The demonisation of Alex Salmond

Posted on November 07, 2011 by

Iain Macwhirter in the Herald with a much-needed skewering of the "cybernat myth" that Labour have doggedly been trying to make stick for a few years now, and which was escalated dramatically with Iain Gray's vitriolic and bitter farewell speech to the Scottish Labour conference. There is, of course, poison aplenty on both sides of the SNP-Labour divide, but the most immediately noticeable difference is that nationalist bile and trolling comes from a few anonymous nutjobs on messageboards, whereas in Labour's case it comes from elected members and official representatives. We don't recall any SNP MSP comparing the Labour leader to Hitler, Mussolini or Mugabe, nor calling the entire party "neo-fascists", yet those insults and more have all been made in full public view by taxpayer-funded Labour politicians. Gray and Labour's attempt to claim the moral high ground is an extraordinary piece of brass neck, and it's good to see a grown-up journalist calling it out.

1. 13 12 24 02:44

Asas sobre a Escócia | Mantendo o fogo aceso - Agora Em Pauta

9 to “The demonisation of Alex Salmond”

1. Morag says:

I'm a nat, I'm a nat, I'm a cybernat….

2. Flooplepoop says:

Hello Morag from 3 years in the future, we might actually win this 🙂

3. Morag says:

One last heave…!

4. Brian Doonthetoon says:

And the interesting thing is, after 3 years, the situation is still exactly the same!

Any abuse and so on is NOT coming from the high heid yins on the YES side; it comes from a “few anonymous nutjobs on messageboards”.

The exact opposite is the case on the NO side. Their high heid yins, and their immediate sycophants, appear to treat this abusive behaviour as “normal”. Witness the Kathy Wiles escapade, as only one example.

5. Catherine says:

Plus ça change…

6. R-type Grunt says:

Well, that went well.

7. Mike says:

Thanks Stu, you have given power to the Scottish people with your insight.

8. Fireproofjim says:

And now, by the wonder of time travel, this message comes to you from five years in the future, it’s Wings fifth birthday today but disappointment reigns as promised hover boards have not yet appeared.
    I blame Nicola Sturgeon. (bet you cave dwellers in 2011 never thought that would happen).

9. mike cassidy says:

And this message comes to you on Wings seventh birthday.

Cant help with hoverboards.

But we were also promised jetpacks.

A free jetpack with every ‘yes’ vote!

And we’ll be home and dry!

10. Cuilean says:

2022. We are now in a dystopian world where biological sex has been abolished in Scotland (they/them/us/thon) and we self-identify reality according to feelings. (I feel therefore I am).

Today I feel I am Eric the Red, famous Viking Berserker.

Tomorrow I will self id as a Jedi, from the rebel-held planet, Affitsheid.

11. stuart mctavish says:

Guessing, despite the relative lack of btl evidence in the excellent posts predating its birthday :), that a site like Wings had plenty receipts for decade old claims

“that nationalist bile and trolling comes from a few anonymous nutjobs on messageboards, whereas in Labour’s case it comes from elected members and official representatives”

Going on current (2022) evidence, the rate of accumulation of said receipts will not have slowed, despite the Edinburgh agreement – although it may sadly have become inverted (danger being that Nulabour think begins with detesting tories/ competitors and morphs into looking for things to hate rather than focusing on the things we like..) something John Romero inadvertently touches on when discussing recruitment policy at ID softwear in this fascinating Strangeloop talk:

If so then said receipts, whilst potentially forming substantiation in part that UK state or nefarious private interests have been actively and recklessly conspiring to undermine political agreement (jaw jaw), can also serve as a reminder for constant vigilance alongside the parable of the little engine that could -ie provided always that the giants on whose shoulders it piggy backs had the foresight, organisation, teamwork, intellect and pride necessary to lay the tracks, dig the coal, divert the water, conceive the engine and Honk the bastarding horn long and loud at every mad cow disoriented enough to stray onto the wrong path.

Doubtless the optimism of the past remains more than enough to get Scots reunited sooner than later but in interim, hope the strangeloop talk makes for a hitherto unseen but nonetheless worthy diversion and, thanks for all the hard work & accessible infotainment – not least yesterdays uplifting redirection to the archives!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,870 Posts, 1,235,164 Comments

• Hatey McHateface on Shield Of The Phantom: “@sam You forgot to claim that support for Indy by True Scots can never be less than 100% By definition.Jan 30, 09:37
    • Hatey McHateface on Shield Of The Phantom: “Sorry YL, I dinna understand your post. Stormy Daniel’s what? Haha, bet you could tell a tale or two about…Jan 30, 09:29
    • Aidan on Shield Of The Phantom: “Of course YL, and as with any nascent technology you would expect unit costs to come down as it becomes…Jan 30, 09:21
    • Hatey McHateface on Shield Of The Phantom: “You might want to consider that AI could already be sufficiently smart to be able to detect when it has…Jan 30, 09:18
    • Hatey McHateface on Shield Of The Phantom: “Not by comparison with your lifetime’s achievements, no. You do well to disparage those so much less successful than yourself,…Jan 30, 09:09
    • Hatey McHateface on Shield Of The Phantom: “Just off the top of my heid, I believe the peat in Scotland’s peat bogs has the capacity to generate…Jan 30, 09:06
    • Young Lochinvar on Shield Of The Phantom: “H McH I doubt Stormy Daniel’s would agree (philandering), nor the worlds news editors who have to try and make…Jan 30, 09:04
    • Hatey McHateface on Shield Of The Phantom: “Sure, we can run data centres on intermittent wind power. Once our entire economy is dependent on AI (because human…Jan 30, 08:47
    • Young Lochinvar on Shield Of The Phantom: “I note with some degree of irony that many politicians while eulogising the passing of Jim Wallace claim he pretty…Jan 30, 08:42
    • Young Lochinvar on Shield Of The Phantom: “Aidan Got to start somewhere.. Hey ho, once it’s up and running a pints bet on how the energy cables…Jan 30, 08:10
    • Young Lochinvar on Shield Of The Phantom: “Good luck David Toshak. Yet another victim of the woo woo deviancy/ degeneracy agenda placed high up on the list…Jan 30, 07:27
    • Aidan on Shield Of The Phantom: “Okay, but in his opinion on the subject Lord Hope of Craighead said explicitly that the treaty did extinguish upon…Jan 30, 06:14
    • Young Lochinvar on Shield Of The Phantom: “AI; The nadir of the intelligent, talented, capable, skilled and thinking person IMO. Zero effort, zero time spent mastering a…Jan 30, 01:30
    • willie on Shield Of The Phantom: “One thing to also consider is that with the rapid development of AI the industry needs two very key things…Jan 30, 00:42
    • Alf Baird on Shield Of The Phantom: ““Over time their cultures merged.” Linguistic evidence rather suggests divergence. In most former Pictish areas from the lowlands to the…Jan 29, 21:31
    • Saffron Robe on Shield Of The Phantom: “If a judgement is selective rather than objective, it ceases to be a judgement of law and becomes merely an…Jan 29, 20:58
    • Lorna Campbell on Shield Of The Phantom: “Aidan: the Treaty could not have been spent on the accession of the two states into the one state, the…Jan 29, 20:54
    • Cynicus on Shield Of The Phantom: “I have just encountered an “AI detector “ online: it is called justdone.com. I am afraid I cannot recommend it…Jan 29, 20:32
    • Aidan on Shield Of The Phantom: “Do please tell us all about this sea power Northcode, is there any large-output tidal energy project anywhere in Scotland…Jan 29, 19:46
    • Cynicus on Shield Of The Phantom: ““..the new evidence aqq A” ====== Sorry for this gibberish in my long post above. The phrase should read, “the…Jan 29, 19:37
    • Northcode on Shield Of The Phantom: ““Scotland already possesses key competitive advantages in marine energy, including abundant natural resources and dedicated enterprise agencies. The country’s marine…Jan 29, 18:50
    • sam on Shield Of The Phantom: “Gaels and Picts combined to face the threat of the Vikings. Over time their cultures merged.Jan 29, 18:42
    • Cynicus on Shield Of The Phantom: “Lorna Campbell says: 29 January, 2026 at 2:12 pm “AI spews out according to that which you put in, Cynicus.…Jan 29, 18:39
    • sam on Shield Of The Phantom: “It is not 25% of the Scottish population, It is a turnout of at least 50% of those registered to…Jan 29, 18:36
    • Hatey McHateface on Shield Of The Phantom: “So you don’t even grant them the basic courtesy of calling our ancestors by their own names? Preferring to use…Jan 29, 18:35
    • Northcode on Shield Of The Phantom: ““In summary, Scotland’s marine energy resources have the potential to significantly contribute to its energy output, aligning closely with the…Jan 29, 18:34
    • Northcode on Shield Of The Phantom: ““Indeed so, these are immense energy surpluses that would be earning Scots around £100 billion a year…” Yes, Alf. The…Jan 29, 18:27
    • Hatey McHateface on Shield Of The Phantom: “Some good points made by David Davis and yourself, factchecker. My view is that if people can’t be arsed to…Jan 29, 18:26
    • Northcode on Shield Of The Phantom: “Long before the arrival of The Christ the sixteen tribes held sway across the northern lands. So effective were their…Jan 29, 18:16
    • agentx on Shield Of The Phantom: “@ Saffron Robe – interesting – thanks.Jan 29, 18:15