One day

Posted on March 26, 2016 by

oneday

Order “Welcome To Cairnstoon”, Chris’ compilation of Wings cartoons and more, here.

73 to “One day”

1. MajorBloodnok

Postponed … but not for long I’m thinking.

2. David Smith

Events this week have convinced me that it’s now only a matter of time.
    The trains are rolling and they can’t be recalled.
    Soon, my people. Soon.

3. Jack Collatin

We are in no rush. Hail Alba.
    Thanks, Chis.

Roll away the stone.

4. Fergus Green

It’s coming yet, for a’ that….

5. Craig P

We will know it is coming when the question on people’s lips is not ‘give me a reason why Scotland should run its own affairs?’ but ‘give me a reason why Scotland should be ruled by others?’

We just need a broadcaster to be framing debates from that perspective…

6. irene edgar

Were on our way from misery to happiness

7. Robert Louis

Excellent cartoon. It really says it all.

What unionistas cannot fathom, is that since the referendum, we haven’t gone away, and somewhat oddly to them, we haven’t changed our minds.

It is up to all of us, to promote Scotland, and independence at every opportunity. It is no good waiting for the next referendum, we need to be working on it now.

No amount of machinations, spin, lies and propaganda by the London-worshipping, subservient ‘Scottish’ unionists can ever avoid the fact that right now ALL of Scotland’s key decisions and strategic priorities are determined by English MP’s in an undemocratic, unrepresentative Parliament in London. It is what is politely called a democratic deficit. I call it colonialism, for that is what it is.

No matter if every single Scottish MP (of any party) votes for something, they will ALWAYS be outvoted by English MP’s at Westminster, since Scottish MP’s make up a mere 9% of the total there. In any other country, this would not be tolerated for one nanosecond, yet Scots for over three hundred years have become accustomed to it being the way it is. It is an obscenity.

The restoration of Scottish independence, and the end of London colonial rule will happen. It is as Hamish observes, merely posponed. It cannot happen soon enough.

2 votes SNP.

8. gerry parker

Belter Chris.

If history is anything to go by, the Westminster government or one of their representatives will make one huge mistake that will bring Scotland its independence in the blink of an eye.

Watch out for it, it’s coming yet.

9. Jack Collatin

‘Simon Peter and another disciple were following Jesus. Because this disciple was known to the high priest, he went with Jesus into the high priest’s courtyard, but Peter had to wait outside at the door.

The other disciple, who was known to the high priest, came back, spoke to the girl on duty there and brought Peter in. “You are not one of his disciples, are you?” the girl at the door asked Peter. He replied, “I am not.”

As Simon Peter stood warming himself, he was asked, “You are not one of his disciples, are you?”

He denied it, saying, “I am not.” One of the high priest’s servants, a relative of the man whose ear Peter had cut off, challenged him,

“Didn’t I see you with him in the olive grove?” Again Peter denied it, and at that moment a rooster began to crow.’ John 18:13-27

A timely reminder for all those Britnats who deny that Scotland is an independent nation.

Roll away the stone.

10. Ken500

One day soon

11. mealer

Thanks for that Chris.The trouble for the Brits is,they just don’t make ’em anymore.

12. Baldeagle 58

Straight to thre point as usual, Chris. Only Postponed,
    Tick toc, tick toc

13. Ken500

Ian Wood, aka Mystic Meg, been at the magical ball again.

Oil taxes are at 40% (down 20%). Price of Oil risen. Makes production more viable. Reverses job losses. Less imported Oil & Gas. £ has fallen against the €. Makes exports cheaper and imports dearer. Scotland exports more and imports less. Gains.

14. Black Joan

Please could we have postcards/badges/post-it notes of that?

Or permission to make our own?

Superb. Thanks Chris.

15. Macart

That’s a keeper Chris.

Superb.

16. Grouse Beater

Another bulls-eye of a cartoon, Chris.

Seeing the proponents of self-determination in power against all the odds and all the conspiratorial planning, our opponents have not lessened their attacks on our humanity, our economy, institutions, and values. They’ve increased them. But without new ammunition they’re reusing spent shells.

Here’s the curious thing: for centuries the English were at war with some European nation or other, the Dutch, the Spanish, the French, never fully at peace or ease with their neighbours. Simultaneously they had to watch their back for troublesome Scots. We seem to have arrived at the same situation!

As ABBA tells us,
    “The history book on the shelf keeps repeating itself” – whatever that means!

Here’s my contribution to the Easter break:

Serious politics: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-5BD
    Serous car nuts: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-5BJ

I hope Wingers enjoy a stress-free long weekend.

17. The Isolator

Tee Hee…one of your best Chris.One day indeed.

Nae fitba the day so off tae meet some old time friends for food and drinks at lunchtime. In amongst them there are/were a fair few from the “proud Scot’s but” brigade. It’ll be interesting tae gauge the current mood.Copy of Wee Black Book at the ready.

18. JLT

Yep. That’s the way I saw it. It was postponed. Thursday was just another day. As simple as that.

But not to worry …our day will come.

19. North Chiel

Agree with “David Smith”, it might be sooner than we think.Having watched the
    “newspaper review” on both Sky & BBC last night with both ” talking up” Brexit, it is
    clear than David Cameron will not have a ” clean sweep” in the ” propaganda stakes” as he
    had in the run up to September 2014. It would appear that he has a major ” fight on his hands”
    to win the Euro vote without many of his ” propaganda pals” in the media.Perhaps Nicola
    has realised that Cameron may be ” on his way out”, hence 2nd independence campaign
    imminent?

20. call me dave

Flip the calendar to May ensure the election of an SNP government and move on, Independence may be on hold but will come.

@gerry parker

You might not be too far of the mark.

PS:
    Buttoned up: Mundell insists fiscal deal good one but refuses to share cost – for now

https://archive.is/cq9d8

Long piece on IDS and Easter House:

https://archive.is/yN4hq

21. galamcennalath

Strong message from a simple picture. Chris is a master of his art.

It would be nice to think – postponed rescheduled. Timetable to be published this summer. 😉

Things didn’t seem so clear on the 19th Sept, but with hindsight perhaps IndyRef1 was always likely to fail. The whole DevoMax Home Rule card was up Cameron’s sleeve ready to be played if the result looked close. He did play it, and it was the winning trick.

However he lied. That should be obvious to a majority. Continued austerity and anti Scottish actions have also shown we are definitely not better together. The Union is completely unstable. IndyRef2 will happen and we will win.

I tend to agree with Gerry Parker @ 7:54, it is in the nature of WM to make colossal mistakes with surprising frequency!

22. Croompenstein

Can we change it to mid summer as it was chanking on Thursday, mind you would probably still be chanking but would be longer nights for celebrations. 🙂

23. cearc

Spot on.

24. Taranaich

You know, it’s funny: the 9th of September is my mother’s birthday, while the 7th of March is mine. How appropriate, that September and March would go on to be such important months in our lives.

You have a knack for these, Chris, which I ever aspire to find in my own art. Beautiful choice of pencil, too: I remember them from my school days!

25. Grouse Beater

galamcennalath: It would be nice to think – postponed rescheduled. Timetable to be published this summer.

Only “postponed.” I like that.

26. X_Sticks

It’s only a matter of time.

Thanks Chris, on the nail as usual.

Look forward to seeing a load of Wingers tonight in Glasgow! Here’s tae ye a’ 😀

27. Almannysbunnet

Meanwhile the stalwart labour comic gives the Scottish Resistance full billing. Hundreds and hundreds of words.

https://archive.is/vsi2q

With a few strokes of the pen this cartoon says more about how Scotland feels than all of them.

28. Bugger (the Panda)

@Gerry Parker

Agreed. The Tories, especially, cannot help themselves for being arrogant, thieving, stupid bastards.

It is coming yet, for awe that.

Chris, sums up my mind perfectly, thanks.

29. Handandshrimp

I noted that Angry Salmond said that the only thing the Unionists won on the 18th of September was a wee bit of time.

I think that may be right.

30. Donald Anderson

If the Brits could rewrite he Easter Rising they would have Jasus coming back as a pancake.

31. Chris Cairns

This is actually how I draw. I find a Hamish glove frees up one’s style nicely 🙂

Thanks, as always, for the kind words. Now steel yourselves, folks – holiday boy here is on his travels again next week so you may well be treated to another Rev original in my stead …

32. X_Sticks

@Chris Cairns

Another bloody holiday! Slacker.

Where’s that Moodie chap, he’s always reliable.

33. Brian Powell

One of the overwhelming disappointments for me at the time of the Referendum was seeing a supposedly socialist country buckle under threats from a psychotic financial thug like George Osborne. when he told ‘us’ the pound belonged to England, or rUK as it is euphemistically labelled, and the threats from ‘financial’ institutions.

it wasn’t just that people were frightened but ‘socialist’ politicians, trade unions, activists joined in and cynically used those threats to threaten their own constituents.

No matter which side of the Question they were on that should have made them rise up and say, we won’t accept that.

Now the same trade unions, activists, politicians point to Osborne etc and say we must bring them down.

They wonder why their ‘power base’ collapsed below them.

34. Ken500

Mundell is not telling the truth. UK membership costs Scotland £13Billin a year and a £300Billion Oil Fund.

Scotland has lost (average) £4Billion+ and thousands of jobs since 2011. The Tories put up Oil tax to 60/80% when Oil prices were falling. = £20Billion. It has only been taken down to 40% since January 2016. The Tories have banned coal production in the UK and refused CCS for Longannet.

Scotland raises £54Billion (without Oil revenues) Scotland pays £4Billion on debt repayments on money it doesn’t borrow or spend. Scotland loses £1Billion because it can’t put a tax on ‘loss leading’ cheap drink. Trident/illegal wars, cost £1Billion. Scotland loses £4Billion+ in Oil revenues because of Tories 60/80% tax. Scotland lose £3Billion?in evaded tax. HMRC not fit for purpose. UK tax Laws are not enforced. Multinationals making vast profits illegallynevade tax.= £13Billion.

The rest of the UK raises £596Billion and borrows and spends £95Billion more. Westminster is spending £25Billion (double it) Hinkley Nuclear station and £70billion (double it) on HS2. = £95Billion – the deficit. The biggest waste of public money a disaster waiting to happen. What about the waste. A slush fund for Osbourne and his mates to embezzle £Billion of public money in a collosal transfer of publc money from publc to private. An absolute disgrace with absolutely no business case. Trident £170Billion another absolute waste of public money.

NI (2million) raises £28Billion and receives (50%) more £14Billion from Westminster = £42Billion. Norwegian leveliffy finance. To illegally promote bigotry and sectarism, supported at Wedtminster for Unionist votes. Breaking UK Law. That’s where the Oil revenues went.

Thatcher and the McCrone Report kept Westminster economic policies secret under the Official Secrets Act – thirty years.

Scotland raises £54Billion + the £13Billion which could be better spent = £67Billion. Add 1/6 (same % of borrowing in the rest of the UK) = £67 + £11Billion = £78Billion enough for an Oil fund and
    Norwegian level of funding.

Westminster blocked Scottish access to opportunity for EU renewable Grants & CCS. Took CAP farming payments intended for Scotland. The Tories have stopped coal/steel production, banned onshore wind turbine in England and cut investment in solar. Labour cut £9Billion Humber tidal barrage, as too expensive, which would produce more cheaper safer energy than Hinkley nuclear waste which has to be exported.

35. Brian Powell

One of the overwhelming disappointments for me at the time of the Referendum was seeing a supposedly socialist country buckle under a threat from a psychotic financial thug like George Osborne. when he told ‘us’ the pound belonged to England, or rUK as it is euphemistically labelled, and the threats from ‘financial’ institutions.

It wasn’t just that people were frightened but ‘socialist’ politicians, trade unions, activists joined in and cynically used those threats to threaten their own constituents.

No matter which side of the Question they were on that should have made them rise up and say, we won’t accept that.

Now the same trade unions, activists, politicians point to Osborne etc and say we must bring them down.

They wonder why their ‘power base’ collapsed below them.

36. Clydebuilt

Great Toon Chris……..

Radio Scotland discussing the Easter Rising, a Prof. Talks about the casualties, bystanders and children caught in cross fire, then touches on the violence of the British Empire, to which Bill Whiteford gives the thoughtful one word response “SHURE”. I believe he’s a son of the Manse, as is Gordon Brown, Douglas Alexander and Graham Spiers, although it’s just possible that the latter isn’t blinkered as he once was. They all have one thing in common, a belief that THEY should be telling their fellow man how he should be living. Their vision of the future is the correct one. Blinkered Abnormal Weirdo’s one and all

37. bobajock

Just perfect.

38. Clootie

“When the water starts boiling, it is foolish to turn off the heat”
    Nelson Mandela

That is why it is SNPX2

39. starlaw

When the Easter rising ended in failure one of the leaders Tom Clarke, stated we may have lost but Ireland will never lie down again.
    I feel Scotland is now in this position.

40. call me dave

@clydebuilt
    I heard a wee bit of that in the car…

The Irish in the South didn’t buy into the idea of Empire but it appealed to the Scots who saw the opportunities it offered says one professor, I agree says the other.

Belfast,Liverpool and Glasgow felt the benefit of Britishness etc etc. (I paraphrase slightly)
    While the Irish in the South felt they were being used as a source of cheap labour and had to move…Oh wait! Sounds familiar.

SNP x 2 May 5th.

“Thanks for that, we’ll leave it there” says Bill

41. John Walsh

Great poignant toon Chris

Robert the Bruce was crowned King of Scotland 25th March 1306 .

History will show the Britnats that March is an auspicious month for us Scots.

Hopefully some March soon we will be free from WM.

42. Dr Jim

But, But, our benefactors gave us devolution and the most powerful parliament in Scotland, which is powerhouse and it’s now up to us to prove to our saviours that we can be responsible and grown up enough to use these gifts that we have been given in warm generosity

If we don’t, our leaders might take away those gifts, which were bestowed upon us with no rancour, because nothing is permanent as the Scotland Bill made clear by omitting the permanence of the Parliament from that Bill (Which we’re all sure was an oversight)

I’m sure our beloved betters in the big England wouldn’t dream of treating us in the same way they did the very bad Irish extremists when they sent in troops to kill as many of these bad people as they could in order to save them from themselves and thereby embrace the love that emanates from……

The Yoonited dictatorship of Britnatia

(Long live our glorious leader David Cameron Ya da yah da yah)

43. John Sm.

Thanks for the great Saturday morning cartoon Chris it fair made me smile.

Enjoy your holiday.

44. dakk

I so hope you’re right Chris.

Enjoy your hols.

45. Proud Cybernat

One Day we’ll have Day One.

Nice Chris.

46. James Westland

I love the little details in Chris’s cartoons. The Staedtler pencil. The lion’s paw.

You don’t see Hamish’s face, but you just KNOW there is a look of gritty determination etched on it.

Thig ar latha…

47. Croompenstein

OT – I was hoping Robert Peffers could help with this as I can’t find an answer, did the Young Pretender promise to repeal the acts of union if he succeeded, or was he just trying to get back in to the English court and things wouldn’t have changed?

48. handclapping

Several thousand words, Chris.

49. Flower of Scotland

That’s a great wee art piece Chris. Thanks for that. Enjoy your break.

50. heedtracker

18 months of spectacular red/blue tory liars in action and all to stop England standing on its own two feet/ keep tory rule in Scotland.

Polls hold in 6 weeks, Scotland is democratically independent but 90% under the control of her neighbour.

Next up, Brexit, PM Bojo, with nukes and a really fast railway to Birmingham.

Rejoice.

Out of interest, have they laid down any more Clyde built keels yet, for the much promised RN destroyer fleet, what was it, vote NO for a dozen+ of them Glasgow?

51. Marcia

Jack Collatin said – ‘We are in no rush’

Some of us who are hanging on by the fingernails may not agree with that statement. 🙂

52. thomaspotter2014

Brilliantly on the mark as usual Chris.

Hope you have a nice holiday m8.

Postponed Independence Day maybe but it’s on the way and that’s for sure.

Not long now.

53. Fireproofjim

Croompenstein@10.57
    Charles Stuart ( Bonnie Prince Charlie) was the son of James Stuart (the Old Pretender) who would have been James III if the (Catholic) Stuart dynasty had not been overthrown and exiled to make way for Protestant William of Orange (King Billy) and the subsequent Hanovarians.
    Charlie was intent on winning the crown of the whole United Kingdom for his father and, if he had succeeded, it is doubtful if he would have changed the Union of parliaments.
    He was largely supported by the (mainly Catholic) Highland clans and opposed by the Protestant Lowlanders and, off course, the English establishment.
    The ’45 was a religious/dynastic squabble and definitely not a Scottish/ English war as it has often been portrayed.

54. call me dave

@Marcia

Your right although I felt better about things this week and have just got in some ‘green’ bananas.

My ‘younger’ neighbours (who had two labour posters up smart at the GE last year) spotted my SNP poster this morning.

“Not putting up your stuff” I enquired…

“Naw not bothering this time it’s only the Holyrood one” was their response.

Not two of ours yet then! Probably vote labour anyhow!

SNP x 2 May 5th then Independence soon as you like.

Then I might consider one vote to those ‘green’ bananas…but not yet!

55. Croompenstein

Thanks fireproof, I was talking to a unionist friend about visiting Culloden and how eerie it is and how things would have been different if the 45 had succeeded.

He said bullshit, things would have been no different that Charles would have abandoned the clans converted to protestantism and cowed Scotland the same as the Hanoverians. I thought that Charles had promised the clans that the Scottish parliament would be restored. But he probably would have been seduced by English power.

56. Yesitis

Let`s get this thing done.

57. call me dave

I Try to catch that excellent radio shortbread programme ‘Out of Doors’ but it’s on early. Anyhoo!

Here is this morning’s eclectic edition which has an interesting bit on the Scotland V South West Norway treatment of the land and the controversy about moorland and woodland.

Just after 36mins in for wee while.

Worth a listen all the way through though, near the start gin making Juniper berries and more! 🙂

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b074zfjh

58. Liz Rannoch

A great cartoon – hit the nail right on the head. My wee story: Our daughter phoned me on Thurs. am to ‘see how I was doing’. Said I was OK – a little sad. ‘But it’s not happening, I thought you’d be in floods’. Says I to her ‘it’s only been put off for a wee while’. She phone later and said that she felt better for that.

O/T (slightly?)
    She also phoned yesterday to tell me about an appeal that’s being made to keep Robert The Bruce’s seals in the National Museum for Scotland. Coming as we do from Dunfermline we have contributed and I wondered if anybody on here would be interested:

indiegogo.com/projects/robert-the-bruce-s-seal-for-public-display
    (Not sure if I’ve done that right!)

59. Bill McLean

O/T A couple of weeks ago we were informed by our masters that Scotland’s deficit was £15 Billion and that it was 9.6% of our GDP. I make that as our GDP being £144 billion (9.6 X 15). In return our colonial masters allow us a block “grant” of £30 billion as spending money. That leaves them with £114 billion of our money. Are these figures right and have I come to the correct conclusion. Will someone knowledgeable please enlighten me? I know not to look to the BUM or state broadcasters for truth!

60. call me dave

@Liz Rannoch

Here is the link for the seal appeal. Yes I have.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/robert-the-bruce-s-seal-for-public-display#/

61. Fred

Croomps, by 1745 most Scots had had enough of Stuart monarchs. Charles I, Charles II & James VII were disastrous for Scotland and brought about carnage not seen again until the Great War. Bonnie Prince Charlie was a complete tosser, inside story from Alice Wemyss’ “Elcho of the ’45”. Mind you his cousins the Hanovarians were every bit as bad. Laying down your life for kings was never a smart move.

62. Lenny Hartley

Bill McLean
    Gdp is Gross Domestic Product the total of all spending in the financial year,
    If I remember correctly Scotland according to Gers collects about 52 billion in taxes etc.
    remember all these figures are based on the discredited Gers figures, our spending in an Indie Scotland would almost certainly be substantially less than now whilst our tax take would in all probability be substantially higher.

63. Robert Louis

Looking forward to the Rev’s next ‘cartoon‘ 🙂

Thinking back, the first official cartoon (first appearance of Hamish) by Chris on wings, seems very timely right now. That was when Scots were told by Labour’s liars that independence would mean they would be thrown out of the EU. How freaking ironic.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/bullbridge.jpg

http://wingsoverscotland.com/bull-bridge/

64. Liz Rannoch

@ call me dave

Thanks for the proper link – one day I’ll learn!

It’s great that you donated, although I’m worried that it’s such a lot. Anyway, here’s hoping.

65. Ghillie

We Shall Overcome = )

66. ahundredthidiot

If there is one common theme in human history…..progress…..will not be stopped.

Roll on May, roll on council elections 2017 and roll on independence.

67. kat hamilton

thank you chris, hamish has brightened my day. love the paws and the determination behind them…felt subdued on indy day, hurt and irked that so many fellow scots didnt have the metal to vote for their own nation…know its water under the bridge but will the 55 see sense any time soon..if not, what will the catalyst be to change their blinkered outlook..i truly live and hope for that.

68. Robert Peffers

Perhaps we need get an old trawler rigged out as a radio station and have it lying just outside the territorial waters of Scotland.

It could play music, by request, like the hundreds of others on Long, Medium, FM and DAB wavelengths and be sponsored by adverts and donations. The many difference being that it would broadcast news from a Scottish viewpoint every half-hour.

Just imagine a radio station treating the Yoon parties in the same manner as the present broadcasters treat the SNP at present.

69. scullys gussetsooker

RE the 1745 uprising.
    The stuarts did promise to end the union and once prince charlie had taken Edinburgh he was advised just to take Scotland, but as we know, that was ignored. As others have said, as soon as james the sixth gained the English crown, Scotland became secondary..and so it goes on.
    One other thing. I remember listening to a programme by Billy Kay about the 45. Like most people i thought because prince charlie was catholic, then most of the clans that joined him where catholic. This is not the case. The vast majority where episcopalian.

Have a nice Easter everyone..:)

70. Croompenstein

@Robert Peffers –

Perhaps we need get an old trawler rigged out as a radio station and have it lying just outside the territorial waters of Scotland

http://www.rossrevenge.co.uk/scot/

71. Jimmy

I very rarely agree with the WoS commenters, although I find the comments educational and sometimes amusing and always interesting
    I am however 100%in agreement with the comments regarding the Stuart dynasty, they were a disaster to Scotland, England and Ireland.In the days before the Union of the Crowns they were even more out of control when they were simply the Scottish royal family.
    Finally I don’t know what damage they did to Wales, perhaps someone could enlighten me on that..

72. Ghillie

Happy Happy Easter folks!!

73. Patrician

Chris, cracking cartoon again. I am looking forward to Vol.2

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.