised Scotland’s progress on climate change as “exemplary”.

Christiana Figueres told BBC Scotland that she was impressed by the pace of change, and described the reduction in emissions since 1990 as “quite impressive”.”

98. Geoff Huijer

This just goes to show what most of us already know; that Mr Daisley is not really a journalist.

99. Col

STV is just the lesser of two very poor jokes we all have to endure for some very strange reason.
    When are we going to campaign to demand better than the shit we are fed daily?

I don’t consume personally but apparently others do. About time we saw ourselves reflected on telly instead of the present situation.

100. Tam Jardine

Dr Jim

I posted this on the wrong thread- did you see the long piece on the tragic events in Orlando?

How can Scotland 2016 turn the killing of 49 people by a maniac in a gay nightclub in Orlando into a long piece criticising the SNP led Scottish Government?

101. Dave McEwan Hill

Sir Clement Freud unmasked as a paedophile tonight.

102. Thepnr

I think Mr Daisley is just losing it. He did a piece on Wings and the Rev in Feb 2015. Just taking the piss I think, now it’s his turn from posters on Wings I wonder how he’ll feel with the tables turned.

https://archive.is/wzkJh

All our supposed and so called political journalists are fair game, they throw shite at us we just throw it back. I’ve had enough of their crap.

103. Iain More

Cant the SNP do anything on time? The Brit Nats are pretty predictable.

I am just waiting for the Headlines that say

“SCOTS NOT FARTING ENOUGH!”

104. Del

Thepnr says:
    14 June, 2016 at 9:56 pm
    @Grouse Beater

All down to a great education don’tcha know.

Andrew Marr
    Former Political Editor of BBC News and now a presenter. Born in Glasgow, attended a special school where you had to pay to get in, Independent High School of Dundee.

Point of information, Mr Speaker. Andrew Marr was educated at Loretto School in Musselburgh. Very different from the Independent High School of Dundee, but yes you had to pay to get in there as well.

105. geeo

@
    Brian McHugh says:
    14 June, 2016 at 10:24 pm
    Why is it that I keep confusing Stephen Daisley and Ross Greer?
    ……….
    Funny you should say that…i keep confusing him with a steaming bucket of bull excrement…!!

No offense intended to the bull excrement…

106. Thepnr

@Grouse Beater

That’s what he tells you lol. We’re both right.

Marr was born on 31 July 1959 in Glasgow, Scotland, to Donald and Valerie Marr, his father being an investment trust manager.

He described his upbringing thus: “My family are religious and go to church… [a]nd I went to church as a boy”.

Marr was educated in Scotland at Craigflower Preparatory School, the independent High School of Dundee and at Loretto School, also an independent school in Musselburgh, East Lothian, where he was a member of Pinkie House.

He went to read English at Trinity Hall, Cambridge, graduating with a first class honours degree.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andrew_Marr

107. Thepnr

Sorry that was @Del not @Grouse Beater.

108. Robert J. Sutherland

Del @ 00:02 helpfully clarified:

Andrew Marr was educated at Loretto School

Same place then that one Anthony Blair and one Alistair Darling attended. It just gets better and better!

Were they all acquainted then, or did they just inhale the air of privilege separately?

109. Robert J. Sutherland

Actually, this all makes me wonder, how many others in the MSM were educated in fee-paying private schools?

110. donnywho

Darling was also in Pinkie house but Blair was educated at Fettes that Gothic pile by the Polis station of the same name.

111. Thepnr

@Robert J. Sutherland

Yes, me too. especially those journalists reporting on politics not your run of the mill fitba or courts.

We’re all in it together wrote the journalist on behalf of the politician.

112. Iain More

Did Kirsty Wark not got to an Independent School in Ayr and we know how poisonous she is.

113. Chic McGregor

Daisley, Daisley give me your answer do.
    You’re half crazy all for the love of U.
    It was never a stylish marriage,
    But now we’ve found our courage.
    In part your tweet,
    Just generates meat,
    For a bye cycle helped by you.

114. Dr Jim

@Tam Jardine

Given that the First Minister Nicola Sturgeon is now the most powerful and influential woman in the known Universe it’s entirely encumbent upon her and her alone to have intervened in that horrendous murder before it happened, invested as she is with the powers of prophecy

The fact that Nicola Sturgeon and her government do not do enough to solve world bad everything is a direct result of words not actions, talking left and acting right

How can Scotland ever trust a word the SNP says over Scottish Independence when this First Minister doesn’t believe in it herself and secretly doesn’t want a Referendum anyway

A ridiculous example of Scottish media made up Pish that bewildered folk sitting in their houses watching their tellys are likely to hear (or read) and it should be a punishable Fucking crime against Scotland

I claim a job on the Guardian £5.00 at least please

Alex (I’m not a sniveling Lib Dem Massie) will print this tomorrow and then Willie Rennie will use it on thursday
    Except he’ll say “Why will the First Minister not just own up and be honest, c’mon be honest”

You know, at my age I do sometimes think, jail might be OK three squares a day, (which is more than I eat now I might add ) Surely I could just take out a few of them, let’s face it I’d make a lot of people happy and probably very few sad, so it could be a win win

115. Artyhetty

If the sceptics claims that it’s been the warm winters that done it, and not anything positive from the Scotgov, then surely, england should be way ahead. The weather people report blazing sunshine even if it’s raining down in the south of england.

Imagine what Scotland could do as an independent country, what with an oil fund to invest in renewables.

Watch out, UKok will be looking to see how they can stifle this achievement and any further progress.

116. K1

And we’d crowdfund ye tae dae it Tam 😉

117. Robert J. Sutherland

According to Wikipedia, Alex Massie was educated at Glenalmond College in Perthshire. Another private school, then!

I was going to add, he’s surely a Tory not a FibDem, but I’m getting the increasing impression that the different political allegiances of such people are quite superficial, and underneath there’s a shared value system operating.

Yes, our media officer class can see the writing on the wall, and are still trying their d*mnedest to wipe it all away. Futile!

118. Cherry

Here’s what bothers me…re private schooling.
    Is there a “special” curriculum taught to these people, which teaches them how to dislike and despise their Country of birth along with the people of said land.

I really can’t get my head round the loathing that they all exude…it’s sickening. I’m so fed up with the whole disgusting lot of them, I just don’t read their shit or watch it! We need to get banners, t-shirts and stickers and just get our anger and the fact we want them out of our COUNTRY known. Time for action, we should be right in their smug faces. Enough is enough!

119. Dr Jim

It wisnae Tam the said it, it wiz me, although I’m the wrong kind of Doctor to do it secretly
    Ahd hiv tae kill them wae a Piano

It’d do the job fine though

120. Dair

The reporting of Scotlands climate change targets has been utterly disgraceful. Every year we have had “Scotland failed” despite the target being for 2020 and great progress being made.

121. maxxmacc

‘Climate Change’ aka ‘Global Warming’ is a total scam, so I wouldn’t worry too much about missing any targets. Scotland sits atop some of the best coal in the world yet the eco-loons have virtually consigned the once great industry to the dustbin.

122. K1

Sorry Dr Jim, alert reader crash…f***in’ chip keeps malfunctioning… *wanders off tae the factory…again!* 😉

123. Ian Brotherhood

@Cherry –

This whole document is worth scrutiny, but please note Q I(c).

This is what some folk ‘aspire’ to have their children subjected to…

http://www.etoncollege.com/userfiles/files/KS%202011%20General%20Paper%201.pdf

124. Cherry

Ian,

Jeez, words fail me…no empathy or morals.

125. yesindyref2

@Ian Brotherhood
    Interesting paper.

126. Andrew McLean

Stephen @9:58

Sorry to be a pedant but the correct terminology is “asset”,

127. Breeks

I really wonder what the most corrosive and damaging aspect of our daily lives has the most impact Whether it is the privileged elitism and all that entails which renews itself in perpetuity and finds some fundamental necessity to look down its nose upon others, or the grubby corruption and nepotism which bubbles away at a Council headquarters near you and scuttles away from justice like a cockroach runs away from light.

We, the “victims”, are crippled by the fear that the sky will fall in if we interfere with either.

I just think it’s so very, very, sad that we tolerate these afflictions and yet we don’t connect them with our lamentable under achievement as a country.

We tolerate the despicable and unfair with similar indifference to that of a cow in some field tolerating the ticks on its back. We all of us tolerate the BBC with a similar shrug that there’s nothing to be done about it.

There’s a concept in the Borders that things good or bad are constant; “It’s aye been”. Personally, I find it the most singularly depressing and life defeating affirmation anybody could utter, not that things have “aye been”, but that people are so docile in accepting that things will “aye be”.

At times, the only thing which helps me through the daily adversity of trying to make a life down here is the forlorn but stubborn hope within me to prove them wrong. Hate to say so, but they’re the ones winning.

128. Andrew McLean

Dr Jim,

Stiletto surely, killing with a piano is not your forte!

129. Scot Finlayson

Another Yoon media presenter who went to Independent or Private School,

was our very own Tokyo Kaye Adams,supplier of propaganda and misinformation for the State,

she went to St George’s School for Girls,Edinburgh,

fees £12,000 a year plus £25,000 if boarding,

the school was originally set up to teach the children of the English colonists who wanted their offspring brought up in the English curriculum,

it is also a `Charity` which is just the rich dodging tax yet again.

130. yesindyref2

@Ian Brotherhood
    Oh aye, that Q1 c). Don’t forget it’s you the PM and you have to explain why it was both neccessary and moral, which it would have to be with you as PM. Only the bare outline was given in the Question itself, but as PM you have full knowledge of the details, much of which was seen on live TV.

So it must have been that, for instance a militant group of looters posing as protestors, and having acquired illegal handguns, overcame the anti-terrorist police armoury building which was under-occupied since all the police were on anti-riot duties, killing all the police who were in the building, bar one who was answering a call of nature at the time. They stole the ATARV (Anti-Terrorist Armoured Response Vehicle – think Police Academy), and were overheard by the survivor planning to take over a hospital and steal all the ambulances as they were being given emergency fuel, and help themselves to all the drugs and hospital dinners, holding the patients as hostages and demanding beer.

As PM you had no choice but to call in the army as only armour-piercing rounds could penetrate the ATARV. The Army airlifted 3 Mohawks into Hyde Park using their newly-deployed Heseltines, and after a chase, the 3 Mohawks surrounded the ATARV outside Roehampton Hospital. They called on the ATARV to surrender, but it started firing its weapons into the hospital where evacuations were not complete. The Mohawks had no choice but to fire depleted irridium shells into the ATARV, destroying it and killing all 25 occupants, as well as a pair of curious pigeons. Luckily they were in time to prevent any patients being killed or injured.

The rescued hospital staff fed the crew of the Mohawks with hospital dinners, and unfortunately they were all taken ill with suspected food poisoning, the cause of which is unknown. A grateful nation hopes they get well soon, and the maintenance crews will be dismantling the Heseltines which luckily didn’t break down until after their landing. They’re changing the guard at Bucking[censored] Palace.

131. Effijy

This claim that Brexit would mean Westminster losing contact with the EU countries anti-terrorist agencies.

How come that while we are in the EU, the alleged Russian Football Gangs are supposed to have connected with Local French Thugs in order to gang up on English Fans without anyone knowing?

I presume they suggest that it was all pre arranged via the
    Internet, as I doubt Russian Directory Enquiries had a listing for “Marseilles Football Thugs R’Us”?

Alternatively, can you imagine 100-200 Russian Thugs, who supposedly trained for hand to hand combat, being afraid of attacking fat, drunk, loud mouth English fans without getting permission from the local gang?

Can you picture the Russian leader learning French so that he might ask a local Grandmother for directions to her nearest branch of Mindless, Violent Football Thugs.

I don’t buy the secret services have a clue about what goes on and UK Newspapers has no use for reality.

132. Socrates MacSporran

Much discussion on here regarding prominent media commentators and UKOKers who went to independent schools in Scotland.

I cannot refer with confidence to Dundee High School, but, schools such as Fettes, Glenalmond and Loretto, which have been mentioned, all work to a largely English curriculum; the pupils study for and sit English exams, A levels, rather than the Scottish Highers.

These schools have long records of steering pupils towards Oxbridge, then onto positions in the City of London, the armed forces, the civil service and, in the days of Empire, the Indian Civil Service and colonial administration.

I should perhaps say, at this point, Wellington School, at the time Kirsty Wark attended, was better known for turning out future wives for Ayrshire’s farmers and professionals – Accountants, doctors, lawyers etc, than high-flying young ladies bound for university. Indeed, I would say, Kirsty is a rarity among her contemporaries in the career path she has followed.

The private schools are very much a part of what is known as “the Hidden Establishment”, whereby, through the Old Boy network, the old boys (and girls) are able to achieve influence way beyond their intelligence.

AS to comments regarding the actions of individual journalists – most working journalists today are simply anxious and determine to hang onto jobs in a contracting industry, so, when an Editor, himself/herself under pressure from the proprietor’s yes men hands them a headline and says: “That’s the headline (‘SNP Bad’ for instance) now write me the story” – they write it.

I quote (in the defence of working journalists) the old Americanism: “When you are up to your arse in alligators, it is difficult to remember, you are supposed to be draining the swamp”.

133. Breeks

See Boris has been sliced and diced Salmond style. Talking out his backside quoting reports he hadn’t actually read. Verdict = Guilty.

134. Dorothy Devine

As another grey haired revolutionary Dr Jim , I ‘ll watch your back.

I note easy access to piano wire and Andrews McLean’s very early morning wit!

135. heedtracker

maxxmacc says:
    15 June, 2016 at 1:51 am
    ‘Climate Change’ aka ‘Global Warming’ is a total scam, so I wouldn’t worry too much about missing any targets. Scotland sits atop some of the best coal in the world yet the eco-loons have virtually consigned the once great industry to the dustbin.

Even if you do think global warming is a total scam, Scotland probably does sit atop the best coal but WHY not tap into the inexhaustible energy of Scotland? Every other country that can do it is doing it. But Scotland cant because nimby tories dont like it, to say the least.

Eco loons v tory nimbies in their scotland region. If we could only harness the limitless energy from enraged tory nimby waffle, the terrible windmills, that alex salmond, holyrood, scottish indy…

136. Cuilean

Just has wee trip down memory lane with Lord of the Lies, Alistair blinking Darling on ‘Good Morning Britain’ @ 7.13 a.m.

Indyref Tribute Klaxons:

1. Risks of leaving are immense.

2. Share prices are plunging.

3. Economy will take a hit.

4. We’ll have less money to spend on health service & education.

5. Madness to take a leap in the dark.

6. More taxes.

7. Big, big risk.

8. Massive leap in the dark.

9. Massive risk.

10. We’re better off and stronger as part of the Union.

11. Better as a United Kingdon.

12. Up to the Government what it spends.

13. Break off from your biggest market means less money around.

14. It’ll take 10 Years to renegotiate treaties.

15. If you stop talking I’ll answer (to Piers Morgan).

Ah.

‘Those were the days my friends, we thought they’d never end…
    Those were the days, oh yes, those were the days!’.

137. heedtracker

16. Frankly.

Cuilean, you forgot the insufferable git’s frankly.

138. Tam Jardine

yesindyref2

An excellent answer- but perhaps you are a little too good at this? MFI will be contacting you to write tory press releases.

Q3 is interesting (in so far as giving children a passage of Nietzsche to interpret is interesting).

Here’s a passage from the same book about the state that could be talking about the state’s broadcasting arm.

“There is nothing greater on earth than I, the regulating finger of God!” – thus the monster bellows. And not only the long-eared and short sighted sink to their knees!

Ah, it whispers its dismal lies to you too, you great souls! Ah it divines the abundant hearts that like to squander themselves!

Yes, it divines you too, you conquerors of the old God! You grew weary in battle and now your weariness serves the new idol!

It would like to range heroes and honourable men about it, this new idol! It likes to sun itself in the sunshine of good consciences – this cold monster!

It will give YOU everything if YOU worship it, this new idol: thus it buys for itself the lustre of your virtues and the glance of your proud eyes.

It wants to use you to lure the many-too-many. Yes, a cunning device of Hell has been devised, a horse of death jingling with the trappings of divine honours!” And so on and so forth.

What I find fascinating about this gem Ian B has unearthed- after the Nietzsche question, question 3, check out 4j.

I paraphrase but ‘how do you build a conservatory?’ Answer- you get a man in and his team of CDE’s and pay him according to how long it takes. No trigonometry or algebra or the calculus. How long will it take? Count the blocks on this schedule then you can work out how to do it and how much it will be!

And that, my friends, is how you build a conservatory, Eton style!

139. Dal Riata

Sorry, O/T

From the off, let it be said that I’m in no way condoning any of the violent behaviour that has already taken place in France between the various ‘warring factions’.

But, hey, it sure is funny as fuck observing the English MSM getting itself into an Ibiza-style foam party of indignatious froth and spittle since their ‘boys’ (football hooligans) got their arses handed to them on a plate by take-no-prisoners Russian hooligans.

The English hooligans and thugs’ initial two days of obnoxious, drunken, racist, Rule Brittania abuse of locals plus added bottle throwing was blamed on a ‘minority’ (as they always say) and on being provoked by the local gendarmarie…LOL!

Then the Russians landed…

Now the MSM is all ‘Our poor innocent boys attacked by those monsters…’ Disgrace! Something should be done! Get Russia thrown out the competition! Don’t allow the next World Cup to be held in Russia! Waah! Waah! Wibble! Wibble!

Naah! You reap what you sow. Get It Right Fuckin’ Up Yez!

140. Cuilean

Heedtracker:

Ah, yes, of course. But who is this Frank Lee? Never did find out. Does he play football?

141. Tam Jardine

Dal Riata

Yes- it turns out that England is not as ‘good’ at football hooliganism as Russia. That is what really seems to grate on them.

142. Petra

@ Ian at 1:55am ……. ”Etonian Paper”

Interesting Ian especially question one of course. Cruelty, fear and love. Ruling through fear preferable to love. Discrediting ‘subjects’ that show loyalty through love. Not to be trusted. A bit of brainwashing going on there from the outset.

They, tutors, also probably use these papers to identify potential future ‘leaders’, including political (Tory) leaders depending on the answers given and ‘nurture’ them. Someone focusing on leading by ‘love’ would be deemed to be weak and ‘filed away’ as a sap, a failure from day one … 1st year. Maybe followed on with a ‘programme of toughening’ the child up, that is knocking any compassionate traits right out of him from then on.

Those advocating ruling through fear would have their papers scrutinised and classified by level of fear / techniques used, in particular how unique or ‘imaginative’ their answers / proposed action was. Akin to the psychological classification of where you are on the psychopathy scale and WE didn’t need to go to Eton to enable us to do that. We can see right through them for example certain politicians. We can see that their use of ideological austerity measures leading to suppression of the masses is a form of leading by fear. And then there are the other ‘leaders’ who work behind the scenes in the Media, BBC, Banking, Miltary, Arms Trade, Secret Services and so on. A vast dictatorial network of people controlling every single aspect of our lives.

Professor John Robertson pointed out that there is not one Scot acting as Principal in any of our Universities (or all but two?). I wonder where they came from … were educated?

143. Robert Peffers

@Thepnr says: 14 June, 2016 at 11:45 pm:

I think Mr Daisley is just losing it.

Nah! Daisley has never had it in the first place. How then can he lose it?

It has always been a sham. The Unionistas have always been part of the Establishment, even Kier Hardie, he who began the Labour party made noises about, “Home Rule”, but the party he helped found has never delivered other than false vows.

The Unionist media has always been The Establishments propaganda wing. They were once a damned sight more subtle with it but it was, none the less, full-frontal, lies and propaganda, (as any large town with a North British Hotel can testify).

Now there is the inevitability of Scottish independence staring them in the eye they no longer have time to be subtle and their desperation makes them attempt to hit first and be damned.

The lies, smears and talking Scotland down were always present. Only now the Scottish people, who had not noticed it before, are seeing it a clearly.

I posted on wings during the run-up to the Scottish referendum how I had been working on a elderly, very English spoken, lady and had been getting no where until I pointed out to her a couple of instances of the BBC propaganda.

I was taken aback when she announce just before the vote she was voting yes because, as she put it, “I paid attention to the BBC and you were right – it is lies and propaganda- so I’m voting YES”.

All my arguments on the economy, the democracy and the stealing of assets had failed but, confronted with the media lies, this 80 plus something lady could now see she had been brain washed by the establishment all her life.

Thing is that until attention is focused upon the media propaganda it slips out of people’s RADAR but once they start to see it clearly they never look back.

144. cearc

Tam,

Bring back naitonal service. Can’t have our thugs letting down the side, eh?

145. cearc

Robert Peffers,

Absolutely. You can even start the conversation away from politics by being shocked that the ‘world-trusted-beeb’ have faked nature documentaries. Which comfortably leads to being the only major news broadcaster caught faking (rather than slanting or selectively skewing) news reports and Bingo your right there with being fed pish all the time.

It is definitely a great route and more than raises doubts.

I have workmen here at the moment who have Radio 1 on all day. Yesterday, every ‘news’ bulletin was the Sun for leave and a comment from the editor (no mention that it is the english one only), nothing from remain.

146. cearc

Tam,

How to build a conservatory?

You get the guys who are re-building mine in. None of y’pre-fabricated panel pish. Double 4x2s throughout, heavy- duty weather boarding built like a proper building and cheaper than your leaflet through the door companies.

147. Grouse Beater

I’m of the opinion football hooligans should be allowed to get on with the task of beating the crap out of each other so long as they don’t harm bystanders or smash up shops and restaurants.

148. Free Scotland

Didn’t know what Stephen Daisley looked like, so decided to check out his fizzog on Google images. It’s now clear to me why he has an ugly wee pug wearing a collar and tie as his avatar: it’s an improvement on his own appearance, and it’s easier to fit a wee animal into the picture frame.

149. Cuilean

Funny how English & Russian women feel no urge to, herd-like, leave their wee hubbies & kids and blow the household holiday kitty on a solo trip to roam & booze in bars abroad with their chick mates, & knock seven bells out of any foreign women they don’t like the look of, kicking them unconscious and raining chairs on anyone who looks at them funny!

Thank god for women.

Apart from hen nights, of course.

150. Macart

This’ll leave an impression.

According to the Reuters Institute for the study of Journalism social media has overtaken television for the first time as the younger generations main source for news.

Tick tock as they say.

151. Graham King

Ann Murie says:
    14 June, 2016 at 5:33 pm
    Headline on the BBC website:
    “Scotland exceeds emissions targets”

Since the ‘targets’ are intended for reduction of emissions below those levels, then ‘exceeding’ them would mean failing to achieve the intended reduction. “Scotland beats emissions targets” or “Scotland achieves more than intended, re emissions reduction” would be clearer.
    Was this just sloppy phrasing by the BBC or misleading anti-journalism… you know, wilfully phrasing something confusingly so that a casual listener with no independent fact-checking might think equated to ‘SNP BAD’?

152. galamcennalath

Daily Record moaning about Tory rule …

http://archive.is/3jNss

…. what a cheek!

Whose fcking fault is we are still ruled by the Tories, then? Eh?

153. Capella

Isn’t that how the Army identifies officer material?
    Q How do you raise the Union Jack?
    A Detail a sergeant

154. Jim McIntosh

@Thepnr
    14 June, 2016 at 9:56 pm

So the journos all went Dundee High and Kez and George Galloway went to Harris Academy.

Knew I was right choosing the Morgan. ?

155. ronnie anderson

@ cearac. Nice to see your conservarory being rebuild, that I would think will be filled shortly with plantings, next job that garage door I would,nt want to hear thats landed on your head,take care, it would be better off, as hanging.xx

156. Tinto Chiel

I have a young relative who attended one of the Glasgow Snob Factories. I actually feel sorry for him: he has nothing in common with the people around him and acts a bit like an alien unless he’s in the company of his old school/medical buddies. As Socrates says, most private school kids are educated largely on the English model and they do tend to ape the Establishment and see it as something to emulate. More importantly for us, I am sure the percentage of Noes in this group must have been very high.

Andrew McLean @ 5.35 am: “Stiletto surely, killing with a piano is not your forte!”

How do you manage that so early in the morning? Fair cheered me up.

In retaliation, I would remind you that, at the top of the previous thread I called George Robertson a plank, hoping my remark would floor him.

Ooh, where’s me washboard? 😛

157. cearc

Ronnie,

It’s on the list.

158. schrodingers cat

http://parliamentlive.tv/Event/Index/cf76571b-8c12-43ea-984d-2cd565c1ccd6

pete wishart questions evel in lords

159. Peter McCulloch

You have to understand the unionists mind set is that they cannot permit the Scottish Government any success.

They will always find a way to do whatever they can to undermine any achievement made the Scottish Government.

Meanwhile I see Blair McDougall is leaving Labour in Scotland all I can say is good riddance to bad rubbish.

160. Petra

Scotland’s rail network to be brought to a ‘grinding halt’ within the next three weeks because of staff shortage. “Union chiefs claimed that ScotRail’s staff was 200 workers below the number needed to run a safe railway service seven days a week.” “The warning comes after hundreds of rail passengers endured a second day of cancellations across the country …. 48 services were either cancelled or had routes cut short across the country between Sunday and 2pm Monday.”

The Union (RMT) is also demanding that they have guards on trains. If not strike action will impact on some of Scotland’s premier tourist events from July on, such as The Open in Troon, T in the Park and the Edinburgh Fringe. Following a RMT meeting last Sunday “the form of action proposed will be put forward to our National Executive Committee people in London to consider it. Once the clock starts ticking towards that action, then Scotland’s railways will be coming to a grinding halt.”

Putting the ‘guard issue’ to one side, 170,000 Scots are unemployed and they can’t find 200 of that number to work for ScotRail? I come across people day in and day out who are unemployed and so desperate to find work that they spend hours every day online searching for a job. Strange one!

Have they actually advertised the staff vacancies? If not, why not? ScotRail trying to save money or the London led Union attempting to create chaos?

161. Artyhetty

Re;Tinto Chiel@10.12am

Indeed, a friend if mine, a volunteer in a local charity shop, had a chat with a young woman volunteer, who was at a student at a large snobschool in Edinburgh. Apparently the head had told the students who were old enough to vote, ie 16-18, in no uncertain terms to vote no. These people would not know democracy if it hit them in the face.

162. heedtracker

Just voted IN with my postal vote!

Current vile separatist poll here seems to be INies, for a whole range of reasons, but English NO chums are OUTies. One of vile seps IN drivers is BetterTogether’s 2014 rage at us and their vote NO or Scotland’s out of EU. This will not stand. Also, I’m truly madly deeply for several Poles at work, despite learning Polish for not if you were the last man on earth. Thank you very much google translate:D

Wings Over Scotland Retweeted
    Better Together ?@UK_Together 2 Sep 2014
    What is process for removing our EU citizenship? Voting yes. #scotdecides

163. Artyhetty

My previous comment, made a typo, anyway, it sort of makes sense.

164. Breeks

So here we stand, on the brink;

The UK standing isolated from a united Europe, up to its knees in desperate stiff-upper-lip propaganda, a population forced to live on slave wages where it can barely feed itself, dependant on custom and support from former colonies of a now defunct empire, with battle about to commence between our plucky English thuglets and those Beastly Russian sub-humans?

Did I just go to sleep and wake up in a parrallel universe where Hitler won the war?

The Brexiters aren’t wearing red armbands by any chance are they?

165. galamcennalath

Breeks says:

“So here we stand, on the brink;”

I find it sad that the ordinary English folks who are most likely to suffer from Brexit (pay, workers rights, reduced public services, privatised health etc) are the ones backing it.

They are veing conned, big time by the ultra right who want a more US society, rather than European.

166. Robert Louis

Petra at 1104

It does seem like the Abellio people (who have the franchise) are just not trying to fill vacancies. I use the rail a lot in Scotland, and these problems started very soon after Abellio got the franchise. A train cancelled here, another there, and so on. Lots of empty promises when they started.

At present, Abellio are dependent upon overtime working by staff, as they do not have enough full time employees. That is the issue.

This impacts ordinary people every day going to work, and the M8 isn’t any better, bogged down as it is with roadworks, and down to single carriageway over each weekend.

I think abellio need booted out, and in the absence of a law change, First group brought back. In many ways the Scot Government’s hands are tied by Westminster legislation preventing public ownership (from within the UK) in any form – ironically Abellio is the Dutch state owned railways group.

167. Dr Jim

Whenever pronouncements are made by either side of the EU argument the other side accuses it of Project Fear but when the First Minister of Scotland makes a statement on the same argument both sides of the “English” debate refer to what she says as “Project McFear”

I don’t feel the need to elaborate on that any further!

168. galamcennalath

Dr Jim says

“both sides of the “English” debate”

Indeed. Everyone know the Indy campaign continues to simmer away nicely on a back burner.

Both flavours of Greater Englanders are well aware this EU game they are playing out has the future of their Union at stake too. They never take their eyes completely off the Scottish ball.

169. Ian Brotherhood

@Tam Jardine et al –

That Eton exam paper was quoted in Danny Dorling’s Inequality and the 1%.It’s soo-perb.

Here’s a link to a PDF of the first chapter.

http://www.dannydorling.org/books/onepercent/Material_files/iatopc_chapter1.pdf

170. Dr Jim

Whatever we McSay up here in McScotland people in England seem to Mcthink it’s not McRelevant to the McArgument and indeed McMock any input we McMake by making silly McReferences to our McLanguage

I for one don’t McAppreciate that and it’s terribly bad McManners

171. Greannach

Nicola Sturgeon’s government should be ashamed of meeting their targets early. Why? Just because!

172. Dr Jim

It seems that BBC Scotland now are just phoning up Jim Sillars in the morning and asking him for an SNP Baad quote for the day

Hey it’s just a job say the journalists we don’t care what we say or print as long as we get paid good money for it

Truth! Who ever gave a shit about Truth, it’s only the public we’re talking about and who gives a shit about them

Any public tuning in, that’s why you’re called “Punters” “Mugs” ” The great unwashed” “Sheep”

Getting the idea yet?

173. Cuilean

Arty Hetty,

we should thank the headmaster. 16-18 yr olds like to rebel.

It’s Liz The Last, who needs to keep her geggy shut next time. Her silence is deafening. Not so reticent last time, was she? The sleekit, auld bitch.

On the bright side, she might ‘shuffle-off’ sometime soonish.

174. carjamtic

When is a ‘fact’ not a ‘fact’,usually when a politician or an ‘expert’ speaks.

One of the main difficulties is determining what information is actually ‘factual’ ,to allow us to make an informed choice,Eu in/out is for example and there is no single ‘fact’ that can do it,it’s complicated.

Considering the complexities of interdependendencies and variations of the ‘facts’ it can be almost impossible,however the Scottish Electorate, having studied all known data for the last 4 years,have some conclusions that may assist you.

Blue Tories – Lying heartless cutns – Fact
    Red Tories – Lying moronic confused cutns – Fact
    Orange Tories – Lying shitstirring cutns – Fact

Charley says

‘Never trust the EBC,it’s really the Westminster Governments,Central Office of Information or Propanganda’ – Fact

Simple Eu in

175. Big Jock

Dr Jim – Sillars behaviour can only be explained by him being an agent of the unionists. Everything he says and does is lapped up by the Yoons. He is basically a Yoon in Yes clothing.

176. Andrew McLean

DR Jim 12:33
    “O” physician heal thyself, I think you have the McHiccups!

177. Robert Peffers

@Grouse Beater says: 15 June, 2016 at 9:08 am:

“I’m of the opinion football hooligans should be allowed to get on with the task of beating the crap out of each other so long as they don’t harm bystanders or smash up shops and restaurants. “

Not a bad idea, Grouse Beater, but better still why not have them do so on the pitch as a warm up for the main event? Then, at half-time, a re-match between any surviving walking wounded.

We could also encourage the peaceful fans to throw coins and flares at the combatants – proceeds to be collected and go to the Scottish Ambulance Service.

178. Returnofthemac

O/T just put the TV on and lo and behold Brewer is on just caught the end of an interview with Hamish?
    Whit the feck? Now we have the liar Carmichael on who Mr Porter has just said is part if the leave campaign. WRONG. Have I just arrived in a parallel universe. We are now speaking to Philip Hollobone Conservative mp.(english leave) Oops Hamish is back on ah Hamish Macdonell political commentator. I give up, switching to Romania v Switzerland aw naw it is Eric Dier a key component, I’m away fur ma tea.

179. Republicofscotland

If Daisley had kept his mouth shut, (full of hot air) we’d have been ten years ahead.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.