Bargain Of The Day

Posted on March 16, 2011 by

Tesco: every little helps.

Runner-up below.

0 to “Bargain Of The Day”

1. Irn-Bro says:

Will Scotch people notice?

2. I fucking love Irn Bru.

Reminds me of my dipsomaniac Scots schoolteacher (now sadly passed away due to being a fat bastard).

3. Jon says:

From the Irn Bru website:
    "The feeling when you finish a can is bad enough"

What the hell is in that crap?

4. I've lost count of the number of these "offers" I've seen in Tesco.  And I'm not entirely sure they are due to a mistake.

5. Matt Smith says:

They're entirely deliberate. Tesco stores across Britain have been doing this for years; it's a practice that's drawn repeated complaints from consumer magazines and websites, and I think it got a mention on Watchdog a while ago too. But they keep on doing it because there's no actual reason for them to stop (beyond, y'know, some ethics); they're giving you all the information up front, so they're not doing anything illegal. It's just cynical and treacherous.

6. Captain Caveman says:

Forget Resolve, bananas with maple syrup, raw egg with Worcester Sauce or any number of other alleged hangover cures – Irn Bru is the undisputed champ on this score, at least in full fat, sugar-laden form. (Actually, is there even a diet version at all? That really would be a contradiction in terms; the soft drink equivalent of Ed Balls with nowse).
    I reckon the Scots know a thing or two about getting rid of hangovers afterall; I'm a great believer in leaving such matters to the experts. Ninety pence seems like a small price to pay for such efficacious medicine.
    (As for Tesco, I really can't believe this is a deliberate strategy on their part; it's surely likely to be the odd cock up by their pricing people. I'd say that the average punter wouldn't be so stupid not to notice anyway, but then, I know this to be untrue and in any event, my own little arithmetical faux pas in the forum Rugby thread springs to mind here…).

7. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

Horrifically, there IS a diet Irn Bru. The drink's makers, Barr, are one of the most evil when it comes to filling their products full of shitty poisonous artificial sweeteners to save a few pennies, and Irn Bru is almost their only remaining thing that's still all-sugar.

8. Nixon says:

Even more horrifically, a few months ago I ordered a load of Irn Bru as part of an online grocery shop, only to realise with horror that they'd delivered the diet version instead, only to THEN realise with MORE horror that I couldn't complain because it was my mistake, not theirs, and I'd accidentally ordered eight bottles of the diet version by mistake.

It's something akin to watered-down TCP.  It doesn't even taste like supermarket own-brand "Iron Brew", never mind anything like its parent – it's the equivalent of Diet Coke, a completely different (vile) drink that just happens to be the same colour.  I drank a single mouthful out of one glass of the first bottle and threw the rest away.

9. Captain Caveman says:

Cripes chaps, diet Irn Bru..? Sounds like an abomination!
    Commiserations there Nixon. 🙂
    (Still, Barr produce Dandelion and Burdoch – that most excellent fish and chips accompaniment, so I'll forgive their transgression).

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,959 Posts, 1,247,929 Comments

• Hatey McHateface on The Nobodies: “Aye, Dave, we’ll be independent by Xmas. And because you’re so confident, you’ll be laying down some big bets at…Jul 30, 15:37
    • Hatey McHateface on The Nobodies: “Aye, Confused, it’s just as well that one Scot is better than ten English. What with them outnumbering us by…Jul 30, 15:06
    • DaveL on The Nobodies: “Check out the colonialists! This post really got them excited Aiden factchecker wee Adolf. I think they must’ve wet themselves…Jul 30, 15:05
    • MaryB on The Nobodies: “Surely, this chest feeding practice is challengeable in law? It’s child cruelty to feed these babies an inadequate diet. Human…Jul 30, 14:50
    • Hatey Mchateface on The Nobodies: “Cut Northy some slack, CC. He’s providing lots of reasons why the more prosperous regions of Scotland, e.g. the Northern…Jul 30, 14:36
    • Confused on The Nobodies: “Scotland’s status has long been pored over by academics, we may have even coined the phrase “stateless nation”. Much navel…Jul 30, 14:30
    • Confused on The Nobodies: “https://x.com/KevorkAlmassian/status/2077142696817573985Jul 30, 14:26
    • Hatey McHateface on The Nobodies: ““Craig Murray is proposing the physical seizure by civilians of key state assets and confrontation between the police/army” He’s maybe…Jul 30, 13:57
    • Captain Caveman on The Nobodies: “Sigh. Where to start eh? “You compare Scotland only to places that suffer more, as though injustice must reach a…Jul 30, 13:55
    • Hatey McHateface on The Nobodies: “The Claim Of Right belongs only to the people who voted Yes. Do try to keep up! I bet you…Jul 30, 13:51
    • Hatey McHateface on The Nobodies: “Haud Oan, we’re still waiting to hear from you how Scotland’s destiny is controlled from Tel Aviv. I’m more than…Jul 30, 13:41
    • 100%Yes on The Nobodies: “https://joansjigsaw.uk/2026/07/30/the-height-of-grotesqueness/Jul 30, 13:36
    • Aidan on The Nobodies: “It wouldn’t be legal of course, and Craig Murray is proposing the physical seizure by civilians of key state assets…Jul 30, 13:34
    • Hatey McHateface on The Nobodies: ““A nation becomes sovereign because its people recognise themselves as one” Oh aye, like in 2014. Erm. Cue “we wus…Jul 30, 13:32
    • diabloandco on The Nobodies: “100%yes , where did you read that ? If verified then you are absolutely correct the SNP need removed to…Jul 30, 13:23
    • factchecker on The Nobodies: “Sarah claims “John Swinney could, based on the SNP/Green majority, simply inform Burnham of the date of independence and then…Jul 30, 13:04
    • 100%Yes on The Nobodies: “The Scottish government is giving public money to fund a “Queer Milk Group” in which male transvestites meet weekly to…Jul 30, 12:59
    • sarah on The Nobodies: ““Queer Milk Group”. Scottish executive [Swinney etc] are giving £700,000 to these men to poison babies with chemically induced chest…Jul 30, 12:55
    • Aidan on The Nobodies: “Shut up JamesJul 30, 12:39
    • James on The Nobodies: “Agent Walloper.Jul 30, 12:17
    • Knuckle_Heid on The Nobodies: “Excellent post Chas and (probably like yourself) I was thrilled to see Peter Magyar topple Orban in the recent elections,…Jul 30, 12:07
    • Marie on The Nobodies: “The world and his dog knows that ISIS and its related militias are C-I-A backed. Most notorious BFF of US…Jul 30, 11:31
    • Aidan on The Nobodies: “As usual Northcode, your response is vague and makes references to concepts at a very high level, without any contextualised…Jul 30, 11:29
    • agentx on The Nobodies: “House rule No.1: Thou shall not question the Baird.Jul 30, 11:07
    • sarah on The Nobodies: ““Drive the diehard independence supporters out of the SNP” by focussing on gender policy. That was discussed by senior SNP…Jul 30, 10:52
    • Northcode on The Nobodies: “Your argument is built on a misunderstanding of the terrain. You compare Scotland only to places that suffer more, as…Jul 30, 10:42
    • Aidan on The Nobodies: “Thank you both – and an excellent point on Memmi regarding the French occupied territories. In fairness, the mockery doesn’t…Jul 30, 09:59
    • 100%Yes on The Nobodies: “Any news on Sturgeon making a challenge, yet?Jul 30, 09:17
    • Captain Caveman on The Nobodies: “Precisely and definitively put, Aidan – which goes a very long way to explain the incredulous mockery that Alf is…Jul 30, 09:01
    • Hatey McHateface on The Nobodies: “Absolutely top post, Aidan. The entire “Scotland as colony” and “let’s force abody tae spik Scots” tropes serve only as…Jul 30, 08:33